NaMo NaMo bhai log,

Rioting and standards of conduct – Would be real tough to challenge NM on grounds of illegality of his actions. He will pretty much pass the standards of moral conduct also. But beyond the normal hum drum of life and its myriad pressures there is something in a man that he can always rely on and which carries a strong enough buoyancy to launch a man into bigger actions. State police is basically a maritime force and is entirely under capable and inept to handle these things (remember the UP PAC). Add to that the chicken of a force that IB is, the situation looks even more hopeless. But then if the big guy knows and comes prepared to these things then he can top out the situation. Guess NM did not yet know in 2002 the true value of coming prepared, at least beyond his immediate forte of political activism. Coming prepared as in bringing a gun to a knife fight. Anyhow looks like NM knows it well now and in other walks of life too. As the Senapati said, coming prepared is the first half won. Hein ji.

I have many a times felt better guided by chance utterings of my opponents and people I generally do not like. Aarti Jairatha is one such person. Yesterday she said something about BJP being a hindu party and blessings of the elders being an important part of the whole deal. Fighting against the one you love and respect is not exactly disallowed but at the end of the day Bhishm was important and worthy of respect for this various other acts in life. Even after putting more arrows on his body than was otherwise possible, arjun had to make the obligatory pilgrimage. LKA we will love you for what you have done and hate the way Kongis ended up making profits at your expense. Lets hope you have filled your downline with the requisite gumption to seize that back with chakravarti byaaj.

On another of TV debates on Undie it was funny how Sekhar Gupta of IA mutiny fame was hauled over the coals by Burkha Dutt for his indiscretion of suggesting an amateurish approach on part of Kongress high comaan. DVS fellow enjoyed the faux pas too. It really is tough carrying the yoke. Poor guy Sekhar.

abhijit, my point is, these hindu muslims love fests are rarely riots. these are organized crimes. you and i can pick an issue of our choosing, we couldn't gather 4 people to agree with our deeply felt just cause, forget acting on it. in the simplest of unallied cases, the respective shqs will read the riot act on us before we step out of the house.

Published on Jun 10, 2013
By B.S. Satish Kumar
Focus on Modi prevents formal discussion on Yeddyurappa issue: The Hindu
Though a section of the BJP leaders feel that elevation of Mr. Modi could help boost efforts to get back Mr. Yeddyurappa into the party fold as both these leaders are believed to be having a good rapport, highly placed sources in the party are of the view that being a strong organisational man, Mr. Modi may go by the views of the party State unit on the issue.

However, several party leaders believe that Mr. Modi’s elevation would certainly help bring about a political balance in the party State unit as the influence of party national general secretary Ananth Kumar, a close aide of Mr. Advani, may reduce to an extent.

The Yeddyurappa issue apart, the debate has already begun in the party State unit on to what extent the elevation of Mr. Modi may help the party — which is still recovering from the disastrous defeat in the Assembly elections — in the Lok Sabha polls.

Several prominent persons, who play a key role in the party’s organisational structure, maintain that Mr. Modi’s appointment has given something to hold-on for the party in a bad shape in its preparations for the Lok Sabha polls and in its efforts to instil confidence among its cadre. “The mood is buoyant in the State unit following Mr. Modi’s appointment,” said a top leader, while hinting that the party now wants to use this opportunity to rebuild its organisation in the State.

But BJP’s political opponents point out that it was not Hindutva, but widening of the base with the liberal inclusion of leaders from the non-Hindutva background that helped the party to make it big in Karnataka in 2008. “Mr. Modi may help get Hindutva votes, but that may also make other voters to distance themselves from the party,” argued a political observer.

Meanwhile, the party State leaders have hailed Mr. Modi’s elevation and are set to celebrate this at the party State office on Monday. Mr. Yeddyurappa too has hailed Mr. Modi’s appointment.

shaardula wrote:abhijit, my point is, these hindu muslims love fests are rarely riots. these are organized crimes. you and i can pick an issue of our choosing, we couldn't gather 4 people to agree with our deeply felt just cause, forget acting on it. in the simplest of unallied cases, the respective shqs will read the riot act on us before we step out of the house.
I deleted the post, to not fuel more off-topic posts.

shaardula wrote:abhijit, my point is, these hindu muslims love fests are rarely riots. these are organized crimes. you and i can pick an issue of our choosing, we couldn't gather 4 people to agree with our deeply felt just cause, forget acting on it. in the simplest of unallied cases, the respective shqs will read the riot act on us before we step out of the house.
Somewhat agree, somewhat not. White collar people generally do not participate in riots. But I have seen motivated youths burning houses with my very eyes, without any guidance and leadership. I have seen people coming out of their home and beat up couple of guys almost to death for a slightest stupid provocation. I have heard of patrolling volunteers mistakenly killed couple of people in the force of emotion. It was then 92.

in the recent years Mumbai (again using just an example) has not seen the riots is because, in my theory, rise of hindu middleclass, which prevents hindus to react irresponsibly to the provocation of other community. Anyway OT.
Last edited by abhijitm on 10 Jun 2013 10:23, edited 1 time in total.

The twit Jairam Ramesh yesterday came out with a highly cringe-worthy defense of Rahul Gandhi, and today says : Rohan Murty's appointment at Infosys a conflict of interest

The sheer hypocrisy of this moron is amazing !! Gives a bad name to the IITs he's unfortunately a product of...
Last edited by Arjun on 10 Jun 2013 10:26, edited 2 times in total.

RajeshA wrote:Question is whether Modi can build a coalition without Trinamool Congress, Telegu Desam Party, Biju Janata Dal and Janata Dal (United). All these are not very keen on a tie up with BJP and/or have secular pretensions.
pretending to be not interested is a time honored technique of bargaining. let's see.

Trunamool will have a problem becuse of huge muslim vote bank in WB. But Biju Janatha dal should not have any problem with outside support at least. CBN is still in 3rd front madness and not gone out this madness since 2004 defeat. The problem with CBN is he is too smart and looks for short term gains and other than anti INC has no principles on Indic values or anything else. He was pro market strickt administrator for 9 years and now singing free rice, power, money and what not slogans now. But if he can join with NDA before elections and they contest together then NDA will sweep AP and some 40 seats will be therefore asking. Further INC got 33 last elections and reducing this 33 is a improtant task.

Telangana is the birth place of Naxal movelment of today. BJP also has to seriously look at this and TRS being a INC poped up organisation with serious blackmailing background is required to be avaoided. Making BJP will maximum in Telangana region wherein it hisotrical has very good base is improtant for long term prospects.

Gus wrote:
RajeshA wrote:Question is whether Modi can build a coalition without Trinamool Congress, Telegu Desam Party, Biju Janata Dal and Janata Dal (United). All these are not very keen on a tie up with BJP and/or have secular pretensions.
pretending to be not interested is a time honored technique of bargaining. let's see.
BJP will not earn Muslim trust in near future. It should focus on tapping the votes of hindu OBCs and 'bahujan's. An alliance with BSP might help.
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

muraliravi wrote:I dont want to start a discussion again on what you have said here. But as far as i know even if the trimurti take an avatar and all three campaign for MMJ in varanasi, still he will lose. The only way he can win a ls seat is if he goes and steals a safe seat from someone (but again I doubt Modi will allow that).
Totally agree. MMJ will lose his deposit in Varanasi, if he contests again.

a "brother" with friendly ears close to the railway tracks says this about Jagan:

"father and son eliminated ENEMIES, then RIVALS, and then POTENTIAL ENEMIES over father's 5.5 year reign. they went about in a systematic concentric circle fashion, focusing on one circle after next. now, no "strongman" with any survival instinct will put a finger on Jagan. his 'time' will come when another rises from a new "generation" of "enemies". in the medium-term, Jagan's prospects are good. all he has to do is survive the negotiations with INC. after that, there is no one left to challenge him. if he can manage that, it will take 15 years before a "man" can rise and challenge him again."

edit: TIFWIW onlee. I got a certain vibe of exaggeration. but also a serious undertone. at the very least, Jagan's doesn't need to do anything adventurous to secure his position. he can play safe. he IS in such a secure position. i.e. any opportunistic "rivals" will lay down arms, knowing which way the wind is blowing.
Last edited by devesh on 10 Jun 2013 11:15, edited 1 time in total.

Narayana Rao wrote:But Biju Janatha dal should not have any problem with outside support at least.
Err, Church supported, massive neo-convert tribal population?

You forgot Shri Lakshminanda Saraswati?

kumarn wrote:
muraliravi wrote:I dont want to start a discussion again on what you have said here. But as far as i know even if the trimurti take an avatar and all three campaign for MMJ in varanasi, still he will lose. The only way he can win a ls seat is if he goes and steals a safe seat from someone (but again I doubt Modi will allow that).
Totally agree. MMJ will lose his deposit in Varanasi, if he contests again.
Interestingly none of you guys have even been to Varanasi if I am not wrong :wink: Lets not to be too confident on hearsay of hearsay shall we.
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

kumarn wrote: Totally agree. MMJ will lose his deposit in Varanasi, if he contests again.
Interestingly none of you guys have even been to Varanasi if I am not wrong :wink: Lets not to be too confident on hearsay of hearsay shall we.
ahem? How do you know sanku ji? Let me just tell you, that you are totally wrong on that count. Let me just inform you that I have my home there, studied there and visit atleast once a month. Banaras me BJP mujhe bhi khada kar degi to log BJP ke naam pe vote de denge. But not, MMJ.

why so? Why is MMJ so unpopular there?

BJP and NM are playing to win this time. Makes sense for them to go all out and win as many seats as they can without worrying about alliances.

One reason JDU and Sena are not very keen on NM is that he'll drive a hard seat sharing bargain with current allies. As for potential allies, let post-poll scenario happen first. E.g., in Odisha, WB, JH and even Bihar should Ni-tush quit, BJP should contest *all* seats. Period.

Same in Haryana (perhaps) and Telengana. Also in all seats where the OBC factor has any chance in hell of upsetting UPA's current calculations (e.g. Kerala has a couple of such seats, am told)

One stat I read somewhere that there are some 300+ seats that BJP had won at least once in the past 2 decades (after delimitation, its tricky to count but still, giving benefit of doubt). Those 300+ seats should be all out BJP's to contest - no ally-vally business there.

Getting to 180+ (200+ would be a mega bonus) and emerging as single largest party and thereby getting the first invite from rashtrapati bhavan - these all are big deals for the current new gen of BJP leadership. Then we'll see who all come to support from outside or inside or side-by-side.

Maybe or maybe not they will have numbers enough to form a stable sarkar. But go all out to win- that is criterion #1. JMTPs and other std disclaimers only.

Narayana Rao wrote:Trunamool will have a problem becuse of huge muslim vote bank in WB. But Biju Janatha dal should not have any problem with outside support at least. CBN is still in 3rd front madness and not gone out this madness since 2004 defeat. The problem with CBN is he is too smart and looks for short term gains and other than anti INC has no principles on Indic values or anything else. He was pro market strickt administrator for 9 years and now singing free rice, power, money and what not slogans now. But if he can join with NDA before elections and they contest together then NDA will sweep AP and some 40 seats will be therefore asking. Further INC got 33 last elections and reducing this 33 is a improtant task.

Telangana is the birth place of Naxal movelment of today. BJP also has to seriously look at this and TRS being a INC poped up organisation with serious blackmailing background is required to be avaoided. Making BJP will maximum in Telangana region wherein it hisotrical has very good base is improtant for long term prospects.
Telangana is boobytrap set up by Congress and BJP Central leaders took the bait. We ought to see if Namo falls into the trap, which is pitching Telangana against non-Telangana and arguments like non-Telangana robbing Telangana.

It is better he focuses repairing both Karnataka and AP instead of continuing self-screwing in the South like other BJP leaders.

Also as for TDP, it is better off staying away as its primary task is to reduce Congress count. India has space for non-Congress and non-BJP parties that able leaders like him should occupy.

shaardula wrote:and arjun, from my point, logic is, where there is a clear sense of purpose, even with limited resources, a lot can be achieved and even within the constitutional constraints.

think about it, how much time does it take even ina ghettoized community like those in india, to kill 1000s of people. you go to a house, breach the main door, fight the resisting man behind the door, about 20-30 minutes, minimum atleast, i would guess for a family of four? even with a flash massacre 10, 100 murders is understandable, 1000s is beyond comprehension, atleast to my mind.
Boss this is sootiyapanti of the highest order. Sorry moderators, but I'm going to call sootiyapanti when I see it.

In a riot, mobs don't do a door to door massacre, they don't make a file and move in one, burning one house after the other. In a statewide riot, involving thousands of people from both sides, there are a thousand incidents happening each day. A hundred burning places here, a hundred there; a hundred people marching there, a hundred here. With a limited police force & security staff, how can a state enforce law & order in every inch of land? Forget paucity of men, even with a perfect police force, it is impossible.

That is why I'd say Modi did an above average job in handing the riots. He managed to save thousands of lives with his actions.

You blurt out nonsense & then quickly get on the moral high horse accusing august members of this board of 'pissing on the grave of martyrs' and making absurd statements like those who died in the riots died a ghastlier death than those who were burnt alive in the train bogey? What the ****** are you smoking?
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

abhishek_sharma wrote:why so? Why is MMJ so unpopular there?
1. Doesn't visit his constituency enough. When he does, has no time for karyakartas. People sarcastically remark that whenever he visits, he does to buy a flat (please make your own judgement).
2. local leaders are pissed off that someone like him has has hijacked the seat. Ajai Rai switched his party because of that.

kumarn wrote: ahem? How do you know sanku ji? Let me just tell you, that you are totally wrong on that count. Let me just inform you that I have my home there, studied there and visit atleast once a month. Banaras me BJP mujhe bhi khada kar degi to log BJP ke naam pe vote de denge. But not, MMJ.
Ok kumarn-ji; so I was wrong on your connection with Varanasi, accepted.

About the rest -- let us see.

shaardula wrote:to kill 1000s of people.
It is not 10000000000000000ssssssssss of people, it is about a 1000, of which about 250 people died in police firings to quell the mob.

Seriously Shaardula ji? Didnt expect this from you.

And how about the previous riots where indeed 6000-7000 people had died? If people can die in 1000s (real 1000s not your 1000s) in other riots, whats the big deal about 2002?

I personally think you should retract from your comment.

Modi won’t help the BJP: TDP

To those who are expecting a potential alliance between the TDP and the BJP. Please see the TDPs reaction to Modi.

Lets see. If Modi can get Yeddy back into the fold (dont know what it will take, but doable, now that old man Advani is history, Ananth Kumar has his wings clipped) and put up a united BJP in KTK, Kangress is toast, unless the Muslims ditch JD(S) and switch to congress fully (which I guess they will do). A united BJP facing a split opposition will sweep KTK (not something I like, but that is reality).

Guj,MP , Goa, Rajasthan, Punjab and I think maybe Maharashtra are in the BJP kitty. Small states like Uttarakhand and Himachal is a toss up, but assuming even if they sweep, the BJP still needs a big win in Bihar, a strong showing in UP and wrap up KTK and pickup the additional seats in a few other places if they are to have a fighting chance.

vina wrote:Lets see. If Modi can get Yeddy back into the fold (dont know what it will take, but doable, now that old man Advani is history, Ananth Kumar has his wings clipped) and put up a united BJP in KTK, Kangress is toast, unless the Muslims ditch JD(S) and switch to congress fully (which I guess they will do). A united BJP facing a split opposition will sweep KTK (not something I like, but that is reality).

Guj,MP , Goa, Rajasthan, Punjab and I think maybe Maharashtra are in the BJP kitty. Small states like Uttarakhand and Himachal is a toss up, but assuming even if they sweep, the BJP still needs a big win in Bihar, a strong showing in UP and wrap up KTK and pickup the additional seats in a few other places if they are to have a fighting chance.
yeddy will be back sooner than later.

Wasn't Anant kumar fairly prominent in Modi's talegaon rally yesterday?? Rats always are the first to desert a sinking ship.

If it is believable that 10 people can get massacred in a flash mob presumably in one locality then it should be entirely believable that a 1000 can get killed in almost the same manner, in half of Gujarat which is about the area and size of population that got enmeshed in those times.

Though I would also agree that a large part of it is pre-planned but only at the very lowest levels. We have already seen how a heavily armed man can kill tens of men in shootouts in US. The rioters have the benefit of surprise, weapons and supposed justification with them while most of the victims are never in any position to defend themselves.

The problem as I see it is that while we need a good intel structure, even in the ghettos that are mostly out of bounds even for policemen. We do not actually have that kind of intel. A larger more structured Intel makes the politicos jumpy who love to treat the intel as their employees. Probably a FBI like organisation appropriately outside the control of the politicians, a big budget but with parliamentary oversight, would help. I believe we can actually afford this kind of set up now.
Sri

Post by Sri »

ISHRAT-LET LINK INPUT TRUE: IB
In a fresh twist to the Ishrat Jahan encounter case, a top Intelligence Bureau (IB) official has told the CBI that his input on Ishrat's link to Lashkar-e-Tayyeba (LeT) was genuine. The 1979 batch IPS officer, Rajinder Kumar, now a special director-rank officer in the IB, is also learnt to have told the CBI that there was a threat, particularly from the LeT, to Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi’s life in the aftermath of the Godhra riots.
News agency PTI quoted Kumar as telling the CBI investigators that he did his duty by sending the alert and he was not at all involved in the encounter. Rights activists and Modi detractors have claimed that the Ishrat’s encounter near Gandhinagar on June 15, 2004, was stage-managed. Three other alleged LeT operatives were killed in the encounter.

Some points that struck me:

1. Reference to Naxal strip "Tirupati to Pashupati" is loaded with meaning. It's addressing a core doctrinal challenge. Red Godless murderous NAxals versus the bliss and Bharatiya image that is provoked when we take Tirupati and Pashupati's name. NM is really subconsciously driving in a doctrinal basis for fighting Naxals. The reference to Tirupati and Pashupati makes that clear.

2. JJ's support and possibly 30 (?) seats is now guaranteed. JJ and NM are both development oriented. Both like entrepreneurs to set up shop and provide employment in their realms. There is no ideological or doctrinal differences in their approaches to investment. So one has to look at this partnership as a long term mutually beneficial one. One that will not subject another to blackmail kind of choices due to ideological compulsions that we have witnessed so far in Indian politics. Those kind of partnerships that were superficial with vast differences in approach were meant to either fail or at the minimum stall development. This is not going to be the cased with a NM-JJ alliance.

3. NM is not an appeaser of anyone. It's not in his nature. He doesn't do things to please. He does things to address his vision. That will make decisions he makes solid and purposeful, whether in political alliances, development, foreign policy etc. We are going to witness with NM a very sharp no nonsense approach.
Sri

Post by Sri »

chetak wrote: Wasn't Anant kumar fairly prominent in Modi's talegaon rally yesterday?? Rats always are the first to desert a sinking ship.
His days in spotlight are numbered. In one of the TV footage I saw him going near to NM to congratulate him but NM didn't even turn and acknowledge him.

One that will not subject another to blackmail kind of choices due to ideological compulsions that we have witnessed so far in Indian politics. Those kind of partnerships that were superficial with vast differences in approach were meant to either fail or at the minimum stall development. This is not going to be the cased with a NM-JJ alliance
Hai Ram! How delusional. You have no idea about Amma! Also, remember, how long the 1st Vajpayee admin lasted and how it fell and why!

vivek.rao wrote:In UP&Bihar, can Modi&Baba Ramdev attract Yadavs(even 20-25%) to BJP just for Parliament elections?
Vivek ji, I'm predicting in 2014 no less then 45 seats for BJP in UP, this is how the voting will go:

1. Modi gets 90% of tilak, taraaju & talwar votes

2. Kalyan + Modi gets 100% kurmi votes

3. Ramdev + Modi gets some %age of yadav + few other BC(non mayawati votebank) votes.

The rest lets see what genius of Amit Shah works in UP.

UP has a strong builder, business cabal also. These guys can be made to see a major plus in the mint new BJP with Amit Shah kind of Relationship manager. The problem is the builder-business guys worship power and not the promise of power. The flip side is they have tasted the vulcanized rubbery taste of the SP admin which seeks only a present share in the outstanding undistributed gains made but not booked in the past, so they can be expected to listen.

There is oil beneath this ground. A good rig a jig, is what is needed.

Hai Ram! How delusional. You have no idea about Amma! Also, remember, how long the 1st Vajpayee admin lasted and how it fell and why!
Vina ji, you may be right. One cannot underestimate the potential for a prospective partner like JJ to blackmail. Yet for some reason, maybe I am not clear too yet about this, but I do feel NM would be much more focussed on the pinnings and the shortcomings they would entail. JJ-NM alliance may have more common objectives than over-riding ones. NM is a cut above any BJP leader as far as go getter developmental/ governance issues are concerned. So despite JJ's penchant for 'blackmail', I would still venture and say, even though it is a gut one, that the alliance should be mutually beneficial. Remember it's JMT..:)

I thought NaMo's elevation has made LKA mad, but never thought he will go for an extent to use Sampson option on BJP. He is really greedy, lost respect for him.
Last edited by kmkraoind on 10 Jun 2013 13:42, edited 1 time in total.

Yep
14:02 LK Advani QUITS all party posts day after Modi's elevation : BJP strongman LK Advani resigns from all positions in the party. Advani today said he had a stomach upset that forced him to skip the party's national executive meet, breaking his silence over his ill health that fuelled speculation on his perceived opposition to Narendra Modi getting a key post.

LKA cites clearly unhappy with the current functioning and direction the party is going.
Comer

Post by Comer »

So the bonhomie was more like bovinehomie. Am wondering what options did the gentleman have? Apart from cryptic nudges did he express anything openly? Dunno if this is good or bad thing for the prospects
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

LKA throwing his toys out of the pram just because he didn't get his own way re Modi. :lol:

people who dont pass the baton in time, will have it taken from them.

after 3 days of frothing from the MSM, people will realize this has 0% electoral impact and infact might help in the cleanup that BJP needs to undergo. his gang of supporters will now either need to retire or fall in line.

^^Sad but perhaps necessary. However, why at this juncture I wonder? Timing is everything in politics as in much of life.

shaardula wrote:and arjun, from my point, logic is, where there is a clear sense of purpose, even with limited resources, a lot can be achieved and even within the constitutional constraints.

think about it, how much time does it take even ina ghettoized community like those in india, to kill 1000s of people. you go to a house, breach the main door, fight the resisting man behind the door, about 20-30 minutes, minimum atleast, i would guess for a family of four? even with a flash massacre 10, 100 murders is understandable, 1000s is beyond comprehension, atleast to my mind.
Yup ask that to Sikhs massacred by Congress leaders like HKL Bhagat, Sajjan Kumar & Jagdish Tytler on direct instructions of Rajiv Gandhi.

1. Riots start and congi leaders are out in the open leading the genocide of Khalsa.

2. Police are instructed not to interfere.

3. Army in Delhi Cantt. offer to help quell this genocide, but Rajiv Gandhi instructs them to stay in their barracks.

4. After spilling the blood of Khalsa to their hearts content, burning sikhs alive by putting tyres in their neck, tying their hands behind their back. The Secular vanshaj of Giasuddin(killer of kaffirs) Ghazi Shri Rajiv Gandhi calls in the army.

5. Afterwards asked about the riots, Rajiv Gandhi says "So what? When a big tree falls, ground shakes a bit!"

This is the prime example of Rajdharma, wah bhai wah.

1969 riots of Gujarat continued for 6 months with both the center and state govt. were ConParty with both PM and CM following Rajdharma.

Narendra Modi ji said to digvijay's face that all 3 govt. bordering Gujrat were Mahrashtra, Rajasthan & MP were congressi , we asked for their help by sending police force and they refused."

But he is not following the Rajdharma.