India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

PhillipJi,

I have worked for a German company, and I have been to Germany many times. Don't be misled by just one expulsion and show of outrage by Germany. In my experience, I have observed that Unkil asks Germany to jump, and they ask how high. I thought Germans being fellow thoroughbreds will stand up confidently to Unkil, but like all other countries with colonized elite, even the German elite look to US as the Gold standard for everything, not just science and technology which is understandable because Unkil has the best, but even on cultural fronts.

CRamS wrote:PhillipJi,

I have worked for a German company, and I have been to Germany many times. Don't be misled by just one expulsion and show of outrage by Germany. In my experience, I have observed that Unkil asks Germany to jump, and they ask how high. I thought Germans being fellow thoroughbreds will stand up confidently to Unkil, but like all other countries with colonized elite, even the German elite look to US as the Gold standard for everything, not just science and technology which is understandable because Unkil has the best, but even on cultural fronts.

You have to read psychology books on what happens after a conquest.

Germany was conquered by both US and Russians.
There are mass actions to subjugate the folks for atleast three generations.
I leave it for you to find out what those actions are.

Same with Imperial Japan.

Or India after Muslim conquest.

The infamy of the Nazis in WW2,where Germany was on the losing side is why they kowtow on occasion.Interestingly,the Israelis leveraging the German guilt of WW2 got the Germans to underwrite its fleet of U-boats.Nevertheless,Germany has taken over the mantle of leadership of the EU and as America retreats is asserting itself more.There are some limits to obeisance to the once almighty dollar.

Ramana is spot on.The mentality of people who have been subjugated requires a revolutionary leader to light the spark of freedom again.Was it not APJAK who in one of his books remarked about the mentality of babus belonging to the colonial era?

I have an amusing story to tell.Many years ago I was staying at one of the top beach resorts in SL,v. popular with the Germans.The then manager was a good friend and we were in the lounge enjoying a drink together watching the hotel full of happy European tourists mostly Germans.He asked me a Q,"do you know what kind of occupation most of these guests have"; then answered it himself saying that most were blue collar workers and not from the top drawer.The hotel staff ,captains,stewards,housekeeping staff, etc.,were all dressed in white shirts and sarongs (popularly known as sarong johnnies).One of the German guests ,a regular,who happened to be a rich industrialist joined us for a drink.A few minutes later a gleaming black Merc,the latest model majestically swept into the porch and out stepped a middle aged "sarong johnnie".The German's eyes popped out as he exclaimed in disbelief,"A Sri Lankan waiter owns the latest Merc! Why even in Germany not everyone can afford it!" He went away stunned shaking his head.

My friend and I then broke into hoots of laughter as the "sarong johnnie" dressed in white,aam aadmi fashion was none other than the country's then Finance Minister !
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

Thus spoke the house ni***r!
India's problem is not Modi -- it is decades of political and intellectual deterioration that made his election possible.
http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2 ... evelopment

RKumar wrote:
Barack ‘HUSSEIN’ Obama’s concerns regarding Narendra Modi

“My name is Barack ‘HUSSEIN’ Obama,” was all that he said in a reply that was pithy but pregnant in its implications. The president did not, of course, emphasize his Muslim middle name. The emphasis in the text here is mine. He did not have to: because the self-sustaining emphasis was not lost on anyone present at the fundraiser. There was a brief, but stunned, silence as everyone who heard the president digested the import of what Obama had said in six words that were worth a thousand.
Once idiot, always idiot. Let this idiot to sleep with global guardians of green, while their cities burn. :( :((
If an Indian PM had said, during attack on Iraq, that middle name of some Muslim politician was xyz, the press would be aghast at taking intra-country relations to a personal level. I wonder what would Bush say - " My middle name is George Bush!" or something similar. By the way, let's not forget this too http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 9#p1684649 or does he think that a riot in India is much more serious than centuries of annihilation of natives & slavery and what else happened in USA - these things are not really mentioned in USA, if at all!

The 'breaking India brigade' seem to be a cover to be silent on several issues that are not comforting to the American side i.e. targeted kidnapping and NewYork style search of Indian diplomat while ignoring immunity( without USA senate itself signing all diplomatic conventions), or free aid to terrorist pakis - even when pakis have bombed an Indian embassy recently in Afghanistan, and so on and so forth.

The state of technology is such that PM Modi could be implanted with an electronic bug or a assa.sination bug if he visited any foreign land.

Slip it into his food or drink and once he consumes it, the bug can be set off at any time killing him.

Nanotech and even microtech makes it very easy to build such a device as only a small amount of poison is needed to kill.

Sort of the same way so many Latin American leaders have mysteriously died of cancer including Hugo Chavez.

If US can be spying on supposedly close NATO ally like Germany's Merkel, you can be sure they have no inhibitions about implanting Modi or anyone else non-NATO with such a bug.

Saddam Hussein many moons ago was so careful about his security that he even demanded that any document sent to him from abroad first be photocopied in-case it was coated with any deadly chemicals.

^^^Another of those theories along the lines of "EVM Magic?"

sudarshan wrote:^^^Another of those theories along the lines of "EVM Magic?"
Just like NSA spying on Modi,and Hillary sending her people to dig up graves. Yeah they will never do such things.

It's not about their intentions, Anmol, but about the ability. Given a chance, I'm sure they'd do EVM Magic as well. But the fears there were unfounded, because the technology didn't permit them to do as much damage as we feared. Likewise, with these very specific claims about how they can "implant a micro or nano bug and release poison at will." If the Americans could do such things and get away with them, they would certainly go for it. But *can* they? And again, I'm questioning these extremely specific claims about timed poison release, not other assassination techniques.

sudarshan wrote:It's not about their intentions, Anmol, but about the ability. Given a chance, I'm sure they'd do EVM Magic as well. But the fears there were unfounded, because the technology didn't permit them to do as much damage as we feared. Likewise, with these very specific claims about how they can "implant a micro or nano bug and release poison at will." If the Americans could do such things and get away with them, they would certainly go for it. But *can* they? And again, I'm questioning these extremely specific claims about timed poison release, not other assassination techniques.
Dont know about nano bug, but they have done such things and got away with it. They have gone a long way to "stop modi": whole visa denial, grave digging, the whole wharton affair, all the oped is NYT and WP, and nsa snooping.

Can't put it past them to "stop modi" this way. (though they dont really need nano bug to do this)

But the fears there were unfounded, because the technology didn't permit them to do as much damage as we feared.
The Supreme Court ordered the EC to provide paper proof of ballots. That was what Subramaniam Swamy demanded, as the way to stop the post-election re-programming. So it wasn't that the technology was not there (some demonstrations were made that it could be done) but the strategy could not be changed in time after the SC decision.

As for the rest, pls do a Search on: Salvador Allende, Mossadegh, Patrick Lumumba and Homi J, Bhabha.

Like I said, my questions were specific to the claims about micro or nano bugs. But let me ask this. If the Ameri-coons start doing away with world leaders whom they don't like in whatever manner, then what prevents other world governments from retaliating in the same way? Is it so hard to poison an American president or high official when he's in India or Russia or China? Is it just our sense of "high ideals" which is going to prevent retaliation? A high-tech assassination is perfectly within the technological capability of any of these countries. Litvinenko and polonium, anybody?

The best security against such underhanded schemes is not to be terrified of visiting foreign countries (or the USA specifically), but to have a secure system in place to ensure continuation of whatever policies the Ameri-coons find distasteful, regardless of whether our top leader gets it from them or not. And the distasteful policies should include retaliation in like manner for their perfidy. I do agree that India may not yet be at this level, and that Modi needs to watch his security for the moment and not take things for granted.

who poisoned hugo chavez ?

When a US president visits a foreign country, don't the secret service first taste anything that he consumes. They are paranoid. I agree, Modi should watch it. But as of now, US still has hopes on Modi that he will be a good munna like MMS, so this particular trip I think he is safe.

Request people to think rationally about this.

If I wanted to poison somebody, the LAST place/time I would choose to do it is when that person is on a publicly announced visit to my own house.

No matter what the technique, no matter if it "appeared to be death by natural causes", the finger of suspicion would first and foremost point to me. Doubly so if the "natural causes" were attested to by none other than my own family doctor.

It is when visiting innoccuous, powerless places like Bhutan or Sri Lanka that the danger to Modi is FAR more IMO. Attempts will be far harder for the host country to detect or prevent, and blame will be impossible to pin. No wonder Modi's security detail was hugely upset when he got out of the car to greet the gathered crowds in Thimphu.

You can always put something long lasting that affects the person later. IMO Modi should do a Putin and take aling his own cook, water, food.

Karan M wrote:You can always put something long lasting that affects the person later. IMO Modi should do a Putin and take ailing his own cook, water, food.
+1. Should have a secret service of our own for NM's protection on phoren shores.

Also, wonder what Xi Jingping does when he visits Duplicity, err, DC.

Astrologers are saying Modi should not leave India before end of this year. It is not auspicious

yeah Modi better watch out: fine wine, good food (discrete prior dietary inquiries will be made), post prandial cognac and expensive cigar if he wants one.........yeah, we bad, better watch out.

^I an always get an astrologer who will say 180 degree opposite stuff. What's the point? I agree that NM should in general reduce travel to the OECD (except Japan) and look east at ASEAN.

http://www.worldaffairs.org/events/even ... 8Nt2_ldWSq
One more of these. Why did they not do the MMS India

Modi’s India: Thinking About the Future
WHEN
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
7:00PM - 8:00PM
WHERE
World Affairs Council Auditorium
312 Sutter Street, Suite 200
San Francisco, CA
In May, India completed the largest democratic election the world has ever seen. Over the course of five weeks, more than 800 million people turned out to cast their votes. The election of Narendra Modi and his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came as a surprise to many, especially since the incumbent Congress Party has held power for the majority of India’s democratic history.

The overwhelming support for the BJP may be a sign of changing priorities among voters. Rather than voting along religious, caste and other identity lines as has historically been the case, Indians voted for Modi’s promise of economic reform and growth. However, religion remains a strong influence in Indian politics. Only 9% of Muslims voted for the BJP, which may reflect lingering concerns over the 2002 ethnic riots that took place in Gujarat while Modi was chief minister of the state.

What does India’s new leadership mean for the country’s economic and foreign policy outlook? What are the implications of lingering religious and ethnic tensions in this vast democracy?

SPEAKERS

Pradeep Chhibber
Professor and Indo-American Community Chair in India Studies, University of California, Berkeley

Thomas Blom Hansen
Reliance-Dhirubhai Ambani Professor of South Asian Studies, Professor of Anthropology and Director, Center for South Asia, Stanford University

Sunder Ramaswamy
President and Frederick C. Dirks Professor of International Economics, Monterey Institute of International Studies

MODERATOR:

David Arnold
President, Asia Foundation

TSJones wrote:yeah Modi better watch out: fine wine, good food (discrete prior dietary inquiries will be made), post prandial cognac and expensive cigar if he wants one.........yeah, we bad, better watch out.
But then again your CIA was also seriously considering poisoning Castro's cigars and making his beard fall out :rotfl:
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

Rudradev wrote:If I wanted to poison somebody, the LAST place/time I would choose to do it is when that person is on a publicly announced visit to my own house. No matter what the technique, no matter if it "appeared to be death by natural causes", the finger of suspicion would first and foremost point to me. Doubly so if the "natural causes" were attested to by none other than my own family doctor.
Lal Bahadur Shastri's death is very suspicious on foreign shores -- it paved the way for Indira Gandhi's ascent to PM chair.

sudarshan wrote:It's not about their intentions, Anmol, but about the ability. Given a chance, I'm sure they'd do EVM Magic as well. But the fears there were unfounded, because the technology didn't permit them to do as much damage as we feared. Likewise, with these very specific claims about how they can "implant a micro or nano bug and release poison at will." If the Americans could do such things and get away with them, they would certainly go for it. But *can* they? And again, I'm questioning these extremely specific claims about timed poison release, not other assassination techniques.
Don't know about Americans, but all indications are that, Israelis could, and did, do "something" to bump off Arafat. And Russkies seem quite handy with polonium-tipped umbrellas, vide the Politoskaya matter. No reason, in principle, why the Americans wouldn't have the same, rather trivial, capability to bump off a foreign leader. Question is, what can they hope to gain by it? If Indians can replace Manmohan Singh with Modi, they can, quite possibly replace Modi with Amit Shah or some other King Stork.

sudarshan wrote:Like I said, my questions were specific to the claims about micro or nano bugs. But let me ask this. If the Ameri-coons start doing away with world leaders whom they don't like in whatever manner, then what prevents other world governments from retaliating in the same way? Is it so hard to poison an American president or high official when he's in India or Russia or China? Is it just our sense of "high ideals" which is going to prevent retaliation? A high-tech assassination is perfectly within the technological capability of any of these countries. Litvinenko and polonium, anybody?

The best security against such underhanded schemes is not to be terrified of visiting foreign countries (or the USA specifically), but to have a secure system in place to ensure continuation of whatever policies the Ameri-coons find distasteful, regardless of whether our top leader gets it from them or not. And the distasteful policies should include retaliation in like manner for their perfidy. I do agree that India may not yet be at this level, and that Modi needs to watch his security for the moment and not take things for granted.
Mature political systems like USA, and increasingly, India, have a life and continuity beyond one or the other specific "supreme leader" even if their citizens are sometimes too infantile to realize this.

If the Indian culture and political system was so rotten that its salvation depended solely on one single mortal individual, however remarkable and talented he might be, then there is no hope for it in the first place. No Modi or super-Modi can fix a system that didn't already have some elements that make a fix possible.

From what I have come to know of Modi, I expect a response on the following lines if this concern is raised with him: "yes, Modi is undeniably mortal; the question we should be asking is whether Indians have what it takes to keep India immortal. We are not going to be deterred from carrying the country's business forward out of fear for Modi, who is just one Indian."

Poisoned umbrellas,Grigory Markov.Bulgarian secret service.Litvinenko,polonium,now appears to be an oligarch inspired hit ,along with certain western agencies aimed at smearing Putin.

But seriously,PM Modi should be extra careful with regard to his visit as he will be a thorn in the flesh of those who want India to be a western satrap
.The CIA tried umpteen times to finish off Castro,got rid of Allende,to mention just one famous name apart from the conspiracy that saw JFK and RFK removed from the scene in a palace coup.An organisation that has allegedly assassinated its own president will have no scruples whatsoever about a foreign leader with an independent mindset.

Without Manmohan’s US-baggage, Modi can score high at BRICS summit
The most vital announcement was made at the 2013 summit in South Africa — the setting up for a new development bank that is different from the IMF and the World Bank. At $ 41 billion, China has promised the highest capital for the bank while brazil, India and Russia committed 19 billion each. South Africa would contribute $5 billion. However, the process of formation of the bank has been slow owing to disagreements on the location of the Bank (China wants to host it) and sharing of the resources

This is going to affect Gringos and Europeans on multiple levels. The WB and IMF have been firmly in their hands. That meant that large loans and conditions on loans were dictated by these lot. With the climate talks putting the onus on developing countries to reduce emissions while at the same time , the developed world making no such commitments, one can easily imagine how IMF and WB could influence projects.

With a $100B reserve and independent functioning, it will be theGringos and EU who will should be worried about setting standards for emissions and using these as a tool to impose tariffs and barriers. Here is one article from UNU which seems to already talk about climate even before the bank has been setup.

Be Careful, BRICS Development Bank
Yes, be careful, because the world is watching. The world, the whole world, not only the World Bank and IMF, not only the US, the EU or the UK, not only the countries and companies eager for money from these five fat cats, but also nature and the people — the river that will be dammed, the forest that will be harvested, the fish and elephants that will be disturbed, and the indigenous people that will be resettled. The latter do not, and cannot, speak loudly, but in the end we may be confronted with greater irreversible natural loss and human disaster as a result of the bank’s lending, and a question: multilateral development banks, is their constructive capacity as real as their destructive capacity?
MMS ,the US puppet, stalled proceeedings. If you remember, BRICS nations treated him badly in S.Africa ...his contingent was placed 40km from the venue of the conference....I think it was them sending a message.

Actions of Modi on the BRICs bank is going to reveal his position on where he stands.

From NGO Watch in GDF:
skaranam wrote:Obama's Adviser Calls on Naidu
HYDERABAD: Advisor to US President Barack Obama and chairman of Rocky Mountain Institute Amory B Lovins called on Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu at his residence here on Sunday and discussed prospects of sharing of environment technology for development of Andhra Pradesh.

They also discussed technology sharing in the field of energy security, energy production, power utilisation and saving methods in the truncated state. Lovins expressed his country’s willingness to share the latest knowledge and technology for development of the state.He offered to share the latest innovations in promotion of soft energy technologies based on solar, wind, bio-fuels and geothermal to augment the power demand and supply scenario in Andhra Pradesh.

Chandrababu Naidu informed Lovins that Andhra Pradesh was a front-runner in exploitation of soft energy technologies like wind and solar power, and apprised him of the headway made by the state in using pollution-free and environment-friendly technologies in power generation. He also highlighted the road map of solar and wind power generation in AP.
Now a little research..into this...
http://www.rmi.org/Content/Files/AnnualReport06-07.pdf

Suzanne Woosley...is a member of board of trustees for Rocky Mountain Institue...and she is the wife of James Woosley ex-CIA director...

http://www.sourcewatch.org/index.php?ti ... H._Woolsey
https://sites.coloradocollege.edu/bulle ... -trustees/
http://www.sourcewatch.org/index.php/James_Woolsey
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NGO_Monitor

Now, what do these guys want in AP?
Looks like massa is not happy even after Sonia madam and Chinnamma Shusma divided the state.
They want more.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

Karan M wrote:You can always put something long lasting that affects the person later. IMO Modi should do a Putin and take aling his own cook, water, food.
+1. Also, they will certainly try to analyze his health. For instance, the CIA studied the contents of a toilet used by Khruschev (?) for exactly this purpose. (I think it was Khruschev, but I can't remember now. It was certainly a Soviet leader.)

Nowadays, genetic profiling and genetic targeting is quite advanced ... And the West has no concern whatsoever for diplomatic protocol. That should be obvious from the events in Syria, Ukraine, Libya, and Germany.

In my opinion, the deaths of PM Shastri and Dr. Homi Bhabha were related to the planning for the NPT.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

Mature political systems like USA, and increasingly, India, have a life and continuity beyond one or the other specific "supreme leader" even if their citizens are sometimes too infantile to realize this.

If the Indian culture and political system was so rotten that its salvation depended solely on one single mortal individual, however remarkable and talented he might be, then there is no hope for it in the first place. No Modi or super-Modi can fix a system that didn't already have some elements that make a fix possible.
You have a point. However, a great leader is a rare thing. India cannot afford to have a chalta-hai attitude regarding VVIP protection. (Obviously, I'm not accusing you of this.)

Do we know that Modi does not take his own cook etc? Maybe he does.

KJoishy wrote:Do we know that Modi does not take his own cook etc? Maybe he does.
Are we expecting Modi to eat khichidi in a thali during a white house state dinner??

Served by a barefooted, unshaven Hindu waiter in striped underpants and a grimy banian, no less??

KLNMurthy wrote:Mature political systems like USA, and increasingly, India, have a life and continuity beyond one or the other specific "supreme leader" even if their citizens are sometimes too infantile to realize this.

While you may have a point here, I wouldn't overdo it. What is also true is that individual actions and proclivities too can do much to alter the course of history, nay psycho-history. A Patel as PM in place of Nehru would have led to a very different India - all else being the same, for instance. A Bose as INC prez instead of Nehru would have again led to very different consequences for the freedom struggle, IMO. Again, ceterus paribus only. Less said about LBS and IG's succession, the better. Etc.

And yes, lemme say it, "Modi is a leader like no other in India today. 'Suddenly removing' him from the scene will change India's course in ways that benefits those who are not India's well-wishers, IMO". There, I said it only.

WTO faults U.S. over duties on Chinese, Indian steel goods
World Trade Organisation judges said on Monday the United States broke its rules in imposing hefty duties on Chinese steel products, solar panels and a range of other goods that Washington argues enjoyed government subsidies.

In a similar case involving U.S. methods in deciding when foreign imports are unfairly priced, another WTO panel ruled in support of some claims by India against tariffs on steel exports from three of its major firms.

Trade diplomats said the two cases, both under scrutiny for nearly two years by the separate panels, reflected a widespread concern in the 160-member WTO over what many see as illegal U.S. protection of its own producers.

KJoishy wrote:Do we know that Modi does not take his own cook etc? Maybe he does.
Lal Bahadur Shastri had his own cook. Modi probably has one of the finest security teams, judging by the way he was protected during the election campaign.

These are nervous times for everyone, to be sure. India will be all right if Indians are able to make use of Modi's greatest contribution--recognize and implement the importance of developing a down-to-earth patriotism, intellect and competence.

Avarachan wrote:

You have a point. However, a great leader is a rare thing. India cannot afford to have a chalta-hai attitude regarding VVIP protection. (Obviously, I'm not accusing you of this.)
Right. And I hope Modi's rise means that everyone takes to heart the living lesson in leadership that is Modi.

Hari Seldon wrote:
KLNMurthy wrote:Mature political systems like USA, and increasingly, India, have a life and continuity beyond one or the other specific "supreme leader" even if their citizens are sometimes too infantile to realize this.

While you may have a point here, I wouldn't overdo it. What is also true is that individual actions and proclivities too can do much to alter the course of history, nay psycho-history. A Patel as PM in place of Nehru would have led to a very different India - all else being the same, for instance. A Bose as INC prez instead of Nehru would have again led to very different consequences for the freedom struggle, IMO. Again, ceterus paribus only. Less said about LBS and IG's succession, the better. Etc.

And yes, lemme say it, "Modi is a leader like no other in India today. 'Suddenly removing' him from the scene will change India's course in ways that benefits those who are not India's well-wishers, IMO". There, I said it only.
True enough, "Hari Seldon" garu. Closer to home, our own jagad-guru and psychohistorian Lord Krishna understood there was no way to avoid the advent of Kaliyuga, but pushed the Great War along to mitigate the impact of Kaliyuga when it did arrive.

It is an intricate and mostly pointless business, predicting alternate history lines, and it is safely done only in fiction. In real life, it is up to us to not allow dhoti-shivering, echandee and such other emotions (what psychohistorian Krishna termed as "krodha") to obscure our faculties for thinking and action, and our sense of moral purpose. To me, Modi's true greatness lies in his ability to be an exemplar of a mortal man able to achieve such transcendence. The fact of Modi's mortality won't change that contribution of his.

Non-sequitor: Obama is not good at transactional relationships moving along maintaining status quo, Modi has shown some maturity in this direction. There will be no meeting of minds and your ajra jeyas will create enough distractions on the scene and behind the scenes. NGOs abound to protest at UN and in DC and poof go any chances of a dialog. Wish there was something reasonable on the horizon for 2016, but there isn't.

Well, I remember reading that Fidel Castro took live chickens to New York for fear of being poisoned. The press made fun of that. Later it was found that the fear had good reasons behind it.