habal wrote:
West is on the whole extremely bullish on cashless transactions because that enables them an even greater control over their population. I worry about that route. I mean, what next, control of speech on net. If a facebook post gets too severe, cancellation of serial # of citizen which basically leaves one high and dry. I sometimes feel Modi is too trusting of the west, and he is going rather extreme in wrong direction. The Congis were more cautious but that was because there partners were big on black money. We need to find a middle way.
These anxieties and others have been the excuse for total inaction. I do not see how our economy could have been lifted out of the mess it was in without some such radical measure. Remember that when you say Modi is too trusting of the west - every man with Black money and every man who distrusts Modi is using every western argument to criticize his actions. "Freedom to spend my money as I like. It's my wealth and should be accessible to me all the time"
Demonetization causing deaths rights violation. Ignoring the poor.
What I find amusing is that people like Sitaram Hackthoory is resorting to rhetoric like "
Demonetization caused 70 deaths - does PM Modi accept that" instead of being able to find support against the action. With respect, even you are coming up with "Oh it can get so bad in future because of this".
I would like to point out one curious fact and we have statistics today to help me make that point, true or not. While 86% of Indians have supported
demonetization - about 12% are dead against it. That means about 150 million Indians are against
demonetization. Now why are we seeing no huge demonstrations, stone throwing and bus burning? Simply because many of these are not "popular sentiment riots" but riots sparked by paying money to goondas and hiring crowds for money. It is amusing and pathetic to see the only demonstrations are MPs in front of parliament. These people will have to withdraw crores from legitimate party accounts if any and then distribute the cash to rioters
This is what Indians with freedom have been doing and ironically the minute that freedom is curtailed - people are worrying instead of celebrating. Why is that? People who had near zero black transactions are almost 100% unaffected and apart from some queues most are uncomplaining.
People who say "It's my money and that the government cannot control my money" are ignoring one hu-uge elephant in the room. Every single banknote that we use as cash is owned by the government and is only a piece of paper worth less than toilet tissue under normal circumstances. It is every citizens job to ensure that the value of the paper he has translates into real value by contributing to the nation its due. This a basic tenet of citizenship - the price of freedom, the real bribe that every citizen should pay for running the country. Trackable transactions.
This
demonetization has shown that the government has power to screw us now - even without electronic
currency. I put it to you that what a lot of people who are complaining actually want is for the nation to remain intact as it is so they can enjoy the fruits of black money. Actually if they are really worried about government control over money the current national set up needs to be demolished and the reserve bank abolished - leaving people to hoard and develop wealth as they want in whatever
currency takes their fancy - that is true freedom from government control.
In fact this is exactly what is happening in Pakistan. I did not want to describe the similarities here - but the topic keeps coming up.