Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 29 March 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 29 March 2

arun wrote:A fine display of the art of Taqiyya in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan with Shahbaz Shariff claiming that the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is tolerant of religious minorities :wink: . This claim despite the frequent cases of Mohammadden slaughtering Mohammadden for the "religious crime" of nothing more than belonging to a minority sect and not to mention the frequent cases of Mohammadden's persecuting Non Mohammadden’s for nothing more than to highlight the status of Non-Mohammadden's under Mohammadden religious law as Dhimmi's:

Pakistan best place for religious minorities, says Shahbaz
X Posted from the Oppression of Minorities in Pakistan thread.

Meanwhile our Parliamentarians condemn the oppressive treatment of Non-Mohamaddens in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan:

RS Members Condemn Atrocities on Minorities in Pak

pankajs wrote:Cut off every cent of aid to Pakistan: US lawmakers
Prominent American lawmakers have asked the Obama administration to cut off every cent of its aid to Pakistan terming the country a "black hole" where the US has already "sunk" a whopping $24 billion since 2004
This is a new number now. It is more than $20B which was quoted earlier.

So now we can approx look at atleast $30B - $40 all together going to Pak after 911.

Most of it going to Mil and govt to keep its show. Essential aid will never be removed. We have to watch the engagement of US mil with Pakistan. What is the connection which is most important.

RajeshA wrote:Roperia ji,

How does giving locomotives to Pakistan helps our economy or our strategic cards?
The Locos are for transporting NATO goods for which Pakistan is haggling for the money. Transportation will be managed by the National Logistics Cell and protection offered by Pak Army and therefore India will be indirectly funding the TFTAs.

Pakis haggling over money

US sees deal near, Pakistan haggling over money
Islamabad insisting that the US pay more to repair relations and end the blockade
While the Pakistani political leadership hasn’t yet authorised the reopening of the ground transportation routes
The agreement should be concluded by Friday
If we can get it done by Chicago, that will send a powerful signal of support from Pakistan to Afghanistan. The Nato summit begins Sunday in Chicago
But a Pakistani official offered a different assessment, saying the two sides remained at loggerheads over money. The gap in their estimations of how much money Islamabad should be paid remained ”huge” Wednesday
Me thinks that it is typical tactic by the pakis (Heads I win, Tails you lose) to delay the final decision. They already have the invitation to attend but want to see what the outcome of the summit will be.
ManuT

Post by ManuT »

hulaku wrote:The grass eaters of Bakistan (yes this is the actual title)
“We will fight (Hindia) for a thousand years!” Declared chairman of the Bakistan Beables Barty (BBB), Zulfikar Ali Bruto. A couple of years later he was in Hindia trying to negotiate the release of 90,000 Bakistani prisoners of war.
http://dawn.com/2012/05/17/the-grass-ea ... -bakistan/

Does Paracha visit this forum ? Hainjee
harbans wrote:Is Nadeem writing from Pakistan? He better take care, i sort of like him. That piece seems to derive a lot of inspiration from BENIS..look at this for example:

http://dawncompk.files.wordpress.com/20 ... eaters.jpg
For the same reason, I don't like him too much, in case somehow that gets him bumped off.
Like a few others (and there are a few) who really have the dice loaded against them in TSP.

On the positive side, he has a ring side view of the abduls.

http://dawn.com/2012/05/16/us-to-fund-r ... structure/
US to fund railway infrastructure
Speaking on the occasion, CG Martin stated that the “United States remains committed to partnering with the Pakistani transportation sector,” because of its importance in supporting economic growth in the country, while also “increasing and strengthening Pak-US commercial ties.”

X Posted from the Pakistan Economic Stress Watch thread.

Power shortfall widens: Exemption to textile sector withdrawn

Pakistan Lost Its Chance For Security

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/articl ... 14180.html
WASHINGTON -- As America begins to pull back its troops from Afghanistan, there's one consequence that gets little notice but is likely to have lasting impact: Pakistan is losing the best chance in its history to gain political control over all of its territory -- including the warlike tribal areas along the frontier.Pakistan has squandered the opportunity presented by having a large U.S.-led army just over the border in Afghanistan. Rather than work with the U.S. to stabilize a lawless sanctuary full of warlords and terrorists, the Pakistanis decided to play games with these outlaw groups. As a result, Pakistan and its neighbors will be less secure, probably for decades.
This is a catastrophic mistake for Pakistan. Instead of drawing the tribal areas into a nation that finally, for the first time since independence in 1947, could be integrated and unified, the Pakistani military decided to keep the ethnic pot boiling. It was a triumph of short-term thinking over long; of scheming over strategy.
America has made many blunders in Afghanistan, which will have their own consequences. But U.S. problems are modest compared to those of Pakistan, which nearly 65 years after independence still doesn't have existential security as a nation. Like most big mistakes people make in life, this is one that Pakistan's military leaders made with their eyes wide open.The G-8 and NATO will hold summit meetings in the coming days, and announce the exit strategy from Afghanistan. Fortunately, President Obama is planning a gradual transition, with at least 20,000 U.S. troops remaining until 2024, if necessary, to train the Afghan army, hunt al-Qaeda and steady Afghans against the danger of civil war.Basically, the Pakistanis blew it. By playing a hedging game, they missed a moment that's not likely to return, when a big Western army of well over 100,0000 soldiers was prepared to help them. Instead, Islamabad used the inevitability that America would be leaving eventually as an argument for creating a buffer zone that was inhabited by a murderous mélange of the Taliban, the Haqqani network and other Pashtun warlords.Yes, it would have been hard to bring under Pakistani law the rebellious badlands known as the Federally Administered Tribal Areas. I have a shelf full of books describing how the process of pacification eluded the British raj and was gingerly handed over to the new government of Pakistan like a bag of snakes. But hard is not impossible -- especially when you have modern communications and transport, and the most potent army in history ready to help

The notion of the tribal areas as a warrior kingdom impenetrable to outsiders has a romantic "Orientalist" tone. I was disabused of it in 2009 when I met a group of younger tribal leaders who had gathered in Islamabad to tell U.S. special envoy Richard Holbrooke that the region needed economic development, good governance and e]less hanky-panky from the central government. In a move that embodied everything that's wrong with the Pakistani approach, these brave young men were intercepted on the way home by the Inter-Services Intelligence and quizzed about why they had dared talk to the farangi.
Surely the most foolish move the Pakistanis made was to compromise with the terrorist Haqqani network, which operates from its base in Miran Shah, a few hundred yards from a Pakistani military garrison. This was like playing with a venomous cobra -- something the Pakistanis seem to imagine is an essential part of regional realpolitik. No, you kill a cobra. If the ISI had been up to the task, it would have had some formidable snake-killing allies.
The Pakistanis lost a chance over the past decade to build and secure their country. It won't come back again in this form. That's a small problem for the U.S. and its allies, but a big problem for Pakistan. What a shame to see a wonderful nation miss its moment so completely

:) Interesting article. What he doesn't know is TSP has baazari insitincts melded with islam. If the snake is killed, massa will run away leaving them to big bad bania.

Hollow promise. Why is that so "paki"? Zardari’s 1 million dollar donation to Chishti’s dargah remains an announcement
Asif Ali Zardari's one-million-dollar "donation" to Khwaja's Moinuddin Chishti's shrine at Ajmer, has turned out to be just an announcement with not a single penny being received either by the management of the shrine or khadims (those who help worshipers offer prayers).
The RTI reply to Khosla from central public information officer of the Dargah Committee, Dargah Khwaja Sahib, Ajmer, reads on May 8, "Till the writing of this letter, we have not received any money from His Excellency President Republic of Pakistan as announced by H.E. on dated 8.4.2012)."

Keep waiting.
RCase

Post by RCase »

Isn't that part of the Paki DNA of NOT honoring commitments?

After all in the Land of the Pure, where everything is inverted, AAZ's statement should be interpreted by the normal people of the rest of the world as 'one-million-dollar "donation" to jizya from Khwaja's Moinuddin Chishti's shrine at Ajmer'.

See, the good folks at Khwaja Chisti's dargah got it all wrong. Zardari expected them to pay him for showing up.

After Pakistan issues LeT alert, India beefs up security at border posts
India on Thursday beefed up security at the Integrated Check Post (ICP) at the India-Pakistan border following a threat issued by Pakistan-based terrorist outfit Lashker-e-Taiba (LeT) and the Taliban to blow up the ICP on Pakistan side, the Press Trust of India reported.

Gilani backtracks
Dispelling the impression of printing currency notes to overcome the power crisis in the country, Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani said on Thursday that all available resources except for printing currency will be used to end unannounced loadshedding.
The prime minister had earlier suggested that the government should print currency notes and pour capital into the electricity sector in order to overcome loadshedding.
Foot in the mouth disease?

Sania Bhabhi says NO!

Sania says no to Aisam
Sania Mirza has refused to partner Aisamul Haq Qureshi on the court despite the Pakistani expressing his interest to play alongside the Indian tennis star several times in the past.
“I’m playing quite well with Bhupathi in grand slams so I don’t think I need to change anything right now,”
Sania rules out playing in Pakistan for now
:(( One paki in the family is enough, I guess. Even that is proving to be embarassing.
vdutta

Post by vdutta »

Anujan wrote:
RajeshA wrote:Roperia ji,

How does giving locomotives to Pakistan helps our economy or our strategic cards?
The Locos are for transporting NATO goods for which Pakistan is haggling for the money. Transportation will be managed by the National Logistics Cell and protection offered by Pak Army and therefore India will be indirectly funding the TFTAs.
NLC is an agency of army. you can expect a lot of corruption. now the transportation will be provided by the army so you can imagine who actually brokered the deal.
NLC was created to make money by army long time ago. they are truck based transportation company. Army took over all the contracts from govt (by force) hence rendering the railways useless. thats one reason why pak railways in such a bad condition, they cannot carry cargo as NLC has exclusive contract of it. all the money goes to top brass, just like it goes from fauji bakery, fauji cement etc

anupmisra wrote:Sania Bhabhi says NO!

Sania says no to Aisam
Sania Mirza has refused to partner Aisamul Haq Qureshi on the court despite the Pakistani expressing his interest to play alongside the Indian tennis star several times in the past.
“I’m playing quite well with Bhupathi in grand slams so I don’t think I need to change anything right now,”
Sania rules out playing in Pakistan for now
:(( One paki in the family is enough, I guess. Even that is proving to be embarassing.
“I haven’t asked for a huge paycheque in order to feature in charity matches in Pakistan. But as far as competitive matches are concerned, there are, unfortunately, no international tournaments taking place in Pakistan for obvious reasons so there’s no chance I can play there.”
:((
Charlie

Post by Charlie »

Uber Paki RAPE, "leftist activist", Amereeka based, prominent FAI circle member Beena Sarwar wants the Rinkle case to be only seen as "Law and order" issue but not "Communal". She has done zilch in Rinkle case and not even pretending to do something to buttress her "activist" credentials but comes out to shield Islam from any criticism.

This. When the idea of Pakistan itself is communal!!

India approves plan for Turkmenistan gas imports
http://dawn.com/2012/05/17/india-approv ... s-imports/
NEW DELHI: India’s cabinet on Thursday allowed state-run gas-firm GAIL (India) Ltd to sign a gas purchase agreement with Turkmenistan’s national oil firm, for supplies from a planned multi-national pipeline, a government statement said.The proposed 1,700-km (1,056-mile) Turkmenistan-Afghanistan-Pakistan-India line (TAPI) will have a capacity to carry 90 million cubic metres a day (mcmd) gas for a 30-year period and will be operational in 2018, the statement said.India and Pakistan would get 38 mcmd each while the remaining 14 mcmd will be supplied to Afghanistan, it said. Turkmenistan, which holds more than 4 per cent of the world’s natural gas reserves, is hosting a meeting next week with participants in the US-backed TAPI project to link Turkmen gas fields with India.
Petroleum Minister S. Jaipal Reddy is scheduled to lead a delegation to Turkmenistan to sign the agreement on May 23-24. India has nominated state-run GAIL for the purchase of gas.The pipeline route, particularly the 735-km (450-mile) Afghan leg, presents significant security challenges and will require Pakistan and India to agree on price and other aspects. Participants must also secure funding for the project.“The provisions of the GSPA (Gas Sale Purchase Agreement) have been structured to protect India’s commercial interests as India is at the tail end of the pipeline,” the statement said, without elaborating further.Transit fee and security aspect have been settled,” a government source, who did not wish to be identified told reporters after the cabinet meeting.Separately, an oil ministry official said that the transit fee for the gas has been fixed at about 50 cents per million British thermal units (mmBtu). The TAPI pipeline is estimated to cost about $10-12 billion, while development of the gas field may cost about an additional $10 billion, said Daniel D Stein, senior energy adviser at the US Department of State said in a presentation in March.

Pak, India cannot be treated equally on nuclear issue’
White Paki vs Brown Paki

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?pa ... 012_pg7_11
ISLAMABAD: Australian High Commissioner Tim George on Thursday said that Pakistan and India had different cases and both could not be treated equally for provision of civil nuclear technology from Australia.“Yes, Australia has an agreement with India but it is not against Pakistan,” he said, adding that the Nuclear Suppliers Group has allowed India while Pakistan does not have this option. Answering a question after a press conference, the envoy said Pakistan and India had totally different situations for the provision of nuclear supply, but Pak-Australia relations improved during his three-year stint as the high commissioner to Pakistan. Answering another question, the envoy said Pakistan was confronting security situation and was a victim of terrorism. The Australian government wishes that Pakistan should get out of security concerns as soon as possible, he said, adding that terrorism is a complex issue and “we should work together to deal with it”. About Afghanistan, George said stable Afghanistan was essential for Pakistan because there were millions of Afghan refugees in Pakistan. Pakistan has strong common interest in Afghanistan. The envoy said Australian forces are in Afghanistan and would like to see stability and commitment for Afghanistan after 2014, when coalition forces withdrew from there. About NATO forces attack on Pakistan military checkpost at Salala, he said, “We understand feeling of Pakistan.” The envoy welcomed the negotiations process and willingness of Pakistan to cooperate with foreign forces in Afghanistan. The envoy, whose three-year term comes to an end shortly, said he was privileged to serve as high commissioner during a period of strong growth in Australia’s relationship with Pakistan. He said, “I particularly welcome the deepening of our engagement, which is based on a productive, friendly and mutually beneficial partnership. We see Pakistan as a valuable long-term partner. We also wish to support Pakistan in facing its significant challenges.”Australia’s development assistance to Pakistan has expanded significantly in recent years, to an estimated A$96 million in 2012-13. The signing of the Australia
-Pakistan Development Partnership (APDP) was an important milestone, providing a positive framework for long-term bilateral development cooperation. [/quote]
RCase

Post by RCase »

partha wrote:
anupmisra wrote:Sania Bhabhi says NO!

Sania says no to Aisam
Could it be that Shoaib knows his fellow compatriots better and was uncomfortable, lest Aisam did a ghazi move? Or did Sania get to figure out the Pakiness of the Paki male species? :wink:

The Wall Street Journal reports that the US came very close to “apologising” to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s for the Salala incident on multiple occassions.

The complete antithesis of what the Ra Ra US of A brigade on this forum will have us believe by pushing the line that US actions represent emulation worthy pugnacity even even as India’s actions are castigated for pusillanimity :wink: :

U.S. Agonizes Over Apology to Pakistan

Article by Spencer Ackerman writing in Wired with a descriptive title suggesting who is getting “Guboed” here and it is not the Islamic Republic of Pakistan :lol: :

Face Down, Cash Up, Then Pakistan Lets in Our Trucks

BOAB=Birth of A Bewaqoof
An inconvenient affair
Quaid-e-Azam ka Pakistan.” I wonder aloud. “Jinnah’s idea of Pakistan was a constitutional liberal democracy. A country where we are free to go to our temples and mosques … ! Now when that progressive Bill becomes an Act, we let Hindus, a limb and link of the nation, claim their democratic matrimonial rights. We are living out his ideals. Why, living out every proud Pakistani’s ideals! His, Fatima Jinnah’s, yours, our driver’s, that school girl’s … your grandfather’s! Remember how he said, Islam is our faith, democracy is our policy.”
The fiancé ignores my elaborate discourse. “Islam allows for a man to marry a non-Muslim.”
“Yes, a non-Muslim but a person by the Book – a Christian or a Jew. Not a polytheist…” I inform him. “This Act is critical for us.”
“It is a Hindu Marriage Act; I don’t see how your legal mind perceives a way for inter-religious marriages.” There is a pause. “Maybe, conversion…?” He asks quietly. I don’t answer. He catches my stubborn countenance, and frowns. “This is not your battle. Nothing here is. Do not get embroiled in any issue. Do not rub anyone the wrong way.” My eyes twinkle mischievously. His disapproval deepens. “Don’t even flatter yourself with an assassination. It is possible to make your death look like a tragic truck accident.” He remarks grimly, proceeding to list his detractors and supporters who would approve of that plan.“BBC,” I am firm. “Our lives begin to end, the day we remain silent on things that matter.” My gravity then transforms into a grin; at least now some people shall look forward to our union. He smiles dryly.Maybe he should have just found a ‘good Pakistani girl’. I gaze curiously at those on display. There were so many of them – from powerful political and business families. Great alliances, if BBC ever chose one. I like their pretty Islamic names. How they sound quaint and establish a style statement simultaneously. Makes me wonder about my long, old-fashioned Indian name. I wish my parents had at least taken a cue from Bollywood and given me a reasonably trendy one – Anjali, Pooja, Tina … No, they had to unearth one straight out of an ancient Hindu Sanskrit text. Forget the names; the girls all looked uniformly exotic too. Life wasn’t fair. Long fair hands, heavily kohled eyes, thick straight hair …I knew the fiancé to be a charmer, when he wanted. I could only guess at the number of hearts he set fluttering when he walked past. And I could only ruefully guess the number of daggers being swung into mine as he walked past holding my hand. Maybe that is why he was sometimes so aloof in public. Maybe people will think that is the reason I am breaking off our engagement. Our friends shall believe it is because of the constant threat to my security. Ammijaan shall shake her head knowingly and mutter, Masha Allah. The sour-lemons shall shrug and hanker after my BB-, I mean, fian- I mean … the Destiny’s Prince.
He shall know, that when I go off to field questions on “why, hai Ram, you couldn’t just find a good Indian boy?” I am waiting for the day we won’t have to answer these questions anymore. I know he shall herald that day in, he knows I will be waiting. That is enough.

9 killed in Karachi
http://www.thenews.com.pk/article-49641 ... ling-field

KARACHI: Another nine people, including two policemen and three Muttahida Qaumi Movement activists, were killed in the city on Thursday. The ongoing wave of target killings has claimed 34 people, mostly activists of political parties, in the metropolis over the past five days.

Good Morning Pakis!

Slain French Terrorist planned to attack Indian Embassy in Paris
Mohamed Merah, the terrorist who was shot dead by the French Special Forces in Toulouse on March 22, had also planned to attack the Indian Embassy in Paris, French daily Le Monde reported.

Quoting sources from the Central Directorate of Internal Intelligence and the Special Forces who took part in the 32-hour siege of Merah, Le Monde alleges that the young killer's Taliban handlers in Pakistan had ordered him to attack the Indian mission here. “That was the target given him by the Taliban who prepared him for jihad during his training in Pakistan in the summer of 2011,” Le Monde reported. However, the paper says, Merah finally decided against the attack, given the difficulty of the enterprise. These conversations between Merah and Special Forces personnel were recorded and they are now part of the judicial dossier.
RCase

Post by RCase »

Altair wrote:Image

Good Morning Pakis!
Instructions for Ding-Dong Missile: (translated by Chinese into Chinglish)

Set in good direction:
Affsar: Gaadi ko Makkah ki direction mein park karo.
Sipahi: BURUR, Sab, Qiblat set kar diya. AoA!

Set FIRE location:
Affsar: Yahain se fire kareingay. GPS location set kar do.
Sipahi: Hain Sarkar! Yahain kaardinate set kar diya.

Fire:
Affsar: Rocket mein phyre hai?
Sipahi: Yes, Saar. Phyre ho gaya. AoA!
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

RajeshA ji and Anujan ji,

My point was we should not shy away from trading with Pakis where its beneficial for us. We shouldn't constrain ourselves to the logic that until all problems are solved we'll not trade with Paki stan thinking that trade might put more money in TSPA's kitty. I don't believe that if we didn't trade with them, and Paki economy were to suffer even more, they will will somehow decide to make less N-bombs. The Paki piskology was amply clarified by Bhutto - "even if we have to eat grass, we will make nuclear bomb". The whole country is eating grass but they are still producing bombs at a faster pace than the rest of N powers. LaWhori logic!

Pakis should be treated just like Bangladesh, with even lesser concessions. We should leave it to the private sector as to how much risk they want to take in order to get access in Paki stan. The Paki logic that solve Kashmir else no trade, no access to A'stan and Central Asia has miserably failed. They had hoped that this way Indian economy will suffer, it turned out India did just fine while it was pakis whose gdp growth is now almost equal to their population growth. Even though trade is mutually beneficial and shouldn't be called a concession from Pakis (many western "analysts" have been saying so), in reality Its they who are changing their policy.

Paki exports to India are some $300 million, that is 16 years after we gave them MFN. We should understand that's pretty much their level! :lol: On the other hand, even though we could only export items on the positive list, we exported over $2.3 billion directly and many more times through Dubai / Singapore after getting the labels changed from Made in India to something else. Its said that our trade with Pakis will be $10 billion by 2015. Given that Pakis only export textile/apparel and some food grains for which there was already a level playing field and BD is probably more competetive than Pakis at the former, Pakis still won't be able to do any better. Its our exports that are going to increase. We were open for business since 1996, its the Pakis who opened the market now.

railways is likely to give at an approximate rate of Rs 1500 per hour per locomotive of 3000 HP to Pakistan for leasing purpose.
Railways may lease out 50 locomotives to Pakistan
Sudip

Post by Sudip »

Bannu jail break video

Sudip

Post by Sudip »

interview of uk child rapists

Brad Goodman wrote:Secret case against Pakistan officer
Khan was known to be a conservative Muslim. At army staff college, he had the nickname "Mullah Rocketi" — roughly "rocket cleric" — and was lampooned in a graduation skit as a cleric, said one of his colleagues.
Ah, he's a true rakkitmard then.
mehroke

Post by mehroke »

I have a question about NATO supply route in Pakistan.

I keep hearing on Pakistani news channels about the damage to their infrastructure due to the trucks rolling on their highways, laden with containers to Afghanistan. Please correct me if I am wrong. Most countries levy a road tax on the vehicles that ply the road and taxes, excise duties, etc on diesel. I assume that the trucks carrying the NATO cargo would be roadworthy vehicles subject to the normal road taxes like any other vehicle. These taxes would be used for the upkeep and maintenance of the road infrastructure.

So why are the Pakistani's insisting on extra payments from Nato? Were the trucks carting this cargo for FREE in the past?
If the good were not carted for free then the transporters were making a profit and providing employment. So why this rona dhona about damage to infrastructure. Why does the US not call the bluff and instead shop from across the Border from India. If not anything - goods would be cheaper, less pilferage and a very short distance to cut across the land of the pure. - thereby reducing the damage to Pakistani road infrastructure :lol:

Can someone please explain?

Thanking you in advance.
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

US House approves amendment linking CSF to Nato supplies
WASHINGTON: US lawmakers in the House of Representatives debating the National Defence Authorisation Act voted 412-1 for an amendment that could block up to $650 million in proposed payments to Pakistan unless Islamabad lets coalition forces resume shipment of war supplies across its territory.

The lawmakers were debating an annual defence policy bill that seeks $642.5 billion in military spending for the 2013 fiscal year.

The moves came as lawmakers debated more than 140 amendments to the policy bill, which seeks $554 billion in base defence spending for the 2013 fiscal year beginning in October and $88.5 billion for the Afghan war and other overseas operations.

War fatigue

The pressure for an accelerated withdrawal from Afghanistan came ahead of a two-day Nato summit in Chicago starting on Sunday where leaders will discuss the final transition to Afghan security control and the withdrawal of international forces by the end of 2014.

Democratic lawmakers tried to add language to the bill urging Obama to complete an accelerated handover of security to Afghan forces by the end of 2013 and to remove US troops by the end of 2014 — aims consistent with administration planning.

But Republican leaders, who last year narrowly defeated an effort to force Obama to begin planning for withdrawal from Afghanistan, blocked discussion of the Democratic amendment. Instead, they allowed debate on one that called for immediate withdrawal. The measure had little chance of passing and was ultimately defeated.

Lawmakers nearly unanimously endorsed an amendment that would block payment of some $650 million in proposed Coalition Support Funds for Pakistan as long as its borders remain closed to shipments of supplies for international forces.

Islamabad closed the frontier to Nato supply convoys after an air strike in November killed 24 Pakistani soldiers. A US official said on Wednesday the two sides were on the verge of clinching a deal to reopen the supply lines.
The sense I'm getting is Democrats want to run off from A'stan soon, while the entire house (but one) wants to condition CSF payments to NATO supply routes. Given that Dems voted in favor of conditioning the payments, I wouldn't be surprised if it passes in the Senate as well though there is less hostility (more sympathy ?) towards Paki stan there. I must write the context of these bills as well. This was proposed a couple of days back by either Armed Service committee or Foreign Affair committee (I don't remember which one). Yesterday, white house had suggested that passing such a legislation might affect the war efforts in A'stan and advised against this. They have even threatened to veto it. If this passes through Senate, I don't think Obama would want to veto a popular bill that has been unanimously passed by House and Senate in an election year.

Given that Pakis are going to open this route by tonight anyway, I don't see any future for these bills.

I urge Pakistanis to stick to their position to defend their H&D and not succumb to US pressure vis-a-vis opening of NATO supply routes. US must apologize and give Paki stan $70 billion for the economic losses it has sustained in WoT before Paki stan ponders over opening supply routes. :)

It is clear though, Pakis have quite a reputation in the house, I mean 412-1. :lol: I need to find out who voted against this.

ArmenT wrote: Ah, he's a true rakkitmard then.
brf shabdakosh needs an update in references section looks like. :lol:
Narad

Post by Narad »

ArmenT wrote:
Brad Goodman wrote:Secret case against Pakistan officer

Khan was known to be a conservative Muslim. At army staff college, he had the nickname "Mullah Rocketi" — roughly "rocket cleric" — and was lampooned in a graduation skit as a cleric, said one of his colleagues.
Ah, he's a true rakkitmard then.
Haha, good find saar :lol:

This jihadi suar aka Mulla Rocket needs special mention in BR Dictionary. As of now it says: "There is no specific rakkitmard person".
Eurekkaa!! We found one.. :mrgreen:

the original rakit (paalish) mard was mushy

Don’t help spy agencies in illegal operations
:shock:
Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Dost Muhammad Khan on Wednesday ordered civil authorities, both in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas, to avoid assisting intelligence agencies in “illegal operations”.
“Do not provide any assistance to the intelligence agencies (-led operations), which are illegal, and involve arrests of innocent people,” the chief justice was quoted as ordering.