India-US Relations : News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion

PBS Frontline documentary on Dawood Gilani/David Coleman Headley

Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

Weapons may be luxury items for countries like Pakistan who fabricate threats but that is not the case with India; they are bare necessity needed to defend our country. So as long as we will have need to purchase foreign weapons, we will be dependent on others. We need to accelerate weapons manufacturing inside India even if the quality is not as good as Russian or American.

Military industrial complex and sound agriculture are two bare minimums that a country need in order to maintain its independence. Russia has former but it lacks latter and this has been used to apply pressure on Russia. We should learn from this Russian - NATO drama.

The only way we can be truly independent is to iterate through our weapon versions fast.

This has been achieved with Missiles and needs to continue in other critical areas. Initially everything was very crude and basic, but we iterated fast enough to now be able to have a decent inventory of missiles.

Happy Turkey Massacre day, in honor of the above.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Yes America killed many Native Indians.. True that. Today however, the whole world prefers living in the US. But India and its socialists (China and Mao) killed more people with their socialism since 1947 and today India has 700 million living in abject poverty because of Nehruvian philosophy of "Poverty sharing is a virtue and wealth creation is an evil pursuit".

How does both compare? .. I always wondered who is capable of doing more evil...American right wing christian nutjobs with their "manifest destiny" or Indian Hindu leftists with their smug "do goody" mass murdering thuggery? I never could tell.

PS: It just dawned on me... That is a good premise for an article for my blog. :D

Spoken like a true American :roll:

Lot of Americans think that rest of world are worse than them in killing people

svinayak: yes but they also think that they are living in worst of all worlds. I follow Liebnitz and think that we are living in the best of the all possible worlds.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 28 Nov 2014 10:47, edited 1 time in total.

Over a BILLION Indians will die in the next 50 years or so. vs. only about 300 million Americans and only some 170 million Pakistanis. Think of THAT! What does that tell you about which country is the BEST in the dunia to live, hain?

Manny ji aapki kasam you are dead right.

1,25,00,00,000 people today dream of standing on one leg in umrikha. I go to my guslkhana and the crazy guys in the apartments are screeming - Umrikha-Umrikha-Umrikha. SHQ asks when she and MIL will be dropped off to umrikha. I love the idea but for chotu and his sister. Chotu cannot yet speak properly but he too at times screams - America, America papa don't preach take me to America. I go to drop the chotu off to school and all his mates are the same way. His petite teacher is marring line on the school owner so he can take them to umrikha. The bhikari on the road too asks - bhagwan ke liye umrikha bhej do warna mein mar jaaunga. The Bhikarun, not to be left behind is screaming - to hell with the bhikaari, somebody drop me a ticket to hollywood. Office has people, threatening to jump off the top floors unless they are sent to umrikha. I ask what about your biwi-bache & your rishtedaar-kirayedaar, bhootniwaalon. They scream back tujhe itni fikr hai to tu hi rakh le.

Aamir in Satyamevjayate is going to tell us how the rights of 1,25,00,00,000 common people are being trampled upon by the 1,25,00,00,000 nishthur peoples who do nothing to send them off to umrikha.

Shotti katha. This is what really happened today. Actually happens every single day. What can I do I just pull my sorry life along wishing it was not so.

Manny wrote:Yes America killed many Native Indians.. True that. Today however, the whole world prefers living in the US.
Those who do not prefer to live in the US, such as me, do not deserve to live in this world.

^^^ shiv,

I have some more WU type stuff for you. Drop me a line if you want to chat sometime.

Manny wrote:Yes America killed many Native Indians.. True that. Today however, the whole world prefers living in the US. But India and its socialists (China and Mao) killed more people with their socialism since 1947 and today India has 700 million living in abject poverty because of Nehruvian philosophy of "Poverty sharing is a virtue and wealth creation is an evil pursuit".

How does both compare? .. I always wondered who is capable of doing more evil...American right wing christian nutjobs with their "manifest destiny" or Indian Hindu leftists with their smug "do goody" mass murdering thuggery? I never could tell.

PS: It just dawned on me... That is a good premise for an article for my blog. :D
I have no issues with people moving into (or outside) the US (or wherever they want to).

My only issue is, there is no real acknowledgement and redemption forthcoming from those who accepted the land (and also took the lives) of the Native Americans with Thanks.

Yes there are "Indian" reservations and "Tax Free" life in "Indian territories", but that is nothing but a step-motherly treatment.
Manny

Post by Manny »

My only issue is, there is no real acknowledgement and redemption forthcoming from those who accepted the land (and also took the lives) of the Native Americans with Thanks.
How would you like to see that happen and play out in the US? What is the most practicable way to achieve it?

And similarly in India, how can we reconcile to 700 years of Islamic tyranny and the religious Iconoclasm of destroying Hindu's place of worship in India (particularly in the North)? And how do we deal with the absurdity of treating "minorities" (Muslims and Christians are actually the two Golaiths of the world) who have never been persecuted by Hindus are being treated like the Hindus owe them something..like Hindus have to apologize to them about some past horrors or something. IF Muslims are Christians in India are a minority (An arbitrary idea) then Brahmins are minorities in Tamilnadu and India too and should be accorded minority status and hence the "majority" ought to feel guilty and grovel in front of these "minorities"?

Two different problems ..yet .totally vexing. :mrgreen:

Blizz to naat draw == between Native American/Black Plight with the Plight of the allegedly persecuted in India.

The American situation is simple to solve, but they wont do it.

The Indian "problem" is difficult to solve, and is completely different from the above.

Added later:
How should a historical injustice be corrected? In what way can generational transmission of poverty and trauma be addressed?

There are three (or four)factors to it: Economical, Psychological, Educational.

Native Americans have very similar psychology to the colonized. Infact, many of them think exactly like us and have similar inferiority complex. I find very little effort in the great piskology departments in great universities of the US to address that. There are a handful of scholars doing this as side business that I know of. The rest are into creating stuff like "Affluenza" and other BS.

Economical:
Tax Free life is fine, but what is really needed is Indian style reservations in every sector. That way they can get out of the gutter they were left behind, while having the piskological framework to feel proud of who they are and have a framework to integrate with larger society.

Educational:
This is obvious. Cultural + scientific education to make them productive citizens.

For a country that fights a trillion dollar war, this should be real easy to do. Infact a much poorer country India has done a better job at that, although it is now a victim of divisive politics.

Finally, an Indian newspaper calling it as it is:

Racism and law enforcement - Editorial, The Hindu
A grand jury’s exoneration of Darren Wilson, the white police officer who on August 9 shot dead an unarmed teenager on the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, sent shock waves across the United States this week. The fact that 18-year-old Michael Brown died violently on the streets of the quiet St. Louis suburb and no one will be held accountable for his death has left Americans of all colours once again searching their souls for answers. Some of them made their anger known to the world. Thousands took to the streets across major cities, braving the likelihood of yet another heavy-handed crackdown by the police and the National Guard. In Ferguson, the rage spilled over and took an ugly turn as gunfire erupted across the night, dozens of buildings and police cars were set ablaze, and looters had a free run in parts of the city. President Barack Obama reiterated his muted call for calm on all sides, but had clearly not sensed the mood of collective anguish that was engulfing the African-American community, or did not wish to confront the questions that they were asking: why had a behind-closed-doors grand jury that was 75 per cent white decided that there was no probable cause to take the case to trial? Why was police officers’ use of deadly force, especially against minorities, considered an acceptable practice?

The Brown-Wilson case holds up a mirror unto the troubling state of race relations in America. First, it is only the latest in a long list of flashpoints triggered by law enforcement brutality towards unarmed African-Americans, including the 2012 shooting of Trayvon Martin (17) and the videotaped 1991 beating of Rodney King, both cases in which the accused officers were acquitted. Second, it shows how public prosecutors or other government officials may manoeuvre juridical proceedings in a manner that renders a plaintiff victory effectively impossible. Since the verdict was announced, the St. Louis County Prosecutor, Robert McCulloch, has come under fire for his decision to use a grand jury in this highly sensitive case, thus precluding a transparent and exhaustive trial involving detailed cross-examination. Third, the imprint of the racist stereotyping of African-Americans amongst police officers, which was arguably evident in the testimony of Mr. Wilson, has a wider echo in terms of relatively higher incarceration rates. The searing racism in the U.S. has often made it an uncomfortable place for minorities, as it was for Muslims, Sikhs and even Hindus in the aftermath of the 9/11 terror attacks. African-Americans of all backgrounds, however, face a daily, ongoing threat to their lives and security, given the toxic mix of historical prejudice and law enforcement’s gun culture.
P.S. Posting this on this thread as this is a take of an Indian newspaper about some event in the US. Mods, if this is not acceptable here, I will move this post to the 'Understanding US' thread.

Another op-ed, The Hindu seems to be on a roll. Posting in full, as IMHO, these are rare examples of some 'positive news' about khan land by desi media.

Contours of prejudice - Narayan Lakshman, The Hindu
The Ferguson episode shows how nothing has changed for the African-American community since Abraham Lincoln signed the emancipation proclamation into law in 1863

When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty — Thomas Jefferson

Each year incidents of violence against African-Americans sear the national conscience in the U.S.; yet in most cases there is little accountability for the crime, fragile hope for a fair review within the judicial system and an infinitesimal chance that justice will be served.

When an unarmed 18-year-old African-American Michael Brown was shot no fewer than six times by a white police officer Darren Wilson on August 9 on the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, his death was a poignant reminder that nothing fundamental has changed for this community in the 151 years since Abraham Lincoln signed the emancipation proclamation into law.

When Missouri Governor Jay Nixon called out 2,200 members of the National Guard and declared an emergency in his state ahead of a ruling in the case this month, it was an eloquent statement on the atmosphere of suspicion and repression that has engulfed parts of the U.S.

America’s intractable “race problem,” which has shown no sign of withering under the nation’s first-ever African-American President, Barack Obama, is rooted in multidimensional prejudice, which taints not only the various institutions of law enforcement but also seeps through broader socio-cultural mores.

Brown’s case exemplifies all that is wrong with this state of hate. In the immediate aftermath of his killing, peaceful protesters in Ferguson, comprising African-Americans, whites, and other ethnicities, were greeted with a fierce crackdown by police armed with military-grade weapons.

Despite President Obama’s appeal for calm, tensions escalated as the police began strong-arming and arresting protesters and mediapersons in Ferguson. Already bitter from experiencing police intimidation and the use of tear gas against them, protestors and those seeking justice for Brown had to wait for more than three months for his legal case to make its way through the justice system.

Grand jury’s verdict

On November 24, a grand jury effectively exonerated Mr. Wilson of any wrongdoing by refusing to indict him for the shooting and thus blocking the case from proceeding to a trial jury. The very use of a grand jury in such a sensitive case begs interrogation.

Grand juries in the U.S. are in some senses an anachronism of medieval English law, wherein a coterie of “informed citizens” would aid the king and his administration in sifting through rumours and common knowledge about an alleged crime, before a formal verdict was reached and punishment meted out.

While the functioning of modern-day grand juries in this country has some similarities to its transatlantic antecedent, U.S. law does not permit criminal prosecutions to be brought by private individuals for the most part, unlike in medieval England, and grand juries serve in an environment of prosecutorial guidance or discretion.

This means that in a majority of cases the public prosecutor calls up a grand jury when he is actively seeking to prosecute, and once he does so, the prosecutor has a free hand to present his side of the arguments and urge the grand jury to produce an indictment so long as they find probable cause.

In a case of relevance to India the indictment and re-indictment of Devyani Khobragade, former Indian Deputy Consul General who was arrested in New York in December 2013 on visa fraud charges, was by a grand jury which, upon receiving arguments and evidence from U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara, found probable cause in the prosecutor’s case.

It is in this context that a former judge famously said that prosecutors could persuade a grand jury to “indict a ham sandwich,” a likely reflection of official figures suggesting that of the 1,62,000 federal cases prosecuted by U.S. attorneys in 2010, all but 11 resulted in an indictment by the grand jury.

What went wrong here?

One “catch” with the mechanism of grand juries, and a reason why incensed protestors in Ferguson and across the nation have taken to the streets, is that grand juries do not hear the full extent of evidence that trial jurors would, and neither is there an established precedent for cross-examination.

While it may be true that in the Darren Wilson case the 12 members of the grand jury heard 70 hours of testimony, the hearings were held in secret and even the public release of reams of evidence presented to the grand jury was not tantamount to a public trial.

Racial composition

The second, disturbing aspect of the grand jury was its racial composition — of the 12 jurors “selected at random from a fair cross-section of the citizens,” according to Missouri law, 75 per cent were white. Although St. Louis County’s overall population is 70 per cent white, nearly two-thirds of Ferguson’s residents are African-American.

Whatever the intentions of Mr. McCulloch in taking the case before a grand jury in this manner, even if it was to create a sense of public legitimacy or deflect blame away from himself for the outcome, his decision to not exercise prosecutorial discretion and allow a fuller examination of evidence and testimony is one more nail in the coffin of fair trials for a much-trampled community.

If the country’s juridical proceedings can thus be manipulated to undercut minority communities seeking justice, then a quiet undercurrent of racist stereotyping in the wider society perpetuates the notion that these communities are legitimate, even deserving, targets of malign official power.

Some of the stereotypes that haunt African-Americans can be gleaned from Mr. Wilson’s testimony, in which he said that Brown’s face looked “like a demon,” and that while the two scuffled in the officer’s car Mr. Wilson felt “like a five-year-old holding onto Hulk Hogan.”

Finally the Ferguson episode highlights a devastating, constitutionally protected, disease of the U.S. — gun proliferation, and the use of deadly force by law enforcement, particularly in incidents involving minorities.

In this regard, it carries echoes of the racially charged 2012 killing of Trayvon Martin (17) by an abuse-hurling George Zimmerman, the gun-toting “neighbourhood watch” officer who, similar to Mr. Wilson, went on to get acquitted by a jury on the charges of second-degree murder and manslaughter.

That episode appeared to test the practised neutrality of Mr. Obama who said at the time, “If I had a son, he would look like Trayvon.” You may not have a son, Mr. President, but the nation is your ward, and you have failed to speak up for core values that you’d want all Americans to have.

Btw, pliss to read the comments attached to both articles above - very insightful, and tells us why Khan gets away with anything against India and why an 'equal-equal' narrative with India's problems is so easy to sustain.
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

LokeshC wrote:Blizz to naat draw == between Native American/Black Plight with the Plight of the allegedly persecuted in India.

A modern version of "My Cousin Vinny" should be made in Missouri and not Alabama!!!!

Chindu is a China paper so Please do not get excited if it calls US as racist. It amount to nothing. Other papers almost never do that.
Manny

Post by Manny »

What you are seeing is the Christian caste system. Whelp..actually lot worse. The Hindu caste system with some outlier exception, never ever ethnically cleansed anyone nor enslave anyone nor lynch anyone.

Even after 300 years of living together the white christian caste and the black christian caste rarely marry. The practice of soical endogamy is in full force.

I once argued with a black Baptist why many African Americans are even Christians let alone Baptists. Why would they take up the faith of their slave masters..Those blokes used to Bible to justify slavery. The baptists from the Bable Belt (the arm pit of America) is the source of racial supremacy and religious supremacy and lynchings. Even today, there are Black christian caste churches and white christian caste churches... And I even told him that black folks suffer from Stockholm syndrome and they should immediately leave christianity and convert to one of the many Asian faiths. Tsk Tsk. :mrgreen: :rotfl:
Last edited by Manny on 30 Nov 2014 04:35, edited 1 time in total.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Yagnasri wrote:Chindu is a China paper so Please do not get excited if it calls US as racist. It amount to nothing. Other papers almost never do that.
Exactly..The Hindu is a leftish trash.. In a "Even the broken clock is right twice a day" kind of way they may be right in this particular case.. but for the most part "The Hindu is absolute rubbish newspaper.

I have been puzzled by the jury composition with 9 jurors being white. Most reports said Ferguson is 70% black. But the Jury is that of St Louis county where the whites are 70%. The Juries represent the whole county and not a particular town. Only four needed to vote no for the indictment to fail and that probably what happened. But we will never know the vote as it is secret.

Missouri: The Shoot-Me State
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

The Hindu editorial on the Ferguson state sanctioned murder of minorities in America is a welcome change - For years, NYT/BBC/Washington Post /Guardian etc etc. made it a point to sternly-talk-down to SDRE India and for once I see an Indian news paper stick it back. This is an excellent shift in our thinking process as we need to learn to slap back hard too!
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

arshyam wrote:Btw, pliss to read the comments attached to both articles above - very insightful, and tells us why Khan gets away with anything against India and why an 'equal-equal' narrative with India's problems is so easy to sustain.
Reading the comments, it seems as if Indians have become official chest beaters of the world. While Whites unite and pounce with glee at any alleged incident of caste discrimination in India, if an Indian paper talks about racist killings in US, this tribe of professional chest beaters from India jumps in, heckling and shaming fellow Indians into silence, as if they are the attack dogs of the Whites. This points to a deeper psychological malaise and inferiority complex among a large section of Indians.

^^^ Theje editorials (and coveraje and criticijm related to incident, UN rights panel hearings etc) etc is long overdue. That ij its job, that it often doej not do. Nearly alwayj it doej not.

Misphortunately, so we like NOT this neujpaper chindu. We like it not, very much onlee.

It can chanje, and some day we may look past its pathetik past rekord. But aj we are like this onlee, for now, we continue to not like it.

The Chindu article is worthwhile in what it says this time, but just keep in mind that while we may agree with some of what is expressed, it is articulating more finely the Chinese interest than it is ours - even in this article. As mentioned before, it precisely reflects the nuances in Chinese perceptions of the US and expresses it forcefully. It just so happens that many Indians feel the same way in this particular sense. The publication itself, however, appears almost terminally compromised.
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

UlanBatori wrote:Missouri: The Shoot-Me State
It's the same everywhere in this country. Ironically, you are more likely to get shot walking on North Ave than in Ferguson MO. :rotfl:

"Exactly..The Hindu is a leftish trash.. In a "Even the broken clock is right twice a day" kind of way they may be right in this particular case.. but for the most part "The Hindu is absolute rubbish newspaper."

The "Hindu" is good for the excellent articles written by T.S Subramaniam, and sometimes by R. Ramachandran, both who are more well known for their "Frontline" articles.

"Business Line" is also very good for economic news.

The Hindu editorials are usually lousy, except again when they are acknowledging a technological/scientific feat by Indians, including the space and missile events.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Varoon Shekhar wrote: The Hindu editorials are usually lousy, except again when they are acknowledging a technological/scientific feat by Indians, including the space and missile events.
Did you read the editorial about Vivekananda and his "manliness" was the impetus for the rape culture in India? I can't make this shit up. Ha Ha!

"Swami Vivekananda’s masculine photographic-pose was only one aspect of the cult of masculinity encouraged and tolerated by nationalism."

http://centreright.in/2013/01/swami-viv ... HtCUDHF_cg
Last edited by Manny on 30 Nov 2014 21:17, edited 1 time in total.

arshyam wrote:Another op-ed, The Hindu seems to be on a roll. Posting in full, as IMHO, these are rare examples of some 'positive news' about khan land by desi media.

Contours of prejudice - Narayan Lakshman, The Hindu ...............{Snipped}......................
Article on an Indian dimension to the gunning down of an African American by a White American in Ferguson which is a good three months old. So if already posted, take it as a tedious reiteration with my apologies.

Silver lining: Ferguson, African Americans and Indians in US :

First Post

Police Probe 5th Home Invasion Targeting South Asian And Indian Residents In NJ
November 30, 2014
This has been the fifth home invasion in the county over the last several weeks in which South Asian-Indian families have been victimized, Middlesex County Prosecutor Andrew C. Carey said.
Two other similar home invasions were committed in Old Bridge and one in South Plainfield.
No arrests have been made, and it isn’t known whether the robberies are related or if any suspects were involved in more than one robbery.
Robberies that target a minority communities should not be blamed on anyone but robbers.

by Manny
Yes America killed many Native Indians.. True that. Today however, the whole world prefers living in the US. But India and its socialists (China and Mao) killed more people with their socialism since 1947 and today India has 700 million living in abject poverty because of Nehruvian philosophy of "Poverty sharing is a virtue and wealth creation is an evil pursuit".
Spoken like a true Paki!! You need to spend some time learning Indian history before comparing it with China and Mao!!! :(

US plans to directly grill Indian ISIS. recruit, Majeed, worries Indian intelligence authorities - ToI

If India does not follow reciprocity in these matters, it must be termed as a surrender, Modi or no Modi. In that case, we would be no worse than the earlier regimes.
Manny

Post by Manny »

SBajwa wrote:
by Manny
Spoken like a true Paki!! You need to spend some time learning Indian history before comparing it with China and Mao!!! :(
Spoken like a true congressie?

http://necrometrics.com/20c5m.htm

The only flaw in that site was there was no section for Nehruvian socialism and the deaths behind that.

People's Republic of China, Mao Zedong's regime (1949-1975): 40,000,000 deaths?

BTW..There is no deaths listed under "the evil caste system". Amazing isn't it? If you listen to the lefties of India, you can't hear enough about "the evil" caste. Tsk Tsk

Why Carter as Pentagon chief is good news for India

The Indo-US defence relationship may now get personal attention with strong India-backer Ashton Carter today being nominated by President Barack Obama for the key post of the defence secretary.

A close confidant of Obama, Carter, 60, has served in his administration, in particular at the Pentagon in various capacities -- the last being that of the Deputy Secretary of Defence, from October 2011 to December 2013.

It is in this capacity that he was also the Pentagon's point person on India when he launched the path breaking Defence Trade and Technology Initiative.

Also called the Carter-Menon initiative, Carter during his travel to India in September 2013 had submitted a list of more than a dozen hi-tech defence items for co-production and co-development with India.

India and the US are "destined to be partners" at the world stage and the Indo-US defence ties should move from an existing "buyer-seller" relationship to that of "co-production" and "co-development", Carter said last year.

"My view is that the United States and India are destined to be partners on the world stage. And that's because we share so many common interests, but I think fundamentally it's because we share so many common values," Carter had said ahead of his all-important trip to India in 2013.

Given that in his speeches, testimonies before key Congressional committees and op-eds in well know journals, he has tirelessly advocated for strengthening of defence and strategic relationship with India, it is for the first time in independent India that Indo-US defence relationship would attract personal interest from a US defence secretary.

Carter had also backed the Indo-US nuclear deal in 2005.

"India -- a key part of our rebalance, and, more broadly, an emerging power that we believe will help determine the broader security and prosperity of the 21st century," Carter had said in his speech at the Centre for Strategic and International Studies last year.

"Our security interests with India converge on maritime security and broader regional issues, including India's 'Look East' policy. We also are working to deepen our defence cooperation -- moving beyond purely defence trade towards technology sharing and co-production," Carter said.

Carter as Deputy Secretary of Defence served as operating officer overseeing more than $600 billion per year and 2.4 million civilian and military personnel, and managing global 24/7 operations.

From April 2009 to October 2011, he was Under Secretary of Defence for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics with responsibility for procurement of all technology, systems, services, and supplies, bases and infrastructure, energy and environment, and more than $50 billion annually in R&D.

Currently he is a distinguished visiting fellow at Stanford University's Hoover Institution and a lecturer at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies.

While leading Pentagon on DTTI, Carter identified and put forward to India truly groundbreaking, entirely new collaborative proposal to co-develop with India a next- generation Javelin anti-tank capability.

"This is a new twist on a very old dog in US-Indian relations. This proposal would address a key military requirement for both our armies and is an unprecedented offer that we've made unique to India, so we're pretty enthusiastic about it," Carter had said last year.

As the Deputy Defence Secretary, he also took measures to increase scientific research in India-US defence field.

This he described as technology-sharing in the most intimate way, which is investigator to investigator.

"And making sure that those projects -- that we get real projects going, which lead to products, and there again I'll remove the technology obstacles and give our researchers incentives to work with the Indians," he had said.

"The way that works is that I basically say to our research community, if you find an Indian collaborator to work on a defence technology project with, that will get you preferential treatment in terms of funding from the DOD for that project, in the same way we do with some of our very closest allies," Carter said.

During his India trip in 2013, Carter said he let the Indian government know that he will be incentivising US researchers who seek and find Indian partners in the key research areas we identified previously.

"We will ensure that those innovative projects receive priority funding. This is an approach we've only ever taken with the United Kingdom and Australia, and now India will join that company," he said.[/url]

LOL, amusing to see the downhill skiing by supelpowel. How much supelpowel has fallen that now it is practically begging to start "co developing" technology with us.

I hope ISRO is going to send their cryogenic engine for display during the coming republic day parade.

Sagar g not so fast pride goes before the fall as they say.