Artillery: News & Discussion

Re: Artillery Discussion Thread

We needed a big hale uav yesterday. No sign of rustom2 or sar gmti payloads.

prolly another billion will be flushed down toilet for eitam later

75 rounds per hour !!!!

I have not come across any IDF or US arty officer who has told me such rate were used

The IDF arty guys who were in Lebanon - have never used such rate and they poured out truly enormous fire

so much so that all the lifting of arty shells has left them with damaged knees

Would be happy to see info from any modern conflict where such volumes were used for even a few hours
member_26622

Post by member_26622 »

Like Truck mounted - ramp launched UAV over ones needing a runway for quick deployment....any mention of runway and we have IAF-Army turf battle (like Apache saga).

Scaneagle would be a good benchmark - has good service ceiling of ~20,000 ft and 24 hour endurance. Iran seems to have reverse engineered one - maybe we can borrow an original for a short time from them (going the Chinese way here).

We should develop Nishant platform further - otherwise it's another missed opportunity
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Picklu,
Picklu wrote:I have no problem with the IA's wish on the capability pre se however it should not be used to thwart desi guns in favour of imported beauties. How many guns available in the world market in the last decade has this kind of capability? Is the GSQR again being designed to support entry of favourable ones via back door ala pegasus?
Agree with you. This is what happens when instead of standardizing around your bread and butter (Towed) gun and developing variants onwards from there. We very well might end up in a soup with different guns across different categories.

FWIW. I have spoken a couple of Artillery Paanwalas, based on current requirements. The Arty Dte was of the view that the MoD should finalize on the OFB Dhanush Towed pending successful trials for the following. This was was shot down.
1. First Tranche (45 Calibre)
2. Second Tranche (52 Calibre)
3. Third Tranche (25 Litre Chamber Gold Standard)

Later on, DRDO was asked to come into the picture to provide feedback and some good old consensus building. They gave a completely different concept of a new gun instead of building up on the Bofors ToT, which is IMVVHO a pure hogging up of financial resources. The Artillery Contract is a bone the MoD is not able to swallow, hence they have hedged their bets with multiple stakeholders in order to avoid a loss of face.

It is a real musical chairs out there on Raisina Hill based on whom do you hear the stories from!!
Picklu wrote:My opinion on this is very simple. We go with the desi 155mm gun, period. If that can fire 20 round/min instead of 75 of the imported ones, so be it. We have survived(actually dominated) with number far below in the last two decade.
So here is my opinion on this. Personally, as long as a project achieves broader objectives, some leeway will have to be given to allow to come up to the desired levels in later iterations. The Pinaka is a shining example. The Army wanted an MBRL with a 45 Kms range versus the 36 odd Kms that the DRDO achieved. They stuck to the Pinaka and now we have DRDO building up enough competency around the propellants etc to be developing a 60 Km range one.

However, to expect the services to have the attitude of ''we will fight with whatever you give us'' is going tad far. There is always going to be a delicate balance between Current Operational Preparedness and Domestic Capability building. We cannot let it slide either ways.
Picklu wrote:There are a grand total of 220 FH77 in Swedish army. India has 410 and the original order was for 1600. Even in its truncated order of 410, India has more FH77 than all its variants put together in all other armies world over.
We cannot base a measure an equipment's level of capability simply by how many have been inducted in the home market. The EU countries face little threats in their neighborhood except Russia by a long shot. Their requirements now are purely expeditionary in nature.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Singha wrote:>> capability of a sustained rate of fire of 75 Rounds/Hour

thats a pretty high firing rate. makes sense only if a couple guns are stuck in middle of nowhere and have to wage a lone contest.

but normally between 6-18 guns will be sited or atleast generally together and attempt to deliver MRSI fires on target to maximise the impact.
The Indian Army by its own admission has undertaken the following 15 years ago.
During the peak period of assaults, on an average, each Artillery battery fired over one round per minute for 17 days continuously.
As i had mentioned earlier also, The capability is desired be used in specific phases of battle.

Rule of thumb for MRSI is half the range of your shell's range, for a standard HE round which does 18 Kms, thats about 9-10 kms from the FEBA. It positions your 155mm artillery squarely in enemy gun range.

Artillery operations are fairly decentralized, A Battery will move about in 2 Troops (3 guns each) spaced out and ideally leapfrog as one Troop provides fire while the other relocates to an alternate position, depending upon the level of threat and terrain.
Singha wrote:the kargil type constant shelling is extremely wasteful. if you consider the numbers the 250,000 shells/rockets we fired killed how many pakis - approximately a couple batallions around 1500 of the NLI and jihadis. no more than that could have been supplied and perched up in the hills. so most of these shells hit nothing useful or were used as covering fire to protect our approaching infantry. no Paki post was entirely wiped off the map even with 155mm going all out and every post had to be taken after a infantry fight it seems.
You could be right here WRT to terrain possibly. We however have no zero data to go WRT arty casualty or resupply disruption rates.

With most armies across the world downsizing. At the end of the day, the need to concentrate firepower is critical that is the game now. The ability to do the same with fewer or even existing resources cannot be brushed away.

Otherwise, we might as well be a PLA style 1.5 million strong army with a abysmally low technological base.

hi vaibhav

1 round per minute by a battery is not same as 1 or more rounds per minute from each gun

furthermore it says during peak periods which I read it to be for some smaller duration rather than 1 round per minute for 17 days (24 x 7)

so I am still unsure where this need will be and how valid it is
Otherwise, we might as well be a PLA style 1.5 million strong army with a abysmally low technological base

Unfortunately we already are- with sparse arty , a lorry army etc :(

buying a gun with super duper 75 rounds per hour vs one with 30 - 40 rounds per hour am not sure will make such a huge diff in scheme of things

this need for gold plated solns is not getting us anywhere
arnabh

Post by arnabh »

indian missile secrets out in the open
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/indi ... 76037.html

Wrong thread. Posting to the missile thread.

A gun which is strong enough to fire 75 rounds per hour without barrel bursting or damaging other parts will also be a very low maintenance gun, since it is build to tolerate 75 rounds an hour. In case lesser rounds are fired it'll have a much longer life + no maintenace headache compared to a gun which fires 30 rounds an hour. Maybe it is that Low-maintenace and strong barrel quality Army is looking for.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Surya Sir,

Link:http://www.rand.org/content/dam/rand/pu ... 30.ch2.pdf

The thrust of my argument is that the Army could be looking at it from a Fire Superiority POV, something very critical on the modern battlefield. Especially with regards to PLA, where Artillery will be hard pressed to match up to the gap created by sheer numbers on the other side. A higher rate of fire can possibly be better suited to, to destroy enemy buildup in a short period of time or to redistribute fires to destroy several targets of opportunity without changing firing positions. That is why they could be looking at it from a common minimum capability angle for the 155mm guns.

Many modern artillery pieces already are providing a similar level of capability. In true Russian fashion, the MSTA-S 2S19's first-hour rate of fire is 100 rounds, and every following hour - 60 rounds. M109 A2/A3 variants also provide a capability for 60 rounds in one hour.

The idea is not to pit one system against the other.

IIRC the new 52 cal FH77 version has been validated to fire 75 rounds in under 30 minutes.

Creating a requirement which only one Howitzer can fulfill is called tender tailoring to favor a party. Somebody claimed that one round per minute was fired for 17 days. Now it is possible to do so by a battery (3-6 howitzers) but if one Howitzer is firing one round per minute for 17 days it means 1440 rounds per day and 24,480 rounds in 17 days which is impossible. The average life of barrel is around 1000-2000 rounds only.
member_22906

Post by member_22906 »

I like the way we arm chair generals are also deciding how IA should now fight. If we can get equal or more intense fire with fewer guns, why not?

IIRC, one of the key features of FH77B that was highlighted when it was introduced was its higher rate of fire along with automated loading system and shoot & scoot capability. This to a large extent was seen as a game changer... To its critics, the argument used was that we were a manpower intense army so why automate stating that we won in '71 with manual loading guns

This is a good time to look at not only upgunning but truly upgrading our guns
vaibhav.n wrote: The thrust of my argument is that the Army could be looking at it from a Fire Superiority POV, something very critical on the modern battlefield. Especially with regards to PLA, where Artillery will be hard pressed to match up to the gap created by sheer numbers on the other side. A higher rate of fire can possibly be better suited to, to destroy enemy buildup in a short period of time or to redistribute fires to destroy several targets of opportunity without changing firing positions. That is why they could be looking at it from a common minimum capability angle for the 155mm guns.

Is sustained 1.25 rounds per minute even possible with manual loading ?
Wouldn't it make more sense for tracked artillery guns with auto-loaders ? IIRC, Germans have something like this.

The FH 77 has demonstrated 75 rounds in 25 minutes. Which is 3 round a minutes, due to its shell handling crane.

thanks vaibhav

let me read that
arijitkm

Post by arijitkm »

BAE Systems looks to revive contract for supply of 145 guns to India ECONOMIC TIMES
BAE Systems, which makes M-777 ultra-light howitzer (ULH) guns, is looking to revive a contract for the supply of 145 guns to India by pledging to comply with offset requirements in a letter to the ministry of defence.

The company is also open to reviving its partnership with Mahindra & Mahindra and is discussing possible joint ventures with two public sector companies, following the announcement that India will allow up to 49% overseas investment in the sector.

"We have conveyed to the defence ministry that our company is fully compliant with the offset rules and have written a letter confirming that we would comply with the direct offset rules," Ian King, chief executive officer of BAE Systems, told ET. Offsets pertain to local investment commitments by overseas companies as part of purchase contracts.

The letter was required after defence minister Arun Jaitley informed Parliament that the contract was stuck. "The deal has not progressed due to cost issues and because the vendor has not been able to come up with a proposal fully compliant to the offset requirement," Jaitley said. The Indian government ordered 145 M-777s in 2013 at a cost of aboutRs 3,500 crore but that could increase to as much as Rs 5,000 crore due to various reasons, including reopening of the assembly line. However, King clarified that the cost as cited by the US government last year was the upper end of the price band. "It is a ceiling price, which is subject to negotiations, and the price of the guns will be lesser than this," he said.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Surya Sir,

My Bad!! The entire report is here with all its chapters.

http://www.rand.org/pubs/monograph_reports/MR930.html
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Just to be less ambiguous about my views on the whole discussion above. In view of the Towed Artillery Programme, currently our best bet would be to go with the OFB Dhanush.

1. Minimal retraining Costs involved.

2. The original FH-77 gun which provides us the base platform for the Dhanush is a proven piece of kit. So minimal surprises for the Army except for what the OFB can conjure up.

3. The Towed gun is a very large 1800 gun acquisition, hence assuming rather that the OFB produces 100 guns every year. This programme is going to be in the running for the next 18-20 years. Considering the above, it would make sense that all of the Army's requirements be taken into consideration and could be built up in say three 600 gun batches with differing capabilities built up to what the army ultimately desires.

4. The DRDO can be asked to either assist the OFB and scrap its own desi project. Worst case, even BAE Systems has expressed willingness to help with the gun. Thus, we have all the building blocks for a relatively Low Risk-High Gain approach.
member_26622

Post by member_26622 »

Looks like British Aerospace E just don't understand a 'NO'.

They still believe that they know 'what is best for India' - We should just shove them back in to the Indian ocean - like we did before! :x

???

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618

The Indian Army has many more Grad launchers than is conventionally believed by ORBAT junkies.

7 Aug 2014

Vaibhav, all the low risk stuff was tried in the early 2000s by OFB, DRDO, PSUs together. Army sunk it saying it would be obsolete in 21st century. DRDO has deliberately gone for a futuristic design based on harsh prior experience with Arjun, towed AD project, ammo programs etc, where meeting "current needs" is not enough & additional ones are added later on, making the whole earlier design moot (you can upgrade the earlier design only so much; Arjun morphed into 60t beast from Vijayanta derivative, towed AD gun was dropped, FSAPDS only restarted after IMI failure).

If earlier design is not continued and follow on launched, CAG then jumps in & breathes fire saying the early program was a waste & public money was squandered etc etc. (SV2000, Counter mine flail, etc)

Right now, the low risk option exists in the form of the FH77 follow on by the OFB. This was finally cleared by IA after it realized all its hopes of quick purchase and induction of state of art imports were going nowhere.

Even so, what the Army makes of low risk FH77 is very clear, only some 400 are planned to be acquired. Clearly, a program built on the basis of "extending" the FH77 design alone will not work and nor is IA interested in it.

Aguptaji its been ages so i might miss some details, the program was actually more of an OFB-PSU one with DRDO iirc to provide consultancy for specific portions we didn't have from the Bofors tech drawings - i guess subsystems, metallurgy etc.

My source at the time, was basically one of the PSU ones - not D but a struggling unit which had a good record in precision mfg in the "old days" which saw this deal as a good way to start a new line of business. They were to machine or make/forge the barrel IIRC.

But what happened basically was IA thought imports were round the corner, so all this "remaking the Bofors" stuff went nowhere. Those were the heady days of T-6/T-5, latest Brit/Euro howitzers and what not, available off the shelf. So, the IA dropped the idea as I recall. Now its different, they have a decade plus of lost time and I guess realize a few more Bofors won't hurt them but will help them. I just wish we had done it sooner.

Karan M wrote:Vaibhav, all the low risk stuff was tried in the early 2000s by OFB, DRDO, PSUs together. Army sunk it saying it would be obsolete in 21st century. DRDO has deliberately gone for a futuristic design based on harsh prior experience with Arjun, towed AD project, ammo programs etc, where meeting "current needs" is not enough & additional ones are added later on, making the whole earlier design moot (you can upgrade the earlier design only so much; Arjun morphed into 60t beast from Vijayanta derivative, towed AD gun was dropped, FSAPDS only restarted after IMI failure).

Clearly, the IA needs to be versed in iterative Mk.1/2/3/4 product improvement concept. They don't seem to understand how to build national capability.

x-posting:
Mihir wrote:Vayu-Stratpost Airpower Roundtable Discussion on the LCA

http://www.stratpost.com/video-vayu-str ... undtable-v

Quoting some relevant bits:

We should have continued with HF-24 in different blocks. That’s how you build the national capability.

We closed shop there and then we jumped to a four and half generation aspiration on the LCA
– much has been achieved, which is very creditable, but it will take thirty years if we jump like that. And the time frames that have been projected have all been absolutely unrealistic.

– Air Marshal (retd) M Matheswaran

SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

There is hope for this project as private companies like Bharat Forge are involved. DRDO needs to operate purely as a designer and system integrator, with major components being outsourced to reputed private companies.

The IA is not going to get any new foreign guns. With that realisation, hopefully they will collaborate on making indigenous gun(s) a success.

probably its the moment a teenager realizes he cannot ever marry the brazilian supermodel he had been following in college , needs to 'grow up' and either find a local lady or concede to parents wishes for arranged marriage with a well vetted local choice.

its a defining moment in life when one is forced to give up airy dreams and make a pragmatic choice from what limited menu is on table.

marks the boundary between teenage and adulthood I say.

Singha wrote:probably its the moment a teenager realizes he cannot ever marry the brazilian supermodel he had been following in college , needs to 'grow up' and either find a local lady or concede to parents wishes for arranged marriage with a well vetted local choice.

its a defining moment in life when one is forced to give up airy dreams and make a pragmatic choice from what limited menu is on table.

marks the boundary between teenage and adulthood I say.
Is it the "Modi Effect" ????? I hope so

I hope, that the IA will release the GSQR to the Indian industry. The Indian Industry will respond, with the appropriate products.

Also, the IA needs to be clear about the futuristic 155 MM. That the DRDO is working on. Else, we may have a repeat of the Arjun situation.

Wet dream alert.

I hope and pray that the AH 64 is canceled.

-deleted-

China was able to face off and is still facing off, both Soviet Union and USA with low tech "indigenous" equipment. It is better to have trailing edge "indigenous" equipment then to have curse of Karan (Mahabharat) being not able to use the imported equipment when most needed.

I have a different version of events. 5-6 years back, Govt sanctioned around Rs 400 crores to set up a plant which could (also) manufacture important components of the Howitzer. Thereafter things started moving. But as usual, OFB howitzer is Gold standard while DRDO howitzer is super gold + unobtainum standard which is better than the super best anywhere in the world.

If the DRDO says that ATAGS is expected to enter service in 6 years time frame, then it is wise to add another 2-3 years to it. I thought the time to be taken was 3-years based on some interviews earlier.

Given the time period mentioned in the report, out goes my dream of standardized gun for Towed, Mounted, Tracked and Wheeled category.

I expect a non-DRDO gun to enter service in Mounted, Tracked and Wheeled Categories. And unless the GOI actually puts the foot down and gets IA to induct OFB 155/45 towed gun over next 6-8 years along with up-gradation of M-46 gun, you'll even see a towed gun from foreign manufacturer making way into IA with OFB gun inducted in only limited numbers.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

Kalyani Group is working on ultra-light howitzers , i think i have read some where it will be ready in 2015

Rien

Post by Rien »

Pratyush wrote: Wet dream alert.

I hope and pray that the AH 64 is canceled.
Not just cancelled, but orders for the Light Combat Helicopter placed. That would give us the decisive edge over both the Chinese and the Pakistanis. I can't wait to see Discovery style docos on NDTV where they show our maal blowing up enemy tanks :D
Rien

Post by Rien »

rohitvats wrote:If the DRDO says that ATAGS is expected to enter service in 6 years time frame, then it is wise to add another 2-3 years to it. I thought the time to be taken was 3-years based on some interviews earlier.

Given the time period mentioned in the report, out goes my dream of standardized gun for Towed, Mounted, Tracked and Wheeled category.

I expect a non-DRDO gun to enter service in Mounted, Tracked and Wheeled Categories. And unless the GOI actually puts the foot down and gets IA to induct OFB 155/45 towed gun over next 6-8 years along with up-gradation of M-46 gun, you'll even see a towed gun from foreign manufacturer making way into IA with OFB gun inducted in only limited numbers.
The most recent news I found claims 2019.

http://defenceradar.com/2014/08/16/drdo ... tem-atags/
The Advance Towed Artillery Guns System (ATAGS), a light-weight long-range automated gun being developed by DRDO with private participation, will be ready for production by 2019 after undergoing six years of development and testing. The ATAGS, which was sanctioned in 2012, has about 6,000 different components.

“The 155MM/52 calibre is going to be one of the best artillery guns in the world in its category,” said Anil Datar, noted scientist and Director General (Armament and Combat Engineering Cluster).
The artillery sage is over. With the OFB as a stopgap and the DRDO gun to be the Uber gun, I think it will be the standardized gun and there should be no room for imports. 7 years does sound enough time, since they started in 2012.

Every time a promising weapon emerges from non-DPSU sources, a new super-duper/best-in-the-world arth-shaster appears from the DPSU secret kave komplex. The best hope for the Army is the Kalyani gun unless it is torpedoed by OFB/DRDO bombast. Hopefully the new MoD is truly made of sterner stuff. It is about time somebody coached the OFB/DRDO people to tone down the empty boasting. Given the record, I expect this new 'advanced' gun to go pfffttt. Hope they outdo themselves this time but it's unwise to expect it. Let them first deliver a Bofors copy in working order to the Army.

as soon as DRDO promised an uber gun , X country to have it yada yada - my heart sank
“The 155MM/52 calibre is going to be one of the best artillery guns in the world in its category,” said Anil Datar, noted scientist and Director General (Armament and Combat Engineering Cluster)
:((

Yea we heard these claims before - lay of the hyperboles and deliver something even if it is not the best - even better get out of this and focus on the areas where we need them to

We really need to have one of the pvt parties deliver these guns- In this day and age to rely on DPSUs for this is ridiculous

sigh towed, tracked and wheeled all remain a mirage :(