Shamlee wrote:
Hari Seldon wrote: No chicken biryani sir. only pure veg stuff. Like, dhokla perhaps. And some plainspeak should they meet on the sidelines of the conference (which can later be leaked on youtube).
You are right Saar. Only vegetarian food. I am so happy.
And while the food at the swearing in ceremony is unlikely to be entirely Gujarati, it will certainly be entirely vegetarian.

"Arrangements are being made for 3,000 guests and a vegetarian high tea. The refreshments, including sandwiches and pastries, for VIPs will be served at the forecourt, while VVIPs will be ushered to a room inside the building," The Indian Express said.
http://www.firstpost.com/politics/from- ... 36869.html
Good. Now since we all hindus got united and elected the government we want lets go back to our nature and divide ourselves based on our food choice, ethnicity, caste etc and have an order of superiority over each other. Bravo.
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

Who is dividing Hindus on food choices? I just stated that I was happy that vegetarian food was being served. Don't I have the right to express my opinion? In my family I am the only vegetarian (by choice), others all eat non-veg. Does it mean I am dividing the family?
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

Rahul Gandhi inciting people in Amethi: "If Modi doesn't listen to us, we will set everything on fire." This is when the retard hardly stepped inside his constituency in the last 10 years.

Shamlee wrote:Who is dividing Hindus on food choices? I just stated that I was happy that vegetarian food was being served. Don't I have the right to express my opinion? In my family I am the only vegetarian (by choice), others all eat non-veg. Does it mean I am dividing the family?
I am sorry. Did not mean to get personal. Thanks for the clarification. But that entire block I quoted made me uneasy. Our society do carry that false feeling of superiority over each other which makes me worried.
member_27987

Post by member_27987 »

abhijitm wrote:
Shamlee wrote:Who is dividing Hindus on food choices? I just stated that I was happy that vegetarian food was being served. Don't I have the right to express my opinion? In my family I am the only vegetarian (by choice), others all eat non-veg. Does it mean I am dividing the family?
I am sorry. Did not mean to get personal. Thanks for the clarification. But that entire block I quoted made me uneasy. Our society do carry that false feeling of superiority over each other which makes me worried.
abhijitm-ji, I think you misunderstood the context here, IMHO. They were talking about Paki's being served Biriyani to which the reply is: No, they are going to be served "protein-less", SDRE, bejitables onlee

Biryani foreign policy should go into the BRF dictionary.

EswarPrakash wrote: abhijitm-ji, I think you misunderstood the context here, IMHO. They were talking about Paki's being served Biriyani to which the reply is: No, they are going to be served "protein-less", SDRE, bejitables onlee
Yes, may be I misunderstood and replied hastily.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

In whats app I got message that NM is going to do swearing in Sanskrit. Is that true?
It also says he will also go through the ritual of "Rajyabhishek" :eek: :twisted: :twisted:

I recommend strongly no Chicken or Mutton Biryani vagra for South Asian delegates. Pure Vegetarian Sattvic food on the table Modi ji.

Singha wrote:whether one likes it or not Rajapaksa type 'strongmen' are the reality in SL and tamils have no charismatic leader there to provide a counterweight. its better we get into economic and military deep ties with SL and make it profitable for their elites to be on good terms with india. that will moderate their dealings with SL tamils. india should be able to invest heavily in what is our backyard.

sickular symbolic style appeasing of TN local sentiment is not able to achieve any lasting soln except driving the SL elites closer to Cheen and TSP.

some of their elites may be SOBs but we got to engage and make them 'our SOBs' just as america maintains 'guangxi' with a whole lot of grey characters around the world for its national interest.
There are two things, which need to be differentiated

a) talking to other world leaders
b) getting the job done as per Indian interests

It is talking while wielding a heavy gadda like Bheem.

Till today the talks between India and Pakistan have all been about the symbolism of talking and India giving concessions to Pakistan, or talking with Mahinda Rajapakse while letting him get away with his invites to China into the neighborhood or continuing his anti-Tamizh policies.

It is perfectly okay for the Indian leader to talk to Pakistan, BD or Sri Lanka leaders as long as he is bringing Indian interests forward, especially security interests.

So I hope Tamizh parties don't go all bonkers about the invite to SL leader. Even to resolve issues one needs to talk. All this boycott business is just symbolism and should be resorted to when one is at the end of one's wits and knows one cannot produce any movement forwards.

as matter of principle I always object to jeeva hatya on the occasion of anything auspicious. I had limited say in my marriage so they served non-veg food also and the mob back home expect it. but once i setup my own household and got control, we have been veg on such occasions like moving into new house, kids bday etc.
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

Singha wrote:as matter of principle I always object to jeeva hatya on the occasion of anything auspicious. I had limited say in my marriage so they served non-veg food also and the mob back home expect it. but once i setup my own household and got control, we have been veg on such occasions like moving into new house, kids bday etc.
Singhaji, it was your marriage and you had limited say? So who had the unlimited say? SHQ or parents? :)

Dilbu wrote:This SAARC thing is a bad move. Too early a thing to try at this stage. Don't know if they really thought through the chain of events such an invitation will trigger.
Modi is forcing everyone to show their hand while holding cards close to the chest.

The chain of events will happen regardless. Only this time he wants to fight the battle at his time and place of choosing.

As Kishore Mahbubani said in a video posted by svinayak ji, india is entering a geo political sweet spot and being cunning is the need of the hour. The world will respect us more for it.

Dilbu wrote:This SAARC thing is a bad move. Too early a thing to try at this stage. Don't know if they really thought through the chain of events such an invitation will trigger.
Narayana Rao wrote:India is THE TOP DOG in this area of the world. Its neighbors of invited to pay homage to the new leader of India. That is all. That is the message. It is just like Paki invitation to NM. Paki leader who visits India will be paying homage to India democracy which they do not have at their nation. He will be attending for oath taking of a Hindu leader becoming the Ruler of Hindu nation while his nation is begging before Khan for dollars on daily basis. Further his attendance to a leaders oath taking ceremony who talk of Pappy will be very difficult for Islamic rulers.
I basically don't think NaMo is sending out those invites to SAARC leaders in order to have vassals at his coronation. May be to some extent that would be true but indirectly.

In USA often candidates talk up their experience and say the others would have to learn on the job while they can hit the ground running. This is what NaMo is basically doing. He is hitting the ground running. He is getting to work and using even his swearing-in as an occasion to do the work people expect of him as a PM.

I don't know how extensive and detailed are going to be the discussions NaMo will have with each of the leaders, but at least he wants to establish a necessary rapport with all of them and make them feel comfortable talking to him.

He is making Track-II diplomacy into Track-I diplomacy!

I am expecting NaMo to at least solve the fishermen's problems along Gujarat-Pakistan and Tamil Nadu - SL within the first month itself.

kapilrdave wrote:In whats app I got message that NM is going to do swearing in Sanskrit. Is that true?
It also says he will also go through the ritual of "Rajyabhishek" :eek: :twisted: :twisted:
mungerilaal ke haseen sapne onlee.. won't happen..

although I will dance crazy if this happens... a simple chant of mantra-pushpanjali would suffice. That verse is earliest proclamation of our nationhood - पृथिव्यै समुद्र पर्यन्ताया एकराळीती (this land from earth [mountains] to ocean is one nation). (Rigveda's Aitareya Brahmana 8.15.3)

I have been hearing about Sanskrit oath, though. Both these things are easily doable and will be done in 5 minutes. matter is that of political will.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Naah. No 5 minutes ritual. Go through the entire ritual including the Abhishek by various 10-11 types of liquid (milk, coconut water, scent etc.). Me too will dance like mad.
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

I know it is not possible but it would have been wonderful if the swearing-in ceremony was done on the Ganga ghat along with the detailed rituals. I would give anything to see the reaction from the MSM journalists and the left-wingers. I am an atheist myself (SHQ is a staunch believer) but hate to see these left-wingers look down upon Hindus and glorify other religions.

Modi calling all neighbours for his coronation is a masterstroke. All these nations are being infested by China. This is one way showing our power of influence, a message to China "this is our playground and we are going to keep it that way". ....one way of looking at this...

SHQ ???

Minion In the Trench (MIT) would be adequate :D
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

krishnan wrote:SHQ ???
My hubby. :D

Does he get to boss around the house with you are a dutiful obedient puppy. If yes, then he is the SHQ. Else he is the MIT as described by Lokesh C
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

Pratyush wrote:Does he get to boss around the house with you are a dutiful obedient puppy. If yes, then he is the SHQ. Else he is the MIT as described by Lokesh C
Can't find the post of Lokesh C. What is MIT.

I called him SHQ because I am the one who is on BRF and he is the one complaining.

Shamlee wrote:I called him SHQ because I am the one who is on BRF and he is the one complaining.

ya allah.. now I have seen everything!!! :P

MIT - minion in trench..

Shamlee wrote: I called him SHQ because I am the one who is on BRF and he is the one complaining.
This was missing on BRF.
Sri

Post by Sri »

Shamlee wrote: I called him SHQ because I am the one who is on BRF and he is the one complaining.

Shamlee Ji that was classic... should go to BRF accronym page immediately

SanjayC wrote:How Modi defeated liberals like me

(Shiv Visvanathan is a professor at Jindal School of Government and Public Policy.)
A good read but still loses the plot. He very eloquently says his a, b, c.......gets to x, y and then forgets it all. Well, anyway my grouse is not that. Its the way he and his ilk attach the liberal tag to themselves. That's what caught my attention. Quite a few like that among the khadi (200 thread count cotton onleee) & Hawaii chappal wearing, marie biscuit nibbling, tea sippers.

Being leftist or having leftist orientations in my opinion is not as bad, maybe puerile, but not necessarily evil. But these guys are fascist. Left leaning fascists. How generously they attach the liberal tag to themselves. Oiseoules...
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

I don't see why liberal and left-wing (commies) go hand in hand. I am a liberal as far as my thinking goes but I am definitely not a commie. I oscillate between slightly right of centre to slightly left of centre for economic policy.

And shamlee on a (lighter) sidenote, any probability of you being some man disguised as woman poster can be ruled out when some posts back you said this
Don't I have the right to express my opinion?
There that confirms we have a woman poster on BRF. :D

- just kidding. Glad to have you here shamlee.

There are no parallel words for liberal OR conservative or leftist or rightwing in Indian system. Just as dharma is not religion, leftism is not something that Indian ppl (those who are referred to as leftist) want.

The right dhaarmik word which is right substitute for emotion which Indian leftists wish to convey when they say the word "left" or "socialist" is coined by acharya vinoba Bhave - the word is "Sarvodaya". No one, not even swatantra party type "so called hindu rightwing" will disagree with emotion and necessity behind the emotion and meaning of word "Sarvodaya".

Ensuring "Udaya" of everyone - this is the right emotion. I wish NaMo changes preamble and changes socialist to Sarvodaya.

Singha wrote:as matter of principle I always object to jeeva hatya on the occasion of anything auspicious. I had limited say in my marriage so they served non-veg food also and the mob back home expect it. but once i setup my own household and got control, we have been veg on such occasions like moving into new house, kids bday etc.
Living itself is auspicious, if you ask me.

What diff does it make to the jeeva if its killed on everyday except a Saturday or a Tuesday. If one needs to eat meat, make your peace and eat.
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

abhijitm wrote:And shamlee on a (lighter) sidenote, any probability of you being some man disguised as woman poster can be ruled out when some posts back you said this
Don't I have the right to express my opinion?
There that confirms we have a woman poster on BRF. :D

- just kidding. Glad to have you here shamlee.
Do women sound like that? Maybe, I do have some female hormones in me.

pradeepe wrote:
SanjayC wrote:How Modi defeated liberals like me

(Shiv Visvanathan is a professor at Jindal School of Government and Public Policy.)
A good read but still loses the plot. He very eloquently says his a, b, c.......gets to x, y and then forgets it all. Well, anyway my grouse is not that. Its the way he and his ilk attach the liberal tag to themselves. That's what caught my attention. Quite a few like that among the khadi (200 thread count cotton onleee) & Hawaii chappal wearing, marie biscuit nibbling, tea sippers.

Being leftist or having leftist orientations in my opinion is not as bad, maybe puerile, but not necessarily evil. But these guys are fascist. Left leaning fascists. How generously they attach the liberal tag to themselves. Oiseoules...
So let's just call them #FiberalFascists!

Atri wrote:Ensuring "Udaya" of everyone - this is the right emotion. I wish NaMo changes preamble and changes socialist to Sarvodaya.
And "Secular" to may be "Samabhavuk" or some other Indic word.

secular is easy - its sarva-panth samabhaav. OR to be more precise - simply "Dhaarmik". :)

Shamlee wrote:I don't see why liberal and left-wing (commies) go hand in hand. I am a liberal as far as my thinking goes but I am definitely not a commie. I oscillate between slightly right of centre to slightly left of centre for economic policy.
They don't, thats the issue.

When left leaning "intelligentsia" naturally assign themselves the liberal tag, It also means having a right of center view is automatically illiberal (is there a word like that) or intolerant.

Also "left leaning" or "right leaning" can by choice be self attributed. Tags like "liberal" cannot.
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

pradeepe wrote:
Shamlee wrote:I don't see why liberal and left-wing (commies) go hand in hand. I am a liberal as far as my thinking goes but I am definitely not a commie. I oscillate between slightly right of centre to slightly left of centre for economic policy.
They don't, thats the issue.

When left leaning "intelligentsia" naturally assign themselves the liberal tag, It also means having a right of center view is automatically illiberal (is there a word like that) or intolerant.

Also "left leaning" or "right leaning" can by choice be self attributed. Tags like "liberal" cannot.
Would "conservative" be the word you are looking for? Personally I find the left-wingers a lot more intolerant than the others. I also find that they are bad-losers. When UPA won the elections, BJP did not make a hue and cry the way these left-wingers are making now.

The Indian liberal discourse is hijacked by the DIE. They are the ones who set the terms of reference for any debate. They control the popular channels of communication (SM is breaking this control).

So, as long as you have an agenda and control the channels of communication. You can call your self a liberal and any voices that are raised to challenge you can be drowned out in a volume. This is a blunt force weapon, through the use of which majority was bludgeoned into submission. Until the advent of social media, broke the monopoly of the organized media on the flow of information.

Also, one needs to understand, that, the self proclaimed guardians of Liberalism are people who have a poor self image, of self and those around them.

This is something that I learned during the debates following the Ram Janm Bhumi verdict.

Personally, I feel that it was the verdict that set the stage for the NaMo victory.
brat

Post by brat »

Shamlee wrote:
Pratyush wrote:Does he get to boss around the house with you are a dutiful obedient puppy. If yes, then he is the SHQ. Else he is the MIT as described by Lokesh C
Can't find the post of Lokesh C. What is MIT.

I called him SHQ because I am the one who is on BRF and he is the one complaining.
:shock: