India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Deans wrote:
Sidhant wrote: Deans sir, apologies in advance if you have already answered this question, is your book available in unkil land? Also name/details for the book please? I love to read on paperbacks, is the book available as hard copy? Thanks in advance for providing the info.
https://www.amazon.com/2022-Indias-two- ... 1091617422

This is the link for buying it in the US. (has all details. More reviews are in Amazon.in). It is available in Paperback and kindle.
Deans Saheb:

Just ordered one copy from Amazon. Will receive delivery by Tuesday June 30. Can' wait to read it.

Okay, a couple of very good articles in Swarajya Mag and Indian Express (IE was the one I mentioned earlier, now with link in this post).

Swarajya Mag article (Must read)
https://swarajyamag.com/defence/explain ... ldi-sector

This very useful map with bottleneck, Raki Nalla, other patrol points 10-13:
The Bottleneck point is located around 7 kilometres away from an Indian base at Burtse, which is manned by the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and lies on the newly built 255 kilometre long Darbuk-Shyok-DBO road.

From the Bottleneck, one Indian patrol route leads northwards along the Raki Nala towards PP-10, and then turns east to PP-11 and 11-A and finally towards the south to PP 12. The other Indian route leads south-eastward to PP-13, which lies south of the PPs mentioned above and north of PP-14 in the Galwan Valley, where Indian and Chinese troops had clashed earlier this month.
This is a real and serious concern:
In the 1962 war, Indian Army positions close to Burtse had been captured by the PLA. The Indian Army started returning to this area only in the late 1970s.

In 2008 and 2009, the Chinese troops intrude into this area and destroyed Indian camps near the current day ITBP base in Burtse, “burning fuel stores and rations dumped there for use by Indian patrols”.

With China’s increasing presence here, the PLA may want to shift the LAC westwards. Increasing Chinese transgressions in the larger area — 75 in 2017, 83 in 2018 and 157 in 2019 — also suggest that PLA’s movements, both in the past and now, are aimed at pushing the LAC further west from where it is currently.

While India claims that the Bottleneck point is nearly 18 kilometres on the Indian side of the LAC, China says the line is 5 kilometres west of the point.

If the Chinese positions in the DBO sector and Depsang Plains shift further west, the PLA will be in a better position than before to interdict the Darbuk-Shyok-DBO road in the area during future conflicts with India.
Indian Express article with same information, therefore confirming locations:
https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... s-6474740/

So it turns out that both articles above give a southern location for "Bottleneck" relative to Depsang Plains, and Raki Nalla is also not where pmaitra in the other defense forum put it (it was a heroic effort based on a Himalayan expedition report to Samar lungpa north of DBO). Raki Nalla is a dry river bed running roughly NE to SW towards Burtse, and it defines the southern edge of the Depsang Plains plateau. This changes assumptions on the level of Indian control over the entirety of Depsang Plains. To get to Raki Nalla and PP10, one has to swing south from the Chinese camps shown in Shiv Arror's map. The bottom vertex is Qizl Langar, which is a few kilometers northwest of Burtse:

The strategically located Indian base near the loop in the road shown above is Tac HQ or Track Junction (Swarajya Mag):

Track Junction features regularly in articles about Chinese incursions, now we know why.

Finally, a new article in India Today quoting Raj47 on the Chinese Tianwendian base on the north bank of Chip Chap, to the east of Chinese LAC:

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/n ... 2020-06-25
The Tianwendian post -- the oldest post in this area -- was established after the 1962 Sino-Indian war under the garb of an Astronomical Observatory.
samirdiw

Post by samirdiw »

A K Antony interview: ‘Galwan Valley was never a point of dispute. It is a betrayal by China’
https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... y-6474828/
A K Antony interview: ‘Galwan Valley was never a point of dispute. It is a betrayal by China’
Former defence minister A K Antony says: "Now we have to think about the future. Strengthen the armed forces. The ultimate aim should be that status quo ante should be restored."

^^^ My goodness, look who is talking!!! :roll:

samirdiw wrote:A K Antony interview: ‘Galwan Valley was never a point of dispute. It is a betrayal by China’
https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... y-6474828/
Former defence minister A K Antony says: "Now we have to think about the future. Strengthen the armed forces. The ultimate aim should be that status quo ante should be restored."
Speaking of betrayers, Mr. Antonia Kisser "No Money" Anthony - never saw that coming.

On s serious note, how screwed are we wrt the road.
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

Thanks all for your comments. What I fail to understand is : how is it every time China does something unexpected, someone cries “betrayal”? Aren’t they your adversary? They are meant to do unexpected things. I totally fail to understand this line of thinking. I don’t know why we should expect China to follow some law, some treaty, when in their entire history as a communist state they have shown blatant disregard for exactly the same!

For all the bluster about China plans 1000 yrs in advance, they seem to remarkably predictable and have followed the same strategy time and time again. They want X, they’ll open a front at Y, then negotiate to back off from Y in exchange for X. All the while Y was never a dispute. They did this in Korea as well. I can comment on specifics and details about Korea if needed, but I won’t qualify my statement for now. I’ll leave it at - no advance north of the yellow river.

About their expedition in Vietnam - this was a pure and simple pacify the vassal state at the border to show who is king. Unfortunately for them, they got a sound thrashing and yet had the balls to declare victory like they did at doklam. In fact, according to them, they have never lost to any foreign power since 1949.

About the current standoff, maybe someone here can explain to me what is this business of mirror deployment and proportionate response? I have never come across these terms till now. As far as I can recall, we were never taught to fight fair, fight with a disproportionate advantage and inflict heavy punishment. So, matching OPFOR deployment and proportionate response to me makes little sense. Like it or not, a war is coming in due time. It would be unwise to wage it on their terms.

Finally, LBV - load bearing vest. OPFOR - opposing forces.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

rs_singh ji how close is the upcoming war? Is it a few years away or is it very near? What's your estimate?
ranjbe

Post by ranjbe »

A very pro-Indian video from an US defense YouTube site on the Galwan battle:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiH7BNtZ1Pc
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

AshishAcharya wrote:rs_singh ji how close is the upcoming war? Is it a few years away or is it very near? What's your estimate?
Please sir, no Ji for me. I’m just your average dhoti shivering SRDE.

I don’t think anyone can answer that question really. Perhaps a better question would be, how long can you realistically delay a settlement of your borders? The disparity between the two countries is only getting bigger. As someone had mentioned earlier, the Chinese praise upwards and kick downwards. We need to urgently get our act together. Otherwise we will be fighting a war imposed on us, yet again. And again, we will be lost in semantics talking about 10 days intense fighting, emergency purchases, ammunition shortages, yada yada. BTW Not sure, what is unintensive fighting?

Then again, having a few 20yr olds with a rifle eye ball to eye ball and deep mistrust is a bit tricky to say the least.

If you are using Chrome you can translate these forums.

https://lt.cjdby.net/forum-6-2.html

Not a lot more than what Ravi has written; but you get first hand experience of their attitudes.

Ok so someone has been briefing journalists on all these vital petrol points. Best map so far, in Quint:

Quint: Patrolling beyond Bottleneck limited since March

Rs_singh wrote:Thanks all for your comments. What I fail to understand is : how is it every time China does something unexpected, someone cries “betrayal”? Aren’t they your adversary? They are meant to do unexpected things. I totally fail to understand this line of thinking. I don’t know why we should expect China to follow some law, some treaty, when in their entire history as a communist state they have shown blatant disregard for exactly the same!

There are two faces: Political/EAM and the Services.

The concept of betrayal predominantly applies to the prior. EAM, especially Indian, believes in protocols, agreements, etc. They are trained on such thinking and you can see it in their readouts - they are not following the agreements.

The Services, who rely on the Gov, do feel betrayed, but that is only because the Civies have told them to rely on these agreements. Inherently they cannot trust an enemy, that is the motivating factor in their training - physical and mental.

My feeling is that this is a huge turning point in Indo-Sino relations (perhaps that is an understatement). The question I have is how far is India willing to veer away from China. Personally I think India can not give into China. Even a wee bit. India, IMHO, will have to bite the bullet real hard. For a diff thread.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

Rs_singh wrote:
AshishAcharya wrote:rs_singh ji how close is the upcoming war? Is it a few years away or is it very near? What's your estimate?
Please sir, no Ji for me. I’m just your average dhoti shivering SRDE.

I don’t think anyone can answer that question really. Perhaps a better question would be, how long can you realistically delay a settlement of your borders? The disparity between the two countries is only getting bigger. As someone had mentioned earlier, the Chinese praise upwards and kick downwards. We need to urgently get our act together. Otherwise we will be fighting a war imposed on us, yet again. And again, we will be lost in semantics talking about 10 days intense fighting, emergency purchases, ammunition shortages, yada yada. BTW Not sure, what is unintensive fighting?

Then again, having a few 20yr olds with a rifle eye ball to eye ball and deep mistrust is a bit tricky to say the least.
Agreed. We urgently need to get out act together. Hopefully, this is the wake up call that will stir the establishment into action. We need to prepare for the Chinese war like we did for the Indo Pak war of 1971 after the 1962 debacle. We need to fight the enemy at the time and place of our choosing. Leting them fire the fire shot will be utterly foolish. And tbh any peaceful resolution of border was never a option with the Chinese from the start.

There is a reason for this poem by wahe guruji Gobind singhji.

Gidar ko me ser banaun, sava lakh se ek ladaun, tab govind singh nam kahaun.

Gurtej singh, param vir chakra, site of action galwan valley, India.
Last edited by Suresh S on 26 Jun 2020 07:56, edited 1 time in total.

Y I Patel wrote:Ok so someone has been briefing journalists on all these vital petrol points. Best map so far, in Quint:

Quint: Patrolling beyond Bottleneck limited since March
The map is great, but the article seems to imply that the Chinese have managed to move the LAC about 4-5 Km west. About 1.5 Kms from Burtse and The Road. It says India has not patrolled and based on what happened at PP14 have no plans to patrol beyond Y-Junction/Bottleneck.

BTW, I have Burtse at:

https://www.google.com/maps/search/Burt ... a=!3m1!1e3

YI Patel, thanks for the maps of the Burtse-DBO-Bottleneck region. Any intrusion or "shifting of LAC" by the Chinese here seems far more serious to me than in the Galwan valley because of the nature of the terrain and proximity to DBO. I'm a little confused about where exactly the new Chinese camps/intrusions are located though. Are they at the Bottleneck point? The previous map given by Shiv Aroor shows the Chinese camps 21 km away from Burtse. That is far to the east of the Bottleneck point and on their side of the LAC.

Google maps cannot be trusted here again (atleast logging in from the US). It shows the LAC merely 5km east of Burtse! This is clearly the exaggerated Chinese perception of the line which Google is accepting. I mean , look at this nonsense

Also, where exactly is the bottleneck point on this map?

SBajwa wrote:Hero of Galwan valley 23 years old Gurtej Singh of 3rd Punjab Ghatat Platoon killed 12 chinese soldiers by himself.

https://theeasternlink.com/the-supreme- ... 6vR6ceTT64
This needs to be posted in full....but I cannot!

The sheer bravery...WOW! Bole So Nihal, Sat Sri Akal!
I guess this answers the question of why the Chinese require 10X forces to be adequate against India.

Jai Hind! Jai Jawan!

@nachiket ,

For Chinese Camp, try: 35.329944, 78.177911
Burtse: 35.106981, 78.050171
Tac HQ/Track Junction: 35.288882, 77.964921
Qizil Langar: 35.233695, 77.977973

I had Bottleneck at : 35.148223, 78.102786

But, based on the map YIP posted, that seems to be wrong. So, back to the drawing board.

Also, based on that map, I cannot locate Raki Nalla.

KL Dubey wrote:
Rakesh wrote: This needs to be posted in full....but I cannot!

The sheer bravery...WOW! Bole So Nihal, Sat Sri Akal!
I guess this answers the question of why the Chinese require 10X forces to be adequate against India.

Jai Hind! Jai Jawan!
:shock: :shock: :shock:

nachiket,

You are looking at Track Junction, Burtse is as nrao points out. Much as I hate to say so, the more I read the more it becomes apparent that in this case and others the Chinese LAC *is* the LAC. Look at the map of patrol points from Quint and try to superimpose on google maps. The whole area was a huge vulnerability since it could only be accessed by foot patrols and air maintained through the DBO strip. We were at Chinese sufferance here. Another such area is Demchok, and the situation there was equally bad. It has improved hugely in Demchok ever since BRO built a road through Umling La. That, and the importance of Gapshan to DBO, is stuff for another post though.

Nrao,you got Burtse right. For Raki Nalla follow the track from Burtse to PP10 - most of it is along Raki Nallah. Another way is to look at Google maps in 3d and follow the base of Depsang plateau that lies to the NE of Burtse. Also use Wikimapia for better place names than google maps. I also like mapcarta https://mapcarta.com/ for arcane locations in Ladakh.

Y I Patel wrote:nachiket,

much as I hate to say so, the more I read the more it becomes apparent that in this case and others the Chinese LAC *is* the LAC. Look at the map of patrol points from Quint and try to superimpose on google maps. The whole area was a huge vulnerability since it could only be accessed by foot patrols and air maintained through the DBO strip. We were at Chinese sufferance here. Another such area is Demchok, and the situation there was equally bad. It has improved hugely in Demchok ever since BRO built a road through Umling La. That, and the importance of Gapshan to DBO, is stuff for another post though.

Nrao,you got Burtse right. For Raki Nalla follow the track from Burtse to PP10 - most of it is along Raki Nallah. Another way is to look at Google maps in 3d and follow the base of Depsang plateau that lies to the NE of Burtse. Also use Wikimapia for better place names than google maps. I also like mapcarta https://mapcarta.com/ for arcane locations in Ladakh.
The map from quint does not show distances and topography. That's why I got confused. It's probably not to scale either.

Also, looking at Nrao's coords, I seem to have got Burtse wrong. It is much to the south of where I was looking. The Google maps given LAC is still only 5km east of the real Burtse. The entire alignment is wrong and obviously Chinese provided.

Interestingly, the point I confused for Burtse also has a military camp and a loop in the road (35.288983, 77.965508).
EDIT: It is track junction as YIP stated. Thanks.
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

Thank you nRao for your explanation, I guess it didnt occur to me that the military was out of the decision making process and not a parallel input as the EAM to the decision maker as I had imagined it to be.

Nahciket and YIP as a suggestion, would be interesting to compare the LAC demarcation on beidu to get an idea for the Chinese view. Maybe it coincides with the google definition or maybe google took it from beidu. In either case would be very telling.

This entire terrain, particularly the valleys, are ripe for classic rearguard action

@YIP,

@nachiket ,

The one you had identified is Qizil Langar.

However, no matter what the road to DBO is always a few Kms from the LAC.

Bottom line:
A former Army Commander says that the Chinese domination of ‘Bottleneck’ aims to assert their LAC claim by blocking Indian patrols. “Since it’s called the line of actual control, whoever controls the access can claim the land and the Chinese have been at it since 1962.”
Extremely simple concept. Somehow, in India, it is lost between episodes such as the one we are currently expriencing.

@Rs_singh,

Here is my view of China vs. Indian/US:

China: President -> PLA -> Foreign Ministry. The FM is the tail.

India/USA: PM/Prez -> EAM/SS -> Services. The Services are the tail.
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

NRao wrote:@YIP,

Nrao, Partially correct. In a combat zone, the military is independent of diplomats with direct access to the decision maker. In fact, in a combat zone, the decision maker is always exclusively military. The civilian establishment is part of of the overarching mil strategy to “win hearts and minds”

nachiket wrote: The map from quint does not show distances and topography. That's why I got confused. It's probably not to scale either.
You can set topographic elevation contours on Google maps, and measure distances. It kinda sucks to keep switching between map, satellite and terrain modes in Google maps, as well as 2D Vs 3D in satellite mode, but it gives one a reasonable perspective on the location and terrain.

Especially using the 3D view, we can see the difficulties faced around PP11 - PP13 region where the LAC lies just over the ridgeline on the beginning of the Tibet plateau, rather than at the high ridge lines of the karakoram-Tibet boundary.

Rs_singh wrote:
NRao wrote:@YIP,

Nrao, Partially correct. In a combat zone, the military is independent of diplomats with direct access to the decision maker. In fact, in a combat zone, the decision maker is always exclusively military. The civilian establishment is part of of the overarching mil strategy to “win hearts and minds”
Very true, no doubt about that. Boy it would be a travesty if a civi was looking over the battlefield and messaging instructions. : )

But, that combat does not start - even if the Services are rearing to go (as I suspect the IA is at the moment) - until the civilian guy says go. Right?

I would think if the IA had THE say, IA would have been somewhere close to Lhasa years ago.

L8r
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

Nrao,
But, that combat does not start - even if the Services are rearing to go (as I suspect the IA is at the moment) - until the civilian guy says go. Right?”
Correct. But that civilian guy is called the president of the United Stated and not the state department. All PR interaction on the battlefield is coordinated and led by the military. To illustrate, name one press interaction in Afghanistan or Iraq that happened without the military spox making both opening and concluding remarks and taking questions? Look I’m just trying to understand why these things are the way they are because they defy logic to me. It’s another question if you consider a part of your country to be a combat zone if the enemy is sitting nice and pretty there.

As for IA in Lhasa : I appreciate the sentiment!

It almost feels like USA is pushing China towards a fight - they are in this together...

V_Raman wrote:It almost feels like USA is pushing China towards a fight - they are in this together...
Ha, how so? Where did the "feeling" start? :rotfl:
Last edited by Raveen on 26 Jun 2020 10:24, edited 1 time in total.

V_Raman-> I suggest you read about the Invasion of Poland on 1-Sep-39 and 17-Sep-39, and even promised US help to India in Oct-62 and Nov-62, it does not matter.

I have a feeling that modi won't hold back. He hasn't done so with tsp at least so I expect him to hit the Chinese at a time and place of his choosing.

One thing he probly has learnt from the tsp strikes is that there is always room to escalate. My bet is that we'll see some initiative from our side pretty soon. Or perhaps he'll wait until there are some s400+rafale deployed. Let's see...
Last edited by Cain Marko on 26 Jun 2020 10:28, edited 1 time in total.

Larry Walker wrote:https://twitter.com/GeneralBakshi/statu ... 37088?s=19
Media Reports indicated that the Chinses have moved their S-400 AD missile system to Ladakh. This is currently The worlds most advanced system and Indicates that the Chinese are Now really mortally scared after 15-16 June Clash.

Is it about to begin ??
If they have really moved it, the media will be the last to know.

V_Raman wrote:It almost feels like USA is pushing China towards a fight - they are in this together...
They want a base in the subcontinent + new leverage.
Right wing jingoes in India are the same. They are as destructive to India as the so called left wingers.

Jarita wrote:
They want a base in the subcontinent + new leverage.
Right wing jingoes in India are the same. They are as destructive to India as the so called left wingers.
Stop peddling politics, and take your dhoti shiver elsewhere

I am thinking we need a new road to DBO/SSN from Saser, along the eastern bank of Shyok, then following Chip Chap and thence to the DBO road near Polu memorial. The first part of the road from Saser along Shyok till the junction with Chip Chap needs to be done double quick - there appear to be tracks in the Chip Chap area leading to DBO road.

Bullies are tempted by easy gains and put off if it's not a slam dunk.

Deans wrote:
Larry Walker wrote:https://twitter.com/GeneralBakshi/statu ... 37088?s=19
Media Reports indicated that the Chinses have moved their S-400 AD missile system to Ladakh. This is currently The worlds most advanced system and Indicates that the Chinese are Now really mortally scared after 15-16 June Clash.

Is it about to begin ??
If they have really moved it, the media will be the last to know.
If this has indeed happened, I'm sure it's been gamed. That's why we have the air launched brahmos.

@nachiket ,

The one you had identified is Qizil Langar.
Track junction saar, not Qizil.
k prasad wrote:
nachiket wrote: The map from quint does not show distances and topography. That's why I got confused. It's probably not to scale either.
You can set topographic elevation contours on Google maps, and measure distances. It kinda sucks to keep switching between map, satellite and terrain modes in Google maps, as well as 2D Vs 3D in satellite mode, but it gives one a reasonable perspective on the location and terrain.

Especially using the 3D view, we can see the difficulties faced around PP11 - PP13 region where the LAC lies just over the ridgeline on the beginning of the Tibet plateau, rather than at the high ridge lines of the karakoram-Tibet boundary.
I don't have a problem with google maps. The Quint map was more of a freehand drawing of the area and I was comparing it to the wrong place too. Hence the confusion.

Yeah. You are right Track Junction. Sorry.

Rs_singh wrote: Nachiket and YIP as a suggestion, would be interesting to compare the LAC demarcation on beidu to get an idea for the Chinese view. Maybe it coincides with the google definition or maybe google took it from beidu. In either case would be very telling.
I didn't have luck with Baidu. The search bar there doesn't seem to accept coordinates. Tried zooming into the map near Leh but it shows almost no location names. But just eyeballing it, the LAC seemed to be actually east of what you can see on Google interestingly.

China Hopes ‘Narendra’ Rhymes With ‘Surrender’

By Sadanand Dhume.

Unfortunately I agree with the following.
Should India fail to push the PLA back, “it would be an example of very successful public intimidation by China that opens the door to further blackmail down the line,” says Ashley J. Tellis, an expert on Asian security at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. “That would take the wind out of India’s diplomatic sails, and put paid to a longstanding Indian aspiration to be treated as a Chinese peer in Asia.” It would also signal to smaller Asian countries that “resistance is futile,” Mr. Tellis says.
Furthermore, I think it will influence India's behavior at the WHO and at the UNSC.