Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 31 Oct 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 31 Oct 201

As an ex-Pakistani (unless he was born later than c. 1971), he should know better than what he said. Any neutral person who has been observing Pakistan even casually for a very brief period would know much better than that. Some amount of teaching and instilling sense are not uncalled for. The ball is squarely in his court now. Who knows, he may be able to explain his position too.

Confusing statements from Pakistan on the MFN status
Developing cold feet after the jihadi terrorists (which includes the PA) issued warning ? Would the MFN become another few-hours-wonder like the 2008 attempt by Zardari to bring the ISI under civilian control ?

While we have been droning on about neuterality have you all noticed that Drona has gone to sleep since Monday? Have the drones been infected by virus, or is it the American admin which is again suffering from the decades old Paki love bug! :roll:

Foreign debt jumped to $67b due to government's poor policies: CJ
ISLAMABAD: Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry observed that Pakistan’s foreign debt has jumped up to $67 billion due to the government’s poor policies, Express 24/7 reported on Thursday.

A division bench headed by Chief Justice (CJ) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry is hearing a suo motu case, coupled with two identical petitions, alleging corrupt practices in the awarding of contracts for Rental Power Plants (RPPs).

Suspected US missiles kill 2 in Pakistan
PESHAWAR, Pakistan (AP) — A suspected U.S. drone fired two missiles at a house in Pakistan's rugged tribal region Thursday, killing two insurgents from the Haqqani network — considered the most dangerous militant group fighting U.S. forces in Afghanistan, Pakistani intelligence officials said.
The strike occurred only a few miles (kilometers) from the main Islamic school run by Haqqanis near Miran Shah, the largest town in the North Waziristan tribal area, said the officials, speaking on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to talk to the media.

But, debt worries are only for those who plan to repay, aren't they ? The interesting thing though is that the CJP is making political comments and criticizing the ruling regime !

Cant watch video in office, but can elaborate on secret pact between Pakis and Uncle?? or Pakis and India. and jist of what was the agreement?

The beginning of the end for Zardari in TSP? That is what has happened over the past week or so.

The army will replace one mask with another, keeping real power in its hands & and setting up the civilian govt to fail. This will go happening till such time that people of TSP who are fed up with the civilian rule ask for overt Army rule.

Then the mask will be removed all together. But the problems of TSP will not be solved.

Cant watch video in office, but can elaborate on secret pact between Pakis and Uncle?? or Pakis and India. and jist of what was the agreement?[/quote]

I just watched the last episode because I also have to rush to work and will watch the rest of the episodes later tonight after I get back home, but I didn't see any mention of a secret US TSP pact in the last segment. Can someone highlight it, no innuendo but honey can't wait till tonight :-).

Dilbu wrote:Suspected US missiles kill 2 in Pakistan
PESHAWAR, Pakistan (AP) — A suspected U.S. drone fired two missiles at a house in Pakistan's rugged tribal region Thursday, killing two insurgents from the Haqqani network — considered the most dangerous militant group fighting U.S. forces in Afghanistan, Pakistani intelligence officials said.
The strike occurred only a few miles (kilometers) from the main Islamic school run by Haqqanis near Miran Shah, the largest town in the North Waziristan tribal area, said the officials, speaking on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to talk to the media.
Thanks. My pisko worked. Nazar lag gaya! :mrgreen:

rajanb wrote: Thanks. My pisko worked. Nazar lag gaya! :mrgreen:
"pisko jinxing"

What secret agreement ? I saw or heard no mention of that.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Dilbu wrote:US's post-2014 Afghan agenda faltersBy M K Bhadrakumar
Notice how he is celebrating the Paki 'success' without even putting up some fake explanation as to why India is affected but should not worry..this has become brazen these days - as long as PRC benefits, it does not matter if Indian interests suffer, it is something to be celebrated..

And the SCO mantra is being repeated in every article again and again...no price for guessing why..

I watched the videos, as many of you must have watched. Everything in stark colour.

While I was starkly reminded of the limp US and NATO polity, I thought. Hold on a moment.

Realised that it was foolish not to remember that we have been also cursed with the same limp polity. It was in 1971 that we showed the American polity our middle finger. After that, it has been downhill.

It is time we stopped being any other country centric and learnt to deal with our problems ourselves. And not worry about factors that effect them. Our economy will continue to grow, maybe with a volatile growth pattern, but even then our lows will be big enough to make other countries salivate.

Not to say that we should abandon diplomacy, but once in a way, I think we should give the Pakis a calibrated jhappad, and thumb our noses at the rest if they object.

The Paki's ma-in-law said "...a days, a few weeks and not months". If that is an opportunity for us we should do some juggad. After all the chinese used the timing of the cuban missile crisis to hit us!

Sorry if it sounds like a rant, but the mood is :twisted:

chot dil pe lag gayi
Pak rejects BBC film linking ISI to Afghan Taliban
Islamabad, Oct 30 (PTI) Pakistan today rejected a BBC documentary�s assertion that the country''s spy agency Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) was training and backing the Afghan Taliban, saying such allegations were "baseless and fabricated".

"Pakistan strongly rejects assertions made in the BBC series ''Secret Pakistan''," said a statement issued by the Foreign Office. The series "makes baseless and fabricated allegations", it said.

The Foreign Office contended that Pakistan had "borne the brunt of terrorist violence, including suicide attacks".

"Fiction such as those depicted in the series cannot belittle Pakistan�s sacrifices and contribution in countering terrorism," it said.

The first part of the series, aired by BBC last week, showed Afghan Taliban commanders alleging that Pakistan played a "significant role" in the regrouping of the militants by providing safe havens and weapons.

The Pakistan Army has already denied the allegations made in the BBC documentary.

Pakistan scores another first.

Three Pakistani cricket players are sentenced to Jail term for match /spot fixing.

Hats off to them.

Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Aamer sentenced to jail for spot-fixing

abhijitm wrote:chot dil pe lag gayi
Pak rejects BBC film linking ISI to Afghan Taliban
Islamabad, Oct 30 (PTI) Pakistan today rejected a BBC documentary�s assertion that the country''s spy agency Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) was training and backing the Afghan Taliban, saying such allegations were "baseless and fabricated".

"Pakistan strongly rejects assertions made in the BBC series ''Secret Pakistan''," said a statement issued by the Foreign Office. The series "makes baseless and fabricated allegations", it said.

The Foreign Office contended that Pakistan had "borne the brunt of terrorist violence, including suicide attacks".

"Fiction such as those depicted in the series cannot belittle Pakistan�s sacrifices and contribution in countering terrorism," it said.

The first part of the series, aired by BBC last week, showed Afghan Taliban commanders alleging that Pakistan played a "significant role" in the regrouping of the militants by providing safe havens and weapons.

The Pakistan Army has already denied the allegations made in the BBC documentary.
I would tell the Pakistanis that their existence is also fabricated. Their purity is also fiction.

Funny thing about Imran planning to run on anti-corruption plank showcasing his "clean" image is he needs to give tickets to those with at least a semblance of "clean" image. There are 342 seats in Paki National Assembly. Even if he gets 60 super clean women (one of them he already picked in madam jalebi) and 10 minorities, how the hell is he going to get other 271 (excluding himself) clean, dried in the wool paki men to contest? Knowing that there aren't *any* clean paki men, won't the opposition make the mince meat of them in public.

It is another matter that Imran himself was providing suggestions to his close relative to bet in a certain way in cricket on the condition that if his relative wins he should clear his party's debt :rotfl:. This is per his own account in his book :lol:.

Not that we don't know here. But if this works still we want to trade with fkistan?
India plans 'world's most dangerous railroad' from Afghanistan to Iran
India is planning to build what could be the world's most dangerous railroad from Afghanistan's mineral-rich heartland to an Iranian port on the Arabian Sea in attempt to open a new trade route and reduce Kabul's dependence on Pakistan.
While earlier plans extended the current Iranian rail network to the Afghan border in the north and linked to Chabahar via a spur from Bam and Faraj in the south, the new plan extends the rail link to Hajigak in the heart of Afghanistan's Bamiyan province, 80 miles north-west of Kabul
The plan appears to have Afghanistan's backing. An Afghan official last night told The Telegraph:"Whenever it suits them, Pakistan can close the border. We don't want to be dependent on them."
And if ISI blow up rails then roads will compensate.

rajanb wrote:I watched the videos, as many of you must have watched. Everything in stark colour.

While I was starkly reminded of the limp US and NATO polity, I thought. Hold on a moment.

Realised that it was foolish not to remember that we have been also cursed with the same limp polity. It was in 1971 that we showed the American polity our middle finger. After that, it has been downhill.

It is time we stopped being any other country centric and learnt to deal with our problems ourselves. And not worry about factors that effect them. Our economy will continue to grow, maybe with a volatile growth pattern, but even then our lows will be big enough to make other countries salivate.
Not to say that we should abandon diplomacy, but once in a way, I think we should give the Pakis a calibrated jhappad, and thumb our noses at the rest if they object.
The Paki's ma-in-law said "...a days, a few weeks and not months". If that is an opportunity for us we should do some juggad. After all the chinese used the timing of the cuban missile crisis to hit us!
I really do not think we have changed our position with regards to TSP terror. We have been saying that all along for the last 2 decades.
So no self flagellation needed here.

I consider NATO and more importanly Amreeka to be the real idiots here! Committing such large forces and pumping in billions, spending 10 years only to find out their cross-hairs were pointed 100s of kilometres to the West! :rotfl: :rotfl:
All the military might of Amreeka cannot overcome the stupidity of Washington. :twisted:

I congratulate the Pakis for riding the donkey and whipping it! Donkey deserves it!
subodh

Post by subodh »

Satya_anveshi re 'clean, imran, etc'

Paki clean is different from normal clean - the word is spelt the same, but means someting else altogether.

All this drama in the press and from the usual useful idiots in the west is nothing but the secular jihadis in khaki finally realising that they do need to make small gestures to protect the h&d of the americans, and a new bibi is needed.

http://www.tribuneindia.com/2011/20111103/punjab.htm#18

Punjab traders elated at Pak’s grant of MFN status
Neeraj Bagga/TNS

Amritsar, November 2
Industrialists, manufacturers, exporters and importers of the border region welcomed Pakistan’s move to grant the Most Favoured Nation (MFN) status to India.

They were unanimous in their opinion that it would boost bilateral trade between the neighbouring nations as exports from India would grow while Pakistan would be able to import items at comparatively cheaper rates.

Former CII chairman (Punjab chapter) Gunbir Singh said that the total trade between India and Pakistan stood at about US $ 2.5 billion. He added that indirect trade was even higher but with the MFN status, this would be channnelised which would help businessmen on both sides.

He said Punjab’s pharmaceutical, engineering goods and agrarian commodities like food grains and perishable items could be exported through the Attari-Wagah Joint Check Post (JCP).

Punjab Small Scale Industry Development Board Director Raman Gupta said that trading was being done earlier as per the positive list containing over 1,000 items released by the Pakistan government. Now the positive list would go and the Pakistan government would replace it with a negative list, he said. Only when we get to know the items in the negative list, we will be able to ascertain the actual gains, he added.

Gupta said there were about 1.20 lakh registered engineering goods manufacturing units in the state and many of them were facing closure due to stagnation. These units could be rejuvenated as Pakistan imported a large number of engineering goods from other countries, he said.

He added that Pakistan had limited success in trade with China because of lingual and geographical barriers.

Indo-Pak Chamber of Commerce President BK Bajaj said that trade benefits would percolate to the ground level if the Pakistan government expedites construction of the Integrated Check Post (ICP) on its side.

Indo-Pak Exporters’ Association President Om Prakash Arora said that the move would curtail custom duty and more number of items would be added to the trading list.
jrjrao

Post by jrjrao »

When Gropin' Gilly recently made the big song and dance about finally launching the Basha dam, he was hoping to do some serious groping of Unkil's pockets. But Unkil, so far, is holding tight.
ISLAMABAD: The fourth round of dialogue between Washington and Islamabad on water issues came to a close on Wednesday without any financial commitments by the US officials to improve water management issues in Pakistan, well placed sources informed our sources.

Sources said that water and power managers tabled their constraints for financial assistance on two major hydro power projects, including 4500MW Diamer Basha Dam having construction cost of $11.9 billion as well as 83.5MW Kurram Tangi hydro power project with estimated construction cost of Rs 17.2 billion.

However, using delaying tactics, the US team only assured Pakistan of full support in diffusing the energy crisis.

China supports improved India-Pakistan ties
Economic Times - ‎5 hours ago‎
BEIJING: As a friend of India and Pakistan, China said Thursday that it will continue to support the two countries to improve relations through dialogue and cooperation. Foreign Ministry spokesman Hong Lei made the remarks after Pakistan granted the
China supports improved India-Pakistan ties

^^ everyone is reporting the news of MFN except the paki media. Even The Nation seems to have withdrawn the news.

Neela wrote:
rajanb wrote:I watched the videos, as many of you must have watched. Everything in stark colour.

I really do not think we have changed our position with regards to TSP terror. We have been saying that all along for the last 2 decades.
So no self flagellation needed here.

I consider NATO and more importanly Amreeka to be the real idiots here! Committing such large forces and pumping in billions, spending 10 years only to find out their cross-hairs were pointed 100s of kilometres to the West! :rotfl: :rotfl:
All the military might of Amreeka cannot overcome the stupidity of Washington. :twisted:

I congratulate the Pakis for riding the donkey and whipping it! Donkey deserves it!
Neelaji, That is exactly the point I am trying to make. Paki whipping the donkey is a side issue. The trouble is we are just saying it for the last 2 decades is my point. Talking is cheap.

Anybody behaving like an idiot is a rightful comment but off centre from what we should be doing.

My comments are no way "self flagellation".

Pratyush wrote:Imran Khan, the new Benazir Bhutto: Watch out India, US

A BRFite had predicted Imran becoming the new darling of the US/UK combine?

8)

We need to confer Pak black belt on Shiv, SSridhar for starters.
member_20018

Post by member_20018 »

Not posted much on this forum, have lurked here a lot and like it.

I'd like to ask a question, namely,

1. What is required to achieve a modicum of peace in the Af-Pak region?

To me it seems like the Pakistani Army needs a raison d'etre. It HAS TO FACE an existentialist crisis on either one of its borders, to have a good amount of support from its citizens.

It has to antagonize either India or Afghanistan. From 1979 it was Afghanistan, then in the 90's Kashmir and thanks to Osama Bin Laden, it was forced to go west again.

Now the focus of the mess is squarely inside pakistan.

How do we solve this problem? It seems to me, that the Pakistani army is a sort of a fascist regime, and needs to be neutered badly.

We can do this gradually, and peacefully, and have the US guard and divert the focus of the TSPA from Kashmir, at the same time, we increase our ties to the Pakistani civilians and have them bound by trade to our economy.

Over time and after encouraging the Pakistani govt. they will slowly mend their ways, and the army shall be relegated to the dump.

The other way is to have Pakistan split up, and pursue aggressive military action in the same direction. This is being discussed in the Managing Pakistans Failure thread. This will certainly produce a blowback for India and we might have issues managing the repercussions.

Dear reader, if you can answer my question (what is the solution to the problem of the Pakistani army?) yourself, or pointing me to good articles which discuss this, I'll be very grateful.

Cheers,

Welcome!!

Pakistan was never a country nor a nation. The sooner it is divided up the better it will be for the rest of the world. The Reason given by Muslim League in 1940 for Pakistan was the "Two Nation Theory" i.e. "Hindus are one Nation" "Muslims are the second nation" has failed because now Muslims of Indian subcontinent live equally (33% each) in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.
How do we solve this problem? It seems to me, that the Pakistani army is a sort of a fascist regime, and needs to be neutered badly.
That's exactly the answer! Pakistani army needs to be de-nuked, disbanded and taken off from running a nation.

Most of the countries have armies to protect their country.
Pakistani army has land mass to protect itself and its "Islamic Goals".

1. What is required to achieve a modicum of peace in the Af-Pak region?
Ans-CIA reading this thread more attentively could help achieve a modicum of peace...but just a modicum...

2..How do we solve this problem? It seems to me, that the Pakistani army is a sort of a fascist regime, and needs to be neutered badly.
Ans-problem not solvable... reason being kia-nani is already neutered... my unlces dogs friends vets patients owners cousin happens to be be the neighbour of the uncle of kianis urologist..

3.Dear reader, if you can answer my question (what is the solution to the problem of the Pakistani army?) yourself, or pointing me to good articles which discuss this, I'll be very grateful.
The infos everywhere around here...please help your self...

Houstonrice ji,

check out the first post on the thread. it has a host of articles the rot inside Pakistan and why it became that way. that's a good place to start. once that knowledge is gained, possible future scenarios can be planned for.

as for "remedies" for the Pak problem, nobody knows. its all speculation for now. solving Paki problem will eventually happen, but first we must understand why Pak became like this.

Pakistani joke by John Crosbie, a former Canadian federal cabinet minister and currently lieutenant-governor of Newfoundland and Labrador :lol: :
"This fellow said, 'I was so depressed last night thinking about the economy, wars, jobs, my savings, social security, retirement funds, etc., I called a suicide hotline and got a call centre in Pakistan. When I told them I was suicidal, they got all excited and asked if I could drive a truck.' "
Former cabinet minister Crosbie criticized for Pakistan joke

Pratyush wrote:Imran Khan, the new Benazir Bhutto: Watch out India, US
A BRFite had predicted Imran becoming the new darling of the US/UK combine?
IK too have Sunroof Lagan in his Janampatri!
member_20018

Post by member_20018 »

devesh wrote:Houstonrice ji,

check out the first post on the thread. it has a host of articles the rot inside Pakistan and why it became that way. that's a good place to start. once that knowledge is gained, possible future scenarios can be planned for.

as for "remedies" for the Pak problem, nobody knows. its all speculation for now. solving Paki problem will eventually happen, but first we must understand why Pak became like this.

Gakkakad, SBajwa and Devesh,

Your replies confirmed what I have been thinking about for the past few days.

Pakistani army is the veritable dog's curved tail.

The only thing we can do, SANELY [balochistan insurgency is setting us up for trouble, Afghanistan same] , while keeping our own country SANE, and not having our own spies and army running amok in our country [which any heavy hand in Pakistani matters WILL do to us]

is

to capitalize on this aforementioned Most Favoured Nation Status and trade the hell out of the Pakistanis.

When they are integrated into the Indian region, they will slowly forget about causing troubles to us.

Otherwise, they are like that only, and they are not going to be changing at all. They shall always keep doing what they are doing. Its up to us to change the focus of the relationship to the positive and the good.

The Wagah KK (WKKs?) get a lot of flak on BRF. I suspect that that might be the only sustainable way of doing things.

Are there any other barriers to trade in the region? [ Peace is a big part of it, simply because we cant trust the Pakistanis to NOT infiltrate ISI goons along with traders and wagah bus types. ]

The cold start doctrine is something that the Indian army is thinking about.

What is the way of punishing Pakistan, in a limited way, such that the ISI and the TSPA loses its power ? Hard military action will only gain them sympathy from the Pakistani aam junta. Thus Cold start has to be in cold storage.

The US did kill off the USSR, but IMO the collapse of the USSR was very much an internal thing. Glasnost and Perestroika confused the hell out of them. Their economic mess did exacerbate it, and that was brought about by the money they spent in Afghanistan and in building really TFTA arms [which India has been the beneficiary of!]

Pakistan faces no such internal revolution. We can hope to encourage more of the Aloo Anday type RAPEs to be friendly to us more and integrate into our sphere, and thus create a schism in between them and the bearded Mullah types, thus engineering a split, a la the USSR.

So, what do I conclude? The best way forward is to follow and encourage the WKKs and the Aloo Andays. Hope for a "Pakistani spring" that brings down the Army from its high position and has the aam junta rise up in revolt against the ISI/TSPA. This is also in line with the same split that we are thinking of engineering, and having Balochistan, Pashtunistan, Sindh break off from the Pakjab region. Peace, will bring this split within the Pakistani nation.

In the end. We can't do much, but prepare defensively, talk to the Pakistani peaceniks, and influence them to the good. Economics is a better way of killing them, than killing them directly militarily.

EDIT: Removed line on Saleem Shehzad, which can be seen below.
Last edited by member_20018 on 04 Nov 2011 00:29, edited 2 times in total.

houstonrice wrote: <snip>....
---The whole post-----
Saleem Shehzad was a force to the same effect. We need a million Saleem Shehzads and they are being created, slowly.
Please hand me one peg of what ever you are drinking..
It is awesome...

I tell you what. Pakistanis have understood that they are going to get "whipped and whacked" and India along with Afghanistan are going to help US eliminate the Haqqanis in a shock and awe campaign pre-Christmas. Pakis are sending all kind of aloo andeys and western educated RAPES to all the places to garner support.
The MFN, Imran Khan, Aloo andeys and I pretty much guarantee many such bonanzas are going to come our way as Pakistani Saas deadline approaches.
Thats what you get for dicking around.

Maybe something to what you say. Most likely Imran Khan is being readied as alternate leader once the mess hits the fan and will be presented as en-mo, brand new Pak leader to replace 10% and band rolls on.

The guy Hasan Nissar a columnist in Pakistan talks with sense!! Check him out in youtube.