Magazine and Media Watch/Review

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Nandai

Post by Nandai »

Military Technologys February issue has got a Big India special, mostly focused on the IAF, so you who can get hold of a copy do so, just the front picture is worth the price, it shows the Brahmos test launch done in december last year. I will try and get hold of scans of the relevant articles, but it might take a while.
Harry

Post by Harry »

Or any place we can buy the issues in question? Or get photocopies of the article (after paying for it of course)?
Merlin, this is very possible but to obtain copies in bulk before redistribution, one must first have a confirmed number of purchasers ready to see if it's feasible. Right now, I have no idea of how many want it?

If you want the single articles alone, you'll have to wait many months before the Vayu website is up.
afadia

Post by afadia »

Harry wrote:
Or any place we can buy the issues in question? Or get photocopies of the article (after paying for it of course)?
Merlin, this is very possible but to obtain copies in bulk before redistribution, one must first have a confirmed number of purchasers ready to see if it's feasible. Right now, I have no idea of how many want it?

If you want the single articles alone, you'll have to wait many months before the Vayu website is up.
Since you are the original author, there are options :

1. Just scan the article and share it as a PDF. to make sure Vayu does not lose money, we can wait till the next issue comes out and the current issue becomes obsolete.
2. why not put it up as a HTML on acig ? I am sure everyone would love to read it.

Ofcourse all this is possible unless ofcourse Vayu paid for the work and they now hold the copyright to the entire article.
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/arti ... urpg-2.cms

A detail of the LET Plot to attack Delhi

I cant understand how and why DDM is revealing all these details on how the police tracked down the puki terror cells... Particularly egregious is the disclosure of the names of the policemen who were involved "in all operation against LeT for the past six years". If there is an attack on their homes or on their person who is going to be responsible. And why is Dehi Police being left to fend for itself, when it is dealing with such organised terror? Why are we even tolerating this sort of infamy? We are being dealt the death of a thousand cuts.
shek

Post by shek »

A MUST REEAD:
http://www.deccanherald.com/deccanheral ... 05/sl3.asp

INTERVIEW (DECCAN HERALD, BANGALORE MARCH 20th)
Air Commodore (retd) J A Benjamin

MiG-21s HAVE BEEN UPGRADED AND GIVEN A NEW LEASE ON LIFE

IAF getting advanced jet trainers only now
On March 8 another MiG-21 – an IAF fighter, crashed soon after taking off from the Nal Airbase in Bikaner, killing the pilot and injuring eight people on the ground. The number of MiG-21 fighters lost in crashes and accidents since 2001-02 has gone up to 75. According to figures tabled in Parliament, 157 pilots and 35 civilians have been killed in MiG-21 accidents since 1971.

Deccan Herald spoke to Air Commodore (retd) James Arun Benjamin about the MiG-21s, better known as ‘flying coffins’. Benjamin was commissioned into the fighter stream, and was a flying instructor for jets and a fighter combat leader. He was joint director, Flight Safety, at Air Headquarters. He has commanded two fighter bases and a fighter squadron. He was president of officers’ selection board at Dehra Dun. Excerpts:

Why have there been so many MiG-21 crashes?
MiG-21 form the bulk of our fleet. They are about 50 per cent of our total strength. The rest are MiG-29, MiG-23, Jaguar, SU-30 and Mirage 2000. So it is natural that the numbers of MiG-21 crashing will be more than other air frames.

What is the role of these aircraft?
MiG-21 is not a bomber. It was designed as a supersonic interceptor for the American nuclear bombers. We modified the aircraft to assume all roles; of ground attack, reconnaissance, interception and air combat. MiG-23 and MiG-27 are bombers. MiG-25 is for reconnaissance. MiG-29 is an air superiority interceptor and can combat other fighters. Su-30 is a multi-role aircraft. It has been modified to suit our requirements.

The Jaguar is a bomber and Mirage-2000 a multi-role aircraft used for air defence and ground attack.

The first variants of MiG-21 came to India from Russia in small numbers in 1964-65. Other variants came in 1974 and then in 1978-79. Now we are in the process of upgrading the avionics of MiG-21 BIS – the most advanced version of MiG-21.
Do the accidents have anything to do with the dated technology of the ’60s?
No. Though MiG-21s are single-engine aircraft, they are in perfect condition and still have aircraft hours. When an aircraft is bought the manufacturers give its Total Technical Life (TTL).

Also, we have a strict servicing schedule at 25 hours, 50 hours, 100 hours so each time an aircraft comes out of servicing, it’s a new aircraft. The service drills and schedules are meticulous. But it’s a machine and can break down any time. Also, we are not in a position to discard old technology because these aircraft are very expensive. A MiG-21 is about Rs 50 crores, MiG-29 about Rs 150 crores.

What are the reasons for MiG-21 crashes?
There could be many reasons behind the crash but most crashes occur either due to pilot error or technical failure. The pilot fails to initiate his escape system because of misjudgment or if he is incapacitated. The MiG-21 has a superb eject mechanism and if the pilot rightly uses his discretion, he can survive a fatal crash. The ejection can be initiated at 120 km per hour, even before take-off. The other reasons for the crash could be due to bird strike, bullet ricochet, control flight into terrain, pilot’s disorientation, which can occur in bad weather and during night time etc. Most accidents could have been avoided had the pilot initiated the escape system on time.

Is pilot error due to a flaw in pilot training?
Perhaps. Because when the supersonics (MiG-21) came in ’64-65, pilots were trained in a gradual manner, from slower aircraft (HT-2, Harvard, Vampire, Hunter, Gnat) to high-speed jets or from sub-sonic jets to trans-sonic jets and then to super-sonic jets. Now pilots are being taken from Kiran, which flies at the maximum speed of 350 km per hour to MiG-21, whose minimum speed is 300 km per hour and can score up to 2,200 km per hour. There’s a grey area between the speed differentials. The Air Force has been asking the Government for Advanced Jet Trainers (AJTs) for the last 20 years but it’s only now that we are getting some.
Our instructors are now getting trained on Hawks in the UK. Hopefully, the accident rates will come down now. However, the IAF has been able minimise the accident rate from about 25-30 each year in the 1960s to 22-25 in the 1970s and 10-20 in the last two decades.

Why did the government take 20 years to get AJTs?
...because of economic reasons. Providing potable water has to take precedence over defence needs in a country like India.

MiG-21 is a single-engine fighter. Is this a disadvantage?
...to the extent that in a twin-engine fighter one can bring the aircraft back on the second engine in case the first one fails. A twin-engine fighter has more survivability than a single engine. Su-30, Jaguar and MiG-29 have twin engines. Mirage-2000, although being a single engine, has higher survivability because of a computer-controlled engine.

MiG-21s are supposed to be phased out between 2006-07 and the Air Force is on the look out for induction of 125 multi-role aircraft as a stop-gap arrangement till the induction of the country's own light combat aircraft (LCA) by 2009. Comment.
We are not in a position to do away with the MiG-21 for economic reasons and the number of hours left in the fleet. They have been upgraded and given a lease on life till 2020. As for the LCA, we did our first test flight just recently.

What happens to recommendations made by a court of enquiry?
After a crash there’s an immediate investigation to get the prima facie evidence of the crash. After that a court of enquiry is instituted comprising highly skilled officers, pilot, engineers and a medical doctor.

Till they find out the root cause of the accident they cannot disperse. They also look into whether anyone is culpable. The court recommends remedial measures and they are implemented. But this does not prevent another MiG-21 from crashing for different reasons.

Is there resistance among pilots to fly an MiG-21?
When I was commanding the MiG-21 squadron I did not come across a single pilot who didn’t want to get into the cockpit. They used to be upset if they were not given a sortie to fly.

A fighter pilot likes flying because he is passionate about it and remember, they are in-charge of the cutting edge of technology. It’s a tremendous high.

Bala Chauhan
in Bangalore

BR's Veterans History Project and the IAF Site gets some publicity in the Business Standard

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/Temp/uplo ... andard.jpg

There are a few factual errors towards the end of the article, please ignore them. Like it mentions that the Video CDs being made by AFWWA instead of Kaleido India etc.
Manne

Post by Manne »

Jagan/Kapil,

You've got mail.
afadia

Post by afadia »

Jagan wrote:BR's Veterans History Project and the IAF Site gets some publicity in the Business Standard

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/Temp/uplo ... andard.jpg

There are a few factual errors towards the end of the article, please ignore them. Like it mentions that the Video CDs being made by AFWWA instead of Kaleido India etc.
Very nice. - i did not know there were some good pictures till i saw that report. What is that bit about a book on the 65 war beign out soon - when do we expect it.? Does it cover the whole war or only the air force?

afadia wrote: Very nice. - i did not know there were some good pictures till i saw that report. What is that bit about a book on the 65 war beign out soon - when do we expect it.? Does it cover the whole war or only the air force?
Only the air force. Give it a week or two and I will have more details. Currently progress is slow..
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

The March issue of Andrei Fomin's magazine - Vzlet ( Take - Off ) seems to be very Aero India focussed. Also note the translation of last topic of the issue.

" ELTA demonstrated in Bangalore AESA radar (EL/M -2052) "
Nathan R

Post by Nathan R »

Some Very Interesting reading
http://www.ausairpower.net/Wedgetail-June-04-P.pdf

Lots of pics :P
Nathan R

Post by Nathan R »

double post
Sohum

Post by Sohum »

Link to BR from a BBC dated May 24, 2001

Fire at Indian arms depot

Look for the inconspicuously titled
Consortium of Indian military websites
on the right hand bar.
Krishna

Post by Krishna »

An interesting duel is going on in "Outlook" magazine over the article written by Mr B. Raman regarding the Modi visa denial issue and the role of indian chriatian organisations in the affair.

The hidden persuaders
http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fo ... Modi&sid=1

'Mischievous And Shallow'
http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fo ... aman&sid=1

'I Stand By My Assessment'
http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fo ... aman&sid=2

Interested BRFites may do their bit to support MR Raman.
JCage

Post by JCage »

BRaman is a respected member of BR and deserves support.

Katareji pls remove the first part of ur post.
Laks

Post by Laks »

Katare wrote:One is a neo conservative nationalist and other is a neo liberal leftist organization. What do you expect a tango :P

IMHO, BR and BRfiets would be better off by staying away from these activists
Have a look at the media,psyops thread for relevant posts.
Harry

Post by Harry »

Did anyone catch "War and Peace : Programme on National Security" on DD, on Sunday?

JaiS wrote:The March issue of Andrei Fomin's magazine - Vzlet ( Take - Off ) seems to be very Aero India focussed. Also note the translation of last topic of the issue.

In fact I spent good 20 minutes talking to the ELTA engineer on the AESA radar. From what I recollect what was in the show was the front-end section of the AESA radar (those RF modules were pretty nifty, the RF IC made in Isreal {Tower-Semi}). Thus one has to add the digitizer(ADC) and signal processing after the RF frontend to make an indigineous AESA radar.
Aditya_M

Post by Aditya_M »

I dont know if this is the right thread for DDM, but....

AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH
You want to become a pilot but the commercial sector is not your cup of tea.

You fancy flying a Hawker Hunter F 56 or even a Douglas DC-3 Dakota?

Well, you could be navigating these aircrafts someday, if being a military pilot is your true calling.
And this is just the start.

Who is Kirti Pandey?! :evil:
Samir

Post by Samir »

And you missed this gem:

<Sorry girls, but this job is open to males only!>

What about?
The highest rank a military pilot can achieve is that of a General.
The guy is living in a time warp.
JCage

Post by JCage »

Arun_S wrote:
JaiS wrote:The March issue of Andrei Fomin's magazine - Vzlet ( Take - Off ) seems to be very Aero India focussed. Also note the translation of last topic of the issue.

In fact I spent good 20 minutes talking to the ELTA engineer on the AESA radar. From what I recollect what was in the show was the front-end section of the AESA radar (those RF modules were pretty nifty, the RF IC made in Isreal {Tower-Semi}). Thus one has to add the digitizer(ADC) and signal processing after the RF frontend to make an indigineous AESA radar.
Arun, has Elta managed to productionize compact Tx/Rx GaAs modules? And those are made by Tower Semi? Thats a real achievement! Did he mention any IAF/ DRDO interest?

Any idea of range?

An Elta AESA would be perfect for the IAF MiG29 upgrade..
Last edited by JCage on 20 Apr 2005 00:47, edited 1 time in total.
JCage

Post by JCage »

JCage

Post by JCage »

Didnt know Israel had such a strong backup in semi's...

http://laniado.sweethome.co.il/files/ex ... onics/#two
Aditya_M

Post by Aditya_M »

Samir, Jagan, I didnt miss either of those gaffes... but my mind kept floundering over Dakota.... Dakota... Dakota to go any further.

I *did* leave a scathing comment on the message board but it will probably be censored by the powers-that-be.

But this article was more than ridiculous and someone REALLY needs to do something.... we cant have someone reading up the article and not applying to the IAF just because of an idiot's mistake...

Probably not new, but Discovery has been showing some interesting shows on various US Navy craft being built. They just showed one on the construction and operation of the first Virginia class SSN, and right now (US west coast) are showing a similar show on the Arleigh Burke DDG. I don't have any recording capability right now, though. Not too technical but fascinating nonetheless.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

X-post.

KK's latest piece in today's Defense News.

http://www.defensenews.com/story.php?F= ... C=thisweek
India Should Take It Slow With U.S. Weapons
By KAUSHIK KAPISTHALAM

There has been a spate of reports about a recent U.S. offer to sell advanced fighter jets like the Lockheed Martin F-16 and Boeing’s F/A-18 to India as part of a new U.S. policy to help India become a “world power.” Unfortunately, some crucial facts have been missing in the reportage.

First, the Indian Air Force (IAF) has been looking to buy multirole fighters since 2002. Last year, the government announced plans to issue a tender by the summer of 2005 for these jets. So far, India has sent a request for information to France’s Dassault Aviation for the Mirage 2000-5, Russia’s RSK MiG for the MiG-29M, Sweden’s Saab for its JAS 39C Gripen and Lockheed Martin for its F-16.

To understand if F-16s or even F/A-18s make sense for the IAF, one must consider the military, financial, strategic and political considerations.

From a military standpoint, a fighter aircraft today is not just a plane but a weapon platform encompassing the airframe, avionics, radar, electronic warfare gear, air-to-air missiles and surface strike munitions. With the F-16, there were reports that Lockheed might offer India a custom built system, similar to the Block-60 plane that it is building for the United Arab Emirates. Boeing might bid with the F/A-18 E/F Super Hornet, which it currently produces for the U.S. Navy.

Both jets, if fully loaded, clearly offer better technology in terms of weaponry, radar and electronic warfare gear than the non-American fighters. But there is a catch.

High-technology components and weapons need separate U.S. export licenses that may not be forthcoming. For instance, the Super Hornet’s Raytheon AN/APG-79 active electronically scanned array radar is a new addition to the U.S. military itself, and it and other advanced subsystems are unlikely to be approved for export — even to “strategic allies.” Consequently, India may have to accept a toned down versions of the fighters or pay top dollar for research and development efforts to build customized subsystems.

From a financial standpoint, one needs to look at the purchase price and long-term costs, including training, support and maintenance costs of both the plane and its subsystems. The standard export version of the F-16 compares favorably price-wise with the Mirage and others, but as pointed out above, adding the latest subsystems tends to increase the price of American fighters disproportionately.

There is also the issue of training and maintenance. The IAF can induct the MiG-29M or Mirage 2000-5 easily since it already operates older versions of the planes, while the F-16 or F/A-18 would require massive investment in logistics. The IAF also will need a lot of time to train its pilots on their first-ever American platform.

This may delay the induction of these jets and defeat the whole purpose of the purchase — to maintain squadron strength as older jets are retired.

From a strategic standpoint, India tends to go for purchases that allow it to integrate local and third-party weapons and systems progressively. For instance, the Su-30MKI air superiority fighter that the IAF is currently inducting features French, Israeli and Indian subsystems on a Russian airframe that took years of multiparty collaboration to integrate. While Dassault and MiG may allow India to improve subsystems, it is hard to see Boeing or Lockheed doing the same.

India also typically asks for transfer of technology and local production rights with such purchases. Dassault and RSK-MiG have already offered a full transfer of technology, but it is extremely unlikely that Boeing or Lockheed Martin would make a similar offer — with good reason.

With the former firms, a deal for 126 jets is perhaps the largest they might obtain and therefore they may be amenable to handing over production rights just to get the contract. With American contractors, the Indian purchase pales in comparison to the numbers they sell to the U.S. military, and it makes little financial sense to acquiesce to Indian demands.

The Indian government also likes to use big-ticket deals to serve larger geopolitical ends. With purchases from disparate countries like France, Israel and Russia, India usually spreads the dollars equitably to smooth relationships. A fighter purchase from the United States could hurt India’s ties with Russia or France, for instance, and it would be unwise for the Indian government to take such a step without securing a major U.S. political concession.

Finally, there is the issue of reliability. Perhaps to a larger extent than with other nations, the United States utilizes weapon sales as an instrument of diplomacy and has on occasion imposed sanctions even on allies to support nonmilitary objectives. This issue tends to be the pink elephant in the room when India discusses military sales with the United States and is unlikely to go away.

India’s strategic partnership with the United States is still in its early days. It would be prudent for both sides to build confidence by smaller and more specialized military deals such as special forces gear or network-centric warfare components.

India needs to learn to work with the myriad American bureaucratic agencies in the Pentagon, Commerce and State departments. The American contractors need to gain knowledge of the Indian military and its strict and sometimes quirky requirements.

A U.S.-India fighter jet deal would be inadvisable at the present time. •
Harry

Post by Harry »

Jagan wrote:
To start with there is a massive seven page artilce on the LCA, avionics , airframes and other stuff written by B Harry. And its just Part 1!. Part II will appear in next issue.
Part II finally has!

http://www.acig.org/artman/publish/article_521.shtml

Harry wrote:
Jagan wrote:
To start with there is a massive seven page artilce on the LCA, avionics , airframes and other stuff written by B Harry. And its just Part 1!. Part II will appear in next issue.
Part II finally has!

http://www.acig.org/artman/publish/article_521.shtml
Harry,

Besides your LCApiece, anything else thats worthwhile in this issue? Its nice of Vayu to offer them for sale - but why the tajmahal pricing? Rs 60 Vs 10$ :lol:
Harry

Post by Harry »

Jagan wrote:
Harry wrote: Still reading but the main story is about Aero India "in perspective"
I dunno. To keep it out of paki reach?
Manne

Post by Manne »

Koi mereku dono part scan karke mail karega kya re? :(
shek

28th APRIL 'X FACTOR' ON NDTV 24/7 IN VERY BAD TASTE

Post by shek »

Guys did anyone of you see the 'X FACTOR' on NDTV 24/7, aired at 2200HRS on tonight (28 April)??
It was one of the most crap shows I've ever ever seen. Being a journalism student, i would grade the show a pathetic 'F'!!
It was about the Court Martial of FO Anjali Gupta. These guys have made such a big thing about it, just because she happens to be the first Lady Officer who is getting Court Martialled. I, like so many feel that this Court Martial is being blown out of proportion. Let us not forget the fact that the charge of “sexual harassment” by FO Anjali Gupta has come up only after she was charged with insubordination, indiscipline etc. I come from a family whose members have served in all the three services with distinction; this includes three women officers too. So I know what I’m talking about. Even when we take the case of the Flight Cadets from the AFA who were withdrawn from the Academy, let us not forget that it wasn’t forced upon them to join. It was by their own will. The Academy is one of the toughest places to be, as a man and as a woman. Relegatory norms are extremely clear in the Academies. If one is found lacking in academics, physically unfit, indiscipline etc, and then relegation takes place without any questions asked. The girls, who were supposed to pass out in a few days just chose to charge their instructors with “sexual harassment”, their easy way out, but it back fired as they were then withdrawn from the academy.
You should have seen that stupid Women Activist who kept comparing the Armed Forces with the Corporate World, for crying out loud, leave the Armed Forces alone!! She knows crap of how the Forces function.
I really felt disheartened after seeing the programme and immediately wrote a feedback to NDTV. Even the Anchor Anubha had no idea what she was talking.
God bless the Media in India, even NDTV has stooped to such low levels.
Last edited by shek on 28 Apr 2005 22:41, edited 2 times in total.

Re: 28th APRIL 'X FACTOR' ON NDTV 24/7 IN VERY BAD TASTE

Shek,

Any idea as to when it gets repeated?

shek

Re: 28th APRIL 'X FACTOR' ON NDTV 24/7 IN VERY BAD TASTE

Post by shek »

Jagan wrote:Shek,

Any idea as to when it gets repeated?

Jagan, thats what i'm trying to find out now. I'm surfing the NDTV site for more info. I guess the effects of Rajdeep Sardesai leaving the channel is now beginning to show. Earlier he used to host the pgme and did a great job of it. I'm glad i cancelled my internship with NDTV in my 2nd Yr. Boy! what utter nonsense, as a journalism student i was feeling so let down and ashamed.
Manne

Post by Manne »

Off topic but sorry to say that Rajdeep Sardesai is no torch bearer either.

I agree that this court martial is being given too much importance. The simple fact that the two IAF officers informed the police that they had to seek the permission of their boss was presented (IE report I think) as if they were trying to be evasive. :evil:
shek

Post by shek »

Manne wrote:Off topic but sorry to say that Rajdeep Sardesai is no torch bearer either.

I agree that this court martial is being given too much importance. The simple fact that the two IAF officers informed the police that they had to seek the permission of their boss was presented (IE report I think) as if they were trying to be evasive. :evil:
Manne what i meant was Rajdeep has a great ability of hosting programmes.
About the Court Martial, in todays 'Hindu', Anjalli Gupta says that the charges are "trivial"!! Can you believe that??? Does she realise that she is a serving officer in a well trained, large and a disciplined fighting force and not in some college?? The fact of the matter is that her charges are serious enough to her being chargesheeted and a GCM, whether she likes it or not. As of now i think a JAG wingco is her counsel and she has pleaded for a civil advocate as she was not sure of getting "justice" from the people in uniform! Another charge coming her way is contempt of court!...That would be trivial for her too!
Regarding the X FACTOR aired on 28th April, the legal advisor of a Womens Activist, AIDWA or something i think, goes on to say that there should be enough female representation on the board of the Court Martial to ensure justice!...Heights!
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

As of now i think a JAG wingco is her counsel and she has pleaded for a civil advocate as she was not sure of getting "justice" from the people in uniform!...

Sorry, but while I do think she may be a little paranoid I think it's also understandable for her to feel that way

Regarding the X FACTOR aired on 28th April, the legal advisor of a Womens Activist, AIDWA or something i think, goes on to say that there should be enough female representation on the board of the Court Martial to ensure justice!...Heights!
So? You don't think a more gender-equitable representation is a good idea because?

Sir I have nothing but respect for the services and their personnel, but I don't believe that the best way to support them is to blindly run down anyone who has the temerity to challenge them in some way.

Anjali Gupta's case is sub judice, so it makes no sense for us to announce our verdicts before the honourable judge does.

We really need to kep a sense of objectivity in cases like these. You weren't there were you? Then wait for the details and the verdict.

Either way, the image and traditions of our forces are much to high to be tarnished by the actions of a few blackguards, whoever they are.

shek

Post by shek »

Jaeger wrote:
As of now i think a JAG wingco is her counsel and she has pleaded for a civil advocate as she was not sure of getting "justice" from the people in uniform!...

Sorry, but while I do think she may be a little paranoid I think it's also understandable for her to feel that way

So? You don't think a more gender-equitable representation is a good idea because?

Sir I have nothing but respect for the services and their personnel, but I don't believe that the best way to support them is to blindly run down anyone who has the temerity to challenge them in some way.

Anjali Gupta's case is sub judice, so it makes no sense for us to announce our verdicts before the honourable judge does.

We really need to kep a sense of objectivity in cases like these. You weren't there were you? Then wait for the details and the verdict.

Either way, the image and traditions of our forces are much to high to be tarnished by the actions of a few blackguards, whoever they are.

My dear Jaeger, I never said having women representation on the board is a bad idea. You're getting me wrong. All i said was instead of concentrating on the Court Martial, that lady was more interested in the involment of women. Even if it were an all woman board, the verdict would still remain the same dear! The very fact that the women activist wants female rep on the board itself shows she has no faith in the GCM. Remember, this is a GCM not of sexual harrasment but of other charges against her. There is no "good" or "bad" idea here.
Secondly, we havent announced any verdict for or against her, she is innocent until proven otherwise. Thats for the GCM to decide.
Lastly, nobody is supporting anyone here. For all you know she may be acquitted. The point was not about "blindly" supporting them but of how the TV news channel reported and discussed it. Read the earlier posts before making any comment. And btw, me being there doesnt fit in here.