Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Arjun wrote:
bhargava wrote:Nilekani420 posts a selfie of his (Nira)adhaar card, name reads "Nandan Mohan Nilekani"
Wikipedia entry says name is "Nandan Manohar Nilekani"
Wiki also says Nandan's father subscribed to Fabian Socialist ideals that influenced Nilekani in his early years

This is interesting information. No wonder NRN and Nandan - two socialist-inclined persons stayed back in India and teamed up....The lucky geezers were in the right place at the right time, from POV of their net worths. NRN seems to be the relatively smarter one and wisened up fast - but Nandan's 'Fabian Socialism' seems to have stayed put.

if true, then the "Fabian Socialism" is a direct link to UK heartland universities and institutions. all "Fabian"-inspired popular characters have at some point or another interfaced with "source"-inspiration from Britain. that's guaranteed. did the father spend any time in UK? for higher studies or later for career purposes?

the "Fabian" is a very specific kind of inspiration. the more common are Marxist/maoist/Leninist inspirations. it's not that common to find people touting their Fabian-inspiration. interesting!

^ (KrishG) How do you train them otherwise? Trial by fire is the only current cheaper option.

If they sink, they sink. BTW, half of the debates on times-now and 3/4th on cnn-ibn are meaningless. They are to provide entertainment and a vent for khaata-peeta couch potatoes., who love to moralize. If this debates decided the elections., then why have elections at all? Just go and win in the debate!

Having said that, anybody who signs up for debate should inform their own local party co-ordinators and a team should help the debaters out with finer points (or provide a training through answering cohesively).
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/mama ... 55464.html

BJP is getting 19% in WB compared to 23% of LF.

I hope Modi makes 2 more visits to get that up.

Vinod Mehta is more likely to be a petro-dollar agent than a Congress agent.

WB must be one of the few states where it is in the upswing, wonder what the dynamics are.

If these numbers are true it means the left vote is disintegrating. My guess would be Muslim vote moving to TMC and Hindu vote to BJP.
INC has a dedicated Muslim vote bank in the Maldah-Murshidabad belt and some very old Hindu families who have voted them from the pre-independence days or were somehow connected. However, BJP votes are usually higher in opinion polls than what they are on the ground. Lets see if that tradition is also broken.

Any seats other than Darjeeling bagged by BJP Bengal is bonus.
It would be achievement in itself if BJP Bengal vote share is in the range quoted. If true then I'm betting that they are already on way to become the primary opposition party, displacing the left. The religion based polarization is there and combined with despondent economic conditions are ready made catalysts for future growth.

fanne wrote:Orissa has got only one thing, an honest CM just like an honest PM that India has. Other than that, very little to show. With time and technology, things have improved, now more people have mobile, urban centers have same chaotic growth. Initial years were good, where people will vote NP just for honesty as it was vote against very corrupt Cong in Orrissa. That endured for sometime. Suddenly they have NM who is honest and can give growth (which Naveen babu cannot, he can give you honesty though), so people who are looking for both are coming here.

+1. Naveen Patnaik is one of the most overhyped politicians in India wrt Governance capabilities along with Nitish Kumar.
Sure he is honest and has done some work for Orissa when it comes to Infrastructure. He also cares for his people. But that is about it.

The important point is that he is not a visionary. He doesn't have any vision for Orissa and neither has the capacity or courage to implement one. He exists as Orissa CM because of lack of suitable options.

Just one example of Naveen Patnaik's competence (or rather lack of it). You can ask any top official of any Construction company on how it is to work in Orissa. In all likelihood he will classify it as a nightmare. Every major construction company today is scared to work in Orissa because of local friction which demonstrates Naveen's failure. This is after almost 14 years of Naveen Patnaik's rule in Orissa. Orissa has the most natural resources in India along with Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh. Naveen has simply been unable to do justice to Orissa's potential. Plus his inability to unleash enterpreneurial spirit in the state will be counted as his biggest failure.

In front of Namo, he is a pygmy.

AjitK wrote:Narendra Modi’s march to 7 Race Course has begun
If what I have witnessed on Thursday after driving through hundreds of kilometres cutting across several constituencies of Western Uttar Pradesh, holds true in the rest of the state and has a traction effect on neighbouring areas, it appears then that Bharatiya Janata Party presidential nominee, Narendra Modi, has begun his march to 7, Race Course Road with more than a steady canter.

Booth level agents of other parties did not protest at election officers turning a blind eye as there was no protest from agents of other parties. They were in fact acting as double-agents. As a result, multiple voting was fairly routine at several booth in both rural and urban areas. I was a witness to incidents who details cannot be revealed because it may compromise people who assisted me to get a ringside view of what was happening.

Events like polling officers not scrutinising EVICs, not insisting on alternate identification papers in its absence, not matching the faces on the election slip with the person standing in front to cast their votes and finally not dabbing the index finger with indelible ink. Even as I write these lines there are memories of fingers of both hands dabbed with the black mark.

All this has been possible because of a perceptible wave. People did not turn out to vote for any candidate or a party, they voted for Modi. As I returned to Muzaffarnagar city, a huge crowd had assembled outside the BJP campaign office. Celebrations had already broken out!

This may eventually turn out to be premature, but what was visible in the embedded position I had through the day, made it appear that this could well turn out to be bigger than a wave.

Of course, there has also been high turnout at election stations in Muslim majority areas. There were reports through the day that similar takeover was happening there in favour of either of the non-BJP parties, mostly either BSP or SP. This further motivated BJP workers. Polling was at its fairest at elections booth located in colonies that have a mixed electorate. But then these are few and far in between.
https://twitter.com/hiambuj
Bogus voting happening in my village (Faloda, Muzaffarnagar). One person voting atleat thrice, for BJP. Police & officers not acting.
My aunt's vote has already been voted by someone. People are voting for others too. All bogus votes for BJP.
I confronted 'peethaseen adhikari'. He was accomplice. Didn't act. I created ruckus, started clicking pics. Few of my fellow villagers came. Tried to convince on Communal grounds, telling muslims are also doing same in their dominant villages.
Election officers were bought out, no ink was put on bogus voters. I'll file complaint when I return from my village.
Voting % in my village in Muzaffarnagar was 86+. 50+ booths in area had 80+. Even the dead voted for BJP. Such was the level of bogus voting
Go through his timeline. He is an AAP supporter. Angry chap. :lol:
This can be truth. I was myself a BJP Volunteer at one of the booths in Gautam Buddha Nagar(Noida). As far as my booth was concerned, SP and BSP did not even have stalls( my booth was completely Urban). Congress candidate had anyway crossed over Namo side. His workers were helping us :shock: Only AAP had a stall with 3 demoralised members manning it.

Our logistics arrangement was fabulous from multiple laptops to supply of Food/refreshments. The BJP candidate from GB Nagar Shri Mahesh Sharma ji had seen to it that we were adequately stocked. The avg BJP worker's morale was much higher due to this and most importantly Namo wave. Infact we even fed AAP guys(no laptops, no food/water. Well you get the picture).

Plus this booth that I was part of actually consisted of 7 adjacent booths. In most of these only BJP had their polling agents present. These are the guys who are authorised to remain inside the booth for the complete period of voting which includes sealing of voting machines.

Now when a Political party has the most no. of motivated workers at the ground level on the voting day and they are spread evenly, you can rest be assured that particular Party will accrue the most number of extra votes (read bogus or whatever). The no. of such extra votes can easily exceed more than 10,000 for one constituency. This is based on my own observations. Trust me when I say that we ensured that any Namo fan/supporter who approached us got to vote {deleted}.

This situation only gets magnified if workers/polling agents of rival Parties are completely absent from the booths and in rural areas.

At the end of day our booth registered 55% polling(approx 14000 total voters) which is not bad for an area which has only apartments. The interesting anecdote in the evening was while the colour of the BJP Button on EVMs had started to rub off, the other buttons were still looking new.
Last edited by Suraj on 14 Apr 2014 02:17, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Post edited. BRF cannot be interpreted as approving of the redacted parts.
Manu

Post by Manu »

darshhan wrote:The interesting anecdote in the evening was while the colour of the BJP Button on EVMs had started to rub off, the other buttons were still looking new.
Same thing in my neck of the woods. Meenakshi Lekhi button was worn out.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

PM became an object of ridicule; files went to Sonia
Modi is quoting your book, you may disagree with the media, but the BJP is using your book as Bible and saying that all the charges we had levelled against Manmohan Singh, which has been rejected by the Congress, is today being confirmed by the man who spent five years with the PM, Now how do you respond to that? Won’t you say that motive will be attributed to you?

No. there is no motive but all I am saying is my facts are balanced and I think that media tends to focus on the negatives, but if you read the whole book, I am not sure if Modi actually read the book… he would not be very happy with a lot of what I have said because I have actually said that in UPA I the PM provided leadership for the economies revival, PM provided leadership for India’s revival globally, the relationship with United States, the nuclear deal, the relationship with Pakistan, the dialogue with Musharraf, the economic initiatives taken.

The popular view today is that the 10 years of UPA were a complete waste of time. And I am saying no sorry that was not the case in UPA 1, it was not the waste of time... because of very significant achievements of this PM but it is true that in UPA2 things went wrong and that is not a secret and that is not the news.
On Sonia Gandhi being the super PM, according to the book…

I don’t think it's a secret. For me, as a journalist, I would say what's the big deal? We all knew this.
Was the PM's authority being curtailed and superseded by Sonia?

Of course... often yes, but that's known. I have said that often on many issues... I can't quantify it but certainly important issues... he was consulted, there was a core group, which met every Friday that was involved in a lot of important decisions... All of this is reported news; I am not saying it for the first time

On taking five years to come out with this book...

The reason I have written this book was my agony looking at the way in which in the last two years Dr Manmohan Singh was made an object of ridicule.

I said two years back to the media that in politics it’s alright to be either loved or hated... that's quite normal in politics all over the world.

On Dr Manmohan Singh being treated like a family retainer by Sonia and Rahul Gandhi

Retainer is a strong word. I will not like to use that, but certainly I don’t think he was treated with deference that a Prime Minister deserves.

On Rahul Gandhi's equation with the PM

My book argues that in 2004 Sonia did not have much of a choice... I wrote a column in May 1999 in Times of India and the headline given by them was the ‘Perils of Sonia as PM’. In 2004, she had no option as he (Dr Manmohan Singh) had the support of the allies -- DMK, NCP and even the communists.

In 2009, certainly as I have said in the book, he was the man who was entitled to be the PM. Rahul publicly was differential. Politically to actually have gone public to demand from the PM that you scrap an ordinance that the cabinet has taken... that is not on. The entire behaviour was impetuous.

On that appointment of Pranab Mukherjee as finance minister in 2009 without the knowledge of Dr Singh

That been recorded. Some Bengali journalists have already written the story of how Sonia called him (Pranab Mukherjee) after the results came in and asked him ‘what portfolio do you want.’ Pranab said ‘I want finance’ and Sonia said you can take it.

But I don’t know this for a fact since I was not present when Sonia spoke to him, but I have seen it in the media and have spoken to some journalists who confirm this for me.

Congress war room tracks 160 seats 24x7
NEW DELHI: Faced with one of its toughest elections ever, Congress has set up a crack team to monitor around 160 constituencies where the party thinks it has a relatively better chance if poll preparations are streamlined and differences among local leaders are ironed out.

While a majority of constituencies where Congress has fielded candidates is managed by the party's war room, the election control room (ECR) is keeping round-the-clock track of the shortlisted seats.

Sources say the ECR is the brainchild of Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi. Headed by party spokesman Randeep Surjewala, the team consists of around 12 young leaders handpicked from different states.

"However, the team does not deal with around 40-50 constituencies such as Rae Bareli, Amethi, Chhindwara, Guna and Rohtak where the party is confident of winning and where top leaders are in the fray. It deals with individual seats to sort out difficulties of local leaders, including poor coordination and their monetary needs," said a source. He added that these seats have been categorized as "A and A+" based on the likelihood of winning. The team is learned to have sent daily reports to Rahul and has access to top leaders. Significantly, Delhi did not figure in the list of constituencies while around a dozen in Madhya Pradesh including Balaghat, Dewas, Jabalpur and Mandla are under the team's radar. Similarly, in Bihar, the party hopes to do well in four constituencies, including Sasaram and Supaul. Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is contesting from Sasaram.

J&K, Maharashtra, Haryana going to polls later this year. Expecting change of Govt.

UP Sarkar would simply be sent packing soon after Modi Sarkar comes to power. JD-U Sarkar in Bihar would probably fall a month after the elections. So too would HP Sarkar fall.

Whole of North India going to turn Saffron before the end of the year!

RajeshA wrote: Whole of North India going to turn Saffron before the end of the year!
Whole of North India going to return to Saffron before the end of the year as it was in 48. ask any Old man, It was Bhagwa Parcham all over India and this scared Chacha & His Choochas to Hell. He used Gandhi's death to shift the momentum. Had Gandhi lived another 5-10 years, Chacha would have been quarantined & Bhagwa would have been on top of Parliament House.
debadutta

Post by debadutta »

darshhan wrote:.....

In front of Namo, he is a pygmy.
You are entitled to your opinion , People of the state feel otherwise and that's why he is a 3 term CM.

BTW BJP was part of the govt. for 10 out of the 15 years, so it is hypocritical of BJP to blame Naveen for all the woes. If they thought that there were scams , or if they felt that Govt. was not doing it's job properly, then they should have pointed that out during those 10 years.

It seems that if a leader is not supporting Modi then by default he or she is incompetent/pygmy etc. etc. . These leaders must be doing something right due to which they are getting elected (or may be it's all due to EVM magic!)

Obviously he is not a "superman" like Modi and has several flaws ( like suddenly realizing after 15 years that BJP is communal party , speaking Odia with a french accent after 15 years etc. ) .

All said and done , He is a "pygmy" who evacuated ~4 lakh people from harms way and saved 10000 + lives and that certainly counts for a lot in my book .

It is kind of worrying that Congress thinks 160-seats are in play, apart from their sure-seats. Dirty tricks or not, if they manage to get 140+, then Modi Sarkar is in doubt. So let us not count the chickens before they hatch, though it is so nice to dream and build castles in the air.

BJP should have following representatives only: N Sitharaman, MJ Akhbar, Meenakshi Lekhi, Piyush Goel, Rudy and the person I would love the most will be Navin Kohli (the man speaks with Authority and has the face and body to back up the commanding voice. I still remember the show where is owned Rahul (AAP guy) and Vishnu Som.)

Prasad, Javredkar, Trivedi, Seshadari Chari should be made to focus there energies elsewhere.

Sumeet wrote:
Prasad, Javredkar, Trivedi, Seshadari Chari should be made to focus there energies elsewhere.
You forgot Chandan Mitra. :mrgreen:

yep forgot him. These guys are good at heart but just not adequate for position of Spokesman.

Added Later: I forgot S Swamy. He is good as well to be Spokesman.

teetar says M lekhi madam gave back to congi spookies royally.
he asked about sonia keeping husband column blank, wants to discuss about colourful lives of jln ig etc. talks of putting people incluidng ngos and?paid media under scrutiny etc.
congis and the media were left speechless.
what with elections for Meenakshi lekhi over- she has ample time to indulge in these. :rotfl:
can anyone point to her videos please.
bhargava

Post by bhargava »

The Telegraph: Congress’s ‘realistic’ target: 120-140
Rasheed Kidwai

when she said she will give back in kind to people who talk sh1t some lady said likhi was threatening :lol

Jhujar wrote:
RajeshA wrote: Whole of North India going to turn Saffron before the end of the year!
Whole of North India going to return to Saffron before the end of the year as it was in 48. ask any Old man, It was Bhagwa Parcham all over India and this scared Chacha & His Choochas to Hell. He used Gandhi's death to shift the momentum. Had Gandhi lived another 5-10 years, Chacha would have been quarantined & Bhagwa would have been on top of Parliament House.
So what seems to be any issue now at international level considering NYT/Al-Guardian type propaganda? Do the civilized fear that rabid pseudo secular will turn even worse rabid pseudo secular?

Or is it usual make-heathen-look-uncivilized routine..

krisna wrote:teetar says M lekhi madam gave back to congi spookies royally.
he asked about sonia keeping husband column blank, wants to discuss about colourful lives of jln ig etc. talks of putting people incluidng ngos and?paid media under scrutiny etc.
congis and the media were left speechless.
what with elections for Meenakshi lekhi over- she has ample time to indulge in these. :rotfl:
can anyone point to her videos please.
Enjoy Madhu Kiswar & Meenakshi Lekhi here
http://ibnlive.in.com/videos/464462/sho ... issue.html

MediaCrooks ‏@mediacrooks 21m

It wasnt "lack of evidence" as corrupt @SardesaiRajdeep claimed over blacking out C4V.. It was cowardly FEAR @ibnlive pic.twitter.com/xhhJannd9q

LoL .. bribing for nuke deal! It was indeed a big scene when MPs brought bribe monies in Parliament to show back room deals.

Hindustan Times ‏@htTweets 13s

Win seats for party in #LSpolls or be ready to lose your chair, Congress tells its CMs http://read.ht/dgs #ht pic.twitter.com/Um4s9Y65Mx

green signal to do what all it takes to win , incl evm manipulation ????

Apparently, JD(S) and BJP have made a deal in Mysore:
JD(S)' 'secret pact' with BJP makes Mysore a close call
The constituency gains primacy for several reasons. Mainly because it is Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s home turf. The Congress candidate A H Vishwanath is a Kuruba like Siddaramaiah, and he is fighting to retain the seat against political greenhorn Pratap Simha, the Vokkaliga candidate of the BJP.

The JD(S) has fielded former judge Chandrashekaraiah, who has remained inconsequential right from the word go. Of the 15 elections, Congress has held this seat 13 times, while BJP had managed to wrest the same from the Grand Old Party twice. The constituency comprises large chunks of Vokkaliga, Dalit, minorities and Kuruba voters, followed by Lingayats and a sprinkling of Brahmin voters.

Match-fixing

Ideally, retaining this seat should not have been difficult for the Congress. But owing to the anti-incumbency factor dogging the ‘halli hakki,’ as Vishwanath calls himself, coupled with the repercussions of his tongue-lashing against JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda and his family, the Congress is forced to spend more energy in its own stronghold. The JD(S) is “out to get” both Vishwanath and Siddaramaiah, its arch political rivals, and is leaving no stone unturned this election season.

Like elsewhere in the State, the party has made a covert arrangement with the BJP, giving Simha (who is riding high on the ‘Modi wave’) a jump start. While there has been minimal canvassing for Chandrashekaraiah in Mysore, JD(S) has not bothered to campaign for its candidate anywhere in Kodagu, Hunsur and Periyapatna.

Not only are JD(S) party workers seen participating in BJP meetings, it is also heavily rumoured that JD(S) leaders have funded the BJP candidate, who enjoys the support of urban voters and the youth.

It is a prestige issue for Siddaramaiah to ensure victory for Vishwanath. What could work in favour of the Congress is the internal differences in the BJP. Simha has alienated himself from local leaders, who have expressed discontent over his conduct.

Sumeet wrote:Enjoy Madhu Kiswar & Meenakshi Lekhi here
http://ibnlive.in.com/videos/464462/sho ... issue.html
Either my laptop's speakers were bad or maybe I am a Male Chauvinistic Pig, I could not bear so many women shrieking at the same time. The female of the species are dangerous and noisy.

SRoy wrote:
Kati wrote:Requesting all having friends and relatives in West Bengal, please e-mail/call/chat with as many as
possible and request them to vote for NaMo. My own experience - Just bringing up two issues have
been extremely helpful: (i) Mamata's unabashed support for minorities overlooking the grievances of
hindus (/allowing unchecked illegal immigration); and (ii) We desperately need to create jobs and bring down the unemployment rate.

Please, please, please.........
Already done so in social circle and in office. Except one idiot in office all are on board.
People are already aware of the issues you listed.
What's missing is a viable platform with an identifiable face. RSS has its task cut out in WB.

It's the unpolished (read ...not Westernized) folks from far off districts that had already made up their minds, so they didn't need convincing. It is the Kolkata's bhadralok class that are the problem.
Roy-Saar, you are absolutely correct. But I started my determined "slow poisoning" much earlier - about 2 years back. Selected a band of 25 or so folks/friends, and regularly dished out one pro-NaMo article/column/picture/u-tube video, etc. Non-Kolkata crowd has been won months back, but going gets gritty with Kolkata people. A bunch of fence-sitters have taken a pro-NaMo plunge only recently. The remaining 2-3 are acting too cool to let their mind be read (in case, those 'bhadraloks' get branded as 'communal'), but I feel they will press lotus at EVM.

Business Standard ‏@bsindia 1h

Manmohan Singh revealed his assertive side, imposing his will on the government to push the case for GM food crops. http://goo.gl/YzFkE7
Documents reviewed by Business Standard show, for almost two years, Singh and his office have been the moving force behind the decision to go ahead with field trials of GM crops, including food crops, without awaiting regulatory reforms or the conclusion of the ongoing case before the Supreme Court. "Manmohan Singh remained consistent in his insistence about paring the food security Bill and in his advocacy for GM crops," said a senior official in the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government.

yesterday my son came and wanted to know who is narendra modi and if entire india is behind him. he had picked it up from his friends.
so i showed him some recording of the bangalore rally last week. also showed him some scans of the Bal Narendra comics.

dna ‏@dna 1h

Pramod Muthalik released book against Ananth Kumar http://dnai.in/ca2V
CNN-IBN News ‏@ibnlive 1h

RT @IBNLivePolitics: Congress should get Rahul married before commenting on Modi: Shiv Sena http://ibnlive.in.com/news/congress-sho ... 37-64.html … #ShivSena #Elections2014

Prem Kumar wrote:
Kati wrote:Requesting all having friends and relatives in West Bengal, please e-mail/call/chat with as many as
possible and request them to vote for NaMo. My own experience - Just bringing up two issues have
been extremely helpful: (i) Mamata's unabashed support for minorities overlooking the grievances of
hindus (/allowing unchecked illegal immigration); and (ii) We desperately need to create jobs and bring down the unemployment rate.

Please, please, please.........
Kati & SRoy ji: if you would like to call people in swing constituencies, plz let me know. There is a very dedicated volunteer coordinator here & many Bengalis are making lots of calls to their friends/relatives back home. The coordinator made an interesting comment on the cultural aspect - he said many Bongs do a lot of work on an individual basis to call, but very difficult to get them together as a group to do the same :D
Prem Kumar saar,
very good observation, but I guess that mainly applies to urban bongs (there is a saying that three bongs together will start a political party, and then start arguing....). If you need my help
then plez feel free to let me know. I'm doing my bits now to reach very extended family members/friends' friends to get few extra lotus chhaaps.

GM Crops another issue close to khans heart. And voila there is MMS...i mean how much more evidence is required ..
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

SwamyG wrote:It is kind of worrying that Congress thinks 160-seats are in play, apart from their sure-seats. Dirty tricks or not, if they manage to get 140+, then Modi Sarkar is in doubt. So let us not count the chickens before they hatch, though it is so nice to dream and build castles in the air.
Times of India yesterday had an article about how opinion polls cannot be relied upon as they proved wrong in the last two LS elections and Cong got huge number of seats. This, coupled with recent news about EVMs being found rigged in favour of everyone except Cong, has made me think that appropriate noises have begun to be made to prepare people for EVM fraud. Now it seems Cong is "watching" 160 seats where it has a good chance. You can put two and two together.

Times of India is a Cong whore and all trial balloons of this mafia party are first floated there. It is so obvious that the last two UPA wins were totally due to EVM fraud as the difference between opinion polls and the number of seats it got was staggering and couldn't be explained by anything as opinion polls had never proven so wide off the mark before in any election.

Why opinion polls are often wide of the mark
Initial opinion polls suggested that NDA was going to sweep the elections. According to poll results of India Today-ORG Marg, published in February 2004, NDA was supposed to get 330-340 seats while Congress and allies were to be confined to 105-115. Later the predictions were revised to 260-286 for NDA and 154-180 for Congress and allies. Then PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee became so confident by what the opinion polls had to say that in an April 17 rally at Nagpur (three days before the elections), he expressed his discomfort with the coalition government and said, "My worry now is, if we are again saddled with a 22-party coalition... such a situation is better avoided." Perhaps he was indicating that it would be easier to govern the country if his party secured a majority. The results, however, shocked BJP as NDA was reduced to 185 seats, while Congress and allies won in 217 constituencies.

In the 1999 elections as well, the initial poll predictions suggested that NDA would emerge a clear winner. An opinion poll conducted by DRS for TOI for the August 5-9 period — about a month before the elections — suggested that NDA would get 332 seats while Congress and allies would manage only 138. India Today-Insight opinion poll also confirmed TOI's prediction, giving 322-336 seats to NDA and 132-146 to Congress and allies. Both opinion polls suggested that BJP and Congress would increase their individual tally by cutting into the votes of regional parties.

The newspapers were full of stories about a "Vajpayee wave", which was the focus of BJP's election campaign. A news report based on TNS MODE survey even suggested that Sushma Swaraj was going to beat Sonia Gandhi in Bellary. The estimates were later revised to 279-336 for NDA and 132-162 for Congress and allies — much closer to the actual results. Swaraj, however, lost from Bellary and state parties won 162 seats.

Opinion polls for 1998 and 1996 elections were, however, closer to the actual results. Why do opinion polls tend to favour a particular coalition while underplaying others? First, unlike Western countries, India's population is not homogeneous — caste, religion and region play an important factor in elections. Also, people, particularly from the weaker section of society, are reluctant to reveal which party they are going to vote. BJP might be getting overplayed because the main support base of the party is the middle class — a section which is not afraid of any post-election harassment and hence they are vocal in sharing their views. On the contrary, key voters of other parties are from vulnerable sections of society and hence they are afraid to share their opinion. (The reporter here still cannot explain why opinion polls for 1998 and 1996 were accurate despite all these limitations)

Experts also argue that opinion polls work much better in bipolar elections. In India, where elections are multi-cornered, it is possible that pollsters fail to estimate the strength of regional parties.
Notice how the article above is careful to avoid mentioning that EVMs were introduced in 2004, the same year from which opinion polls began to go haywire.

The following figures are from the graphic in the above story. It gives opinion polls figures while actual seats achieved are in brackets. Notice how from 2004 when EVMs were introduced, opinion polls began to be wide off the mark when they were totally accurate earlier.

1996: BJP+ 189-215 (187); Cong+ 142-170 (143)
1998: BJP+ 234-254 (234); Cong+ 149-165 (144)
1999: BJP+ 279-336 (297); Cong+ 132-162 (134)
2004: BJP+ 260-286 (185); Cong+ 154-180 (217)
2009: BJP+ 165-186 (157); Cong+ 201-235 (262)

Someone most gullible or an extreme skeptic will not be able to see through the game. Why is Cong dragging its feet in introducing paper trail for EVMs despite supreme court orders? Communists protested against the nuclear deal, and the next year they lost badly in elections for first time in 30 years. How much proof someone need for EVM fraud? In this case, what are the chances of Modi coming to power? I feel they are nill. Congress has to swing an extra 25 seats its way and the game is over for BJP. Most likely a third front Govt. will come to power with Cong support.

Madhu Trehan tweets that she talked to Cong people and they were totally smug and confident that they will form the Government come what may!
Last edited by SanjayC on 14 Apr 2014 10:19, edited 6 times in total.

Modi's wife should get the Bharat Ratna for her sacrifice: Assam CM

"In the next 10 days, I am going to write recommending Jashodaben for the 'Bharat Ratna'," Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi said.

and he deserves the bharat ratna for being a lifelong dynasty toady. the same state which produced gopinath bordoloi and sarat chandra sinha produced this tasteless human.

Karan M wrote:GM Crops another issue close to khans heart. And voila there is MMS...i mean how much more evidence is required ..
Exactly my thoughts ..