Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Misraji

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Post by Misraji »

Gurneesh wrote:^^^ Well it is not a simple color inversion. IF you read the tutorial on the website, it will tell you that solid colors compress very well and thus will be darker in the ELA. Also, the more times the image is resaved, the darker it's ELA will be.

So, if that image was indeed photo shopped, the letter would have been significantly brighter than other image parts. Which is not the case.
Fair enough. I stand corrected, I guess.
Did not mean to be attracting this much attention to one moronic shirt though.

--Ashish

he he thats right.. we are obsessed with over analysis of petty things ..
abhinavjo

Post by abhinavjo »

Can someone translate what the jawans are saying.

Handwara forest encounter video with jawans. Amazing. Look at the great lengths they go through.

http://www.timesnow.tv/5-Lashkar-milita ... 399874.cms

So, basically we allow people wear pakistan slogans on the T-shirt.. and that is what this is all about. Though the topic is neglible in terms of the event or actuality, but it can be a big BR thread in itself. It is a dangerous T-shirt to wear, especially if one is on IA recuritment call.
Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

shyamd wrote:Can someone translate what the jawans are saying.
http://www.timesnow.tv/5-Lashkar-milita ... 399874.cms
When Army group going for zero in at that time the leader of the group instructing to give him cover fire. He tries to go down towards militants step by step asking his sub ordinates to give him cover fire. For example he ask on of the soldiers named Rakesh to come his left (it may be right as I am always confused between dayne & bayne) cover firing. Another soldier asked to come down too cover firing.

daye-dahina-dextro-dright side
baaye-bum-buttock-backside-left

INS Teg undergoing trials in non-cold conditions, under construction at Yantar & other Talwar-class miscellanity

http://www.aame.in/2012/04/ins-teg-talw ... ndian.html
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

<del>

a collection of pictures of the Viraat
http://www.aame.in/2012/04/aircraft-car ... ndian.html

entire collection of photos of the Vikramaditya shot by photo blogger Kuleshov Oleg

http://t.co/B7OjXEtN

Brahmaputra-Class guided missile Frigate INS Beas & Betwa & the Betwa as a Leopard-class Frigate

http://www.aame.in/2012/05/brahmaputra- ... ssile.html
akimalik

Post by akimalik »

Hiten wrote:post updated with this picture
thanks a lot, my dad did his watch-keeping on this lady ... will bring back fond memories for him :-)
cheers & kudos

^^^ anecdote about Prince Andrew - apparently when he reported for duty on the Invincible as a pilot, he saluted and shook hands with the Captain and said "... you can call me Andy", to which the Captain allegedly replied "and you can call me Sir!"

Enjoy
The armies of India and Indonesia concluded a week-long joint military exercise recently. The operational part of the first-ever platoon-level joint training exercise, Exercise 'Garuda Shakti', was conducted at the Indian Army's elite Counter Insurgency and Jungle Warfare School (CIJWS), Vairengte in Mizoram.
To counter the scourge of insurgency in various contemporary scenarios including jungle warfare, 'Chakravyuh', the three-day outdoor validation exercise, was conducted at various counter insurgency (CI) modules and firing ranges. 'Chakravyuh' ended with the busting of a simulated insurgent hideout in Mizoram's Lushai Hills after a gruelling night-long march.
The Indonesian National Army (Tentara Nasional Indonesia-Angkatan Darat) troops, led by Lt Col Gatot Heru Puana of KOSTRAD (Indonesian Army's Strategic Reserve Command) belonging to the 13th Infantry Brigade comprised of five officers, six non-commissioned officers and 14 Privates. The troops from the 19th Madras Infantry Battalion of 21 Mountain Division under Eastern Command, currently deployed in counter-insurgency operations in the northeast sector, formed the Indian side.
CIJWS has over 13 different types of firing ranges catering to every conceivable indoor and outdoor scenario ranging from urban, semi-urban to rural settings. Bringing in realism in training, Infantry Weapons Effect Simulation System (IWESS) and Small Arms Training Simulators (SATS) also extensively used. The landscape and the inimitable replicated settings in CIJW make it the most preferred destination to train for several armies of the world.
For proper assimilation of the nuances in CIJW operations for the Indonesian troops, all training and attack drills were coordinated by having two mixed platoons, comprising around 30 soldiers each of KOSTRAD soldiers and the Indian Infantry troops, overseen by senior military observers.Praising the professionalism of the Indian Infantry soldiers, the leader of the Indonesian troops, Col Gatot observed that the Indian troops are very well-equipped to fight the insurgents. While finding some of the training tactics very similar, he said that the concept of 'buddy' system was something they would like to emulate.
The formal closing of the exercise took place with both sides exchanging feedback and mementoes and rounding off with a military-style campfire and cultural exchanges.

Godavari-class Frigate, INS Ganga

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/e ... Jy0liipFm0

---------------------------
akimalik wrote:
Hiten wrote:post updated with this picture
thanks a lot, my dad did his watch-keeping on this lady ... will bring back fond memories for him :-)
cheers & kudos
glad you liked it :)

Was your father serving on INS during the trip to Italy? If so, can he tell us of the purpose of this visit - courtesy port call, joint exercise?

photographs of IN warships during Malabar 2012

Kora-class Corvette INS Kulish
http://www.aame.in/2012/05/indian-navy- ... e-ins.html

Shivalik-class Frigate INS Satpura
http://www.aame.in/2012/05/ins-satpura- ... ealth.html

Deepak-class tanker INS Shakti
http://www.aame.in/2012/05/deepak-class ... hakti.html

Rajput-class Destroyers INS Ranvir & INS Ranvijay
http://www.aame.in/2012/05/rajput-class ... -navy.html

misc pics
http://www.aame.in/2012/05/indian-navy- ... labar.html

Aplogies if this is the incorrect thread. What the Indian Army does on a routine basis in Kashmir.

Srinagar-Leh highway

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/pic ... ghway.html

ravi_g wanted these background Agni V assembly pics. Click them to enlarge if interesting.

Agni V in assembly

Agni V being assembled

added later...
Actually some more, I assume you have seen. One pic about V sign by scientist is from a different angle.

Agni 5 addl pics
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

After the test..
Last edited by dinesha on 06 May 2012 23:34, edited 1 time in total.
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Our missile scientists are very down to earth. Very vinamra kind!

Epitomes of Vidya Vinamrata Virta

Love it :)

Murugan wrote:Our missile scientists are very down to earth. Very vinamra kind!

Epitomes of Vidya Vinamrata Virta

Love it :)
Of course! Our missiles are for showering friendly neighbours with petals onlee.

Thanks chackojoseph ji for the effort.

Also in the above picture I can recognise Lt Gen SA Hasnain. But I am afraid I cannot recognise Lt Gen KT Parnaik. Can you help me out.

The one with white mustache.

collected it for personal use & kids, thanks.

ravi_g wrote:collected it for personal use & kids, thanks.
How do you use that for kids?

Arre baba, Lt. Gen. Atta Hasnain has had a story that does not need to be told. Seems like Lt. Gen. KTP also has some testimonials to his name. Lets see if the next COAS messes up, then we cannot say we were not warned.

I am thinking of stories to tell as my kids grow up. Admittedly it may seem laughable but I am sure these matters will become important some day for my kids. My 4 year old daughter has already had her first fascination with aircraft videos and photographs (Airplane=Omikank in kid speak). I had to divert her attention to cartoons.

ravi_g wrote:Arre baba, Lt. Gen. Atta Hasnain has had a story that does not need to be told. Seems like Lt. Gen. KTP also has some testimonials to his name.
What story? please tell

From CJ's link:

Did anyone notice the seats behind the turret? :P :mrgreen: :P