Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 2011

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 20

http://www.cfr.org/pakistan/us-pakistan ... ial/p25299
U.S.-Pakistan Ties: Uneasy and Essential
Still, a number of experts support continued U.S. funding for Pakistan for development and security, saying even a flawed Pakistani state is vital to U.S. interests. A CFR-sponsored Independent Task Force report from late last year says while "militants in Pakistan and Afghanistan pose a direct threat to the United States and its allies [and] jeopardize the stability of Pakistan," the United States should continue current levels of funding in Pakistan and pushes for "continued and expanded training, equipment, and facilities for police, paramilitaries, and the army." A recent Center for Global Development report urges a development-centered agenda in Pakistan -- one of the world's poorest countries -- to supplement the focus on security.And in this new Policy Innovation Memorandum, CFR's Daniel Markey argues that the United States should adopt an indirect approach that leverages the power of influential Pakistanis, the credible threat of curtailed U.S. assistance to Pakistan and U.S. sanctions, pressure from Pakistan's closest allies, and the hard edge of U.S. military force in Afghanistan.
(CFR also understand Birathari system of Poakanu(kitanu) colony)

@Prem ^^^ :"CFR's Daniel Markey argues that the United States should adopt an indirect approach that leverages the power of influential Pakistanis."

What he means is the paki diaspora in the US whose funds he's seeking to further (and pay for) his 'research'.

Otherwise, the only influential pakis are the 11 Nazgul as in Corps Commanders.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

from jumma times

How Indian Muslims see Pakistan

Author is quoting Daily Inqualaab (India's largest urdu paper according to him)
The writer thought Pakistan's insistence that relations with India would improve if the Kashmir issue was settled was untrue (" dhakosla hai"). Pakistan was an unreliable neighbour (" ghair-mu'atbar padosi") which was a master of creating tension. If Kashmir was resolved, something else would be conjured up.
Answering the question he had first raised, Sheikh said it was difficult to say what would become of Pakistan because it seemed beyond redemption (" aise mulk ke bare mein kya kaha jaye jahan aawe ka aawa hi bigda hua hai").
In New Age Islam, Dr Shabbir Ahmed wrote on the blasphemy law under the headline ' Pakistan mein tauhin-e-Rasul (PBUH) ka wahshiana qanoon'. Ahmed said Pakistan was obsessed by this issue (" hysteria mein jakda hua hai"). Narrow sectarianism had divided the nation, and every sect thought of others as faithless and hated them.
choice of highlighted words is interesting could have been quadrified if had said that in paki lands

I know guys dont like to visit paki news papers but this article is a recommended read coz its going to cause a lot of takleef to TFTA pakis who want to liberate IM. There are minor nitpicks but holistically the article is a good read

Brad Goodman wrote: I know guys dont like to visit paki news papers but this article is a recommended read coz its going to cause a lot of takleef to TFTA pakis who want to liberate IM. There are minor nitpicks but holistically the article is a good read
Not that they'll ever believe i or admit to believing it. To better understand TFTA views, one only need courageously navigate the cesspool of Paki spewing on D&D or various other message boards. Their responses to such published views usually fall into four broad categories

1. This is propaganda, IMs think otherwise
2. The writer is a munafiq attempting to please his "upper caste" Hindu overlords.
3. IMs are suffering under Hindu Brahmin-banias and would be slaughtered if they dare go against the ruling elite. They must be liberated before more Godhras and Ayodhyas happen.
4. IMs are dhimmis, 60 years of living in with kaafirs has weakened their blood and their committment to Islam and Rasul else they would have never dared criticised Dar-ul-Islam. Serves them right for turning down the chance to move to the land of the pure. Isiliye hum alhaida hue. Wahhan rehte to hamaara bhi aisa hi kuchh haal hota (This why we chose to secede else we would have suffered the same fate)

CRamS wrote:
shyamd wrote:MKB says CIA is engineering the coup against Kayani. Interesting views.
As usual, he's probably cuddling to close with his ISI pals, or eating too much of appam fried with coconut oil, and chana dal chutney that increase his flatulence output :-).
This looks true with Morning Joe talking about the NY times about Kiyani losing his job.
When it hits NYTimes then it is a planted story and to create controversy

There is coordinated

Nandu wrote:120 militants storm police checkpost in Peshawar.

http://english.cri.cn/6966/2011/06/18/1461s643422.htm

I have a pooch. Sorry for using benis language but it is most appropriate here. It's like this. PNS Mehran, right in the middle of Karachi was attacked and after 17 hours they had no idea whether there were 4 attackers or 15. How come, in an outpost near Peshawar there is some accountant sitting with a notepad managing to keep his head up with all the firing going on, counting the number of attackers and is able to say "Hey it's 120 attackers today, down 40% from last week". I smell a "gimmedollah" scam.

To me it appears that Pakistan and the US are are playing a game of "How stupid we can make the rest of the world look". I am referring to the news reports that state that Pakistan has arrested people on the ground connected with the bin Laden raid.

Now tell me folks. ow stupid do the Americans and Bakis think we are?

The US conducted this spectacular raid and nailed bin Laden. Nobody knows exactly how they did it - but soon after they release reports detailing their assets. "Oh you know we had this house where CIA operatives sat and watched bin Laden's house". "Also on 23 Sept 2006, at 7-14 PM in D43 Defence enclave, Islamabud we arrested bin Laden's courier's ashna who told us all that we know. blah blah blah"

Why on earth would the Americans openly risk their sources? That was so suspicious that we really should have been alerted that we were being led on a wild goose chase. And now we have Bakis adding more details. "We got the owner of the CIA house. We go the guy taking down number plates of cars. We got the guy throwing flares. We got bin Laden's cook, maid, bell boy. Everyone"

And the media are now adding even more masala to this story "US-Bakistani relations strained by arrest of CIA assets! :(( The family do not know where the **** he has gone. The ISI took him"

It's a boatload of crap. The US has not compromised its sourced. Bakistan may have arrested a few inocent people for echandee. It's business as usual.

shiv wrote:To me it appears that Pakistan and the US are are playing a game of "How stupid we can make the rest of the world look". I am referring to the news reports that state that Pakistan has arrested people on the ground connected with the bin Laden raid.

Now tell me folks. ow stupid do the Americans and Bakis think we are?
Thanks for putting this thought Shiv garu. Beyond seeming stupidity there is a sinister ploy of preserving Paki capability to attack Indian interest with assymetric assets like terrorists without any responsibility and accountability (on part of US). This is accepted wisdom but can easily be overlooked.

US, by flaoting these "differences" with Pakis, is saying that if tomorrow Pakis attack India (and her interests) using terrorists, don't come to us with requests to contain and restrain paki dogs. You know, we have been having our "differences" with them over this for sometime now. Oh BTW, we will not allow you to take on pakis as we are "dealing" with them. So just layoff until we are done.

Everytime some one here (and at other places) gloats over "reported" differences between US and Pakis, I see this as an incremental success of the ploy that US/pakis are scheming.
mehroke

Post by mehroke »

Dear Shivji and Satya_anveshiji,
I read what you say but to what effect?

Pakistan has attacked India and her interests in the past and UNKIL has not done much to help except mouth a few platitudes.

This pretence would not be needed to maintain its current policy.

Just wondering :?:
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Pakistan Navy dirty political game over rescue of sailors
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c89P5XFEfwQ

The INS Godavari and PNS Babur incident is the testament to the inferiority complex faced by Pakistan and its armed forces. There can be no better way to understand the Pakis than to constantly remind them of their subservient existence.
The next time a Pakistani ship is stranded in international waters we should simply use it for some target practice for some fancy new torpedos.
vdutta

Post by vdutta »

no wonder why bakis are parking. a thin layer of steel plate is all that is new and working on that ship.

wiki
HMS Amazon (F169) was the first Type 21 frigate of the Royal Navy. Her keel was laid down at the Vosper Thornycroft shipyard in Southampton, England. The ship suffered a fire in the Far East in 1977, drawing attention to the risk of building warships with aluminium superstructure.

Amazon was the only unit of her class to not participate in the Falklands War, as she was in the Persian Gulf at the time.

By the mid-1980s the surviving Type 21s were suffering cracking in the hull and so she was taken in for refitting,
with a steel plate being welded down each side of the ship. At the same time modifications were made to reduce hull noise. Four Exocet launchers were also fitted in 'B' position, the last of the class to be so fitted.

Amazon decommissioned and was sold to Pakistan on 30 September 1993, being renamed Babur
.[citation needed] Exocet was not transferred to Pakistan and Babur had her obsolete Sea Cat launcher removed. A Chinese LY 60N missile launcher was fitted in place of the Exocet launchers. Signaal DA08 air search radar replaced the Type 992 and SRBOC chaff launchers and 20 mm and 30 mm guns were fitted. Babur remains in service with the Pakistan Navy.[citation ne

mehroke wrote:Dear Shivji and Satya_anveshiji,
Pakistan has attacked India and her interests in the past and UNKIL has not done much to help except mouth a few platitudes.
The current policy does not seem like the above. There has been an unusual calm since 26/11 from paki misadventure perspective (to much of their chagrin) and this I believe is a result of some active and passive engagement between India and US but also as a result of unbelievable restraint displayed by India under extreme circumstances (after showing enough resolve to go on offensive).

This worked somewhat but IMO now we are getting to a point where it is about to break. Pukes will be allowed to run amock in India misadventure and I presume they would want to prevent our response (basically just take hit or better yet settle cashmere as per puki wishes).

IMO, from our perspective, we would like to see this "apparent" differences grow some what real to an extent that US officials will have to find it very hard to pretend. Memories of that failed NY bomber (or similar such) should be repeated adnauseum and ensure it remains in public concious for some more time.

Shiv et al, something you guys have been driving home, but a brilliant article by Harold Gould. Pity that there are very few of his tribe among US commentators

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110618.htm

mehroke wrote:Dear Shivji and Satya_anveshiji,
I read what you say but to what effect?

Just wondering :?:
The pretence is only needed for the Pakistani army to keeps it echandee, keep getting money and arms from the US and keep doing the US's job. India is not in the picture. Only Indiots think India is relevant.
mehroke

Post by mehroke »

shiv wrote: The pretence is only needed for the Pakistani army to keeps it echandee, keep getting money and arms from the US and keep doing the US's job. India is not in the picture. Only Indiots think India is relevant.

If as you say India is not relevant and I can understand your view point - then how does India make itself relevant in its own Neighbourhood? India's feeble attempts on this issue are certainly not making news.

Pakistan's H & D is not our responsibility then why are we so sensitive to it? The innumerable chai biscuit sessions seem to be proof of our sensitivity.

Inspite of a poor attempt at making our presence felt in the immediate neighbourhood Pakistan cries itself hoarse about Indian presence in AF. Zaid Hamid and Hamid Gul types never tire of repeating this "1000 embassies" line in AF by India. Is India actually doing anything to increase it's relevance in it's own neighborhood? or have we abdicated this role in favour of Unkil et al?

Pardon my ignorance - BRF Newbie poster. :-?

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.as ... 2011_pg7_3
Pakistan lodges protest with Indian govt over PNS Babur incident

In a statement, a Foreign Office Spokesperson said the Indian navy ship not only hampered humanitarian operations being carried out by Pakistan Navy Ship Babur for Merchant Vessel Suez, but also undertook dangerous manoeuvres, which resulted in the brushing of the sides of INS Godavari and PNS Babur.
Wow! This has to be true if it has been routed through diplomatic channels.

Our guys seem to be in aggro mode. :evil:

Any more news on this? I will also look out and post.
ajit_tr

Post by ajit_tr »

Raghavendra wrote:Pakistan Navy dirty political game over rescue of sailors

Believing Indian Govt. is like Believing PM MMS who says is INC govt. is not corrupt.This is what indian sailors on MV Suez has to say....

And its not pakistani media propaganda.Its a stark truth that indian govt.has left its citizen at the mercy of pirates where they were helped by Pak navy and Ansar bruney .

rajanb wrote:Pakistan lodges protest with Indian govt over PNS Babur incident

Wow! This has to be true if it has been routed through diplomatic channels.

Our guys seem to be in aggro mode. :evil:

Any more news on this? I will also look out and post.
Did you read the previous posts on this subject ?

ajit_tr wrote:
And its not pakistani media propaganda.Its a stark truth that indian govt.has left its citizen at the mercy of pirates where they were helped by Pak navy and Ansar bruney .
It is Indian generosity that Pakistan even has a Navy. Do not forget that!

ajit_tr wrote: And its not pakistani media propaganda.Its a stark truth that indian govt.has left its citizen at the mercy of pirates where they were helped by Pak navy and Ansar bruney .
ms.Jihadjane, asalaamwalekum, the Indian sailor was neither the captain of the ship nor its radio officer. He was one of the captives held by the pirates . INS Godavari's radio messages were not answered by the paki kaptaan to maintain his non-existent H & D. The only thing INS Godavari could have done at this juncture was to fire a few torpedoes at PNS barber and then go 'resuce' Suez. Allah hafiz.
Last edited by Ambar on 18 Jun 2011 12:09, edited 1 time in total.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

ajit_tr wrote:
Raghavendra wrote:Pakistan Navy dirty political game over rescue of sailors
Believing Indian Govt. is like Believing PM MMS who says is INC govt. is not corrupt.This is what indian sailors on MV Suez has to say....

Ransom amount of 2.1 million dollars was paid by the ship owners not ansar bruney or any pakistani

Indian Navy coordinated with other navies in the area to provide security to the ship inspite of the fact that the ship is foreign owned.

Indian Navy made attempts to contact the ship which is now under the control of pakistani navy commandos but all attempts have been futile

Now decide for yourself who is doing propaganda and who is speaking truth
Patni

Post by Patni »

ajit_tr wrote:
Well if you want to defend pakistani media propaganda its your choice! prey find us one paki source that states facts of the matter that the ransom money was paid by the owner of the MV suez and not by any pakistani!

here is the link We paid $2.1 mn for release of sailors: MV Suez owner
Ten months ago, an Egyptian merchant vessel with six Indians sailors on board was hijacked by Somali pirates. After paying the pirates a ransom of $2.1 million, they released the crew on board. In an exclusive interview to TIMES NOW, the owner of MV Suez recapped his ordeal along with others abducted.

Abdul M Mathar spoke to TIMES NOW's Shahira Amin in Cairo about the 10 month negotiation to release the crew of 22 sailors, which also included 11 Egyptians, four Pakistanis and one Sri Lankan.

The release materialised after the continuous efforts of Pakistan-based Ansar Burney Trust, which is run by Pakistan's former federal minister for human rights, Ansar Burney.

Mathar said, "We paid the pirates a ransom of $2.1 million. The pirates had asked for $20 million. It took us too long to establish contact with the pirates. It was with Ansar Burney's help that we managed to negotiate with the pirates."

"The ship is on its way to the Oman port. We have asked the Indian government for help and have also contacted the Indian Ambassador in Cairo. The ship is not safe though till it moves out of Somalian waters. After reaching the port, the Indian sailors will be flown back," added Mathar.

The Indians include two from Haryana and one each from Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Jammu and Kashmir. One of the Indians is from Mumbai.
So paki ex-human rights minister helped by finding out how to contact pirates and negotiated on behalf of Egyptian owners who paid 2.1M$, now go and find any paki source that is reporting facts! All we get is claims how pakis are so good and self congratulating saying the money was paid by pakistan! and you want to go defend paki media?

Patniji:
So paki ex-human rights minister helped by finding out how to contact pirates and negotiated on behalf of Egyptian owners who paid 2.1M$, now go and find any paki source that is reporting facts! All we get is claims how pakis are so good and self congratulating saying the money was paid by pakistan! and you want to go defend paki media?
The money was paid by the owners.

The Pakis are the right people to go to in a Pirate/terrorist/hostage situation because they are definitely involved or on the fringe of these nefarious activities.

My take on this is:

How much commission did the Pakis get?

The Babur and the Suez did not want India to be involved because we may have grilled the paki captain and this perhaps was a guarantee to keep truth of Paki "involvement" under wraps.

Am sure the Babur must have tried some panga, verbal or action oriented.
kenop

Post by kenop »

Pacqui nationals training Somali pirates?
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOJ3C8rQbJo[/youtube]
An article from late 2009
From a discussion Forum
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

kenop wrote:Pacqui nationals training Somali pirates?

An article from late 2009
From a discussion Forum
Fixed youtube embedded link

Could it be that Pakistanis on ships would let their ships be captured deliberately by Somali pirates in order to extract money from ship owners, various governments, and then share in the loot?!

ajit_tr wrote: Believing Indian Govt. is like Believing PM MMS who says is INC govt. is not corrupt.This is what indian sailors on MV Suez has to say....
Well this should be music to the ears of many on this board - but coming from you it should cause some cognitive dissonance. :|

RajeshA wrote:Could it be that Pakistanis on ships would let their ships be captured deliberately by Somali pirates in order to extract money from ship owners, various governments, and then share in the loot?!
If one considers how international shipping captains are selling off diesel off shore to diesel smugglers, Piracy by the somalians and Pakistani crew can certainly be a joint op.

Al Qaida has a wing present in Somalia who do hafta wasooli from the pirates. That money must be going to pakistani wing of the Al Qaida, to pay off for their stay and home base in Pakistan.

And these pakistanis are also training the somalian pirates. Training in terrorist activities, hijacking and weapons training is a forte of these pakistanis as it is.

Gagan wrote:
RajeshA wrote:Could it be that Pakistanis on ships would let their ships be captured deliberately by Somali pirates in order to extract money from ship owners, various governments, and then share in the loot?!
If one considers how international shipping captains are selling off diesel off shore to diesel smugglers, Piracy by the somalians and Pakistani crew can certainly be a joint op.

Al Qaida has a wing present in Somalia who do hafta wasooli from the pirates. That money must be going to pakistani wing of the Al Qaida, to pay off for their stay and home base in Pakistan.

And these pakistanis are also training the somalian pirates. Training in terrorist activities, hijacking and weapons training is a forte of these pakistanis as it is.
Gagan ji,

then one needs to advertise better your insights, so that no Pakistani ever serves on any vessel in the world. Ship owners would only have themselves to blame if they employ Pakistanis, for they will try to benefit from both ends - from your employment and from selling your ship to the hijackers.
tarun

Post by tarun »

If as you say India is not relevant and I can understand your view point - then how does India make itself relevant in its own Neighbourhood?
Impose anti-terror tax of equivalent to amount of aid( military or civil it all ends up in jihadi hands ) to napak on all imports from 3.5 friends except raw materials for export/import substitution industries.

Four killed, 28 wounded in militant attack

QUETTA - "Three people including two children were killed and 26 people were injured, the target was a paramilitary convoy," a senior security official told AFP. Five soldiers were among the wounded, officials said.
The second incident occurred in the northwest tribal district of South Waziristan, where a group of militants attacked a security checkpost in Ladha town, triggering a gunfight which killed one soldier and wounded two others.
RSoami

Post by RSoami »

Pakistanis paid the 2.1m $ to free sailors...

If Kayani and his corps commanders were to be kidnapped by Al Qaeda which seems likely, all of Pakistan wont have 2.1 million dollars to free them.

Altair wrote:The next time a Pakistani ship is stranded in international waters we should simply use it for some target practice for some fancy new torpedos.
Be sure to ask for the captain's nationality first. Apparently MV Suez's captain was a paki (although its a Egyptian ship) and he refused Indian help, preferrng a paki ship to roll in.

The IN can save the crew if they are SDRE and let the TFTA Kaptaan run the ship if he does not want SDRE help.

Zimble onlee

Altair wrote:The INS Godavari and PNS Babur incident is the testament to the inferiority complex faced by Pakistan and its armed forces.
See, this is where I differ from most opinions because I do not see this an inferiority issue. No sir. The pakis consider '65, '71' and Kargil as victories. Only because they survived and and are still there. They will consider this "warships brushing each other episode" as victory too. Here's why. When lowly pakis brush against us, they think of themselves as David and us as Goliath, and their media portrays its as standing up to the super power (and living to tell the tale like a lowly village dog). In the recent warships issue, the pakis see it as a "victory" of having run up against a vastly superior navy (and that too in international blue waters) and come out unscathed. Watch them now call their navy as "blue water navy". Besides, there's a huge sense of relief, too. Their vintage-era aluminum hulled warship did not sink. Otherwise, there would have been a glut of aluminum kitchen utensils in the lawhori jumma market next year.
Patni

Post by Patni »

Enraged protesters attack police picket, damage vehicles
Obaid Abrar Khan
Saturday, June 18, 2011
Rawalpindi

Protests against prolonged power outages at Churr Chowk on Friday turned violent when protesters attacked a police picket, and pelted stones on police as well as private vehicles.

The protesters started gathering at Churr Chowk from different nearby localities soon after Friday prayers. They chanted slogans against the federal government for failing to control unscheduled and untimely power outages.

The angry protesters blocked the road for two hours and when police tried to disperse them they started pelting stones on police and nearby passing vehicles. The situation further worsened when police used baton-charge and fired teargas shells to disperse the protesters.

CPO Rawalpindi Azhar Hameed Khokar was also present on the spot to handle the situation.

The residents of Pirwadhai and Churr have been facing unannounced loadshedding spanning between 16 and 20 hours daily. “The power outages have made the life of the residents in the peak summer miserable,” said Rab Nawaz, a protester. He said the residents were out to express their anger and agony, as the authorities were unable to control the power outages. He said particular children faced difficulty during day and night.

He said, “We have submitted many applications to the concerned authorities, but no action has been taken on our requests.” The protesters also said that their protest was peaceful, but police used force to quell them eventually forcing the protesters to pelt stones on police and attack Naseerabad police picket.

Muhammad Saleem, another protester, said that they were forced to stage the protest demonstration as nobody was listening to them. “It was the only option left for us to show our plight to the government. The sitting government has completely failed. It is only busy in looting the people and least bothered about providing them basic facilities of life like water, gas and electricity,” he added.

When ‘The News’ contacted XEN City Iesco, Rawalpindi, Sheikh Abid Iqbal, he said the shortfall of electricity has reached almost 4,815 MW therefore people were facing prolonged loadshedding.
May more such Friday protest bloom in land of pure!

anupmisra wrote:
Altair wrote:The INS Godavari and PNS Babur incident is the testament to the inferiority complex faced by Pakistan and its armed forces.
[...] When lowly pakis brush against us, they think of themselves as David and us as Goliath, and their media portrays its as standing up to the super power (and living to tell the tale like a lowly village dog). In the recent warships issue, the pakis see it as a "victory" of having run up against a vastly superior navy (and that too in international blue waters) and come out unscathed. Watch them now call their navy as "blue water navy". [...]
Excellent points, anupji.

Let me add that now on poki textbooks too may find an addendum saying how it is little known (due to YYY conspiracists) that Babur actually reached the Godavari in southern India only. Before long, this is will become accepted (peer-reviewed) historical fact in the anals of poki hishitory. only.