Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Oct 4 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Oct 4 2012

Rungudu wrote:Yes, one look at Pranab Mukherjee and his ilk makes the world tremble with fear.
Rungudu garu

I doubled over after hearing him on "Shitty-Bityy". One doesn't need to be a TFTA to resist the entreaties of the guests who come bearing gifts.

You can double over but he is the last hand and is thus very important.

Rudradev wrote:Can we seriously believe there's no US intent to contain India behind all this?
RD ji,

The answer is yes. Sorry if I come across as insensitive but the fact of the matter is India is a collateral damage in US's machinations to remain the world's top dog. I don't think India has any leverage to change US behavior. That needs to be built up and what Shiv ji is proposing - rub the US the wrong way - is not going to cut it. Mind you, I am not saying that we have to roll over and play dead but there is a middle way.

ramana wrote:You can double over but he is the last hand and is thus very important.
Ramana garu, I think you misunderstand. What I am saying is that physical appearances and accents are of no importance. What matters is the substance which is to resist signing CTBT.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

venkat_r wrote:LoL!! Anyone who does not share your opinion should be branded as a mouth piece.
Venkat, Shivmulla's third eye was targeted most likely at myself...anyway the good doctor means well, and he has his way of stressing the point, so I ignore those remarks. Suggest do the same... :lol:

matrimc wrote:
ramana wrote:You can double over but he is the last hand and is thus very important.
Ramana garu, I think you misunderstand. What I am saying is that physical appearances and accents are of no importance. What matters is the substance which is to resist signing CTBT.

I did! Thanks for the clarification. BTW his accent is his strength unlike those clipped Oxonian morons stealing from handicapped people.

R-man

US aid is of two types - Civil/Economic and Military.

Civil Aid: The objective of Civil Aid is to develop a local constituency to be amenable to American way of living, value system, political/foreign policy alignments etc.,

Military Aid: The objective of any military aid is of two purposes (given post 9/11 scenario)
--- A) To fight/ally with USA's geopolitical objectives (such as NATO etc.,)
--- B) To fight local (within-outside) adversaries on US behalf

Details of US AID to Pakistan for past 60 years is posted here http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 2#p1353922

If we were to assume the US military aid to Pakistan is to help its fight against Al-Qaeda/Islamic-Jihadis (AQ/IJ), why don't we see similar military aid to Afghanistan, which is facing equally difficult, if not worse, military challenges from AQ/IJ.

Why is USA pumping more and more into Pakistani Army while curtailing Afghanistan Army build-up?

What are the intentions?

Here is how to make enemies and lose friendship: Donate money to Pakistan!

Loans Grants
USA 0 1250
UK 0 528
China 2480 69
Saudi 699 8
Japan 459 216
Kuwait 68 0
France 22 0
S Korea 20 0
OPEC 27 0

From this it appears the more grants you give the more they hate you. China & Saudis give only loans and so they are liked. Only Japan does not conform.

Pakis receives $15.63bn in loan, grants

^ The Mesquita model says that Paki type nations are amenable to peace with money.

What Mesquita didn't know was that one doesn't need his complex model to predict it. All he needed to do was read about Islam, and how it works with non-believers and Jijya.

Pakistan demands jijya from Kufrs and collects payments from other greens for its nuke-mall.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

RamaY,

US military $$ to TSP is baksheesh to buy cooperation, limited or not. By your logic, when India reconciled with Burmese Generals even as they were slaughtering their own people, was India's intentions to see the death of ordinary Burmese?

Gleaning intentions from outcomes using a single variable model is fundamentally flawed.

Dr. Shiv,

Your analogy is flawed.

(1) Unkil isn't hurting India directly i.e. raping the wife does not apply. You can say that Unkil's behavior is akin to giving $ to a man who rapes your wife

(2) Secondly, even if you use your flawed analogy, for you to say that Unkil needs to stop aid to TSP regardless of what India does with TSP is like complaining about a man raping your wife when you yourself invited other ppl to rape her. What India does matters.

If you believe that US giving any $ to TSP is so unacceptable, then start with a boycott of any Indian politician or public figure who supports talking to TSP. Start by doing an Anna Hazare on them.
nakul

Post by nakul »

You are seeing things in a tactical frame of mind. Others are seeing in a strategic fram of mind. This is the same discrepancy that confounds people when they see America sending arms & money to Pakistan which in turn is used to support the Taliban. Tactically America is doing suicide but strategically, they are training a rabid dog that can be used when required. Having this dog has its risk as 9/11 showed but the power that dog commands and the ability to influence it is worth the rabies shots the owner has to take.

Rawngudu saar,

Your example is also an perfect example for "torn shirt open fly".
nakul

Post by nakul »

A thought:

The Cold War showed the extent the US could go limit its rival (USSR). NATO, CENTO etc ensured that countries bordering the rival were friendly with the US or its stooges. This is the same strategy US has used in its Pacific Pivot. The role of US friendly bordering nations is played by Japan, SK & Philipines. The US is treaty bound to come to their aid if attacked.

Tomorrow if US perceives India as a threat, it will use a similar strategy to surround India by allying with its neighbors and guess who will play the lynchpin, a role India is supposed to play in pinning China?

Rangudu wrote:RamaY,

US military $$ to TSP is baksheesh to buy cooperation, limited or not. By your logic, when India reconciled with Burmese Generals even as they were slaughtering their own people, was India's intentions to see the death of ordinary Burmese?

Gleaning intentions from outcomes using a single variable model is fundamentally flawed.
We are not talking about TSPA killing their own citizens, which is their internal matter.

We are talking about TSPA's cross-border terrorism. This is a concern to India.

Virupaksha wrote:Rawngudu saar,

Not to mention as insensitive as 'binders full of women.'
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

RamaY wrote:We are not talking about TSPA killing their own citizens, which is their internal matter.

We are talking about TSPA's cross-border terrorism. This is a concern to India.
That doesn't take away from the point i.e. US aid to TSPA is baksheesh to maintain influence. To assume that US *wants* Indian citizens killed and hence is funding TSPA is erroneous.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

Nope, it is an example of "Open fly, open fly" i.e. if you want Unkil to cut off TSP, then first you cut off TSP. If not, the complaint looks hypocritical.
venkat_r

Post by venkat_r »

shiv wrote: Go ahead. The forum is open. Post your opinion and I'll have my say. What I find funny is that no one worries about how or why Pakistan manages to create mouthpieces out of Indians. People are happy only to curse such Indians. But here you are getting all twisted up because I said something about USA-rakshakism. I think US mouthpieces should be criticized just like Paki mouthpieces. If you have a problem with that its tough.

Anyway this is OT - but it goes to show how much taqleef and persistent argument is caused simply by being critical of America on a forum where criticism of anything Indian or Pakistani is fair game in the name of patriotism. Chillax brother. It is OK to be patriotic about America. I understand and empathize. No need to feel guilty. But it is also OK to criticize that.
Shiv, Open forum, fair enough. The point here is that you are getting twisted over all the USA and getting yourself into a knot!! it is you who have the taqleef and developed a bile over this - i could care less. My suggestion is to suck it up.

If you think my position comes from being patriotic to America, then please get off that weed!

You are the one saying that you have an issue with America providing support to Pak military, what makes you the only Thekedar for that concern? as if only your kind of concern matters and only your solution is justified? You are simplifying the issue too much and painting everything in the same color. No matter what USA is not going to give up their engagement with PAK and as long as USA sees fit, would keep it engaged.

Well, not sure why is it generating so much takleef on this one? If you are thinking that India should take the position of any support to the Pak military is support enough!! then please chill, GOI does not have the nuts to take on much smaller stuff let alone something like that, (bothers many others other than yourself). GOI does not have a clear policy on Pakistan, what to talk about American support to PA. GOI wants Aman ki Asha and engagement, but does not want USA to engage?! Unless USA sees an alternative to the existing path, or sees grave danger, it would continue to engage PA.

I would also love to see no financial gain to Pak Military from USA, but such expectations are not based on reality and border on delusion. If this engagement has survived the American financial crisis, then nothing is going to stop it and would only be more in the future. It is what it is, suck it up and play the game. Oh yes, you are more than welcome to have an opinion, but going off extremes would bring only takleef to yourself.

On calling these absolutes, other than painting yourself in the corner, not sure what is being achieved here.

Ah, the old debate! :lol:

Rangudu wrote:

Nope, it is an example of "Open fly, open fly" i.e. if you want Unkil to cut off TSP, then first you cut off TSP. If not, the complaint looks hypocritical.
cut off is different from support.India is probably not cutting off Pakistan, but it is not supporting it either. US is the bulwark behind Pakistan.

So as I see it, "torn shirt open fly" onlee and I dont expect you to agree to it either.
venkat_r

Post by venkat_r »

Suppiah wrote:
venkat_r wrote:LoL!! Anyone who does not share your opinion should be branded as a mouth piece.
Venkat, Shivmulla's third eye was targeted most likely at myself...anyway the good doctor means well, and he has his way of stressing the point, so I ignore those remarks. Suggest do the same... :lol:
Thanks for the clarification - I have and continue to get insights and educated by his comments over the years, but on this particular topic, somehow do not understand the wit or the lesson yet
anjan

Post by anjan »

Rangudu wrote:Nope, it is an example of "Open fly, open fly" i.e. if you want Unkil to cut off TSP, then first you cut off TSP. If not, the complaint looks hypocritical.
Yes this is completely ridiculous. The over-the-top hypothetical equivalent would be if the US urged restraint and "aman" everytime the Pakis blow up stuff in India and then turned around to threaten and bomb Pakistan when similar things happen(or were planned) in their own backyard.

Oh wait...

lesson or wit is simple. There is a class of people in their minds who are both US rakshaks and India rakshaks, and many of them chose to be US rakshaks over India rakshaks when there is a conflict. Nothing wrong with that and for many US citizens of Indian origin, that is how it should be. All it is means pure India rakshaks should take care to add a pinch of salt when interacting with these dual rakshaks.

One of the most important point of conflict is treatment of Pakistan by US, which is against Indian interests.
Last edited by Virupaksha on 20 Oct 2012 02:20, edited 2 times in total.

Venkat R,

Unfortunately what you said is very true. The US can do diddly squat beyond a point to assist Pakistan against India, if India were to actually get its act together. Instead, the GOI has an imbecile like MMS at its helm who sent a dove card to Zardari after 26/11 (think of whether the US President would have sent something similar to Mush or the Saudis after 9/11), has constantly attempted to put Indian interests on the backburner and even bartered them away for "peace making". Indian decision making competence was in stark display on 26/11 as well, with NSG unable to reach the site as proper transportation was not available. Multiple terror attacks occurred before then. What did the INC helmed by MMS do? And the Indian public was ok with that. India is a kleptocracy kept in power by crony capitalism and a vast rural electorate which operates on the basis of sops, caste. Minority votebanks do the rest. The Indian middle class has nowhere to go but emigrate (and many are - amongst the 20-35 generation who don't have family concerns, running off to the US/UK assorted other countries is still a big draw). The so called civil society, voice of the middle class, are a bunch of overprivileged buffoons (whose views I have had the misfortune of listening to, first hand) & they basically serve to ensure that whatever angst the middle class generates, is suitably dissipated. Can we blame America for the farce that was Hindu terror? Can we blame the US for the deliberate go slow in terms of national security when it comes to Cold Start or the Mountain Strike Corps? Can we blame the US for the near complete mismanagement of the Indian economy, wasting valuable tax money on corruption boondoggles like MNREG and assorted Nehru-Gandhi votebank yojanas?

This blame the US screed has become a convenient scapegoat for the GOI to hide behind. Every country gets the Govt it deserves. India deserves the Govt it has, and as such thanks to the actions of our fellow Indians, other Indians pay the price. I once did a fairly detailed analysis of what the US sold/donated to the Pakistanis. Guess what? It can all be countered. But it hasn't. The politics of artificial scarcity dog our security apparatus, and as the BEML case showed, its clearly all about getting commissions. If the indigenous MIC was properly funded and allowed to be run professionally, it would deliver results, but then how would elections be run and the first family get to power? Bharat Karnad lets out no secret when he claimed markups are around 15% of the total costs & end up as commissions. Defense service chiefs are more and more political, with ex heads promptly going away on cost Governor posts or Ambassador slots. With such widespread rot, and near complete hagiography across GOI positions (check the writings of BRaman, the great strategic analyst) which ensure that only one line is pushed, you can well imagine the state of affairs in the GOI.

Frankly, the US will come and go, someother sugar daddy will replace them. The Pakistan problem will remain. The desire to win elections using the minority community as a votebank plus the weakness of certain sections of our populace going week kneed when dealing with Pakistan (common language, my granny came from Lahore etc etc) means that India will continue to suffer.

Heck, we have got so used to playing the victim thanks to GOIs incompetence, the thought that we can ever be in the drivers seat never strikes us. The US is of course going to support Pakistan when they can, to get their chestnuts out of the fire. They are bleeding in Afghanistan and want out. And short of nuclear war, they can't defang Pakistan either (if they were to contemplate that, I pretty much consider it a given, the strongest protests would come from Shri MMS and Indian leaders with their Stockholm Syndrome/ pan religious requirements). Instead of sitting and whining over what the US does or does not do, if India were to take its national objectives seriously (beginning with defining them), we could deal with Pakistan in a decades time. But that won't happen. Instead, we will be busy thinking of how to make Pakistanis rich (cross border trade), and then send them dossiers when they terrorize us. And then get all heated up when some two degree agent like Headley is implicated (never mind that thanks to Shri MMS's brainwave of normalization, who knows who many Pakistanis entered India during the cricket matches & disappeared). Our capacity for self delusion is endless.

Ah, the US is against us. So frickin' what!! They will always be against us. Its a given. What are we doing to secure our national interests to counter their actions or the Pakis? Oh yes. Hindu terror. Aman ki Asha. Cross border trade. Free electricity, oil gas, blah blah. Heres a dossier - please don't kill us. America, you nasty people - why did you give them 46 F-16s? Oh wait, we took 10+ years for our MMRCA & are still nowhere near completion (that doesn't count). And so we continue...

And for all this concern about America from our end? Again the GOI is on its own merry way The IAF - here we have the Ge414s for the LCA from the US, the Jaguar engines from the US, the P8I/ C-17/C-130s... these are the concerns of our strategists. And we sit here concerned, about how the US is mistreating us. Doesnt seem to bother the super competent GOI any
Last edited by Karan M on 20 Oct 2012 05:15, edited 1 time in total.

This might be peripheral to the argument but relevant. I heard it through little birdies so might be a totally nandi dropping but is nevertheless something to think about.

Apparently India had takleef with important Russian people visiting Pakistan and not India. It even appeared as though Putin might visit Pakistan first in his trip to this side. India apparently made its objections known to which a Russian diplomat is said to have observed (paraphrased ) how many in India clearly state Pakistan is an enemy and need to be ignored or contained? Then how can Russia afford to ignore Pakistan?

forget declaring Pakistan to be an enemy, a few of the things we did are :

1. We put Mumbai on the back burner.
2. We canceled Vijay divas celebration to not spoil atmospherics.
3. We are offerring to sell locomotives on credit which will be used to transport NATO supplies and earn Pakistan money.
4. We allow paki banks.
5. We are in the process of allowing investment from Pakistan on sectors like even IT.
6. visa on arrival to businessmen.

Looking at all these, it seems to me that Pakistan and India are chaddi buddies and unkil is actually being nice to us by being nice to our friends.
nakul

Post by nakul »

GoI is not an all out enemy of the TSP. The takleef is mostly limited to weapon purchases since they hurt us most badly. If the pappi jhappi is limited to economic help, GoI is comfortable with that. Both US & Russia have powerful arms that can hurt India when used by Pakistan. In contrast, a cheaper oil sale by SA to Pakistan is all okay (or less hurting) in GoI's eyes. It's a very slippery slope since money is a fungible commodity but I have noticed that India has mostly stood up for arms sale to Pakistan. Economic help is all fine & dandy. I don't agree with what I've said but it looks like GoI appears to follow such a strategy.

Anujanullah,

keep using that logic and someday soon lahori logic will have a new name, MassaUnkil logic.

INC might have grand plan to all their phappi jhappi for thermselves.

Virupaksha wrote:lesson or wit is simple. There is a class of people in their minds who are both US rakshaks and India rakshaks, and many of them chose to be US rakshaks over India rakshaks when there is a conflict. Nothing wrong with that and for many US citizens of Indian origin, that is how it should be. All it is means pure India rakshaks should take care to add a pinch of salt when interacting with these dual rakshaks.

One of the most important point of conflict is treatment of Pakistan by US, which is against Indian interests.
It'd be easy to take you seriously, if a) the people who think this are both US rakshaks and India rakshaks. Thats silly. There are many Indians who can see through the complete mismanagement that exists across the board in India, and the horrible quality of life concerns which result (terrorism being one among them). As matter of fact, some of the biggest pro-India boosters on this forum - who keep yacking away on how great the Indian economy is, how the future will come etc etc, are all clearly NRI expats, with their lives nicely aligned elsewhere. One worthy on the hidden forum even went so far as to claim Salman Khurshid was credited with *only* 71L corruption, never mind the cretin clearly is not living in India to even understand what that amount is worth for the average middle class Indian. Others have made their pile abroad & are now R2I or are living comfortable lives locally. Sorry, but these groups don't represent India or even middle class Indians who have to suffer complete mismanagement across the board.

Second - it'd be easy to take you seriously, if GOI had not outsourced its Pakistan policy to the US. Whenever anything happens, it is GOI which runs to the US with its tail wagging, asking for a few bones and a few angry barks from the bigger dog towards Pakistan. Its idiotic, humiliating and more importantly, shows the near complete absence of coherence in terms of a policy built around solving the Pakistan problem. In short India seems to think that its in some class wherein each time its classmate who is a bully, tries to attack it, running to the class teacher is a solution. Never mind, that its obvious even to the most dense individual that the bully has the teachers proverbials in a vice thanks to the Afghan imbroglio. Was the US responsible for us shutting down RAW ops in Pakistan? Is the US responsible for us not being able to take out LeT etc leaders in Pakistan? We are next to them. We have far more advantages in terms of local understanding than the US ever did or ever will. But India does not act. Its leaders are spineless, and its population so obsessed with caste/free sops that they really don't give a sh*t about what happens to their fellow citizens. Patriotism is transitory & comes across as a 4 day jamboree when the poor sods in the services fight during a 26/11, or during a Kargil. Its always "someone else". These are the sad facts around what India is, today.

Do remember, that it was not the US which asked us NOT to celebrate the Kargil Vijay Diwas. It was the current INC, which dubbed it a BJP war. That is the level of the GOI, and the Indian populace lets them get away with it. That includes all of us Indian citizens who are too busy slaving for our two bits of daily bread & cannot show the GOI the contempt it deserves for its actions. And this is taken advantage of, to the hilt.

It has nothing to do with being America rakshaks or India rakshaks. It has everything to do with the fact that denial only goes so far. India's problems are no longer predominantly due to the US or whatever. They are due to the actions of Indians, labouring under delusions plus a very selfish desire to make as much money as possible before the game ends.

ramana wrote:INC might have grand plan to all their phappi jhappi for thermselves.
Sire, there is no great plan. There is a very simple logic based on two points.

First, the Indian Muslim community is a votebank and for various reasons, the Pakistanis are considered an extension of that votebank. If you argue with the average Indian middle class guy, chances are that if you speak against the Pakistanis no holds barred, you will be called communal. I have observed it several times.

So yes, the INC /leftists have successfully managed to conflate the two in the mindspace of many Indians - at least the so called well educated civil society types who speak for the middle class.

Second, nuclear weapons. Unlike this forums great self belief that the Pakistanis have no nuclear weapons, the GOI does not believe that. By developing nukes, the Pakistanis scored a huge victory over the Indian establishment, which led to the almost complete no holds barred terror attacks against the Indian mainland. Overt war is now a difficult proposition. Thanks to point 1 - i.e. we can't touch them poor M's, that's not secular logic, India has not paid the Pakistanis back using a similar covert war. The end result is the average Indian's life is expendable.

But not that of the elite.

In 26/11 - go take a look at the photos - and I'd ask the super patriots in their early 20's or teens thronging this forum (not you) to do in particular. Compare their gear. Ill fitting BPJs, WW2 style steel helmets - these were the reserve troops brought in. That was the state of affairs, despite NSG asking for gear. Meanwhile, see the SPG guys posing in their designer eyewear, color coordinated outfits. The IAF gets its Airbus 330s rejected first time around on cost. The politicians AW-101s - fitted with the best defensive gear - gets approved asap.
This is the reality of India. The common citizen does not matter.

See the INC has figured out a good way to run this country.
Big business is coopted. 2G Scam f.e.
Rural poor is given the entire sop treatment. NREG etc. Victim mentality on the basis of caste oppression is constantly drummed up (but not solved)
Minorities - the swing guys are of course, the ace in the hole.
The media keeps the middle class befuddled. You wouldn't believe the number of folks there are who hang on every word the Sagarika's, the Sardesai's say.
For extra money to grease the wheels - you have scams, arms deals etc.

Its a top to bottom money making apparatus.

Basically, Pakistani terrorism does not matter. Gated enclaves, fancy layers of security, complete and total loot at every level.

I find the blame the US logic to be ludicrous now. The past decade has been completely wasted for India, and this country has been looted across the board, with the willing participation of huge segments of the Indian populace, who now consider it their entitlement to get whatever they can from the Govt, which of course doles it out for votes. The average law abiding Indian is a fool in the process, and the rural Indian who contributes elsewhere (raw material for the services) has no other options (none that he knows of, or cares).

Our so called elite (including our IIX folk who should know better) have also been coopted into the NDTV/IBN mindset and are only now waking up, realizing that all the high paying cushy lifestyles they saw on TV are not coming around anytime soon. So they'll emigrate. The rest of us will muddle along as we always did, with mouths open, eyes suitably shocked when an IAC talks about a Vadra or a Kalmadi is exposed. Meanwhile, theres always the 24/7 saltmine that is the week, to take the edge off of our outrage, to ensure that the venal, vapid administration that is GOI, gets away

Karan M ji,
calm down and reread what others have said and not said.

Your logic when drilled down to its essentials, because India is not taking any actions against Pakistan, US is justified and infact has taken the correct approach to support Pakistan with arms against India.

and then people wonder why Hakeem ji has so much fun piskoing on this line of thought.

Virupaksha wrote:Anujanullah,

keep using that logic and someday soon lahori logic will have a new name, MassaUnkil logic.
No, that's Indian logic & you just displayed the classical issue that plagues most Indians. When faced with uncomfortable facts, we play the man & not the ball. And the man, as long as he is not powerful enough to harm us, in which case our love of hierarchy comes out, and its sir, sir.

In this case, what did Anujan say that was massaunkil whatever? He's speaking of Russia. The Russians, being blunt, coarse and to the point (see their views on India anytime, by visiting Russian boards to at least get a feel of what they think of us & how they talk), have put their fingers on the nub of the matter. And that is, that we have NO LOCUS STANDI to tell the rest of the world, to disengage from Pakistan, when we are busy rolling over for Pakistanis! When after umpteen terror attacks, the so called national newspaper runs a campaign for appeasement and gets away with it, when a PM trots out policy after policy which is pro Pakistani in nature, when India itself hems and haws about what to do with Pakistan....with what logic can we ask ANYONE ELSE to be anti Pakistan?

Every country out there, with half a brain to be shared amongst its diplomats would seize upon this, and bring it up.

Meanwhile, what negotiating power do we have with the Russians beyond our arms purchases? And thats a double edge street. Yes, we can hurt them by moving away, but if they too play the hard game, right now, significant sections of our conventional warfighting capability will be hurt. It is Indian Generals who, for the sake of ego and hamfisted obduracy paid lip service to the Arjun project and ran to the malfunctioning T-90s first chance they got. It is the Indian MOD which fiddled while HAL burnt, and consigned the HF-24 to the ashes (with an arrogant, disinterested, cheap import addicted IAF watching by) and is now paying the price while we relearn lessons which we have forgotten with the LCA. And even that project - run on a shoestring, ad hoc support & delays as such baked into the process as a given. So what do we do? We rush to the Russians for their FGFA, which we are to gloriously remake in India.

The Russians, no the Americans, the French, pretty much everyone - sees the keystone kops attitude that is GOI (which deliberately keeps its few centers of excellence at a level where they don't supplant these easy commission earning imports) & knows its days are made.

It is perhaps our biggest saving grace that the Pakistanis, are even more venal than can be & don't believe in paying taxes or letting their Govt be. Otherwise, their economy may have been busy enough to give the Russians and other ideas. As such, they are busy chugging along on US money, using that money for every program there is, but where is India's response? Where are our human equivalents to the drones, our covert capabilities, our ability to make the Pakistanis do the H&D farce that they engage the Americans with? No sire, our response is a craven PM, who kowtows to the Pakistanis & considers them reasonable folks.

That is not massa-unkil logic, or russian logic. It is Indian logic, of whatever kind with parallels in other cultures - whether we call it cowardice, or akin to being a dhimmi or stockholm syndrome or as we indians call it "what does it matter to his father", after all he is protected, and it is no skin off his nose if terrorists attack

That is the reality.

ramana wrote:INC might have grand plan to all their phappi jhappi for thermselves.
To paraphrase P.T. Barnum, nobody ever went broke by underestimating the intelligence of the Great Indian Political Class.

matrimc wrote:
Rudradev wrote:Can we seriously believe there's no US intent to contain India behind all this?
RD ji,

The answer is yes. Sorry if I come across as insensitive but the fact of the matter is India is a collateral damage in US's machinations to remain the world's top dog. I don't think India has any leverage to change US behavior. That needs to be built up and what Shiv ji is proposing - rub the US the wrong way - is not going to cut it. Mind you, I am not saying that we have to roll over and play dead but there is a middle way.
What does "insensitive" have to do with it? I haven't asked a question that addresses the "morality", "righteousness" or any other parameter of emotional validity regarding the situation. It's an entirely factual question.

Does the US intend to contain India when it freely supplies hundreds of millions of dollars' worth of completely India-specific armaments to Pakistan? Whether they are "right", "wrong", "good" or "evil" by implication is completely irrelevant. Are you saying that this intention on the part of the US does not exist? If you are (which is what I understand from "the answer is yes")...then you haven't substantiated that contention with anything else in your post.

Virupaksha wrote:Karan M ji,

Your logic when drilled down to its essentials, because India is not taking any actions against Pakistan, US is justified and infact has taken the correct approach to support Pakistan with arms against India.

and then people wonder why Hakeem ji has so much fun piskoing on this line of thought.
Virupaksha,

Dear sir, you cannot even understand what I have written (since you have deliberately chosen to misrepresent what i wrote) and want ME to calm down & read what "others have said and not said". Hilarious!!

When will you wake up & realize that India's problems with Pakistan will exist irrespective of the US, or whichever sugar daddy supports Pakistan for a few years?

First, this is what I said - read this. I said that it is irrelevant what the US does beyond a point, because India does have options to deal with Pakistan & can do so. It chooses not to do so. You cannot blame this on the US.

Second - whether it be the US, or UK or Russia or China - they all have national interests & will continue to persist with those. There are NO ethics involved whatsoever. In fact, whats shameful is that we appear to be the only ones running around with no clue of what our interests (as defined by Indians are). As versus putting our decision makers in ABC security, and letting the rest fend for ourselves.

Hakeem ji or you, or whosoever "piskoing away" will not change this fact, either. That's plain & bloody denial. It may give us a few jollies to stick it up those America rakshaks (and yes, there are a few) but it won't change the reality we face, that the US is busy watching the trainwreck that is Indian policy, and is along for the ride. They may be no better, but hey, I don't give a fig about America - my concern is about India!

What concerns me (and clearly doesnt concern you) is the fact that India shows no signs of waking up. Instead, a country with 1.2 Billion people, sits and whines about a country located half the world away, and then runs to that same country to save its own interests!! And then complains anyhow? As if that country will oblige! Which fools paradise are we living in, and what for? First, we recognize or classify them as either anti India or plain disinterested/callous (whichever side you pick) and yet we expect them to care? Hello - the big issue here is what WE think and what WE do. If we were even a bit serious, consistent about Pakistan, it would be the US running to India, to contain LET and the rest and begging us for intelligence to protect the US.

Who the heck cares what the US thinks beyond a point - do you seriously think they can contain India if it had its act together? Are they to blame for the corruption that has stifled our development? Have you even looked at what the US gave Pakistan and what India could have done to counter it? The amount lost in a couple of our scams would have done enough to revamp our entire MIC to compensate, outperform and then some. That is the reality! That is what India could have done but has CHOSEN not to do. This entire blame the US, blame the xyz stuff is a smokescreen! Wake up.

The US will leave in a few years, China will be the next sugar daddy or whatever, Pakistan remains! And what are we doing to solve it as versus whining about folks who are SURE to not have our interests first & foremost

Rangudu wrote:RD,

Boss, my sincere request for you to get to the point, i.e the 'elevator pitch'. I just don't have the time, unlike before, to digest long posts.
R-man, please forgive the length of my posts. Like you, I have much less time to spend on BR than I did once. That's why I hardly ever post anymore. However, when I do post, I want to be as clear as possible about what I mean to say, no matter how nuanced. So I take the time, and write posts detailed enough to exclude as much ambiguity as I can.
To your reply above, here's what I'd say:

(1) I did not say Unkil needs to keep 'options open', but rather, Unkil needs to keep lines of comm to TSPA. The price for that is a certain level of $$$ flowing. Even in the past, Unkil has certified whatever Congress asked for, even in the face of evidence to the contrary. None of this is evidence of mal-intent against India, because by definition any help to keep TSP afloat eventually hurts India, with money being fungible and weapons being redeployable etc.
I disagree. Some types of Unkil largesse are more fungible than others, and a distinction must be made. Money can be spent anywhere. Some types of weapons can plausibly be used against the Taliban (though certainly against India as well.) However, armaments specific for air-to-air combat, naval combat and anti-armour combat have no conceivable use for Pakistan other than to target India. Can the supply of these armaments to Pakistan by the US be explained away as "keeping lines of communication open" without necessarily implying mal-intent towards India? Not in my view.
(2) My other point was regarding this recent, specific situation of Hillary 'waiving' terror reqs to keep TSPA $$ flowing. My point is that this waiver is in no way unique or earth shattering as my friend CRS suggests. It is actually part of the same Congress-Executive dance around TSPA perfidies that has gone on for ages. The only difference, if anything, is that by using the 'waiver' clause vs. a fake 'WE certify TSPA is good' clause, what we are seeing is the clear deterioration of ties.
Agreed, it's not earth-shattering... and the waiver, at least technically, represents a deterioration of US-TSP ties relative to erstwhile carte-blanche certification. Still, I caution against making too much of this. There is a US-India-rah-rah lobby which, for example, has spun things like the Pressler Amendment as evidence of US sensitivity to Indian concerns, when in reality it was anything but.
(3) Finally, you (and CRS) need to consider that by Congress enacting this requirement, it forced the Executive branch to make a call on decisive TSPA when they are not at that stage. That tail cannot wag the dog here. If you are in a crappy job but are unsure of other opportunities, issuing ultimatums might force you to keep the current job, for example. At the moment, Unkil needs TSPA's ear, so he will pay the baksheesh. That doesn't mean that this is all India driven. The world doesn't revolve around us.
Again, I see two separate things.

First: Congress, by enacting the requirement, added a stick component to the aid carrot that's traditionally been offered to TSPA by the Executive. This was intended to give Unkil an additional amount of leverage, with which Unkil hoped to convince TSPA to do his bidding. Clearly though, that stick component has failed to extract the required results from TSPA... as witnessed by the fact that, despite TSP perfidy, the Executive has simply junked the stick and passed on the carrot anyway. TSPA has successfully called Congress' bluff regarding the stick. This represents a failure of US policy in AfPak, and it is Unkil's problem. It may be because of the US not having any option or for whatever reason; it's still Unkil's problem, not ours.

Second: A large of the aid given by Unkil to Pakistan consists of India-specific weaponry that has undeniably damaging implications for India's national security. This is not just Unkil's problem; it is our problem. The question to ask ourselves now, is whether we are OK with Unkil implementing a solution to his problem, that in turn creates a problem for us. I don't think we need to apologize to anyone for adopting an India-centric view of our national security.

matrimc wrote:
RD ji,

Anyone who proposes rubbing the US the wrong way overtly, when India has so many requirements, has so much to do to meet the aspirations of its ever growing population, is talking of wasting decades of time, which we cannot afford to lose. Right now, take a look at any industry. There are US companies in some part of the value chain as the top dogs, and the rest is made up by their allies (Japan, Korea ) effectively creating a cartel. Net, take on the US & the cartel hits back.

The Chinese figured the game out early. Coopt where possible (business), get the technology, but ringfence the strategic sectors & decision making. And the end result is 33% of WW EDSM manufacturing is currently Chinese. India should be somewhere around 1% - if we are lucky. And the Chinese have built up their military as well. This despite severely flawed and wasteful bureaucratic decision making & rampant corruption.

No, the answer is straightforward. Ringfence India & almost completely insulate it from Pakistan at whatever level, throwing out all the pappi jhappi/leftist idiots from positions of influence. Keep them only in the track2 /MEA jamborees as useful performing apes. And build up both overt capabilities and covert capabilities to deter the Pakistanis and discipline them as necessary.
PV Narasimha Rao was said to have a policy with Pakistan consisting of talk, talk, hit, hit. That is what we need to do with Pakistan. In contrast, when 26/11 happened, a proINC weekly solemnly reported that a proposal to evaluate covert options against Pakistan was shot down by then czar MKN with the imperious point "we are a democracy, we can't do this". Yes, beating up women during peaceful protests (and sending one to her deathbed) is ok, pogroms are ok (as long as they dont affect votebanks) but hey, nothing against our so called secular pretensions/image. Unfortunately, it is this complete lack of accountability (responsibility for the lives of ordinary Indians), that allows ministers to snore when trains collide, or terrorists attack. "Such things happen in big cities".

Virupaksha wrote:Karan M ji,

Virupaksha,

Dear sir, you cannot even understand what I have written (since you have deliberately chosen to misrepresent what i wrote) and want ME to calm down & read what "others have said and not said". Hilarious!!

When will you wake up & realize that India's problems with Pakistan will exist irrespective of the US, or whichever sugar daddy supports Pakistan for a few years?

Your frustration with the Indian rulership is widely shared and merits discussion elsewhere. But in this context, shiv is on the right track and I am afraid you are missing the point.

Without US support, Pakistan would be like Voldemort without the body, a pathetic and harmless if malevolent creature. All of Indians' character defects would not matter in this context--TSP would simply be the cancerous gene that never has the conditions to express itself.

To my unserstanding, Shiv asserted a clear intent of wanting to remove US support to Pakistan, with no regard whatsoever for India having to jump through any hoops a priori, in terms of correcting its own character defects, which may well include dhimmitude or servility. The Russians, Mongolians, Klingons and whoever can simply go to hell if they mock us for being servile to pakis while demanding that they--klingons et al--stop strengthening the pakis.

Think about it. Can there be a more liberated declaration of intent to look out for India with no ifs or buts?

Do you love India like you love your mother? If so, wouldn't you make it an absolute commitment to defang outside attackers by hook or crook, even if, so to speak, your mother somehow presented a vulnerable face, or your siblings were facilitating the attacker?

It may be quixotic in the real world, but everything starts with intent. Even in the real world, see how S. Korea is servile to the North but has no problem checking it militarily plus expecting the US to participate in its defense. So, the contradiction matters only if you think it should matter.

KLNM, Nicely put.

There's also a problem with these arguments that say "you have no right to complain about Unkil because GOI's Pakistan policy is so bad onlee"... in that they are completely muddled over who they mean by "you".

This isn't a GOI discussion or think tank. It's a forum of private citizens who discuss and analyze current events as they relate to Indian interests and strategic security. The private citizens on this forum aren't answerable for GOI policy. To accuse them of "whining" when they point out US perfidy, on the basis that GOI isn't doing enough to secure Indian interests, is completely facile.

indeed, RD.

Let us reiterate that this is bharat rakshak forum, not bharat vimarshak or bharat sudharak.