Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

rohitvats,

Not just that, see how many people are on that and coming down. 6 of them at least.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Shot 11 hours ago @ Boeing Field, WA | IN P-8I Neptune being towed

X Posted from the Indian naval Discussion thread.

A Photo of INS Teg from PIB.

The photo carries the blurb, “The Union Minister for Commerce & Industry and Textiles, Shri Anand Sharma aboard Indian frigate INS Teg, which is on its maiden voyage. INS Teg parade alongwith the German Frigate Mecklenberg Vorprommen made its first port of call in Hamburg on the occasion of 823rd Harbour Birthday Celebrations of Hamburg Port on May 11, 2012.”:

INS Teg in Hamburg

A short video clip of INS Teg at Hamburg (Start at 1.14):

Youtube

Two more photos from Hamburg of INS Teg from Marine Portraits who seem to have misidentified her as the Type 23 Royal Navy Frigate, HMS St. Albans:

INS Teg 01

INS Teg 02

member_23438

Post by member_23438 »

^^^^ Adityaji, what's up with the pakjabi blane?

X Posted from the Indian Naval Discussion thread.

More pictures of INS Teg at Hamburg. This time from a forum called Elbdampfer - Hamburg:

INS Teg 01

INS Teg 02

INS Teg 03

Vishal Jolapara wrote:Shot 11 hours ago @ Boeing Field, WA | IN P-8I Neptune being towed

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5276/7180 ... 8a8d_b.jpg
Is that the shadow of photographer over the fence's ?

pictures from Exercise Rudra Aakrosh. Same as the ones earlier posted. These are without watermarks

https://picasaweb.google.com/1050956741 ... IndianArmy
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

jamwal wrote:
Vishal Jolapara wrote:Shot 11 hours ago @ Boeing Field, WA | IN P-8I Neptune being towed

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5276/7180 ... 8a8d_b.jpg
Is that the shadow of photographer over the fence's ?
Yes

Aditya G wrote:Image
Very Cool. Reminds me when the Bears were intercepted at the Arctic Circle by NATO forces of various nations.
Is this a speculative or do we have a record of this being done ? Definitely raises a hair or two at the back of the head.

Aditya, Very Cool (Again)

Khalsa wrote:http://westphalianpost.files.wordpress. ... -tu-16.jpg

Very Cool. Reminds me when the Bears were intercepted at the Arctic Circle by NATO forces of various nations.
Is this a speculative or do we have a record of this being done ? Definitely raises a hair or two at the back of the head.

The big evil Russian Bear in Indian clothing being intercepted by the forces of good, a Mirage fighter in Pakistani colors. A painting symbolic of the attitudes that fed the Pakistani child to make it the well adjusted adult it is now. This is what won the cold war for us democratic free people folks. +1. I doff my hat to the millions of men and women in uniform in thousands of incidents like this one that pushed the evil empire to extinction.

Khalsa wrote: Is this a speculative or do we have a record of this being done ? Definitely raises a hair or two at the back of the head.
I have the same question. Is this a paki wet dream or did such an incident actually happen?

Seems unlikely that a Mirage with its rather short legs can catch up with a Bear - what the heck would a Bear do so close to PAF airbases? The only possibility is near Karachi - Masroor AFB? V.unlikely but possible I s'pose.

Those images are from Paki dreams.
Reality is here.
http://www.acig.org/artman/publish/article_432.shtml
A successful intercept can only be achieved through the target being caught completely off guard. Among the White Tigers frequent intercepts include these unfortunate Pakistani Atlantique-1, Fokker F27-200 and KC-10 of the USAF

Khalsa wrote:http://westphalianpost.files.wordpress. ... -tu-16.jpg

The big evil Russian Bear in Indian clothing being intercepted by the forces of good, a Mirage fighter in Pakistani colors. A painting symbolic of the attitudes that fed the Pakistani child to make it the well adjusted adult it is now. This is what won the cold war for us democratic free people folks. +1. I doff my hat to the millions of men and women in uniform in thousands of incidents like this one that pushed the evil empire to extinction.
ha ha ha
:-)

Well if you must know the inside of my head then know this.
Being Born to an Indian army officer and living my life in the various cantts and field areas, the Soviet Union and their forces were always the blue forces in my head and the NATO forces were always red.

ha ha ha I still can't stop laughing .... thanks for making me smile. It was a rather dull day outside my windows until you decided to comment

I still think the Painting is awesome work, very realistic and shows the true nature of what a Naval Aviator, Navigator or an Engineer have to face suddenly at 24000 feet.
Instead of having a glorious North Korean style rainbow that the Bear is flying through this painting is more realistic and appreciative of what our forces face every day.

Khalsa wrote: Being Born to an Indian army officer and living my life in the various cantts and field areas, the Soviet Union and their forces were always the blue forces in my head and the NATO forces were always red.
But the propaganda that the English language media has spread, exploited skilfully over decades by Pakistan was exactly expressed by that painting. We heard about it when Russian a/c were "intercepted". We never heard about it when NATO forces were shown a finger. And we Indians internalize that information innocently because that is what we are fed as children when we study and read English.

My late cousin Suresh while in Air Force service had been to the US for some exchange or training in the late 1970s or early 80s (don't know when/why/what) and he was shown a map (in an air base) in which the Soviet Union AND India were actually coloured red and Pakistan, along with the USA and Western Europe were coloured blue. Blue and Red are themselves iconic Americanisms because the blue democratic forces of the US were fighting the evil red communist forces. "The Reds" are always the baddies. Yellows were baddies in WW2, but after Korea it was always reds.

In the early 80s I met some young ladies in the UK who used to work at a NATO early warning station in the Eastern UK (Norfolk) and they were fascinated to hear me talk about the IAF that was full of Russian aircraft, all of which were "enemy" aircraft that they had learned to identify as needing to be "intercepted".

If one does not know this history and one is an uninitiated/uninformed observer of that painting it could be interpreted simply as two aircraft, or alternatively as a huge mommy aircraft with a small baby aircraft following obediently or being benevolently shown how to get back to base after being lost over the ocean. It is the NATO-USSR cold war propaganda that instantly connects that particular type of imagery with the "interception of USSR by NATO" showing the alertness and competence of NATO. This painting similarly indicates the alertness/competence of Pakis in "seeing off" the kafirs of India.

That is the power of propaganda, used well by the Pakis. Beautiful as the painting is, it remains Pakistani propaganda.
Amitabh

Post by Amitabh »

Khalsa wrote: Being Born to an Indian army officer and living my life in the various cantts and field areas, the Soviet Union and their forces were always the blue forces in my head and the NATO forces were always red.
But the propaganda that the English language media has spread, exploited skilfully over decades by Pakistan was exactly expressed by that painting. We heard about it when Russian a/c were "intercepted". We never heard about it when NATO forces were shown a finger. And we Indians internalize that information innocently because that is what we are fed as children when we study and read English.

My late cousin Suresh while in Air Force service had been to the US for some exchange or training in the late 1970s or early 80s (don't know when/why/what) and he was shown a map (in an air base) in which the Soviet Union AND India were actually coloured red and Pakistan, along with the USA and Western Europe were coloured blue. Blue and Red are themselves iconic Americanisms because the blue democratic forces of the US were fighting the evil red communist forces. "The Reds" are always the baddies. Yellows were baddies in WW2, but after Korea it was always reds.

In the early 80s I met some young ladies in the UK who used to work at a NATO early warning station in the Eastern UK (Norfolk) and they were fascinated to hear me talk about the IAF that was full of Russian aircraft, all of which were "enemy" aircraft that they had learned to identify as needing to be "intercepted".

If one does not know this history and one is an uninitiated/uninformed observer of that painting it could be interpreted simply as two aircraft, or alternatively as a huge mommy aircraft with a small baby aircraft following obediently or being benevolently shown how to get back to base after being lost over the ocean. It is the NATO-USSR cold war propaganda that instantly connects that particular type of imagery with the "interception of USSR by NATO" showing the alertness and competence of NATO. This painting similarly indicates the alertness/competence of Pakis in "seeing off" the kafirs of India.

That is the power of propaganda, used well by the Pakis. Beautiful as the painting is, it remains Pakistani propaganda.
You are absolutely right, but so what? They have propaganda, we have propaganda, everyone has propaganda. Lest loyal Rakshaks begin to spout cries of "equal equal" I will admit that Pakistani militarism runs deeper than most, but am unsure how a painting of a PAF Mirage intercepting a Tu-142 is any different from, say, one of Polly Singh's canvases.

Keeping in mind that this is a picture thread and happy to continue this discussion elsewhere.

Amitabh wrote: but am unsure how a painting of a PAF Mirage intercepting a Tu-142 is any different from, say, one of Polly Singh's canvases.
I have no such doubts and uncertainties in my mind though. I am sure about how I feel and will say it up front.

assuming the Tu192 does not have a air to air radar set, esp to the sides and tail, how exactly is it supposed to receive warning that a fighter cued by ship or ground based GCI is coming up on its track?

I also do not see any RWR type panels on the Tu192 to know when a fighter X-band radar is painting it for missile attack but more importantly the first line means such intercepts can happen if the pakis use a long range radar and scramble a MirageIII ahead of time on expected track.

^^^Well, the Bear seems to be in international waters but close to Pakistan Coast and Mirage could have been scrambled to keep a tab on it. Simple as that.

^^We don't even know that the incident actually happened. It is only a painting unlike the pics uddu posted from B Harry's article.

there was a famous photograph of a bear being intercepted by i think RAF Phantoms which was almost identical to that, but i am sure there are bear intercept shots with lots of other nato aircraft too

the soviet/nato air intercept games over the north sea were a well established drill during the cold war - with rules of engagement
no such thing was there (AFAIK) in the indo-pak scene

the post was updated with this pic. INS Mysore launching a pair of Switchblades simulatneously

http://www.aame.in/2012/04/delhi-class- ... royer.html
don't recollect it being posted earlier. apologies if already done

just did a google images search for bear intercept - there are loads of pictures of nato fighters flying next to bears... there is one of a USAF Delta Dart/Dagger in almost the same angle, which is the most likely image that was copied for this "intercept" picture
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

@Hiten

Infact this is one of the oldest pic of the Delhi class(Mysore) launching Urans,posted many times in many forums.

tried verifying before posting. Reverse search threw zilch

https://www.google.com/search?tbs=sbi:A ... 04&biw=946

Since you all like the painting, then here is the "real thing" 8)

http://vayu-sena-aux.tripod.com/other-g ... misc1.html
1989 - US Navy F-14A Tomcat [202] aircraft of Fighter Squadron 111 (VF-111) investigates an Indian Navy Tu-142 Bear F [IN318] maritime reconnaissance aircraft somewhere in the Indian Ocean.
Incidents such as these are 'normal' - especially since we have an active naval aviation force that is patrolling the ocean.

Regarding the painting:

http://www.paffalcons.com/gallery/aviat ... -peace.php
THE BEAR INTERCEPTED

This painting depicts an imaginary interception of an Indian Navy TU-124 Bear by PAF Mirage IIIO over the coastline of Pakistan

Aditya G wrote:Since you all like the painting, then here is the "real thing" 8)

1989 - US Navy F-14A Tomcat [202] aircraft of Fighter Squadron 111 (VF-111) investigates an Indian Navy Tu-142 Bear F [IN318] maritime reconnaissance aircraft somewhere in the Indian Ocean.
Incidents such as these are 'normal' - especially since we have an active naval aviation force that is patrolling the ocean.
The Tomcat is super imposed on the Bear. Check the left wing

^^Acharya, the Tomcat is on the right side of the bear not the left. Even though it may look that way.

This painting depicts an imaginary interception of an Indian Navy TU-124 Bear by PAF Mirage IIIO over the coastline of Pakistan
Like we thought. A paki dream.

Yes you can see the land below. Never would a Bear go that close to Paki coastline.
They are our long legs across the Indian Ocean and the painting depicts a highly improbably Mission Profile to send the bear towards the Karachi coastline.
After shooting their Atlantique we would not even bother to think about sending our men and asset so close.
They are trigger happy and would be itching to even the blood score even if the Bear remains over neutral waters.

Moving on..... good effort at the painting though. Reminds me of a painting by Polly Singh where an F-16 and a Mirage 2000 are engaged in (speculative) combat... the F-16 is inverted and top of the loop and Mirage in horizontal left turn or something.
parshuram

Post by parshuram »

@ Khalsa ...

True Sir ... Infact painting never looked like Bear being intercepted ... It gives an impression that Bear is being escorted .... :D

Pictures of INS Shivalik and INS Karmuk on visit to Hai Phong in Vietnam (May 19 to May 24, 2012):

INS Shivalik with INS Karmuk alongside

INS Shivalik at Hai Phong 01

INS Shivalik at Hai Phong 02

From here:

Clicky

And another picture of INS Shivalik from another Vietnamese website:

INS Shivalik at Hai Phong 03

arun wrote:Pictures of INS Shivalik and INS Karmuk on visit to Hai Phong in Vietnam (May 19 to May 24, 2012):

INS Shivalik at Hai Phong 01

This is a long range acoustic device (LRAD) deployed on Indian Navy ship (center left, where bunch of sailors are standing).

First time I have seen it deployed on an IN ship.

P.S. sorry I have to quote this complete picture for reference.
Jayram

Post by Jayram »

Aditya G wrote:Since you all like the painting, then here is the "real thing" 8)

So why does that tu 142 have a refueling probe attached? Did we have a2a refueling back in 1989?

Those are pitot tubes, IIRC, not refueling probes..
Sudip

Post by Sudip »

PYT Wagah soldiers courtsey India-5

Shout-out to Chackoji -

Do you have the picture from this article in a higher resolution? If so, could you please share it.

http://frontierindia.net/indiandefence/ ... rms-cache/

In particular I'd like to identify the weapon held by the soldier standing second from left.

Cross-posting on the Small Arms Thread, if one of the sharper eyed folk can spot it.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 6#p1284976