Hari Seldon wrote:Today is 19-oct, the much awaited namo UP campaign begins today from Kanpur. Anyone have any details on schedule etc?

I'm sure ETV UP will cover it Live so that I don't have to rely on the tender mercies of the angrezi poseur channels.

Would be interesting to watch and decode every word and nuance he speaks in UP.... rest assured UPites and the vrnacular press will do so anyway. What caste refeences if any will be made? What communities may get a mention or two? What issues will get highlighted? the list goes on...

Go namo saar, desh tumhare saath hai...
All you want to know about Narendra Modi’s today’s Kanpur rally

http://deshgujarat.com/2013/10/19/all-y ... pur-rally/

The BJP must showcase other leaders too

http://www.hindustantimes.com/editorial ... 36940.aspx

Secular African @SecularAfrican

Pakistan is not an independent country. It is an Arabian Peninsula colony governed by the state policies of Medina... on Native Indian land.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

Must Read

http://www.mediacrooks.com/2013/10/comm ... mHwrha3vu5
Most readers would miss the trickery but nestled in the middle of a lot of words are LIES that have been discredited over and over again and an “intelligence” outfit like Stratfor is writing this in 2013. The concoction of 2000 Muslims killed and 400 rapes is the handiwork of many Commies like Teesta Setalvad, Arundhati Roy, Shabnam Hashmi, Javed Akhtar, CPM, Congress and, of course, champion liars like NDTV and CNN-IBN and other channels. I would call it a “collective community” effort. Sometimes there have been panellists who have quoted figures of anywhere between 2000 and 5000 and our news anchors have allowed such nonsense to pass in the garb of “balanced debate”. The number of people who have enriched themselves and amassed huge wealth over the dead bodies of Gujarat will be difficult to count.
Imagine this: If I were to ask Stratfor where they got the 2000 and 400 number from I guess they’d tell me “from The Hindu”. Ask The Hindu they’d say from NDTV. Ask NDTV they’d say from Teesta. Ask Teesta she’ll say from Shabnam Hashmi. Ask Shabbo she’ll say from Genocide Suzy. Ask Suzy she’ll say from Barkha Dutt. Ask Barkha she’ll say from Rajdeep Sardesai. Ask Rajdeep he will say it was in The Hindu report. Ask The Hindu... Oops! There, your cycle is complete! There isn’t one single authentic valid source for the figures. It’s like Sagarika Ghose saying the Dilkush Nagar blasts in Hyderabad were in an area full of meat shops. Ask Sagarika’s friend where she got this piece of information; she’ll say “I read it in Sagarika’s tweet”. This is an incestuous club that quotes each other’s lies with no authentic figures from any source. There’s no escape. It wasn’t very different in the on-going Ram Janmabhoomi case.

x post from indian economy ...

arvind panagariya's op-ed in toi...

posting in full....

Rajan panel report: A quickie and it shows

Much of the media saw in the recent report of the Raghuram Rajan committee one more opportunity to spar over whether or not Gujarat is a genuine success story. While the reputation of Gujarat can survive yet one more hollow critique many commentators have seen in it, the report itself requires a critical examination.

According to its terms of reference, the committee was charged with the development of criteria that "may be reflected in future planning and devolution of funds from the central government to the states". Such a charge begs the question as to which funds did the finance ministry plan to devolve using the new criteria?

Currently, there exist three different channels for the devolution of central funds to states: tax devolution and grants given by the Finance Commission; grants and loans given by the Planning Commission; and transfers for various central sector and centrally-sponsored schemes devolved by various central ministries and monitored by the Planning Commission.

The Finance Commission, which is a constitutional body, sets the criteria for devolution through the first channel. The Planning Commission sets the criteria for transfers through the second channel. The last channel works through central schemes with each state contributing the same share, which can be nil for some schemes.

The new criteria proposed by the Rajan committee could not possibly substitute for either those set by the Finance Commission or the Planning Commission. Nor do they lend themselves to influencing the central schemes. So does the government want to open yet another channel of central transfers? If yes, what is the rationale for it?

It is curious that a statement by the finance minister, released with the report, notes that the prime minister has "directed that the re-commendations of the (Rajan) committee may be examined and necessary action in this behalf may be taken". But the committee only re-commends criteria and no action.

The nearest it comes to recommending action is to say, "The Centre may want to offer additional forms of support to states that are particularly underdeveloped." But assisting states that are particularly underdeveloped is central to the criteria deployed bythe Finance Commission and the Planning Commission. What is it that cannot be accomplished through these channels?

Beyond these fundamental questions, one must also ask what were the criteria underlying the composition of the committee membership. Given his exceptional academic background but core specialisation in the unrela-ted field of corporate finance, one would have thought that the chairman would assemble a team of distinguished experts from the key areas relevant to the charge of his committee.

But the committee he chose did not include a single expert on Centre-state fiscal relations that were at the heart of the committee's mandate. Indeed, one is hard-pressed to find any references in the report to consultations with experts in this area including those at the Finance Commission or the Planning Commission.

It is perhaps due to the absence of such expertise that the committee fails to recognise that an important objective behind intergovernmental transfers is to offset fiscal disabilities of the states. The index determining the transfers must reflect these disabilities with appropriate weight assigned to them. It must also assign weights to the included development criteria according to the priority society places on each of them. Instead, the report recommends a general index of economic and social development that assigns equal weights to the included criteria.

The inclusion of the proportion of the scheduled castes and tribes in the population in the proposed index, opposed by the dissenting member of the committee, Shaibal Gupta, defies logic. If two states are identical in all respects, including poverty, education, health, incomes and other criteria the committee considers relevant but one of them has a higher proportion of the scheduled castes and tribes, in what way is it less developed? Indeed, one might argue that such cultural diversity is a virtue rather than curse.

Almost equally puzzling is the use of per capita expenditure instead of per capita state domestic product in the index. In what way does the high per capita expenditure due to vast inflows of remittances into a state like Kerala make it more developed? Conversely, should lower expenditures in Gujarat possibly due to high savings and outflows of remittances by migrant workers imply greater backwardness?

These and other deficiencies of the index may well be behind the committee's implausible conclusion that Odisha is India's least developed state and Madhya Pradesh is virtually as backward as Bihar. Among the three states, Bihar exhibits by far the lowest per capita income, literacy rate, urbanisation ratio, proportion of households with electricity and share of manufactures in the state domestic product.

The ultimate anomaly in the committee's recommendations appears in Table 3 of the report showing the transfers from a hypothetical pool of Rs 1,000 crore to the 28 states. The committee awards Goa, the state it ranks as the most developed Rs 20.63 per capita and Bihar, the state it ranks second from the bottom, Rs 11.56. No explanation for the anomaly is provided. This is one report written in a hurry. One wonders why.

Santosh wrote:^^ True. One of the dhagas under GDF had a link to some news article that had a very detailed itinerary including means of transport, route and timing. Scary. I pray he stays safe.
He is PP so these things should not be in public domain. I hope this is false reporting else someone should be held responsible for leaks of itinerary.

vishvak wrote:Treasure Trove Act
May be other acts too.

The president is custodian of such wealth.
The Antiquities and Art Treasures Act, 1972
Indian Treasure Trove Act, 1878
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

VikramS wrote:https://www.google.com/search?q=Modi+SI ... 1&ie=UTF-8

Folks: I have noticed this before but Google chacha is giving a much higher priority to anti-Modi stance in its search results.
Thee is absolutely no reason for the fekunama blog to be #1 in the search results.
There is definitely a bias. Even if you see news.google.com, you will see that the newpapers/channles whom we know as crooks are given most of the real estate on their page. In any case, ever since google has released its last major change in their algorithm, it has started giving lesser and lesser relevant results. Bing.com would return more relevant result any day.
vishvak: Anyone inside Google who can check
No one will tell as this is trade secret. The team who designs algo is in US and it is a closely guarded secret.

Sushupti wrote:Pathetic!

If that is not arrogance, then what is it?

Live from Kanpur:-

No one will tell as this is trade secret. The team who designs algo is in US and it is a closely guarded secret.
Google's architecture and algos were designed by an IIT'ian with a PhD in parallel processing from CMU who is presently at the top post there.

Rajnath should speak less..same boring stereotype cliches as Foreign policy regurgitating: We can't change neighbours so we have to have good relations with Pakistan.

google and all the rest will fall in line with GOTUS diktat or they will be crushed liked a bug. doesnt matter who designed their algorithm or who tunes their system....they will fall in line and do as they are told.
I dont think congis have any influence over what google servers up..if there is any skew it has to be with US Govt "blessings/encouragement"
congis may have people in their global media team who know how to game the search engine systems though. cash is no bar to hiring the best such freelance talent and search engines are constantly trying to defeat these gamers with wins and losses on both sides.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

There comes 100 days promise!!!

Wooohoo. He heard me.
Sri

Post by Sri »

harbans wrote:
Google's architecture and algos were designed by an IIT'ian with a PhD in parallel processing from CMU who is presently at the top post there.
Yes. But he will say that algorithm is pure and unbiased. And I would agree with him.

The algorithm prioritizes the news based on source. Source prioritization happens depending upon number of updates a domain gets in a day. The more updates you have and the more it gets clicked or broadcasted and linked in social media the more attention a source will get by the crawler. Of course another major criteria is ad source. This depends on the quality of ads or adwords that gets flashed in relation to the content of a domain.

So any anti Modi news is getting instant hit by both dharmics and leftist. And both group then link it with their social media (Face book Twitter). Dharmics whole online presence is kinda linked with linking these stories and then debunking them. BRF could be used as an example.

Also, leftists do not link pro Modi articles in their social presence because if they do and then post negative comments on that article then their social presence gets kinda saturated because of huge wrath of Internet Hindus.

No wonder then, since the mainstream media website gets updated all the time, their articles will be judged more relevant by the algorithm. And since mainstream media is biased only in this category, google has no choice but go by mathematically pure selection. Keyword and search specific filters are not allowed in google otherwise the CCP would have loved them for sure. But I think one should notice the comments section of these news, equally strong pro modi voices get read too.

My feeling is internet is overwhelmingly Modi territory. 'Modi's social media presence and google anomaly' is going to be my next paper and lets see if I get an offer from google. :P I am already counting the links in this dhaga to see if my preliminary hypothesis is correct :P. Will post my findings on relevant dhaga.

Kitne aadmi the?
Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

^on youtube, the count was around 7900.

nawabs

Post by nawabs »

More than 6 lac public gathering in modi's rally at Kanpur - ETV UP
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Unlike earlier rallies, only token attack on MMS. Full on offensive against queen bee and shehzada. That confirms our CT regarding MMS vs. Dynasty.

in UP congress is Gandhi, MMS gets them total of 32 votes in UP of lakhs of vote that Cong gets,
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

For me, UP will tell us whether oModi can reach Panchavati or not. 40+ seats from UP is a must!! I hope there is indeed a 'wave' in UP.

Now start the story of "I am disappoint because he took water many times during the speech" or "he should have abused A.Yadav" or "he simply did not do what I like him to do" :).

Seriously a good election rally. The strategy is a seminar type college/university speech followed by a speech for the masses. The image and the reach just increases. Probably just few weeks before elections are declared there will be a slew of coalition announcements. The final nail the coffin will be competitive candidate selection.
BJP is heading for 200+ as things stand. I never thought they can bid beyond 180.

jai ho!!
Though I would have liked AA kicked more!! But I guess that was taken care by shri Kalyan Singh ji.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

kapilrdave wrote:Unlike earlier rallies, only token attack on MMS. Full on offensive against queen bee and shehzada. That confirms our CT regarding MMS vs. Dynasty.
100%

Dynasty can't wait to get rid of MMS and throw him in jail by blaming him for all the scams using PAIDMEDIA.

He knows his game is over and will reach the same fate of PVNR even if UPA3 comes.

May be MMS should cut a deal with Modi and share the info on DIEnasty wrong doings. He will be better off with NDA than UPA3
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

Muppalla wrote:Now start the story of "I am disappoint because he took water many times during the speech" or "he should have abused A.Yadav" or "he simply did not do what I like him to do" :).

Seriously a good election rally. The strategy is a seminar type college/university speech followed by a speech for the masses. The image and the reach just increases. Probably just few weeks before elections are declared there will be a slew of coalition announcements. The final nail the coffin will be competitive candidate selection.
BJP is heading for 200+ as things stand. I never thought they can bid beyond 180.
200+ is ultimate dream. I don't know if it can happen

mms should delay elections as much as possible.. become the ghatotkacha that india desperately wants.. certain sections of desh-bhakts will fondly remember him for this..

please visit india272.com

Atri wrote:mms should delay elections as much as possible.. become the ghatotkacha that india desperately wants.. certain sections of desh-bhakts will fondly remember him for this..
He has already brought the situation where it will matter. If you remember we said this couple of years ago in 2G thread. However, he is part of the problem and nothing Chanikyan. He needs to save himself from being shahidized.

Arrived in Mumbai about ten days ago. Seriously, per my observation there is no "Modi wave" here. Everybody talks about Modi as a news item of interest, but of all the 50-odd people I've so far had relevant conversations with, maybe 6 are enthusiastic supporters of Modi who were actually eager to go out and vote for him. The people I'm sampling are from a range of social classes, from doctors to vegetable sellers, and a diverse group of ethnic backgrounds. Living in Massaland, I thought Modi was the flavour of the month at least for the majority of urban/metropolitan India, but that is absolutely not the case per my first-hand sampling.

I realize that I am running this informal survey as someone who has just landed up in Mumbai from Massaland. However, I think my results would be equally accurate, or even MORE so, than for a similar survey by a BRF-ite who actually lived in India all the time. People constantly living in a place naturally gravitate to other people whose opinions would be more similar to their own, over time; and people tend to tell an individual what they think (know) the individual would want to hear, so if they know someone as a Modi supporter they will tend to sound more enthusiastic about Modi than they really are. In my case, nobody I talk to knows my background or preferences-- so it's a truly random sample.

Do not be complacent. Do not treat this as some kind of cricket match, cheering for every "four" or "six" that Modi hits in his rallies and imagining that these "fours" and "sixes" will somehow add up to victory. None of that means anything if people don't vote for him in overwhelming numbers. Modi needs committed workers, not sports fans.

Another comment on the rally, did I see that field was somewhat empty at the right hand side end, or it was camera not panning?

per ABP and ETV news the crowd size is about 6.5 lac

Trick is booth level management, have a goal of vote, get cadres, assign them targets (targets that would win and achievable, was part of that exercise, when in India for BJP, mistakes at this stage were - 1)Goal and plan, if less then you do not win, 2) Doable, targets 3) enough volunteers 4) Volunteers do there job 5)Back up plan in case some volunteers fail) etc. This exercise should go in parallel with these rallies etc.
Congress for all its fault has this mechanism for its voters (it is mainly mai baap, contractor, and that is ready to go today).
rgds

Rudradev wrote:Arrived in Mumbai about ten days ago. Seriously, per my observation there is no "Modi wave" here. Everybody talks about Modi as a news item of interest, but of all the 50-odd people I've so far had relevant conversations with, maybe 6 are enthusiastic supporters of Modi who were actually eager to go out and vote for him. The people I'm sampling are from a range of social classes, from doctors to vegetable sellers, and a diverse group of ethnic backgrounds. Living in Massaland, I thought Modi was the flavour of the month at least for the majority of urban/metropolitan India, but that is absolutely not the case per my first-hand sampling.

I realize that I am running this informal survey as someone who has just landed up in Mumbai from Massaland. However, I think my results would be equally accurate, or even MORE so, than for a similar survey by a BRF-ite who actually lived in India all the time. People constantly living in a place naturally gravitate to other people whose opinions would be more similar to their own, over time; and people tend to tell an individual what they think (know) the individual would want to hear, so if they know someone as a Modi supporter they will tend to sound more enthusiastic about Modi than they really are. In my case, nobody I talk to knows my background or preferences-- so it's a truly random sample.

Do not be complacent. Do not treat this as some kind of cricket match, cheering for every "four" or "six" that Modi hits in his rallies and imagining that these "fours" and "sixes" will somehow add up to victory. None of that means anything if people don't vote for him in overwhelming numbers. Modi needs committed workers, not sports fans.
Mumbai is Sena's turf, Rudradev garu.. if MNS comes along, then it will be Sena all the way again with few seats here and there for BJP.. Sena is divided as of yet. the recent Manohar joshi fiasco is evident here.

the basic setting of MH people is very basic setting of RSS and VHP type people. There was never a electoral hindutva wave in MH even in 1992. In spite of the fact that bulk of support for RJB came from MH, it did not translate drastically in votes and seats. So if by wave you mean a UP like election frenzy, then no there isn't and can't be any wave in MH because the leadership of BJP and Sena is in shambles. BJP's leadership is building, whereas Sena's leadership - well the less said the better. Despite all that and MNS's attrition, Sena-BJP managed to hold on to BMC which is a tremendous feat to achieve.

I have never witnessed an electoral wave in MH after death of Yashwantrao Chavan. In fact in 1991, Sharad Pawar won 37 seats in MH and hoped to become PM of India before being packed off by PVNR. This is during the height of RJB movement.

heard the whole speach, wasnt the best of Namo!!

Brand Modi rises: After NaMo tea stalls, now, NaMo sweet shops
The BJP is leaving no stone unturned to promote its prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. Even as the Gujarat Chief Minister goes about promoting the NaMo brand in his own way, the party's cadres have resorted to some very innovative methods to promote brand NaMo.

First they came up with the idea of the NaMo tea stalls in Patna. Now, on the festive occasion of Navratra, they set up NaMo sweet shops in Saharsa district at the Navratra Mela. The idea: to promote Narendra Modi as the sweetest option available right now for the post of prime minister. So, on the last three days of the Navratras, the mela saw the well-decorated NaMo sweet shops handing out jalebis for free to the devotees who had come to pay their respects to Goddess Durga.

The idea behind setting up the NaMo sweet shop was to promote Modi as a brand and to mobilise the masses in his favour. So for three days, the devouts gathered at the mela, sweets were handed out free to them and Modi was promoted with much enthusiasm.

Sudhanshu, a devotee who had come to the temple here, said, "Our prayers before the goddess are that Narendra Modi should become the next prime minister."

The Saharsa district BJP MLA Alok Ranjan said, "We will be distributing these jalebis at the October 27 Hunkar rally as well. We intend to spread the Modi brand far and wide with these jalebis."

Another BJP leader Nitin Naveen says, "The NaMo tea stall has brought together the BJP workers and we are hoping that the NaMo jalebis will further strengthen Modi's base in the state."

Atri wrote:
Rudradev wrote:Arrived in Mumbai about ten days ago. Seriously, per my observation there is no "Modi wave" here. Everybody talks about Modi as a news item of interest, but of all the 50-odd people I've so far had relevant conversations with, maybe 6 are enthusiastic supporters of Modi who were actually eager to go out and vote for him. The people I'm sampling are from a range of social classes, from doctors to vegetable sellers, and a diverse group of ethnic backgrounds. Living in Massaland, I thought Modi was the flavour of the month at least for the majority of urban/metropolitan India, but that is absolutely not the case per my first-hand sampling.

Mumbai is Sena's turf, Rudradev garu.. if MNS comes along, then it will be Sena all the way again with few seats here and there for BJP.. Sena is divided as of yet. the recent Manohar joshi fiasco is evident here.

the basic setting of MH people is very basic setting of RSS and VHP type people. There was never a electoral hindutva wave in MH even in 1992. In spite of the fact that bulk of support for RJB came from MH, it did not translate drastically in votes and seats. So if by wave you mean a UP like election frenzy, then no there isn't and can't be any wave in MH because the leadership of BJP and Sena is in shambles. BJP's leadership is building, whereas Sena's leadership - well the less said the better. Despite all that and MNS's attrition, Sena-BJP managed to hold on to BMC which is a tremendous feat to achieve.

I have never witnessed an electoral wave in MH after death of Yashwantrao Chavan. In fact in 1991, Sharad Pawar won 37 seats in MH and hoped to become PM of India before being packed off by PVNR. This is during the height of RJB movement.

And interestingly also, about Marathwada:

1. Some of the staunchest Hindus I personally know, belong to this area.

2. RSS and its cohorts were born there.

Is RSS-apex throwing a trial balloon to ditch Ram Jamambhoomi, KJB, KBV? Mohan Bhagawat says "Forget gods, goddesses, only think of Mother India" . Solution I proposeis given in "send prders to your MP via SMS" thread.

First NaMo made his notorious or famous and landmark Sb4D remark. I wont write that remark in full. NaMo is brave and he could make such a statement. While I am coward and I do not have courage to put those two words in the same sentence. That statement was a trial balloon to see if Tridevalayavaadies aka Threetemplists can mutter any voice. Now Bhagwat has made similar statement. Both NaMo and Bhagwat are seasoned and cunning fellows. and both know how to make statements in oblique way so that none can directly accuse them of backstabbing or frontstabbing or ditching Tridevalayavaadies. And if Tridevalayavaadies muster courage put up a show, then they may retract. And if Tridevalayavaadies fail to mutter any noise, then they wish to bury the issue till MNC-owners order them to raise it.

I have always help BJP-workers, VHP-workers, RSS-workers as highly committed workers and also held that their apex are money-hungry or power-hungry or fame-hungry and nothing more. Its just like congress-workers were committed , but leaders like Duratma Gandhi, Jawaher Ghazi etc were cunning , cowards, power hungry , fame hungry and un-committed to the deepest of their core.

IMO, RSS-apex wants to dump Tridevalaya issue. And so Tridevalaya should dump RSS-apex ASAP. What is the option? I have posted it in my "order your MP via SMS thread".

===

See the full Indian Express news.

http://indianexpress.com/news/forget-go ... /1184083/0

Forget gods, goddesses, only think of Mother India: RSS
Express News Service
Ahmedabad, Oct 18 2013

The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) chief Mohan Bhagwat said on Thursday that the Sangh was not interested in day-to-day affairs of politics. He said that the fifth generation of Sanghis was ready to serve the motherland, indicating that seniors should make way for the young. Bhagwat was in Ahmedabad to facilitate three retiring trustees of the RSS mouthpiece Sadhna — Ramanbhai Shah, Maneklal Patel and Jahangiram Gidwani. Speaking at the Town Hall in Ahmedabad, Bhagwat said, "The Sangh has no interest in contemporary politics. It is not a word or a thought, but a way of life. We are here to do our duty and have no expectations. We are not looking for popularity and don't want money. We are doing things out of love for the country. "

The RSS chief's words seem to be in stark contrast to the events in the BJP that followed Modi's elevation as the campaign committee chief in July and his announcement as prime ministerial nominee last month. Veteran BJP leader L K Advani, who had resigned from all posts of the BJP after the decision, took back his resignation only after Bhagwat's intervention. Drawing several inferences from religious texts like the Ramayan, Bhagwat made several passing references to the impasse between L K Advani and his protege Narendra Modi. With an eye on the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, Bhagwat belied confidence about BJP's chances in it as he asked RSS "seniors" to have patience.

"If Lord Ram is popular even today it is because of his values and how he lived. We will assure our seniors that we will walk the same path that they have walked. There will be challenges, but we will follow the same ideals... We will carry forward the rich legacy with the same intensity and ask only for some patience from our veterans, because it will be done in a short while," he said. Before heading out to the Hedgewar Bhavan, the RSS headquarters in the city, Bhagwat underlined the Sangh's new-age mantra for the next generation. "Our youngsters today have the capability to serve the global society at large... What I would say is that forget gods, goddesses, only think of Mother India," he said. Top BJP leaders like Smriti Irani and R C Faldu were present at the event.

Ahmedabad: Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday met RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat here. "Modi paid a courtesy call and met Bhagwat at the RSS headquarters in Maninagar," RSS sources said. The meeting lasted for more than 40 minutes, sources said. PTI

=====end of express news =====

Cant one think of God and Mother India both? Why does one need to forget Gods or Devalaya to be specific?

RMji, the above statement attributed to RSS is nothing new. OTOH, it is their fundamental ideology. RSS does not advocate bhakti to any Devi or Devta or Guru. On Vijayadashami, the salute is ONLY to the Bhagwa as a representation of Maa Bharati. Rashtra First, Always. I have been told this in RSS shakha since day 1. Mohanji's statement is NOT a trial balloon, it is the core ideology of RSS, surprised to see that many people still do not know this.