Mangalyaan: ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Mangalyaan : ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

What is the expected life of MOM?

Yindia,in 67 years travel from Juggarr Guru to Mars Guru.
Next 20 years Mey Kya Hogga, Raam Jaane.
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

INDIA........... INDIA.............

ISRO................ ISRO..............

Congrats ISRO you made history & every Indian is Proud of you
ravip

Post by ravip »

Mort Walker wrote:My guess it that ISRO is using the bandwidth for verifying telemetry data and in a few hours we may have a picture.
12 pm is d time wen we get the fist Martian PIC....seeing the enthusiasm in d air, thanks to social media. I am sure I will find this PIC on t- shirts, on presents etc... I will present d PIC for my friends b'day...

Countdown begins 10....9.....8..... for bbc/cnn/wsj/nyt/econo-racist fartikals on: Hunger and poverty, Less than 2 dollahs a day, malnutrition, stunted children....

Mort Walker wrote:What is the expected life of MOM?
6 months.

LokeshC wrote:Countdown begins 10....9.....8..... for bbc/cnn/wsj/nyt/econo-racist fartikals on: Hunger and poverty, Less than 2 dollahs a day, malnutrition, stunted children....
Anant

Post by Anant »

While there may be plenty of racists out there, my friends and I, white, brown, Americans and Indians are all celebrating with beers. Space isn't a province of race. As an ABCD Indian, I love it. Congratulations ISRO and India!
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

The pictures are expected in the afternoon. I think they will be busy now doing various other things like telemetry, activation of payloads etc.
Last edited by member_28108 on 24 Sep 2014 09:10, edited 1 time in total.
member_28714

Post by member_28714 »

Likely heading on bbc

India third(world) country to reach Mars :((

Congratulations to ISRO for making India achieve unique success by Mars orbital Insertion today. India has become the first country to achieve this in its very first success. Our Scientists, Engineers and technologists in India, who have chosen to study in premier institutes and remained unlured by riches abroad, have contributed to India's great success. They have proved their capability as one of the best, efficient and effective leaders in Science and technology.

Dilbu Jinx worked. Reconfirmed and re-validated with lifetime validity.

whereas China and Japan tried and failed in their first attempt.

Wow! Sadhu! Sadhu! What a moment... and it is fantastic to be celebrating this moment with all of you.! :)

George wrote:Likely heading on bbc

India third(world) country to reach Mars :((
What is bbc?

B-grade Broadcasting Chutia

Congratulations, ISRO and Team Mangalyaan!

Mort Walker wrote:What is the expected life of MOM?
About six to ten months (per isro before MOI). I will not be surprised if it lives much longer than that.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Speed at initial telemetry
We've the signal. 1099 m/s. Expected - 1098.7 m/s
Comer

Post by Comer »

^^ What a precision job!

^that means we need to reduce it further 0.3 m/s for future course corrections. we could use the 22 newton walas for this?. or it just fine!

chaanakya wrote:Congratulations to ISRO for making India achieve unique success by Mars orbital Insertion today. India has become the first country to achieve this in its very first success. Our Scientists, Engineers and technologists in India, who have chosen to study in premier institutes and remained unlured by riches abroad, have contributed to India's great success. They have proved their capability as one of the best, efficient and effective leaders in Science and technology.
No sir. If you look at ISRO scientists the vast majority are not from chi-chi IITs, they largely come from RECs and local engineering colleges. A slap in the face of those who only choose to go gaga over our IITs and publish breathless farticles on how many crores package FaceBook offered some random undergrad.

chaanakya wrote: What is bbc?
B-grade Broadcasting Chutia
Thats very mild, I was thinking more in the likes of Brishit BennCh*ds :)
AbhiJ

Post by AbhiJ »

[Deleted]
Last edited by Raja Bose on 24 Sep 2014 09:37, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Lets us not give undue publicity to tweets from idiotic DDMs

RB, they all would soon become IITs. ;)
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Congratulations to ISRO and the Team

LokeshC wrote:Is this a mallu inside joke or something?
Yes it is like you will find a Keralite everywhere in this universe. US landed an austronaut in moon and he was greeted there by a mallu tea shop guy.

shiv wrote:Let me say it now.
Mars Orbiter Mission will phail onleee :(( :(( :((
Ahh, Now I see the reason. Wizaard in Chief has also pitched in. No way MOM could fail. It could only Phail ( expand).
So we may , in due course, send Mahindra Scorpio Mars or Tata Mars Safari to land on its surface.

Well to its credit, BBC's first report was not a DIR.
India's first Mars satellite 'Mangalyaan' enters orbit
Only the US, Europe and Russia have previously sent missions to Mars, but India is the first country to succeed on its first attempt.

Raja Bose wrote:No sir. If you look at ISRO scientists the vast majority are not from chi-chi IITs, they largely come from RECs and local engineering colleges. A slap in the face of those who only choose to go gaga over our IITs and publish breathless farticles on how many crores package FaceBook offered some random undergrad.
Those grapes are sour! :lol: :lol:
Coming back to topic. NASA's Deep Space Network antenna in Canberra - Rooland is receiving the data from MOM right now, data rate of 40kbps , which is far better than the 28.8kpbs we had 12 to 15 ago with dial up for internet access!

I cannot say how happy I am, that finally ISRO has done something that is not routine. I wish that they keep on doing this on a routine basis.

First photu has been taken as per NDTV. But will take time to appear.

SPACECRAFT

NAME
Mars Orbiter Mission
RANGE
224.05 million km
ROUND-TRIP LIGHT TIME
24.91 minutes
ANTENNA

NAME
DSS 34
AZIMUTH
59.91 deg
ELEVATION
68.57 deg
WIND SPEED
11.74 km/hr

^from vina's link

DOWN SIGNAL

SOURCE
MARS ORBITER MISSION
TYPE
DATA
DATA RATE
40.00 kb/sec
FREQUENCY
2.29 GHz
POWER RECEIVED
5.37 x 10-55 kW
Last edited by SaiK on 24 Sep 2014 09:41, edited 1 time in total.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

SaiK wrote:^that means we need to reduce it further 0.3 m/s for future course corrections. we could use the 22 newton walas for this?. or it just fine!
it is well within the requirements.the values will be Xmeters whihc is the mean but there will be X standard deviations rangewhich they ahve not mentioned but it is considered very precise.

DATA RATE
40.00 kb/sec
FREQUENCY
2.29 GHz
POWER RECEIVED
5.37 x 10-55 kW
vina, the bandwidth is huge! it is multiplexing - perhaps TDM.

ps: I may be wrong in the definitions here.. but what I want to point is the data rate is 40kbps, and not the receiving capability of deep space network.
Last edited by SaiK on 24 Sep 2014 09:46, edited 1 time in total.
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

ISRO website latest news @ 1030 IST

Sep 22, 2014
Test Firing of Main Liquid Engine of Mars Orbiter Spacecraft is Successful

Wah Isro PR .. Wah

Eating Laddus ( a regular practice at every success at Isro ) .. should not keep the guys away from their desks for so long.

Dilbu wrote:
ISRO's Mars Orbiter @MarsOrbiter · 2m
I’ll be back after breakfast. Good ol’ sunlight. It’s good for your battery.
Lol I am loving this.
Absolutely!

Blessed to have witnessed history in the making. Congratulations!

vina, me no data guru, but you have to calculate the b (bits) as a pulse.. a 1 and a 0 to fit in a cycle in that 2ghz. so you can fit more bits. if you are good in math: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shannon%E2 ... ey_theorem

SriKumar wrote: A high velocity does not cause a force, only a high acceleration does.
Constant velocity doesn't cause any force - high or low does not matter so much a the change in velocity AKA acceleration

F = ma after all.

well done ISRO
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

SSSalvi wrote:ISRO website latest news @ 1030 IST

Sep 22, 2014
Test Firing of Main Liquid Engine of Mars Orbiter Spacecraft is Successful

Wah Isro PR .. Wah

Eating Laddus ( a regular practice at every success at Isro ) .. should not keep the guys away from their desks for so long.
I think you have not refreshed your page or it is showing a cached page.
What I see is

24-09-2014
Spacecraft Successfully enters Martian Orbit
Burn Start of Main Liquid Engine Confirmed
The radio link between the Spacecraft and Earth is now blocked by Mars.
Eclipse starts - The Spacecraft is in shadow of Mars
Forward rotation starts
Changed Over to Medium Gain Antenna

Pretty quick we are to deride ISRO arent we :twisted:
Also if you go to ISRO's main page they have a blinking note saying orbital insertion is succesful.
I cannot fathom what is achieved by being sarcastic when a truly great achievement is done .Also I think they are more focused on telemetry, activation of payloads and data capture.

Victor wrote:Well to its credit, BBC's first report was not a DIR.
India's first Mars satellite 'Mangalyaan' enters orbit
Only the US, Europe and Russia have previously sent missions to Mars, but India is the first country to succeed on its first attempt.
I am happy that BrishitBennCh*ds have not dissapointed me:

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-29307123
Isro dubs the mission a "technology demonstrator", essentially showcasing to the world that India is no longer a country of snake charmers but a high-tech hub that has developed its technology against the odds and stringent sanctions.

Many, however, say this bid to reach Mars is a "delusional dream" of India seeking super-power status since 400 million Indians still live without electricity and 600 million people still do not have access to toilets.
So once they started getting called out as racist drain-inspecting bennch*ds that they are, they change their song and dance and claim an anonymous "Many" have said that it is a "delusional dream". Who are these "Many" who claim this? Can the BennCh*ds answer that? This is worse than our DDM's anonymous source that cannot be named (aka I just pulled it out deep from my Musharraf).