Armoured Vehicles: News & Discussion

Re: Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread - August 9 , 2014

folks please write to your PM from his website there is tab "interact with PM" go from there, did the some rona dhona about Arjun versis T90 and got a reply for more details (spooky ain't it) so typed in a mail of around 280 words and for good measure linked this thread saying that mucho wiser folks are angry here. do your bits gents Mahadev willing this brochuritis will be cured once and for all.

General SR Chowdhury has a track record of supporting the Arjun program.

In his autobiography, he clearly states that there was opposition to Arjun tank design in Armored Corps as most of armored corp generation had by then already served considerable time on T-72. But he brushed all that aside.

It was during his tenure that first lot of 15 Arjun tanks were inducted in 43rd Armored Regiment. It was his idea that this should serve as a mechanism for user feedback to R&D establishment.

amit wrote:
srai wrote:^^^

The good generals still haven't gotten over the British Raj mentality.
I wish it were that simple. But if that's the case how can one explain the sane words of wisdom from someone like General Sankar Roy Choudhury? He joined the Army when it was even more British than today.

I would attribute this to intellectual laziness among the current decision makers. IMO there is no long term strategic vision. Weird as it may seem I feel the Army decision makers don't realise that you can't run one of the worlds most powerful Army defending one the world's largest economies while importing some thing as basic as the may battle tank. You have to develop local expertise, however long or arduous is.

The really sad part is that most of the hard work has been done with the Arjun finally emerging as a world class product.

Instead of building on the knowledge that has been acquired so painstakingly the Army want to destroy all the knowledge and keep on importing.
He is one of those "diamonds in the rough" ;)

Once again i repeat my humble request. Can we please have a separate thread for Arjun.

We do have one for the LCA, Arihant, LCH, ...

Why this step-motherly treatment, on BRF itself, for poor Arjun :cry:

start it brother...none are stopping you.

Surya wrote:over the weekend I plan to send this nonsense to the PMOs attention

If nothing is done - going to scoff at their Make in India program
niran wrote:folks please write to your PM from his website there is tab "interact with PM" go from there, did the some rona dhona about Arjun versis T90 and got a reply for more details (spooky ain't it) so typed in a mail of around 280 words and for good measure linked this thread saying that mucho wiser folks are angry here. do your bits gents Mahadev willing this brochuritis will be cured once and for all.
Manish_P wrote:Once again i repeat my humble request. Can we please have a separate thread for Arjun.

We do have one for the LCA, Arihant, LCH, ...

Why this step-motherly treatment, on BRF itself, for poor Arjun :cry:
BRF, as a collective effort, could do the following:
  • Counter DDM using comments -> in the appropriate thread (i.e. LCA, Arjun, etc), post the DDM articles (both local and foreign) and let members counter it with correct info with reliable references. These responses can then be posted as comments on those farcicles and other forums.
  • Name and Shame -> compile a list of DDM journalists and their habitual patterns and their farcicles and call them out in various forums, media (both local and foreign) and other official government outlets. Put these DDMs out of jobs.
  • Bring it to Media outlet's Editorial Board Notice -> send the above responses (and to the journos themselves) to the publishing newspaper's editorial board through emails, comments and letters. Bring it to the notice to other media outlets too.
  • BR Site/Blog - Become Trusted Data Source -> up to date correct information on indigenous products; become the trusted source for these kinds of data; also keep sites like Wikipedia up to date with correct info
  • "Unofficial" Outlet for Govt Labs / Battle of Perception -> since the gov labs are atrocious when it comes to marketing of their products, BR could do that at an unofficial capacity through its website, trade events, media like TV panel discussions and various member blogs and promote those out to news outlets and other forums where "young" jawans frequent; This is a battle of perception--indigenous products are world class comparable to what "first-world" is building.

India's Arjun tank ‘very good’: Chinese military
India's indigenous main battle tank Arjun was on Monday praised by a top Chinese military official who said it is "very good" for Indian conditions as the PLA for the first time opened its facilities for Indian media to provide an insight into its massive modernisation.

In a sign of improved military relations, the People's Liberation Army (PLA) opened the doors of the key military institute -- Academy of Armoured Forces Engineering -- which trains over 6,000 cadets per year to the a team of visiting Indian journalists.

Asked for his impressions of the Arjun battle tank developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation, Senior Colonel Liu Degang, deputy commander of the Academy which keeps a close watch on the military hardware of India, said it is "very good" and suits Indian conditions.

The Arjun is a third generation main battle tank developed by DRDO for the Indian Army. It is powered by a single MTU multi-fuel diesel engine and can achieve a maximum speed of 67 km/h and a cross-country speed of 40 km/h.

Liu attributed the rare interaction with the Indian media to a new found confidence in line with China's opening politically and militarily to the outside world.

The academy specialises in training at various levels of caders from diploma to masters and even doctorate studies in tanks and armoured vehicles.

Liu said his academy has hosted 300 delegations from about 70 countries and trained 2,700 army personnel from 40 countries and sent more than 500 personnel to conduct international academic exchanges or as UN military observers. Housed in 453 hectares, the sprawling academy, was built in 1.20 lakh metres of built up area.

It is one of PLA's 16 diploma granting institutions fostering officers for its armoured mechanised forces. Besides training cadets for PLA, it also provides training for overseas cadets specially for various South Asian countries, including Pakistan.

Besides briefing on the Academy's academic activities, the team of Indian media flown in from New Delhi at the invitation of the state-run All China Journalists Association (ACJA), were shown China's Main battle tank 96A, infantry fighting vehicles, armoured personnel carriers, anti-tank missiles launcher T-89, which has 12 missiles on board. Most of the China's land-based military hardware goes through mandatory trials and exercises in the extreme conditions of Tibet on the India-China border.

The 2.3 million-strong world's largest standing military, the PLA, has launched a massive military modernisation of drive in the past few years.

A friend sent me this link today. Said he read my tweet to DM Manohar Parrikar, where in I requested the DM to make a negative list for arms imports and put armored vehicles in that list.

Best option for India is to buy 500 Armatas .... And gift them to Pakistan. Arjun will get acquired in numbers double quick.

Let the pakis deal with air conditioning, thermal sights, non TOT for armor and issues with FCS for locally produced ammo.

@amit ^^^ "ou can't run one of the worlds most powerful Army defending one the world's largest economies while importing some thing as basic as the may battle tank."

We are importing assault rifles.

as I have mentioned umpteen times, the IA should stop behaving like the army of burundi/rwanda and start acting as befits the army of a major power.

Anujan wrote:Best option for India is to buy 500 Armatas .... And gift them to Pakistan.

agree but with a rider. gift 'must' be in exchange for pak's 'chindigenously' made Al-khalids or whichever the latest.
Arjun will get acquired in numbers double quick.
how come sir? we will get the uber Al-Khalids!!! where is the space for Arjun which in any case is rejected!!!
Let the pakis deal with air conditioning, thermal sights, non TOT for armor and issues with FCS for locally produced ammo.
this i agree totally!!! :mrgreen: while we operate trouble free/carefree Al-Khalids, they ..... :wink:

a masterstroke idea this is.
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

niran wrote:folks please write to your PM from his website there is tab "interact with PM" go from there, did the some rona dhona about Arjun versis T90 and got a reply for more details (spooky ain't it) so typed in a mail of around 280 words and for good measure linked this thread saying that mucho wiser folks are angry here. do your bits gents Mahadev willing this brochuritis will be cured once and for all.
+108. I also wrote to Pradhan Mantri. Let's bombard his mailbox so that he gets the message. Took me <2 mins. http://pgportal.gov.in/pmocitizen/Grievancepmo.aspx
member_23891

Post by member_23891 »

Santosh wrote:
+108. I also wrote to Pradhan Mantri. Let's bombard his mailbox so that he gets the message. Took me <2 mins. http://pgportal.gov.in/pmocitizen/Grievancepmo.aspx
Thank You Niran Ji & Santosh Ji with your inspiration I have also written to PM in detail cut to cut with all my 5 years reading experience of Gurus opinions , analysis.
Hobbes

Post by Hobbes »

Folks,

The Arjun saga has now transcended the ridiculous. This repeated rejection of a far superior domestic product over a failed import that did not even get traction in its country of origin, tells a story of stupidity, incompetence and venality that is unrivalled globally. While I appreciate the effots of niran, Santosh, Praval et al, I am looking to do more, and take the fight to the Internet, hitting the tin can supporters and DDM as hard as possible. I am ready to purchase a domain, and spend as much of my time as possible adding content and pushing it on Google to rank as high as possible in search results so as to get the word out.

I cannot do this alone, since my knowledge is fairly shallow. I am looking for people, especially gurus, to work with me to generate content (the Arjun MBT thread will be my first source, but more info will be appreciated), and also help with postings to other forums such as DFI, Keypubs etc. Let's do our bit to help the Arjun. If you are interested, please drop me an email at t h e a r j u n s a g a (at) g m a i l dawt c o m.

Thank you.

I think there are only two possible choices:
a) IA goes back to working with DRDO on FMBT: withdraw the RFI, do chai-biskoot with CVRDE, order 500 Arjuns. All is well
b) IA wants it own thing: Perfectly fine. Let the Defence Minister tell CVRDE you are not needed, golden handshake the employees and close it. And shut doors on any capability for next 50 years.

It is the defence minister's call - both are organizations under him. The choice is stark
dipak

Post by dipak »

Folks,

I too have written to the PM at the portal address as given above.

Request other friends also to chip in and do their bit.

^^^ Wrote to the PM on the Arjun yesterday. Surely, they are watching. More needs to be done though.
narmad

Post by narmad »

narmad wrote:How about a twitter campaign ?
We can have an hashtag #savetheArjun and make it trending .

Thing is, we have to agree on one hashtag and include it in all our tweets, along with
.> @manoharparrikar
.> #MakeinIndia
.> @PMOIndia
.> @narendramodi

Ask friends and family to use these hashtags and take it into top 10 trending.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Unfortunately, I didnt get the info I wanted when i asked IA chief about arjun. :(
aditp

Post by aditp »

Nick_S, what did you ask and at which event?
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Personal event... response was not negative but i just didnt the info i wanted.

ps: sorry admin, didnt notice that there is now a separate thread for arjun while this is a thread for tin cans.

Nick_S wrote:Unfortunately, I didnt get the info I wanted when i asked IA chief about arjun. :(

What were your questions? Maybe answers are already there.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Response was basically medium MBT being more suitable in certain locations.

I didnt get much time to get further info from him given the circumstances.

I think we all want to know why arjun is not being ordered in large quantities but there is no clear cut answer for that. We just have to wait for the current tin cans to expire and see what IA replaces them with.... hopefully not more tin cans.
vonkabra

Post by vonkabra »

deejay wrote:^^^ Wrote to the PM on the Arjun yesterday. Surely, they are watching. More needs to be done though.
Done. Tried to upload the BRF discussion on the Arjun as well, but couldn't do that due to proxy restrictions. Maybe someone else can try that as well.

Nick_S wrote:Response was basically medium MBT being more suitable in certain locations.

I didnt get much time to get further info from him given the circumstances.

I think we all want to know why arjun is not being ordered in large quantities but there is no clear cut answer for that. We just have to wait for the current tin cans to expire and see what IA replaces them with.... hopefully not more tin cans.
What ... wait for 20+ years! All the indigenous gains will be lost by then.

Is there any open source info,from mags like the IDR,etc.,with articles on the same issue? There surely must be some debate,pros and cons of the Arjun apart from CAG reports,by retd. army officers who were from the armoured corps,etc. If there aren't it would be a great service to the public if someone in the know of things wrote on the issue. In the past one found more in the firang media than in our own on the subject. I am sure that some of our mags/journos could interview former chiefs,generals,boffins,etc., and give us a clearer picture of our decision-making on the MBTs.

Philip wrote:Is there any open source info,from mags like the IDR,etc.,with articles on the same issue? There surely must be some debate,pros and cons of the Arjun apart from CAG reports,by retd. army officers who were from the armoured corps,etc. If there aren't it would be a great service to the public if someone in the know of things wrote on the issue. In the past one found more in the firang media than in our own on the subject. I am sure that some of our mags/journos could interview former chiefs,generals,boffins,etc., and give us a clearer picture of our decision-making on the MBTs.
Here you go: Three former Brigadiers from armored corps discussing Arjun and FMBT. They all agree that Arjun is a good tank but they can't agree on what FMBT should be.

Defence Line Army's Battle With Arjun 23 June 2012
Part 1

Part 2
member_26622

Post by member_26622 »

My humble suggestion - Just plaster big Russian flags on to every wall, desk and corridor from where this RFP for imported FMBT decisions came from.

They need to stare at reality every time they walk, sit and smoke whatever they are smoking and chanting Armata Armata Armata !. We can even send a cheerleader from our forum - no points for guessing who it is!

It's time to gut the organization of these individuals by mocking them in front of the rest of India - since we follow Ahimsa.

Some folks found it difficult to digest when I suggested that some of our "eminent" posters were anti national. That was labelled as "stupid". Let me explain my rationale. I still hold it as anti-national both on the national security and the economic security fronts.

First look at the US - the GOTUS comes to the rescue of even small firms like McDonald's/KFC/.... when their commercial interests are threatened and the second export after these is evangelicals to spread their religion. Next look at the GOTUS's actions on the military front - some years ago USAF ad rejected Boeings tanker and selected a European offering - GOTUS cancelled the contract.

What does military purchase from Russia or others do for India - Flight of large sums of capital without any returns and large sums committed for the life of the system including MLUs. Implying therefore a huge loss in monetary terms without any job creation or technological knowledge base expansion - take the case of deep TOT for the SU-30s or the T-90s. Fancy new screwdrivers that OFB/IAF learn to turn delicately.

Impact of this foreign purchase in times of war -
Somehow or the other, we never have more than 15-45 days of war fighting capability. Even the length is estimated using perhaps an adversary like Pukistan. Rate of stores depletion against a tougher opponent or wars on several fronts may mean that there may be not more than a week's supply of reserve stores. In addition, wars cannot be fought without sanction from foreign suppliers as they can block spares and stores. As such dependence on foreign suppliers enslaves India's foreign policy that is now subject to the whims of foreign governments - case in point: Navy's Seakings, LCA flight computers etc.

Impact on the economy:
The outflow of this large sum of money leads to an ill developed to domestic Military Industrial Complex and strangles domestic research and starves local projects. Lack of developed research centers affects innovation and growth of domestic economy. There is no expansion of local knowledge base or growth in local jobs. The purchases of such weapons without an adequate MIC to back it up implies a large requirement of funds to be invested in spares to keep these purchases operational. Without these investments the availability of these toys is limited (SU-30 availability not greater than 50%). In other words, such purchases have the effect of making sure that India remains a backward, tech-poor nation dependent on foreign suppliers.

To sum it up, purchases from foreign suppliers results in:
a. Under-developed MIC
b. Negative effect on economy as such a large outflow of funds has no affect on increasing jobs or tech knowledge base.
c. Shackles foreign policy to whims of supplier nations
d. No research centers leading to a tech-poor country and flight of talent to foreign lands
e. Degraded war-fighting capability due to a perennia lack of spares and stores and limited availability of inventory.

It is because of the above shackles that corrupt, anti-national individuals have bound India in that we have never been able to tackle Pukistan effectively. I include the lifafa journos, eminent/untouchable BRF Russian fanboys, armed forces decision makers, and politicos from each political party.

Truth be told - what would the IAF look like with 500 LCAs (Mk1 + 2) and IA with 2,000 Arjuns? Invincible. Because Russian fanboys/lifafa journos oppose this, they must be considered anti-national - that is if India ever wants to be considered a serious power capable of projecting power beyond its shores.

culling cost effective domestic projects and forcing import of limited nos of high priced imports is the game plan....imports never scale and are a drain on funds better diverted to more domestic projects.

bhagwan IA aur IAF ko buddhi de. their behaviour is akin to teenagers who want a new iphone and gaming rig every year.

quite right GD! If India was producing her own weapons, Pukistan and Chicom would not dare look over their borders. Every war would not need to be decided in Washington or Tashkent.

Also people need to think long term.

In the next 10-15 years, expect massive quantities of Chinese armor + Artillery + Planes stationed in Pakistan. It is not as far fetched as you think, it is already happening. Paki weaponized drones are chinese. Paki bum is chinese. Their missiles are Chinese. Bandaar is Chinese. Ships are Chinese. Subs are likely to be Chinese.

China will argue they are "stabilizing" a nuke armed country from being destabilized, west will nod and give pappi jhappi. Pakis will gladly take whatever is given to them for free.

We are not just fighting the Pakis, we are fighting Pakis + Chinese. And Chinese Mil-Industrial complex is growth is impressive. Tin cans or not, they are making their own planes of different generations, subs, tanks and artillery.

To fight against such a stockpile, we need our own military industrial base and we cannot rely on imports alone to do the job. If we dont have a mil-industrial complex of our own, we risk falling behind even Pakistan (with their infused and gifted Chinese tech). In any dustup with Pakistan, expect Chinese to exert pressure on foreign suppliers to go low and impose sanctions which is a cheap way for them to raise the cost on us.

Quite right. A locally produced weapon that we can integrate different missiles and munitions fabricated locally is a tactical advantage. Instead of investing mind boggling sums in inventory of spares and in munitions, we need to invest in a local MIC that will generate employment and stockpiles that can be cheaply replenished in war time or otherwise.

Buying imported weapons can at best be a deterrent. In an actual multi-front war these will become liabilities. Due to shortage of spares, large numbers would be cannibalized or else a king's ransom would be paid to get them back in the battle.

This is not hidden from IA and IAF yet they continue their madness!! I hope that a time comes soon when all IA&IAF top brass and their political comrades are held accountable for burdening the nation's economy with unnecessary purchases (T-90, Rafale, etc.)
Last edited by Vivek K on 03 Jul 2015 19:05, edited 1 time in total.

^We need court-martials for current and retired officers of the DGMF. There MUST be an investigation. This time it is too much.

Is this a delayed-action report to one earlier or a new one? Don't shoot the postman! :rotfl:
India to Develop New Tank, Use Russian Armata as Prototype
Military & Intelligence
21:59 30.06.2015

India confirmed its plans to design and build a new main battle tank (MBT) that is slated to replace tits Soviet-made T-72 tanks, which are used by the Indian Army, Gazeta.ru reported.

Soviet and Russian military hardware makes up around 40 percent of all hardware in the Indian ground forces. The proportion is even higher in India's Air Force (80 percent), and Navy (75 percent). In total, there are around 600 T-55 tanks, almost 2,000 T-72M1 and 640 T-90C tanks.

Back on the Scene: Russia Brings Tanks Back in Fashion
The new tank the Indian Army plans to design and manufacture is known as the Future Ready Combat Vehicle (FRCV).

The new generation MBT will form a base platform for other armored vehicles, similar to the Russian-made Armata platform. The Indian army wants to use the platform for as many as 11 different tracked vehicles, including light tracked, wheeled, bridge layer and trawl tanks, self-propelled howitzers, air defense guns, artillery observation posts and engineering reconnaissance vehicles, and armored ambulances, the Diplomat said.

India might likely use Russia's new Armata tank as a prototype for its own armored vehicle, Gazeta.ru reported. Earlier this month, defense expert Samir Patil from India's Gateway House analytical center said his country was willing to buy the Armata platform or some of its elements for future development of their own tank.

India Mulls Buying Russia’s Armata to Develop Its Own Future Infantry Tank
"I think India would like to purchase such a combat platform for its armed forces," Samir Patil said.

What makes the Armata tank stand out from its domestic and foreign counterparts is that the crew is securely enclosed in a multi-layer armored capsule separated from the ammunition container. The vehicle is fully computerized and only needs three servicemen to operate it.

The tank has an unmanned, remotely controlled turret, digitally controlled by a crew-member located in a separate compartment. It is believed that this would eventually lead to the development of a fully robotic tank.

Read more: http://sputniknews.com/military/2015063 ... z3f5GGTTRF
PS:Are these tank inventory figs. accurate? 600+ T-55s still in service? No mention of the 120+ A MK-1s either. Is there an IA inventory/proposed force plan available?

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 17h17 hours ago New Delhi, Delhi
Orders for the WHAAP developed by @DRDO_India 's VRDE lab and Tata Motors may be placed soon.
I read somewhere that IA has a requirement of about 300 of these, any truth to it? What must be their thought process?
nash

Post by nash »

Army Revives FICV 'Make In India' Program, 10 Indian Firms In The Fray

http://armingindia.com/Army-Revives-FIC ... -07-15.htm
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

Arun Menon wrote:
Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 17h17 hours ago New Delhi, Delhi
Orders for the WHAAP developed by @DRDO_India 's VRDE lab and Tata Motors may be placed soon.
I read somewhere that IA has a requirement of about 300 of these, any truth to it? What must be their thought process?
100 for UN ops.. as BRDM's are end of life now... this has been discussed before where do the new numbers and speculations come is a mystery.

Philip wrote:Is this a delayed-action report to one earlier or a new one? Don't shoot the postman! :rotfl:
India to Develop New Tank, Use Russian Armata as Prototype
Military & Intelligence
21:59 30.06.2015

India confirmed its plans to design and build a new main battle tank (MBT) that is slated to replace tits Soviet-made T-72 tanks, which are used by the Indian Army, Gazeta.ru reported.

Soviet and Russian military hardware makes up around 40 percent of all hardware in the Indian ground forces. The proportion is even higher in India's Air Force (80 percent), and Navy (75 percent). In total, there are around 600 T-55 tanks, almost 2,000 T-72M1 and 640 T-90C tanks.

Back on the Scene: Russia Brings Tanks Back in Fashion
The new tank the Indian Army plans to design and manufacture is known as the Future Ready Combat Vehicle (FRCV).

The new generation MBT will form a base platform for other armored vehicles, similar to the Russian-made Armata platform. The Indian army wants to use the platform for as many as 11 different tracked vehicles, including light tracked, wheeled, bridge layer and trawl tanks, self-propelled howitzers, air defense guns, artillery observation posts and engineering reconnaissance vehicles, and armored ambulances, the Diplomat said.

India might likely use Russia's new Armata tank as a prototype for its own armored vehicle, Gazeta.ru reported. Earlier this month, defense expert Samir Patil from India's Gateway House analytical center said his country was willing to buy the Armata platform or some of its elements for future development of their own tank.

India Mulls Buying Russia’s Armata to Develop Its Own Future Infantry Tank
"I think India would like to purchase such a combat platform for its armed forces," Samir Patil said.

What makes the Armata tank stand out from its domestic and foreign counterparts is that the crew is securely enclosed in a multi-layer armored capsule separated from the ammunition container. The vehicle is fully computerized and only needs three servicemen to operate it.

The tank has an unmanned, remotely controlled turret, digitally controlled by a crew-member located in a separate compartment. It is believed that this would eventually lead to the development of a fully robotic tank.

Read more: http://sputniknews.com/military/2015063 ... z3f5GGTTRF
PS:Are these tank inventory figs. accurate? 600+ T-55s still in service? No mention of the 120+ A MK-1s either. Is there an IA inventory/proposed force plan available?
I hardly believe its a reliable source plus the fact that it ommits Mention of Arjun.
Just random click bait ...