J&K News and Discussion-2011

menon s

Re: J&K News and Discussion-2011

Post by menon s »

"Don't put your children in harm's way by egging them on to throw stones at armed forces. This is not a non-violent struggle as you claim. Pitched battles are not the way you are going to get whatever you want. You guys are far better off than most other Indians and definitely better than all Pakistanis with whom some of you want to join"
Great post Ssridhar Sir. I was in Srinagar last week, and i happened to talk to a few families. the lament i heard against us goes like this " whenever you speak about Kashmir, u only speak about Islamic terrorism, Pakistan and the Pandits? What about our plight?"

i told them about the state finances, i told them that jandk states revenue receipts are so low that they cannot even pay their Salaries and pensions, without help from delhi? the few who are pragmatic and are state dependent, get on the defensive then, " we are okay, but then why? should you still have AFPSA and PSA? "

I think if we can make some changes in that, we can bring down the plight of the common man.
menon s

Post by menon s »

Drug Addiction increasing in Kashmir

“In a month from now, we will be busy harvesting charas,” says Iqbal Yousuf, 22, a first year Arts student. “It is a slow job in which the leaves are pressed with hands and then rubbed together to collect the sticky dark cream on a paper. It is attar, the best charas,” he says. Attar (meaning scent) is soft, sticky, like a chewing gum and, fetched Yousuf a lot of money last year. “A day’s work can fetch Rs. 500,” he says. “My brother earned thousands last season.” The other grade of charas is garda (dust).
Asif Shafi, 17, from Ganderbal, was born two months before his policeman father was killed in an encounter. He smoked his first joint of weed and had his first strip of Spasmo Proxyvon at 12 the day his mother remarried.

There are many like Shafi who are out on the streets of Kashmir. It is easy for the police to label the young boys as addicts. The police seem to be using the drug abuse numbers to help their discourse against azadi protests but they forget that it was their job in the first place to stop the drug trade. Now, who will take the responsibility for closing down Noori’s business or putting Feroz Don behind bars?

Menon ji, Someone needs to ask them as why AFSPA and PSA is there ? There must be some reason. After all successive Central Govt's have been more than eager to please people of the valley.
menon s

Post by menon s »

Get paid by Center upto 10 lacs, if Army were to blow up your house. i didnot know that they really paid? now thats nice!
http://earlytimes.in/newsdet.aspx?q=69312
Centre has enhanced amount of relief provide for damage caused to both immovable and movable property during action by central paramilitary forces including Army in Jammu and Kashmir from meager Rs. 1 lakh to Rs. 10 lakh.
According to the order issued by Ministry of Union Home Affairs, the ex-gratia relief for damage of immovable or movable property due to bomb blast or other kind of sabotage in which there has been no involvement of owner or tenant in subversive activities has been enhanced from Rs. 1 lakh to Rs. 10 lakhs in total.

menon s wrote:I was in Srinagar last week, and i happened to talk to a few families. the lament i heard against us goes like this " whenever you speak about Kashmir, u only speak about Islamic terrorism, Pakistan and the Pandits? What about our plight?"
Menon, Kashmiris (applies to the rest of the regions J&K as well) cannot hope to remain isolated without merging themselves in the Indian mainstream and yet dream of improving their lot or plight. All sections of J&Kites seem to have been confused from day one. This was exemplified by the indecisiveness of Maharajah Hari Singh as well as later on by the Abdullahs and others up to and including Congress members from that state today. They cannot sit on the wall for ever and hope to go with wherever the wind was blowing. They speak of Kashmiriyat, ambitions of the people etc without clearly defining these terms. Nobody has been able to clearly define what Kashmiriyat meant. Rightly or wrongly, Maharajah Hari Singh acceded to India. Frankly, India has done far better than Pakistan whether it is economic, religious or political empowerment. They should just take one look at the so called AJK or Gilgit-Baltistan to see how much freedom and empowerment they enjoy here in spite of such grave terrorist situations or in spite of the so-called AFSPA. I am sure they know it but it is again their inability to come to terms with reality, indecisiveness and fear of terrorists that prevent them from the leap of faith. Then, they have third-rate religio-political right-wing leaders and political leaders and pseudo-secularists from all over India who are doing a gross disservice to them by leading them down a wrong aisle. There is no option for Independence here however much they may want to delude themselves with or however much morally it may be appealing. Nehru's promise was in a particular context which has long since been violated by Pakistan and fanatics within J&K itself. No plebiscite is possible after all that has happened.

I may sound insensitive but again, their plight is what they have invited upon themselves. What has brought them more misery than being caught in the crossfire between the terrorists and the security forces ? Are they claiming that the security forces are firing for the heck of it and that the constant news of encounters, killing of terrorists and also personnel of the security forces are all fake ? I am not denying that the terrorists may extract support from some terrified & unwilling people or that some encounters might have been fake. But, that does not detract from the overall picture that the problem persists because Kashmiris support separatists and terrorists like Geelani, Lone, Malik, Mirwaiz, the Mufti and his daughter et al. What brings them more misery than the thrice a week hartal sponsored by Geelani that shuts down shops and institutions and raises tensions all around ? What brings them more misery than losing their children when security forces retaliate for the so called intifaada ? Do they think that the security forces should simply receive body blows from these stone pelters and not retaliate ? Why are they who otherwise talk about 'plight' keeping mum on this ?
the few who are pragmatic and are state dependent, get on the defensive then, " we are okay, but then why? should you still have AFPSA and PSA? "

I think if we can make some changes in that, we can bring down the plight of the common man.
AFSPA or PSA cannot be withdrawn so long as the situation remains abnormal. These were non existent prior to 1990 and so were the 7 million Indian soldiers there. I agree that some changes may need to be made to iron out a few wrinkles but the overall import of AFSPA cannot be changed. It is the cross that they have to carry for not discarding their separatist leaders.
menon s

Post by menon s »

VikasRaina wrote:Menon ji, Someone needs to ask them as why AFSPA and PSA is there ? There must be some reason. After all successive Central Govt's have been more than eager to please people of the valley.
Raina sir, I personally feel that the act is draconian. there is a saying that ultimate power corrupts, and this is true for anyone, im not complaining about Indian Army per se, but lesser disciplined Para militaries and police , tend to abuse this. Im not saying we need to repel this, act, but there should be many more checks and balances, that will reduce the abuse. As for "more to Srinagar, less to Jammu" cry, look at the J&K budget, they have allotted 1000 crs for development of jammu this year. Lets give credit where it is due, please.

Now you guys understand why I asked for the list of books from SSridhar guru. Members here should know history first, otherwise we will keep discussing the same issues again and again.

The list of books is mainly for the followers of Karl Marx and Arundhati Roy.

menon s wrote:Get paid by Center upto 10 lacs, if Army were to blow up your house. i didnot know that they really paid? now thats nice!
http://earlytimes.in/newsdet.aspx?q=69312
The IA does many more things which should be highlighted. For example, Op Sadbhavna encompasses a whole lot of activities to win the hearts & minds of people. This is a very important part of Counter Insurgency operations and covers running schools, hospitals, orphanages, helping with specialists in agriculture, taking children at an impressionable age all over the country (every two months a group of 30 children come to Chennai and stay at Raj Bhavan) etc. etc. The activities are far too many.

Welfare activities done by GoI

From PIB

The Prime Minister Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee handing over a cheque and a letter to a beneficiary of the Self employment Scheme, in Srinagar (Jammu & Ksahmir on August 28, 2003 (Thursday). The Chief Minister of Jammu & Kashmir Shri Mufti Mohammed Sayeed is also seen.

The President, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil presenting the National Award for Teacher-2009 to Smt. Fareeda Akhtar, Master, Jammu & Kashmir (Primary School Teachers category), on the occasion of the ‘Teacher’s Day’, in New Delhi on September 05, 2010.
The Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Smt. D. Purandeswari is also seen.

Operation Sadbhavna (By bad bad 7 million strong Indian Army)

The photographs shown below are mainly from Indian Army's website

Girl students from Batalik and Ladakh interact with women Army officers during their visit to Chandi Mandir on Wednesday. — A Tribune photograph

A medical camp conducted as part of Operation Sadbhavana
menon s

Post by menon s »

There is no option for Independence here however much they may want to delude themselves with or however much morally it may be appealing. Nehru's promise was in a particular context which has long since been violated by Pakistan and fanatics within J&K itself. No plebiscite is possible after all that has happened.
Thank you sridhar sir, for your valuable post. Half the confusion in the kashmiri mind, is because of Indo Pakistani, talks, on Kashmir. They really believe that something imminent is going to happen. Kasuri, last month was in Delhi, saying that MMS and Musharaff were on the verge of signing an agreement, which we Indians are also not privy about. MMS has also neither said yes to it nor said no. They really believe or are led to believe, that there will be an agreement between India and Pakistan, for joint control of the valley and the AJK, sooner if not later.

menon s wrote:Half the confusion in the kashmiri mind, is because of Indo Pakistani, talks, on Kashmir.
The next time you visit the Valley and interact with the 'confused' Kashmiris, please do tell them this: there is a unanimous resolution in the Indian parliament that the whole of J&K, including GB, belongs to us, and that nobody can do pretty much anything else. These people have already wasted many decades dilly-dallying and therefore without reaping full benefits of being part of a thriving democracy & economy. They can choose to remain like that when the rest of India would pass by them with Kashmiris still wailing and dreaming of whatever they have been dreaming of. It must cure them of the confusion.

LeT militant involved in killing of two Sopore sisters killed
The Lashkar-e-Toiba militant, who was allegedly involved in the murder of two teenaged sisters in Sopore town of Baramulla district, was killed by security forces in the apple town today even a the search operation in the area entered the second day.

Wasim Ahmad Ganaie, who had taken shelter in an underground drainage system in Muslim Peer area of Sopore yesterday, was killed in the wee hours today, officials said.

The officials said Ganaie was one of the two militants who had abducted and then shot dead Arifa and Akhter, the teenaged sisters, in the same area of Sopore on the night of January 31.

Security forces yesterday launched a search operation in Muslim Peer locality yesterday morning after inputs about two to three militants hiding in a medical shop.

As the security forces were closing in, the militants opened firing on them which was retaliated.
In the ensuing gunbattle, self-styled divisional commander of Harkatul Mujahideen outfit Chota Kalimullah alias Shamsher was killed yesterday.

He was also operating under the code name of Talwar Bhai, the spokesman said, adding an AK 47 rifle, six magazines and a pistol magazine were recovered from the scene of the encounter.
Are dirty stinky Pakis who met their 72 inside some drainage also entitled to their 72 or will the 72 virgins demand only guys with good hygiene?
menon s

Post by menon s »

I sometimes feel that there should be a student exchange pro gramme, so that Kashmiri boys can study, in Schools in other parts of the country, for free and the schools are compensated for what they do. Our Christians schools in Kerala, and in Bangalore used to have a good intake of students from north east even today. Since their parents feared that these kids would be sucked into militancy. I think that would help the children, develop an open mind and understand the perfidy behind faith based fascism.
menon s

Post by menon s »

Ajatshatru wrote:menon s wrote:
ravi im in Srinagar since yesterday, and thats the local sentiment expressed.
Now that this strategy (as generally seen in most of your posts and links to most of your articles you quote) being 80%-90% anti-India sentiment but rounded of with some one liner personal comment of yours at the end (tactic of indulging in 'tokenism') i.e. remaining 10% somewhat positive comment at the end to camouflage your real intent in most of your posts is becoming all too apparent.....tell me, your above quote 'that's the local sentiment expressed'.....clarify what was the exact sample size of this survey, which particular area of Srinagar are you talking about, what sort of questions you were putting to them (sometimes questions are phrased in a particular manner to elicit only a certain type of reply) before making mischievous statements like 'that's the local sentiment expressed'.
Why? is it that you are taking things so personal? im no journalist man, i dont conduct surveys, i go to Srinagar, on matters related to my job. Since its my job to network, i speak to people, and since we cannot talk abt business always, we talk about weather, our kids and politics, as you know we Mallus always love talking politics. My statement about 'sajjad afghani", was what businessmen in the valley were telling me, the day i was there? And that apprehension, was cleared by DGP himself. Sir, please,i have no pre ordained agenda, except to know the truth behind certain things. you accuse me of having asked loaded questions? Yes i ask questions, but that is to ascertain the historical veracity of certain things i read, which i believe people in this forum, who have better brains than me, can help clarify. Lets keep the dialogue non partisan and impersonal please.

menon s wrote:Lets keep the dialogue non partisan and impersonal please.
If by non-partisan you mean having an open ended idea regarding status of India's control over J&K then I am sorry majority board is indeed partisan. You shall face active rebuttals and snide remarks with the same ease as you throw tar on Indian security forces using some random street quotes as alibi.
menon s

Post by menon s »

By non partisan i meant the questions on my political preference.

menon s wrote:By non partisan i meant the questions on my political preference.
Being a staunch supporter of one strong and reprehensible ideology that killed millions worldwide does not allow one to claim moral high ground or claim non-partisan status. If you find it easy to frame your debates as "anything but xyz party" or "I am ashamed to be born in a particular religion" (which you very clearly stated) then you can hardly expect reasoned comments to come your way. People here frequent J&K far more than you can imagine and we have not started even talking what Jammu dogras think or Laddakh Scout boys want to do!
Let us state whatever we know without claiming the mantle of non-partisanship, you are NOT. Neither are other members, we are all partisan members with our agendas, claiming country-wise is just a plain lie meant to hide real dagger of assassin.

menon s,

There are several issues here. But the central one, or so I think, is this. The Kashmiris simply will not be permitted to break away and form another country or merge with Pakistan on the basis of the argument that they are Muslims. Once they understand this, and it is all of our jobs to make them understand this (and I mean all each and every one in whatever possible capacity), peace will return to J&K comprehensively. Then they can simply live as the people in all the other states are living, without recourse to guns or violence.

During one of your encounters, ask "the ordinary Kashmiri muslim" (cause almost certainly neither the Hindus, the Buddhists or Christians in Kashmir want to secede) this question: "Do you think Hinduism deserves equal respect to Islam"? "Are all religions equal"? I am curious to find out what the answers are ... just an informal poll so to speak... Don't get yourself shot !!! :)

menon s wrote:I sometimes feel that there should be a student exchange pro gramme, so that Kashmiri boys can study, in Schools in other parts of the country, for free and the schools are compensated for what they do. Our Christians schools in Kerala, and in Bangalore used to have a good intake of students from north east even today. Since their parents feared that these kids would be sucked into militancy. I think that would help the children, develop an open mind and understand the perfidy behind faith based fascism.
I am curious - how would going from one region where a certain "faith" has apparently become the basis for "fascism" to another region to a school of the same faith be sufficient to develop an "open mind" and "understand the perfidy"?

Do you mean that as per your example, like "our Christian schools" you want the Kashmiri "boys" to study in "Islamic schools" in other parts of the country ? Why rule out the "girls"? Which "Islamist school" in which part of the country teach against "fascism" based on "faith"?

What is really your idea of "fascism"? Do you feel that the core elements of fascism as defined by you do not exist in Christianity or Islam and therefore your method should then work without deconstruction of the "faiths" themselves?

It would be fun to explore the "faith" vs "fascism" angle once you give your definition! The word actually was coined in firmly Christian environments - most prominent in some of the most prominent centres of Christain evangelism and radicalism and when spreading out of Europe managed to flourish exactly where Christianity had flourished earlier through the colonial enterprise. Ironically the admiration for Hitler in some well-known clerics of Islam is also well-known - united in their hatredof the Jews! (and other things too!)
menon s

Post by menon s »

Dear Sir, In our part of the country quality education, is given by convent schools. I think that the education we had in those convents were secular. I meant that Kashmiri boys should be given, that same secular education, in schools across India, so that we develop, children, who understand, what India is all about, in a safe and sound environment rather than in the valley and other parts of Kashmir.

And Ah! on more thing, by secular education, i mean, respect to all faiths, and that faith should not interfere with polity. I know ur greviances against prosteylising in Christianity, and thats something i cannot do anything about it, because im not one.

menon s wrote:I sometimes feel that there should be a student exchange pro gramme, so that Kashmiri boys can study, in Schools in other parts of the country, for free and the schools are compensated for what they do. Our Christians schools in Kerala, and in Bangalore used to have a good intake of students from north east even today. Since their parents feared that these kids would be sucked into militancy. I think that would help the children, develop an open mind and understand the perfidy behind faith based fascism.
Heard of 'GoI seats quota' ? Apparently almost every state in India has to reserve some of the seats in it's educational institutions for students from other states; regions like NE and Kashmir do get special consideration when it comes to allocation of these seats under the GoI quota.

Are they even willing to study in convent schools? I am doubtful, because next door even the secular Red Cross had to be rebranded Red Crescent.

ok, nothing about education here ...
Last edited by abhishek_sharma on 14 Mar 2011 10:16, edited 3 times in total.

menon s wrote: convent schools. I think that the education we had in those convents were secular

that same secular education,.

If despite the tremendous amount of data which shows

convent != secular

I think you should first worry about why you dont have a grip on reality, rather than worry about why some folks in KV are currently delusional.

Fix that first and the rest would get fixed.

Guys, Mixing J&K dhaga with Education dhaga will invite wrath of the KHAN..
somnath

Post by somnath »

abhishek_sharma wrote:Since we are talking about secular education, see these pictures of monks from Ramakrishna Mission. Can you see the picture of Jesus on the wall? Can you assure me that I can find pictures of Hindu Gods in schools run by Muslims/Christians
Not to get into an "equal equal" match, but the missionary school I went to in Cal celebrated Saraswati puja with gusto..And while school was closed during Durga puja, there were enough events around it...

RK Mission is a completely different animal though - Swami Vivekanand's ideals permeate the place, and he stands tall, very very tall in the strength of his ideas........

somnath wrote:Not to get into an "equal equal" match, but the missionary school I went to in Cal celebrated Saraswati puja with gusto..
The Christian school (where I studied in Muzaffarpur, Bihar) did not celebrate *ANY* Hindu festival.

Folks, we are off in a tangent. Please get back to the thread topic.

Sorry boss. No more on religion. My apologies.

negi wrote:regions like NE and Kashmir do get special consideration when it comes to allocation of these seats under the GoI quota.
Folks can correct me if I am wrong here. Even in my mother state, I have seen that this quota is effectively by students from the North Eastern states. They come all the way down south to study and improve their lives. But I am yet to see a Kashmiri student. I dont know what is the situation in other states. That makes me think, if it is a case that these folks dont want to move an inch from their own home towns, and expect the rest of the country to come towards them with more freebies.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^Not sure students from J&K have a "quota" in unis across the country...Thats only for NE AFAIK..

Kashmiris do have some quota. KPs for example, have a quota in all colleges of Maharashtra.

Meanwhile, terrorist infiltration season is about to start

489 ultras readied by LeT, HM for infiltration
A Multi Agency Centre (MAC) set up by the Union Home Ministry in New Delhi has reported that 489 top militants of Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT), Hizbul Mujahideen and a couple of other lesser known militant outfits were in full preparedness to try and cross into Jammu and Kashmir from the Line of Control (LoC) this summer.

Though the number of trained militants camping at forward launching pads across the LoC and International Border (IB) was about 1000, the Agency report said 489 militants were fully prepared to try to intrude into the border State of J&K this summer when snow would completely melt leading to clearance of all mountain passes.

GOC-in-C reviews security
Army’s Northern Command Chief Lt Gen K T Parnaik conducted a two-day tour of Kashmir to take stock of the security situation in the Valley.

The General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Northern Command, who arrived here on Friday, was briefed about the security situation in the Valley by GOC Chinar Corps Lt Gen S A Hasnain, Defence sources said today.

Gen Parnaik was also briefed about steps taken to check infiltration of militants into the Valley from Pak-occupied Kashmir.

He was informed that patrolling along the Line of Control has been intensified as the militants over the past two have years made several attempts to infiltrate around this time, they said.

Although natural passes along the Line of Control are still covered by snow, modern gadgets and winter clothing have made infiltration of the ultras possible even during winter.

Letter written by a displaced person from PoK

http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/
Package for DPs

Sir,
It is highly praiseworthy that the Revenue and Relief Minister, Raman Bhalla, met the Prime Minister and sought one time settlement of the displaced persons of 1947,1965 and 1971 and projected a special package of Rs.1775 crores for them. In his detailed memorandum to the Prime Minister, Mr.Bhalla projected the demand of Rs.15 lakh cash for each family of the DPs and said that a special package of Rs.700 crore for the DPs of 1947, Rs.750 crore for the DPs of West Pakistan refugees (1947),Rs.225 crore for DPs of Chhamb (1965) and Rs.100 crore for DPs of 1971. He also suggested for a central team to make assessment at its own level and finalize the much delayed demand of one time settlement of these displaced persons/refugees. Mr Bhalla accepted that this is a bery old demand of the DPs who have been waging struggle for a long time.
He admits that one time settlement amounting to Rs.15 lakh per displaced family would be significant Confidence Building Measure whereby the aggrieved families can be satisfied and the heart burning caused due to the package to the migrants from the Kashmir valley can be eased. Such a special package for the DPs of 1947,1965 and 2971 refugees from the POK has also been advocated by a delegation of the PCC lead by former Dy.CM and senior vice president Pt. Mangat Ram Sharma which met the Prime Minister among others. A similar demand has also been raised by the delegation of the Shiromoni Akali Dal delegation lead by Gurdev Singh and DS Wazir.
It is high time for the state as well as the Central Government to keep the matter actively alive so that it reaches final fate at the earliest. It is pertinent to point out that the refugees of 1947 from district Mirpur of POK have to be give priority as their homeland Mirpur,Didyal and surrounding 190 villages have been submerged under the deep lake water of the Mangla Dam built at Mirpur by the Pakistan Government over the river Jhelum in the year 1960.
Even Government of India is fully aware of it that the homeland of these refugees of district Mirpur is deep under water and even if the dispute between India and Pakistan is settled at some stage the land under the lake will never come out of water. It is on record that late Mrs. Indira Gandhi,the then Prime Minister of India , had conveyed her good wishes to the Government of Pakistan over the inauguration of the Mangla Dam somewhere in late sixties while flying over that country. Befooling of the still surviving successor families of these refugees from district Mirpur may please be stopped and adequate one time cash settlement be done at the earlies as almost two generations have already have gone in these over six decades of 1947 holocaust.

Yours etc...
Romesh Gupta (Mirpuri)
280, Bakshi Nagar, Jammu.

menon s wrote:Dear Sir, In our part of the country quality education, is given by convent schools. I think that the education we had in those convents were secular. I meant that Kashmiri boys should be given, that same secular education, in schools across India, so that we develop, children, who understand, what India is all about, in a safe and sound environment rather than in the valley and other parts of Kashmir.
There are several such schools in J&K, including the Kashmir region, like Burn Hall School in Srinagar established way back in the 1950s.

Airavat sir,
Ever heard of "Bhains ke aage been bajaana" ? This guy is intentionally blind. You can't make him see the reality
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

There's nothing wrong with convent education - there have been gallantry award winners in J&K who are convent educated.

ManishH wrote:There's nothing wrong with convent education - there have been gallantry award winners in J&K who are convent educated.
Are we here to discuss convent educated janta who run phinance whirled vs tappar school janta who run kirana stores like yours truly? If the thread is to discuss issues such as these then I should place my advert for sale of a four pillar building in Hyderabad! Mods kindly intervene.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

^^^ unrelated to above.

Was flipping old clippings, remembering Sub Surinder Singh, AC, 3 Sikh who made the supreme sacrifice in J&K

03-Mar-2002|Sub Surinder Singh|AC|3 Sikh

Nary an article on the net ...

menon s wrote:Dear Sir, In our part of the country quality education, is given by convent schools. I think that the education we had in those convents were secular.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: . That must have been one swell "convent". I don't think boys are actually allowed in places meant for girls who are training to be nuns! Surely there is a joke in there somewhere, fit for a comic film perhaps?
I meant that Kashmiri boys should be given, that same secular education
Hmm. That is a brand new definition of secular ! The "convent" (I still cant imagine how they took you in, assuming you are male) is a RELIGIOUS school (Christian missionary schools have a charter to spread/teach their religion and get minority status precisely for that) and even they would not classify themselves as secular. I wonder how in hell..oops heaven would anyone classify such a school as "Secular" and the education you get there including religious instruction as "Secular".
And Ah! on more thing, by secular education, i mean, respect to all faiths, and that faith should not interfere with polity.
I somehow dont think that there is any class in any missionary school which teaches "respect" for other denominations, let alone faiths ! Why the Pope actively campaigns against increasing "secularization" of society and the relegation of the Catholic Church from public and private and all walks of life in much of the world. The idea is to very much preserve the ability to interfere with the polity!