Poll: Renaming of Pakistan thread (pls read and vote)

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

The name of the Pakistan discussion thread should be changed

Poll ended at 15 May 2011 07:59

I agree
40%
I disagree
60%

Total votes: 134

Poll: Renaming of Pakistan thread (pls read and vote)

The current name of the Pakistan discussion thread was arrived at after several experimental iterations. The idea was to use search engine bots to highlight the truth about Pakistan. It's links with terror and its Islamist connections were highlighted by the existing name. Pakistan's link with Islamist terror is now well known.

I suggest that we move on. The problem is Pakistan's "security establishment" which is run like a kabila - a mughal military camp described well in the following interview
Just as you have the sultanates of the Middle East where certain families have hijacked whole countries like the Gadhafis have hijacked Libya and the Mubaraks had hijacked Egypt, here (in Pakistan) you have an unelected national security establishment that is almost in the same position.

The elected leadership is a cosmetic arrangement that is there for their convenience. They don't have much money to spend on the people, because out of our total tax collection, half of it goes into defense spending, and a lot of the rest goes into debt servicing.

There's not very much left to spend on the people of this country. So the elected leadership, really, has minimal efficacy as far as the people of this country are concerned.
I suggest we consider renaming the Paki thread something like "Military Camp of Pakistan" or "Kabila of Pakistan"

Suggestions welcome. Please add suggestion for name if you agree. Poll runs for 5 days.

Re: Poll: Renaming of Pakistan thread (pls read and vote)

I like Pakistan Kabila News and Discussion thread!

We were right in accurately portraying the Terrorist nature of TSP. We even highlighted their rotteness with one version of Islamic Republic of Terror (IRot)

My old post of 1999 still in the archives

Pak Military role in society

I first formed these ideas in 1996 while discussing the differences in state structures in Indian sub-continent.

A few years later was reading the ravings of Kasim Rizvi in 1947 and this image of a kabila sweeping through India and being confined in some location or the other based on time was an enduring one.

^^The name "kabila" can be explained in the first post if need be and added to the BRF dictionary.

Terrorist Kabila / Camp of Pakistan
Or .
Disfunctional State of Pakistan or Rent the Terrorist Central, Pakistan.

If I had a say I would prefer Chakala...It is thoroughly deserved.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

The word 'terrorist' must be in there IMO. While words like 'kabila' etc will certainly be helpful to our purpose, its the word 'terrorist' that gets most eyeballs.
Kanishka

Post by Kanishka »

IMHO the name should include the following words: Islamic, Nuclear and Terrorist.
Suggested name: Islamic Nuclear Terrorist State of Pakistan.

I deleted the "State of" because pakistan operates more like a mafia enterprise than a responsible nation.

Post by Klaus »

How about doing away with 'Pakistan' label itself? Substitute with 'Paki Occupied Western India'? But are we sure that the connection between 'Pakistan' and terrorist state has been made in the majority 6 out 6.5 billion people?

For the record, I voted yes.

how about
Poaki Terrorist Mob
Terrorist Mob of Poakistan

I'd go with Military Camp of Pakistan or better still, Militant Country of Pakistan or the Terrorist Aiding Country of Pakistan, both of which are more accurate.

Why??

1. 'Kabila' is an unfamiliar word to many and if the thread appears in a search result, people are not likely to click on it if they don't understand the word. To learn what it means, people need to click through and then register and then look at the acronyms thread or dictionary to figure out what it means. "Militant Country" is more understandable.

2. Similar reason for misspellings like Poaki or Poakistan. People won't search for "poak" unless they're already BRFites.

3. I prefer "Militant Country" over "Military Camp" because "military camp" has connotations of stability, which we know doesn't really describe things accurately. TACP is much more accurate as well.

and no, I didn't vote :).
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Pakistan..AN Islamic Terrorist Kabila

the word republic in the name should perhaps be changed

wig wrote:the word republic in the name should perhaps be changed
Republic and "state" are redundant words along with Pakistan. They are better replaced by something else. The Military connection (not a democracy) an islamist/islamic is IMHO essential. Kabila is both Islamic and military. Terroor is no longer essential, but if there is space in the title, why not?

Terrorist Military Kabila of Pakistan or
Military-Terrorist Kabila of Pakistan

Making the word "Kabila" better known would be a good idea. We would hardly start losing hits if we changed the name.

Prem wrote:Terrorist Kabila / Camp of Pakistan
I like this one
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

ArmenT wrote: 3. I prefer "Militant Country" over "Military Camp" because "military camp" has connotations of stability,
The word "Military" will not be good - it'll lend it a spartan aura. The current title is just fine - it denotes that all arms of the state are dedicated to spreading terrorism.

Calling an entity a state is no way concilliatory, but republic would be. Eg. USSR was called a Bolshevik State.
Nesoj

Post by Nesoj »

What was wrong with the time honored

"Terrorist State of Pakistan (TSP)"

?????

Failed unstable Pakistan – Supporting Islamic jihad & Nuclear terrorism

Islamic terrorism & Nuclear Jihad by Theocratic Pakistan Army
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

Nesoj wrote: "Terrorist State of Pakistan (TSP)"
Yes. Simple and to-the-point.

The poll is unfairly biased. Th
ose voting for change are voting for many different choices and their votes get aggregated. A correct poll would list the actual choices for title separately.

Anyways, my opinion is that the current title is perfect and should stay. TSP comes a close second, but TIRP is better. That it is the same as the official name of the country with an extra word added is perfect when it comes to search engines.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Pakistani Angst and Khudkushi against Hindustani Advancement and Nationalistic Agenda

You do the acronym -- perhaps more appropriate for a Towel thread.
Narad

Post by Narad »

IMHO, Kabila and other faarsi stuff will have no impact on western audience. And also, it may fall in category of name calling or acting out of spite. But most importantly, TSP is a bunch of loose states and Kabila-e-pakistan will portray TSP as a single unit, which it is not and should never be.
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

I voted in disagreement.

I think it is important that the name "Terrorist State of Pakistan" should stick, and here's why:

1. This title consists entirely of English language words, and this is important because it helps draw-in traffic through search engine results. Using an arcane word or a word in a 'foreign' language (other than English), will diminish search engine results. I understand that the name of this website is "Bharat Rakshak", and that's great in my book -- but for the rest of the world, particularly for non-Indians, it would be better to use the 'lingua franca' of the internet -- English.

2. I think that the notion that Pakistan is a State sponsor of terrorism, is finally catching-on, in a wider way, across the whole world. To change the name that we've assigned to them, especially at this time, would be like Coca Cola changing their name right after it became popular. As an exercise in branding, it would be a mistake.

3. I do think that using the acronym "TSP" in a thread title is counterproductive, for reasons related to search engine traffic, and the fact that in the rest of the world, "TSP" stands for "Tri-Sodium Phosphate" (which is used to prepare surfaces for painting, among other things -- a non sequitor).

4. It would be far more important and beneficial, if we can lengthen the number of characters that a thread title can support, and if this is possible, to actually write-out the full name "Terrorist State of Pakistan: Yada, Yada, Yada", in order to make-up a thread title. This will do two things. It will make Bharat-Rakshak.com rank higher for any search engine returning results with the words "Terrorist" and "Pakistan" (which the acronym "TSP" does not do); and it would in turn, draw more web traffic -- which is especially important for the non-initiated.

Can mods/webmasters at BRF lengthen the number of characters supported in a thread title?
Can mods/webmasters make and enforce a rule that the acronym "TSP" cannot be used in thread titles -- that it must be spelled out?

This would be the way to go, IMHO -- lengthen the thread titles, and stick with the full spell-out of "Terrorist State of Pakistan".

"Pakistan: the Military-Jehadist-Mafia Complex"

TISP is fine.. Terrorist Islamic Shitthole of Pakistan... The word "state" and "republic" must be phased out now.. terrorist, islamic and Pakistan should remain..

TITP - T I Thugs of P

Paki consortium of islamic terrorists
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

^^^ The word "Islamic" or "Islamist" should be left out of it. That's their narrative, and I don't think we should afford them that 'fig leaf'.
astal

Post by astal »

Pakistan terrorist conglomerate

Terrorist Cartel of Pakistan

Terrorists Syndicate of Pakistan

Pakistan peddler of drugs, terrorism and jehad
RSoami

Post by RSoami »

We should not forget the ideas that led to the current name of the thread.
Other names , no matter how true, have to serve the purpose too...any additional benefit will be welcome.
Lest we become ideal. impractical, principled paper tigers that we so hate, I would say that we stick to the name.
I would want to vote for no change but cant..
Is it because am still a trainee???? :?:

Adding `nuclear` to the title would be nice

I voted negatively for a name change. We have had extensive debate, as Shiv said, on the thread title and IMO, it captures the 'spirit' of Pakistan. The word 'Kabila' is too technical to understand by most and the phrase 'Military Camp' does not convey the 'terror centre' or the 'migraine' that Pakistan today is.

Besides, this thread being a serious affair, we must eschew jingoistic references like Thug or $hithole in the title however much such references may be truly meaningful and be reflective of our justified anger.

Lalmohan wrote:"Pakistan: the Military-Jehadist-Mafia Complex"
++1

I think Lalbrofessor has nailed it!

Bharat-Rakshak has been always in the forefront of recognizing the true face of Pakistan, and it is our duty to tell the world the way it is!

There are a few criteria while giving the thread a name
  1. Search Engine Optimization - BRF's TSP Thread should come as far up as possible!
  2. Secondly the world already is recognizing the true face of Pakistan. They know it is a terrorist infested land. We need to expand on these suspicions. We need to nail, the terrorist label more specifically on Pakistan.
  3. The difference of opinion between the West and BRF is that we know that the Army is the main culprit. This is the gulf we should try to bridge!
So I would say,
  1. "Pakistan: the Military-Jehadist-Mafia Complex"
  2. "Terrorist Army ruled Pakistan"
  3. "Treacherous Terrorist Army ruled Pakistan"
How about a new word "Treacherist" ;-)

If the consensus is for renaming the thread, please remove any mention of "state", "country" etc.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Stuff like Terrorist Shithole of Pakistan is just crass- and only preaches to the choir. The message should not be so ham-fisted that it will be scoffed at and dismissed even by potentially receptive audiences (those who will always scoff are a different matter).
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Rule out the word 'Kabila', its just not so popular when searching on google-baiyya.
A combination of Terrorist+Jihadi+Pakistan+Islamist will be apt.

Post by Klaus »

The need for BRF to be ahead of the curve is well understood by one and all here, however that does not and should not come at the cost of disconnecting BRF from the rest of the world by using terms such as 'Kaabila'.

BENIS serves as a good sister thread and has got nuclear and balkanisation as part of the nomenclature there. What we need here is introduction of additional parameters, something like 'Pakistan- Root of Globalised Military sponsored Terrorism and Nuke Theft'

I suggest 'Terrorist Military State of Pakistan'.
vipins

Post by vipins »

Lalmohan wrote:"Pakistan: the Military-Jehadist-Mafia Complex"

We could include 'Nuclear' also.

"Pakistan: the Military-Jehadist-Mafia Nuclear/Nuclearised Complex"
Purush

Post by Purush »

I voted no. The existing thread title conveys the idea in a clear, unambiguous manner. If it ain't broke....

Also, words like 'Kabila' are not easily understood by all. In fact, I had to google it....and I got hits to the Kabila dynasty of DRCongo.

EDIT: Perhaps re-ordering and minor adjustment might be suitable; for e.g., 'Islamic Terrorist State of Pakistan' instead of 'Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan' (Is packeeland even a republic these days?) EDIT 2: 'Pakistan: An Islamic Terrorist Dictatorship'. But do we want to give dus percenti and groper a free pass? 'State' is all-inclusive IMHO.
Last edited by Purush on 10 May 2011 13:52, edited 1 time in total.

the current thread title conveys the status of TSP in an effective manner. Any tampering with it will only serve to dilute focus from the core issue of Islamic terror emanating from TSP. :P

Why not change it to BENIS, hain ji? nothing explains bakistan more effectively than the acronym BENIS. :P
Kanishka

Post by Kanishka »

Atri wrote:Why not change it to BENIS, hain ji? nothing explains bakistan more effectively than the acronym BENIS. :P
benis waard ij kapywrighted yand iz aalso a traide maark. so ju kannat uje it heare. Sarry.
Last edited by Kanishka on 10 May 2011 15:40, edited 1 time in total.

I went with SSridhar's opinion. Makes sense to me. Negative vote for name change. Kabila is too technical. Wont be picked by google name searchs.