Indo-Israel: News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indo-Israel: News and Discussion

SwamyG wrote: Christianity, Judaism and Islam has caused enough problems to the World. Leave us alone.
This is quite a thoughtless statement. Have noticed this long-standing hate for Judaism from one or two of the US-based leftist-turned Hindu supporters on BRF.

Leave alone India and Israel, I believe Judaism and Hinduism are two religions that have the least cause for friction between themselves. It is sad that some are not able to think clearly & identify who our real partners are in what is likely to be a long drawn-out war against illiberalism.

cross post
I have noted a tendency in the media to equate Pakistan's position with that of Israel. There is a tendency to say "Oh Jews were persecuted and hence a Jewish state was carved out for them. Muslims were persecuted in India and hence a state for Muslims (called Pakistan) was carved out fo them"

This is a specious argument that suits no one but the military elite of Pakistan, but I need to explain my use of the word "specious". The argument that "Pakistan is to Muslims as Israel is to Jews" has to be false for it to be specious.

Was Israel really "carved out of Arab lands" because Jews were persecuted? I am unable to find any evidence to support that. While Jews had lived in Palestine for millennia new settlers started arriving there in the late 1800s and early 1900s. This was even before the Turkish Caliphate was defeated - so it wasn't colonial days yet. It was also a time when Jews had gained equal rights in France, Britain and Germany. Much of the Jewish migration was to America but some of it was to Palestine and those settlers actually created a state for themselves. The state gained recognition and legitimacy only after WW2 in 1948. Attributing the creation of the state of Israel to the persecution of Jews is the attribution of a coincidental event as a causative factor. The fact that Jews were actually persecuted may have added to the need to migrate - but migration was possible to many places and Palestine would not seem to be the best place to migrate unless one actually wanted to contribute to the building of a state.

Pakistan on the other hand was created on the basis of the idea that Muslims were being, or would be, persecuted in "Hindu India". Pakistan was created on a grievance. Israel was created out of a desire to build a state. So any parallels being drawn between Israel and Pakistan need to be nipped in the bud.

Israel was not created on a grievance. Israel is not "I exist because you are bad" Israel exists because "I am, and I exist". Pakistan exists on the basis of "I exist because you (India) are bad. You (India) need to continue to look bad for me to exist"

It suits only Pakistan to make an equal equal between Israel and Pakistan. If that equal equal was important or true I would have thought that Israel too would be justifying its existence to the way Pakistan was created. But Israel does not do that. The grievance factor and persecution factor are both irrelevant to the creation of the state of Israel and Israelis are not walking around with a chip on their shoulders crying about persecution and hence their right to survive in a separate state.

In fact it gets worse than that as I will explain, and for this reason I request people not to give Pakistan any mileage with this fake Israel-Pakistan analogy.

Israel's survival is constantly under threat - and has been so for a while. There are open threats that israel should be attacked with nuclear weapons from the likes of Iran and even Pakistanis. These threats may be bluster - but when we are speaking of Israel-Pakistan parallels - Pakistan's survival has never been under threat from anyone other than fellow Pakistanis. India has never militarily or politically challenged the existence of Pakistan. Bangladesh is not an example. Pakistanis are the first to admit that it was a civil war, eager as they are to avoid giving any credit to India for anything. Pakistan's survival is claimed to be under threat as a continuation of the grievance against Hindu India that gave rise to Pakistan.

I believe Indians are scoring a massive self goal by accepting any sort similarity in the history and raisin dieter of Israel and Pakistan. We need to recognise this and nip this nonsense before it goes too far. we are the ones who will suffer for it.

When Pakis and their apologists make the Pakistan-Israel equal equal Indians get their langotis in a twist because they immediately start saying "Oh Muslims were not persecuted in India. In fact Muslims did blah blah blah"
That argument is beside the point. It is a diversion from the issue. Langoti twisted Indian have been caught ina classic "have you stopped beating your wife?" argument. By arguing against one premise (persecution of Muslims) they are accepting a false premise (Israel was created out a grievance).

Israel was not formed by a persecution complex.

Pakistan was formed by a persecution complex. Whether that persecution was true or not is beside the point.

Do not give the Israel-Pakistan equal equal any mileage.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Sadler,

You have to realize, India is full of lefties. These are simpletons who believe by being "Liberals" or by wearing that title, they automatically become the good guys, "The fair minded" guys. The arrogance that comes with this is far more evil than any rightist fascists of the world. You should know, There are few of those Jewish leftists living in the US too. the Chomsky worshiping arsewipes.

swamy saar, you are on rather iffy grounds by saying that israel was created by the europeans for their own interests. it is true that the british allowed jews to buy land in palestine for sometime (there too they allowed only wealthy jews and these people were taxed heavily to fund the british occupation. the arabs, even though being the majority contributed little) but at the same time they also turned a blind eye to numerous arab sponsored pogroms on the settlers.

much like brit promises to India about independence in return for support during WW I, they did a similar thing with the jews. in policy supported a jewish homeland in palestine with the balfour declaration and then turned back and supported the creation of independent arab states with the anglo-french declaration a year later, when the war ended.
after the nazis and fascists came to power in europe, migration to palestine was the only way to save the lives of thousands. however, in order to placate the arabs by this time the brits had effectively banned jews from buying land in palestine and limited the number of jews allowed to immigrate to a few thousand per year, this, when millions were being killed. the jewish organizations however continued to bring in refugees from europe in much higher numbers, against stiff opposition from the brits. after the second world war the brits went over almost completely to the arab side, including those that had supported the axis powers, while the jews were shafted once again. the people who wanted to migrate to palestine, most of them concentration camp refugees were held in various makeshift prison camps by the brits, without any legal justification in conditions not much better than the concentration camps. but then the brits are the inventors of concentration camps, so it must have been quite easy for them.
all because of arab oil, what else ? ;) as soon as the war was over the contribution of the jews was forgotten and the arabs, much like the pakis became the dah'lings of the brits.

in this situation there was effectively an war of independence waged by sections of the jewish militia against the brits. hardly the same as pakistan eh ? as far as I remember there is not ONE ML leader who fought the brits. pakistan was presented on a plate.

further, a multi nation UN committee(which included members from India) submitted a resolution that asked the brits to allow immigration of jewish refugees to palestine. the brits did nothing of the sort and continued to put immigrants they could catch in prison camps. the resolution also called for a partition of palestine into jewish and arab states. all the neighbouring arab powers declared that the partition would be cause for war. the brits responded with an arms embargo which affected only the jews because the arab militias were supplied through the neighbouring arab countries.
the resolution was passed with support of US AND USSR, among others. UK abstained.
when the british position in palestine became untenable they decided to leave palestine and the jews to its fate, because the all powerful and stiff lipped brit army was too weak to enforce the partition in a tiny piece of land. anyway, after the brits left israel was declared and was recognised by both US and USSR (USSR can hardly be cosnidered part of the european grouping ?)
all 5 neighbouring arab states, egypt, lebanon, syria, iraq and jordan declared war on israel. their armies, mostly armed with british weapons attacked israel while the israelis depended on emergency ad-hoc arms transfers. the arabs were repulsed after a hard fought war and israel had successfully fought for its survival.

I am sorry but I do not see even an iota of similarity with the formation of pakistan.

Sorry to but in but one pocch for Sadler:

Was heading towards Israel on official work next week ( Herzlia). Any chance of meeting up with a fellow BRF-ite?
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

shiv wrote: I believe Indians are scoring a massive self goal by accepting any sort similarity in the history and raisin dieter of Israel and Pakistan. We need to recognise this and nip this nonsense before it goes too far. we are the ones who will suffer for it.
X-posted from Future Strat. Scenarios...

I'm firmly convinced that Indian support for Palestine will come back to bite us hard in the musharraf. It is a short-sighted appeasement policy done to ingratiate ourselves with the Gulf, with IMs and carries on the old legacy of being "moral leader of 3rd world basket case NAM nations", a group of worthy nations who can unite on Israel among very few other things.

The Israelis are correctly pointing out that all sorts of secessionist and nationhood claims get ignored routinely while they are continually bombarded with sanctimonious preaching on the matter.

Basically every non-Muslim Asian country with a Muslim minority has such a secessionist movement. In Western Europe they haven't bothered because 1) they have just started immigrating, give it a century and 2) they have some confidence in getting the whole fruit itself.

Boy, I wonder which of these "home-grown" movements will take the spotlight of the Eurotrash/Arab/UN human rights crowd once Israel is crossed off the checklist? :roll:

Had posted this yesterday in TSP dhaga...

The sheer amount of noise about this one tiny square of the world is staggering- the rest of the world must be a utopia! Look how downplayed it is!

Absolutely right. However as this is diverging will relate this to TSP..It's sort of wrong to compare Israel and TSP. Israel and Jews specifically have civilizational history in the regions spanning millenia before Islam came into being. TSP was a gangetic plain creation. Even folks in NWFP did'nt vote ML. TSP is a completely artificial construction of an idea with no civilizational history behind. Max TSP can 'eulogize' the marauders that Islamic invasions threw in at India. Thats what they name their nuke missiles by. Emulating these kind of heroes is civilizational doom. TSP is facing the hellish throes of that. Israel is tiny by comparison. Israel has nothing, no oil, water no resources. Yet it has the best possible resource that of hard working, intelligent people. They have created wealth from just that. To compare Israel with TSP is plain wrong.

X-Posting from Future Strategic Scenario for the Indian Subcontinent -II Thread
ramana wrote:I think wrong analogy due to distress.
There is a night-and-day difference in the issue of Palestine and Kashmir. However from a certain perspective both are similar - both are "Muslim issues" for the wider Ummah, as well as issues for the West to play regional politics with.
UBanerjee wrote:I'm firmly convinced that Indian support for Palestine will come back to bite us hard in the musharraf. It is a short-sighted appeasement policy done to ingratiate ourselves with the Gulf, with IMs and carries on the old legacy of being "moral leader of 3rd world basket case NAM nations", a group of worthy nations who can unite on Israel among very few other things.

The Israelis are correctly pointing out that all sorts of secessionist and nationhood claims get ignored routinely while they are continually bombarded with sanctimonious preaching on the matter.

Basically every non-Muslim Asian country with a Muslim minority has such a secessionist movement. In Western Europe they haven't bothered because 1) they have just started immigrating, give it a century and 2) they have some confidence in getting the whole fruit itself.

Boy, I wonder which of these "home-grown" movements will take the spotlight of the Eurotrash/Arab/UN human rights crowd once Israel is crossed off the checklist? :roll:
World politics is simply not a straight forward expression of honesty, of making the choices of the heart, of making the choice according to the values one stands for!

Often one comes out in support of one issue which grips some community in order to screw the community somewhere else, both to impress upon the community that one is not against it per se, but only with respect to some particular issue. This is done to ensure that the whole community does not turn as a whole against the party, and that the party can continue to receive cooperation from the community to some extent in areas of its self-interests.

Secondly a nation may have internal constituencies to placate in order to ensure internal harmony.

On top of this, a party may need to cooperate with another party which too is under siege by the same community, and would have to find means and ways to do this without upsetting one's position on issues one supports.

Now these are simply the laws of politics!

Now Israeli support to the Kashmir Azadi cause does not really bring any dividends for the Israelis, because that would not stop the exercised Muslims all over the world in hating the guts of Israelis for sitting on "Muslim" lands and occupying the third holiest mosque in the Islamic world.

For the West, the Kashmir Azadi cause did bring certain dividends so they latched on to it, but also on to the cause of Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, and at a certain level of civil society and humanitarianism also to the issue of Palestinian Self-Determination. If the Kashmiri Azadi Cause had exercised the awareness of the wider Muslim world to a larger extent than it does now, the whole of West too would have jumped on to the bandwagon and tried to take pot shots at India far more often and be willing to become Islam's handmaiden in subverting India far more openly and to a much larger extent. India has been able to leverage our Kashmri difficulties by supporting the Palestinian cause politically on the one hand and building an intelligence-sharing and defense relationship with Israel on the other.

So India's support for the Palestinian cause does bring India dividends for it stops the whole of Ummah in strengthening the Pakistani stand on Kashmir.

There is absolutely nothing wrong in supporting the Palestinian cause politically, even the USA, Israel's best buddy does it, as long as we do not put Israel under undue pressure. And yes, the Israelis too would shout back at us on Kashmir when we make a statement on Palestine, and we should not get all too worked up by their comments because they would not change anything, neither in the Muslim world nor in the West. We can digest their retorts on Kashmir without much difficulty. Should the retort be coming from some Muslim country, then it would require a response.

Despite all this playing to the gallery, India can continue to have a healthy and substantial close relationship with Israel.

Having said that, it is not in India's interest that Palestinian issue receives a closure, for then it takes away a Muslim cause we can support publicly. Moreover then the attention of the Muslim world could be diverted to India.

Let's not forget that India would be a big market for Israeli companies. It already is in the defense sector. All this is money Israel direly needs to keep its economy afloat and staying a leader in the defense sphere, and keep its lead over the neighboring Arab countries.

So it is in India's interest to both support the Palestinian cause politically as well as to make Israel an impenetrable fortress ruling over "Palestinian" territories, at least until India has solved the Pakistani conundrum.

World politics is simply not a straight forward expression of honesty, of making the choices of the heart, of making the choice according to the values one stands for!

Rajesh Ji, you are making a very fundamental error in case you think people don't make choices on the basis of a value system. Every decision made is on a value system. Paki's for example value the power of lies and taqiyaa. Indians valued the moralism of the socialist left. The choices we made even in our support of Palestine were value based. Even US mollycoddling of dictators is based on their value system of putting real politik above the way they would themselves like to live. A value system where coping with worse is better than coping with the Worst. Evolve on your value system and your choices become firmer, decision making becomes easier. Value systems come in all hues between black and white. Every decision is taken on the basis of the prevalent value system of the nation or individual.

Sorry to butt in as well, but another pooch for Sadler...

Boss, am in your neck of the woods this month for a couple of days. Tel Aviv. I get the feeling a drink is an absolute must. Possible?

pls contact "jemenon" "@" "gmail" if possible.

harbans, Quite true - it depends on your beliefs. But lets just say a lot of people in power use the Macchavelian theory (I think particularly in the west and my interactions with people in the GCC) - Morality is out of the window in international politics and that a nation cannot survive if it insists on using morality (don't tell this to the ordinary citizens though). So RajeshA does have a point.

Shyam ji, one can never separate decision making from value system. Even being Macchavelian or dealing as such is out of a value system that allows one being so. Morality is not the moral science lectures we may have had in school. Short cut decisions and dealings are also on value systems. If you scratch deeper you'll realize every thing you do is from a value system.

It means little telling yourself, i don't believe in War, but make every preparation for it. Our value system also prepares us for war to defend. JLN for example had qualms about having an army even as he did'nt believe in War. 62 shook that false sense of morality from him. The battle in Pakistan despite it's manifestation is simply between the values of literal Islam and selectively literal Islam as employed by the GOP.

I may be a contract killer for a living but be a great family man, better than most who don't kill. Value systems are not necessarily what you have for yourself or your family of nation, they encompass dealings with others too. Look at it that way, things will be clearer.

JE Menon wrote:Sorry to butt in as well, but another pooch for Sadler...

Boss, am in your neck of the woods this month for a couple of days. Tel Aviv. I get the feeling a drink is an absolute must. Possible?

pls contact "jemenon" "@" "gmail" if possible.
Breaper, which days would that be?

Not sure yet... but either next week (i.e 12th night to 17th early morning), or the week after (i.e. 19th night to 24th morning).

Arjun wrote:
SwamyG wrote: Christianity, Judaism and Islam has caused enough problems to the World. Leave us alone.
This is quite a thoughtless statement. Have noticed this long-standing hate for Judaism from one or two of the US-based leftist-turned Hindu supporters on BRF.

Leave alone India and Israel, I believe Judaism and Hinduism are two religions that have the least cause for friction between themselves. It is sad that some are not able to think clearly & identify who our real partners are in what is likely to be a long drawn-out war against illiberalism.
Leftist-turned? How come saar?

Anti-Jewish sentiments typically originate from the side of the other Abrahamics or from the leftists...I assumed the latter by a process of elimination - if that is not correct, my apologies.

swamyg - is it possible your opinions on Israel were formed based on one narrative and you have not been exposed to other narratives? I am asking this sincerely..because I used to think that way too.

SwamyG garu's views are a lot like my father's. sometimes I wonder and shiver.... :lol:
anyway, I have tried to convince him that there is a fundamental difference between Christian imperialism and Jewish Zionism......but he is hell bent in the belief that both are two sides of the same coin...

Arjun wrote:Anti-Jewish sentiments typically originate from the side of the other Abrahamics or from the leftists...I assumed the latter by a process of elimination - if that is not correct, my apologies.
Wow......it is the rather familiar tactic that is quite often used in the West? If one is anti-Israel State, then one is anti-Jew. So if one is anti-Pakistan, does one become anti-Muslim? What next you are going to call me anti-Semite now? You are making the same mistake again....viewing everybody in the Western constructs - liberal, leftists, rightists, centrists, conservatives ityadi. Think outside the bun jee :mrgreen:
Gus wrote:swamyg - is it possible your opinions on Israel were formed based on one narrative and you have not been exposed to other narratives? I am asking this sincerely..because I used to think that way too.
What one narrative? I have formed my views by reading on the internet; and on the internet we have both sides of the narratives. I listen to "Liberal" and "Conservative" radio talk show hosts. I watch MSNBC and Fox News.
devesh wrote: SwamyG garu's views are a lot like my father's. sometimes I wonder and shiver.... :lol:
anyway, I have tried to convince him that there is a fundamental difference between Christian imperialism and Jewish Zionism......but he is hell bent in the belief that both are two sides of the same coin...
I am scratching my head to remember where I said they were the same, let alone use those words, and where you tried convincing me, and I refused? Are you attributing to me something that I have not said or implied?
ps: lots of post in this dhaaga, I need to read before responding :-)

Arjun ji,
ex-lefties and birth-Abrahamics of non-Jewish origins could be the staunchest ideological supporters of both the Jews as well as Israel state! :P [so many examples - can be found even by googling!]

I will repeat my position on Israel :

(1) Judaism as it exists today has almost given up on proselytization and conversion of others into itself [some pro-conversion offshoots exist in the USA but are a super minority]. Hence for me, there is little to be concerned about as far as Hindus and India is concerned.

(2) Israel acts as a good focus for Islamist hatred, and draws part of the global Islamist energy that would be directed against India and the "Hindus". As long as Israel exists, Pak or its sponsors cannot make Ghazwa-e-Hind the first priority in the global Islamist agenda. [Yes, yes I know that no global centre of ummah can be pointed out, that they are oh-so-faction-ridden and fighting with each other - but I also know that against the non-Muslim, it is easy for them to come together even while fighting each other.] Once they can get rid of Israel, they will turn their attention to India.

(3) The Islamist thinking is determined to consolidate Islamic territories in a contiguous geographical stretch, and especially in the ME, they want to get rid of Israel as a non-Islamist beach-head into the Islamist heartland. If they can do this, then they can sit in near total control of the Asian east-west economic flows, and with Chinese help can isolate both USA and Europe from IOR economies by checking the Pacific. This they can use to derive nuisance-tax from the global economy once oil runs out or gets bypassed by alternative energy sources.

(4) An independent Palestinian state carves out an Islamic homeland that has international legal and political recognition. This new Islamist state, can and will, support use of its territory as a base for the final erasure of the state of Israel. The outline of the proposed Islamist state of Palestine will create natural salients deep into Israeli territory which can be used for continuous jihad.

(5) Hamas is the future of Palestine. Hamas will wait until the state is achieved and then it will swallow the Fatah. Once legalization as a state is achieved - Hamas will go for an expansionist strategy after a proper deceptive quiet phase. Moreover it will need to build up its military too.

(6) Once Israel is removed as a threat, the Islamists will turn their attention to the gradual conquest of India. They will initially wait to deceptively allay Indian suspicions to obtain Indian support for statehood. Once done, they will turn against India. It is completely okay in Islam to betray any treaties made with "polytheists" after a due period of wait.

(7) India has much more inherent and internal sympathy for Islamists at a political level, which makes it a weaker obstacle for Islamist expansion plans on the subcontinent.

This for me, makes it impossible to support Palestinian statehood, as well as makes me pro-existence of Israel in its current form. In fact I would support making it stronger or even expand to draw and divide even more of Islamist attention.

When i say hindus, i should say clearly that I refer to not just the followers of hindu religion but all four of the faiths born in India. I use "hindus" as a convenient short form for followers of the religions born in India.
The main point that still I reiterate is you should have used "Indians" instead of "Hindus". As I explained there, we as Indians do not differentiate who gets killed when terrorists strike us.
Seems like the continued existence of Israel as a vibrant nation really causes some serious heartburn not only among islamics but apparently to folks like you as well. Grab some pepto and deal with it. We simply are and will be.
I guess it is no big deal for you to enjoy in others takleef. Probably it is just 'natural' should I say? Oh well, if you cry I am hitting below the belt, let it be known an Indian (or a Hindu if you please) can react disproportionately too - just like the State of Israel, which should not be anything new to you. Yeah, you simply will be like Pakistan, enjoying the support of USA to even exist.
And let us not lump the effing porkis with Israel :evil: . There is simply no comparison and the facetious ones that call both as having being born due to "religion" dont just add up. The fact is that you have more in common with the porkis than we ever will. Please focus more on the security of your own nation, and the islamic nukes. You have nothing to fear from jewish ones.
Well that is how I see the two States. Two states existing because of their lobbying power in Washington DC, begging for survival. No comparison? Yeah, the begging bowls are different yet these two almost demand the World listen to their theatrics. Blackmail?

I am not sure if you think you equating us (or me) to Pakistanis should anyway be considered annoying. It is not. The truth is Pakistan and India share history, language, food, religion, culture ityadi.
Gladly. Please remember that the next time you have to buy "Jewish" weapons, especially in the middle of a conflict with porkistan.

However, your fond wish is unlikely to be realized as there are enough Israelis and Indians who will drown out your asinine plea.
I fully realize, I am a minority; and that does not mean I can not opine it. And neither does a minority opinion make it wrong (and neither right). I am reminded of Kannadasan's lyrics when reading how you gloat at others. Snakes and Garuda are considered enemies in Indic mythology; so this snake wrapped around Lord Shiva's neck calls out at Garuda and inquires Garuda's well-being, fully secure in the knowledge that Shiva would protect the snake if Garuda decided to attack it. Kindly, gloat. It reflects your character.

My...my what arroagance.
Sadler

Post by Sadler »

Sum, JE Menon:

I will have to unfortunately take a rain check on the drink for now i am still in the US. However, I will keep in touch with regards to travel plans (for now, tentative trip towards the end of the year). Two kids are in college now and are always looking for a handout and another one graduating soon. Being a single parent, that keeps me busy and make travel plans somewhat unpredictable. But, I usually try and take a trip coinciding with the end of either Fall or Spring semesters.

I really appreciate your comments RE: Israel-India relations and also the comments of so many others. Shalom.

SwamyG garu:

you are picking a fight where there is none required. you are looking for an enemy where there is none...

Israel and Pakistan are totally, fundamentally different. there is no similarity.
I am reminded of Savarkar's statement in "Six Glorious Epochs," that Indics confused the invading Muslims with Yavanas (Greeks). Savarkar comments that calling Muslims Yavanas was insulting Greeks, and at he same time completely misdiagnosing the Islamist problem which led to major confusion in how to deal with them.....Thinking that Muslim invaders were Yavanas was a catastrophic disaster for Bharata-varsha.

comparing Israel to Pakistan is a mistake on the same magnitude.....

SwamyG wrote: Well that is how I see the two States. Two states existing because of their lobbying power in Washington DC, begging for survival. No comparison? Yeah, the begging bowls are different yet these two almost demand the World listen to their theatrics. Blackmail?

I am not sure if you think you equating us (or me) to Pakistanis should anyway be considered annoying. It is not. The truth is Pakistan and India share history, language, food, religion, culture ityadi.
I wont comment on the rest of your post as you are entitled to your opinion. But to equate Israel and Pakistan and calling them "begging bowl countries that lives on alms of DC" is not right. Pakistani economy is agrarian and has almost always been bankrupt surviving on remittances and aid. Israel because of her size and population has always been on the edge militarily and depends on US for military aid, but is more than self-sufficient to survive own.It has been in the forefront of research and development in alternate energy,agriculture and biotechnology, and has a high standard of living. The Kibbutz movement made Arabs scratch their heads and wonder how Israelis could reap so much out of barren lands. Pakistan on the other hand fails to adequately feed 80% of its population despite 20 billion $+ aid from US alone. There is just no comparison between the two.
arnab

Post by arnab »

SwamyG saar,

at the risk of going OT on an 'Indo-Israel' thread, would strongly recommend you read Netanyahu's recent speech to the US congress. Do note that the 'critics' (Uri Avneri et al) have not been able to criticise the substance of his speech at all, and have only resorted to shrill polemics.

http://ironicsurrealism.com/2011/05/24/ ... y-24-2011/
“Israel is not what is wrong about the Middle East. Israel is what is right about the Middle East.”

to continue the above, Pakistan should be a prosperous or at least a "developing" nation with incremental prosperity by now....the are sitting on a river system which waters one of the most fertile regions on the planet (Punjab).....that Pakistan is in its current state speaks volumes of its abject failure as a nation, society, ideology, and raison-d'etre....
Israel==Pakistan argument collapses at the most basic level of analysis...

SwamyG wrote:Wow......it is the rather familiar tactic that is quite often used in the West? If one is anti-Israel State, then one is anti-Jew. So if one is anti-Pakistan, does one become anti-Muslim? What next you are going to call me anti-Semite now? You are making the same mistake again....viewing everybody in the Western constructs - liberal, leftists, rightists, centrists, conservatives ityadi. Think outside the bun jee :mrgreen:
Not anti Jew - but anti Judaism the religion....you made a mention of Judaism as a problem for the world and I responded to it.
skumar

Post by skumar »

SwamyG wrote:
Gladly. Please remember that the next time you have to buy "Jewish" weapons, especially in the middle of a conflict with porkistan.

However, your fond wish is unlikely to be realized as there are enough Israelis and Indians who will drown out your asinine plea.
I fully realize, I am a minority; and that does not mean I can not opine it. And neither does a minority opinion make it wrong (and neither right). I am reminded of Kannadasan's lyrics when reading how you gloat at others. Snakes and Garuda are considered enemies in Indic mythology; so this snake wrapped around Lord Shiva's neck calls out at Garuda and inquires Garuda's well-being, fully secure in the knowledge that Shiva would protect the snake if Garuda decided to attack it. Kindly, gloat. It reflects your character.

My...my what arroagance.

Israelis / Jews have become somewhat of a holy cow. Everytime there is any criticism, the holocaust is remembered (I should add though not in the above posts). The holocaust is only one of the several genocides dotting human history. By no means was it an unique event and it has been repeated since. The only thing differentiating it is that the victims landed up on the side of the eventual victors and succeeded in drawing worldwide attention. Its scale is still open to debate, which has been tried to be curbed.

But, I am stating things which should be obvious to any student of history, or maybe not?

The arrogance is thinly disguised usually - I hope sometime in this decade, Israel will need to buy Indian weapons. Funny though it may be.

However, I will disagree on any == between Israel and Pakistan.
arunsrinivasan

Post by arunsrinivasan »

Israelis / Jews have become somewhat of a holy cow. Everytime there is any criticism, the holocaust is remembered (I should add though not in the above posts). The holocaust is only one of the several genocides dotting human history. By no means was it an unique event and it has been repeated since. The only thing differentiating it is that the victims landed up on the side of the eventual victors and succeeded in drawing worldwide attention. Its scale is still open to debate, which has been tried to be curbed.

But, I am stating things which should be obvious to any student of history, or maybe not?

The arrogance is thinly disguised usually - I hope sometime in this decade, Israel will need to buy Indian weapons. Funny though it may be.

However, I will disagree on any == between Israel and Pakistan.
I don't get this? Are we on a mission to turn allies into enemies? Pray tell me what harm has Israel done to India? Maybe a session or two spent reading Kautilya is in order.
Purush

Post by Purush »

Just setting the record straight here
SwamyG wrote:
The truth is Pakistan and India share history, language, food, religion, culture ityadi.
Speak for yourself.

I share no language, food, culture or religion with the Packees.
And neither do I want to. :mrgreen:

swamy saar, I am still waiting for your reply on how both pakistan and israel were created by european powers to further their interests.

Sadler,

That's a pity. Would have liked to meet. I'm sure we will meet though, I expect to be there for a few days every half-year.

RE the comments. As you can imagine, typically of India/Indians, there are a range of opinions on the subject - some well considered and some not. But this is par for the course. The key thing is that people on the forum do try to look as deep into the situation as possible and draw their conclusions. Not surprisingly, not all comments are favourable - and I would be somewhat disappointed if they were, as it would reflect too much groupthink that can be problematic in and of itself. I am sure, being from Israel, you would be familiar with this sort of multi-faceted argument and relentless hair-splitting. (Sometimes, when I read the extreme left views in Israel - not the "commie" left for BRFites not familiar with the political spectrum there - I feel like knocking some sense into the guys myself).

As a matter of fact, I just had a 2-hour business meeting with one of your countrymen - a fairly elderly gentleman of German Jewish extraction. I know him well. It was not a pretty meeting (damn, you guys are hard to budge), but it was nevertheless enjoyable. It was like negotiating with a blue-eyed brown/blonde bania. :D So I'm off to your country on the 19th. He will be on his home territory. Looking forward.

Purush wrote:Just setting the record straight here
SwamyG wrote:
The truth is Pakistan and India share history, language, food, religion, culture ityadi.
Speak for yourself.

I share no language, food, culture or religion with the Packees.
And neither do I want to. :mrgreen:
Same here Purush. We have nothing in common with Poaks, Those free-loaders get to bask in the reflected glory of our culture. We don't share anything with them.

PS: Pakis and Culture probably should never appear in the same statement unless it is Agriculture.

we might score a self goal by that commentary, but in long term it's self defeating. we need to highlight to the world that Pak is India gone deracinated. we need to let the world know this is what India is like when we are totally deracinated. :lol:

and Pak itself needs to be reminded every now and then that they are actually Indians. historically, genetically, they are Indians and by trying to cut that off, they are only bleeding themselves....their trade/economy has depended on GV for thousands of years. they are India. they share language, food, clothing with Indian population. Punjab.

devesh ji,

I agree. That is what I too have been emphasizing on BRF.

Pakistanis are simply Indians who have been fooled and hijacked by a band of evil monkeys and their foreign masters.

Rahul M wrote:swamy saar, I am still waiting for your reply on how both pakistan and israel were created by european powers to further their interests.
No doubt, the British restricted the Jewish immigration into Palestine in the late 1930s. However like you rightly point out, the British did allow wealthy Jews to migrate into the territory - for capital. However, after WWI, the British did allow Jewish immigration into Palestine until the release of White Paper in 1939. Israeli-Europe relationship is complex. The Holocaust created a "collective guilt" in Europe, and they washed away their sins by helping the creation of Israel. Not all subscribe to this charge of "collective guilt"; however in my opinion the pryachirtam of Europe did go on to confer the big benefit of washing the guilt. Jews had began their immigration long before the Holocaust. The blood of Jews was clearly on the Christian Europe. They let it happen. The Arabs in the region did not like it. Eventually Israel was created for Jews, similar to Pakistan's creation for the Muslims of British India. Two countries created as homeland for two sets of people.

Thousands of essays and books have been written on the history, let us broadly look at what happened:

Britain promises independence for the Arab countries.
1915-16 Hussein-McMahon Correspondence
Correspondence between McMahon and Sharif of Mecca concerning the future of territories under the Ottoman Empire.
1916 Sykes-Picot Agreement
Secret agreement between Britain and France that essentially decided on their spheres of control in the region after the fall of Ottoman Empire.
1917 Balfour Declaration
Britain's announcement of supporting a Jewish Home.
1919 Feisal-Weizmann Agreement (with Feisal's reservation)
A peace conference between Dr.Weizmamann and Emir Feisal agreeing Arab support for Jewish Home contingent upon British honoring/favoring the Arab State. Britain was encouraging the Arabs to revolt against the Ottoman Empire. But they go back on their words because of Sykes-Picot agreement. Feisal, in turn, goes back on his agreement.
1919 - King-Crane Commission
Enter the Americans, they say well Syria - a geographical entity that has its own share of history and controversy - can not be effectively controlled by France and Britain, and bulk of the population in Syria (which was supposed to comprise several of the existing modern states) do not support the idea of Jewish State. So they say, America should move in and have a mandate, because America alone could pave the way for the people to create a State of their choice - liberal, democratic and whatnot. Naturally Britain and France are peeved. American is forced to come out and say it harbors no territorial ambitions.
Britain establishes Palestine Mandate & France establishes its Syrian Mandate, as per their Sykes-Picot agreement.
1936-1939
Arabs revolt in Palestine against British Imperialism and Jewish mass immigration.
1937 - Peel Commission
First time the talk of partitioning the British Mandate of Palestine is mentioned. Zionists, British Government and Arabs reject it.
1938 - Woodhead Commission
Britain tried to wash its hands off the emerging conflict, after it had played both sides. There is talk of creating a Jewish State, an Arab State and British Mandate. Jews and Arabs again oppose this.
Britain releases White Paper limiting the immigration of Jews into Palestine. The Peel and Woodhead Commission are tossed out; and there is talk of creating a new Palestine State to be ruled by Arabs and Jews. Policies were recommended to control the immigration.

In summary, Europe as usual was fighting among themselves and viewed Asia on the benefits it offered. The Ottoman Empire supported the Germans. So the British supported Arabs against Ottoman Empire and supports a Jewish State as well. Then goes behind both these groups and enters into a secret treaty with France to split the region among themselves. And then one adds the guilt and American support to the already simmering conflict, one has the perfect recipe for a disaster that will continue to haunt the World for decades if not a century. Christianity, Judaism and Islam are the three primary religions among the warring and treacherous lot. We even have "Christian Zionism" denoting the Evangelical Christians supporting the migration of Jews to Israel to hasten the second coming. All groups use their religion & ethnicity to whip up emotions of the people. Add the concept of nationalism, and the mixture is potent. How many fears were unfounded? How many fears were legitimate? Well nobody can say for sure, because of the duplicity of all the parties involved. So who do we blame? The Jews? The Arabs? The Europeans? I blame all the three. Unlike in the Indian partition, where one cannot blame the Hindus. The seed of hatred was fanned by the British. They worked on the existing angst and fissures.

What I laid out above is a snapshot of important events to show how Europe acted for its benefit. Britain played the people just like it played the people in the Indian Subcontinent; and to achieve its goals, i.e. benefits. Britain, France and America play important roles, it is not that the other Europeans had stellar character - it was just that they had been defeated in wars. As you would have observed I do not even discuss the diversity of population in that region over thousands and thousands of years, which only makes the creation of Israel for Jews a controversial agenda in my opinion.

All this hungama by France and Britain reminds me of the hungama they created in South India - especially the Madras Presidency, playing one Kingdom against the other - essentially they transferred their war from Europe to Madras Presidency.
Last edited by SwamyG on 10 Jun 2011 08:34, edited 1 time in total.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Israel was created FOR Jews because christian genocide of Jews. 6 million (almost 1/3rd) of them were burnt in an oven!

Only a leftist (I wish to say far worse things here) would try to equate them with Pakistanis.

http://www.jewsnotzionists.org/images/aus.gif

http://holocaustcontroversies.blogspot. ... odies.html

Its all here

http://www.nobeliefs.com/nazis.htm

Sheesh!

The last thing Israel/Jews should give a damn about are the goddammed lefties of the world.
Last edited by Manny on 10 Jun 2011 07:38, edited 1 time in total.

devesh wrote:SwamyG garu:

you are picking a fight where there is none required. you are looking for an enemy where there is none...
<snip><snip><snip>
comparing Israel to Pakistan is a mistake on the same magnitude.....
Picking a fight? I rarely venture into Indo-Israel dhaaga or concept, let alone pick a fight with any one. In my opinion Sadler continues to incite the "Hindus" of this forum against attacks on India. He was rightly reminded that the word "Indians" would have been better. I joined in. When Pakistan aided terrorists hit India, is the religion of the people that first crosses your mind? Or do you think Pakistan has hit us - Indians?

Oh well there are plenty of people here who like to nip nonsense in the bud. All strength to them onlee. I will lose the fight even before I can say "I lose, you win".
arnab

Post by arnab »

Manny wrote:Israel was created FOR Jews because christian genocide of Jews. 6 million (almost 1/3rd) of them were burnt in an oven!

Only a leftist (I wish to say far worse things here) would try to equate them with Pakistanis.
Manny ji,

If this is true, then it begs the question Amejindehad asked - If israel was created to assuage european / christian guilt - why was it not carved out of Germany / Poland etc? Why should palestenians 'pay' for european crimes? The answer is because things are actually a little more complicated than that.