AeroIndia 2011

rahuldevnath

Re: AeroIndia 2011

Post by rahuldevnath »

Sanjay wrote:Do I have your permission to pass him your e-mail address ?
Yes yes, please pass my id to him.

Post by Sanjay »

Done. You belong in print and in the big leagues. I hope this is a start. Fingers crossed.
rahuldevnath

Post by rahuldevnath »

Sanjay wrote:Done. You belong in print and in the big leagues. I hope this is a start. Fingers crossed.

Had a tiring day at the show.Will b back tomorrow.The only improvement I can see from the last show were the temp. toilets,larger and cleaner!
Check out the Northrop-Grumman hybrid airship.Great design,20 tons payload,21 days endurance in unmanned mode/can be manned too,perfect for supporting Himalayan supply ops,surveillance,etc.great for coastal patrol.Being touted to the IN.The IA shoul also get into th act as well.

What about bags sirjee?? I dont see how i can carry a cap, a book and shades without having something to carry them in.

rgsrini wrote:RahulDevnathji,
Would you be kind enough to email me a higher resolution photo of Tejas Photo 1 above (staring staight at you, with smoke winders)?
Samething here. Will send you email Rahul. Lovely photographs.

KrishG wrote:List of people visiting of Friday. We can do a small meetup during the lunch time.

1) Myself
2) k_prasad
3) merlin
4) aniket
5) Neela (unconfirmed)
Location and time????

Who's got numbers?? I'll mail mine to anyone who wants on my email id sniperz11s at googel mail dat kaaam
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

I was there today, I'll be there tomorrow, guys lets meet up. sms me your phone nos with name at 973 8o 46-423.

Also if anyone has any questions kindly post it here. A compilation in a .doc format would also do.

Could you please ask this particular questions for me?
1. What is the state of engine selections on the LOH/LUH?
2. Is the model of the HTT-40 an outcome of present design at HAL/ADA or is this the rehash of the HTT-35 design? HAs an engine been selected? What are the major challenges in front of us for building this plane, expecially given the fact that we have the IJT experience? Do we know the solution to sudden fuel cut problem of the HPT-32 Deepak?
3. Is the wing fence as seen on the IJT (orange one, tail number S3466) a permanent fixture?
4. Are they going to move the undercarriage stowage and MLG mount point to wing and shoulder mounting on the LCA TEjas MK II (like in the Gripen NG) for additional fuel? Is it going to supercruise? What are the changes to the air intake? Will it field an AESA radar?
5. How much payload and in what configuration will the AMCA be able to carry internally (ballpark figure will do)? I think it is going to supercruise, but could you please confirm this. Also, what is going to be the maximum speed of the AMCA (I think you would like the answer :) ).

k prasad wrote: Who's got numbers?? I'll mail mine to anyone who wants on my email id sniperz11s at googel mail dat kaaam
Mail sent.
Are mobile phones allowed ? I hadn't taken one the last time around.
vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

I attended the AI 2011 show today and here is a brief report, i hope it helps people going tomorrow.
i got there by 9am and found that the line was already 100 deep and there was no information about business visitor, free pass, Rs500 ticket etc. Everyone stood in line and all the security people could say was that the registration would open at 10AM !!! There was no CII people to give information. there were also a bunch of firangs there so atleast the policy was enforced uniformly!! A garud officer was there supervising it at times and he was a tough guy, polite and no nonsense :)
Anyways 9.45 rolled around and there was a mad rush and the orderly line broke and everyone ran torwards the registration office and formed new lines, finally someone told us that if you have paid online then just show the print out and walk in, what a relief.
The next problem was at the actual entrance, huge queue and lots of arguments with security guys, so i decided to go to the last entry gate which had very few people, now the guys at security had no idea of tickets, so i had to show the print out and explain that i was a business visitor so they let me in without a actual ticket!!! this happened again and again at the entrance of every exhibit hall. I have never seen such a disorganized show till now.

Air show:
in one word: Excellent ... two words: Mind blowing !!!
The LCA was on song, lots of stuff that has never been done before. i have videos that i will try to post somewhere. Apart from that i felt that the Rafale was the best. very fluid, moved from manouver to manouver very nicely. The EF seemed to be on AB all through the demo, Rafale went in and out of AB, Gripen also seemed to be on AB all the time.
Most noise was from the Su-30, you can feel it in your bones when it goes by in full AB.

i talked to some of the Tejas TP's and everyone was very happy with the progress, you could see the pride. I saw a bunch of senior navy guys (one admiral there) checking out the Tejas trainer, also saw Retd Adm Arun Prakash (could not speak to him as he was too busy).

All in all worth the trip, if only CII managed it professionally, it would have been so much better. They could have provided chairs or benches to people for airshow but no sir... everyone has to stand and if someone tall is in front of you, then, too bad - move :)
I will try to process and post some pics and vidoes online by tomorrow evening.

Tips for tomorrow's visitors:
1. get there early if you dont have a printed or actual ticket.
2. stand in line but make sure that if people break the line you also do the same and get in front.
3. you can take in backpacks, although they said not allowed, everyone seemed to have a backpack.
4. parking is a pain... a royal pain. Get a driver if possible so that he can drop you off at main gate and pick you up again.
5. Take a cap, its hot. i got sunburned !!
6. the LCD screens of the cameras dont work well in bright light. so plan accordingly.

hope this helps.

chandrasekhar
SriSri

Post by SriSri »

rahuldevnath wrote:Thank you all for the honour bestowed on me. But please don't address me as "ji" "sir' etc, for that matter i'm the youngest of all photogpraher here :wink: (hopefully, i'm 24), unfortunately I didn't manage a Media Pass, so that's what I could manage from the Exhibition Area .
Sad to hear. Rahul, it is too late now but here's an early bird offer for next time. I can get media passes arranged for you. Just FYI Vishal with an India Defence media pass was perched on top of a Air Force building right adjacent all the take offs happening on the left hand side. ;-)
rakall

Post by rakall »

dinesha wrote:
Very interesting Q&A
He did not want to talk about seeker tech for Land Attack Version.
when asked he said Long Range >5000KM possible for both supersonic and Hypersonic version
Su-30 MKI to carry only one Brahmon in Central pylone.

The most significant from the AeroIndia2011 so far was th elast bit that Pillai spoke during question answer session..

Question: Is Su30MKI going to carry only one Brahmos between the engines or there is some talk of a special batch of Su30MKI's being configured for 2misssiles.. is it true?

Pillai: The airlaunched version will be fitted on Su30MKI's manufactured in India.. they will be produced at HAL, Nasik.. a batch of Su30MKI's that will be produced in a special configuration... this batch will be able to carry one Brahmos..

Any guesses.. what that means? There is a lot of depth in that statement...

Answered in Su-30 discussion...

If anyone talks to a Tejas TP ask him about those last bomb drops in Chitradurg? Were they guided or not? What was the weight?
rakall

Post by rakall »

Karan M wrote:Answered in Su-30 discussion...
I think it will be much more than that!!!
Praveen

Post by Praveen »

vcsekhar wrote: 6. the LCD screens of the cameras dont work well in bright light. so plan accordingly.
A Hoodman HoodLoupe screenloop will help a lot in bright light conditions. It's a must for outdoor cameramen.

WE have also been receiving different takes on the enhancement of AoA for Tejas, please find out
1. Ho much needs to be achieved
2. As mentioned by broadsword( :?: ) does it need a intake redesign
3. status on lsp-7/8 first flight
4. and performance of radar and when integration with weapons will be achieved
5. When does ASTE get to lay its hands on the vehicles

rakall wrote:
Karan M wrote:Answered in Su-30 discussion...
I think it will be much more than that!!!
Naah, this is confirmed. If you want I can find you a link or something with the exact numbers as well, it was decided during MAKS air show in Russia...the thing is that modification adds structural weight to Su-30 MKI airframe, so IAF will only do it for limited aircraft.

44 is roughly equal to three squadrons worth of Brahmos carriers. Perhaps you are linking it to the requirement of 40 aircraft for SFC & what Bharat Karnad wrote?

Rest of Sukhois will probably carry lighter Nirbhay (Sukhoi is earmarked as one of carrier for Nirbhay) - one of DRDL priority areas is Nirbhay.

Other Sukhoi modification is AESA radar, new computers, RWR etc, but exact specifications are not known. If you are going to Aero India show, can you clarify on what all upgrade will include?
rakall

Post by rakall »

suryag wrote:WE have also been receiving different takes on the enhancement of AoA for Tejas, please find out
1. Ho much needs to be achieved
2. As mentioned by broadsword( :?: ) does it need a intake redesign
3. status on lsp-7/8 first flight
4. and performance of radar and when integration with weapons will be achieved
5. When does ASTE get to lay its hands on the vehicles
The AOA question has been answered by CEMILAC... during PR.Baghel's talk.. 22deg achieved

Agreed parameters for IOC & been achieved - 1350Kmph, 1.6M, 15km alt, 22deg AOA, +6G

Things to be sorted out - Auto-pilot mode not yet available, possible problem with toe touch during ejection to be solved, CMDS dispensing in RWR & auot mode, Guided firing of R73, wake penetration, autonomous start during cold weather (to be done winter2011), rain tests to clear for all weather flying.

Also with stores config there are some limitations on the envelop right now.

All above points captured with snapshots fo his slides:

rakall

Post by rakall »

Rest of Sukhois will probably carry lighter Nirbhay (Sukhoi is earmarked as one of carrier for Nirbhay) - one of DRDL priority areas is Nirbhay.

Other Sukhoi modification is AESA radar, new computers, RWR etc, but exact specifications are not known. If you are going to Aero India show, can you clarify on what all upgrade will include?
It doesnt matter whether the Sukhois carry Brahmos or Nirbhay - what matters is what is what is inside Brahmos or Nirbhay !!!

Unfortunately I am unable to go to AeroIndia this year.. anything related to Su30MKI doesnt get answered anyway!!!!

Well, nobody is going to answer that will they? However Karnad has said an interesting claim in his book. Its there mentioning a strategic payload. Saw it at the bookshop!! Wanted the book but it was sold out a week later!!

My thinking is 44 Brahmos capable MKIs are a very solid punch to the gut of anyone, whether they are Pak or China, even in the conventional role. A supersonic Sukhoi with a single Brahmos, a few A2A missiles & jammer, should be able to give Brahmos enough of a boost for optimal range to take out the toughest targets. Brahmos weight is 2.5T, with launcher, 3T probably. Sukhoi maximum payload is 8T. 2* R73E missiles + 2*R77 missiles + launchers + jammer = 1 T. 4T payload should be ok, for getting a decent range out of Sukhoi and not compromising overmuch on agility.

I am thinking basically, S-300 type air grides, C3I centers for strategic targets etc are vulnerable. An inventory of 100-200 Brahmos with IAF for those 44 MKIs will be nothing to "scoff at".

Just saw your reply in Su-30 thread...interesting... we are saying the same thing but in different themes...my take is both conventional & strategic ability will be available with this batch
rakall

Post by rakall »

My thinking is 44 Brahmos capable MKIs are a very solid punch to the gut of anyone, whether they are Pak or China, even in the conventional role. A supersonic Sukhoi with a single Brahmos, a few A2A missiles & jammer, should be able to give Brahmos enough of a boost for optimal range to take out the toughest targets. Brahmos weight is 2.5T, with launcher, 3T probably. Sukhoi maximum payload is 8T. 2* R73E missiles + 2*R77 missiles + launchers + jammer = 1 T. 4T payload should be ok, for getting a decent range out of Sukhoi and not compromising overmuch on agility.

".
A Su30MKI loaded with Brahmos/Nirbhay will "most probably" not be loaded fully.. and "most probably" will not fly without escort..
A Su30MKI loaded with Brahmos/Nirbhay likely will carry a Jammer/Basic complement of A2A missiles.. it will be escorted by a couple or it's buddies (not in special config) with complete A2A loadout to take care of interceptors !!!!
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Guys, glad that there are so many atttending and feeding the jingo frenzy. 8)
Leaves me free to focus on the flying and the atmosphere and the institutions.
The professional respect that the foreign test pilots, air force pilots,security teams have for their Indian counterparts is genuine and makes you proud.

More on that later. am heading to the show again.
Rolling out... :D

I hope all you photo hounds are taking discreet pics of booth babes and such? we expect a gallery after this whole huha is over :D

TOI has some statements by air chief.
- heavy gunship evals are done - report expected in couple weeks
- plans to acquire 22 heavy lift choppers
- LOH trials are done (around 200 units)
- apart from 80 Mi17v, 50 more are in pipeline
rahuldevnath

Post by rahuldevnath »

SriSri wrote:
rahuldevnath wrote:Thank you all for the honour bestowed on me. But please don't address me as "ji" "sir' etc, for that matter i'm the youngest of all photogpraher here :wink: (hopefully, i'm 24), unfortunately I didn't manage a Media Pass, so that's what I could manage from the Exhibition Area .
Sad to hear. Rahul, it is too late now but here's an early bird offer for next time. I can get media passes arranged for you. Just FYI Vishal with an India Defence media pass was perched on top of a Air Force building right adjacent all the take offs happening on the left hand side. ;-)
Thanks for the early bird offer :) , but it all my fault, I work for a magazine, and a media pass was easy, just overlooked it to put all of my eggs in Air Force's basket! :(
SriSri

Post by SriSri »

rahuldevnath wrote: Thanks for the early bird offer :) , but it all my fault, I work for a magazine, and a media pass was easy, just overlooked it to put all of my eggs in Air Force's basket! :(
Well then there is no excuse! :lol: :evil:
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

New Configuration of Indian AEW Aircraft Unveiled
http://defense-update.com/wp/20110210_n ... eiled.html

dinesha

Post by dinesha »

DRDO was suppose to display Nirbhay mock-up. Any news or photos, plz?
Baldev

Post by Baldev »

is there no nice video of lca pulling maneuvers?
aniket

Post by aniket »

Flew in yesterday and saw a IL 72in palam . Beautiful

OK... I have the contacts of 3 other ppl who're attending today. We could have a small meetup at lunch time. Venue unclear, but i'm guessing we can all commonly meet outside the food court around 1 pm???

Else, someone can msg me at the number deciphered by the following code:

(edited... no one called me anyway. Apparently, i'm not good looking enough :lol: )

:-D

I request admins to delete this post by the end of today... I don't prefer to have people calling me up a few years later :-)
Last edited by k prasad on 11 Feb 2011 21:57, edited 1 time in total.
siddhantagarwal

Confused , Please help

Post by siddhantagarwal »

Me and my friends have purchased business visitor pass for the 12th February , ie., Saturday. I was totally confused that

1.which time we should go to the show ?
2.we are students would we face any problems during entry in regard to the business visitor pass?
3.are there 2 similar sessions in a day? if they are should we visit only 1 of them?

do let me know.
thanks in advance
siddhant agarwal

rahuldevnath wrote:Ok few shots for all Jingos! :)
This kind of shot with a full load would be an awesome sight. Psyops darling.

Beautiful shot. Please post exif details if possible.

How many jingoes signed up for the evening meet tomorrow (12th)?

I am tentatively in :oops: :oops:

Am still waiting for confirmation from my friends as to whether they are coming on Sat or Sun.. If they say sunday, I'm in Doc's house on sat else need to try and make it after attending AI on Saturday before the meet ends ( am still sceptical if thats possible)
VishnuCK

Post by VishnuCK »

Guys,
For those of you who are yet to make it to the show, here's a scanned legend of the Yelahanka Airforce station which was on my RFID ticket. Hope this helps folks get familiar with places of interest,entries and exits.