Eastern Europe/Ukraine

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Eastern Europe/Ukraine

Singha wrote:Imo Russian vvd and motorized units have no option now but quick deployment in east before their supporters are eliminated.
That wont help and make situation worse.

Its better to involve OSCE and get UN moving on this and solve it via dialog.

Likely the present regiem will be taken care of in some special operation in the future or their own people in the government ( pro-east ) sympathizer will get rid of the top people for killing their own.

I wonder why the Army of Ukraine is not staging a coup and come as savior for all parties like they did in Egypt.

Virupaksha wrote:when are the gas payments from ukraine due?
Gazprom said today that the next bill will be sent on May 15 with May 31 as deadline to pay if they dont then Gas to Ukraine will be cut partially or fully is not known.

Today the EU energy commisioner also said that Ukraine has to pay its Gas Bill.

Today meeting of EU Energy , Gazprom and Ukraine did not end in any decision , 2 more meeting planned in May to resolve the issue

Virupaksha wrote:Obama who was shouting from the rooftops not to control his manufactured rallies, but is sending his clique's guns and helicopters.
Obama has been a foreign policy disaster on most counts , Libya , Ukraine , Syria and Israel-Palstenine peace talks ....all have ended with varying degree of failure.

He has used Drone widely which has killing more Innocent than Terrorist world over ....so he has blood on his hands.

Sadly the Noble was given too him based on "Hope and Change" but it was too fast and has changed for worst.

Johann wrote:Its not a buffer state if its actually incorporated as Russian territory.
Which is irrelevant because you're doing exactly what I knew you would do, and recommended not to - dissemble about definitions.

The baseline remains that since the early 1700s, Russia has always sought and maintained an eastern European buffer against western Europe.
Johann wrote:Ah I'm glad you asked - thats where diplomacy comes in. Poor Poland for example was carved up between Russsia, Prussia and Austro-Hungary through mutual agreement in the 18th century.
This is a mistake the west often makes. Diplomacy is not the solution. It is merely the official acknowledgment of a new status quo once achieved. That status quo is never achieved through discussion, but by acknowledgement of the existence of a change on the ground by all parties.

Acknowledge this: Russia of 2014 is not the Russia of anytime between 1991 and mid 2000s. It's a different creature, trying to reclaim influence it lost after 1991. You're not going to be able to roll them back by sitting at a table with them. There will be a new status quo, not a status quo ante bellum that the west desires.

The underlying theme here is 'western influence is good, Russian influence is bad', which is a self-serving one.

It always sounds odd when the west makes half-hearted claims of concern for Eastern Europe, i.e. 'poor Poland'. They're at the crossroads between the west and Russia, two powerful entities. They're usually hurt by both sides, and always have been. You can't change circumstances. It's like saying 'poor girl. She doesn't look as beautiful as Aishwarya Rai. Maybe we can achieve a diplomatic solution to it where everyone says she is.'
Johann wrote:Eastern Europe is as the name suggests...part of Europe, and that means the lessons of history that led to the formation of the EU and NATO have had an impact.
Sharing a name doesn't provide any justification. A good part of Russia is in Europe as well.

Again, you choose not to answer the specific question: if EU or the NATO can rationalize expanding into Eastern Europe, why is Russia doing so, threatening ? You seem to interpret the lessons of history as 'Russia expanding into eastern Europe is dangerous'.

Actually, no it isn't. In both world wars, it's western Europe trying to force its way east that triggered warfare. Happened with the Austro-Hungarian Empire in the Balkans in 1914, and with Hitler in the late 1930s. Europe simply does not get this lesson. The repeated collective stupidity demonstrated by doing so all over again now is appalling.

History demonstrates that it is Europe's actions to prevent Russia from maintaining a buffer that causes major conflicts, not Russian actions. Russia itself has enough soft power to hold sway over Eastern European minds to the extent it desires. Those who characterize it as Sovietization forget that Russia has had such influence well before Lenin was even born.
Johann wrote:Europe has enjoyed unprecedented peace over many decades in part by doing its best to discourage territorial conquest and the the militarisation of ethnic conflict.
EU expansion is territorial conquest in Russian eyes. I never see any European acknowledgement of that. Do you really expect Russia to believe it's 'just' a bureaucratic apparatus ? It doesn't matter if Eastern Europe is open to it - when you get upto Russia's borders, they will respond. Why would you do that, and then get worked up when they predictably respond ? That's the absurdity that Europe keeps repeating for a century now.

Obama, Merkel threaten broad sanctions in case Ukraine elections are disrupted
United States President Barack Obama and German Chancellor Angela Merkel declared on Friday that US and EU will be ready to impose broad sectoral sanctions on Russia if presidential elections in Ukraine are disrupted.

Should Ukrainian presidential elections scheduled for May 25 be impeded by Russia, Pres. Obama said, then sectoral sanctions against Moscow would be”inevitable.”

Both Pres. Obama and Chancellor Merkel told reporters from the White House rose garden that while a diplomatic solution to the Ukrainian crisis is preferred, further steps with regards to sectoral measures in the context of certain branches of industry could soon be announced.

Such sanctions, Obama said, would “further impact Russia's growth and economy” and be aimed at any of several sectors. At the same time, however, he said his administration hopes imposing further sanctions won't be required.

“There are a range of approaches that can be taken not only in the energy sector, but in the arms sector, the finance sector, in terms of lines of credit for trade, all that have a significant impact on Russia,” Obama said.

“This is not necessarily what we want, but we are ready and prepared,” Merkel added.
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

And now the two Jays will try to defend the use of army against a city full of their own civilians/citizens. And the comic duo of Obama-Merkel threatening more sanctions against Russia because - wait for it - because Kiev thugs have ordered army operation against a whole city.
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

Johann wrote:Eastern Europe is as the name suggests...part of Europe, and that means the lessons of history that led to the formation of the EU and NATO have had an impact.
Next
Sir Johann wrote:Pakistan was a part of India, therfore all of India is Pakistan territorry
in matter of days

:mrgreen: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Something worse happening from what i gathered at mp.net , Pro Maidanist has burnt building with many people inside.

This is civil war in making now.

Live Stream http://kontrmaidan.ru/streams/30
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Johann wrote:Its not a buffer state if its actually incorporated as Russian territory.
Which is irrelevant because you're doing exactly what I knew you would do, and recommended not to - dissemble about definitions...
Suraj ji, he knows all that you are trying to argue. Still no shame... will respond with more lies, more spin. Such is the nature of the beast.

Sanctions may be good for Russian manufacturing economy. Russian elite will have to learn to live without BMWs, Mercedes, Volvos, French wine, Italian clothes etc.

“football fans” attacking anti-government activists in Odessa have also set the local House of Trade Unions building on fire. The radicals stormed and torched the building after learning that some anti-Maidan activists had barricaded themselves inside it.

Check this link for more details many feared dead in the fire

http://rt.com/news/156424-odessa-ukrain ... -autonomy/
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

The west wants civil war so that they can fish in troubled waters... its proceeding according to the plan

The best option for Putin is to get the Russian people protection along the Blue line in this map.

Johann

Post by Johann »

Its not a buffer state if its actually incorporated as Russian territory.
Which is irrelevant because you're doing exactly what I knew you would do, and recommended not to - dissemble about definitions.

The baseline remains that since the early 1700s, Russia has always sought and maintained an eastern European buffer against western Europe.

Its silly to dismiss fundamental differences over meaning as 'dissembling.' I could just as easily do that when you refuse to see things the same way, but its not very good for dialogue is it? I might even get hauled up for trolling if I did that (BTW hello Rajiv Lather, nice to see you as well)

Its interesting that you think the difference between Russian territory (or its perceived adversary), and a a sovereign state is irrelevant.

Thats sort of like saying Nepal and Arunachal Pradesh are the same thing, or that Nepal and Chinese held Tibet are the same thing.

Russia historically tried to expand through conquest in every direction that it could. Not all were equally easy, and no one else in Europe is under obligation to make that direction extra easy for them.
This is a mistake the west often makes. Diplomacy is not the solution. It is merely the official acknowledgment of a new status quo once achieved. That status quo is never achieved through discussion, but by acknowledgement of the existence of a change on the ground by all parties.

Acknowledge this: Russia of 2014 is not the Russia of anytime between 1991 and mid 2000s. It's a different creature, trying to reclaim influence it lost after 1991. You're not going to be able to roll them back by sitting at a table with them. There will be a new status quo, not a status quo ante bellum that the west desires.

...EU expansion is territorial conquest in Russian eyes. I never see any European acknowledgement of that. Do you really expect Russia to believe it's 'just' a bureaucratic apparatus ? It doesn't matter if Eastern Europe is open to it - when you get upto Russia's borders, they will respond.
Great power diplomacy is a lot more than that. It allows for deals to be made where everyone gives up something.

Russia has no problems with Finland, which shares a border, is an EU member, but is also neutral and has not sought NATO membership.

A similar solution was, and still is possible for Ukraine. That country's accession has been stalled for over a decade in part because NATO-Russian dialogue made it clear that this was an especially sensitive issue. The West has offered Ukraine no military aid.

Why would you do that, and then get worked up when they predictably respond ?
There's no question that this caught almost everyone by surprise, and that worse than that there has been no contingency planning for this in Ukraine, the EU, NATO, or individual member countries. But that is in part because they were not seeking confrontation and escalation with Moscow. That can be called a massive failure.

But since you are in a questioning mood, ask yourself - when is the last time the Soviets invaded someone in Europe? Czechoslovakia, 1968. When is the last time they annexed territory without any sort of diplomatic agreement? The Baltic republics in 1945.

Its been a very long time since Moscow has acted like this - and we're not just talking about the Yeltsin years. There have been many European crises on its borders in between.

Well done Moscow for being so well prepared and still catching everyone by surprise. But then Moscow has always been good at strategic surprise. Long term, sustainable strategic victory.....not as much.

It always sounds odd when the west makes half-hearted claims of concern for Eastern Europe, i.e. 'poor Poland'. They're at the crossroads between the west and Russia, two powerful entities. They're usually hurt by both sides, and always have been. You can't change circumstances. It's like saying 'poor girl. She doesn't look as beautiful as Aishwarya Rai. Maybe we can achieve a diplomatic solution to it where everyone says she is.'
I believe thats the whole point of doing things differently - to allow Eastern European states to remain sovereign by allowing them the chance to be a full part of the West through full membership in institutions.

Also, consider that Germany didn't exist as a single nation state until the 19th century. The Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth was on the other hand the most progressive and powerful state of central and Eastern Europe until the 17th century.The arrow of history is not really as straight as it seems.

Eastern Europe didn't need pity, it needed the right to participate.
Sharing a name doesn't provide any justification. A good part of Russia is in Europe as well.
Yes, well Russia has been welcome to integrate as well, and there's certainly hope they will one day. The Kremlin wants integration as well. But they are *very* different economic and political systems. No one in Europe wants to live in the Russian system, and judging from Russian emigration, there's plenty of Russians who agree.
In both world wars, it's western Europe trying to force its way east that triggered warfare. Happened with the Austro-Hungarian Empire in the Balkans in 1914, and with Hitler in the late 1930s. Europe simply does not get this lesson. The repeated collective stupidity demonstrated by doing so all over again now is appalling.
First of all, nothing like the current system of collective security in Europe existed before either world war to deter expansion through conquest.

There were too many different major powers jostling for space and power, and willing to use force to get their way.

Incidentally Stalin eventually signed his pact with Hitler because he gave up on the UK and France getting their act together and hammering out a proper collective security pact that would guarantee the sovereignty of the buffer states of Poland and Czechoslovakia against Hitler.
Russia itself has enough soft power to hold sway over Eastern European minds to the extent it desires. Those who characterize it as Sovietization forget that Russia has had such influence well before Lenin was even born.
Actually I agree Russia has the capacity to exercise real soft power in the region, and to compete head to head with anyone else , both inside the EU and outside it.

Which is why I think its a matter of regret that they have chosen to respond to temporary setbacks in competition for influence with invasion and annexation

Again, you choose not to answer the specific question: if EU or the NATO can rationalize expanding into Eastern Europe, why is Russia doing so, threatening ?

You seem to interpret the lessons of history as 'Russia expanding into eastern Europe is dangerous'.
Well I think I've already answered that, and I'm sorry if you don't like the answer.

The lesson of European history is don't leave small states out in the cold. If they need security guarantees, give it to them early, and be serious about it. If they need membership in economic and political institutions for growth, let them have it.

I don't have a problem with the idea of Russian influence per se, if they're willing to play by the rules that have helped keep the peace.

NATO's growth came from countries chosing to join in search of security for themselves.

The EU growth came from those who wanted to benefit from the economic, technological and socio-political progress that it offered.

Russia's growth in regional influence is coming from military action against neighbours who have no territorial claims on Russia and no substantial military forces.

That's a stark contrast, and if you can't see the difference, then there's not much more to say on the subject.
Last edited by Johann on 03 May 2014 02:44, edited 1 time in total.

He has used Drone widely which has killing more Innocent than Terrorist world over ....so he has blood on his hands.
Far be it from me to interrupt the general BO-bashing, but.. the Drone policy is the one thing the US has got right in the past 7 years, and it is to BO's credit that he has steadfastly continued it (of course denying that it exists), through all that time.

As a candidate, Sen. BO promised
We must bomb Pakistan
and as Prez he has lived up to that. As for drones killing so many innocents, that is a bit illogical. The alternative to sending a drone is to send a manned fighter plane, which would have to use several bombs/missiles, causing a heck of a lot more collateral damage. The drone OTOH hangs around, until the operator sitting munching a burger and fries and swilling a beer milkshake is quite sure, and hits "FIRE". So collateral damage is MUCH less with a drone.

It is mainly the commie-pakis who are :(( :(( about the drones.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Rajiv Lather wrote:And now the two Jays will try to defend the use of army against a city full of their own civilians/citizens.
Yes Rajiv, its much easier to speak for me than it is to listen to actually ask me what I might think isn't it? Because that might be inconvenient.

Id be happy to hear your views on the use of military force to prevent peaceful separatism in general. I have no idea what Mr. Jones thinks on the subject.

Because I'm terribly sorry to disappoint you, but I'm not in favour of it myself anywhere - Scotland can go its own way if it choses to so in a free and fair vote.

Even though the Russians are infiltrating men and weapons across the border (sort of a more successful version of Gibraltar) I think the Ukrainian government is doing the wrong thing. Even though this military operation in the cities like Slavyansk has not produced Ukrainian civilian casualties anything like Yanukovych's brutal crackdown, it is still a *huge* mistake.

As I posted much earlier Ukraine was not in any way prepared for military conflict either internal or external. There's no contingency planning, command and control is weak, and conscript training and pay is abyssmal. To send them into the thick of the action unprepared in every sense of the word against far better organised and far more ruthless forces in a complicated situation is an act of desperation that looks worse than doing less.

I'm not advising the Ukrainian General Staff but if I was....I'd leave the masked men with guns in the towns to lord it over the broken chairs in their captured offices and concentrate on controlling the roads from Russia, and between towns. The only people sent into the towns should be police with non-lethal weapons, with only the most experienced SF to provide cover against shooters.

Because in this situation the real battlefield isn't military, its political. I'd concentrate on communicating with ethnic Russian Ukrainian citizens who have been pumped full of fear by Moscow, falsely terrified that the peaceful independent Ukraine they'd lived in for over 2 decades was somehow about to explode with ethnic cleansing against them in their cities. Pogroms of the kind which have utterly failed to materialise. Russia has put a lot of money into building a powerful Russian language information machine. Ukraine has very little in comparison, but thats what it needs to be building and employing.
Last edited by Johann on 03 May 2014 01:57, edited 1 time in total.
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

Eastern Europe east to whom from where?
Eastern Europe therefore is extension of Western Europe therefore natural right for the West.
Good Logic

Caucuses are/were in Russia so all Caucasian nations Western Europe America all belong to Russia
QED ( no not Queen Elizabeth Died)

Ok so Fauklands belong to Argentina because they are East of Argentina but WTF Uk has to do with it?

The Indian Ocean is India's Ocean WTF UK donating Diego Garcia ("British Indian Ocean Territory.) to USA

WTF World Trade Federation
Last edited by member_28502 on 03 May 2014 01:59, edited 1 time in total.

Im not advising the Ukrainian General Staff but if I was....I'd leave the masked men with guns in the towns to lord it over the broken chairs in their captured offices and concentrate on controlling the roads from Russia, and between towns.
I agree. Controlling key access roads to the towns is essential. Then I would proceed to water and electricity.

Take the path of least resistance.

Peaceful separation? Sure but that would apply to India's provinces too, right?
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

Get you facts right before Foot in mouth spreads
there are no provinces in India providentially they are states just like united states
Johann

Post by Johann »

Spinster, this is just like the old days - where your problems with what I have to say come out based on who I am and in the most random ways.

Europe is a continent. South America is a continent. The Indian Subcontinent is a mini-continent. Very good, you can manage basic geography. These are cultural and historical zones, not political entities.

Are you upset that SAARC doesnt offer Vietnam full membership, or that India wont make it into NAFTA?

Sweden is in Europe, but its population has consistently rejected membership in NATO. No one is going to invade it or force it to join.

But it deserves the option of joining, because it is part of that space.

The Kremlin is being very clumsy, as they usually are. It won much of the information war to win at least neutrality from the majority of ethnic Russians in Donbass. But its had to use a lot of force to try to seize physical control. I have no idea what their almighty rush is. They could have done this so much more cleanly, and without this sort of crisis.

But thats not the point - this is not just about getting territory. Its meant to be a demonstration of strength. Well don't expect the neighborhood to appreciate it.
Johann

Post by Johann »

RSoami wrote:Homosexuality is a crime in India too. Of course India is evil and we assume a recipient of your distaste.

..., the Kremlin I think would approve of your distaste.
Well I'm so reassured that you can and will speak for the Kremlin. I've been waiting for a while to see how you might tie your Voice of Kremlin thing to India, and you've chosen to do it in the oddest way

You'd like that wouldn't you, being able to argue that someone who has a problem with the Kremlin MUST have a problem with India?

Section 377 is a piece of Victorian colonial rubbish that is not actually part of state or ruling party ideology.

And utterly unlike Russia, there is a civil society movement that has the freedom, and is using the freedom to contest it. Given the recent ruling on transsexuals, and previous Delhi High Court ruling on 377, I have no doubt they will eventually succeed.

If Russia was anywhere as free and vibrant as India, I'd rejoice, and so would many other people. The Emergency lasted 21 months in India, and simply could not stand up to democratic activism. In Russia its still going, year after year.

I'd take asylum in the poorest city in India over Moscow. I'd hope you know enough about both Russia and India to make the same choice if you ever have to.
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Johann wrote:
Rajiv Lather wrote:And now the two Jays will try to defend the use of army against a city full of their own civilians/citizens.
Yes Rajiv, its much easier to speak for me than it is to listen to actually ask me what I might think isn't it? Because that might be inconvenient.
You are wasting quite a lot of time and effort in typing out long-winded replies. Let me try to simplify things a bit.

Most of us here are neither pro Russia, nor pro US/West. We are here to discuss and understand what is happening in East Europe and Ukraine. And from these discussions, and from what we gather from different sources of information, we have formed a certain opinion which is agreed upon by a majority.

You, and the other Jay, have a problem with that.

And you both think, that you can do better than CNN, BBC etc and spin a more sophisticated nonsense that will change our informed view of what is going on in East Europe.

Not going to happen.
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Now this is more like the International community we know; peace, democracy, rule of law - resulting in burning alive of more than 35 civilians in Odessa. They will "rescue" Ukraine, just like Iraq, Libya, Egypt, Syria and Afghanistan.

Advanced western democracies absolutely love peaceful collateral damage. Putin, for all his swagger, could only manage a couple of deaths.
Last edited by Rajiv Lather on 03 May 2014 03:42, edited 1 time in total.

Rajiv Lather wrote:Now this is more like the International community we know; peace, democracy, rule of law - resulting in burning alive of more than 35 civilians in Odessa. They will "rescue" Ukraine, just like Iraq, Libya, Egypt, Syria and Afghanistan.

Advanced western democracies absolutely love collateral damage. Putin, for all his swagger, could only manage a couple of deaths.
He didn't need to. Ukraine offered no resistance to his troops when they took over the Crimea.
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

TSJones wrote:
Rajiv Lather wrote:Now this is more like the International community we know; peace, democracy, rule of law - resulting in burning alive of more than 35 civilians in Odessa. They will "rescue" Ukraine, just like Iraq, Libya, Egypt, Syria and Afghanistan.

Advanced western democracies absolutely love collateral damage. Putin, for all his swagger, could only manage a couple of deaths.
He didn't need to. Ukraine offered no resistance to his troops when they took over the Crimea.
Unapologetic and shameless...
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Those people who managed to jump out of the burning building were "finished off" using baseball bats by the thugs of the extreme nationalist group Right Sector. The death toll has crossed 50.

Johann wrote:I'd take asylum in the poorest city in India over Moscow. I'd hope you know enough about both Russia and India to make the same choice if you ever have to.
You would rue the day you do that. But a medium sized middle of the road town/district HQ/even a Taluka HQ should be preferred any day.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

I agree with Rajiv that members of this forum are pretty much neutral on Russia vs The West contest. Not only that, the Indian government is pretty much neutral as well. However, on the grassroots level the story is very different. If you travel through villages and talk to people you will notice that Indians consider Russia as a brotherly country. I do not know what Russians did to earn that but that is the reality. Russia has to do something very stupid to destroy that sentiment.
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

Rajiv Lather wrote:You are wasting quite a lot of time and effort in typing out long-winded replies. Let me try to simplify things a bit.

Most of us here are neither pro Russia, nor pro US/West. We are here to discuss and understand what is happening in East Europe and Ukraine. And from these discussions, and from what we gather from different sources of information, we have formed a certain opinion which is agreed upon by a majority.

And you both think, that you can do better than CNN, BBC etc and spin a more sophisticated nonsense that will change our informed view of what is going on in East Europe.

Not going to happen.
butt hurt opinion != informed opinion

when is the last time the Soviets invaded someone in Europe? Czechoslovakia, 1968. When is the last time they annexed territory without any sort of diplomatic agreement? The Baltic republics in 1945.

Its been a very long time since Moscow has acted like this
Is this a serious question?

You keep pushing and pushing on somebody (NATO expansion since 1990s) and at some point Russia pushes back and the argument is "well they did not do anything when we pushed them earlier..we dunno why they are not bending over now too" :shock:

Good Q.Who invaded Russia in WW2?Germany! 21 million Russians died in that war. In fact,"Eastern Europe" could easily be described as "Western Russia"!

What the Right Secctor thugs and Ukranian Police have done in Odessa,where dozens of protesters have died is no better than what the fascist Nazis did in WW2 against the Jews.It reminds one of Warsaw and the attacks against the Jewish ghettoes.Retribution will be inevitable and swift.Putin has said that the Geneva agreement was dead even before this act of murder. There is a limit as to how much provoking and wounding an angry Bear will take.Even BBC reporters have been showing pics of unarmed civilians valiantly stopping tanks on a bridge (Tian An Men redux) in the east .Pictures speak a thousand words.No BS from O'Bomber and Frau Merkel will eradicate the truth.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/m ... lding-fire
Ukraine clashes: dozens dead after Odessa building fire
Trade union building set alight after day of street battles in Black Sea resort city
Howard Amos in Odessa and Harriet Salem in Slavyansk
The Guardian, Friday 2 May 2014
Fire in trade union building in Odessa
People wait to be rescued from the trade union building in Odessa, after it was set alight during chaotic clashes. Photograph: Reuters

More than 30 people were killed in violent and chaotic clashes in the southern Ukrainian city of Odessa on Friday as pro-Ukraine activists stormed a building defended by protesters opposed to the current government in Kiev and in favour of closer ties with Russia.

Odessa's large Soviet-era trade union building was set alight as the pro-Ukraine activists mounted an assault as dusk fell. Police said at least 31 people choked to death on smoke or were killed when jumping out of windows after the trade union building was set on fire.

Bodies lay in pools of blood outside the main entrance as explosions from improvised grenades and molotov cocktails filled the air. Black smoke from the building and a burning pro-Russia protest camp wreathed the nearby square.

Pro-Russia fighters mounted a last-ditch defence of the burning building, throwing masonry and petrol bombs from the roof on to the crowd below.
A pro-Russian activist aims a pistol at supporters of the Kiev government during clashes in Odessa A pro-Russia activist aims a pistol at supporters of the Kiev government during clashes in the streets of Odessa. Photograph: Sergey Gumenyuk/Reuters

Medics at the scene said the pro-Russia fighters were also shooting from the roof. At least five bodies with bullet wounds lay on the ground covered by Ukraine flags as fire engines and ambulances arrived at the scene.

Some people fell from the burning building as they hung on to windowsills in an attempt to avoid the fire that had taken hold inside. Pro-Ukraine protesters made desperate efforts to reach people with ropes and improvised scaffolding.

"At first we broke through the side, and then we came through the main entrance," said one pro-Ukrainian fighter, 20, who said he was a member of the extreme nationalist group Right Sector.

"They had guns and they were shooting … Some people jumped from the roof, they died obviously," he said.

Riot police arrived on the scene as hand-to-hand fighting was already under way inside, but did not enter the building and stood formed up in ranks outside.
A protester walks past a burning pro-Russia tent camp near the trade union building in Odessa A protester walks past a burning pro-Russia tent camp near the trade union building in Odessa. Photograph: Yevgeny Volokin/Reuters

Within two hours of the assault beginning, the resistance from pro-Russia activists inside the building seemed to have been quelled. Several fire crews were spraying the smouldering building with water and ambulances lined the streets outside.

Bloody and dazed pro-Russia protesters were eventually escorted from the building. Many were handed over to police, and loaded on to police vans. Some were assaulted by the crowd.

"The aim is to completely clear Odessa [of pro-Russians]," said Dmitry Rogovsky, another activist from Right Sector whose hand had been injured during the fighting. "They are all paid Russian separatists."

The seizure of the trade union building was the violent culmination of a day of street battles in this Black Sea resort city.

The clashes reportedly began after protesters gathering for a rally in support of a unified Ukraine were attacked by pro-Russia activists armed with clubs and air pistols.

But the confrontation quickly escalated into a series of skirmishes as the two sides played a deadly cat and mouse game in the centre of the city.

Police largely stood aside as the two sides hurled molotov cocktails, cobblestones and bricks at each other. Girls as young as fourteen were smashing cobblestones to break them up into missiles of a manageable size.

Combatants on both sides were armed with body armour, helmets and shields and carried baseball bats, chains, metal bars and air pistols.

For two and a half hours the police were absent, said Olga Gold, a teacher watching the unrest. "The authorities have been absolutely indifferent," she said.

Dozens of buildings and cars were damaged during the violence. Most of the cafes and bars in central Odessa, a popular holiday spot, were closed by early evening.
A wounded man takes treatment after clashes in Odessa A wounded man is treated after clashes in Odessa. Photograph: Sergey Gumenyuk/EPA

Meanwhile in the east of the country on Friday Ukrainian military forces mounted their fiercest attempt yet to retake Slavyansk – the town at the centre of the pro-Russia insurrection – obliterating checkpoints and losing two helicopters in an assault that has tilted the country closer to outright conflict.

At least two Ukrainian crewmen died when the Mi-24 helicopters were brought down by sophisticated missiles, and Stella Khorosheva, a spokeswoman for the insurgents, said three fighters and two civilians were killed in the clashes.

The claims could not be verified but the escalation resulted in the deadliest day in Ukraine since a dozen towns and cities fell to pro-Russia gunmen last month.

On Friday night, Slavyansk was calm but tense as pro-Russia gunmen regrouped in the rain.

Moscow responded by calling for a special UN security council meeting, saying the deal agreed in Geneva two weeks ago to defuse the situation had been buried by the Ukrainian onslaught. "The Kiev regime moved combat air forces against peaceful settlements, began a reprisal raid, essentially finishing off the last hope for the feasibility of the Geneva accords," said Dmitry Peskov, spokesman for Vladimir Putin. But there were no indications of an imminent Russian invasion. Instead, Moscow sent an envoy to try to help release foreign military observers who have been held hostage in the city.

The sudden escalation dominated exchanges between Barack Obama and Angela Merkel in Washington. The US and Europe have sought to coordinate their response to the crisis, imposing two rounds of sanctions aimed at Putin's inner circle and freezing assets of companies linked to them. On Friday they warned Russia that sanctions targeting whole sections of the country's economy would be inevitable unless Moscow de-escalates the situation in Ukraine before elections later this month.
Obama and Merkel Barack Obama and Angela Merkel hold a joint news conference in the Rose Garden. Photograph: Alex Wong/Getty

"Putin's views must be taken into account in Ukraine, but Russia does not have the right to violate Ukrainian territorial integrity or dictate Ukrainian domestic policy," Obama said.

Merkel also gave a strong endorsement of potential new sanctions. "In Europe, we have taken a position that should further destabilisation happen, we will move to a third stage of sanctions," she said.

Nijalingappa,include Kiev inside the blue line! If Kiev is taken,the entire Maidan mafia and Kiev chicken marionettes will collapse like a punctured balloon.AS I predicted,Odessa has now erupted.If Odessa goes the Crimean way,Ukraine will be cut off from the sea,a catastrophic blow whch will ensure its swift economic collapse,requiring further westerrn bailouts from the IMF,etc.

Independent UK:
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world ... 18796.html
[
b]Ukraine crisis: The nationalist attack on Slovyansk shatters the best remaining hope for peace [/b]
Kim Sengupta
Slovyansk
Friday 02 May 2014

Burning barricades, shot-down helicopter gunships, private cars used as ambulances to ferry the dead and injured to hospitals - and a public declaration from Moscow that the international agreement which had offered the last flickering hope of peace in the region has been buried by this military action.

These were the latest and the most foreboding signs so far that the vicious confrontation in Ukraine is inexorably sliding into a conflict with grim consequences for the region and beyond.

The attack on Slovyansk does not appear to have been as successful as the Kiev administration had initially claimed. It was, however, a desperate attempt to prevent the east of the country from going the way of Crimea, swallowed by the Kremlin, after a dozen towns and cities have fallen into control of separatists, and with a referendum impending, designed to formalize the division of the country.

Unless there is a climbdown by Kiev, the situation can now only get increasingly bloody. Their forces began the assaults, starting just after dawn, on a series of checkpoints around the city which had become the centre of militant activity in the Donbass region, and the place where observers from the OSCE [Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe] are being held.

The Independent could ascertain that three checkpoints – at Cherkeska, Kpmbikorn Plant and Andrievka – were captured, although the Kiev administration had claimed 10 had been taken. However, unlike previous assaults, this time soldiers established their presence on all three and used them to carry out limited forward sorties with armoured personnel carriers (APCs).

Highly significant was the shooting down of the helicopters with the use of surface to air missiles, a sign that the militants' armoury was more extensive than hitherto thought, and a clear inference that weapons had been supplied from across the Russian border.

The Ukrainian defence ministry immediately declared that the use of the missiles was also “proof” that Spetznatz, Russian special forces, had been present on the ground. It said that two Mi-24 gunships were shot down while on a patrol killing two airmen, and that a third, a Mi-8 transporter, was also hit, injuring a serviceman.

Ukraine’s Defence Ministry later said two servicemen were killed on the outskirts of Slovyansk after pro-Russian separatists attacked their position. “Heavy fighting is continuing. The deaths of two Ukrainian soldiers have been confirmed at the current time,” the ministry said in a statement, accusing the separatists of using civilians as human shields.

Vyacheslav Ponomarev, the recently appointed pro-Moscow mayor of the city, said that two aircraft had been brought down and the pilot of one had been captured. Separatist fighters insisted to The Independent that some of the troops in Ukrainian uniforms had been heard speaking in English and had carried out manoeuvres in a manner indicating that they were private security contractors. One commander, Leonid Andreiovich, maintained: “They came in SUVs. They were, I think, scouting. They behaved in a different way, more professional. They did not fire back when we fired at them, they did not reveal their positions, then they just disappeared, but then we found their uniforms, they must have changed into civilian clothes.”

A group of fighters produced combat uniforms supposedly abandoned by these mercenaries. One had a UK flag patch on the arm of a camouflage jacket, along with unit marking of a panther’s head. “What is this, how do you explain this,” asked one of the fighters. I pointed out one of his companions was wearing a Manchester United football shirt that and a mercenary was unlikely to wear his national colours. Images of the jacket were later put on YouTube.

Arsen Avakov, interior minister of the acting Ukrainian government, and a voracious chronicler of action in the east of the country on his Facebook page, claimed that half of Slovyansk was now under Kiev’s control. That was not the case at the time – the centre and most of the suburbs seemed calm until late in the afternoon. Fresh defences, however, had been established and fresh batches of armed men appeared from surrounding towns. New attacks, they said, could be expected during the night.

Mr Avakov also claimed that foreign fighters were involved. “It’s a real battle we are waging against professional mercenaries. We are ready to negotiate with protesters and their representatives, but for terrorists and armed separatists there is only punishment.”

Retaking Sloveynsk, with its narrow streets, sizeable arsenal and a hardcore of well trained fighters, would be a difficult business, involving casualties. An element of surprise is unlikely, as the timing of the current operation was leaked to the Russian media in advance.

Vladimir Putin had repeatedly warned that military action by the Ukrainian government which caused civilian casualties may lead to intervention. The Kremlin stated today that further operations would have “catastrophic consequences”. The Russian president’s spokesman Dmitry Peskov accused Kiev of launching a “reprisal raid”.

Around 150 people, many of them women, gathered at Slovyansk’s central square to ask for Mr Putin’s aid. “He is the only hope we have now. The junta [Kiev administration] has now made it clear that they want to attack this city, our homes. How can we defend ourselves?” asked Natalaya Lesintolava, a 48-year-old mother of three children. “They are using helicopters, tanks, how can we fight them? Out self-defence force do not have big weapons. In the past we had asked Russia for weapons. It is too late for that now. Now we need soldiers to defend us, they will just shoot us down of we confront them.”

A confrontation did take place at Andrievka, when around 10 APCs approached the checkpoint from neighbouring Kramatorsk, while a contingent of National Guardsmen, recently raised by the Kiev administration, came from the opposite direction. The barricade was destroyed by the APCs, according to some accounts, or by the protesters themselves, to stop further movements of forces, according to others. Residents poured out of their homes to challenge the soldiers, flying the colours of the airborne forces on their armour, and on a bridge.

“We were caught by surprise, the National Guard came first. Some of us went to talk them, ask them what they were doing here. They promised they would not open fire on the people,” said Vasily Filmerenko. “Then suddenly these tanks [APCs] came from the back, along that track, firing. The National Guards said they were surprised as we were. They didn’t want this to happen; I am not sure I believe them.”

For the next few hours, the crowd, steadily increasing in numbers, demanded to know from the soldiers why they had come. Some were threatening: “You are Ukrainians; this is the Donbass, you are foreigners here. We will fight you and send you back to Ukraine in coffins,” shouted Yuli Wesmorotov. An elderly woman, Martina Sochroinova, came with a Bible: “ I want to pray for you boys; I wish I could talk to your mothers, they must be so worried; why should they have this terrible worry?"

The troops were at first stoical, silent. Eventually there were discussions: “We are here to protect you; we are only here to fight the terrorists, the separatists,” a sergeant tried to explain.

“I am a separatist, do I look like terrorist to you?” asked Mrs Sochroinova. A National Guardsman, Roman, 26, who was already under suspicion after saying he was from Lviv, from the nationalist west of the country, was asked: “Did your father fight against the Nazis?” He did, responded the guardsman: “But I have read some books which show it was the Soviet Union which started the war; a lot of Ukrainians died for nothing.”

Viktor Barasiniov spat into the ground: “This is the type of people they are sending here; how can there not be a fight?”

Obama is acting on the instructions of his masters err oil oligarchs to disrupt Russian Gas supply and keep crude oil prices high. Russia and western Europe will be loser while Saudis, Chinese and American elite will be winners.

..and use a few ill-gotten shekels to pay for the carnage in the Ukraine just as the Saudis,Qataris and co. are paying for the carnage in Syria.A plague upon these pestilential global parasites who prey upon the misfortune of others.

German automakers and major german companies are still not controlled directly/indirectly by the Rothschild/Rockefeller/Bush cartel and thus even if Germans suffer loses on account of gas supplies, Obama's backers will only stand to gain whatever the result in Ukraine, that is how they have planned this.

I do not see any real reason why EU wants to engage any anti Russian actions. Entire thing is being egged on from US and its dog UK and other beggars following the suit. Lot of people in US need a strong enemy to survive and Jihadis are slowly becoming out of fashion and Obomer being a Muslim (or at least Muslim lover) also not help. So they have res-eructed Russian enemy back into reckoning. Oil of course also helped. Putin save Obombers a** in Syria and proved to be reasonable partner to the west and there was no major issue between both of them until this thing came up.

I think this is a case of Obomber trying to prove he got mojo and nothing else.

So now we will see a military solution.
BBC News (World) ‏@BBCWorld 2h

#Ukraine's military operation against pro-Russian militants resumes after deadly violence http://bbc.in/1fD2YWo pic.twitter.com/HSZoloMjoD
RSoami

Post by RSoami »

Well I'm so reassured that you can and will speak for the Kremlin. I've been waiting for a while to see how you might tie your Voice of Kremlin thing to India, and you've chosen to do it in the oddest way
I am being paid by the Kremlin to do it. :mrgreen:
You'd like that wouldn't you, being able to argue that someone who has a problem with the Kremlin MUST have a problem with India?
You have a problem with Kremlin or its policies ? I believe its the former. Actually you have a problem. Full stop.
Section 377 is a piece of Victorian colonial rubbish that is not actually part of state or ruling party ideology.
And utterly unlike Russia, there is a civil society movement that has the freedom, and is using the freedom to contest it. Given the recent ruling on transsexuals, and previous Delhi High Court ruling on 377, I have no doubt they will eventually succeed.
Dunno if they will succeed but every country has its laws. The fact that you have a problem with Russian laws and have brought up Russian homosexuality law to support your argument against Russian policy on Ukraine and in this thread only indicates that you have a problem with Kremlin.
If Russia was anywhere as free and vibrant as India, I'd rejoice, and so would many other people. The Emergency lasted 21 months in India, and simply could not stand up to democratic activism. In Russia its still going, year after year.
For some reason the west didnt have as many problems with a worse and more despotic leader. Boris Yeltsin. The `emergency` during his tenure were the most benevolent.
I'd take asylum in the poorest city in India over Moscow. I'd hope you know enough about both Russia and India to make the same choice if you ever have to.

Let me rewrite this.
I'd take asylum in the poorest city in India over Moscow/London/New York.. I'd hope you know enough about both Russia/UK/USA and India to make the same choice if you ever have to.

Cheers.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Rajiv Lather wrote:
You are wasting quite a lot of time and effort in typing out long-winded replies. Let me try to simplify things a bit.

Not going to happen.
Rajiv,

Firstly, I receive many rather long messages in reply - I cant manage to reply to all of them - so its hardly a case that discussion is simply over.

Secondly, I'm sorry you deal so poorly with disagreement.

Thirdly, don't flatter yourself. I'm not here to change your opinion, or anyone else's. I'm here because I find it stimulating. Its fundamentally good to be challenged, and to challenge others, especially on both basic fundamentals as well as details. Its quieter here than it used to be in the old days, but its still lively enough.

RSoami,

I think I've already made my position clear. The Kremlin sees things as a zero sum game, and this generates conflict. If someone else gains, it loses. That point of view is the inherent product of an authoritarian mindset. The authoritarian sort of mindset doesn't just have a problem with other countries - it extends to the right to criticise, and the right to be different whether in the living room or the bedroom.
Last edited by Johann on 03 May 2014 15:45, edited 1 time in total.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Now back to the fundamentals.

Here's one of the best maps so far of troop movements, and the conventional land force order of battle:

http://apps.washingtonpost.com/g/page/w ... order/996/

If you look carefully, its clear the Ukrainian General Staff and/or political leadership has decided to concentrate on defending the approaches to Kiev and Odessa. Odessa was particularly vulnerable to a pincer move from Crimea and Transnistria and would be a far more serious loss than Donetsk.

But between all of these factors, available conventional forces for the defence of the Donbass from invasion are minimal.

Looking at the map I'd wonder about Kharkiv. Its got a much more mixed ethnic composition than Donetsk, but the balance of conventional forces across the border is much more dramatic than any other sector besides Donetsk.