Mangalyaan: ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Mangalyaan : ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

Guys, I went back 2 pages, but have any pictures been posted yet?

What is the life of the orbiter? How many years/months?

Why CNN-IBN is showing MMS. We don't want to see him , hear him with coal tarred face. What a disgrace that pathetic chap is.
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

govardhan wrote:ISRO has made once again Indians proud, Thanks for imparting winning under impossible circumstances attitude!

A plan for few more sat's to other planets as well (particularly Venus), have a deep space network International standard,
when GSLV MK3 succeeds -- a big dance-- 8) -- send mining drilling machines to moon :rotfl:

Sorry for the extra speak..

Definitely would love if ISRO rents out space in foreign nations and constructs it's own Deep Space Network. 2 in Russia, 1 in South Africa and 1 in New Zealand. Hope I haven't spoken too much :)

SBajwa wrote:What is the life of the orbiter? How many years/months?
6 months expected.

Page 39 has to be made sticky at least for few months please.

matrimc wrote:Yayavar thanks. But is a relative error of 1.0e-4 ok? But of course there is another 40 kg fuel left so should not be a problem.

Matrimc, Don't treat Mangalyaan as a child who didn't get 100% in the exams. 0.3m/sec in that orbit is pretty awesome. Besides how do we know the precision of the orbit calculation?

S^3 is it possible to plug in the Mangalyaan orbit parameters in a computer program and make estimates?

AmberG, S^3, prassannanarsimha thanks for the technical expositions. Makes it worthwhile.

Victor wrote:
SBajwa wrote:What is the life of the orbiter? How many years/months?
6 months expected.
Yes but somebody mentioned the fuel requirement was 25 kg and the actual remaining is 45 kg. Baki, Surya Dev to hain hi.

So ............

And a comment from Dear Chinese via Chumur - China lauds India's Mars mission as 'pride of Asia'
China on Wednesday hailed India's successful Mars orbiter mission - the first such success by an Asian country - as the "pride of India" and the "pride of Asia", and said it was interested in working together with the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) on future projects.

"We congratulate India on the Mars satellite for entering orbit successfully," Foreign Ministry spokesperson Hua Chunying said.

"This is the pride of India and the pride of Asia, and is a landmark progress in humankind's exploration of outer space so we congratulate India on that," Ms. Hua said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 160832.cms
V Koteswara Rao told TOI: "Soon after the Mars orbit insertion operations on Wednesday is complete and things settle down, we will have the images transmitted back to earth. We are looking at afternoon."

The images, once transmitted will be received by Isro's Indian Deep Space Network (IDSN) in Byalalu, Karnataka.

Congrats ISRO! No photos received yet?

ravi_g wrote:
Victor wrote: 6 months expected.
Yes but somebody mentioned the fuel requirement was 25 kg and the actual remaining is 45 kg. Baki, Surya Dev to hain hi.

So ............
Yup 6 months is a conservative estimate. The way things have gone, we shouldn't be surprised if MOM is still around this time next year.

Congrats to all the Scientists in ISRO, past and present, who made this possible. Wish their families as well for the sacrifices that they have made, so that we can stand tall today.

I hope that this is an inspiration for a whole new generation of children choosing to be space scientists. These scientists are the ones who deserve to be awarded Padma awards, financial and monetary benefits.

Bravo, Bravo, Bravo

Heartiest congratulations to us all and to all Indians. ISRO, you have made us proud. I don't think its possible to overestimate this achievement. No 4th country or 5th country, we were the 1st this time and at a fraction of the cost.

Great day indeed. Thanks to all posters on this thread too. Very informative.

on the deep space network trail, India should start thinking of permanent drop-installations on moon and mars (two on the bright side, and two on the dark side or minimal setup) for deep space relay networks. miniature communication satellites should be our next goal, where we can directly send-recv by our own network routers. we don't need too much money for this.. and we have to start thinking mini/micro satellites for this.
member_28579

Post by member_28579 »

CNNIBN News...Isro received first FIVE photos from MOM..... :D :) ...cant wait to see them....

matrimc wrote:
Jayram wrote:This from ISRO page
"We've the signal. 1099 m/s. Expected - 1098.7 m/s"
What is this? And why is it important.. how does this relate to MOM insertion? Some gyan please thanks..
An error of ~ 1.0e-4. Somebody please say that this is good enough. Otherwise the orbit might start spurring inward. May be one more small burn is required later on at an opportune moment.
Matrimc - Knowing your math background I am little surprised that you did not answer your own question..:) .(Short answer - don't worry --- much better than we hoped) (Change in orbit is really insignificant)

Any way equation posted by Bade (or me) many moons ago, here in this thread..

v = sqrt(k ( 2/r - 1/a)) is all you need.

(It is a simple and very useful equation for all others too :)

Here v = velocity of MOM in meter/s (Should be around 4000 m/s around the perigee)
k = 4.283 * 10 ^13 for Mars (see my earlier post)
r = distance from center of Mars to MOM (in meters) - remember Mars, radius is 3397 Km, so that has to be taken into account (It will vary from 4500 Km and 80000 Km -- period of 3 days)
a=semi- major axis (1/2 the distance between minimum and maximum distance in the orbit -- about 40,000 Km)

So you see , even if error in delta-V was 10x than .3 (say a few meters/sec) the mission in all respect would have been a very successful mission.

As to remaining fuel, even if we were left with a few Kg, IMO, it would have been sufficient to keep the MOM in orbit for months.. (fuel now is needed only for things like minor adjustments... (say if we want to take a closer look at one of the moons).. orienting the antena etc..).. As I said in my earlier post (before MOI), estimates if all goes well, was to be left with 40-50 Kg of fuel (we are left with about 45 kg)..
Last edited by Amber G. on 24 Sep 2014 19:59, edited 3 times in total.
member_28579

Post by member_28579 »

Dr Chandrashekhar from ISRO also confirmed receiving photos.....

This is bullsh*t. India has the audacity to send a spacecraft to Mars when it suffers from such rampant malnutrition and 70% of its population engage in open defecation.

These small hearted SDREs are wasting money on useless space toys when need of the hour is toilets for its masses suffering in poverty. Space is for big boys onlee. Tsk tsk..

RoyG wrote:This is bullsh*t. India has the audacity to send a spacecraft to Mars when it suffers from such rampant malnutrition and 70% of its population engage in open defecation.
+1098.97
And India should not
1. Explore space
2. Launch satellites
3. Build ships
4. Make aircraft
5. Make weapons
6. Talk, fart, whine
until every India has a toilet and every Indian is overweight. Not to speak of beggars, sati and Hindi fundamentalism
Last edited by shiv on 24 Sep 2014 20:01, edited 1 time in total.

someone said the life of mom is 6 months. can anyone explain on this more?
Last edited by SaiK on 24 Sep 2014 20:02, edited 1 time in total.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Yep!

Clearly the briturds and other bitter westerners are right.. India should immediately bring back the spacecraft, sell it for scrap and start building toilets with the 'generous' aid from the briturds..

Awesome.... a colleague's SHQ who works in the space department held a cake-cutting ceremony at her home to celebrate the occasion with us neighbors and kids....

RoyG wrote:This is bullsh*t. India has the audacity to send a spacecraft to Mars when it suffers from such rampant malnutrition and 70% of its population engage in open defecation.
Hah! This is almost exactly what one poster on the cbc.ca( Canadian Broadcasting Corporation) forum has said! Something like "Millions of Indians still crap out in the open, and their priority is space. Crazy world we live in".

It's amazing how the same stupid remarks are stated over and over again.

shiv ji, many are indics onlee.. one from BS here head on with Modi onlee: http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 850_1.html
The New York Times reports, “Mr Modi, who was elected in May with a once-in-a-generation majority in Parliament, has been on something of a roll. And the Mars achievement, which he had almost nothing to do with, will only add to that.” Furthermore, this accomplishment occurs just before his trip to the US where he will address the United Nations.
NYT! or was it another MUTU?

these are all priyamvada genes onlee.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

SaiK wrote:someone said the life of mom is 6 months. can anyone explain on this more?
satellite house keeping requires firing of thrusters to keep the orbiter in a particular orbit or else the inexorable pull of the planet will drag it down and it will be destroyed or there are other perturbations .So all satellites require minor corrections and these require firing of thrusters.So since we have only X amount of fuel we can only use those thrusters till that is consumed .Usually a small amount is left to redirect the satellite as per end of mission profile - for eg geostationary satellites are pushed to a "Graveyard" orbit.Some are directed to a controlled descent to burn in the atmosphere.Some probes have been intentionally crahsed and the plume analyzed - we have to see what is planned for MOM.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

skekatpuray wrote:
govardhan wrote:ISRO has made once again Indians proud, Thanks for imparting winning under impossible circumstances attitude!

A plan for few more sat's to other planets as well (particularly Venus), have a deep space network International standard,
when GSLV MK3 succeeds -- a big dance-- 8) -- send mining drilling machines to moon :rotfl:

Sorry for the extra speak..

Definitely would love if ISRO rents out space in foreign nations and constructs it's own Deep Space Network. 2 in Russia, 1 in South Africa and 1 in New Zealand. Hope I haven't spoken too much :)
They need to be about 180 Degrees apart so that one station is always in contact at all times. We do ahve a TTc at Biak Indonesia but not large enough for Deep space work
Last edited by member_28108 on 24 Sep 2014 20:18, edited 1 time in total.

SaiK wrote:someone said the life of mom is 6 months. can anyone explain on this more?
The figures I have seen (this was much before MOI) was around 6 to 10 Months (conservatively).

As some one said, no one will be surprised if MOM still there next year around this time (or even a few years from now)..

matrimc wrote:
SwamyG wrote:I love the engineer/technician/scientist with all the vibhuti on the forehead sitting along with his coworkers. Bold, Right and Beautiful :-)
That is prof. Yashpal if I am not wrong.
Nope.

SaiK wrote:shiv ji, many are indics onlee
The western universalism thread was precisely to dissect this although it is now being crapped on by a troll. Colonized minds, cargo culters and sepoys who believe that if you behave like the West tell you to behave you will become like the west. Just like those mythical Pacific Islanders building mock airfields and ATC towers thinking Gods will land with "cargo". Why look at them while we have our own in good numbers..
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Hari Seldon wrote:Awesome.... a colleague's SHQ who works in the space department held a cake-cutting ceremony at her home to celebrate the occasion with us neighbors and kids....
Well my Wife made Kaju Obbattu (Puran Poli filled with Cashew paste) as a "celebration" for the MOM Mars insertion :D
Raja

Post by Raja »

Well, I have to say that after the very initial article from BBC with the typical "poor bla bla" attached in the end, they have done a pretty good coverage. All the subsequent articles seem to indicate a change in perspective. For example, this one even criticizes such patronizing criticism: http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-29341850
member_28714

Post by member_28714 »

All my life I've been hearing India is the sixth country after US, Russia, China UK and France to...

Today it went India is the fourth country after US, Russia, Europe (country?)

Its nice to see China absent. :twisted:

I hope to die not before one day hearing India is the first country to.... for some major achievement. I can only help by paying taxes. Too noob to contribute. :cry:

ion thrusters should definitely prolong satellites and thus a cost saver for long missions.

example: http://trs-new.jpl.nasa.gov/dspace/bits ... 4-2121.pdf

Raja wrote:Well, I have to say that after the very initial article from BBC with the typical "poor bla bla" attached in the end, they have done a pretty good coverage. All the subsequent articles seem to indicate a change in perspective. For example, this one even criticizes such patronizing criticism: http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-29341850
Do we care? :roll:

Actually the Chandrayaan, MOM and many other ISRO missions prove one thing: It's not India that is wasting money in Space, it's the West. 700 Million USD to get to what India can get to for 70 Million clearly indicated it's not India that is wasting money. Time US/Europe and those that crib over toilets and poverty put their money where their mouth is and tell their Govts you're wasting money when India can do it cheaper. No?

George wrote:All my life I've been hearing India is the sixth country after US, Russia, China UK and France to...

I hope to die not before one day hearing India is the first country to.... for some major achievement. I can only help by paying taxes. Too noob to contribute. :cry:
Actually you can peacefully

India is the first country to reach mars in first attempt. Any other country trying successfully now onwards will be second only to India. :D

George wrote:All my life I've been hearing India is the sixth country after US, Russia, China UK and France to...

India is the first country to succeed in its Mars mission on the very first attempt.There you go. :mrgreen:

Why CNN-IBN is showing MMS. We don't want to see him , hear him with coal tarred face. What a disgrace that pathetic chap is.
Well, that "pathetic chap" was the one who wanted the mission, okayed the plans, financed it and saw it launched. NYT is right. Modi has absolutely nothing to do with this other than the speech he gave today. That is fine . He is after all the elected PM of the day.

But let us not miss the wood for the trees and acknowledge the contributions made and who created this mission in the first place. Modi could have been more gracious and acknowledged MMS in is speech,when he spoke about Vajpayee and Chandrayaan.