Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 10 Oct 2014

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 10 Oct

SBajwa wrote: by Ramu Why are we participating in a retreat ceremony?
Beating Retreat is a military ceremony dating back to 16th century England and was first used to recall nearby patrolling units to their castle.
Yes. But we are not a part of the British Empire for a longtime now. I have crossed the borders of UK, France, Germany (East and West) and Poland. And nowhere a ceremony such as this was to be seen. IMHO, any ceremony that makes India equal to Pakistan should be avoided, as we are not equal in anyway.

g.sarkar wrote:
Beating Retreat is a military ceremony dating back to 16th century England and was first used to recall nearby patrolling units to their castle.
Yes. But we are not a part of the British Empire for a longtime now. I have crossed the borders of UK, France, Germany (East and West) and Poland. And nowhere a ceremony such as this was to be seen. IMHO, any ceremony that makes India equal to Pakistan should be avoided, as we are not equal in anyway.

:(( :((

Two more articles in Pak press today reminding readers that Pakistan is a nuclear nashun. It's raining nuclear threats in Pakistan. Biraders, there have been so many nuclear threats, do these beggars even have nukes?

The Attari border ceremony seems to have become a tourist magnet, bringing in revenue from visitors willing to spend time and money to see ornately dressed men stomping their feet in choreographed sequence. Such an influx of tourists should also have good bearings for those who reside nearby, operating food kiosks, tea stalls, souvenir stands, viewing stations (binoculars and all) and help the local economy.

One must never underestimate the fascination that people have for viewing these fancy dress rehearsals- Buckingham palace being one example.

Pakistaniyat in full display. Yesterday, Pakis requested BSF to suspend the retreat ceremony for 3 days (refer to BSF chief's statement). After BSF suspended the ceremonies on Pak request, Pakis held the ceremony yesterday and mocked India for not holding one. dafaq?
http://www.3quarksdaily.com/3quarksdail ... .html#more
But on Monday evening, the Pakistani side decided to hold their parade as usual and a crowd was on hand. Cynics have pointed out that most of the “crowd” looked like soldiers in civilian clothes.
But then, the respected corps commander of the Pakistani army corps in Lahore, General Naveed Zaman (an outstanding officer, himself on the Taliban’s hit list for his role in various anti-terrorist operations) made a statement and beat his chest a bit about how we are a brave nation, we are back the next day and “look, on the Indian side it’s like a snake has sniffed them”, the implication being, they are cowards, they didn’t show up, but look at us, we are back and we are strong.

Harami Gul's musharraf on fire.

g.sarkar wrote:
It has been a long term demand, that we need to prevent any outlet for Pakistan to make a comparison with us. India is uncomparable and a comparison if that too needs to be made, cannot be made against an undemocratic, backward, barbaric, hardly civilized country like Pakistan. If GK-1/Raisina/Willingdon Crescent holds a ceremony with Mongolpuri or Majnu Ka Tilla, who gets a chance to show off/change status quo or change perception.

It's a no-brainer, but for some reason it's going on. I think the main propellers for this were the Kangressis, now that they are out. There is a good chance to put Pakis in their place.
But then, the respected corps commander of the Pakistani army corps in Lahore, General Naveed Zaman (an outstanding officer, himself on the Taliban’s hit list for his role in various anti-terrorist operations) made a statement and beat his chest a bit about how we are a brave nation, we are back the next day and “look, on the Indian side it’s like a snake has sniffed them”, the implication being, they are cowards, they didn’t show up, but look at us, we are back and we are strong.
a begger demanding his share of respect as if it's his right. Looks as weird as it sounds.

look at us, we are back and we are strong.
Survival is victory

gandharva wrote::(( :((
Ahem! Shouldn't the candle be between the butt cheeks?

RCase wrote:
UlanBatori wrote:In Pakistan, isn't it more important to find the clinching piece of evidence - the **mijjile** of the bomber?Such shocking ignerantj! :eek: Don't u know that the mijjile goes directly to Houristan to be admired by the 72-in-waiting? How do we ejjikate these kuffar on the fundamentals, hai! hai! Ulanullah al Batori,If the penis was uncircumcised, then it we know that RAA had a firm hand on it. If it was an exposed, cut mijjile, then it would belong to a muslim... and muslims do not kill other muslims.
NSFW Hoor Ate the Proof Of Poaqood Suicide Poakomber

^^^ Jhujarji, I just opened that link... WTF .... real NSFW...

Upon some reflection, the act of having the parade immediately after 60 plus people were killed in a terrorist attack is a typical "honor and dignity" act of the Pakistan army. "We will not be cowed down" it says.

Fine. I accept that. But it also reveals the fact that the Paki army believes that this act of suicide bombing was aimed at stopping the Wagah ceremony, and that the ceremony itself is important enough for the Paki army to continue without pause as if the thumb its nose at some terrorists and tell them "nyahaha. We are not bothered. We will carry on as usual". I think the attitude is silly. 200 plus families will be in deep mourning today and a proud celebration at such a time is insincere - like North Koreans being forced to smile, wave and cheer at the gleat leadel.

We really should wind down the ceremony on our side and let the Pakis go on with their strutting about. Clearly a sense of competition is being set up with India trying to match Pakistan or Pakistan trying to match India in the ceremony. This is totally totally unnecessary for India and goes to show how things that get bureaucratically established cannot easily be stopped. Why are we in competition with shitistan for appearances? We should use this opportunity to annouce an end date for this border tamasha - so that anyone who has booked a trip can either finish that trip or cancel. Say in 3 months this idiotic Wagah ceremony should be stopped. We are using armed forces personnel as a tourist attraction and I don't think that is right.

No flags lowering nonsense/machismo antics at the gate.And with immediate effect.The tourists can go to jammu or anandpur sahib or chandigarh.Punjab can live without this stupid 'tourism'.Anyway,this dhamaka is warning enough for civilians to be be miles from the gate.

The worst part about the whole affair is that TSP is back at the center of our attention. First by creating border firing incident and now the IED Mubarak.

One cant even ignore the TSP. :((

partha wrote:Pakistaniyat in full display. Yesterday, Pakis requested BSF to suspend the retreat ceremony for 3 days (refer to BSF chief's statement). After BSF suspended the ceremonies on Pak request, Pakis held the ceremony yesterday and mocked India for not holding one. dafaq?
http://www.3quarksdaily.com/3quarksdail ... .html#more
But on Monday evening, the Pakistani side decided to hold their parade as usual and a crowd was on hand. Cynics have pointed out that most of the “crowd” looked like soldiers in civilian clothes.
Once again, Pakistan won against the kafir Yindoos.
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

Ashok Saraff ji,

That is why I had mentioned in my post that in Shri Doval's speech we must reflect on both. What is said and what is left unsaid. In a public forum, which is getting taped, you would not want to share all your thoughts.

That there are options which are open to India and the willingness to exercise them is there is the main thrust that needs to be understood. The recent stand offs across both borders clearly demonstrated the thinking, willingness and the wherewithal with regard to these options.

Those who need to understand, would have understood. Those who choose not to understand will have to face the consequences.

Just my thoughts.
kish

Post by kish »

In, UN 's "social & cultural" issues committee, pakis have raised kashmir issue. :lol:

Take that joo Yindians. Pakisatan has once again successfully internationalized kashmir issue. Next they will scribble in UN Toilet walls, so that anyone who wanted to take a p!ss will be reminded of unresolved kashmir issue. :mrgreen:

India, Pakistan spar over Kashmir at UNGA
According to a summary on the UN website of a meeting in the General Assembly's Third Committee that deals with social, humanitarian and cultural issues, Pakistani delegate Diyar Khan raised the issue of Kashmir by saying that he regretted that the people of Jammu and Kashmir had been "deprived of their right to self-determination.

What transpires in Afghanistan - Ishtiaq Ahmed, DT
Book Review : Whose Army? Afghanistan’s Future and the Blueprint for Civil War
Author: Musa Khan Jalalzai
Publisher: New York, Algora Publishing, 2014
Excerpts
The foreword to the book is written by Lieutenant General (retd) Asad Durrani, the former director general of Pakistan’s ubiquitous Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI). Both contributions make interesting reading. He makes an unusually caustic remark contrasting the mercenary nature of the Pakistani army, a fighting force created by the British Raj, with the Afghan armed forces when he says, “I do not know of many other countries where the soldiers proudly wearing emblems touting their unit, while in service of a foreign power, massacred its own people. I believe the Afghans, while pragmatic when dealing with power, are too proud to worship it.” He does not specify when the Pakistan army played such a role while in the service of a foreign power. Is he referring to the role the British Indian army (of which the Pakistan army is a direct descendant) during the colonial period or the more recent partaking of the Pakistani army in President Bush’s “war on terror”, or perhaps both? Another assertion he makes is that the Afghans told the Pakistanis that they could safely move their soldiers from the western front during the 1965 and 1971 wars with India. That is exactly what Pakistan did and the western front remained quiet during the duration of those wars. One can hope that General Durrani will provide reliable evidence of such an understanding between Afghanistan and Pakistan since the general impression is that Afghanistan has always leaned towards India.
Unlike General Durrani who obliquely suggests that Afghanistan and Pakistan have been friendly and, during the 1965 and 1971 wars between India and Pakistan, Afghanistan secretly sided with Pakistan, Jalalzai adheres to the more familiar understanding that, from the outset, relations between them have been bad originating from the disputed border created by the Durand Line (1893), which effectively divides the Pashtuns between Afghanistan and Pakistan, something the Afghans reject while Pakistan wants to have the Durand Line declared as the international border. In the more immediate period, he writes, “Relations between Pakistan and the ANA have never been friendly due to Pakistan’s interference in the internal affairs of Afghanistan” (page 142). Such a policy will continue as Pakistani generals are poised to use the Taliban to contain Indian influence in Afghanistan and the Taliban and ISI have infiltrated the ANA. With regard to India, he asserts that it has played an important role in the development sector but it too was involved in clandestine activities and a special intelligence agency, RAMA, has been created as a unit within RAW for Afghanistan. Jalalzai writes that 50 nations are involved in intelligence gathering in Afghanistan.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/785756/ties ... er-attack/
Ties with India: Trade tension rises after Wagah border attack
Pak-India bilateral trade is the key to enhancing trading activities in the South Asian region, as both countries account for around 90% of the regional Gross Domestic Product.
:rotfl: here is the GDP (PPP) break up (in $ Billions) -
http://mka42.blogspot.com/2012/02/saarc-countries.html
SAARC - 4,962
India - 4,060
Pakistan - 464

India alone accounts for 81% of SAARC GDP. India + Bangladesh account for 87% but somehow 9% share of Pakistan is the key to enhancing regional trade.

That's like Zimbabwe feeling good about Zimbabwe and US together accounting for 22.447% (22.43 + 0.017) of world's GDP.
Experts believe that the nature of relations between Pakistan and India is the biggest hurdle in making this region the engine of global economy.
Inflated sense of self importance. Also, indirect threat to India.

Wagah attack: Ahrar claim of responsibility appears more credible - Dawn
There were times when there was just one main militant group, the Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan which used to have one spokesman. Any major militant attack and a statement by the spokesman would be taken at face value.

But all that changed when the TTP opened its franchises and branches all over Fata and in districts where it had its influence, with their own spokesmen who often issued conflicting statements.

Things became murkier when many shadow groups emerged, some of them serving as front organisations for the existing ones to deflect responsibility as peace talks were held.

The September 22, 2013, suicide bombing at the All Saints Church in Peshawar is a classic example.

Having taken place in the wake of peace overtures made by the government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, the (then) TTP spokesman Shahidullah Shahid quickly denied involvement of his outfit.

A shadowy Jandullah, led by a Marwat, claimed responsibility for the suicide bombing that had killed 127 people. But Mufti Hassan, a TTP commander, held a news conference immediately afterwards to claim responsibility for the attack.

Today, Mufti Hassan is one of the five former TTP commanders who have openly pledged their allegiance to the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS).

It turns out that Mufti Hassan and Shahidullah Shahid are close friends and associates.

The bottom line is — the militancy scene in Pakistan is so spread and complex that at times one militant group would not know which of the other groups carried out an action.

Repudiating and rebuking each other is common and the wrangling over the Wagah border attack that left 60 people dead was not the only case. There is plenty of intelligence to corroborate this.

Consider Ehsanullah Ehsan’s statement. He sent an email to claim responsibility for the attack.

Ehsan was the chief spokesman for the TTP before he was stripped off the responsibility in July last year for speaking out against the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan. He has denied the charge.

The now spokesman for the Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan Jamaatul Ahrar said in his email to media: “TTPJA claims responsibility for the Wagah border attack. Our friend Hanifullah operated this attack.

“This is the start of attacks of TTPJA and Inshaallah we will continue such attacks in the future,” he wrote.

And as in the past, he repudiated Jandullah’s claim of responsibility for the attack.

“Some other groups claim the responsibility for this attack but these claims are baseless,” he said. “We will soon release the video of the attack.” Ehsan’s claim, as of now, seems more credible.

The Punjabi Taliban led by Asmatullah Muawiya is now out of action, having declared to end its “jihad” in Pakistan and revert to Da’wat and Tableegh.

Khan Said alias Sajna who led largely the Mehsud fighting force is now back in peace talks with the government, having made it clear he had no intention of carrying out attacks inside Pakistan.

This has considerably reduced the ability of the Fazlullah-led TTP (or whatever remains of it) to carry out attacks of such a scale and nature.

The short and stocky Mullah of FM radio fame has been reduced to what he essentially was – the leader of the TTP, Swat.

A look at the growing number of targeted assassinations of peace volunteers in recent times is an indication of his renewed focus on his native valley.

This leaves Ahrar, with its resources and network, as the only likely credible suspect in the Wagah border attack.

Where does that leave Jandullah and its shadowy leader Ahmad Marwat?

There are few takers within the security establishment for this group, many of whom consider it as one of TTP’s deflection groups.

At best Jandullah was never known to operate in faraway areas, including Punjab. Many mistake it for Jandullah al-Alami, which is a different outfit operating in Balochistan and the urban jungle of Karachi.

As the TTP now stands divided into groups, some of them having been neutralised, others weakened and reduced, TTP Jamaatul Ahrar emerges as the only major group with the potential to carry out attacks inside Pakistan. And it does not make any bones about it.

Nothing new .. just putting it here

http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-pa ... on-2031945
Pakistan using militants as proxies to counter Indian army, says Pentagon
In a blunt assessment of terrorist safe havens in Pakistan, the Pentagon has told the US Congress that the country is using militant groups as proxies to counter the superior Indian military.

"Afghan-and Indian-focused militants continue to operate from Pakistan territory to the detriment of Afghan and regional stability. Pakistan uses these proxy forces to hedge against the loss of influence in Afghanistan and to counter India's superior military," the Pentagon told the Congress in its latest six-monthly report on the current situation in Afghanistan.

"These relationships run counter to Pakistan's public commitment to support Afghan-led reconciliation. Such groups continue to act as the primary irritant in Afghan-Pakistan bilateral relations," the Pentagon said in the report running into more than 100 pages.

Referring to the attack on the Indian Consulate in Herat, the Pentagon said this was done just ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India.
Ramu

Post by Ramu »

look at us, we are back and we are strong.
Survival is victory
Every war we fought so far, we didnt last enough to finish it properly. This forms the reason for the next one in near future. We are surely increasing the odds for them but still there is a chance for another kargil. We really must prepare to wipe out their institutions when there is another.

In the meantime it is important to keep our gates shut. We must not hesitate to do the right thing and the right reason will come along. There are few post colonial hangovers that are clouding our MOD/armed forces from doing the right thing. This flag retreat ceremony is one of them. Flag itself is another. Operational readiness is another kettle of fish for another time, another thread.

When we caught the first consignment of narcotics or fake currency or this suicide bombing crossing the border should itself be a good reason to close our gates. Letting these things happen again and again and challenging our capability to catch them again is plain stupid.

What goes on in Pakistani cocktail parties
Harassment: the privileged kind

November 04, 2014 MARYAM WASIF KHAN

Harassment: the privileged kind
For my first trips to Ichra Bazar and Shahalmi, I recall, quite clearly even now, draping my twelve-year old self in not one, but two oversized shawls, covering and re-covering every possible inch of flesh in order to shield myself from the possibility of being touched or groped by a passing stranger. I recall also that this excessive behavior on my part was prompted by earlier visits to Liberty or the mela that came with Mian Mirs’ Urs, ones where I distinctly remember the occasional man who would stop in his step, take a minute to reach under my dupatta and then walk on. In those early teenage years, I, like many of my girlfriends, would go home with my new jorras and my khussas feeling dirty and ashamed. Our bodies were exposed burdens, and our otherwise shrill voices were strangely silent. The solution, at the time, seemed to be to drape our hateful bodies until they no longer looked feminine. Years later, my girlfriends and I, now in our twenties, would compare notes, and unequivocally declare that we would raise hell should anyone even attempt to touch us now. What we never talked about, of course, were other experiences. Unwanted touches, gropes, repeated incidents of exposure that we suffered from people close to us, around us, relatives, friends of parents, trusted family retainers.
We still don’t talk about them and I’m beginning to understand why. Recent incidents and the discourse that’s surrounded them has made it abundantly clear that we would only speak up in spaces where we had power and privilege over the men who tried to harass us. The man who harasses or molests females, in the minds of most wealthy, usually well-shielded (by drivers, guards, among others), English-speaking, cosmopolitan—liberal even—Pakistani women is an illiterate, frustrated pedestrian, normally found in public spaces such as bazars, buses, melas, and parks. There is no other possibility of harassment in our minds; except for the kind we meet with when we are in public spaces. Improper or inappropriate touching of our bodies is not sexual harassment when it comes from someone who is familiar, well known in our social circles, or “educated,” usually from abroad.
I may need to be more specific at this juncture: four days ago, this paper broke a story on a female student’s incredibly brave struggle to find justice (not just in action, but in words as well) on being touched improperly by a teacher. I have very little to say at this point on the incident itself, but a good deal to say about the rewriting of such a terribly urgent issue on social media. Awash with alumni, students, associated faculty, and people who had nothing to do with the institution in question, Facebook, Twitter, even a press release, reminded me that sexual harassment could never take place in the hallowed circles inhabited by Pakistan’s educated and liberal elite. The accused could not be guilty, people said, because they know him. The accused could not be guilty, people said, because he felt sorry afterwards. The accused could not be guilty, people said, because he was an educated man. The accused could not be guilty, people said, among other things, because it was “just a brush,” “harmless.” The accused could not be guilty, people even said, because it was the victim who was “emotionally disturbed.” But most of all, people seemed to say, the accused could not be guilty because he is one of us.
In order to have a leg to stand on, this self-appointed defense team has taken it upon itself to blame the victim and with that to set back professional women, from all kinds of backgrounds and in all kinds of places, another century or so. Beyond referring to the victim as “emotionally disturbed,” this media-savvy, twittering defense team of lawyers, friends, and socialites decided in a public statement on Sunday morning that the Federal Ombudsman’s office, set up for the support of the Protection of Women Against Harassment in the Workplace Act (2010) also acted improperly. How dare any legal or national body question or censure our behavior, the group seems to be asking. Does the Federal Ombudsman not understand that wealth, education, brilliance, and stature equate to dignity, decency, and respect for women? Does the Federal Ombudsman not get that because we are against the Taliban and extremism, we are the good people, the ones on the right side of everything?
Of course not. The Federal Ombudsman doesn’t get it. The victim doesn’t get it. I don’t get it.
What I also don’t get is where a couple of young women I’ve met recently get the courage to speak up. The first time I ever met the victim in this particular incident, I ended up confessing to her that at a party I recently attended, the owner of the venue kept touching female guests improperly: an arm around one’s waist, brushing another’s hair, trying to hug a third. Not a single one of us, however, was able to speak up and tell the man to lay off in a manner that meant business. Not because we didn’t want it to stop, but because to speak up would mean causing a scene, it would mean ruining the mood, it would mean making a spectacle of oneself.
It would be easy, to go back to Liberty, to take a ride on the Metrobus, and to make a scene. As bajis and bibijees, our privileged outrage would ensure that the man who came too close would be suitably admonished. But it doesn’t work the same way, interestingly, within the ivory towers that protect us from the bearded, shiftily dressed masses. Instead, the discourse shifts from the very nature of what sexual harassment entails to victim blaming, to snide comments about her dressing habits, to being over-conservative for thinking that her body is not a site open for male teachers and colleagues to touch. If you are liberal, in the eyes of Pakistan’s Ivy-League-and-better educated professionals, you should not mind if a liberal individual at school or at work takes liberties with your clothes, speaks to you or about you with sexual innuendo, stares you up and down, brushes your body as he passes by. Because unlike the masses, he isn’t frustrated, ignorant, or violent, he’s just that way, yaar. It’s not a big deal.
Gender and class, one would like to imagine, are different and big deals, two separate behemoths that assail our consciences at suitably convenient times. And yet, the past week seems to tell a different story: class gives you the ability to rewrite and reorder feminine narratives with consequences so perverse that every single one of us becomes a loser. Class, this time around, has decided that the women who speak up are either hysterical and weak, or calculating and conniving, and therefore must use every bit of its social clout to carry out its own version of what gender relations should look like. Next time around, it will call them worse names, and attempt to damage their dignity even further, while spinning a flimsy defense for itself. I’m hoping that by the time there is a next time, because there will be one, I’ll be brave enough to drop the shawls and join the speak-out.
The writer is an academic.
http://nation.com.pk/columns/04-Nov-201 ... leged-kind

"What goes on in Pakistani cocktail parties"

Just hold up a picture of Shireen Mazari and watch the guys turn into stone.

pankajs wrote:Nothing new .. just putting it here

http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-pa ... on-2031945
Pakistan using militants as proxies to counter Indian army, says Pentagon
In a blunt assessment of terrorist safe havens in Pakistan, the Pentagon has told the US Congress that the country is using militant groups as proxies to counter the superior Indian military.

"Afghan-and Indian-focused militants continue to operate from Pakistan territory to the detriment of Afghan and regional stability. Pakistan uses these proxy forces to hedge against the loss of influence in Afghanistan and to counter India's superior military," the Pentagon told the Congress in its latest six-monthly report on the current situation in Afghanistan.

"These relationships run counter to Pakistan's public commitment to support Afghan-led reconciliation. Such groups continue to act as the primary irritant in Afghan-Pakistan bilateral relations," the Pentagon said in the report running into more than 100 pages.

Referring to the attack on the Indian Consulate in Herat, the Pentagon said this was done just ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India.
That’s from page 95 of a US Department of Defence aka DoD aka Pentagon report dating to October 2014 titled “Progress Toward Security And stability In Afghanistan”.

As you said, nothing new for India as the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s sponsorship of Mohammadden Terrorists has been seen in various forms over the decades starting from marauding “Tribesmen” running amok in J&K in 1947-48:

The quote is:

Afghan- and Indian-focused militants continue to operate from Pakistan territory to the detriment of Afghan and regional stability. Pakistan uses these proxy forces to hedge against the loss of influence in Afghanistan and to counter India’s superior military. These relationships run counter to Pakistan’s public commitment to support Afghan-led reconciliation. Such groups continue to act as the primary irritant in Afghan-Pakistan bilateral relations.

Pakistan’s government has sought to increase engagement with Afghanistan. However, suspicion has surrounded the relationship between Kabul and Islamabad, inhibiting bilateral cooperation on border security protocols. It is possible that the new Afghan President, Dr. Ghani, will seek to change this dynamic, which Pakistan is likely to welcome. Although stability in Afghanistan is in the interest of Pakistan, Pakistan also seeks sufficient Pashtun representation in the Afghan government to prevent Pashtun discontent along the Afghan-Pakistan border and limit India’s influence.

Pentagon report is available here:

Progress Toward Security And stability In Afghanistan

Meanwhile our Ministry of External Affairs had this to say:

"If international community is now acknowledging the fact that terrorism derives support from Pak, its something that we welcome,"

MEA welcomes Pentagon report that acknowledges Pak involvement in global terrorism
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Christian couple beaten to death for 'desecrating Quran': police
An enraged mob beat a Christian couple to death and burnt their bodies in the brick kiln where they worked on Tuesday for allegedly desecrating a copy of the Holy Quran, police said.

The incident took place at the town of Kot Radha Kishan, some 60 kilometres southwest of Lahore, and is the latest example of mob violence against minorities accused of blasphemy.

“A mob attacked a Christian couple after accusing them of desecration of the Holy Quran and later burnt their bodies at a brick kiln where they worked,” local police station official Bin-Yameen told AFP.

“Yesterday an incident of desecration of the Holy Quran took place in the area and today the mob first beat the couple and later set their bodies on fire at a brick kiln,” he added.

We really should wind down the ceremony on our side and let the Pakis go on with their strutting about.
If this is such a tourist attraction, why not do it professionally like they do at Zoos? Put up a nice fence with telescopes and a big 70mm display showing the Pakis strutting about. Plus a few 150mm artillery to keep the Zoo denizens on their side. Post big notices warning of the dangers.
DANGER, VICIOUS PREDATORS!! DO NOT MAKE FRIENDLY GESTURES OR FEED THE TERRORISTS! Jo Kashmir mein gaandu, woh Wagah mein bhi gandoo.
Noooo sense in subjecting Indian soldiers to the trauma of marching up and down as if the buggers on the other side are worthy of any such respect.

Meanwhile from the UBCN Ant-ThrowUp-ology Division:

Ancient portrait unvelied, of Pakistan General returning from visit to America

http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/editori ... 561569.ece

The real enemy at the gates
The attack a few metres from the border should be a reminder to India that a stable Pakistan is in India’s interests. The incident also underlines that in order to convey Indian concerns about terrorism emanating from Pakistan, there is no option but for Delhi and Islamabad to talk.

Noooo sense in subjecting Indian soldiers to the trauma of marching up and down as if the buggers on the other side are worthy of any such respect.
In Hindi it is said roughly apne hi gaal pe tamachaa maar ke laal rakhnaa. We have sold ourselves idea of civility by doing equal=equal to barbarians.

Has anyone wondered how Polio have spread from Pakistan to all other places, especially ones affected by terrorism? It must be the spoilt and pampered jihadi of all types(good, bad, official) that carry the virus.

Has this been posted?

Mr Ajit Doval, Director VIF, Speak on " Securing South Asia" at Hindustan-times

What clarity! He tears apart the WKK's cry of "Common threat of terrorism". Listen to him talk about how and why LET moved out of Kashmir to target other Indian cities. He calls out the uber Paki MSA's template of co-operation as appeasement that will only encourage bad behavior from Pakistan.

No flags lowering nonsense/machismo antics at the gate.And with immediate effect.The tourists can go to jammu or anandpur sahib or chandigarh.Punjab can live without this stupid 'tourism'.Anyway,this dhamaka is warning enough for civilians to be be miles from the gate
There also is a similar "Beating the Retreat" ceremony at Husseiniwala border near Ferozepur.

http://ferozepur.nic.in/html/indopakborder.html

at the same area we have a National Martyrs Memorial of Shaheed Bhagat Singh, Shaheed Sukhdev and Shaheed Rajguru.,on the banks of River Satluj where these martyrs were cremated in secrecy by British. Another freedom fighter Butkeshwar Dutt (Assembly bombing case Delhi) was also cremated here in 1965 as per his wishes.

The National Martyrs Memorial Hussainiwala, built in 1968,[1] depicts an irrepressible revolutionary spirit of the three National Martyrs, Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev. The memorial is located just one km from the India-Pakistan border on the Indian side and has memorials of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev. After Partition, the cremation spot went to Pakistan but on January 17, 1961, this martyr's land was received when India gave 12 villages near the Sulemanki Headworks (Fazilka) to Pakistan.[2] But the irony of the fate is that during 1971 Indo-Pak war, the statues of these very martyrs were removed and taken away by Pakistan army and have not been returned till today.[3][4] B.K. Dutt was also cremated here on 19 July 1965 and in accordance with his last wishes. Bhagat Singh's mother, Punjab Mata Vidyawati, was also cremated here in accordance with her last wish.

This memorial was damaged by the withdrawing Pakistani troops in 1972. They also removed the busts of the three national heroes during 1971 war when the area was captured by Pakistani troops. The memorial came up once again in 1973 due to the efforts of the then Punjab Chief Minister, Giani Zail Singh.

Every year, on the 23rd of March, the Shaheedi Mela is observed at this National Martyrs Memorial at Hussainiwala, in which thousands of people pay their homage.[6] The day is also observed across the state of Punjab.
-------

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hussainiwala

Instead there should be a daily memorial ceremony to These national martyrs (Pakis not involved). , raise and lower the flag daily around these martyrs memorial and let Indians people (tourists) only come and enjoy.

Rajagopal wrote:where is the petition to cancel this ceremony? :?: :?: :?:
Send a note to Modiji @ My.GoV.

Holy a$$ smoke Batman!

If above report is true the Paki soldier is strutting like the cock that thinks the sun rises because it crows.
TTP will send him to his just raisins.

Googling for info, it turns out that at Wagah there is a visitors gallery only on the Indian side. It is an Indian tourist attraction. Free viewing. There is no gallery on the shitistani side. Here is a view from crapistan

shiv .i think this pic is a bit dated..IIRC there was a viewing gallery on the P side as well...

^^ There is a pretty big TSP viewing gallery also. Guess the ppic is bit dated.