Indian Interests in US Presidential Election Campaign 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Indian Interests in US Presidential Election Campaign 2012

Now that the US Presidential Election Campaign is picking up steam, I assume a somewhat spike in interest among BRFites to read the leaves as to how the choice of the next US President would have an affect on India's national interests.

The foreign policy debate would be interesting to watch and analyze. The thread should also serve as a repository of foreign policy statements of the various candidates, so as to compare the next President's actual policy with his/her pronouncements during the campaign trail.

Also the Candidates' pronouncements on China and Pakistan would also have a bearing on Indian interests.

In case the moderators think, that this thread is unwarranted, please feel free to delete it.

Otherwise, I hope, that posters post and analyze with interest here.

Re: Indian Interests in US Presidential Election Campaign 20

Published on Aug 30, 2011
By Phyllis Schlafly
Candidates Should be Talking About China: Townhall Magazine
The media are absorbed with the race for the Republican presidential nomination -- commenting on daily fluctuations in the polls and predicting who will win. But why are they omitting discussion of the elephant in the room -- China?

When Donald Trump briefly considered running for President, his straight talk about China helped him rise to the top of the Republican field. So why aren't the media interrogators asking other candidates any questions about China?

Communist China is a tremendous national security issue. The only cut President Barack Obama is willing to make in federal spending is in our military power, which means he will be ceding our military superiority to China and other hostile totalitarian nations.

While Obama is shutting down our U.S. space program, China is going full-speed ahead to achieve space dominance, along with the ability to deny it to America. Space is essential to the gathering, transmission and use of information necessary to fight and win future wars.

This year, China unveiled a new, high-tech stealth fighter plane that could pose a significant threat to our air superiority, and a Chinese military milestone was passed when China's first aircraft carrier completed its maiden voyage.

China is also deploying a new anti-ship ballistic missile that could sink U.S. aircraft carriers. Finally, China is developing electromagnetic pulse weapons to use against our aircraft carriers in any conflict over Taiwan.

Communist China is also a huge jobs issue, and jobs are the number-one presidential campaign issue. China is a killer of U.S. jobs, not only from U.S. outsourcing, but also by taking thousands of construction jobs away from U.S. workers.

Indians should Vote Republican!!

Whoever is the president, the geopolitical compulsions of US isn't going to change.. hence, in short and mid-term, the stance of US towards India isn't going to change. Had a chance of meeting with a senior chaiwala from oiropean oil company, few years ago. over a beer, he suggested that no matter what, US will not ditch Pakistan in short run. (for him, short run is until 2015). It is worth 60 years of west's investment. They won't allow the bastion to fall so easily, although they know they are ultimately fighting a loosing battle against China. when they cross the threshold, they simply will make deal with china and get out of the region. this was said about 2 years ago (around 26/11). given the tango US is in with PRC, even things are unlikely to change on that front drastically, no matter which president is elected. Republican president might do more towards criticizing Islamic groups more vocally than democrat one.

politically, US is of no use to India, until something akin to Jamwal ji's scenario transpires (a loose nuke landing on some Indian city from Pak). SO dharma dictates to vote for that leader which is good for Indians living in US. Will the immigration policies of new prez be good or bad for Indians. What about trade policy? what about investment and offshore jobs and outsourcing policy? what about education, student and entrepreneurial policy? If my opinion is of any worth, vote for yourself and not for India, if you have voting rights in US. Because no matter what, the game is placed such a way that nothing much can be done but to wait and watch for someone who will do something incredibly stupid (pakis are favorites here, they won't disappoint) and set the ball rolling.
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

Republicans may be friendlier to India, be more sensible wrt to the economy but will unfortunately pander to EJs. The commie dhimmicrats are no friends of India, but will do their darned best to turn US into the USSR. In short, be chankian and go with the more dope and change.

Indians are so mired into US upper services society (Doctors, engineers, IT, managers, etc) that it is always economics over the EJs. It is a capitalist society where economics is much before religion. And it makes sense for people making $150k (which majority of Indians are) and above to vote republican.

Obama and democracts still cater to the Unions and working class people.

But Union fat cats want to loot the nation with high wages and in 2012 may not be behind Obama and the "workers" in US has no work and will not vote for him. We need a economic miracle to give a second term or a very bad condidate selection by Republican party. Rommny will win against Obama any day. Even Perry.

Forget who votes for what in US elections - both the parties are just two different bowls of poo, with only smell that differes.

Are the committees, breakout sessions, campaign management and fundraisers of both parties being choke full of Injuns doing chai-biskoot? If not how is anyone going to positively influence anything from a political power standpoint? :)

SBajwa wrote:Indians should Vote Republican!!
Why? What did Bush do for us that Obama did not? They are all the same.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Republican or Democrat, BJP or Congress :) One uses KY and the other doesn't.
Eitherway the Middle Class has to remain in the same position (Bent Over).

If you're lazy bum without decent education, then vote for Dems.

If you're a hard working capitalist with good education, you vote Republican.

Hum panchi ek daal ke...ek daal ke...sung sung bole...haan sung sung bole.

Garooda wrote:Republican or Democrat, BJP or Congress :)
Not a good idea to see Indian politics through US lenses.

After the primaries, most likely Rep candidate will be Rick Perry, Governor of Texas. Lets see if it turnsout that way.

It is not the party that will matter much, when it comes to India. We need a gambler. IOW: A visionary. But, then we will have the job to ensure that the gamble is with us and not against! Otherwise, it is same old.

The next president is going to be very important for india as old blokes from the state department will be getting retired. Actually It has already started with Gen Petraeus taking over CIA is a good sign for India that pre 1972 Babus are retiring.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Petraeus

x-posting from TSP.
Perry stumbles in debate on Taliban nukes question
12:44am EDT

ORLANDO, Florida (Reuters) - Front-runner Rick Perry stumbled during the Republican presidential candidates' debate on Thursday when asked what he would do if he got a 3 a.m. call alerting him that the Taliban had gotten nuclear weapons from Pakistan.

"Well obviously, before you ever get to that point you have to build a relationship in that region. That's one of the things that this administration has not done," the Texas governor replied at the debate in Orlando, Florida.

Perry made a reference to recent U.S. military accusations that Pakistan's intelligence service was backing Afghanistan's Haqqani insurgent group in carrying out attacks against U.S. targets, including the American Embassy in Afghanistan.

Then he talked about the importance of improving relations with India, Pakistan's neighbor and nuclear rival.

"So to have a relationship with India, to make sure that India knows that they are an ally of the United States. For instance when we had the opportunity to sell India the upgraded F-16s, we chose not to do that ... The point is, our allies need to understand clearly that we are their friends, we will be standing by there with them," Perry replied.

"Today, we don't have those allies in that region that can assist us if that situation that you talked about were to become a reality."

The answer raised doubts about Perry's foreign policy expertise in the region where the United States has been at war for a decade.

Candidate Rick Santorum, who has gained little traction in the race for the Republican nomination to challenge President Barack Obama in 2012, said Perry had failed to answer the question about the Taliban obtaining nuclear weapons.

"Working with allies at that point is the last thing we want to do. We want to work in that country to make sure the problem is defused," Santorum said.
Rick Perry made the comment here :- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0T1GFV0 ... age#t=231s

Indians should Vote Republican!!

Not sure if any of us are allowed to Vote Bajwa Ji.. :mrgreen:

SBajwa wrote: it makes sense for people making $150k (which majority of Indians are) ....
I would question that stat. Maybe majority of BRites who are also US citizens.

However, I do agree with your opinion that economic issues would/should triumph. Now, as someone with double income, my family is squarely in the crosshairs of the Democrats who want to tax us even more (our marginal rates really do exceed 50% when we include all levels of government. I checked). I hate that. On the other hand, I listen to the actual economic policies being proposed by the GOP and they all sound disastrous to the economy as a whole. They even sent a letter to the Fed chairman to stop him from using monetary policy to boost the economy, which was just ridiculous.

On the other other hand, Indians are a small minority in the US and what we want in terms of economic policy is not that different from what others want (modulo income levels), so while this might be an voting issue for us, this need not be a push, or lobbying issue. Elections are times when special interests can advance their agendas, by backing or inducing candidates to adopt certain policies, and in that sense foreign policy is something that matters to us, and something that we should both influence and take into account when considering which candidates to support with actual money or effort.

JMHO

@Nandu^^^: The Indo-American dilemma can be summed up by : "Fiscally conservative and social liberal". Sounds simple but it is an elusive political combination in the American political context.

The GOP (party of Lincoln) seems bent on inducing another 1930s depression and reverting to the worst 'nativist' themes.

The Dems OTOH, seem to revert to pandering and misguided populism of the worst kind.

2012 will be a walkover for Obama. Romney and Perry will skewer each other and Bachmann will pour cold tea over them to position herself for 2016 (fat chance).

The only reason Obama has taken knocks this year on his interactions with Congress is because he's not yet been ready to be the 'angry Black man' (hearken back to his walking on the street with his white grandmother who's using the 'N' word for the guys on the street and him saying "Grandma!)

He has learned (or will) how to do get angry as a President. Soon there will be the chorus about "A GOP war on the middle class, the elderly and the poor."
Sravan

Post by Sravan »

two words: ron paul.

Anyone but Democrats for Indian American voters. I wish George Bush comes back and hits one more mullah country. :)
Manny

Post by Manny »

This election is the most boring election. I could care less who wins.

All of them are dopes!

Only good thing about Obama is he has managed to P!ss off the Porkies.. which is the best thing a president of the US has done in a long time.

Originally posted by Prem

Perry: What would you do if Pakistan lost control of its nuclear weapons?

Published on Sep 23, 2011
By Jane Sutton
Perry stumbles in debate on Taliban nukes question: Reuters
Front-runner Rick Perry stumbled during the Republican presidential candidates' debate on Thursday when asked what he would do if he got a 3 a.m. call alerting him that the Taliban had gotten nuclear weapons from Pakistan.
"Today, we don't have those allies in that region that can assist us if that situation that you talked about were to become a reality."

The answer raised doubts about Perry's foreign policy expertise in the region where the United States has been at war for a decade.

Candidate Rick Santorum, who has gained little traction in the race for the Republican nomination to challenge President Barack Obama in 2012, said Perry had failed to answer the question about the Taliban obtaining nuclear weapons.

"Working with allies at that point is the last thing we want to do. We want to work in that country to make sure the problem is defused," Santorum said.
This the reporter calls "stumbling"! :roll: Idiots!

It's a difficult choice.
If you live in the US, then the Republicans are all about outsourcing the soul of America in the name of free markets. This benefits India, but we suffer here.
As much as I love India, I have to vote for my economic interest (or not against my economic interest) - India will take care of itself quite well.

KJoishy wrote:
It's a difficult choice.
If you live in the US, then the Republicans are all about outsourcing the soul of America in the name of free markets. This benefits India, but we suffer here.
As much as I love India, I have to vote for my economic interest (or not against my economic interest) - India will take care of itself quite well.
You can always vote republican and get back to India :wink:
mahaperu

Post by mahaperu »

Both parties are very similar in their approach towards foreign policy. It does not make much difference for India. That in fact is very good. Since our strategic interests converge broadly with US interests. If some one like Bush (eg Perry, although apparently Bush team and Perry team have zero or may be -100 liking for each other) comes to White House, it would help India overall. However, India should realize, US will NOT solve India problems and vice versa, India will NOT solve US problems. We should realize US will maintain a relationship with Pakistan. Pakistan is India's problem as well as our reality more than US's problem. Actually the Pakistan army and ISI is biggest obstacle for Pakistan people from achieving a decent life. So we should work with US where the interests match but at the same, time work towards, making India-Pakistan relationship a healthy one. If we have to 1-2 extra steps for that, then so be it.
As far as China is concerned, all US politicians talk tough during the election campaign against but when they are voted in office, no one does anything. Lots of US companies are selling in China and selling Chinese goods in US. So nothing will change on that end. People who have the money have zero interest in changing the cheap labor they get in China. As far as Indian economic interests are concerned, again same thing, lot of talk of protectionism but there will be no action. However, I do feel nations like India should approach economy not as a zero sum game but as a win-win proposition. Really go out of the way to win over the US congress/people so India can help US companies in their services sector, but US can get a big part in Indian development in infrastructure not just in terms of investment but also jobs in US. I am sure if all the high IQ minds we have are put together we can come up with numerous projects which are win-win. In the end, any relation which has a win-lose type relation is unsustainable and is bound to fail. I think China is also going to realize that soon, if they havent already.

US policy towards India is a geopolitical policy and has nothing to do with Party in power in DC.
Also US has low value for the economic trade with India in the larger global scene and is of low value.

US policy towards India is only based on the Indian geo graphy proximity towards the middle east and the Indian Ocean.
member_19944

Post by member_19944 »

Almost ALL Indians I have met in the US seem to be democrats. Surprising as it may, conventional wisdom being the upper bracket affluents are supposed to be republicans. May be they talk democrat but vote republican - who knows!

If Bush was a clueless idiot, Obama is a cluefull idiot - makes no difference. Pakistan is the best lobby for India in the US.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Garooda wrote:Republican or Democrat, BJP or Congress :)
Not a good idea to see Indian politics through US lenses.
Agree. In the end, what do you think really matters to Indian Politicians since there are only
2 parties representing the future POTUS ? Indian ideaology of politics is well scattered among
several parties. How can you focus with multiple party viewpoints? You have to narrow
it down to the parties representing similar/majority of political ideaology on the opposite side doesn't it ?

On a side note, we do witness the americanization or westernization of ideaology amongst the
young. How do you think that will affect the polarized views in the future of Indian politics? :)
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Kasundi wrote:Almost ALL Indians I have met in the US seem to be democrats. Surprising as it may, conventional wisdom being the upper bracket affluents are supposed to be republicans. May be they talk democrat but vote republican - who knows!

If Bush was a clueless idiot, Obama is a cluefull idiot - makes no difference. Pakistan is the best lobby for India in the US.
Generally the DEMS represent the minority. For Indians in US, they are minority when it comes to political representation. I know 2 individuals who are
Indians and 1 of them is/was a Dem assemblyman and another is/was a Republican assemblyman representing the minority. One is fighting for the local
businesses on tax related issues and the other is fighting for policies that will benefit the local businesses through ways to generate additional
revenue and profit for small businesses owned by minorities. In addition there are always minor benefits and rights that they represent and manage to win
for the minority citizens.

Generally the educated one favors republicans and the moderately educated/uneducated desi crowd is typically clueless but votes democrats.
Generally they follow the herd within the community that represents the party/interest. That all varies by states since in the beginning (80's and 90's), there
were several petty issues that the Indian community faced in various parts of US. To overcome and fight them politically, the few who decided
to join Politics were encouraged by the incumbents to voice and represent the minority and the issues they were facing as they prospered in US.

Question is how many of us are willing to work in a Government Sector vs Private Sector in US (which is not much different). We all know how the work ethics and atmoshphere is in India with both the Sectors :)

I have seen people change the parties like they change their underwear regardless of their political ideaology.
Last edited by Garooda on 14 Oct 2011 20:31, edited 2 times in total.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

It's a difficult choice.
You can always vote republican and get back to India :wink:
Good idea, not sure about him but maybe when I'm ready to Retire :)
Last edited by Garooda on 14 Oct 2011 20:32, edited 1 time in total.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

Acharya wrote:US policy towards India is a geopolitical policy and has nothing to do with Party in power in DC.
Also US has low value for the economic trade with India in the larger global scene and is of low value.
US policy towards India is only based on the Indian geo graphy proximity towards the middle east and the Indian Ocean.
Agree.

I requested in another thread about a link on BR that was posted a while ago about a book with the title 'The Great Chess Game' written a while back.
I read it briefly back then using PDF reader but it has tonnes of information. Unfortunately I forgot to bookmark the darn thing.

I also searched BR but it returned several pages of results.

I just hope with the introduction of the cheapest tablet PC in India, most of the academia will be able to broaden their perspective about geopolitics and India :)

PVNR and the babucracy have realised the key is to raise the economic stakes of India to pre-colonial days in order to bring back the gravitas in world affairs. So that is why MMS is pursuing economic growth at full speed.

Unfortunately Congress is grazing or skimming the wealth generation by way of corruption and hiding it in Swiss banks. That > $1T hidden in overseas banks if it were in Indian hands would jump start the economy like nothing else in these bad economic times.

Garooda wrote:
Acharya wrote:US policy towards India is a geopolitical policy and has nothing to do with Party in power in DC.
Agree.

I requested in another thread about a link on BR that was posted a while ago about a book with the title 'The Great Chess Game' written a while back.
I read it briefly back then using PDF reader but it has tonnes of information. Unfortunately I forgot to bookmark the darn thing.

I also searched BR but it returned several pages of results.

I just hope with the introduction of the cheapest tablet PC in India, most of the academia will be able to broaden their perspective about geopolitics and India :)
It is very simple. If you can post in BR you can find it in google

in GOOGLE TYPE THE FOLLOWING -
"grand chessboard zbigniew brzezinski download free"

you can do this for any book and you will get many links.

http://www.miamiherald.com/2011/10/14/2 ... isers.html
INFLUENCE GAME: Romney advisers' interests emerge
Former Minnesota Congressman Vin Weber, named last week as a special adviser to Romney on foreign policy, lobbied this year for the Council on Pakistan Relations, a U.S.-based support group trying to stave off reduced economic aid to Pakistan in the wake of eroding diplomatic relations with the U.S. Weber said he would have no problem distinguishing his campaign role from his job as managing partner of the Clark & Weinstock lobbying firm, which was paid $50,000 so far this year by the Pakistani-American group. The campaign said it would rely on Romney's judgment in scrutinizing policy advice.Ethics experts said such assurances are inadequate to prevent private interests from influencing critical policy decisions made in the crush of presidential race or later inside the White House. Romney's aides disclosed the names of his new foreign policy advisers and brief profiles. But the campaign did not offer detailed dossiers on their lobbying and business ties that could be affected by Romney's stances."The public deserves to know exactly what the nature of these relationships is," said Sheila Krumholz, executive director of the nonpartisan Center for Responsive Politics. Krumholz said campaigns should provide comprehensive disclosure of advisers' backgrounds even as they tout their expertise. "They need to make it clear where their people are coming from."Weber was overall policy chairman for Romney's 2007 presidential run and is expected to play a key policy role again this year. A GOP presidential campaign veteran who has mixed his post-Congress lobbying career with senior positions in the presidential campaigns of John McCain, George W. Bush and Bob Dole, Weber said his past expertise allows him to navigate any potential conflicts."I've been in this position for every (GOP presidential) campaign since 1996 and I'm not aware it ever created a problem," he said.Last week, the former Massachusetts governor criticized Pakistan for what he described as playing "both sides of this game" in its relationship with the U.S. - confronting insurgents inside its borders in some cases, but not in others. Weber said he had "never discussed Pakistan with (Romney) or anyone else on the team." Weber said he formerly backed Tim Pawlenty and noted that "Gov. Romney's positions were already well developed before I got involved."The Council on Pakistan Relations bills itself as "a lobbying and advocacy organization whose mission is to impact U.S. policy towards Pakistan." Run and funded by Pakistani-Americans, the group says it is not affiliated with any domestic or international governments. The group's executive director did not respond to an emailed request for comment

Maybe his job is to moderate the candidate's opinion on TSP? Looks very dubious. I mean the candidate Romney fulminates on TSP and next week hires a pak lobbyst to guide him on Foreign policy initiatives!
Last week, the former Massachusetts governor criticized Pakistan for what he described as playing "both sides of this game" in its relationship with the U.S. - confronting insurgents inside its borders in some cases, but not in others.
Looks like some strategic placement of advisors is underway.

ramana wrote:PVNR and the babucracy have realised the key is to raise the economic stakes of India to pre-colonial days in order to bring back the gravitas in world affairs. So that is why MMS is pursuing economic growth at full speed.

Unfortunately Congress is grazing or skimming the wealth generation by way of corruption and hiding it in Swiss banks. That > $1T hidden in overseas banks if it were in Indian hands would jump start the economy like nothing else in these bad economic times.
Simple reason. Most politicians say that politics never never puts rice on the table. What did MKG have in the end? He lost everything but for a greater cause. The arab rulers say exactly the same thing. So politicians want to take as much money as possible and then spend tokeep them in power.

I feel vindicated with your agreement that MMS's goal is to accelerate growth and focus on our economy.

He has been shouting from rootops about that goal and his actions or inactions support the goal.

He or his manasik successor will give the kick at right time to bring the rotten TSP house down.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

It is very simple. If you can post in BR you can find it in google
in GOOGLE TYPE THE FOLLOWING -
"grand chessboard zbigniew brzezinski download free"
you can do this for any book and you will get many links.
Yes I have downloaded several books. I just wasn't aware of the search string or the name.

Thanks for the correct search string :)