Beheading of Indian Soldiers in Aug 2011 and Aman ki Asha

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Beheading of Indian Soldiers in Aug 2011 and Aman ki Ash

Can someone explain what's being talked about?.

Some one was telling me that Shani is in aggressive mode and will unmask all charlatans.

Sad that Nirupama Rao is among them.

The great hedge of India was not to keep any one out.It was a British measure to collect salt tax.
So dear go back to school before twitting.

What Vikram Sood is asking for is something like the a fence to keep pests.

ramana garu, see how they are all spinning stuff. They are all experienced and they know that the all the track-2 diplomacies with TSP are failures. However, they keep this spins and resume in one form or other. These are not just getting a grip on how to deal with a failed state that is supported by two top powers of the times.

Ramanaji,

Why don't we tweet such information using our BRF account? Who manages BRF tweeter account?

Defence Ministry formally confirms beheading of soldier

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/d ... 302013.ece

ANI ‏@ANI_news
This whole story of woman crossing over is laughable....Indian army doesn't cross the border because a lady crosses over : Gen Parnaik

nitin gokhale ‏@nitingokhale
Northern Army Commander: Story of 70 yr old going across from India is a laughable story. She went in 2011 & not on Sept 11. story is false

The Hindu NEWS FLASH: It cannot be business as usual with Pak after this barbaric act: Manmohan

abhishek_sharma wrote:The Hindu NEWS FLASH: It cannot be business as usual with Pak after this barbaric act: Manmohan
Then show some action. Put a pause on the visa on arrival of the shit. All these words we are hearing for a long time

What a zero! He hasn't raised the nail on his pinky of his left hand despite the 26/11 atrocities and is now breathing fire and brimstone a week after the barbaric act!

Anyway,at least the mouse has roared .One must be thankful for small mercies.His mighty squeak might at least send a signal to Salman-the-Kursed\,to stiffen the spineless back of the mandarins of the MEA and boot out a few Paki diplomutts to save India;s face.
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

Philip wrote:What a zero! He hasn't raised the nail on his pinky of his left hand despite the 26/11 atrocities and is now breathing fire and brimstone a week after the barbaric act!

Anyway,at least the mouse has roared .One must be thankful for small mercies.His mighty squeak might at least send a signal to Salman-the-Kursed\,to stiffen the spineless back of the mandarins of the MEA and boot out a few Paki diplomutts to save India;s face.

Stating the obvious is the practise of a fool. It was the COAS first and now manmoron Singh. Reminds me always of the blunts in a group of sharps. The blunts always stated the obvious or were the last ones to laugh at a joke. Curiously enough, they laughed the loudest. Honestly, if you look at Bikram Singh and manmoron Singh's face side by side it looks like a before and after picture. What a bunch of clowns !! I wouldn't be surprised if he is planning another Sharm-el-Sheikh

On a side note, why is not Narendra Modi in front of the TV about this? Should be helpful to show how different it could be as compared to the flaccid manmoron Singh.

-M

GAURAV C. SAWANT ‏@gauravcsawant
Army sources: Pak army appears to be replenishing resources - moving men & materiel along LoC (but using existing resources - no additions)

Shiv Aroor ‏@ShivAroor
Woah! RT @SushmaSwarajbjp: The Prime Minister has understood our point of view and mood of the nation and responded accordingly.

Rahul Kanwal ‏@rahulkanwal
3 Service Chiefs had detailed meeting with PM yesterday. Briefed him on Pak violations. Army has got green signal for 'tactical response.'

abhishek_sharma wrote:Shiv Aroor ‏@ShivAroor
Woah! RT @SushmaSwarajbjp: The Prime Minister has understood our point of view and mood of the nation and responded accordingly.
Trust D4 to rescue MMS time & again.

Shiv Aroor ‏@ShivAroor
Army Chief Gen Bikram Singh with families of martyrs and others on #ArmyDay.

abhishek_sharma wrote: Rahul Kanwal ‏@rahulkanwal
3 Service Chiefs had detailed meeting with PM yesterday. Briefed him on Pak violations. Army has got green signal for 'tactical response.'
Does 'tactical response' include or exclude surgical airstrikes and what does Army has got green signal mean? If we have Browne Sir engaging media on a dailybasis airstrikes should be on table. I am so confused. :roll:

Headlines Today ‏@HeadlinesToday
Video: Salman Khurshid downplays Army chief's stern message to Pak, says govt will handle the crisis. http://bit.ly/Y7lLzu
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

Shiv Aroor ‏@ShivAroor

Hmm..2 jawans killed, both brutalized and one beheaded, a week goes by and PM man moron singh has finally understood the 'mood of the nation'. Why does he need to understand the 'mood of the nation' to give a go ahead for retaliation and retribution for this act? This implies that if this would have ended up being not such a big news, it would have been business as usual. I am surprised, with these clowns at the helm, we haven't lost any territory yet.

-M
Last edited by Mihaylo on 15 Jan 2013 20:41, edited 1 time in total.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Adamant' Pak violates LoC ceasefire thrice after flag meet

when read with :
Video: Salman Khurshid downplays Army chief's stern message to Pak, says govt will handle the crisis. http://bit.ly/Y7lLzu
It only means, there is only Aman ki Asha, this poll is skewed and may be rigged too, the option 1 wins hands down. Our Armed forces can do nothing. It's all hot air. Give it few more days, business as usual...

Mihaylo wrote:Shiv Aroor ‏@ShivAroor

Hmm..2 jawans killed, both brutalized and one beheaded, a week goes by and PM man moron singh has finally understood the 'mood of the nation'. Why does he need to understand the 'mood of the nation' to give a go ahead for retaliation and retribution for this act? This implies that if this would have ended up being not such a big news, it would have been business as usual. I am surprised, with these clowns at the helm, we haven't lost any territory yet.

-M
I may be the incorrigible optimist but may be some super secret special operation was accomplished but the results were not published because of various reasons. "Responded Accordingly" is past tense. Something was already done?

^^ here "responded" refers to PM's message that it will not be "business as usual with Pakistan".
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Altair garu, that is a chanikian spin. When the nation is feeling let down, what is the point of a 'silent behind the scenes' action that one can't speak off? defending the nation openly has to come to this?

abhishek_sharma wrote:^^ here "responded" refers to PM's message that it will not be "business as usual with Pakistan".
So a 5 word ( NOT BE BUSINESS AS USUAL) is defined as response by our Prime Minister to 2 severed heads of sons of nation defending our country ?
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

Altair wrote:
abhishek_sharma wrote:^^ here "responded" refers to PM's message that it will not be "business as usual with Pakistan".
So a 5 word ( NOT BE BUSINESS AS USUAL) is defined as response by our Prime Minister to 2 severed heads of sons of nation defending our country ?

Be grateful and feel blessed Saar. Pradhan Mantri ji has understood the mood of the nation. No other Pradhan Mantri in the past has been able to do that.

-M
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Live! Pak violates ceasefire, fires at 2 Indian posts
Pak violates ceasefire, fires at 2 Indian posts: The Pakistan Army violated the ceasefire along the Line of Control for the fourth time since the flag meeting on Monday by firing across the border at two Indian Army posts at Mendhar sector in Jammu and Kashmir.

venug wrote:Live! Pak violates ceasefire, fires at 2 Indian posts
Pak violates ceasefire, fires at 2 Indian posts: The Pakistan Army violated the ceasefire along the Line of Control for the fourth time since the flag meeting on Monday by firing across the border at two Indian Army posts at Mendhar sector in Jammu and Kashmir.
Considering that Pakistan is at it again on the LoC, trying to send in Jihadis, it is time to recycle some of my previous suggestions.

X-Posting a post of RajeshA from "Managing Pakistan's failure" Thread posted on 08 Aug 2011

Responding to the Pakistani Jihadism in Kashmir

We have 2 scenarios:

1) Pakistan bombards villages and Indian army positions across the LoC. We take casualties, we retaliate, but we try not to escalate, as we do not want a wider war.

2) India and Pakistan have a tense LoC with occasional firing, but basically the artillery is silent. The Pakistanis concentrate on cross-border terrorism, on pushing trained terrorists over into Indian land, especially in the Kashmir sector. This cause an uptick in terror activity, in insurgency, especially in Kashmir sector. Our jawans lose lives fighting scum.

In both these scenarios, we lose! We need to make Pakistan pay for its infiltration of terrorists and cross-border terrorism in Kashmir. But fighting terrorists in Indian land, where they get some support from the local populace is going to be a difficult task, and that task needs to be done. But this is also a very easy strategy for Pakistan to keep on pushing irregulars and motivated Jihadis over into India without any consequences. We die and they live and make merry!

We need to go after targets, which are easily visible and identifiable as Pakistani Army targets, where Pakistanis feel the pain, but which does not cause an escalation. These targets also have to be held accountable for the infiltration of terrorists into Indian territory, so that we can justify hitting them as a "dissuading measure".

Let's consider a scenario where India enters into an undeclared war with Pakistan on the LoC. We keep a constant bombardment of Pakistani position all along the LoC. Killing 15-20 Pakistani army-men per day on an average should become an Indian policy. We target their positions very precisely, and kill only their army men, and no civilians. We can keep on doing this from Indian side of the border initially using our very precise artillery guns.

As India develops and procures better surveillance systems, artillery guidance systems, guns with more firepower, India would have the initiative in hand to push back Pakistani forces from the LoC as and when we like to. We should do this using artillery and not make use of drones and the like, because firing across the LoC is a known phenomenon, and a "peaceful" mode of interaction between two hostile neighbors, and not a cause of war.

No position on the Pakistani side up to 30 kms from LoC should be secure for more than a week of setting it up. Any Pakistanis manning those positions are either sent to get their 72s or have to retire with injuries and wail over their depreciating pensions.

It is all about making Pakistanis get used to taking the pain without protesting too much. It is about Pakistan sitting in the dentist's chair, getting a root canal treatment, and withering it out year after year, something like we have been doing with all the terrorism. Another similar treatment is the way drone attacks on Pakistani territory have been carried out by the USA, and Pakistanis have been forced to accept them. We can gradually build up the level of bombardment, so that it gives Pakistanis sufficient time to get used to taking an ever-increasing level of punishment.

Also any consignment of similar artillery guns that Pakistan buys should be sabotaged or intercepted before they can enter service.

In fact, bombing Pakistan across the LoC should become so commonplace, that it should have no effect on good relations between India and Pakistan. Their Foreign Minister should be entertained in India on a regular basis. We should be playing cricket and all the fun stuff. Blowing up Pakistani positions on the LoC should in fact be our peacetime policy.

While politically we keep the relations "warm", the LoC should always be kept hot, with Indians being very aggressive about it. However we should keep our rhetoric to a minimum. It should always be justified on the basis, that "Pakistani positions were providing cover for terrorist infiltrators and hence they had to be persuaded to relocate", or that "Pakistani positions were using artillery to bomb civilians on this side of the LoC, so they were being incentivized to cease firing! Otherwise we are in favor of having a peaceful LoC!" Even as we put out such statements we should keep on destroying Pakistani positions.

Furthermore we can use our "friendships" with GCC countries, Iran, USA and even PRC to advise the Pakistanis not to escalate, and diffuse tensions, not as moderators, but as messengers, even as they push these countries to put pressure on us to cease bombing, something we don't need to abide by. Moreover firing across the LoC is something that has been taking place at various levels of intensity throughout our history, so it it can be sold to the international community as almost a "natural" happening, nothing to lose one's sleep over.

We should in fact use Pakistan's proclivity for saving its H&D over speaking the truth for our benefit. We should in fact let them know that if they don't shout and beat the war drums, India too would not brag about killing Pakistani Army men, hurting their H&D.

All this is to keep the possibility of escalation low.

With time, we should also proceed to take over land from them, even as we deny doing this. It would keep us on the offensive and it would keep Pakistan's echandee intact. If they admit that their land has been taken over, they would have a severe loss of H&D, so they should keep it quiet and simply take the punishment quietly.

With terrorism they retain the psychological pressure on Indians. With regular artillery-firing across the LoC, destroying their positions and bunkers, we regain the psychological advantage.
Last edited by RajeshA on 15 Jan 2013 21:31, edited 1 time in total.

So someone woke up MMS and told him this was different and needs a repsonse without the "theek hai".

When these Paik barbarians violate the ceaefire what sort of arms are used?
And why not up the ante to make them aware of the risk of violating the ceasefire?

And what are the area commanders waiting for after being given public orders by Army chief and the PM to respond?

Salman Khurshi* is talking above his level. They guy just undermined the PM's bluster. He needs to know when to shutup. Its not like stealing from handicapped people all the time.

ramana wrote:So someone woke up MMS and told him this was different and needs a repsonse without the "theek hai".

When these Paik barbarians violate the ceaefire what sort of arms are used?
And why not up the ante to make them aware of the risk of violating the ceasefire?
Violation of ceasefire is almost a daily occurrence.
And what are the area commanders waiting for after being given public orders by Army chief and the PM to respond?
They are waiting for all this to get out of media attention and Paki's to lower their guard (they are waiting for us to respond) before IA responds. India doesn't want an escalation into a limited conflict.
Salman Khurshi* is talking above his level. They guy just undermined the PM's bluster. He needs to know when to shutup. Its not like stealing from handicapped people all the time.
His job is to keep the west happy - which probably led to the "we are not going to be pressured into revenge" line. Doubt he is in the inner circle.

You are right in pointing out that PM with his big statement just shot himself in the foot. Its weird because he appealed to BJP guys saying please don't politicise the issue and then he comes out with this statement.
Last edited by shyamd on 15 Jan 2013 21:49, edited 1 time in total.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Why not test TATA 155 mm guns? test them vigorously. Let the 'routine violations' continue, we can test the guns, may be few sortie runs to demolish training camps across the border would help tpp, they can always deny existence of training camps once obliterated.

Ceasefire Violations
Terming the killing of Indian soldiers and decapitating one of them by Pakistani Army as 'barbaric', Lt General Parnaik added, "On January 8, Pakistan breached the LoC on Mendhar sector, in a very barbaric act and mutilated our soldiers. It violates the Geneva Convention and violates the ceasefire agreement. My heart goes out to the families of these two soldiers."
He also said that Pakistan was continuously violating ceasefire and stopped only after warnings from India. "We had the meeting on January 14, on the night of Jan 13 and 14 they fired motors. We spoke to them on the hotline, we asked them that when they have agreed for a meeting, why were they violating the ceasefire. We told them we are recording all of this, their firing stopped then," Lt Gen Parnaik said.
Need of the hour could be surveillance drones watching the soldiers back followed by bombing drones serving as reinforcements in quick time.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Usual Business is - constantly failing but repetitive peace talks blah blah. "Cannot be Business as usual" -indicates no more of such peace talks. How long will this new statement stand its ground? We have to definitely come up with a plan, retaliate with equal force, each time a Violation/LOC killing occurs, we go in and bring back a head. We do not escalate it to the level of an all out war, just a measured response.This will keep press from sensationalising things and we will get the tit for tat revenge.I wonder however, if such a policy would discourage further foolish attempts, these guys are quite hardened by the pressures within, and can react impulsively, changing tactics each time.We need to anticipate where exactly they will make their moves, and respond well in time and nullify each attempt.Main thing is we must not lose another head.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Can't we have robots to handle regular patrolling? The soldiers were taken by surprise in the fog, a robot would do well even in fog.

No need for gadgets that will introudce another element of delay in the loop. It would help if the PM decides to confide in the Indian Armed forces so they can expect some hera-pheri by TSPA. It would help if the NSA does some thinking/gaming instead of hold chai biskoot sessions with US. The piss process of sending Hurrirats to meet with Hafiz Suar backfired. Suar's reaction is that of any enraged suar who finds his options closing. So he and his TSPA backers decided to up the nate by beheading as a calling card and answer to the Hurrirats offer. NSA who I guess is th epoint man on this process should ahve expected the various optiosn for the suars and acted accordingly. Thinking that it will be confied to only some area is not mature.

He forgets NS stands for National Secuirty. Ie all aspects not just politicians protection.

Having said that IA should always expect the TSPA to be barbaric. I don't know how many times they need to be remindied of that from 1948. Dharmic tales of forgive and forget are just tales and not for reality.
After all is said and done this public beheading has occured on Gen. Bikram Singh's watch and he waffled.
We have Gen Thapar all over again.

It is shameful when an IA officer is accused of doing his duty. But it is more despicable and clearly with malicious intent when an officer who was on leave is blamed for "starting' the LoC firing issue. And Lt Gen Parikar has already made it clear that the old woman crossed over in 2011.

If Praveen Swami and The Hindu have any decency and ethics left, they should should apologize on the front page of their newspaper for casting aspersions on an officer doing his duty.

I was on leave: Army officer blamed for LoC provocation
Brigadier GS Rawat, Commander of the 161 Brigade in Uri, blamed by sections of the local and national media for provoking the most gruesome Pakistani attack on Indian Armymen in recent memory in Poonch district of Jammu on January 8, has vehemently denied the allegation.
"I was on leave from December 26 to January 8, 2013," Rawat told HT after the GOC of the Srinagar-based 15 Corps, Lt General Om Prakash, defended him in an interview in local newspapers in Srinagar on Monday.

Rawat, who has been accused of aggressive action following a low-grade exchange of fire that night, said Indian troops at the border exercised maximum restraint.
"Two Pakistani soldiers were killed in the crossfire but there were no face-to-face clashes as reported by the media," Rawat said. "We value the lives of our civilians. We know that troops from the other side will target residents of our border villages. So, we exercise maximum possible restraint," he said.
It is a shame that Gen Rawat was accused unfairly in a major newspaper, and that he had to publicly defend himself. At least the IA is defending its officers for doing their duty.
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

The Hindu newspaper is really lead by a Resident Non-Indian (defender of American interests and American citizen Sidharth Varadarajan). Time to rename DDM to RNI-MM -- RNI Media Mafia.

The number of spins that were fabricated to blame Indians and ease the pressure off the a$$ of Porki inbreds is mind boggling.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

^^^ That clearly tells you where this Praveen Swami got his news from, he shameless defended his story. Some traitors we have in the name of journalists. No idea how they can sleep at night. It is one thing to get get the time line wrong, it is malicious to fabricate and create a story for personal benefit. No idea how he got those awards. Must have sold his mother too. Good job Praveen, you will come up in life, in telugu movie "Akali rajyam", Kamal Hasan says "vedavallara, vardillandi" translates to "scoundrels, prosper!", fits well with him.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Media sucks so bad, yet its as important as your underwear!

http://nishkamya.wordpress.com/2011/08/ ... apology-3/

Beheading incident in Aug 2011 which happened just after the visit of Khar Houri just like this time it happened immediately after visit of Rehman malik the interior minister who signed Visa agreement with India.

First the belated acknowledgement
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/behea ... h/1059111/
He revealed that Pakistani army had beheaded two Indian soldiers earlier also. "Yes, this has happened. We cannot conceal this fact," he said when asked whether two jawans of Kumaon regiment had been beheaded by Pakistani army over a year back.
On August 1st, four Indian soldiers from 20 Kumaon were beheaded by the Pakistan’s Border Area Team which stormed across the line of control (I refuse to say Indian territory because it is all Indian territory). We have heard varied claims from the Indian Government as to how many soldiers died but I prefer to believe people in the defense services and their relatives.
Such was the mutilation that the families of the soldiers were requested not to lift the shrouds covering their bodies. Quoting Army officials, the report identifies the two martyrs as Havildar Jaipal Singh Adhikari and Lance Naik Devender Singh. A third jawan, from 19 Rajput Regiment, was shot dead. His name has not been disclosed.
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/jamm ... 47238.html
In a barbaric incident, which has shocked army officials, Pakistan-trained militants beheaded two soldiers and dumped their bodies during an encounter to check infiltration attempt near the Line of Control (LoC) in Kupwara district of Kashmir late last month.

It is suspected that the militants killed the jawans from the 20 Kumaon regiment, beheaded the duo and reportedly retained their heads as war trophies.

But, the army officials are not willing to accept the tragic story, as it might have an impact on the morale of the armed forces waging anti- terror operations in J& K. A jawan of 19 Rajput, who was part of the patrol party, also died in the cross- fire.

A senior Army official, requesting anonymity, disclosed that the two men of Kumaon regiment were killed and their heads were chopped off. Their bodies were also mutilated, he said.

The incident happened around Pak foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar's visit to the country, in the last week of July, disclosed the officer.

The martyred soldiers were identified as Havildar Jaipal Singh Adhikari and Lance Naik Devender Singh.

The details of the third jawan, from 19 Rajput, couldn't be ascertained.

A state police officer, who was present at the cremation of Devender Singh, confirmed that the bodies were badly mutilated and not shown to relatives. The Army authorities informed that the heads were blown away during the fierce encounter, he said.

http://dawn.com/2013/01/10/loc-incident ... opes-khar/
SLAMABAD: Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar on Thursday said she hoped that the incidents reported on the line of control (LoC) would not affect the dialogue that has been underway between India and Pakistan, DawnNews reported.

Khar claimed there were contradictions in the statements of Indian officials with regard to the incidents.

The foreign minister added that Pakistani media had played a positive role in the matter.

Earlier on Wednesday, Khar had appeared on India’s Times Now news channel and had issued a firm denial and criticised the statements by authorities in New Delhi about the alleged killing of two Indian soldiers in Kashmir.

India had accused Pakistan of sending troops across the heavily militarised LoC on Tuesday and had said two of its soldiers were killed and one was wounded in a half-hour gunfight.

The Pakistani army had later denied what it said were Indian allegations of “unprovoked firing” across the LoC.

The incident came two days after a clash along the LoC in which Pakistan said one of its soldiers had been killed after an Indian incursion. India had denied its troops crossed the line.
http://www.jagranjosh.com/current-affai ... 12373844-1
Hina Rabbani Khar, the first woman foreign minister of Pakistan, visited India from 26 to 28 July 2011. During her visit, India and Pakistan agreed to simplify travel procedures and increase the frequency of bus services for people of the divided Jammu and Kashmir. It was also agreed to convene separate meetings of the expert groups on nuclear and conventional confidence building measures in Islamabad in September 2011.
During the entire period of earlier incident UPA was engaged in duel with incumbent chief and feasting Khar Houri on her visit. Pakis played true to their script on that occasion as they are doing it now. It is curious why this incident was given so much media attention this time.

ramana wrote: So there is an elected ruling party and there is government to which the ruling party doesn't have affliations if chips go down.
Totally no accountability.
Another perspective is the divisiveness, mistrust and factionalism that exists in INC. It is a reasonable guess that there are hawks and pigeons in all national parties. There must be INC leaders and supporters who dislike the MMS-Sonia nexus and their agenda.

What this clearly shows is that the TSPA did the firing to give cover to their terrorists crossing over. This was the root cause of the recent incident.

It had nothing to do with grandmothers or aggressive action by Indian Army.

Shame on Pravin Swami and the other fellow Saikat Datta for plating stories in Indian national press.

-----
Chaankya, THanks for the timeline. Yes every important visit is followed with an atrocity by TSPA. The reason is they want accpetance of their deeds by the community of nations.

Chattissingpura massacre occured during Clinton visit. If he continued with the visit to TSP then Mogambo khush and is defacto accpetance of their atrocities.
Its a very pre-modern savage mind that lives in the modern world but holds on to barbaric ideas. The sad thing is the modern world leaders accept them and their behavior for various reasosn.
UK elite and followers are the leader of TSP supporters and have consistently advised them in savagery.

During the entire period of earlier incident UPA was engaged in duel with incumbent chief and feasting Khar Houri on her visit. Pakis played true to their script on that occasion as they are doing it now. It is curious why this incident was given so much media attention this time.

Most likely MMS was on shamelessly on a mission to out do Shaarm el Sheikh?