CT & COIN Operations in India: News, Images and Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
rkhanna

Re: CT and COIN operations in India: News, Images and Discus

Post by rkhanna »

^^^ In the lower picture, the second soldier from the end is also wearing a helmet. Is it the new FAST type helmet?
IMO this soldier is the same one in the picture above. With an "Indian" Fast Helmet. In an encounter in j&K few months ago the CO of the para team that was responding also had a similar helmet.

VijayN wrote:
Doesn't using artillery signify escalation, and a precursor for a full out war?

I still remember reading, more than a decade ago L K Advaniji advocating use of Hot pursuits and taking the enemy in their backyard. I think this depends on the dispensation at the center, and am sure a more assertive Modi gov't have plans in place. Perhaps it is also time to redo what I K Gujralji undid, having special op groups operating in the hinterland. A tit for tat (aka balochistan) is a good idea - I mean it would be naive to assume we are not playing a "role" there already. However, I don't think that is enough, we should be in a position where we can stop the scum right in their backyard. Sever the head of this threat or atleast inflict enough damage that will make them think twice.

I however feel today, we simply don't have that leverage to call the shots. And this is perhaps true with our other neighbors also, except for empty threats can we actually ask any of them to do our bidding? We need to build the capability/capacity that can architect regime changes, have the tools of the trade to squeeze nuts as and when needed, change situations at our will, etc. But, I guess am asking for too much given that we are not an aggressive nation, we have hazaar problems taking care of our population. Where are the resources for such a geo-strategic play?
With the utmost respect that is nonsense. Arty firing happened for years and did not lead to a full scale war. Don't forget a low to medium intensity war has been on for years. For God's sake in which other country on this planet is firing on the international border and armed intrusion by regular/forces not is not construed as war ? IT HAPPENS ONLY IN INDIA.

What is different between arty and say a HMG or a mortar ? Only calibre and range. The objective is to destroy the bunker/fortifications and send a message...if they are close enough and in range we used small arms to destroy a few in the last round. Arty does the job and most importantly sends a message. We can easily control it as there is a lot of precedent for this.

The reason we don't take the reasonable and logical action is not because of idealism its because incompetence and complete lack of national security and military knowledge in the corridors of power. As long as IAS runs the defence ministry and IFS/IPS (Doval is a huge exception) runs national security policy this is what will continue to happen.

On the +ve there is a much higher probability of change in this regime than has been for decades. But that probability is still low.

As long as IAS runs the defence ministry and IFS/IPS (Doval is a huge exception) runs national security policy this is what will continue to happen.
Curious.

Certainly the military cannot make national security decisions. So, what is the alternative that one may have in mind?

Thx.

@all who are encouraging using artillery to respond to such attacks, is it a lack of government will and fear of escalation that has precluded such a response or is it the simple lack of enough artillery in the IA? Having artillery readily deployed on the border for immediate retaliation means - 1. Having enough artillery to cover large stretches of the border (IB and LoC) and 2. Being prepared to lose some guns (and men) in counter-battery fire from the paki side.

Maybe it is a simple lack of capacity and nothing to do with gandhism/ahimsa/fear of escalation etc. We might not be even having this discussion if we had twice the number of guns that we do now.

AFAIK the units ordered to respond are inf btns on the border, they dont have arty (not counting mortars).

that decision would have to be taken at higher level and div/bde's as appropriate would be given clearance to engage.

National security decisions are the responsibility of the govt ie the elected representatives of the people. They depend upon advice. That advice is solely given by the bureaucracy. Are you saying the bureaucracy is more competent than the military who are domain specialists? The bureaucracy is not the govt. I don't want to hijack this thread but all I will say is that this lack of understanding has crippled national security and hollowed out the armed forces and I am not talking solely equipment, I am talking training, ethos and iZzat the things that matter most. Enough on this.

Coming back to arty there is ample arty at div and corps levels to concentrate for localised assaults. We can also move arty from strike corps. It's a question of diagnosing the problem (enemy fighting a war on our territory tying down our resources and said enemy is a mortal enemy, cause of war is pure hate which is increasing by the minute as it society becomes more islamisized) and having the desire to implement the logical solution.

In the last round HQ 16 Corps was instructed not to escalate. Orders flowed from the govt. So inf was allowed to use all weapons they had but arty was not on the mix in either the army or BSF ops.

It (arty) can be done and I am sure Rohit and Vaibhav can give us fire plans. Other tactical solutions also welcome. But let's not restrict ourself I'm choice of weapon and calibre except missiles.

nachiket wrote:@all who are encouraging using artillery to respond to such attacks, is it a lack of government will and fear of escalation that has precluded such a response or is it the simple lack of enough artillery in the IA? Having artillery readily deployed on the border for immediate retaliation means - 1. Having enough artillery to cover large stretches of the border (IB and LoC) and 2. Being prepared to lose some guns (and men) in counter-battery fire from the paki side.

Maybe it is a simple lack of capacity and nothing to do with gandhism/ahimsa/fear of escalation etc. We might not be even having this discussion if we had twice the number of guns that we do now.
The issue with respect to Indian Artillery is not the number but the quality. Our holy grail has been to standardize the caliber on 155/52 mm across all the regiments - save for the ones which require 105mm due to terrain requirement.

Secondly - each formation on border is part of a larger formation which holds the artillery assets. The ones which responded to Arnia sector encounter would be part of a division with organic artillery brigade of 4-5 artillery regiments. Not to mention the artillery brigade under the Corps.

It is a matter of policy as to what assets are deployed.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Couple of things that need to be considered.

1. The intrusions in Jammu are deliberate plan to show the entire territory of the state as disputed where as has been pointed out, the insurgency will find no ground to survive. The idea also seems to be IMVVHO to divert conventional forces to CI Ops or relocate RR units from the valley in areas where there were none before. The later could go a long way in relieve preasure on the tanzeems operating there.

2. Escalation is generally a very well defined set of ladders and move from a sub-tactical level upwards. Climbing the rung with Field Arty will also open up own areas to Arty counter assaults. While these will generally be military targets, as the Pak Army has shown these may not be the case always. Mind you the Jammu region is an up and coming industrial hub also with tax breaks and low costs associated besides being a large population and agricultural centre. It is also the summer administrative capital. How much will this play on the local populace where the provincial capital is under enemy fire will dilute our own claims. Ex: The Jammu Airport lies some 25Kms from the IB and is strictly offline during wartime. The IA also operates ad-hoc Heptr Flights during peace. An Arty duel even under strict control will bring this into firing range. The public opinion may call for an all out option which considering our economic situation may not be best in our own interests.

3. I think we have to find other ways to send the message across and hit the Pak Rangers hard that it forces the Pak Army's hand. Seeing as how stretched they are with Zarb Ae Azb. If we are looking at purely military targets in the immediate FEBA then even the Heavy Mortar Batteries which have the firepower can cause requisite effect.

Some things are just too counter productive.

The trap we are falling is to define escalation in bookish and weapons terms skirmish to war for example whereas they are escalating on ground by their actions. To me sending BAT/SSG teams across the IB is more escalatory than arty firing from across the border. They breached the IB by mortar fire first and now they have escalated by sending in teams.

I agree with assessment on their objectives and would add that they want to hurt Hindu's and Sikhs directly now and bring Jammu into play. I believe this is very dangerous and highly escalatory. It won't stop here. We should avoid the trap of buying their logic and playing by rules set by them. But we have already bought the non-state bull shit hook line and sinker. I had the privilege of having coffee with an Army Commander's (can't take names but it is a crucial command) just a couple of weeks after 26/11. There was a mid level IPS officer also who had come for some personal work and naturally the discussion went to 26/11 and why we couldn't get Dawood etc. I kept my mouth firmly shut till the IPS chap left but will recount the story sometime. Gist - establishment has bought non state actor theory and anybody who questioned that better be ready to have their head chopped off.

Coming back to this situation, if we are concerned about an arty duel in Jammu why not target some of their ranger positions on the IB in Punjab or Rajasthan ? Maybe send Marcos in to hit targets in Baluchistan/Sindh ? Options will come up but we must think offensively and as per our game plan not theirs. Otherwise they win....tie us down on our own soil and negate our economic and military strength.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Akshay Sir,

I don't disagree with you completely. However, we could sustain the Artillery Duels in the LC for much longer because the areas affected were in the middle of nowhere. All I am saying is that incase of Artillery usage, the fatigue will set in faster in major population centers as they would have the most to loose. Sure we could with as much ease do the same in the Sialkot Sector but to what end? Every military campaign must have defined end goals.

The Pak Army has convinced the people that, the Army's survival is critically linked to the people's own physical survival. It is this which has to be disrupted, the mango population can be left alone.

More innovative methods need to be thought out with a clear game plan.

This will be unpalatable politically also as Jammu and Udhampur are decent sized BJP strongholds in a crucial state and any physical and material loss to its constituents will result in an electoral loss for the party.

Of course we don't want to cause collateral damage on our own soil and ofcourse there has to be an end game. End game is destroying paki positions and sending a message so that they realise there is a big cost to adventurism. But obviously we have to calibrate based on our assessment of their response. I think we are overestimating their response. But your assessment can be equally correct. Let's say it is.

What are options then? What should we do ?

Lets assume you are GOC 16 Corps. Northern commander has entrusted you with the responsibility to come up with a plan to respond to recent events across the entire northern command area LC/IB but not LAC. But you cannot disrupt hinterland ops in your and 15 Corps area. Postures have to be maintained in 14 Corps. You can call on resources of all strike corps. Your recommendations can also include int ops suggestions to NSA. You are completely free to carry out any ops in your corps area and suggest ideas to 15 Corps which they will follow.

What would you do immediately and in 12 months. What if anything would you recommend to NSA?
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Is this a tabletop exercise?

Let others take a stab at it.

Sukma massacre. Despite multiple incidents we are unable to prevent ambush of our forces by company sized formations of naxals. CRPF as usual resorts to blame game on air force, NTRO etc

Army has multiple instances of successful COIN campaigns under its belt, say Op Rhino in the 1990s. They did not have access to UAVs, and probably not much air support either. IMHO the CRPF is lacking.

http://www.firstpost.com/india/sukma-en ... 34773.html

Officials who were part of the operations on 1 December near the encounter area in Kasalpada village in Sukma found that Deputy Commandant BS Verma and Assistant Commandant Rajesh Kapooriya of the ambushed 223rd battalion were grievously injured in the gun battle as they were leading from the front and they succumbed to their injuries.

However, the ambushed troops retaliated strongly but they were soon outsmarted by Naxals as the team leaders were killed and there was no one to lead.
Fourteen Central Reserve Police Force personnel, including Verma and Kapooriya, were killed in the encounter.

"The troops are trained to fight, come what may, but losing their leader surely affects their concentration and morale which seems to be case in this recent encounter," sources privy to the development said.
The latest incident, the sources said, has forced the force to think of the requirement of having more officers in small combat units so that in ambushes like the one at Sukma, the troops do not get disoriented from the task and feel leaderless.
They said more officers in the ranks of ACs, DCs and Second-in-Command would be placed in some chosen strike units which operate in the worst Naxal affected areas of states like Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Odisha.
"The elite anti-Naxal CoBRA commandos unit of the CRPF has a similar arrangement and it is being actively planned to implement this system in other regular units of the force too," they said.
In the gun battle on the fateful day, a squad of about 90 CRPF men, split into four teams, was near the encounter area and a team of about 30 -- led by DC Verma and AC Kapooriya-- were targeted by the Naxals from the village side taking the aid of local villagers.
The Naxals, before the nearby units could rush in, looted a good number of sophisticated weapons and ammunition of the slain soldiers.
The IAF helicopters, which rescued the injured and flew back the dead personnel the next day, also carried back six troopers of CRPF and one SHO of state police who contacted malaria during the long-haul operation.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/crpf ... 04843.html
n Monday afternoon, learning about the death of their men was not the only horror facing the top brass of the Central Reserve Police Force(CRPF). Despite their best efforts at convincing, the spy agency National Technological Research Organisation (NTRO) insisted and succeeded in pulling out its surveillance Unmanned Aerial Vehicle(UAV) deployed over Sukma at the time the operation was on.

{media should avoid becoming part of the blame game between agencies :roll: }

This ditching, being viewed very seriously as hampering the force when it needed all possible efforts has propelled the CRPF top brass to complain formally to its parent body, the Ministry of Home Affair (MHA). A senior IPS officer posted in the CRPF, confirming the development, said, "We are not going to take this lying down anymore. The MHA has been, in a very strongly worded manner, informed about this. It is now up to them."

According to information accessed, the operations directorate of the CRPF placed an advanced 'indent' (read requisition) for UAV deployment over Sukma from 8am to 5pm for Monday, December 1. It was learnt that this was done keeping in mind the Maoist build up and the operations which were on for a fortnight. From Sukma, the Israeli-made Heron UAV was to fly to Jharkhand to provide an assessment of the Maoist presence since the state was to go for polls on Tuesday. Only then was it to return to its base at the Begumpet airport.

"The UAV arrived over Sukma only by noon. By around 1:30pm, it was gone. The NTRO's point was that the fuel supply was nearly exhausted and it needed to fly more than 90 minutes to reach Hyderabad," said a source. What bewildered the CRPF top brass was the sudden change of plan. "Given what was happening, we told NTRO to cancel flying to Jharkhand and maintain presence over Sukma. What we got in return baffled us. If you have been informed of a job as critical as this, how can you just walk away," a source stated.

The UAV, despite its limited visual penetration of the thick foliage over jungles of Bastar is of immense help to the security forces since it beams live images of the location over which it flies. In a limited way, the UAV also helps forces to track, detect and react to any possible build up of the insurgents.

The NTRO's UAV is operated by personnel from the Indian Air Force (IAF) who are on deputation to the spy agency. The spy agency is facing a crisis of pilots and observers and one set of pilots and observers can't work for over four hours and NTRO has barely two set of people at the best of times. As a result of this, the Heron UAV which can actually operate for over 18 hours, effectively is not utilized beyond eight hours at the most. What makes the matters worse is that the NTRO only flies one UAV at a time and that too for a limited duration owing to the manpower crunch. Its pay, mandated by the government rules, also is too meagre for it to be able to attract fresh recruitment. When reached for a comment, Air Vice Marshal Arvind Verma, chief of UAV operations of NTRO heard the entire issue and said, "You should speak to the right authority. I can not comment." When asked who should be reached, he did not reply.

It is not for the first time that the CRPF and NTRO have had a run in. In the past, former Home Secretary and now BJP MP RK Singh had put it in writing the need to stop relying on NTRO and developing own fleet of UAVs. Apart from that, for years now, the ground forces have pleaded the NTRO to shift out of Hyderabad and operate from Jagdalpur or Bhillai or any other air strip in the vicinity but NTRO has refrained. "Imagine the constraints that the NTRO already faces. In that by insisting on operating out of Hyderabad, you end up wasting considerable flying time in merely reaching over places in Bastar or Jharkhand. You have barely reached and it is time to head back, exactly what happened in the Sukma operation," explained a source.

While the CRPF reports to the MHA and the police to their respective state goverments, the NTRO comes under the cabinet secretariat and by extension, under Prime Minister's Office (PMO).

news pouring in , another attack on Army( Artillery ) camp at Uri sector. Attack lunched by a group of pakistani terrorist at 3:30 Am morning , no casualties reported so far.

not good news

5 army and 2 police dead :(
member_28539

Post by member_28539 »

http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... -still-on/

3 Pigs 72ed as per the latest reports. RIP brave souls...very sad indeed :( :(
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Time to retaliate heavily across the border for each of these misadventures.

What is worrying is that we lost 7 of our brave soldiers and policemen, while killing as far as we know 3 terrorists. Even last week we lost 3 soldiers in killing 4 terrorists.

When were they lost? Initial ambush? Or while roasting the pigs?
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

7 soldiers and 3 police personnel martyred in operation.
4 terrorist killed. More suspected on loose.
:evil:
Last edited by SagarAg on 05 Dec 2014 12:28, edited 1 time in total.

Is this not escalatory ? They are coming in and hitting us in our home. This is not good for morale.

LokeshC wrote:When were they lost? Initial ambush? Or while roasting the pigs?
We'll find out only when the details become available later. Regardless, the losses are still unacceptably high, especially since IA is an experienced CI operator in the region.

Why and how a few terrorists are able to inflict such casualties must be seriously addressed.

RIP to the brave soldiers.
member_28539

Post by member_28539 »

LokeshC wrote:When were they lost? Initial ambush? Or while roasting the pigs?
Initial media reports are attributing to the surprise factor here...stating that the unit (32 Field Rg) was heavily fortified & the security forces were take by surprise..the initial motive was to penetrate the facility...7 men is a huge loss. Any gurus with the birdies on ground to get us the exact situation on BRF will be much helpful in analysing this very proposturous loss of life :(
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

The attack too place at 3:30 am in morning. Sleeper cell suspected.

Joshi_Sa wrote:Initial media reports are attributing to the surprise factor here...stating that the unit (32 Field Rg) was heavily fortified & the security forces were take by surprise..the initial motive was to penetrate the facility...7 men is a huge loss. Any gurus with the birdies on ground to get us the exact situation on BRF will be much helpful in analysing this very proposturous loss of life :(
That's another point. It was widely accepted and expected that the Pakis and their jihadis would try out such acts during elections to divert the attention and up the rhetoric and as such attacks on the armed forces like these were likely. In fact there was one just last week.

Like you said, we still need to have the full facts in hand before getting to any meaningful conclusion, but if the Pakis seem to be throwing down the gauntlet here and and swift decisive response is necessary.

^^^ TV channels got some live coverage of Uri CI Ops.

Another attack in Srinagar being reported now.

Looks like an all out assault in J & K. Possible escalation here. Will be interested to see how the present GOI reacts to this series of attacks. Also, both Uri and Srinagar attacks are post infiltration so these guys had entered despite all precautions either recently or some time back.

Hopefully those pigs are roasted without casualities. We need to have a "bacon-fest": Every time a pig intrudes into India, roast a few uniformed pigs on the other side.
member_28539

Post by member_28539 »

if the Pakis seem to be throwing down the gauntlet here and and swift decisive response is necessary
@Kashi: Indeed sir, the gauntlet has been thrown..the attacks are not of the usual variety, they are infact a policy decision by a terrorist state to disrupt elections & selective targeting of communities in a neighbouring country which IMVHO is an act of war. Point Blank! :evil:

I think our ammunition dumps need a bit of load-off...but again, just my POV...I have heard that Pigistani affsars live near IB with families...let's bomb them in their rat-holes to put a fear of god into these guys..can't have our chaps die like this to nasty sleeper-cell syndicate which I safely assume is the case here as Army has been vigilant as ever on the IB...

deejay wrote:Looks like an all out assault in J & K. Possible escalation here. Will be interested to see how the present GOI reacts to this series of attacks. Also, both Uri and Srinagar attacks are post infiltration so these guys had entered despite all precautions either recently or some time back.
I am also eagerly awaiting the response from GoI. Modi himself was to visit a few parts of J&K some time soon. And there would be a round of bear-baiting again; if he cancels it it would be called lack of guts and if he goes, it would be a security risk. A strong counter-measure needs to be taken, or else the opposition would also get a chance to once again cry out that Modi is all talk and no action.

These attacks are a part of carefully calibrated strategy. Folks here at BRF had speculated that Pakis will up the ante to test and bait Modi government sooner or later. The strategy was the same, shell the LoC, IB to push through the piglets, raise the Kashmir issue at every fora and activate the sleepers within Kashmir and beyond in the next round of escalation.

Next we'll hear the usual lament and moaning from Pakis and their sympathisers that GoI's decision to cancel FS talks is what has led the present situation and how the only way is to resume the talks to "resolve all outstanding issues especially Kashmir within the framework of a composite dialogue". Expect the MSM to start carrying editorials and "opinion" pieces on this in the next few days.

4th attack, a grenade has been lobbed , dozen people injured

krishnan wrote:4th attack, a grenade has been lobbed , dozen people injured
Looks like Pakis have simultaneously activated several of their assets in J&K. Desperate and dangerous.

The first QRT that came in touch with the paki terrorists sustained causalities. Those pigs sneaked into the camp from a different route other then the entry points. If those TV crews can give us glimpse of the camp then it would have been easy for those pigs to recce and plan an attack on the camp.

youth from bangalore caught trying to buy bike in chennai using fake notes printed in pak. No second hand bikes in bangalore ???

Twiiter
Horrific update:4 Indian Army troops burnt alive by terrorists at Mahura,Uri; their barrack set afire. Army toll 8

All signs point to panic and urgency at Pukis to create chaos and fear factor and scuttle the elections. They are rattled with the high voter turnout. With 70%+ turnout the world community will believe that Kashmir is normalized and Pukis will not have any listeners. They are making a bet that we would not retaliate in middle of elections, because if we do, voting percentages will go down.

Pukis MUST be made to pay a price they will not forget.
Hariprasad

Post by Hariprasad »

:( unable to focus on my work after reading this...

The puki pigs should be slaughtered and made an example of. We have to escalate. Teach them a lesson they won't forget.
member_28840

Post by member_28840 »

I don't think this news was discussed before on BR.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 369705.cms
ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Railways is running trains named 'Special train JuD one' and 'Special train JuD two' to transport people from the southern cities of Karachi and Hyderabad to Lahore for Jamat-ud-Dawa chief Hafiz Saeed's jihadist congregation on Thursday and Friday, well-placed sources in the railways said.
This bullshit that keeps happening on the border can be stopped, or atleast a temporary respite gained by bombing the pigs in this jihadist meeting.

I hope Mr. Doval and Mr. Modi have something up their sleeves.