India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

India will always find conflict of interest with every country since India is a unique civilization. This does not mean that we give the door open for any country to start education, media and psy ops to Indians. This is ridiculous when this request is coming from Indians. (NRI or RNI or DIE)

From the above article:
India can test BB bombs too.
What the hell is a BB bomb? I have heard of a BB gun....but never a BB bomb

anishns wrote:^^^

From the above article:
Rakhi Sawant I guess?

Big Boobs,Big Bum,Bum-to-Bum Bomb,Boob-to-Bum,Bum-to-Boob? Like the "Dum-Dum" bullet made at Cal,a "Bom-Bom" ,"Big-Big" bomb made at Bombay/BAARC? Take your pick gents!

PS:"Bombay to Beijing" bomb? That label makes sense!

I think he means big bomb. Recall ABV had said that based on inputs from the BARC scientists.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/11/ ... K620111117
Ex-banker turned Hindu monk urges Wall St to meditate

By Tom Heneghan, Religion Editor
Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:09am EST
(Reuters) - Rasanath Das, an ex-investment banker turned Hindu monk, was spending recent Sunday afternoons leading Occupy Wall Street protesters in meditation until police cleared their camp at New York's Zuccotti Park this week.

The 32-year-old monk isn't sure now where his next session will be. He'll keep following the protesters to lead meditation, though, convinced they will only roll back the inequality around them if they find equanimity deep inside.

"Anger won't solve anything," he told Reuters. "We have to work from the heart ... there is so much distrust now."

Das has been a discreet presence at the protests, leading short sessions before making way for other religious leaders to preach at a weekly interfaith service. What he doesn't tell is the unlikely story of how he ended up in Lower Manhattan.

A native of Mumbai, Das studied at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) and moved to the United States in 2000 to work as a consultant with the accounting firm Deloitte.

After earning a masters of business administration (MBA) at Cornell, he started at Bank of America in 2006.

His specialty was the technology, media and telecoms sector and he dealt in so-called structured products, including mortgage-backed securities -- "the things that blew up, the toxic products" as he put it in a telephone interview.

Das had studied this market but remained baffled by it even after he began trading. "I saw people I considered much smarter than I was, and they really believed in them, so I didn't open my mouth," he said.

"MUSICAL CHAIRS"

As world markets began to crumble in 2007, a superior told him: "You have to realize this is a game of musical chairs . when the music stops, the person or bank that has the assets sitting on his books loses."

"The far-reaching consequences for the economy were not something he would foresee," Das said. His doubts grew until, the following year, he found himself working on a merger and acquisition project for Playboy magazine.

It struck him as absurd trying to sell sex when the economy was collapsing and people were losing their jobs. "It was not that I hated the industry or the people I worked with," he said. "But I began to see the shallowness in that world. I wanted to be part of something authentic and deep."

In fact, Das was already linked to that something. Since 2007, he had been living in a Hindu monastery in Manhattan's East Village. "I was living out of a large closet, with four suits and button-down shirts," he said.

"I slept on the floor and lived the life of a monk."

Das had been practicing karma yoga, the Hindu path of selfless service to the divine, for a decade before moving into the monastery in 2007. As part of this active service, he used his $170,000 annual salary to help finance the monastery.

"Living in a monastery was a very strong safety belt to make sure I kept my inner core," he explained.

CORPORATE CHAPLAIN

When he quit in late 2008, one Bank of America manager praised his courage and another said he was making the worst mistake of his life. Several colleagues confided their discontent to him and some also quit, he said.

Das admitted it was hard to give up the perks and prestige of the investment banker's life, but it wasn't what he wanted.

"It was only after joining the monastery that I began to understand the prison of Wall Street," he said. "I didn't hate those people but I began to understand what drives them and how much shallowness and suffering is there inside."

Das has left Wall Street but not the financial industry. Part of his new work is speaking at corporate retreats about leadership and self-awareness to help managers get beyond the greed he sees driving the financial industry.

After a local newspaper recently profiled him, two high-flyers from the investment bank Goldman Sachs visited him at the monastery to discuss the financial crisis. "They're coming back again soon," he said.

Das sees his work as a kind of corporate chaplain who could help build character in managers and help avoid disastrous decisions made when short-term goals prevail. More regulation of the financial industry may be needed, but only a higher consciousness will help in the long term, he said.

Asked if protesters and profiteers could develop this higher consciousness, he said: "I keep my expectations low but at the same time I keep my enthusiasm high.

"I've met so many people who want to make a change. To me, that's very inspiring."

(Reporting By Tom Heneghan)
RonyKJ

Post by RonyKJ »

Hypocritical and useless article from so-called expert.

http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/politi ... 1nl17.html

Author questions Australia's desire to sell uranium to India while living and working comfortably using nuclear
power in the USA.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

US naval move in Australia may help India take on China
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 770868.cms
Bharath.Subramanyam

Post by Bharath.Subramanyam »

Conversations with History - Edward N. Luttwak

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMcoOiOxLf8

watch especially from 49.00 to 51.00.

Thank you Ramana ji for introducing Luttwak to BRF (few years back).

Reality check on how the US views us

US defence secretary Leon Panetta goofs up, says India is an 'emerging threat'

Make no mistake, the US on a individual level will be very helpful especially in our personal lives, it would not be too willing to see India's military capabilities build up too quickly.

Aditya_V wrote:Reality check on how the US views us

Make no mistake, the US on a individual level will be very helpful especially in our personal lives, it would not be too willing to see India's military capabilities build up too quickly.

Freudian slip. However they have been saying this since 1947 and working on soft (DIE) and hard (TSP, PRC etc) kills which didn't happen.

Now they want US think tanks in Delhi to understand how did this fail.

Freudian slip. However they have been saying this since 1947 and working on soft (DIE) and hard (TSP, PRC etc) kills which didn't happen.

And they will never understand not just India but any other country or culture. They must first stop thinking that
1. The Universe is all white men
2. People welcome them with a glass of wine wherever they go
3. People sit together praising lord for the food and have a lavish lunch eating bread and meat.
4. There are bars and parking lots all over the galaxy and women are all sexually liberated to sleep with anyone they like.
The list goes on..
The American and western way of life is local and is unsustainable in large population with limited resources. As our(Human race) population increases and resources dwindle the American way of life will slowly disappear. They must come to terms with these facts.
So, opening a think tank in India is like opening a quarks casino and bar at the edge of the galaxy!
My best wishes.

It is not the first time in the recent past that the US Secretary of Defence, Leon Panetta, has clubbed India with nations that the US considers as “enemies” and events that the US views as “threats”.

Just a little more than a month back, that is on October 11, Leon Panetta had the below to say of India.

It seems that it will be prudent for India to look deep into the US Gift Horses mouth and remember to beware of American’s bearing gifts.

Interestingly there is no mention of the pestiferous Islamic Republic of Pakistan in either of Leon Panetta’s speeches. “De-Hyphenation” at work or a rapprochement and return to the established dysfunctional S&M relationship the US and Pakistan have enjoyed ? :
From terrorism to nuclear proliferation; from rogue states to cyber attacks; from revolutions in the Middle East, to economic crisis in Europe, to the rise of new powers like China and India. All of these changes represent security, geopolitical, economic and demographic shifts in the international order that make the world more unpredictable, more volatile and, yes, more dangerous.

US DoD

gents, I just had a saturday morning epiphany. a contrarian pov about this whole "great game" thing and how central asia is the prize that is denied to us by the mere existence of a hostile chinese vassal in the way.

[1] the total population of all the CAR stans is less than (NCR+Mumbai), so its never going to be a significant market for indian food or manufactured products

[2] some of them have oil and gas, but considering the capex and opex of building and protecting a oil/gas pipe across the high karakorams or via TSP, our current scheme of importing oil/gas from gulf region probably gives it cheaper, safer and on-demand not subject to the vagaries of tribal fueds and political problems. we can also import oil from malaysia and indonesia, protected all the way by A&N CG if need be. ships can land oil/gas at a dozen places along the coast.

[3] none have the population , social dynamics or economy to 'help' us against the PRC, as they would like to benefit from all neighbours.

[4] china is keen on CAR oil/gas and has already a pipe to Kazakhstan because
[4.1] expensive to ship resources from east coast
[4.2] oil from gulf bound for china coast passes under the guns of IN and USN

[5] to my knowledge except for oil/gas and some ore maybe, the CAR's have nothing of value merchandize or service to export to the world.

[6] beyond the CARs like the restless caucasus muslim area , followed by russia . russia is in population decline and has never been a huge market for indic goods other than rice n tea. russia has never been a huge source of imported goods other than defence needs. they hardly export any consumer goods to the wider world.

so why exactly do we have our undies in a knot about being "blocked" from dominion over the CAR by TSP?

modern power imo resides in financial & science muscle, higher value exports, imports, NAVAL and AIR meat (and we are admirably positioned with easy access to the deep water IOR without a troublesome green water belt of US allies unlike China) , ......

I dont see TSP as blocking us from anything valuable. infact it is India which is the big bad dog sitting atop any chinese plans to invest heavily in TSP because we can always cause trouble there with these investment projects.....

so I submit that India itself is a anglo-saxon project to permanently bottle up china and russia from easy access to the warm waters of the Indic ocean.

a contrarian pov about this whole "great game" thing and how central asia is the prize
Of course this 'Great Game' thing is crap. Have said as much the last few years. Only people who read too much into 19th century strategic thinking read too much into the 'Great game'. China itself has all warm water ports exception being some Yellow sea ones that may be blocked in some harsh winter.

The 'great game' of the 21st century will lie in major energy breakthrough technologies in harnessing thorium/ fusion/ renewable. It's a matter of a decade or 2 at most.
[4] china is keen on CAR oil/gas and has already a pipe to Kazakhstan because
[4.1] expensive to ship resources from east coast
It makes sense for China's Western occupied fringes to tap into CA reserves. Not so much for the East coast where warm water ports are plentiful. 5 super tanker loads of VLCC crude are just a fortnight's trip away from the ME and much cheaper than pumping from the CAR to the East coast cities in China.

china, germany, japan, US are investing big in solar and battery r&d. just look at how even consumer batteries have changed in last decade. fraction of the size, far more power. we are ok in solar, but lagging a bit in batteries.

180 mil pakis next door are a better prospect if its new markets we want.

nano technology is the way to go for batteries. li po /or some enhanced nano tech wala.

fruedian slip of panetta should only help us substantiate our distrust with uncle sam.

To add to what Singhaji has said, in the original 'great game', India was the prize and the British played this game to prevent Czarist Russia from grabbing this prize. The CAR states were never the prize.

Singha ji, I am skeptical about the assertion that "Pakistan is not blocking India from anything valuable". CAR is the linkage between ME and China. forget all the resources, just think about CAR as an area which links the ME+Iran with China. and then think about history when these 2 areas were linked successfully by a non-Indic power. it is not in India's interests to see CAR becoming "home" of ME+China.
shankara

Post by shankara »

anishns wrote:^^^

From the above article:
BB = Bunker Buster. So one could say it is indeed RS.. :wink:

I'm not sure on what basis ToI is saying Panetta goofed up. How are they so sure the US doesn't view India as a threat?

Questions posed on Indo-US Relations by the US Senate Armed Services Committee to Mark W. Lippert, candidate for the post of Assistant Secretary of Defense for Asian and Pacific Security Affairs, and his answers to the same:
What is your view of the current state of the U.S.-India security relations?

In my view, a close and continuing security relationship with India will be important for security in Asia and for effectively managing Indian Ocean security in the twenty-first century. The United States and India have a range of common security interests that include maritime security, counter-terrorism, and humanitarian assistance and disaster relief. Over the past decade, there has been a rapid transformation in the U.S.-India defense relationship. What was once a nascent relationship between unfamiliar nations has now evolved into a strategic partnership between two of the preeminent security powers in Asia. Today, U.S.-India defense ties are strong and growing. Our defense relationship involves a robust slate of dialogues, military exercises, defense trade, personnel exchanges, and armaments cooperation. Efforts over the past ten years have focused on relationship-building and establishing the foundation for a long-term partnership. The strong ties between our two militaries reflect this. It is also my understanding that the United States remains committed to a broad defense trade relationship that enables transfers of some of our most advanced technologies.

If confirmed, what specific priorities would you establish for this relationship?

If confirmed, I believe our priorities for this relationship should be focused on increasing maritime security cooperation, expanding the military-to-military relationship, and deepening cooperation on defense trade and production. Additionally, I believe there is potential for cooperating on counter-proliferation, collaborating on humanitarian assistance and disaster response, dealing with piracy, cooperating on counter-terrorism, greater intelligence sharing on common threats, and working towards stability in Afghanistan and the broader Indian Ocean region.

What, in your view, is the effect on DOD interests, if any, of the civil nuclear cooperation agreement with India?

The civil-nuclear cooperation agreement was a landmark agreement that significantly transformed the U.S.-India bilateral relationship. The agreement has also deepened the level of trust between the United States and India that will have positive effects on DoD interests and will hopefully lead to greater military-to-military cooperation and increased defense trade.

What is your assessment of the relationship between India and China and how does that relationship impact the security and stability of the region?

As Asia’s two largest powers, India and China collectively will have a significant impact on Asia’s future security landscape. Both countries are in the process of building their respective military capabilities. It is important to engage actively with both of these Asian powers to ensure they both contribute in a positive way towards Asian stability and security. Both countries should adhere to international norms and standards in their resolution of outstanding issues.

What do you believe the United States should do to assist the Indian government in the prevention of and response to terrorist events in India?

As the world’s largest democracy, I believe that India is a critical strategic partner of the United States. Both India and the United States share an interest in preventing terrorism. Counterterrorism cooperation with India is led by the Departments of State and Homeland Security, with support from the Department of Defense. If confirmed, I will work with both Departments to consider carefully all requests for counterterrorism assistance from India.

What is your assessment of the current relationship between India and Pakistan?

In announcing the return to talks in early February, India and Pakistan’s Foreign Secretaries agreed that a number of outstanding issues were on the table, including Kashmir, counterterrorism, humanitarian issues, and trade. It is good to see both nations make progress on these fronts. In early November, Pakistan’s cabinet approved extending Most Favored Nation trade status to India. Subsequently, India and Pakistan’s Prime Ministers met on the sidelines of the recent South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) summit in the Maldives, where they heralded a “new chapter” in their relationship. I understand there will be talks soon on nuclear and conventional confidence-building measures, which will be critically important. I am pleased that both nations continue to engage with each other, and I am hopeful that confidence building measures are able to take root to promote a greater level of trust between the two countries.

In your view, what impact has the ongoing tension between Pakistan and India had on the stability of Central and South Asia generally, and on the prospects for lasting security in Afghanistan?

India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are linked by history, culture, language, trade, and regional stability cannot be achieved without the cooperation of all three countries. It is critically important that Afghanistan work to build positive relationships with all of its neighbors. In my view, the strategic partnership between India and Afghanistan is a bilateral matter between these two countries. It is my understanding that both countries have made clear that their partnership 34 is not directed at any other countries. This should not be seen as a threat to Pakistan, nor a statement that Pakistan is no longer part of the solution. I believe it is the Administration’s view that India and Afghanistan should be transparent with their neighbors, including Pakistan, on the content of their partnership and the activities they carry out under it. I support this position because it has the best chances for stability of Central and South Asia.

Clicky
Last edited by arun on 20 Nov 2011 18:22, edited 1 time in total.

JE Menon wrote:I'm not sure on what basis ToI is saying Panetta goofed up. How are they so sure the US doesn't view India as a threat?
Just like they are sure
1. Pakistan is a victim of terrorism
2. RAPE pakis are the only constituency in Pakistan
3. Hindu terror is more dangerous than Islamic terrorism
I think BRF should start publishing a monthly magazine.

US State Department on its website recognises the Aksai Chin plateau as territory claimed by India but it panders to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan by not doing the same for the portion of Jammu and Kashmir that has been occupied by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan:

US state department shows PoK as part of Pakistan

The reaction of the Government of India:
Full statement: India asks US govt to correct its map …………….

"The Government is aware of the gross inaccuracies, in the map of India, on the US State Department website. The Government has consistently rejected incorrect depiction of India's borders on maps used by the US Government. It has used every opportunity to convey to the US side its concern in this regard, and has asked that these maps be corrected.

This position was reiterated by a senior MEA official to the US Deputy Chief of Mission today, who assured us that the US Embassy would convey our concerns to the US State Department.

The Government takes this opportunity to reaffirm that the entire State of Jammu and Kashmir is an integral part of India and has consistently conveyed to the international community that maps of India should depict the boundaries of our country correctly."

Post by Klaus »

Kakkaji wrote:To add to what Singhaji has said, in the original 'great game', India was the prize and the British played this game to prevent Czarist Russia from grabbing this prize. The CAR states were never the prize.
Russia did get hold of tropical water spots in Socotra and in the Red Sea. In the 21st century, Russia can still access Indian ports through naval technological cooperation (Arihant, Nerpa and other projects) and joint naval exercises.

IMO, the Original Great Game fizzled out after the British consolidated their hold on Ceylon, Malaya and penal colonies in tropical northern Australia, the last event was Burmese independence of 1937. Thereafter, a garbled version of Great Game was released for psy-ops and disinformation purposes, to confound the newly independent colonies.

Indian Americans grow to 3.2m, top in income
WASHINGTON: Some 3.2 million Indian Americans, including Asian Indians of mixed race, lived in the United States in 2010 as South Asians led all Asian groups in population growth in the last decade. They led all Asian American households with highest media household income.

At 3,183,063, Indian American made up 18 percent of the Asian American population in 2010, up from 16 percent in 2000, according to a new compilation of 2010 census data.

According to 2007 to 2009 data, Indian Americans led all Asian American groups in the country in median household income at $86,660. The next highest total was $77,596 for Taiwanese households.

Taiwanese and Indians also led in per capita income among Asian American groups, with $38,312 and $36,533, respectively, followed by Malaysians ($33,264) and Sri Lankans ($32,480).

:

About 200,000 Indian legal permanent residents were eligible to become citizens in 2008.

:

Link about the Republicans talking like extremely right wing neo cons
Rule of Lord
The Republican plan to nullify the courts and establish Christian theocracy

Also in the report videos and highlights of the report

1. Religious Americans must fight back against nonbelievers.

2. The religious values we must fight for are Judeo-Christian.

3. Our laws and our national identity are Judeo-Christian.

4. No religion but Christianity will suffice.

5. God created our government.

6. U.S. law should follow God’s law.

7. Anything that’s immoral by religious standards should be outlawed.

8. The federal government should impose this morality on the states.

9. Congress should erase the judiciary’s power to review moral laws.

10. Courts that get in the way should be abolished.

11. The purge of judges should be based on public opinion.

12. Freedom means obeying morality.

Another one from 'several states' in USA,
Federal judge rules Christian-themed license plates unconstitutional link
Several states have recently been challenged for issuing license plates displaying religious or political messages. In 2008, a federal appeals court ruled [JURIST report] that Arizona's refusal to issue license plates saying "Choose Life" to an anti-abortion group violated the group's First Amendment free speech rights. Also in 2008, a federal circuit court judge issued a similar ruling [JURIST report], overturning a Missouri law as unconstitutionally vague. In 2006, a federal appeals court rejected [JURIST report] a challenge by the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) [advocacy website] to a Tennessee statute providing for license plates with a pro-life message but not creating a pro-choice license plate. In 2004, the US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit ruled [JURIST report] that a South Carolina law providing for license plates with an anti-abortion message violated the Constitution.
Bharath.Subramanyam

Post by Bharath.Subramanyam »

It seems strange that Australia announces that it will sell uranium to India. When asked by a reporter whether US pressurized Australia to sell uranium to India, the Australian PM replied in the negative and said Obama's visit to Australia is different from Canada-India relations.

Within a few days of this announcement by Canada, Indian Cabinet has approved 51% FDI in Retail.

These two events might be correlated.

yes there is some connection.
The lobby which is helping India to get the Global Uranium market is expecting Payback.
The payback is in the opening up the retail market.

Which is this lobby which is doing the India relations with other countries.
This is the key to understanding Indian independence and also how India had relations with other independent countries of the world including commonwealth

Even though India had the freedom it was under the control of the EIC for its foreign relations with other first world countries. Many countries also gangup against India to make sure that India does not have clout. In the UN we have the PRC. In europe it is EU combine. In the middle east it is Pak OIC. In the commonwealth it is Australia/Canada combine.
Nehru tried to break this jinx of India but was rewarded with 1962 and after his death it was 1965 and 1971.

India has another chance now but the elite of India are unable to do the job for Indians.
member_19969

Post by member_19969 »

Acharya,

There is one wild card there - the land of the bastille.

Even though they charge a lot for somethings, they are very literally our closest friends.

Yes they are. But there is national interest for them too. They are seeing history in front of their eyes. First time they are seeing the fall the Anglo empire in the entire world which will remove the dominance which they tried 200 years ago in the region.
India will be the country to de-Amercanize the world!

Rammstein "We're all living in America" (HD) Live form Nîmes in France (English Subtitle)

Check the stats on India.

US FOREIGN BORN POPULATION
http://www.c-spanvideo.org/program/302969-4

Elizabeth Grieco and Rob Margetta talked about the demographics of foreign-born population in the United States. Other topics included visa allotment, the naturalization and citizenship process, border security, and worksite issues. They also responded to telephone calls and electronic communications.

Search for India and view it

(Source: Financial Times)

Robert Kaplan
The US navy fostered globalisation: we still need it

The financial world is obsessed with stock market gyrations and bond yields. But the numbers that matter in the long run are those of US warships. Asia has been at the centre of the world economy for decades because security there can be taken for granted, and that is only because of the dominance of the US navy and air force in the western Pacific. Because 90 per cent of all commercial goods traded between continents travel by sea, the US navy, which does more than any other entity to protect these lines of communication, is responsible for globalisation as we know it. There is no guarantee that this situation will last, however.

In the 1980s era of high Reaganism, the US navy boasted close to 600 warships. In the 1990s, following the collapse of the Berlin Wall, that number fell to about 350. The US navy’s current strength is 284 warships. In the short term that number may rise to 313 because of the introduction of littoral combat ships. Over time, however, it may fall to about 250, owing to cost overruns, the need to address domestic debt and the decommissioning of ageing warships in the 2020s. Meanwhile, the bipartisan quadrennial defence review last year recommended that the US move toward a 346-ship navy to fulfil its global responsibilities. There is a big difference between a 346-ship US navy and a 250-ship navy – the difference between one kind of world order and another.

Armies respond to unexpected contingencies, but it is navies and air forces that project power. Power is relative. If other nations were not building up their own navies and air forces, these numbers would matter less than they do. In fact, the western Pacific is in the middle of an arms race. This is not a low-tech expansion of ground forces; but a high-tech acquisition of submarines, surface warships, fighter jets, missiles, and cyberwarfare capabilities. The US armed forces have rarely been needed more to preserve the balance of power, and so maintain a peaceful environment for economic interaction.

China is increasing its submarine fleet from 62 to 77 – surpassing the size, if not the quality, of America’s own undersea fleet – even as Beijing acquires hundreds of fourth- and fifth-generation fighter jets. Meanwhile, India, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia are acquiring submarines, as advances in missile technology make surface warships more vulnerable. Australia, with a population of only 23m, is expected to spend a whopping $279bn in the next two decades on new subs, destroyers and fighterplanes. In all, given military modernisation programmes under way in South Korea and Japan, Asian nations are expected to purchase as many as 111 submarines by 2030, according to AMI International, a research outfit for governments and shipbuilders.

Multipolar military orders are more unstable than unipolar ones, because there are more points of interaction where miscalculations can occur. Yet unless the US is able to maintain a vigorous naval and air presence in the Indo-Pacific, the future of military power arrangements will be more multipolar. A world without US naval and air dominance will be one where powers such as China, Russia, India, Japan and others act more aggressively towards each other than they do now, because they will all be far more insecure than they are now. Even China and Russia take advantage of secure sea lanes partly provided by the US.

An Indo-Pacific without a strong US military presence would mean the Finlandisation by China of countries in the South China Sea, such as Vietnam, Malaysia and Singapore. Indeed, Beijing, with its economic might and geographical proximity, may be less benign to its southern neighbours than has been the distant and democratic US. Now that the congressional supercommittee in Washington has failed to achieve a compromise, the debt crisis may force historic cuts on the US navy and air force, resulting in fewer warships and curtailment of the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter programme. The business community should hope that it does not happen.

The writer is a senior fellow at the Center for a New American Security and author of Monsoon: The Indian Ocean and the Future of American Power

Subramanian Swamy fired by Harvard for "view on minorities"

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 697466.ece

Published on Dec 03, 2011
By Siddharth Joshi
India, US - the way ahead: Asia Times Online
The United States will be accommodative of India's rise on the world stage as long as India does not cross certain red lines (further nuclear tests, ICBM deployment, offensive naval capability, weapon/technology transfers to certain states etc).

Trying to convince the United States that any Indian military build-up (particularly naval) is not targeted against the United States, that India is willing to play by the rules in its international relations and that India does not want to break up Pakistan, will be one of the key aims of Indian foreign policy in the next decade. Indo-US relations are currently on the upswing and it will be in both the countries interests to ensure that the momentum does not falter.
The guy does not appreciate that India will do what is needed. India is no way willing to play second fiddle or to constrain our growth. If we feel the need (which is expected) we will do further nuclear tests!

India does not pose any challenge to US, does not bore any ill-will to US, to a large extent we share common values, but India would look after her national interests regardless of USA. USA and India can be friends, nothing stopping that except USA itself!

The author has forgotten that India will continue to take hits from Pakistan based terrorists under direct control of PA and will continue to sit idle and watch this without getting anything from Pakistan.
India will also take the brunt of the anti India and anti Hindu ideology spewing out of Pakistan and also supported by the US media and continue to uphold the foreign policy as described by him.
According to him India and Indians are stupid.

Acharya wrote:The author has forgotten that India will continue to take hits from Pakistan based terrorists under direct control of PA and will continue to sit idle and watch this without getting anything from Pakistan.
India will also take the brunt of the anti India and anti Hindu ideology spewing out of Pakistan and also supported by the US media and continue to uphold the foreign policy as described by him.
According to him India and Indians are stupid.
From the tone of his article, he seems to be lifafa RNI moron. Interesting he doesn't talk about TSP's obsession to break up India which is the only issue at hand. Also, we all know what US conditions are to support India's so called "rise", and not breaking up TSP in US parlance means handing over Kashmir to TSP on a silver platter, or giving it "azaadi" so US & TSP can share the spoils. For RNIs like him, this does not amount to breaking up India as also India not breaking up TSP, and US is mighty happy for such "good conduct" from India.

Indian ICBM development and future N-tests are to be supressed as much as possible by the US,by exerting pressure upon our "mighty-midget" and the regime.However,the pressure from security experts that we have no alternative but to show the PRC our ICBM capability while maintaining a moratorium on testing ,seems to have been a compromise of sorts. From the statements by Panetta and co. from time to time,it is so evident that all that the US will allow India is that of vassal status and within its sphere of influence.Hence the immediate condemnation of some of our statements on Iran,Syria,etc.,where we have genuine foreign policy interests with the secular non-fundmental Muslim states.

On the economic "liberalisation" front too,the IMF's medicine for the "turd world" (and the snake-oil cure favoured by its famous ex-babu too) is no longher in favour and resisyance to its policies like FDI-retail have become burning issues on he Indian street.The collapse of the Euro-staes like Greece and Italy have shown up the stark nakedness of crony-capitalism.The time has arrived fort the BRIC and other nations of the "south" to forcefully carve out their destiny as they did for thousands of years befire the European invasions in Asia and America.It is past time for America to listen to India and not the other way round!

That Asia Times article is a MUTU genre of thinking among some RNIs. The fellow wants a self neutered India to appease the US which doesn't have anymore power to take action against India. If it does so then PRC will rise way beyond US capabilities.

its amazing chutzpah (or chso4) on his part to write a book on National Security!