Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 2011

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 20

X Posted from the Pakistani Role in Global Terrorism thread.

FWIW the White House reaction to the arrest of CIA informants assisting in OBL's takedown besides reaction to the rating of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan's co-operation in counter Islamic Terrorism operations as a 3 on 10 by the CIA Deputy Director Michael J. Morell :
Press Briefing by Press Secretary Jay Carney, 6/15/2011

James S. Brady Press Briefing Room
1:05 P.M. EDT

MR. CARNEY: Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen. I don’t have any announcements, so I will go straight to questions.

Jim.

Q Hi, Jay. Thank you. I wonder if you could tell us when the White House became aware that Pakistanis had arrested people who had assisted in the operation to raid bin Laden’s compound in Abbottabad?

MR. CARNEY: I don’t have any specific information for you about that report. I can say that our relationship with Pakistan is extremely important. It is also complicated. And we have made that clear and been quite candid about that for a long time.

And it is important to remember that the relationship is important because it helps our national security interest to maintain it. Pakistan has worked with us to go after terrorism and terrorists. More terrorists have been killed on Pakistani soil than in any other country.

So we continue to work with the Pakistanis. Sometimes we have difficult issues to work through with them, but it remains an important relationship.

Q Well, there appears to be a pattern. These arrests aside, you had an event -- episode a couple weeks ago where U.S. intelligence shared information with the Pakistanis regarding two bomb-making compounds, and then the militants apparently fled. Does the President have -- is he frustrated with this kind of pattern?

And let me ask you what the Senate Intelligence Committee asked last week of the deputy CIA director, which is, on a scale of one to 10, where would you rank Pakistani cooperation on matters of counterterrorism?

MR. CARNEY: Well, without addressing that specific ranking, I would say that we acknowledge that it is a complicated relationship, and I think that’s pretty candid. And I think we have also made clear that the cooperation we do get is vital and essential to our war against terrorism and terrorists.

And we will continue that relationship for precisely that reason. And when we have issues, we deal with them. And obviously there was, in the wake of the successful mission against Osama bin Laden, we have reached out and engaged with the Pakistani government and our counterparts in Pakistan at many levels, precisely because this relationship is so important.

Q But it seems that the administration is merely accepting the fact that it’s a complicated relationship. Are you doing anything to improve the relationship?

MR. CARNEY: Well, what I just said. We work constantly to improve the relationship, to improve the cooperation. And whatever number you pick on the scale of cooperation, that number represents significant success in combating terrorism and eliminating terrorists -- terrorists who threaten Pakistan, terrorists who threaten the United States and threaten our allies.

So, again, we don’t do this except with those priorities in mind. So it’s not always an easy relationship, but it is a vital one......................
Read it all:

Press Briefing

Looks like the Kayani's time is up! Who is next on seniority...
Pakistan’s army chief, the most powerful man in the country, is fighting to save his position in the face of seething anger from top generals and junior officers since the American raid that killed Osama bin Laden, according to Pakistani officials and people who have met the chief in recent weeks.

Gen. Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, who has led the army since 2007, faces such intense discontent over what is seen as his cozy relationship with the United States that a colonels’ coup, while unlikely, was not out of the question, said a well-informed Pakistani who has seen the general in recent weeks, as well as an American military official involved with Pakistan for many years.

The Pakistani Army is essentially run by consensus among 11 top commanders, known as the Corps Commanders, and almost all of them, if not all, were demanding that General Kayani get much tougher with the Americans, even edging toward a break, Pakistanis who follow the army closely said.

Washington, with its own hard line against Pakistan, had pushed General Kayani into a defensive crouch, along with his troops, and if the general was pushed out, the United States would face a more uncompromising anti-American army chief, the Pakistani said.
“Keeping discipline in the lower ranks is a challenge,” said Mr. Qadri, the retired army brigadier.

General Kayani’s problems have been magnified by a groundswell of unprecedented criticism from the public, questioning both the army’s competence and the lavish rewards for its top brass, something that also increasingly rankles modestly paid enlisted men.

“Adding to this frustration and public pique is the lifestyle that the top brass of all the services has maintained,” Talat Hussain, a prominent journalist who generally writes favorably about the military, wrote in Monday’s edition of the English-language newspaper Dawn. “This is not a guns versus butter argument, but a contrast between the reality of the life led by the military elite at state expense and the general situation for ordinary citizens.”

Despite the resources the army soaks up — about 23 percent of Pakistan’s annual expenditures — it has appeared impotent since the May 2 raid. The infiltration three weeks later of the nation’s largest naval base by Qaeda commandos that left at least 10 security officers dead added to the sense of disarray.
Ananya

Post by Ananya »

I think BHO is playing Mohammad bin tuglak ( a Tamil movie , the climax scene is in line with the official stance adopted where the accomplice is killed ).

which translates to telling Congress to cut off aid
Ananya

Post by Ananya »

well this what unkil hinting to kayani saheb what they can do if he dosn't obey the masters orders.

What a turn of events ! Just less than a year back, Kayani granted himself a 3-year extension and here he is already on the way out. So far, the PA's COAS was selected based on how much hatred he had for India in general and the Hindus in particular. Now onwards, that may not be enough.

I think the only man to have the guts to slap the Porkis across the face is Obama. I would be surprised if his patience isn't being stretched to the limit. The people around him are mainly aye sayers.

The image of the US is eroding, not only with other nations, but also with their own people. Time to feed us with good news of another strike.

The CIA joins the White House in downplaying the arrest of CIA informants who assisted in the takedown of OBL by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

One thing to be said of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, they are very adroit at gauging the extent to which the US will accept Pakistani induced pain without the US feeling compelled to turn off the aid spigot :

CIA Downplays U.S.-Pakistani Tensions After Bin Laden Informants are Arrested

Ananya wrote:
well this what unkil hinting to kayani saheb what they can do if he dosn't obey the masters orders.
Indeed. Also I think "problem of discipline in lower ranks" is I think code word for "Case of Exploding Mangoes!" . AssPhack is Phacked. Damned if he does, damned if he doesn't.

The danger here is for India. It is the safe outlet that AssPhuck can use to rally his Jihadis, Uniformed Jihadis and politicos, Mango Abdul Packee and others wholly and purposefully, and use that as an outlet valve.

Man the borders, keep the guard up, keep the defenses well exercised and oiled and polished, and prepare for a major terror threats. I hope the security establishment in India has taken proactive steps on this and are not asleep at the wheel.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/06/16/world ... istan.html
Pakistan’s Chief of Army Fights to Keep His Job

Really?

So when the pressure is on and the gun to the head marked al-qaida turns out to be as real as the Pakistanis-looking-for-Osama shtick, out pops another gun to the head marked (the vapid) apres moi le deluge.

So what will happen to the "pensions" of the corps commanders, if the CIA slush funds dry up as well?

So what will happen to those westernised-but-potentially Islamic offspring in US schools? What offspring, what schools?
Wait for an American to ferret out that information? It is never discussed because that is the understanding with Pakistan. Yes our admiration for the intrepid American press corps rises along with the admiration for the corps of commanders.

First Musharraf then Assfaque kiya Nahi and now Poaks come up with Ass-Fand- Yaar Paar Di. These Assstanis are obsessed with Ass from Lahori line of Lafandars. Who is gonna be next CIC ,Assgulla Chowdry?

Blast kills two security personnel in Upper Orakzai

UPPER ORAKZAI: A bomb attack on security forces killed at least two personnel in Upper Orakzai agency on Thursday, DawnNews reported.

Meanwhile, sources reported that at least two more people were dead in an attack by militants in the Mamond area of Bajaur Agency. The exchange of fire between militants and security forces continued at the time of the report.

shravan wrote:Blast kills two security personnel in Upper Orakzai

UPPER ORAKZAI: A bomb attack on security forces killed at least two personnel in Upper Orakzai agency on Thursday, DawnNews reported.

Meanwhile, sources reported that at least two more people were dead in an attack by militants in the Mamond area of Bajaur Agency. The exchange of fire between militants and security forces continued at the time of the report.
What is slow run rate playing for a draw, we need more T20 type overs.

5 more gunned down in Karachi firing incidents

KARACHI: Five more people have been killed in firing incidents in the metropolis as death toll reached 39 during the last 4 days, Geo News reported.

I was out of town for a couple of days, and there is a huge backlog of work and TSP thread to go through.
But one random though that I had.

BRF should not be a forum where suggestions to improve Pakistan are brought up. We should not come up with recommendations, or solutions to the problems they find themselves in. Already, there are issues that have been lifted off BRF's Pakistan related threads that are being highlighted by media and politicians in that country.

The land reforms thing being one.

The forums, are unusually well informed about Pakistan, because of an unusually wide spectrum of news reports, analysis, and BRF guru's experience in the posts. There is NO OTHER SUCH FORUM/BLOG/SITE on the internet where Pakistan is watched this closely. The forums predict almost everything based on whatever open source information is available.

But we need to be careful to not be a medium where ready made solutions are offered to them.

What a turn of events ! Just less than a year back, Kayani granted himself a 3-year extension and here he is already on the way out. So far, the PA's COAS was selected based on how much hatred he had for India in general and the Hindus in particular. Now onwards, that may not be enough.
Remembering Ajit's dialogue
isko liquid oxygen me dubadho..liquid ise jeeney nahi dhega aur oxygen ise marne nahee dega...
Similarly for Ashphuck
Isko Pakistan me dubadho,Taliban ise jeeney nahee dega aur America ise marne nahee dega...
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

The official softpedaling done by the US administration is ridiculous but at this point nothing is surprising anymore. The fact that even Congress is angry enough to slap limitations on the aid and press for answers speaks volumes as normally they don't give a crap about anything related to foreign policy, they just swallow the SD and Pentagon's lines.

Five killed in cross-border militant attack in Bajaur

KHAR - Scores of armed militants crossed the border from Afghanistan on Thursday and stormed a village in Pakistan's tribal belt, killing five civilians, Pakistani officials said.
Vinod Ji

Post by Vinod Ji »

BBC BREAKING NEWS:
Ayman al Zawahiri named as new leader of al Qaeda to succeed Osama Bin Laden - media reports

Adminullahs:^^ We need a smiley for BRF tubelight moment for the day..
l

http://news.in.msn.com/international/ar ... 867&page=2

So the "Vulture",Gen. Kill-any is feeling the heat what?! The 11 crore commanders are reportedly seething with anger at the Osmama "hit " and feel that Kill-any was Pak's Judas who betrayed the Islamic messiah,"the Sheikh".Arresting the so-called informers,who might actually be undercover CIA agents with no connection to the Osama hit,is most likely to be revenge for the hit.
The anger at the Americans was now making it more difficult for General Kayani to motivate the army to fight against the Pakistani Taliban in what is increasingly seen as a fight on behalf of the US, the Times said citing former Pakistani soldiers.

or this is a bluff to explain to unkil why no action can be taken against anything
(unless more baksheesh is released)
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

It is time for us to be on full unannounced alert. We should not give them any reason/excuse to close their ranks. This may also be the time for us to tone down Afghan operations, if any. No unnecessary comments or press releases on the current situation in Pakistan.

Passive Stealth Mode PVNR.

Gagan wrote:I was out of town for a couple of days, and there is a huge backlog of work and TSP thread to go through.
But one random though that I had.

SNIP............

But we need to be careful to not be a medium where ready made solutions are offered to them.
The very nature of BRF & the posters present makes it the place where solutions will emerge for problems being faced by India. If that includes solutions for India's TSP problem, that are in turn presented to the the ROW by media as a ready made solution then that can't be helped.

No point worrying about it.

PS: On a serious note, what makes you think that the Ideas being generated by us stupid SDRES will have any traction with the TFTA Bakies.

Vinod Ji wrote:BBC BREAKING NEWS:
Ayman al Zawahiri named as new leader of al Qaeda to succeed Osama Bin Laden - media reports
What a surprise?

Shocking :eek: does that mean that Ilyas finaly met his 72.

or the q's dumped ilya kuryakin since he was a puke puppet and not a blue-blooded arab fighting for the true cause and not the kore kause

http://www.usatoday.com/news/world/2011 ... htm?csp=hf
Gates grilled on Pakistan arrests of informants
WASHINGTON — The reported arrest in Pakistan of informants who helped the United States find Osama bin Laden evoked outrage Wednesday on Capitol Hill and pleas for patience from top military officials.
Read the article. It looks like the Khan's left testimonial is hurting.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/06/16/us-pakis ... eport.html
US-Pakistan security ties hit new low: report
WASHINGTON: The US-Pakistan security relationship has dipped to its lowest point since the September 11, 2001 attacks, threatening counterterrorism programs, The Washington Post reported Thursday.

US and Pakistan officials told the Post that the ties could deteriorate even further amid growing pressure from within the Pakistani military to reduce ties with the United States in the wake of last month’s US Special Operations Forces raid that killed Osama bin Laden in Abbottabad.
Now is a test for the testimonials of the Khans.

Most officials are saying "Roll over and enjoy it"

The world's only superpower grovelling in the dust! That too by an imploding state!

For sure, public opinion will be against the Khan admin who supprt the rolling over part!
Joseph

Post by Joseph »

Theo_Fidel wrote:^^^^
Looks like the Kayani's time is up! Who is next on seniority...
Pakistan’s army chief, the most powerful man in the country, is fighting to save his position in the face of seething anger from top generals and junior officers since the American raid that killed Osama bin Laden, according to Pakistani officials and people who have met the chief in recent weeks.
ears.

The Pakistani Army is essentially run by consensus among 11 top commanders, known as the Corps Commanders, and almost all of them, if not all, were demanding that General Kayani get much tougher with the Americans, even edging toward a break, Pakistanis who follow the army closely said.
A break with the U.S. would lessen the funds for the Corps Commanders to spend and stop toys being gifted to them.

Are the Corps Commanders sensing the discontent in the lower ranks and deciding that their positions and possibly lives are at risk and thus they are pressuring Kayani?

An alternative reason would be that the H&D of the Corps Commanders is finally worth more than the funds and toys from the U.S.
Last edited by Joseph on 16 Jun 2011 15:12, edited 1 time in total.

actually the language from washington is quite insulting to the pukes - its basically saying 'how dare you pipsqueaks not do as you are told! don't you understand that we are doing what we want and you have to do as you're told!!?? and we're givin' you money for crissakes!!!!'
frankly no self respecting TFTA martial mard should take this on his hands and knees

Looks like the bloodshed in Pak continues. We may see a 72 w/e chumma Jumma.

Vinod Ji wrote:BBC BREAKING NEWS:
What a surprise?

Shocking :eek: does that mean that Ilyas finaly met his 72.
Ilyas, Being a Non Arap can never be in the reconing, if you have been to the MiddleEast, You will know what Araps think of Subcontinental Muslims.

Aditya_V wrote:
Pratyush wrote:quote="Vinod Ji"BBC BREAKING NEWS:
What a surprise?

Shocking :eek: does that mean that Ilyas finaly met his 72

Ilyas, Being a Non Arap can never be in the reconing, if you have been to the MiddleEast, You will know what Araps think of Subcontinental Muslims.
Isn't zawahari egyptian? As non arab as they come?

Most Eqyptians are Arabs, it is considered as the country with the Largest Population of Arabs.

Some piskological thoughts are bubbling under the surface.

If I were Assphuck Kiyani what would I do?

All these years the stupid Amirkhans were paying good money while Pakistan got arms against India.

After 1998 Pakistan went apeshit with Kargil, Kaluchak, Parliament attack, Mumbai 2002, multiple attack all over India culminating with 26/11/2008. Not culminating exactly - but some extra pressure seems to have appeared from somewhere after 26/11 leading to a serious decrease in terror attacks.

What does Kayani have to do with this? Kayani was the author of 26/11. He arrived with that. Mushy had earlier arrived with Kargil and 9-11 helped him reap benefits when the stupid Americans opened their wallets. But What can Kayani do now?

He is being asked to rein in anti-US forces. But, as I said earlier there is some definite pressure to take terror off the agenda with India. The reason for the latter seems convoluted to me. For many years there has been US pressure on the Pak army to pull out forces from the Indian border. Pakistan refused citing the India threat - but nevertheless the "confidence building" with India (talks?) seems to have caused some troops to move out from the east to west. Perhaps that is why Pakistan is reluctant to restart terror. If India attacks in response to a terror strike Pakistan may not even be able to put up its usual show of resistance because of absent troops (and perhaps loss of Pashtuns from the army). That would also explain the Nasr/Hatf/Cold Start bravado. So Kayani is being faced with the twin pressures of fighting anti-US forces while not allowing anti-India forces to do their thing.

Now if anti Indian forces were different from anti-US forces (as Pakis desire), and the anti Indian forces did not want to hit the US the it would be no problem whatsoever. What a lovely scenario that would be for Pakistan, the US and jihadis. Balls to India. But it appears that it is diffiult to compartmentalise and separate the two.

Why Why would jihadis not see the Paki army viewpoint and understand that the US is needed for aid? The explanation is simple. If you hunt for me in the living room and someone else huts for me in the bedroom, my best bet is to hide in the kitchne - or anywhere but living and bedroom. Pakis an the US are hunting anti-US forces, and the safest place to hide is among the anti-India jihadis. Maybe Pakis even encouraged the Taliban and A Qaeda to hide with LeT. There has been a gradual coalescing of aims of all groups now.

What has this got to do with Assphuck Kiyani? Well he's the guy who has to get Pakis to hit the jihadis in Pakistan. He is in big trouble. There is IMO no way out. No way other than asking all jihadi groups to lie low. But that won;t be good enough. An that puts Kiyani at risk of assassination.

How lovely it would be to see an army vs army coup in Pakistan no?

Deputy Director Pakistan Sports Board Abrar Hussain Shah shot dead in Quetta.

thats why mushrat is in londonistan... to avoid a lampost moment...

shravan wrote:Deputy Director Pakistan Sports Board Abrar Hussain Shah shot dead in Quetta.
Surely, this would count as a sporting event in the grand islamic republic of the pure?

How lovely it would be to see an army vs army coup in Pakistan no?
Well, how uncanny you should say this, because there was breaking news on Headlines Today (18:40ish) where the possibility of the 11 disciples of Assphack ditching him. In fact, they roped in ex Generals Durrani and Massod. But :x , it was interrupted by more breaking news of a press conference by Sibal, Chidam and Khurshid which was as usual cya operations.

We'll probably here more about it today. The simple message was become anti-US or get lost. I guess Kiyanahin and Gates have their testimonials in a tangle.