India-US Relations : News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Tuvaluan

Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion

Post by Tuvaluan »

Since when did Najam Sethi become an expert on India :shock: (and what is with calling India "Bhaarat", which is okay except for the extra "a" in there :?: -- as someone mentioned in another thread, calling Indian "bharat" is something of trend among pakis these days...). Anyway, he is clearly wrong on the liability issue being the sticky one, which seems to be the only issue that has been resolved by the GoI on this trip w.r.t. US-Indian nuclear trade, and gives both sides a reason to declare victory of sorts. NS seems to be also wrong on climate change, where India has not changed its stance in any substantive way, going by the Indian PM's responses in the past couple of days. Also, these seem to rolled up from what was reported in various Indian newspapers in the past week, so he is probably just repeating stuff he read from Indian media.

Tuvaluan wrote:Since when did Najam Sethi become an expert on India :roll: (and what is with calling India "Bhaarat" -- as someone mentioned in another thread, this is something of trend among pakis these days...). Anyway, he is clearly wrong on the liability issue being the sticky one, which seems to be the only issue that has been resolved, and is a good photo-op for both leaders in demonstrating progress on that front...but a lot of details remain apparently. NS seems to be also wrong on climate change, where India has not changed its stance in any substantive way, going by the Indian PM's responses in the past couple of days.
He has been accorded that status by the Pakis. As you pointed out, despite putting up a liberal face, the man is unable to mask his Pakistaniyat and he's happy to go by the establishment tells him and regurgitate the stuff that Pakis like to listen to vis-a-vis India. This has become more pronounced ever since he worked himself back into favour with the establishment- caretaker CM, PCB chief etc.

In one of the other videos he was presenting his "anal-lysis" about India upping the ante on IB and LoC to divert TSPA attention from the western front since India wants Taliban to continue to engage TSPA internally.

The man like others of his ilk is a snake oil peddler.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

kashi wrote:
the man is unable to mask his Pakistaniyat and he's happy to go by the establishment tells him and regurgitate the stuff that Pakis like to listen to vis-a-vis India.
Indeed, agreed..this is one of the more experienced snake oil peddlers, and pakistan has a lot of them, especially when it comes to India. This Najam Sethi, also fondly known as "Jihad Sethi", advocated bombing the IISc in bangalore and other research institutions in India barely a decade ago -- just another two-faced paki conman spouting reasonableness like Mosharraf Zaidi or Ejaz Haider...all cut out of the same cloth.
In one of the other videos he was presenting his "anal-lysis" about India upping the ante on IB and LoC to divert TSPA attention from the western front since India wants Taliban to continue to engage TSPA internally.
If we recall, this is the same BS the paki army has been saying these days that this paki is repeating.

X Posted from the “India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011” thread.

What our Foreign Secretary Ms. Sujatha Singh had to say about operationalising the Civilian Nuclear Deal with the US followed by what was asked and said on the topic in the Q&A session that followed:
Foreign Secretary (Shrimati Sujatha Singh): ……………………… There have been significant and substantive outcomes on the strategic, civil nuclear, defence, energy, and economic sides. I will go straight to the civil nuclear side where we have broken the logjam of the past few years.

You would recall that during the Prime Minister’s visit to the US in September 2014 the two leaders reaffirmed their commitment to implement fully the US-India civil nuclear cooperation agreement, and established a contact group on advancing the implementation of civil nuclear energy cooperation in order to realise early their shared goal of delivering electricity from US-built nuclear power plants in India. Based on three rounds of discussions in the Contact Group, we have reached an understanding on two outstanding issues namely civil nuclear liability and the administrative arrangements for implementing our 123 agreement. Let me underline, we have reached an understanding. The deal is done. Both these understandings are squarely within our law, our international legal obligations, and our practice.

Insofar as liability is concerned, during the Contact Group meetings the Indian side presented our position concerning the compatibility of the Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage Act, and the Convention on Supplementary Compensation for Nuclear Damage, which we have signed, and responded to questions from the US Members concerning this position.

The idea of the India Nuclear Insurance Pool as part of the overall risk management scheme for liability was also presented to the US side. Based on the presentations by the Indian side and the discussions thereon, there is a general bilateral understanding that our law is compatible with the CSC.

Many of you would be aware that we had not yet finalised the administrative arrangements for the 123 agreement which we signed in September 2008. We have finalised it now. The administrative arrangements text that we have agreed with the US conforms to our bilateral legal arrangements as well as our practice on IAEA safeguards. ………………………….
Question:On the nuclear deal, in simple words what has been achieved?

Joint Secretary (D&ISA) (Shri Amandeep Singh Gill): The answer is very simple. As the Foreign Secretary said, we have a deal, we have reached an understanding on civil nuclear liability and finalised the text of the administrative arrangements to implement the 123 agreement.

Question:Madam, what are the assurances that were given on the liability front, particularly the American concerns on section 46? Also, is there any kind of memorandum that the Attorney General would have to give to the Americans because that is something that the While House briefing has just indicated?

Joint Secretary (D&ISA): Not section 46 but section 17 of the law has been discussed with the US side in the Contact Group, and the presentations we have given to the US side clarify and underline that these two sections are in conformity with the CSC. Now you mentioned about the memorandum. That is work in progress.

Question:I want to know if the Americans have accepted the same kind of arrangement we have with French and the Canadians.

Joint Secretary (D&ISA): There is no administrative arrangement that we require with France. We have an administrative arrangement with Canada and that has been the template for finalising our administrative arrangement with the US.

Question:There was a tracking clause that America was raising that they will track whatever nuclear things are going to us. What is the development on us? And is there any insurance cap in that?

Joint Secretary (D&ISA): The text we have agreed with the US conforms to our bilateral legal agreements with the US which are: the 123 agreement and the arrangements and procedures on reprocessing. The text also conforms to India’s practice of IAEA safeguards. So, that is the current practice of safeguards in India.

Question:You spoke about the idea of insurance pool to address the liability issue. Could you spell out the specific? What is this insurance pool, because there have been speculation all along as to what has been agreed to in today’s meeting.

Joint Secretary (D&ISA): The insurance pool or what would be called the India Nuclear Insurance Pool is a risk transfer mechanism which is being formed by GICRE and four other public sector undertakings in the general insurance business in India. These companies would together contribute Rs.750 crore to the pool and the balance capacity would be contributed by the government on a tapering basis. So, this is the general shape of the pool. It is similar to 26 such international pools around the world. The details, for example, of the premiums are being worked out. And the United States has committed to work with India to share information and best practices on the formation of this insurance pool. The important thing for you to note is that this is a complete risk management solution for both operators and suppliers without causing undue financial burden.

Question:Given that the two companies that are already supposed start those first nuclear reactors in India are tied up with Japanese companies, are these deals really going to have to wait for the Indo-Japan civil nuclear deal to be completed before we complete ours, and are we going to ratify the CSC now?

Joint Secretary (D&ISA): Let me take your second question first. We have signed the CSC and we are committed to ratify the convention. On your first question about the supply chain situation with regard to Westinghouse and GE, there are alternatives available, and we do not think that the absence of an agreement with Japan is an obstacle to taking forward civil nuclear cooperation with the United States.

Question:Madam, the Americans have been crying that they did not get a level-playing field. Have you been able to give them a level-playing field in civil nuclear cooperation today? And here onwards it would really depend if their companies are able to sell you reactors at a price which is comparable to other reactors? Techno-economic cooperation is the way forward?

Foreign Secretary: We have always had a level-playing field. I do not see what the issue is over here. I will ask Amandeep to elaborate on that if he wishes.

Joint Secretary (D&ISA): On the techno-commercial aspects, that is something for our companies to see. These reactor projects have to be viable in terms of both capital cost and per unit energy cost, and that is something that our companies will work out. But the other two hurdles, as the Foreign Secretary mentioned, the policy hurdles, we have cleared them today. …………………..
From here:

Transcript of Media Briefing by Foreign Secretary on President Obama's visit to India (January 25, 2015)

Tuvaluan wrote:This Najam Sethi, also fondly known as "Jihad Sethi", advocated bombing the IISc in bangalore and other research institutions in India barely a decade ago -- just another two-faced paki conman spouting reasonableness like Mosharraf Zaidi or Ejaz Haider...all cut out of the same cloth.
Was it him? I thought it was probably the "Good Haqqani" who wrote something about a hypothetical scenario if LeT or like-minded faithfools were to target Indian IT industry and research institutes.

Any links?
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Definitely the same guy, though he puts on airs of being all reasonable these days, given how things are in Pakiland. He wrote this in an edit page in the Daily Times, when was editor of that paper. But yeah, definitely this guy. He is known as "jihad sethi" hereabouts for a reason -- all polished on the outside but just another raving jihadi on the inside. Sethi's pakjabi ilk were high on their own noxious fumes when they where "chosen" to be a major Non Nato ally a decade ago and were indulging in a lot of trash talking on their TV shows and edit pages.

Unfortunately, do not have links for it saved. sorry.

Even if Obamas' did not bring their dog, someone else brought one to the party :)

well fed little bugger!

Last edited by chetak on 26 Jan 2015 10:11, edited 1 time in total.

Tuvaluan wrote:Since when did Najam Sethi become an expert on India :shocked:
Who said that Najam Sethi is an expert on anything? I said that the video gives a good outline about the issues and respective positions of the parties involved. And thats why I posted. I also clearly mentioned that the person giving the perspective of the parties is a pakistani and will have his own bias.
(and what is with calling India "Bhaarat", which is okay except for the extra "a" in there :?: -- as someone mentioned in another thread, calling Indian "bharat" is something of trend among pakis these days...).
This forum itself is called Bharat-rakshak. Because Bharath is the actual name of India before Europeans started calling Bhaarathiyas as Indians. I think the right way to spell Bharat is Bhaarath, so I spell it that way. If Pakistanis are also referring to this country as Bhaarath, then its a good thing and needs to be encouraged. Just because its being done by Pakistani doesn't mean its wrong. Pakistanis are also breathing, does that mean others should stop breathing?

Anyway, the official name of India is also Bhaarath according to Constitution of Bhaarath.
Constitution of India
India ie. Bharat is a Union of States.
Anyway, he is clearly wrong on the liability issue being the sticky one, which seems to be the only issue that has been resolved, and is a good photo-op for both leaders in demonstrating progress on that front...but a lot of details remain apparently.
It was the sticky issue and therefore Najam Sethi assumed that it wouldn't be solved. But, it was solved which shows the importance given by both countries(leaders) to this event. So, it was a success that the countries were able to solve a sticky issue and get it out of the way.
NS seems to be also wrong on climate change, where India has not changed its stance in any substantive way, going by the Indian PM's responses in the past couple of days.
Going by Modi's response, Bhaarath seems to agree in principle that something has to be done about climate change. But, obviously, Bhaarath will not agree to this in the same way that China did. But, actually Nuclear deal itself is part of climate change issue. Nuclear deal is about clean energy, so Obama can sell it to climate change audience as having sealed the nuclear deal which will lead to less carbon emissions by Bhaarath.
Also, these seem to rolled up from what was reported in various Indian newspapers in the past week.
Well, I came across this video and I thought it summed up the issues pretty well. It seems that you are objecting to the video being posted because you seem to have assumed that I am trying to portray Najam Sethi as some good guy. No, I am not trying to present Najam Sethi as some good pakistani and I am not interested even if he is a good guy.
Tuvaluan wrote:Definitely the same guy, though he puts on airs of being all reasonable these days, given how things are in Pakiland. He wrote this in an edit page in the Daily Times, when was editor of that paper. But yeah, definitely this guy. He is known as "jihad sethi" hereabouts for a reason -- all polished on the outside but just another raving jihadi on the inside. Sethi's pakjabi ilk were high on their own noxious fumes when they where "chosen" to be a major Non Nato ally a decade ago and were indulging in a lot of trash talking on their TV shows and edit pages.

Unfortunately, do not have links for it saved. sorry.
I think Najam Sethi confessed to being a supporter of jihadhis in one of his videos about Indo-Pak wars. Don't remember exactly which one.

There is a fundamental difference between the way you are looking at things and I am looking at things. I am interested in the content of that video and you are interested in Najam Sethi's character and background.

But, since you brought up Najam Sethi's background, then you should be aware that there are allegations against Najam Sethi that he waged war against the Pakistan Army by supporting Balochistan Liberation Army. These allegations are made by Pakistan Army establishment.

Najam Sethi is a Traitor" X Chief of Army Staff of Pakistan Mirza Aslam Baig

Najam Sethi is Traitor and Fought Against Pakistan Army: Gen. Rtd Hameed Gul

What is interesting is that in the first video Najam Sethi is being panned for being pro-jihadhis. And in the second video, Hamid Gul is panning Najam Sethi for being anti-jihadhis. But, both of them make same allegations against Najam Sethi that he was involved in BLA.

There are allegations on Geo TV that it is funded by US. Very recently, there was a murder attempt of one of the start journalists(Hamid Mir) of Geo TV. Hamid Mir and his brother blamed ISI for this murder attempt. Hamid Mir and Geo TV have been disliked by the Pakistan Army Establishment and they view them as vehicles of American policy. Aman Ki Asha is considered an American policy. BTW, there was close cooperation between NDTV and Geo TV.

Now, you could say that these allegations are all false. But, the veracity of allegations is beside the point. The basic point is that Najam Sethi is not liked by Pakistan Army Establishment. Geo TV is not liked by Pakistan Army Establishment. And BLA is not liked by Pakistan Army Establishment. Nawaz Shareef is not liked by Pakistan Army Establishment.
Kashi wrote:
Tuvaluan wrote:Since when did Najam Sethi become an expert on India :roll: (and what is with calling India "Bhaarat" -- as someone mentioned in another thread, this is something of trend among pakis these days...). Anyway, he is clearly wrong on the liability issue being the sticky one, which seems to be the only issue that has been resolved, and is a good photo-op for both leaders in demonstrating progress on that front...but a lot of details remain apparently. NS seems to be also wrong on climate change, where India has not changed its stance in any substantive way, going by the Indian PM's responses in the past couple of days.
He has been accorded that status by the Pakis. As you pointed out, despite putting up a liberal face, the man is unable to mask his Pakistaniyat and he's happy to go by the establishment tells him and regurgitate the stuff that Pakis like to listen to vis-a-vis India. This has become more pronounced ever since he worked himself back into favour with the establishment- caretaker CM, PCB chief etc.

The man like others of his ilk is a snake oil peddler.
Saar,
one of the things that you have to remember is that in Pakistan, no one can directly oppose the Pakistani Army. However, Nawaz Shareef and Geo TV have been accused of working against ISI and Pakistan Army. Najam Sethi is also part of Geo TV establishment. And Najam Sethi also worked closely with Nawaz Shareef. Geo was banned for taking anti-establishment stances.

It is clear that Pakistan Army does not trust either Geo TV or Nawaz Shareef.

But, it does not mean that these anti-Pakistan army entities are not jihadhists. Because they need firepower to survive and jihadhists are the only ones with firepower and all people with firepower have turned into jihadhists in Pakistan.

So, Nawaz Shareef's party is actually very close to jihadhi groups and is seen as right-wing party. One of the rationales given for the military courts by Pakistan Army is that the political parties and judiciary are either weak or compromised in face of jihadhism and therefore only the military is the solution. But, what is unsaid and unacknowledged is that the military itself has been the source and patron of the jihadhism in Pakistan.

In short, in pakistan, there is no powerful entity which is not jihadhi and still survives. This is one of the reasons why there is widespread skepticism about Pakistan being able to wipe out jihadhism even assuming that it becomes serious about doing so.

jihadhi groups can be categorized into:
- those which specifically target Bhaarath
- those which are waging internal war
- those which are waging global war

The groups waging war against Bhaarath have been collaborating with the groups waging global jihad. Under the pressure of America, Pakistan was starting to squeeze the global jihadhi groups. This meant that the global jihadhis became internal war waging jihadhis. In simple terms, Pakistan had ceded control to these jihadhi groups. America wanted the Pakistan Army to regain the writ on ground. This is leading to large scale internal war.

Anyway, most of these jihadhis are just poor, young and illiterate people who have been brainwashed by the mullahs. Many of them are into this racket because they have no other option. These jihadhi groups were armed and trained by the Pakistan army or its derivatives.

So, how do you solve this jihadhi problem?
- stop arms and ammunition to jihadhis. That means the Paksitan Army itself needs to be controlled.
- place restrictions on the preachings by mullahs. That means reformation of Islam.
- development. Modi's manthra... for the region.

Development is actually the last step. The first step is to remove the patrons of the jihadhis. The patrons of the jihadhis in this entire region is Pakistan Army.
Harish

Post by Harish »

chetak wrote:Even if Obamas' did not bring their dog, someone else brought one to the party :)

well fed little bugger!

According to my secret sources, this critter is actually Canis Terrestrial Rover manufactured by DRDO. It is a super sophisticated spying vehicle designed to blend into the street environment for intelligence gathering. It photobombed the Obamas attracted by the massive vibrations emanating from the Beast. This intelligence-gathering machine has been extensively deployed all over the place in Paw'stan. Reportedly Im the Dim took one home after his Jalsa. :shock:

Ha!ha! Paw'stan indeed! Our DRDO boffins can market and export this exciting new device . I suggest that the canine in Q
be presented to O'Bomber by our beloved PM when he leaves as a memento of Republic Day!

The real deal will be the fruit that is plucked after the tamasha is over. The N-deal problems seem to have been ironed out,Climate Change is still in the works,as it requires a global response,Some defence projects will be undertaken,the UCAV tech being the most interesting as it is being rapidly inducted into every branch of armed forces worldwide. carrier tech certainly appears to revolve around EMALS.If UCLASS is thrown into the basket it would be a real game changer.

A summary: Lot of symbolism, went about as well as could be expected.

You wont like this description. So if you want to keep the euphoria going, skip.

US presidents have probably attended a ton of parades, but this president probably not. So that he put up with the pageantry is not a small deal. Every aspect of the parade was closely coordinated, which may be a good thing, or not. There is a lot that showed how both sides have so much going over their heads in their eagerness to show a total understanding. So,

1. I didnt hear the radio show. But the 1-question-each press conference was a choreographed event. It looked silly. Dont take questions, and dont have your favorite reporter come up with silly minor questions instead. The indian reporter was fed that "question". The US lresident is asked the same question regardless of where they are. The AP was going to be fed that question. Nothing out of place there. They would have done the same in kremlin.
2. "Gupshup" is not statecraft language. There is a bit of over-enthusiasm visible in the PM. Why?
3. The chief guest thing at 1/26 is a bit odd, the president must attend to the march past, and really like the state dinner he should be the president's equal at ceremonial functions. Like the queens, kings etc. Obviously, there wont be a third visit, election fever will pick up in US come spring. So could the one day used for 1/26 have been used otherwise?
4. In some way, the woman-power was overshadowed by the hoopla over US presideNt visit.
5. The security council support statement by the US president was just as cheesy as "aaram se gupshup" and "parde me rahne de".
6. Clinton dance == namaste/chai pe charcha.
7. cultural misunderstandings. Eg. the swastika. Screw the germans, but it will show upi in random places like the dog.

These are relatively easy to see through propaganda events. No one would assume staff was not available to help them with tea. The cost of 1/26 is difficult to justify if not for proper attention to the various bravery awards. Thjs one cost many times the usual. Both US and India could have sopent the 250M to bakistan, 100s M on the event wisely otherwise.

If you spend thjs level of money, give the public a chance to enjoy it. Instead of being hamstrung to showcase every US platform. I remember waving flags for USSR general secretaries and the current lot probably felt just as bad at the rushed up pace. There were way too many people crammed in the marchpast.

The business meetings have escaped scrutiny. The whitehouse document js the best detail available re. goals. But there are no details anywhere. I personally dont trust the CEOs and am deeply suspicious of what they are cooKing up against the common lot. why were they not let loose on the reporters.

Obscurity /= security or prosperity. One hopes there is dignified but thorough poke through of who came/went and why it was worth it. The KSA saga is yet to add complexity . While one could not have predicted that, it is a shame that the substance (Nuclear dwal, 10 year defense agreement, what else?) is pushed so far out of view. It is also a shame the awardees didnt get their few seconds attention of the public they served with distinction.

Minor neighbors are best chief guests for 8/15 or 1/26. There I said it (and if these events are scaled down altogether, I wont be complaining).

Philip wrote:Ha!ha! Paw'stan indeed! Our DRDO boffins can market and export this exciting new device . I suggest that the canine in Q
be presented to O'Bomber by our beloved PM when he leaves as a memento of Republic Day!

The real deal will be the fruit that is plucked after the tamasha is over. The N-deal problems seem to have been ironed out,Climate Change is still in the works,as it requires a global response,Some defence projects will be undertaken,the UCAV tech being the most interesting as it is being rapidly inducted into every branch of armed forces worldwide. carrier tech certainly appears to revolve around EMALS.If UCLASS is thrown into the basket it would be a real game changer.
There must have been a lot of really red faces, both among the secret service of the US and India.

So easy to train such a innocuous looking mutt, surgically implant a device in it's body and get it to run in the right direction.

Embarrassment apart, this has been a major security slip up any which way you slice it.
Last edited by chetak on 26 Jan 2015 12:38, edited 1 time in total.

Philip wrote:Ha!ha! Paw'stan indeed! Our DRDO boffins can market and export this exciting new device . I suggest that the canine in Q

There must have been a lot of really red faces, both among the secret service of the US and India.

So easy to train such a innocuous looking mutt, surgically implant a device in it's body and get it to run in the right direction.

This has been a major slip up any which way you slice it.
Without reducing the significance of the slip up, it is highly probable that the said mutt in the picture, is a denizen of Rashtrapati Bhavan garden/lawn, and the guards/malis/drivers stationed there might be feeding it occasionally. So it may have "slipped" the usual thorough checks.

prahaar wrote:
chetak wrote:{quote="Philip"}Ha!ha! Paw'stan indeed! Our DRDO boffins can market and export this exciting new device . I suggest that the canine in Q

The real deal will be the fruit that is plucked after the tamasha is over. The N-deal problems seem to have been ironed out,Climate Change is still in the works,as it requires a global response,Some defence projects will be undertaken,the UCAV tech being the most interesting as it is being rapidly inducted into every branch of armed forces worldwide. carrier tech certainly appears to revolve around EMALS.If UCLASS is thrown into the basket it would be a real game changer.{/quote}

This has been a major slip up any which way you slice it.
Without reducing the significance of the slip up, it is highly probable that the said mutt in the picture, is a denizen of Rashtrapati Bhavan garden/lawn, and the guards/malis/drivers stationed there might be feeding it occasionally. So it may have "slipped" the usual thorough checks.
Undoubtedly. It looks too healthy to be a mere vagabond that came upon the presidential parade by chance and rained on it.

Some moron must have also shooed it in the right (?) / wrong direction.

Very unfortunately it also reinforces the "third world" stereo type and expect this to be played up as such.

Was the mutt sent from across the border? This is the huge Q that is currently chewing up the minds of the Secret Service and our security sleuths who now have poo on their faeces..sorry faces! Our johnnies say that it isn't their fault as the "inner ring" of security was handed over to O'Bomber's SS. Imagine if the mutt had a device up his ...ahem,and made for the seated VVIPs! From my experience especially observing street mutts,their high jumping ability,esp. by when after b*tches in heat is amazing.That bullet proof glass screen protecting the VVIPs would've been easily cleared by any decent mongrel ! At the next VVIP open function like the RD parade,we will have to have a team of crack canine commandos at the ready to intercept any 4-legged "intruders".Reminds me of that entertaining HWood film,Dogs and Cats"!

Colonel Anil Athale (Retd.) says “A three generation US-Pakistan relationship is not likely to be snapped any time soon. All this presents an irritant to an India that wishes to concentrate on economic development” :

Don't be fooled by the hug!

ldev wrote::rotfl: Major khujli!!!
The language is quite vile and vitriolic, not surprising it's ARY News, one of those outlets purported to be funded by Dawood himself.

They were involved with PK funding and distribution as well.

The links are becoming quite apparent are they not?

There is famous saying.Keep your friends close but your enemies closer!

Modi cutting loose with a speech at the business summit... Damn, what a pleasure to hear our own prime minister speak and act like a human being!!! It's been a decade folks.

He's truly making up for lost time and talk expected from an Indian PM,thanks to the silent one,Maun Mohan Singh!

JE Menon wrote:Modi cutting loose with a speech at the business summit... Damn, what a pleasure to hear our own prime minister speak and act like a human being!!! It's been a decade folks.

Modi's speech at the Business summit Video

Here is PM Modi's full speech:

Mr. President, distinguished guests, my heartiest greetings on Republic Day! I am deeply honoured to do so as the first Prime Minister born in free India.

On this day, sixty five years ago, the people of India gave themselves the longest written constitution in the world.

It was a constitution for a society with huge diversity and disparities; for a young nation facing many challenges and constraints.

It was a pledge, rooted in the ancient wisdom of our land - of faith in co-existence, assemblies and republics.

A Constitution forged from the highest ideals and inspired by a lofty vision; vision and values that define India and the United States of America.

We are two nations blessed because of this rich inheritance; even more because of generations of Indians and Americans, who have preserved and upheld them.

For our nation, the journey has been impressive.

But the road ahead is still long; because, the hopes that we wrote into our Constitution still elude many.

It will be fulfilled only when every Indian has a life of dignity; freedom from want; and, belief in the possibility of dreams.

Last May, in a historic election, our nation renewed its pledge to that vision.

In the past eight months, we have worked tirelessly to fulfil that mandate - not just to increase our economic growth. It is also to transform the quality of life of our people and preserve the gifts of Mother Nature.

Our task is huge; and, it won't happen overnight.

We are conscious of our challenges; but also, inspired by our many successes.

And, we have the energy of our youth, the enterprise of our businesses and the genius of our farmers. Above all, we have the confidence and optimism of the nation.

To this audience, I hardly need to spell out the series of bold steps that we have taken.

My message to you is this:

You will find environment that is not only open, but also welcoming. We will guide you and walk with you in your projects.

You will find a climate that encourages investment and rewards enterprise;

It will nurture innovation and protect your intellectual property.

It will make it easy to do business; our immediate target is to bring us from the rear ranks of the world into the top fifty.

You will find a tax regime that is predictable and competitive. We have removed some of the excesses of the past. We will now soon address the remaining uncertainties.

Our goal is an economy where skills, infrastructure and resources will not be constraints to growth.

In the world of economics, numbers are often an unforgiving mirror to performance.

They are telling us that we are on the right path.

Our economic growth has increased by a percentage point.

Today, business sentiments in India are the strongest among major Asian markets. Consumer confidence in India has turned positive after three years.

Growth in the eight core sectors of the economy has increased sharply. Inflation is at a five-year low.

And, 110 million new bank accounts have opened in the last four months.

Investments from the United States have jumped by 50% in the first six months of my Government. And, I know that some of the pledges made in September in Washington have begun to flow in.

Yes, I do keep track of these things!

The scale of our dreams is vast; therefore, the opportunities we offer are huge.

We speak of a revolution in our Railways. It carries more people daily than the size of the population of three-fourths of the countries in the world.

Our ambition of a Clean Ganga involves 500 million people, hundreds of towns and thousands of villages.

Our plans of urban waste treatment must deal with more than 500 cities with a population of over 100,000.

Our vision of a connected rural India extends to over 600,000 villages.

And, a roof over the heads of every Indian in the next seven years may need at least five million new dwellings every year.

It is not just policy and strategies that will take us there.

Everything we wish to do involve enterprise and investments, but even more - innovation and imagination.

Much of our journey to development is still ahead of us. And, we will pursue a more sustainable path to prosperity.

We make this choice with the natural instinct of our culture and tradition. But, we also do this with a commitment to our future.

We are more likely to succeed if we offer affordable solutions, not simply impose choices. This requires access to more resources and better technology.

That is why I have called for global public action to develop clean energy. In this, we should take a lesson from past efforts to tackle hunger and many diseases.

India's progress is the destiny of 1.25 billion people.

But, the success of one-sixth of humanity will also be a great outcome for this world.

It will be a world with much less poverty and want; infants with a much better chance to survive; daughters with a life of opportunity; and, a huge global resource in 800 million empowered and skilled youth.

India will be an important anchor of stability for the global economy; and an engine for its growth.

Above all, a prosperous India will be a force of peace and stability in the world.

We have seen that prosperity is no guarantee for peace. But, India sees the world as one family; and we wish to shape it in the values that define our nation.

Our inter-dependent world needs strong international partnerships more than ever before.

And, few partnerships are so rich in promise and so capable of shaping this world as ours.

We only have to see the history of our cooperation. We have worked together to usher in the Green Revolution in India. We have collaborated in Space. We have partnered in setting up IITs and IIMs. And, we have helped shape the digital age.

Our engineers, scientists and doctors are developing affordable medical devices for rural areas; and, new vaccines for children.

Over 90 institutions from our two countries are collaborating on biofuels; solar energy; and, energy efficiency.

U.S. companies are transferring advanced skills and technologies to India. And, Indians are powering U.S. businesses.

Indian IT companies are creating skilled jobs in the United States; and, helping U.S. companies stay ahead. They have also helped U.S. military veterans rebuild their lives.

We have more than 100,000 Indian students in the United States and thousands of American students visiting India. They are sowing the partnerships of tomorrow. And, the success of 3.0 million Indian Americans points to our potential.

Our businesses work together in the familiar environment of democracy; and, in the comfort of our friendship and goodwill.

We are now forging ahead in new areas like civil nuclear energy, renewable energy and defence equipment.

Economic resurgence in both countries gives us greater optimism about the future of our ties.

As the two largest democracies, we have a fundamental stake in each other's success - for the sake of our values and our shared interests.

Working by ourselves, we can still advance our common interests.

But, if we work together, we can achieve greater success.

Our partnership will be vital for prosperity at home and our economic leadership abroad. It will help address global challenges of our times.

For too long, India and the United States have looked at each other across Europe and the Atlantic. When I look towards the East, I see the western shores of the United States.

That tells us that we belong to the same vast region. It is a region of great dynamism, but also many unsettled questions.

Its future will be vital for our two countries and the destiny of this world.

And, our relationship will be indispensable in shaping its course.

In the strength of our partnership, I see a greater chance for a world united in shared pursuits and common purpose.

Quite simply, the joined hands of India and the United States will make this world a better place for all.

This morning, America joined us in friendship to celebrate our shared values.

This evening, we have come together in a shared commitment to our future.

With your leadership, Mr. President, and with the support of our gifted people, we will turn our commitments into concrete action.

Thank you for being with us today, Mr. President; thank you to you all for coming from the United States and all over India.

Your participation has made this Summit more meaningful.

Thank you all.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Who said that Najam Sethi is an expert on anything?
JohneeG, was not commenting about you. Was commenting about Jihad sethi's new found expertise on India and that too one not involving advocating terrorism in India -- fellow seems to have just cut-and-pasted from a bunch of Indian media reports if you checkout what showed up in the Indian media in the last week. Re: Bhaarat -- always thought it was some sort of hindi marauding of the word, AFAIK it is pronounced bharatha varhsay which a short "bha" as opposed to "bhaa" as in bhaa bhaa black sheep. anyway OT.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Response to the Najam sethi post by JohneeG in the Pakistan thread since it is OT for the US thread.

JE Menon wrote:Modi cutting loose with a speech at the business summit... Damn, what a pleasure to hear our own prime minister speak and act like a human being!!! It's been a decade folks.
It is amazing how a man who faced most vitriolic form of character assassination attempts from almost everyone (locally and internationally and yes from US of A too as it usually behaves like a banana republic) is now pursuing the relationships with those very elements because they are in supreme national interest. He always said this is what he will do and we see this in his every action.

Watching the R Day parade looked like finally India is free.

prahaar, are you saying rashtrapati bhavan mutts don't have rfid collars? or is this stitched under the skins with a gps device and a mini SAR antena?

besides the joke, it looks well fed!
ramana wrote:Watching the R Day parade looked like finally India is free.
well ramana, we just opened the freedom doors onlee. we have got more distance to cover, but the boost phase has begun. with so many women in uniform and colors, there is no stopping now.

X Posted from the “India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011” thread.

NDTV interview of Danny Roderick, President and CEO of nuclear reactor manufacturer Westinghouse Electric Company on the operationalization of the Indo-US Civil Nuclear Agreement. Danny Roderick was part of US President Barack Obama’s entourage that visited India:
A day after India and the United States of America announced a breakthrough on the India-US civilian nuclear deal, saying the 'deal is done', all eyes are now on American companies that want to sell reactors to India. In an interview to NDTV, Danny Roderick, President and CEO of Westinghouse Electric Company, which hopes to grab a contract worth over $50 billion to make up 10 large reactors in India, said he was 'cautiously optimistic' about the nuclear deal. Here are some of the highlights of what he said:

Happy that the two governments have come to an agreement.
Still waiting to read fine print of India's nuclear liability assurance, to see if all is acceptable.
Eager to move forward to commercial contracts.
First US-made reactors can start generating electricity 8-10 years from now.
Westinghouse's reactors to be made at Mithi Vridi in Gujarat.
Westinghouse's reactors are competitive and hope to win the commercial bid.
It is too early to talk about costs.
Meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi to seek his mandate for moving forward to commercialization quickly.
The Westinghouse Advanced Passive 1000 reactors are among the safest in the world.
The Westinghouse reactors can withstand a Fukushima type of accident.
With my hand on my heart, I can say they are safe, and Indians need not fear they. They are a tested technology.
India can become a global hub to export nuclear reactors.
Westighouse has already inked a Rs. 100 crore pre-early works agreement with India, to share safety data.
Weblink:

'Cautiously Optimistic About India-US Nuclear Deal', Says Westinghouse CEO Danny Roderick

When I look towards the East, I see the western shores of the United States.
Without the obsolete eyesores of colonialism and pakism that clutter the view looking westward! :(( :(( :rotfl:

This seems to be the central message. Explains the significance of the BO, not Da Queen or The Frau or Le Clouseau, being Chief Guest. A loooong time coming. And California, not Noo Yoik or DupleeCity.

IOW, Chris Columbo was right. India is waaay west of The West Indies.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 26 Jan 2015 22:13, edited 3 times in total.

the world is flat now! :)

Shreeman wrote: 7. cultural misunderstandings. Eg. the swastika. Screw the germans, but it will show upi in random places like the dog.
Was there something specific to Swastika that happened before or during this visit?

Modi's speech at the Business summit Video

JEM, Chetak - Thanks for the post and the link. The speech (text) is impressive, but NaMo is simply outstanding in the earlier part where he is talking informally with the group.

-----
Last edited by krishnan on 27 Jan 2015 11:19, edited 1 time in total.

meanwhile, in another land time was well spent investigating -- http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/aba ... story.html

SwamyG wrote:
Shreeman wrote: 7. cultural misunderstandings. Eg. the swastika. Screw the germans, but it will show upi in random places like the dog.
Was there something specific to Swastika that happened before or during this visit?
If you missed it, then I am not bringing it up again. Let the usual suspects chime in first. I may be over sensitive.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Of all the things, Wapo found only the private life of the Indian PM to focus on, eh? Wapo maintaining the highest standards of US journalism like the National Enquirer and New York Times, clearly.

^^ Saar, wait for some more elucidating articles about what Shreeman sir has alluded to in his previous post. I am counting the number of days before someone writes about those swastikas.

Tuvaluan wrote:Of all the things, Wapo found only the private life of the Indian PM to focus on, eh? Wapo maintaining the highest standards of US journalism like the National Enquirer and New York Times, clearly.
Some other articles are not too different either.

Prime Minister Modi wore a suit that takes personalization to a ridiculous extreme

Don't read comments, but if you do, do not judge.

vishvak wrote:
Tuvaluan wrote:Of all the things, Wapo found only the private life of the Indian PM to focus on, eh? Wapo maintaining the highest standards of US journalism like the National Enquirer and New York Times, clearly.
Some other articles are not too different either.

Prime Minister Modi wore a suit that takes personalization to a ridiculous extreme

Don't read comments, but if you do, do not judge.
It is a blog. When they focus on cut, color, stripe it is a good thing. It means they are granting celebrity status. Western media hasnt had the chance to comment on Indian leaders like Mrs Eleven Ping. Now that they want to, there isnt a first lady. So the PM must also do cat walk parades like Mrs Obama. Look at fashion blogs on both sides re. her coverage. Commentators are not used to this treatment.

I am waiting for mani-pedi-hair treatment recommendations.

Main newspaper is different.