Serial Blasts in Mumbai

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai

^^^sudip baas control. SPY satellites are not in the geostationary orbit. They are in the sun synchronous orbit. U cannot read number pates out of them. that is fiction. (their is something called resolution power) .We already have the relevant tech and are using it wherever applicable. in real life u cannot use it in yesterdays scenario where a network of cctv would have been the best method.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

On CCTVs
There were no cameras to capture any suspicious movements around the three locations where the IEDs went off.

According to police officials, none of the spots Zaveri Bazar, Opera House and Dadar were under the direct cover of CCTV cameras.

A senior traffic police officer confirmed to MiD DAY that none of the three spots had any cameras overlooking them
However, Naresh Mehta, secretary of Panchratna Society near Opera House, told MiD DAY that the society had installed an infrared CCTV camera covering the backside of the building, which has the capability to record for 15 days at a stretch, round the clock.

The police were screening the images minutely. When they did not come up against anything in particular, they requested Mehta for the cam's hard disk to examine the footage more closely in their office later.

Mehta added, "I allowed the police to take the hard disk. I will have to get a new one tomorrow to continue the round-the-clock monitoring of the building and its peripheries."
nikhilarora

Post by nikhilarora »

Sudip wrote:What decision is needed to blast away 20 sats? how is it related to corruption?
Sir,

It is not yours or mine decision to lauch 20 sats in Space for monitoring terrorists. We cant just go to ISRO and say, look here pals, we are in danger, send satellites to space to monitor terrorists, I believe the govt. does that and they only answer to GOI. Now, if GOI doesn't give them any go ahead, why will they. The Indian Army was in standby to act against terrorists so many time, the babus only shivered and backed away from it. What my point was, merely discussing these wont bring any change. I have been a follower of brf for a long time, and read through every post religiously. There are some awesome and innovative ideas posted here and also things that are important. But every day when I go home, I think only one thing, after so many discussions, micro-analysis in BRF and other places by so many learned men, does anything change?? Is there any difference?? Sir, nothing changes and the fact is the world is rotating in its own speed. We can write countless posts and blogs on it to move faster, but it wont, until we ourselves find ways to do so.

PS:- Just before the Mumbai blasts, a person had posted in TSP thread about the uncanny situation and how a terrorist attack could be imminent. It came true within minutes. Only, if our leaders and babus were listening!!!

Do you think 5 million Sunni muslims in Kashmir, or 1 million Nagas. or for that matter all the 20 million odd people in the North-East hurt the core 900 or more million who believe in India?

By what stretch of imagination do you think that Naga's, Mizo's, Arunachali's are not core Indians? Or for that matter most of Kashmiri Muslims? These type of loose statements reflect not their aspiration to be a part of India but your own acceptability. That non acceptability as 'core' provides a large moral boost to the separatists. These type of statements are quoted by separatists to justify their stance. Quite sad, it's made so casually. This type of thought process also cut us off from Tibet and justified us not helping them and acknowledging Chinese occupation at the highest levels in the Govt.
Sudip

Post by Sudip »

Mumbai terror attack bears all markings of LeT: US media
ProPublica:The latest attack "involved bombs planted in strategic locations, a recurring tactic used by Indian affiliates of Lashkar in recent years."
The Chicago Tribune said the latest Mumbai assault "appears to have been carried out by associates of two Chicago terrorists (David Headley and Tahawwur Rana) convicted last month.

Sudip wrote:Mumbai terror attack bears all markings of LeT: US media
So the US media has gained expertise in indentifying LeT attacks. Amazing.

gakakkad wrote:^^^sudip baas control. SPY satellites are not in the geostationary orbit. They are in the sun synchronous orbit. U cannot read number pates out of them. that is fiction. (their is something called resolution power) .We already have the relevant tech and are using it wherever applicable. in real life u cannot use it in yesterdays scenario where a network of cctv would have been the best method.
The idea is to use a constellation of Low earth orbit satellites. Current best resolution is about 10 cm (e.g. Israel's TECSAR). One could also use stationary solar-powered air-ships stationed at about 70,000 ft over metro areas. These would of course have to be integrated with a comprehensive homeland security infrastructure.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Sophisticated IEDs used to trigger Mumbai blasts: Govt
Hours after Chidamabaram's statement, union home secretary RK Singh briefing media persons in Delhi, said that the IEDs used for blasts in Mumbai were not crude and showed a certain degree of sophistication.

The home secretary also gave details of the places were the bombs were kept by the terrorists.

The bomb at Opera House was hidden under garbage while at Dadar, it was placed over a bus shelter, he said. At Zaveri Bazar, the bomb was concealed under an umbrella near a motorcycle, he added.

Earlier addressing a press conference in Mumbai, Chidamabram had said the explosion at Dadar was of low intensity but the other two at Opera House, Zaveri Bazar were of high intensity.

He also revealed that the blasts were not remote-triggered.

He refused to accept any intelligence failure and said that there was no specific or credible input about the Wednesday terror strikes.

Logically he was right.

No intelligence so there was no intelligence failure.

The correct question would have been......

Is the dhoti doing his job??

PM, Sonia to visit Mumbai this evening

So they can add to the commotion.

Pranav wrote: The idea is to use a constellation of Low earth orbit satellites. Current best resolution is about 10 cm (e.g. Israel's TECSAR). One could also use stationary solar-powered air-ships stationed at about 70,000 ft over metro areas. These would of course have to be integrated with a comprehensive homeland security infrastructure.

yes a constellation is needed. Many of our current IRS can do the job an have a good resolution. 12-15 more may be needed. Even if ISRO had an IRS above mumbai yesterday 7;00pm ist and obtained high res images little info could be obtained. (it was a crowded area ). Satellites are undoubtedly useful for many situation .But not the technique of choice for yesterdays situation. What was needed yesterday is good network of cctv besides proper homeland security personnel with requisite training. Tragedy is we do have the capability to build those on our own. Their are people in military intelligence with superb training. But same old turf wars , bureaucratic insufficiency and babudom cost us those lives. Many commentators made illogical comments like "we dont have technology of west bla bala , we don't have money to spend on intel bla bla" . Nonsensical arguments. Biggest tragedy of the situation is that we can build the infrastructure on our own with minimal US help and at affordable cost. Yet nothing has been done. Google said that Indian government is one of the snoopiest in the world. (after China and US). Terrorist have smartened up. Unlike the previous attacks no emails have been sent by the pigs. The arrest made in the previous attacks were due to those emails. (tragically the sloppy judiciary let them go on bail) . The only way hand to hand or mouth to mouth transmission of info can be intercepted is by decent humint. I see no reason why success of kashmir anti insurgency strategies cannot be replicated elsewhere.

Sravan, yours are the most compelling ideas. Break off all diplomatic and economic ties with Pakistan. Take the battle to the terrorists' lairs. Target the ISI, Pakistani military and elite. Another thing: what's stopping the naming of China as an indirect supporter of this terror? That would embarrass them, and it's true. If the US can frown at the slightest Indian engagement with Iran, India can say-and do- a lot more about the US and China's ties with Pakistan. At the very least, as far as India itself goes. Show very strong opposition.

The actual police strength in India in 2009 was 15.6 lakhs, against the sanctioned strength of 20.3 lakhs.
This translated to 49.2 per 100 square kilometers or 133 per 100,000 people.
http://ncrb.nic.in/CII%202009/cii-2009/Chapter%2017.pdf

Afghanistan has 262 per 100,000 (2007), and that is comparable to England, Wales, South Africa. New York City before its recent budget cuts had 500 per 100,000. The US as a whole (2006) had 266 per 100,000.

A_Gupta ji, thank goodness , we have less policemen . What does the police do other than harass innocent , poor , wealthy without approach , facilitaion in selling drugs & poisoned liquor , you name it , the police does it.

The Hindu Breaking news:

No across-the-border link to Mumbai blasts: Secretary, Internal Security

Unless we forget we are hosting our first ever F1 race this year. F1 with a average viewership of 540 million viewers/race is the 2nd most widely followed global sport after football. It is a marketing tool par none with the exception of WorldCup football and Olympics. If teams/drivers refuse to travel to India under citing security reasons it would be a PR disaster of gargantuan proportions for corporate India.

Yuvaraj vuvacha

Mumbai is == Afghanistan, Iraq. No one can stop terror attacks.

Ambar wrote:Unless we forget we are hosting our first ever F1 race this year. F1 with a average viewership of 540 million viewers/race is the 2nd most widely followed global sport after football. It is a marketing tool par none with the exception of WorldCup football and Olympics. If teams/drivers refuse to travel to India under citing security reasons it would be a PR disaster of gargantuan proportions for corporate India.
Ambarji this is why we will not attack Pakistan.

On BRF we worried ourselves sick that CWG wold be attacked. All went well
We have worried ourselves sick that IPL would be attacked. All went well.
Now you have cast the first stone so we can worry ourselves sick about forthcoming F1

Regardless of whether anything happens or not - we worry so much about what others may think of us and how others may or may not like us that we are simply not going to act against Pakistan. That's for sure. It's not the GoI that thinks like this. As you have intuitively expressed your feelings - your words echo the sentiment of a billion worrying Indians

Imagine. Who will come to India ever if we start a war with Pakistan? We must put up with pinpricks. 20 dead yesterday, 200 dead tomorrow, 70 dead next month. Pinpricks when you take the broad view. Then we can somehow muddle though like we did for CWG and IPL. :roll:

shiv wrote:Imagine. Who will come to India ever if we start a war with Pakistan? We must put up with pinpricks. 20 dead yesterday, 200 dead tomorrow, 70 dead next month. Pinpricks when you take the broad view. Then we can somehow muddle though like we did for CWG and IPL. :roll:
This is what I wrote in the first pages. India will be dealing with terror in this fashion onlee irrespective of breat beating on the internet.

In the 80s and 90s proxy war with Pak, it is alway soldier/policeman dead to infiltrator/terrorist killed ratio.

Using the same anology it will be incident to number of dead ratio or per/yr dead ratio. In a nation of billion plus 100 dead here and 100 there is no big deal. Any action against pak is a huge huge issues and any action against internal criminals is a huge electoral loss.

Process improvement of how to handle to press and statements after each attack also will happen over time.

abhishek_sharma wrote:The Hindu Breaking news:

In 24 hours, we have solved this case. Given past record, this "performance" is pretty good.

excellent. first step to declare it a case of hindu terrorism is complete.

Rahul M wrote: excellent. first step to declare it a case of hindu terrorism is complete.
That is certainly possible. I believe it has been done to ensure that we can continue our piss talks with pigs.
nikhilarora

Post by nikhilarora »

What the hell!! The US Media says "Mumbai terror attack bears all markings of LeT: US media" and now GOI is saying its not from across the border. Am I too dumb but I am not getting who is the smart A$$ out here!!! Yeah sure, US Media has said it bears the markings of LET, are they too dumb to make an empty statement. Or is GOI out of its mind to put the blame of Saffron Terror when surely everything that they do is read on the Media (Mainly US Newspapers) and make statements after. Strong allegations eh!! Who cares!!!
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Is there a list of the blast victims (killed or injured) somewhere? Need to understand the general profile of the intended target for these terrorists.

Added later:
Ok found a list of some of the victims who were killed

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels ... blasts-734

Bombay Hospital:

1. Himmatbhai Kalubhai Gadiya, Male, 49

J.J. Hospital:

2. Guman Singh Mohar Singh Rathod, Male, 35
3. Lalchand Ahuja, Male, 45

Harkisandas Hospital:

4.Mohan Nair, Male, 46
5. Tushar Kolambe, Male, 30
6. Sunil Kumar Jain, Male
7. Unknown
8. Unknown
9. Unknown

Saifee Hospital:

10. Tushar Rameshchandra Shah, Male 48
11. Sandip Champaklal Shah, Male, 38
12. Ajgar Darodia, Male
13. Unknown

G.T. Hospital:

14. Rajesh Khamji Khedekar, Male, 28
15. Pankaj Soni, Male 22
16. Premraj Motilal Soni, Male, 45
17. Kisan Shivsadan Mandal, Male, 35
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Just an hour ago, Rahul said in Bhubaneshwar-
A day after serial blasts rocked Mumbai, Rahul Gandhi today said it is "very difficult" to stop every single terror attack but asserted that 99 per cent of the strikes in the country have been stopped due to vigilance and intelligence efforts. The AICC General Secretary also patted the government for the manner in which it responded to the latest attack, saying the response was prompt. "We are responding to it in a quite organised fashion," he said at a press conference on the second day of his visit to Orissa. Rahul said though 99 per cent terror strikes in the country had been prevented due to vigilance and intelligence, the aim is to achieve 100 per cent result. "We will stop 99 per cent of terror attacks but one per cent of attacks might get through," he said, adding," We must try to stop 100 per cent of attacks. It is something we will fight and defeat." Rahul further said, "It is very difficult to stop every single terrorist attack. The idea is that we have to fight terrorism at the local level. We have improved in leaps and bounds. But terrorism is something that it is impossible to stop all the time." He also conveyed his condolences to all the families affected by yesterday's explosions which has left 18 persons dead and 131 injured. Reminded that there was no terror attack in the US after the 9/11 strike whereas India often faced the menace, Gandhi said Americans had been facing attacks in other places like Afghanistan.

Sooner that I could click onto another webpage, I found this reaction by Shivsena to Rahul's comment.

The Shiv Sena today reacted sharply to Congress leader Rahul Gandhi''s statement that all terrorist attacks cannot be stopped, terming it as an "insult" to Mumbai. "Rahul does not leave a single chance to insult Mumbai. When he says the terror attacks will continue to happen, it shows that he is not fit to live in India," Sena MP Sanjay Raut said. Raut was reacting to Congress General Secretary''s statement in Bhubaneshwar that it was very difficult to stop every single terrorist attack. Gandhi had said though 99 per cent terror strikes in the country had been prevented due to vigilance and intelligence, the aim was to achieve 100 per cent result. "It is very difficult to stop every single terrorist attack. Steps taken by our government (to tackle terror) over the years have been very profound steps," he said. When pointed out that there was no terror attack in the US after the 9/11 strike whereas India often faced the menace, Gandhi said the Americans had been facing attacks in other places like Afghanistan. Raut alleged that by his statement on the US coming under terror attacks in places like Afghanistan the Congress leader had wrongly drawn a parallel between those martyred in Mumbai and the victims in the strife-torn country. "We elect you to protect us. When you compare the Mumbai attacks to those in Iran, Iraq and Afghanistan, it is an insult to those killed in these (Mumbai) attacks," the Sena MP said.
Peronally I do agree with the Shivsena views. It is an immature statement yet again by Rahul, his gaffes are increasingly demoralising, I dont think I would want such a PM leading India. He can at best handle the PR or I&B portfolios, he is not a firebrand leader I expected him to be.
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 14 Jul 2011 17:38, edited 2 times in total.

nikhilarora wrote:

What the hell!! The US Media says "Mumbai terror attack bears all markings of LeT: US media" and now GOI is saying its not from across the border. Am I too dumb but I am not getting who is the smart A$$ out here!!! Yeah sure, US Media has said it bears the markings of LET, are they too dumb to make an empty statement. Or is GOI out of its mind to put the blame of Saffron Terror when surely everything that they do is read on the Media (Mainly US Newspapers) and make statements after. Strong allegations eh!! Who cares!!!

WAIT, there's more!!!

A proper dog's breakfast. :-o

sooside bummers are sourced from out of India. This commodity is not an indigenous product.

Many holes, same confusion, eternal love of limelight and their 15 minutes of fame.

Not Ruling Out Suicide Attack in Mumbai Blasts: Govt
The government has not ruled out the possibility of the involvement of a suicide bomber in Mumbai serial blasts, Home Secretary R K Singh said today.

"The NSG DG has informed that a body with circuit has been found from one of the sites. The body was found near the explosion site. We are not ruling out anything," he told reporters here.

Singh was replying to a question about the possibility of the involvement of a suicide bomber in yesterday's blasts as the body was found with a circuit near one of the blast sites.

The Home Secretary said explosive experts of Central Forensic Science Laboratory, NSG and Mumbai Police were examining the blast sites and according to the information available, ammonium nitrate was used for carrying out the blasts.

"The bombs were not crude and it is believed that trained persons were involved in making the bombs," he said.

That previous breaking news from 'The Hindu' was misleading.

Mumbai blasts: Govt. sees no cross-border link ‘as of now’
The government also said “as of now” it has no ground to link Wednesday’s terror attack with any elements across the border.

Sravan wrote: Trust me if you can prove that carrying a smart phone will help save your life in Mumbai, people will go out and buy it right away. You can't put a price on life.
Saar welcome to India, this is a country where
1) More people die every year due to lightning strikes and being run over by Mumbai's local trains than in all terror incidents(this includes J&K, NE, Maoist etc)
2) A state government who's annual budget figure is a combination of "lakh" and "thousand" along with "crores" can spare only Re 0.50 for a meal meant for starving or ill child in an Anganwadi.

I know your angry. But take a step back and look at the solutions you are offering from perspective of the 'aam admi's' priorities and the government's constraints.

SandeepA wrote:Is there a list of the blast victims (killed or injured) somewhere? Need to understand the general profile of the intended target for these terrorists.

Added later:
Ok found a list of some of the victims who were killed

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels ... blasts-734

Bombay Hospital:

1. Himmatbhai Kalubhai Gadiya, Male, 49

J.J. Hospital:

2. Guman Singh Mohar Singh Rathod, Male, 35
3. Lalchand Ahuja, Male, 45

Harkisandas Hospital:

4.Mohan Nair, Male, 46
5. Tushar Kolambe, Male, 30
6. Sunil Kumar Jain, Male
7. Unknown
8. Unknown
9. Unknown

Saifee Hospital:

10. Tushar Rameshchandra Shah, Male 48
11. Sandip Champaklal Shah, Male, 38
12. Ajgar Darodia, Male
13. Unknown

G.T. Hospital:

14. Rajesh Khamji Khedekar, Male, 28
15. Pankaj Soni, Male 22
16. Premraj Motilal Soni, Male, 45
17. Kisan Shivsadan Mandal, Male, 35
This would not be an offence under the new communal violence bill proposed by
the NAC run by catholic ladies. :D

All seem from majority community onlee.

Deleted
Last edited by harbans on 15 Jul 2011 02:01, edited 1 time in total.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

^^^That is a very useful invention/technology that you have developed, Harbans ji. Wishing you all the best.

My comments posted on the site:
It is still not established who carried out yesterday's blasts at Mumbai. However, if past incidents are any pointers, this one will also be traced back to Pakistan. For those who suggest that India remains restrained because Pakistan is anyway coming apart on its own, I say a resounding 'NO'. India must hasten the process by all means. Many thought that Pakistan was not a viable country when it was materialized out of thin air in 1947. Even many Pakistani leaders, politicians and thinkers were not sure how Pakistan would survive as a separate entity. Yet, Pakistan chose to grab Jammu & Kashmir and in the process start a war with India and set up an enduring rivalry with her. Its unbridled antagonism has led to many crises, financial, economic, political and religious. Every time one felt that Pakistan could not descend any lower, it surprised us by plumbing new depths. Every time it was on the verge of bankruptcy, it was miraculously saved by its 3½ Friends. This way, India has been subject to terrorism and pain since 1947 with only occasional breaks. But, since 1989, the cross-border terrorism from Pakistan has been relentless and intense on India under the overhang of nuclear weapons. This Nuclear-Enabled Terrorism will not peter out somehow by itself without active steps by India. India should not merely keep quiet allowing Pakistan to stew in its own juices thinking that it will disappear by the weight of its own contradictions. As I said before, there is no guarantee that another knight-in-shining-armor would not appear on the horizon to rescue a geo-strategically important Pakistan and give it a new lease of life which will only result in a continuation of pain for India. In 2001, Pakistan was a country nobody wanted to touch with a bargepole. Then 9/11 happened, and the situation changed dramatically as aid money started pouring in like a torrent, arms and ammunition were supplied many of which were even irrelevant to fighting the AQAM in FATA, loans were waived or delayed and Pakistan became a 'tight buddy' once more. Same was the case in 1979. Same was the case in 1970. Every such rescue raised Indian pain by a few notches. This repeated rescue has emboldened Pakistan to be reckless threatening not only peace in India, but also in the region and increasingly so worldwide. Since 9/11, there have been over 180 terror incidents in which Pakistan has been implicated either because it supplied manpower, or it funded or provided training etc. India cannot remain passive anymore as India is already paying a heavy cost for Pakistan-inflicted terrorism.

abhishek_sharma wrote:That previous breaking news from 'The Hindu' was misleading.

The government also said “as of now” it has no ground to link Wednesday’s terror attack with any elements across the border.
If GoI had not seen such links 'as of now', then there was no need to say that as well.

They had to, since they were in a hurry to clarify that the piss process will not be affected.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Did anyone notice that ISI is trying to send a message to reporters not just in Pakistan, but in India, that do not meddle with the underworld as it is their arm you are meddling with.Killing Dey came as a sequel to the killing of a reporter in Pakistan, and is part of the same approach - subdue reporters. Orders might be emanating from ISI quite likely, and the recent blasts in Mumbai might be a capping event,to show they mean business.View it from their viewpoint,they benefit by the attention, and by the fact that entire machinery in India gears up to condemn it, thus leading to a well planned ruckus, perhaps to defocus India from some other pursuits which it is engaged in and are not beneficial to Pakistan.

Digvijay singh is a Asshole with a caps A
Says India's is better (fewer strikes) than Pakistan in terms of terror attacks and even USA went through 9/11.

And that makes it OK?

Deleted
Last edited by harbans on 15 Jul 2011 01:58, edited 1 time in total.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

^^^ You could sell this speed control technology in UAE, it is surely needed here, lots of speedsters around.The only current technology in use is a Radar, a way of revenue earning, really, there have been people paying thousands of dirhams in fines, and continue to cross the radar limits.

Deleted
Last edited by harbans on 15 Jul 2011 01:59, edited 2 times in total.

abhishek_sharma wrote:That previous breaking news from 'The Hindu' was misleading.

Phew! For a moment by BP was rising. :evil:
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

harbans wrote:Yes indeed it has a lot of applications. Intended to improve Delhi traffic with that though. It's like in the night time when traffic is thin one can raise the max speeds, when there's fog or a fallen tree or accident, reduce the max speeds for vehicles from a local control room. Ambulances, Police vehicles and Emergency vehicles would not be affected. Near schools, hospitals one can reduce speeds automatically without the need for speed breakers. Also imagine a scenario that terrorists or bank robbers are escaping in a getaway vehicle and switching on a button that reduces vehicle speed in that section to 10kmph..while the cop van races ahead. :D
Wouldnt the cop van slow down too, being in that section? Or they would have a way of over-riding the slowdown command?