Armed Revolutionary Movement 1857-1947

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Vamsee

Armed Revolutionary Movement 1857-1947

Post by Vamsee »

I came across the name Bagha Jatin for the first time in my life today. It made me realize how little I know about Indian Independence movement.

As a kid growing up in India, All I knew was that Mahatma Gandhi led Satyagraha & Ahimsa brought independence to India. It is same with most of the Indians. Even if we do not know all about armed revolutionary movements, at least if we catalog names, organizations, years when they were active and reasons for their success/failure, it will help people like me fill the gaps in my understanding of history of India.

I hope gurus like Brihaspati would educate us about this relatively obscure side of Indian Independence movement.

Hope Admins will allow this thread. If there is similar thread already, please merge it with that thread.

--Vamsee

Re: Armed Revolutionary Movement 1857-1947

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madan_Lal_Dhingra
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vinayak_Damodar_Savarkar
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shyamji_Krishna_Varma

Why can't we have memorials/monuments/hospitals/colleges/airports named after them?

Rash Bihari Bose
Kartar Singh Sarabha
Tarak Nath Das
Pandurang Sadashiv Khonkhoje
Pandit Kanshi Ram
Lala Har Dayal
Sohan Singh Bhakna
Vishnu Ganesh Pingle
Madan Lal Dhingra

This is what Madan Lal Dhingra says in English Court at old bailey in 1909 after he was convicted of murdering Curzon Wyllie, political aide-de-camp to the Secretary of State for India in England.

"I do not want to say anything in defence of myself, but simply to prove the justice of my deed. As for myself, no English law court has got any authority to arrest and detain me in prison, or pass sentence of death on me. That is the reason I did not have any counsel to defend me."

"And I maintain that if it is patriotic in an Englishman to fight against the Germans if they were to occupy this country, it is much more justifiable and patriotic in my case to fight against the English. I hold the English people responsible for the murder of 80 millions of Indian people in the last fifty years, and they are also responsible for taking away ₤100, 000, 000 every year from India to this country. I also hold them responsible for the hanging and deportation of my patriotic countrymen, who did just the same as the English people here are advising their countrymen to do. And the Englishman who goes out to India and gets, say, ₤100 a month, that simply means that he passes a sentence of death on a thousand of my poor countrymen, because these thousand people could easily live on this ₤100, which the Englishman spends mostly on his frivolities and pleasures. Just as the Germans have no right to occupy this country, so the English people have no right to occupy India, and it is perfectly justifiable on our part to kill the Englishman who is polluting our sacred land. I am surprised at the terrible hypocrisy, the farce, and the mockery of the English people. They pose as the champions of oppressed humanity—the peoples of the Congo and the people of Russia—when there is terrible oppression and horrible atrocities committed in India; for example, the killing of two millions of people every year and the outraging of our women. In case this country is occupied by Germans, and the Englishman, not bearing to see the Germans walking with the insolence of conquerors in the streets of London, goes and kills one or two Germans, and that Englishman is held as a patriot by the people of this country, then certainly I am prepared to work for the emancipation of my Motherland. Whatever else I have to say is in the paper before the Court I make this statement, not because I wish to plead for mercy or anything of that kind. I wish that English people should sentence me to death, for in that case the vengeance of my countrymen will be all the more keen. I put forward this statement to show the justice of my cause to the outside world, and especially to our sympathisers in America and Germany."

"I have told you over and over again that I do not acknowledge the authority of the Court, You can do whatever you like. I do not mind at all. You can pass sentence of death on me. I do not care. You white people are all-powerful now, but, remember, it shall have our turn in the time to come, when we can do what we like."

While he was being removed from the court, he said to the Chief Justice- "Thank you, my Lord. I don't care. I am proud to have the honour of laying down my life for the cause of my motherland."

He was hanged till death in England.
Last edited by SBajwa on 03 Oct 2014 01:37, edited 5 times in total.

Vamsee!! please go through all of the links above!! Nehruiites have done so much injustice to the people who gave blood for freedom that we all owe to them to read/know as much possible about them.

This is what Gandhi says about Shaheed Madan Lal Dhingra

"It is being said in defence of Sir Curzon Wyllie’s assassination that...just as the British would kill every German if Germany invaded Britain, so too it is the right of any Indian to kill any Englishman.... The analogy...is fallacious. If the Germans were to invade Britain, the British would kill only the invaders. They would not kill every German whom they met.... They would not kill an unsuspecting German, or Germans who are guests.

Even should the British leave in consequence of such murderous acts, who will rule in their place? Is the Englishman bad because he is an Englishman? Is it that everyone with an Indian skin is good? If that is so, there should be [no] angry protest against oppression by Indian princes. India can gain nothing from the rule of murderers—no matter whether they are black or white. Under such a rule, India will be utterly ruined and laid waste"

Wiki says

"At the time, Dhingra's body was denied Hindu rites and was buried by British authorities. His family having disowned him, the authorities refused to turn over the body to Savarkar. Dhingra's body was accidentally found while authorities searched for the remains of Shaheed Udham Singh, and re-patriated to India on 13 December 1976. His remains are kept in one of the main squares of Akola city in Maharashtra, India, which has been named after him. Dhingra is widely remembered in India today, and was an inspiration at the time to revolutionaries like Bhagat Singh and Chandrasekhar Azad, and there is a demand to convert his ancestral home into a museum
"
Abhijit

Post by Abhijit »

Great thread. There was a revolutionary organization called Hindustan Socialist Republican Army (HSRA). Most of the biggest names in the armed resistance movement of Indian independence were members of this org. The wiki has very limited information about the org HSRA Clicky

HSRA used to be HRA - an organization started by Ram Prasad Bismil ji (kakori attack). Azad ji later introduced the word Socialist in the name of the org.

As a kid (in elementary school) I had read a book called 'Agniputra' in Marathi. This was written by a gentleman called Vasant Potdar (iirc). Mr Potdar's elder brother (I forget his name) was an active member of HSRA. I will try to recollect the names of all the krantikarak members of HSRA (remember, this was more than 35 years ago, so my recollection is very sketchy).

Chandrashekhar Azad
Bhagavaticharan Vora and his wife Durgabhabhi Vora (their story is inspiring, poignant and amazing. Vora ji was a bomb-maker and he used to make bombs in a jungle. In an unfortunate accident, one of the bombs detonated in his hand and he died on the spot. His wife, Durgabhabhi Vora, stoicly carried on. There is a story that they were being hunted by the brit cops and Durgabhabhi traveled incognito, with young Bhagat Singh as her son and iirc, Rajguru as her servant. They were able to evade the cops. This is from my recollection. I'll try to google when I can)
Jatindranath Das (bagha Jatin)
Vijay Sinha
Rajguru
Sukhdev
Bhagat SIngh
Gajanan Mahurkar
Phanindranath Gosh ( he turned traitor)
Batukeshwar Dutt
Yashpal

And many more.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

The stuff i learnt today about my country. wow. The speech from Mr Dhingra is fascinating .
Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

Thanks a lot SBajwa ji,

Lots of stuff to digest.

--Vamsee

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp ... 987797.ece
Born on April 17, 1756, at Melapalayam in Erode district, he revolted against the British East India Company in the year 1792 by intercepting a vehicle at Sankari, in Salem, that carried tax money from Dharapuram to Mysore, and questioned the British about their wealth being taken away. After the incident, he was called Dheeran Chinnamalai.

He fought successful battles at Cauvery in 1801, Odanilai in 1802 and Arachalur in 1804 and helped Tipu Sultan’s army to fight battles against the British. He was captured by the British and was hanged at Fort at the age of 49 years.
this is before 1857.

lot of Indian leaders won many battles against the British and Europeans - like that Travancore king who defeated European navy, Kanhoji Angre etc. Our fragmentation did us in then.

mods - please remove if this post does not belong here due to time period.

This should be a sticky thread IMO. Very important topic

Bring them all gurus. This thread is a long due one.

Mod- may be we change the thread name to Armed and revolutionary actions agaist british?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berlin_Committee

And read the links at the bottom of the page.

In Somerset Maugham's Ashenden Spy Stories, Chatto figures in the third story I think.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W._Somerset_Maugham
Intelligence work[edit]

Maugham returned to England from his ambulance unit duties to promote Of Human Bondage. With that completed, he was eager to assist the war effort again. As he was unable to return to his ambulance unit, Syrie arranged for him to be introduced to a high-ranking intelligence officer known as "R;" he was recruited by John Wallinger.[21] In September 1915, Maugham began work in Switzerland, as one of the network of British agents who operated against the Berlin Committee, whose members included Virendranath Chattopadhyay, an Indian revolutionary trying to use the war to create violence against the British in his country. Maugham lived in Switzerland as a writer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lala_Har_Dayal

You will fnd William Randolph Hearst's mother involved.
Lala Har Dayal taught at Stanford.

There is room of photos on these figures in teen murti bhavan.
I will post the images once return to blr.

I got the distinct feeling mkg and jln were deftly propped by Brits and others sidelined and sabotaged to get the kind of indian leadership they wanted when time came to free colonies.

Madam bhikaji cama
Shri aurobindo ghose
Vasudev Balwant phadke
Khudiram bose

Tirot singh of Meghalaya.
Vinayak damodar savarkar.

If anyone has the ear of those in power let govt crack the whip on sarkari historians, have them produce all such life histories and add them both as school and college syllabus and two huge new galleries in Shivaji govt museum mumbai and national museum Delhi.

Let the truth be told. Set our children free from the chains.
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

For beginners this link is pretty good...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Revolution ... dependence

Samudragupta wrote:For beginners this link is pretty good...

Isn't this blatantly false?
Apart from a few stray incidents, the armed rebellion against the British rulers was not organised before the beginning of the 20th century.
Such is wikipedia. Full of fakery passed off as fact.
member_28173

Finance Revolutionary Movement

Post by member_28173 »

Finance Revolutionary_movement_for_Indian_independence

>> Such is wikipedia. Full of fakery passed off as fact.

How about Rumour/ficton. Well you might get the similiar % of truth

Political Independence -- Tick done [ atleast on paper ]
Did we take baby steps towards Finance Independence :((((

http://chandturakhia.blogspot.in/2007/0 ... n-tag.html

Indians !!! You might not be doing yourself favour putting road-blocks in Saurastra's Finance Independence
Well : You need money to fund....

Summary of View Equal-Equal on Jinnah and Gandhi with small difference

Ek Samajata tha; Sunata nahi tha
Dosra Samajata nahi tha ; par Sunata tha [ Money works ...]

Saurastra fights are BEST solved in Dandiya competetion. We made mistake to let them take all-India level or Global scale :(

Your posts sound very 'paki'. Please explain Saurashtra's Financial Independence in the economy thread.
member_28173

Post by member_28173 »

panduranghari wrote:^
Your posts sound very 'paki'.

>>>Please explain Saurashtra's Financial Independence in the economy thread.
Guess in 1914 Kyon Samajata tha ; Kyon Sunata tha ?

Lets redefine 'paki' ---- How much intelligence , Money talks who would want to attribute to them ?

Isnt it shame that fast-forward 2014 Saurashtra has to still 'explain' Money to India .... So much 'Pro-gress' or it is 'Con-gress' :)

Why Was annoyed with Modi trying to Open sourcing Gujarat-Model to India ?

Because we are not-afraid 'famous' Bhutto opeing OIC but less known http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mumtaz_Bhutto CM of Sindh would give Saurastra run-for-money but giving some financial freedom to Sindh and before Con-gress allows Gujarat to pro-gress

How embarrassing would it for Indians talk ' Sindh Model ' IMAGINE

We should also not forget participation of the Spiritual Gurus!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rama_Tirtha

Baba Ram Singh was revoultionary just after British took over Punjab (1845)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ram_Singh

He called for the people to boycott government services, boycott British run educational institutions and law courts, boycott foreign made goods and defy British laws. He was the originator of the nonviolent[citation needed] and civil disobedience movement in Punjab in 1872.

"
In Malerkota, an incident of a minor nature occurred in which Gurmukh Singh Namdhari requested a vegetable seller to show mercy on an Ox which was suffering at its owners orders. The ensuing verbal confrontation between the two led Gurmukh Singh to the court for punishment. A Muslim judge, instead of pacifying the excited feelings, ordered that the Ox be slaughtered before the eyes of Gurmukh Singh. The next day Gurmukh Singh went to Sri Bhaini Sahib and narrated the whole story. Revenge was high on the mind of the Sikhs and Satguru Ram Singh Ji said "If you can hold your emotions for a year more, I will achieve, without the help of weapons, the object for which you are drawing out your swords. I cannot however go against the orders of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji".

The Sikhs could not control themselves and on 13 January 1872, about 150 Namdhari Sikhs under the leadership of Sant Hira Singh and Lehna Singh proceeded to Kotla to avenge the wrong done by a fanatic Muslim judge. Fighting took place between the Sikhs and Malerkotla officials and many lives were lost. The Namdhari Sikhs voluntarily surrendered themselves to the authorities.

Meanwhile The Deputy Commissioner of Ludhiana, The infamous Mr Cowan rushed to the scene and took over charge from the minor ruler of Malerkotla. Cowan ordered that the Namdhari Sikhs be brought before him and ordered that they be blown to bits. On 17 January 49 Namdhari Sikhs were blown away with cannon guns. Next day on 18 January a further 16 Namdhari Sikhs were blown to their deaths.

On the death role was 12 yrs old Master Bishan Singh. Cowen's wife begged him to show mercy on the little child. Cowen agreed but on a condition that Bishen Singh had to denounce that he was a sikh of SRS. On hearing this Bishen Singh grabbed hold of Cowen's beard and did not let go till he was chopped to bits. Bishen Singh was the 50th shaheed on 17 January.

Today a 66ft tall memorial khanda stands in the grounds where the shaheedes took place. The khanda is bulleted with 66 holes, some large and others small. The large holes denote adults and the smaller ones represent the minors who were barbarically slaughtered in 1872."

Alluri Sitarama Raju
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alluri_Sitarama_Raju

Amarendranath Chatterjee
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amarendranath_Chatterjee

Ambika Chakarbarty
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ambika_Chakrabarty

Chittagong Armoury Raid 18 April 1930 to get arms
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chittagong_armoury_raid

Cellular Jail in Port Blair (also called Kala Pani aka Black Waters) where many revolutionaries were kept and released just before India's independence.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_Jail

Anushilan Samiti
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anushilan_Samiti

veer savarkar and the cellular jail in the Andaman islands. awesome jail.. cruel kalapani.
member_28173

Post by member_28173 »

There is NO Wiki Page.... But Can Add story of Dagdi - May be part British , Part Portugese , Mostly Maratha Lady - Legendary Ruler of Mahim ...Most of the land was given build Factories in Matunga. Her dream was to build Build REAL Maratha Army. But never understood why she recruiter Banias as strategist . I am afraid no one knew her real name . Dagdi means stones.

May be she or her family was instrumental in Breaking Original Church-gate station and used the stones to make Building and toilets :p. the building is known a Dagdi building.

They Ram-sacked the platform ; and used the stones to build the building . Also paid money to build new Churchgate station. Question was definitely not about money. This was during British Raj.... Yes she did not ram-sack Victoria terminus for building a toilet - may be blood is thicker.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchgate
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Thomas ... al,_Mumbai

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchgate_railway_station

People thought her family was stupid . I believe she gave WARNING to .........
Last edited by member_28173 on 04 Oct 2014 01:29, edited 1 time in total.

Admins!! Please do the needy and ban this character!!

SBajwa, please stop demanding bans like this. Use the report post function and explain why your request is justified. I see no obvious posting issue here.

Mods, this thread needs to be a sticky. Can it be shifted to Strategic Forum where the general public can see it? The thread can go a long way in demystifying the fact that it was Gandhi and INC alone that got India Independence.

Doing so now

Here is s story of hero in Jharkhand and of which few people are aware:
Birsa Munda About this sound pronunciation (help·info) (1875–1900) was an Indian tribal freedom fighter and a folk hero, who belonged to the Munda tribe. He spearheaded the Millenarian movement that rose in the tribal belt of modern day Bihar and Jharkhand, in the late 19th century, during the British Raj, thereby making him an important figure in the history of the Indian independence movement.

His portrait hangs in the Central Hall of the Indian parliament, the only tribal leader to have been so honored.[2]

His achievements are even more remarkable for having been accomplished before the age of 25.
The wiki link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birsa_Munda
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

panduranghari wrote:
Samudragupta wrote:For beginners this link is pretty good...

Isn't this blatantly false?
Apart from a few stray incidents, the armed rebellion against the British rulers was not organised before the beginning of the 20th century.
Such is wikipedia. Full of fakery passed off as fact.

Actually if u are talking of 1857 then fundamentally its a tripartite struggle between the British from the East...Marathas from the South West and Muslim power mainly residual Afghan-Mughal-Mullah combined for the control of the Northern Province..... Gurkhas and Sikhs were very clear which side they are on..... as well as Bengali Hindu upper class.....

^^^ There were a lot of factors active and your view appears too simplified.

Another story from 1857:Veer Babu Kunwar Singh

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Babu_Kunwar_Singh