India-Canada, Mexico and South America: News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Canada, Mexico and South America: News and Discuss

Varoon Shekhar wrote:
Karan M wrote:These westerners need to be told off in no uncertain terms that India no longer needs their white man's burden and that they are better off sermonizing to their own countries and dealing with their own problems. Bunch of racist hypocrites pretending that the heathens need their civilizing sermons and can't deal with their own choices.
Definitely, but in this case, the "westerner" in question is of Indian background, from Hyderabad. Technically,he can be called a Westerner, but it's easy to see that he's writing about India from a Pan-Islamic perspective, with an underlying resentment that Moslems are a minority in a large Hindu majority country. He's been a supporter/defender of the Ayatollah in Iran, Morsi in Egypt and Zia-Ul-Haq in Pakistan. So secularism and pluralism can't be the issue with him.
Was ref to doug saunders

X-posted from "Indian health care sector"

Canada based forum readers would be familiar with the recent news of a few Indian made generic medicines being investigated, and the controversy around why Health Canada allowed certain drugs from India, that the US FDA banned. Question is, why is the US FDA, and the US FDA alone, spotting all these supposed anomalies and irregularities in pharmaceutical research and production in India? Why aren't the officials from France, Australia, Africa, Eastern Europe and Russia, South America as well as Canada, also not detecting these alleged defects and deficiencies? The drug agencies of all these countries can't all be corrupt or inept.

its called non-tariff barrier. FDA can and will find something they don't like and will point that out to help their own mfg.

NDTV ‏@ndtv 51m51 minutes ago

US could topple my government, kill me: Argentina President Cristina Kirchner http://www.ndtv.com/article/world/us-co ... ner-600430

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-o ... e21071391/

The twentieth century’s geopolitical turmoil sent wave after wave of Asian migrants across the ocean. Some fled Mao’s China. Taiwanese moved during cross-strait tension. Sikhs arrived after persecution in India. Many Persians have fled Iran. One of the biggest waves came in the late 1980s and 1990s, as wealthy Hong Kong residents – flush from a housing boom there – sought a more stable home ahead of the 1997 handover.

This is the quality of analysis in Canada's premier paper, India has a Sikh prime minister and army chief whilst Sikhs are treated like sh1t in Vancouver yet the persecution is reported in obverse.

sanjaykumar wrote:http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-o ... e21071391/

The twentieth century’s geopolitical turmoil sent wave after wave of Asian migrants across the ocean. Some fled Mao’s China. Taiwanese moved during cross-strait tension. Sikhs arrived after persecution in India. Many Persians have fled Iran. One of the biggest waves came in the late 1980s and 1990s, as wealthy Hong Kong residents – flush from a housing boom there – sought a more stable home ahead of the 1997 handover.

This is the quality of analysis in Canada's premier paper, India has a Sikh prime minister and army chief whilst Sikhs are treated like sh1t in Vancouver yet the persecution is reported in obverse.
Among the "west", government of Canada leads Australia in anti-inbdian sentiment. Australian population reverses the standings.

The Air India bombings didnt happen by accident. They are still piling cash donations to " good causes" as they always have. Even poodlistan is not so brazen.

Canadians pretend to be "nice" but alongside the legendary Quebec, you now have half of pakistan that went north after 9/11 from america and the cream of the khalistanis. It is a pot slowly boiling to overflow temperatures.

Evo Morales claims landslide victory in Bolivia vote
Bolivian President Evo Morales declared victory on Sunday and exit polls showed him romping to a third term with more than 60 percent of the vote, giving him a strong mandate to expand his leftist reforms.

Thousands of people poured onto the streets of La Paz in celebration, flocking to the presidential palace to get a glimpse of the man they affectionately call "El Evo," Bolivia's first indigenous president. Large crowds also flooded the streets of other major Bolivian cities.

"This is the triumph of the anti-colonialists and anti-imperialists," boomed Morales, 54, who has aligned himself with Cuba, Venezuela and Iran and has an antagonistic relationship with the United States. To roars of approval, he dedicated victory to Cuban leader Fidel Castro, late Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez and all "anti-imperialist and anti-capitalist" leaders.

Transcript of Media Briefing by Official Spokesperson (October 14, 2014)

October 15, 2014

Official Spokesperson (Shri Syed Akbaruddin): Good evening friends and thank you very much for being here for our usual interaction.

I have a couple of announcements to make which I will make at the beginning of our interaction, following which you are free to ask me questions on those announcements or on anything else that you would like to have but the sequence will be, first, questions on what I have to indicate, then on anything else. As you know, I can only respond to one question per person. So, please follow the norm. With those initial remarks, let me try and put out the announcements that I have to make. The first announcement is regarding the Strategic Dialogue that was held this morning between the External Affairs Minister Smt. Sushma Swaraj and the visiting Foreign Minister of Canada, Mr. John Baird.

The discussions covered the entire spectrum of our relations with Canada and I will quote to you a few excerpts of what each of them said so that you get a flavor of what the relationship is all about. The External Affairs Minister in her opening remarks said that we see natural synergy and tremendous potential for a deepening engagement in several critical areas of mutual interest including energy, education, skill development, trade and investment, nuclear cooperation to name a few. These aspects and many more were covered. She also said that it is our intention to accelerate the pace of our growing partnership and it is our manifest desire to deepen it further. I hope that encapsulates to you what the Indian approach to our relations with Canada is.

On the Canadian side, the Canadian Foreign Minister, Mr. Baird said that improved relations with India is a priority for Canada. He said these were exciting times for India and Canada is keen to engage and enhance its partnership with India and this is a partnership that really matters for Canada. He then went on to indicate that he was in New York at the time when Prime Minister was there. He said, in fact, he was amongst the people in Central Park and he could understand the enthusiasm that is there now for India in the US and in Canada. So, one of his initial suggestions was that the Prime Minister should visit Canada at an early date. This has been accepted in principle and Prime Minister’s Office and Ministry of External Affairs will work out a mutually convenient date in consultation with our Canadian interlocutors.

Now, I will try and take you through some of the issues that were discussed. I would not be able to capture all of them but I will try to highlight some of the main ones. One of the major areas of this discussion was energy and there was an agreement that there was a synergy in India’s needs to acquire as much energy from as many sources as possible and Canada’s desire to be a long term and reliable partner in India’s energy needs. So the Foreign Minister of Canada did lay out the plans that they have for rapidly expanding their hydrocarbon production and he indicated that by possibly 2020, they would be producing something like 7 million barrels per day of oil. He indicated that they are also working on outlets on the Eastern Coast of Canada and that would be easier for India to off-take once these come up. So both from our perspective that we need hydrocarbons and Canada is a growing supplier of these, there is a synergy and both felt that this would augur well for our bilateral relationship.

Any discussion of energy is not complete where we are concerned without discussion of nuclear energy. So there was a discussion about nuclear energy and it was explained that Canada’s Cameco and the Department of Atomic Energy are now in the process of working out commercial contracts for purchase of Canadian Uranium for our nuclear power plants and they were satisfied with the progress and we hope that these agreements, once commercial terms and legal matters are sorted out, will come into place in the not too distant future.

Also, there was discussion on three other aspects of nuclear and I will share those with you. Number one, there was a discussion on India and Canada jointly hosting a workshop on nuclear security. This workshop is going to be held later during the month. It is the first of its sort that India is cooperating with another country to host a workshop on nuclear security. Fifteen countries have been invited along with the International Atomic Energy Agency resource persons and this is a first of cooperation and collaboration between India and any country on nuclear security. There was also discussion relating to possibilities of research and development on nuclear power plants. You are aware that we are intending to scale up our indigenous production of nuclear power plants and the pressurized heavy water reactors that we are planning are for approximately 750 megawatts which is what the Canadians are also with similar technology working on.

So there is a synergy in both our approach to increase nuclear power and Canadian capabilities in this regard and it was felt that we should not only be seen as buyers and sellers, I mean Canada the seller and India the buyer of Uranium but also possibilities of working together in research activities for nuclear power plants or nuclear reactors.

Then there was a fairly long and detailed discussion relating to what Canada can work with India in terms of our economic development efforts and in these areas, the topics that we are focused on was a) skilling and there was a fairly detailed discussion on what would be the areas that Canada can specifically contribute in terms of specific projects on our skilling projects. The areas that were highlighted were; One was in the hydrocarbon sector. The second was related to hydrocarbons but can be used elsewhere i.e. welding processes and the third was on water-related activities which is clean water, cleaning of rivers etc. So these were the areas that there was a fairly detailed discussion and the technical ministries are now going to take this thing forward in terms of further cooperation on specific projects.

Both the Canadian Foreign Minister as well as the External Affairs Minister were quite excited about the possibilities and the range in which we can cooperate in these two specific areas. In addition, there were discussions on people-to-people cooperation. Perhaps you are aware there are approximately 1.2 million people of Indian origin in Canada. They are an extremely useful resource in bridging India and Canada. So there were discussion on that. There were discussions on trade and investment. Currently, our trade figures do not reflect the potential of India-Canada relations. It is approximately $5 billion plus. The target was $15 billion by 2015 and if we have to reach anywhere near that target, we need to exponentially increase our trade.

The other area was investment. While India is open for investment, we noticed that the Canadian investments into India are fairly limited. It is approximately $4 billion of investment of Canada into India. On the other hand, Indian investments into Canada are in the range of $15 billion. So there was an acknowledgement that investment opportunities from both countries need to be expanded especially in India because as India opens up its opportunities for manufacturing, investment etc., we hope that Canada can also be a useful partner in that.

If I have to sum up this discussion, it was one in which both of us felt that there is immense synergy, possibilities of cooperation across a vast spectrum of activities and hope that we can utilize the opportunities that are arising in India. It is expected that the Canadian Prime Minister will also be participating in the G20 Summit in Brisbane during which Prime Minister is also expected to participate and there are possibilities that if we can work out a sort of a short meeting, that would be their first meeting after Prime Minister’s election in India. That is about Canada.
Question: Akbar there is this question of a large number of Indian medical doctors ending up as taxi drivers in Vancouver and several places because Indian medical degrees are not recognized by the Canadian Medical Institute, Association or whatever, this has been a problem going on for several years. Did this by any chance figure in the talks today and is there any plan by the government to take it up, thanks?

Official Spokesperson: This issue did not figure in the talks but the issue that figured was in terms of ease of Indian professionals traveling to Canada and is related largely to IT professionals who go there on short term visas and who previously had a much easier ability to travel to Canada but there were some changes that were made in Canadian domestic legislation not for India but for across for all countries and that did figure but not the topic that you are mentioning.

Question: Sir we read that Sushma Swaraj, our Foreign Minister raised the issue of pro-Khalistan elements in Canada, did that issue figure in the talks and was there any kind of specific information shared or database is shared?

Official Spokesperson: Yes, this is an issue that figures in our bilateral discussions. We have a dedicated forum for this and that is discussions between our deputy national security advisors. So there is an annual meeting and they have met twice during which, they do share information in terms of activities that we consider detrimental to our interest and vice versa. Now the issue that you are referring to figured in some way and that is Foreign Minister Baird himself acknowledged that as a young person when he was growing up, he was deeply deeply affected by the Kanishka air crash because there was a student from his class or his neighborhood who was killed in that and he acknowledged that since then, Canada has come a long way in terms of acting against terrorists. Also, he acknowledged our concerns in terms of radical elements perhaps misusing opportunities available in Canada and we both agreed that counterterrorism is an important part of our cooperation between the two countries and in our case, it was radical groups who may tend to misuse Canadian soil to promote that. That is the extent to which we discussed this.

Question: Trade and investment, is there any particular sector the investment will come?

Official Spokesperson: No, at this stage, actually let me try and put, there are two issues in trade and investment and both are a work in progress. One issue is related to a) BIPA i.e. Bilateral Investment Promotion Agreement. This was touched upon. The issue is that you are aware that in India, we are undertaking a review of our BIPA arrangements in order to ensure that certain lacuna that we had experienced in the arrangements in a generic sense, not with Canada but in the generic sense need to be addressed, we are working on that and the new government hopes to be ready with a template. Canada on the other hand is extremely keen to have a BIPA with us. It is a matter of priority for them. So they will have to wait till we finish and this is a work in progress and we have updated them on where we have come and we expect as I said in the not too distant future this template is likely to be ready and available. That said, the other part is a free trade agreement with Canada. Now, Canada Foreign Minister John Baird mentioned that it was a priority which was mentioned in the manifesto of his party that a free trade agreement with India or a trade agreement with India should be agreed upon and this is therefore a very matter of high priority for them. I understand the Canadian Trade Minister is here, Mr. Ed Fast, tomorrow is meeting with our Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Mrs. Nirmala Sitharaman and they will address these issues and our respective approaches to that there.

Question: Sir ye ab London jaa rahi hain Pravasi Bharatiya ke liye, kya wahan par kuch ground level preparation is sandarbh mein bhi hoga jaisa ki jaankari aa rahi hai ki Prime Minister 30 January ke aas paas UK jayenge aur wahan Gandhi ji ke statue ko inaugurate karenge?

Official Spokesperson: Ye jaankari jisne likha hai aap unse poochhiye. Mujhe to aisi koi jaankari nahi hai. Ye bas aap koi kuch likh dete hain, koi kuch likh dete hain, aap inko serious mat lijiye. Ye to bas likhne ki aur hawa banana ki baat hai. Jab taiyar hoga next year ka program, hum apke saath share karenge. Is saal to abhi next year ki baat hi nahi hui. Abhi pradhan mantriji ke kai visits taiyar ho rahe hain. Aap unke baare mein sochiye. Ye to agle saal ki baat, ye to bas aise hi hai.

Question: Apne kaha unki kai visits taiyar ho rahi hain, uspe sochiye to sir kahan kahan ke liye soche, kahan kahan wo jaa rahe hain sir?

Official Spokesperson: Theek hai, apko bata dete hain. Maine pehle bhi bataya tha lekin dobara keh deta hoon. Agle mahine 3 summits hongi, ye hai Naypyidaw mein jo hai East Asia Summit. Iske baad ek hogi G20 Summit jaise maine abhi bataya tha ki shayad pradhan mantri ji Canada ke Prime Minister se wahan par milenge aur teesri hai SAARC Summit jiska apko pata hai humne kai din pehle keh chuke hain wo November mein hogi. To ye 3 bade bade summits hain November mein. Iske alawa aur bhi kai visits hongi jo incoming visits hain uske baare mein hum batayenge. Agar ek hi din mein main sab bata doon, to fir kal kaun aayega mere liye?

Question: Was this issue of food security cooperation discussed and if it was, what kind of cooperation India Canada want to have in this area?

Official Spokesperson: You see, Canada is an important agricultural producer. We import significant share of our lentils from Canada, also potash which is required in agriculture etc. However, these were not addressed at great length but we look to Canada in terms of cooperating in areas relating to agriculture and food security because Canada is a very important international player in this area.
Transcript of Media Briefing by Official Spokesperson (October 14, 2014)

NBC News ‏@NBCNews 24m24 minutes ago

Man who killed Canadian soldier with his car was radicalized Muslim, authorities say http://nbcnews.to/1vIg0am
he man who allegedly drove his car into two Canadian soldiers, killing one, was a radicalized Muslim who may have acted alone but had links to other suspected fundamentalists, according to authorities.

The possible terror attack on Canadian soil and the soldier’s death were the first since the country joined the international effort against ISIS.

Authorities said Rouleau had “tangential links” to other radicalized individuals known to officials. Radio-Canada reported that his Facebook page identified him, in French, as Ahmad the Converted.

Dilma Roussef wins poll in Brazil by 50.99 to 49.01% of votes.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/americas/ ... 79938.html

How much, if any, implication does this have for us?
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

</lurkmode>

Rakshaks,

This is my 500th post here at BRF. I had hoped to write about something else (something particular) for this post; but……………. that was some time ago.

A couple of days ago, I was watching a series of Youtube vids; and came across this one in particular that seemed share-worthy here and topical for right now (in the immediate aftermath of the Charlie Hebdo massacre, and what likely might have happened had not things gone up-in-flames off the coast of Porbandar).

IN BRIEF: One of my favourite Canadians Tarek Fatah was recently called before the ‘Senate Standing Committee on National Security and Defence’ here in Canada. His 46 minutes of testimony, which included much scathing criticism for the CT apparatus and approach in Canada, are going to cause much disquiet among any who watch. I wonder, how many of us in the West can see the same things happening in our various countries. I especially wonder how much Fatah’s lessons and observations apply to the situation in India. I am sure there are many differences, and I would be keen to have help clearly outlining them all. Comments specifically concerning how things are alike, and how they are different, in India especially but elsewhere as well, would be greatly appreciated.

I also came across a part of Tarek Fatah’s address to ‘IdeaCity’ which is an annual conference event put-on by a Toronto Media magnate. In this address, Tarek Fatah names three specific individuals in the Obama admin who are co-opted by the MB. He warns on a number of points pertinent to Political Islam and its conflict with Democracy. Again, I’d like to know how much this resonates with the country in which you live or have knowledge about; especially India.

Thanks in advance to all who offer constructive input,

Ravi Karumanchiri

PS: I’m back – lurkmode is off now.

https://www.thedollarbusiness.com/minis ... elegation/
The Canadian High Commissioner in India, Nadir Patel, on Monday, expressed the Government of Canada’s interest to work in collaboration with India in various areas of interest.

The Ambassador accompanied by two NRI Canadian entrepreneurs Mukund Purohit and Vikram Khurana, called on the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER) and discussed some possible joint ventures of mutual interest for both the economies.

Appreciating India’s rapid development in space technology, the Canadian official also referred to the country’s reported plans towards development of capability for heavy and high throughput satellites.

The Ambassador expressed the Canadian scientists’ eagerness to share technical know-how with the Indian counterparts, in this regard.

Responding to the Canadian official, the Indian Minister said, “Most of the recent Space Missions by Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) were more or less totally indigenous and lived up to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s concept of ‘Make in India’.

India launched 13 foreign satellites during the last three years from January 2012 to February 2015, Canada holds the major share by providing 4 satellites in total, out of 13 foreign satellites, followed by France (2), Austria (2), Japan, Canada, Austria, Denmark, Germany and Singapore, which hold a single digit share.

The Indian Minister also highlighted key issues pertaining to the development of the North-East region with the Canadian delegation.
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

Shankas

Post by Shankas »

Anyone know where to watch his Toronto speech live online?
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

Found a link for the speech.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PscB-wCT9gU

Jhujar posted in GDF:

http://www.ctvnews.ca/ctv-news-channel/ ... =1.2327369
Alive from stadium in YYZ/Toronto.
Modi about to arrive with his verbal Knife and Desi smile.

Visa on arrival for Indians.

m.timesofindia.com/india/Canada-announces-visa-on-arrival-for-Indians/articleshow/46939829.cms

Meeting with biz leaders cancelled. Modi is meeting with investors instead. Prolly will snag some huge investments. Hopefully

zeenews.india.com/news/india/pm-modis-meeting-with-canadian-business-leaders-cancelled_1579377.html

NaMo after this Canada trip can honestly say "Veni, Vidi, Vici!"

Gus wrote:Visa on arrival for Indians.

m.timesofindia.com/india/Canada-announces-visa-on-arrival-for-Indians/articleshow/46939829.cms
ToI is truly a ToIlet paper:
"We are here tonight to celebrate the special friendship that exists between India and Canada. It is a friendship we truly value. Our governments have set ambitious goals to renew and strengthen; we want to trade more with India, to invest more in India, to work more with India, to strengthen international security to make it easier for people to travel with India, and of course Prime Minister Modi, we are delighted that Canadians will now find it easier to visit India with your government's decision to issue visas on arrival," Prime Minister Harper said.
It's VoA (the pre-clearance thing) for Canadians visiting India without reciprocity. So no changes for Indians. Toilet got it wrong as usual.

Prime Minister Harper went with Modi on his Air India plane for the trip from Ottawa to Toronto!! Seen here departing Ottawa.

and was on the stage alongwith Modi and gave a short speech before Modi to the crowd at the Ricoh Colesium.

'Grateful' PM Modi Grants Visa Power to Canada
TORONTO: Addressing a large audience in Toronto on Wednesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that Canadians visiting India would get a 10-year visa.
"You probably face problems but won't speak about it. We have decided...you will now get Indian visas for 10 years," PM Modi said to a 10,000-strong gathering of the Indian diaspora at the Ricoh Coliseum.
In a one-hour speech punctuated with applause and chants of "Modi, Modi" from the audience, the prime minister also recalled that at a time he was denied a visa by the US and the UK - over the 2002 riots on his watch in Gujarat, the state he ruled for 14 years - it was Canada that granted him a visa in 2006.

"That is why I am very, very grateful to Canada," he said.

canadian PM's wife in sari :)

and bad ToI..Bad..serves me right for trusting ddm elm dumbos.

Canada will never grant VoA for Indians. Not in the near/mid future.

@narendramodi - "Saying goodbye to our friends while leaving for Vancouver".
The police motorbike riders who escorted Narendra Modi's motorcade in Toronto and their supervisors.

Narendra Modi's full speech to the Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto

LokeshC wrote:Canada will never grant VoA for Indians. Not in the near/mid future.
Their loss, for I wanted to go to Vancouver and see NaMo's speech.

They actually had a very friendly and nice system - folks in the US could just walk into the local consulate with the paperwork and get the stamped visa in a matter of hours. Then they went Paki and told us to mail passports to some remote office, without bothering with minor things like acknowledgements, status updates, etc. Also, the estimated time is 2-3 times it takes if applying from India :eek: . No way am I giving my passport to a black hole and wondering what happened to it, especially in a foreign land. To add insult to injury, navigating their damned 'new' system is such a pita, that the above nuggets of info were obtained after a good 3-4 hours of digging.

Sorry for the rant, but I really wanted to try to visit, and am just pissed with the process. And NaMo just goes around and grants these facilities without even a promise of future reciprocity, so we SDREs are condemned to put up with such bool sheet forever. (I understand why he is doing it, tourism, etc., but thoda tho neel passport walon ka bhi khayaal rakhna hai).

VoA, will happen when most Indians wont have any motivation to migrate. Bandit Gawarlal and clan made sure that it wont happen for another 100 years :(.

Any western country has severe fears of the "other" migrating and taking their lands. It is a deep rooted civilizational fear of things that they did to others being done unto them.

http://www.slguardian.org/?p=27873
May 7, 2015, Chennai, Sri Lanka Guardian) The Antar Rashtriya Sahayog Parishad (Indian Council for International Co-operation) in furtherance of its objective of promoting connectivity with the Indian Diaspora, organized a Baithak Gaana (musical evening) by artists from Suriname on April 27, 2015 in New Delhi. The function was organized in collaboration with the Embassy of the Republic of Suriname.

Four folk artists from Suriname, Drewindersingh, Manager of the Saranga Super Stars; Jagdiepkoemar Chedi; Taranpersad Panchoe and Jagpersad Andre Sital constituted the team of artists who enthralled the assembled audience with their rendering of folk songs. Andre Sital, the veteran artist of the dholak, played the instrument with gusto. The music was so captivating that the audience spontaneously joined the artists in the rendering of songs. They also danced with gay abandon.

The musical evening brought home to me how in far away Suriname the people of Indian origin are retaining Indian culture against difficult odds. Retention of Indian culture on the one hand while adapting to distant locales on the other are twin facets of people of Indian origin. They use musical instruments which are no longer used in India. The artists were referring to musical notes in a scribbling pad; I asked Her Excellency Aashna Kanhai, Ambassador of Suriname to India and Sri Lanka, whether the notes were written in Devanagari script. She replied: “No, they are written in Creole language”. Their names have undergone transformation, Kumar has become Koemar, Prasad has become Persad, but their hearts still remain Indian. Amb. Ashna, herself a consummate artist, rendered a melodious song and also joined the folk dance.

The function began with Saraswati Sumiran in Sarnami Dhrupad style. For me it was a happy experience because in Suriname also they start the function by paying homage to Saraswati, the Goddess of knowledge. The artists then rendered an immigration song in baaithak gaana style. The early migrants, hailing from Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, took sail from Kolkata. They were told by the contractors that they are going on a pilgrimage to a place called Sri Ram and after six weeks of trial and tribulations, reached a country which turned out to be Suriname. To commemorate the early migrants to Suriname twin statues are being installed in Kolkata named appropriately as Baba and Mai.

The next song was Mundan Song rendered in Sohar style. The Hindus in Suriname perform the mundansanskar either on the third or eleventh month. The song conveys the blessings to the child for a happy and prosperous life. The Bhatwaaan song, which followed, is sung before the marriage ceremony. It is sung by artists who assemble before the bridegroom. Portions of the song ridicule the parental aunts. The next was the Londwa song, where a boy dressed as a girl, sing and dance before the bridegroom. The sixth song was holi song, a group song, which is sung during the harvest season. It was followed by uma nanga mang (women and men), sung in a mixture of Creole and Sarnami, asking men and women to unite in times of adversity. In the final section the artists rendered popular Hindi film songs sung by Mohammad Rafi and Mukesh.

To those assembled the musical evening was an exhilarating experience. The songs gave glimpses into how the people of Indian origin retain Indian culture in faraway lands. It was a proof that wherever they go the Indians carried a little bit of India with them.

"Canada Puts A Ban On Corn Imports From India"
http://www.southasianobserver.com/topst ... p?cid=1785
Canada has put a ban on corn imports from India. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) announced that it has started to hold Indian imports of feed corn so that it can be tested for aflatoxins.

Let's not forget that the biggest mass murder in recent Canadian history was the Air India bombing, which took place on June 23rd, 1985, 30 years ago almost exactly. I personally never tire of pointing out, that of all the injustices and atrocities in Canadian history- most glaringly toward the aboriginal Indians and the Japanese Canadian internees in WW2, not one of them resulted in anything close to the horrific Air India terrorist attack.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/air-ind ... -1.3123882

June 23 never comes easily for the families. Thirty years on, they feel the same anguish they felt after Air India Flight 182 was blown apart. What remains, too, is the sense that they have been abandoned.

Yes, they eventually got a judicial inquiry — but its recommendations now gather dust.

And 30 years after t....
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

Thirty years ago, plus a few days, I met three relatives from India – my “first ever” relatives actually *from* India (as in, residing there). He was my Father’s second cousin, younger than I remember my Dad being. He came along with his lovely wife and beautiful daughter, aged only 3 years old.

Though I was only in their company for a precious handful of hours; they made an enormous impression on me.

Their trip was very brief; only meant to say hello and to see a bit of what Canada looked like. They intended to immigrate to Canada at a later date, and just wanted to see the place. When I said goodbye to them, just before my Dad saw-them-off at the airport; I thought I’d be seeing them again soon.

I never did.
None of us ever did.

This has been a splinter in my mind ever since. It is probably the reason why I have taken-up many of the interests, opinions and ideas that I have. Almost certainly, the Kanishka bombing was a big part of what first lead me to this website. I used to post here a lot, and though I have ‘dropped-off’ from that habit, I have been lurking not infrequently.

I knew I had to respond when I saw what Varoon Shekhar wrote (in part)…

“Thirty years on, they feel the same anguish they felt after Air India Flight 182 was blown apart. What remains, too, is the sense that they have been abandoned.”

TO WIT:
I remember very, very specifically, that a mere three days after the bombing, the story went entirely *unmentioned* in the CBC evening news. I KNEW they were still on the water, looking for bodies and debris; yet there was no mention or update of any kind. It was with recognition of that, and what it signified (i.e. a government-directed cover-up), that I understood immediately that the Canadian Government or more likely the USA had a significant role in the bombing. Everything that I’ve learned since has only reinforced this notion in my mind.

For this reason, I would not like to see the word “abandoned” in the above sentence (not that I’m complaining – Varoon can write what he pleases). The word “abandoned” implies that those abandoned were once held closely. This does not apply. Furthermore, the word “abandoned” implies that an ‘in-action’ occurred, not an overt act – and there was definitely an overt act. (There was training, specifically the use of barometric pressure switches to arm the device; and facilitating the bombing by doing such things as diverting the bomb sniffing dogs away from their duty stations that day; which meant that the plane left without dogs sniffing a thing, even though Kanishka waited for HOURS on the tarmac, for dogs to arrive, which they never did.)

To describe any of those events or the aftermath as ‘abandonment’ is – forgive me Varoon – the thought of it is simply naïve.

It is an ugly thought, I know. But it’s the only one that stands-up to logic. (Recognizing that Canada hasn’t had a sovereign foreign policy since Pierre Trudeau was PM, and he had left office before the Kanishka’s bombing.)

It is a very peculiar thing, to consider that ones’ own government could play any role in the death of one’s kin. In a rather odd and admittedly conflicted way; I do also recognize the absurd fact that I probably share this palpably distasteful notion with many people ‘on the other side’ of this bombing. I transcend this pain, only partially, by recognizing this was the very intent of those who stood behind the bombers.

This was a classic ‘divide and rule’ tactic. For this reason, the biggest fingerprints on it look rather British to me; although I do have a vague recollection of reading that Turban-wearing Sikhs were seen training at the US “School of the Americas” prior to the attack. NB: The SoA was a notorious facility, specializing in graduating fighters into Latin and South American ‘zones of interest’. In some classes, they graduated the ‘Special Forces’ of dictatorial regimes. In other classes, they gave basically the same training to ‘Counter-Revolutionaries’ of various descriptions, like the “Contras” of Nicaragua.

PREAMBLE: Turbaned Sikhs at the School of the Americas?
PROLOGUE: Cover-up, erased surveillance tapes and whitewash?

Many, many questions remain, still to this day; but please don’t anyone let “abandonment” rank among your answers. That would be a plain falsehood, and a disservice to all those who were killed, and all those who have remained.

Hi Ravi, That word "abandonment" comes from the CBC article on their website. That site now also has a lively discussion going on about the whole issue, including the glorification of Talwinder Parmar at one of the gurudwaras. There is at least one obvious Sikh separatist, advocating a homeland for the Sikhs in India.

Incidentally, the Toronto Star has not carried a single article about the 30th anniversary of the Air India bombing. They are either deliberately teasing the ethnic Indian community, or cravenly catering to the Sikh lobby, or to some other lobby or both. It's really disgusting.

http://www.ctvnews.ca/canada/air-india- ... -1.2435596

The Mounties always get their man, especially if he can't move due to rigor mortis.
Multatuli

Post by Multatuli »

Mexico drug lord escape tunnel was too elaborate to miss

The digging would have caused noise. The planners would have needed blueprints and maps. The entrance would have to be in a place beyond the view of security cameras at Mexico's toughest prison.

As authorities hunted Monday for any sign of Mexico's most powerful drug lord, security experts said it's clear that Joaquin "El Chapo" Guzman's escape through an elaborately designed tunnel must have involved help on a grand scale.

"How did Chapo escape? In one word: corruption," wrote Alejandro Hope, a former member of Mexico's domestic intelligence service, in his blog El Daily Post.

"He escaped through a mile-long tunnel, wide enough to hold a motorcycle, and ending in one of the few blind spots in Mexico's most-secure prison. How do you do that without some high-level corruption?"

Interior Secretary Miguel Angel Osorio Chong agreed Monday night that the escape from a maximum security facility had to have been accomplished with the help of someone inside.

"It must have involved the complicity of personal and or officials" inside the prison, he said, adding that the prison has the same standards as those in the U.S. and Canada.

Earlier the government announced it was questioning 49 people, including 32 prison employees, among them prison director Valentin Cardenas.

U.S. authorities believe the tunnel through which Guzman made his audacious exit Saturday evening must have been in the works for at least a year, nearly as long as the head of the notorious Sinaloa Cartel had been at the Altiplano prison 55 miles (90 kilometers) west of Mexico City.

A tunnel of such sophistication — with lights, air venting, and a customized motorcycle rigged up on a rail line — would have taken 18 months to two years to complete, said Jim Dinkins, former head of Immigration and Customs Enforcement's Homeland Security Investigations.

"When it's for the boss, you probably put that on high speed," he said.

Read more: http://news.yahoo.com/mexico-drug-lord- ... 15925.html
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Blow to Modi..might be bad really:

Justin Trudeau, Liberals win clear majority in Canada elections

A dienasty person, libtard, what are the implications for any NSG type of deal with India? Will probably give succor to anti-India leftists and khalistani types, and develop anti-Modi foreign policy

Also

Justin Trudeau victory in Canada is bad news for U.S. conservatives

Canada is institutionally one of the most anti-India, or India-averse, countries on earth. Without being aggressively anti-India. The problem starts with education, of course. India as a distinct culture is not taught, nor is the vital anti-colonialism. The latter would definitely make Canada hugely uncomfortable, because it lacks the historical depth and maturity to deal with it. From that essentially flows the uneasiness and opposition to India as a nuclear and missile power. India as an economic force is more readily conceded, but not by everyone. Here too, there is a feeling of inferiority because of India's sheer size and dynamism, and its relative independence and self reliance. India is a competitor in some sectors, which doesn't always sit well.

The inability to relate to Indians/ethnic Indians, in that down-to-earth, familiar, easy way, is the ultimate result. India and Indians are still largely strangers to the masses.
member_29172

Post by member_29172 »

Varoon Shekhar wrote:Canada is institutionally one of the most anti-India, or India-averse, countries on earth. Without being aggressively anti-India. The problem starts with education, of course. India as a distinct culture is not taught, nor is the vital anti-colonialism. The latter would definitely make Canada hugely uncomfortable, because it lacks the historical depth and maturity to deal with it. From that essentially flows the uneasiness and opposition to India as a nuclear and missile power. India as an economic force is more readily conceded, but not by everyone. Here too, there is a feeling of inferiority because of India's sheer size and dynamism, and its relative independence and self reliance. India is a competitor in some sectors, which doesn't always sit well.

The inability to relate to Indians/ethnic Indians, in that down-to-earth, familiar, easy way, is the ultimate result. India and Indians are still largely strangers to the masses.
canada is an extension of briturdland, a vacation spot for the elizabeth & co. crowd. Having lived in Canada for a while now, I can say that canadians are quite fond of the elizabeth and everything she represents. The monarchy is well liked here, especially by the conservative crowd, and equally so by liberals I believe. Recently there was a drive by the harper (conservative) govt. that was voted out 2 days ago, to restore "her majesty (HM)" in all govt. institutions. As an extension of briturdland, it's only natural that the extended subjects will think like the subjects living across the ocean. It's a common trend in most anglo wasp countries. Despite all the boot licking the "intellectuals" in our media might do, no amount of yinglish espeaking is gonna bring us togeher, because we are fundamentally different people. Race and culture matters, especially to these wasps, that's why most of them see other cultures with a very narrow lens (east asians = rice fields and rice hats, herro, sucky sucky 5 dolla etc.), Indians (accents, curry), middle easterners (terrorists, homosexuals, "oppressive"), russians and east euros (communists and traitors), germans (nazis, beer chugging techno geeks etc). But ask them about themselves and they'll happily call themselves the most moral, "free" and logical people to ever walk the face of this earth.

Basically they have a massive superiority complex, most wasps do and cultural understanding and exchanges will only take you so far. They understand the language of force (not necessarily just military) - taking over their companies causes panic, taking over their businesses causes panic, opening shops in their lands causes panic, challanging them on their bs tirade causes panic.

You should've seen how many canadian media houses were upset and :(( when that chinese state run oil corp bought a few stakes in Alberta's oil fields (Alberta is northern canada, rich in oil and exports most of raw/unrefined oil to US for real cheap, then buys the refined oil from US, which ofcourse costs more). It caused some massive panic here, even when the chinese companies paid better prices for the oil than their american counterparts. Some of the panic and heartburn might have been because the chinese companies were planning to hire chinese workers, but read those articles and you'd realize there's more to it than that.

Being in Canada, it's a mix bag really, an entire economic section is based on immigration and so some of them are sympathetic to the immigration cause, others think that canada rolls out a golden carpet for immigrants and gives them everything for free, yet other group doesn't openly declare their hate but you can sense they aren't very fond of you, they keep to themselves. Not that it mattered to me, Toronto is practically full of Indians and Chinese, so making friends and getting along with life wasn't a big deal. And then these same white people here cry about immigrants not "integrating" with the local population.

Good message! Very true, Canada is more peaceful than the US, and possesses more empathy for the poor, downtrodden and marginalised, with its strong social programmes. But historically, Canada has been racist toward new immigrants, particularly non-white ones. And Canada historically did, and said, absolutely nothing about European colonialism, whether British, French, Dutch, Belgian, Portuguese or Spanish. When those countries were indulging in horrible atrocities and human rights violations, not a word was uttered from Canada. It's only after their respective colonies, including India, became independent, that Canada all of a sudden started making pronouncements of one sort or another. Poverty/starvation, women's rights, Kashmir, Punjab, caste, child labour et al, now become the buzzwords for India, and are promulgated institutionally, from the government and media.

Canada needs to be reminded of its historic support, and absolute categorical silence, about European colonialism both as an ideology of ethno-supremacy, and economic exploitation. Anytime it puts on these airs of historical enlightenment and moral superiority.

Event by Indo Canadian Association