Internal Security Watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
member_27991

Re: Internal Security Watch

Post by member_27991 »

BajKhedawal wrote:
Kakkaji wrote:All the same, 'vegetarian elitism' is a problem with Hindus that prevents pan-Hindu consolidation. Having grown up vegetarian, I have seen people turn up their noses at meat-eating Hindus. I know a lot of people who show more compassion towards animals than they do towards poorer Hindus.
This absolutely does not make sense, you are either imagining or inventing a bias which does not exist. I grew up in Gandhi’s Gujarat as a "vegetarian elite" as you would brand me, and have never thought less of those who did not follow vegetarianism stringently. And by the way even in Gujarat of 1970-80's folks like me were a minority, I was/am the odd one out. Every single friend I had barring just one Jain guy all of them were non-vegetarians of varying degrees, and I am only talking about Hindus, not several of my Muslim, Jew, or Parsi friends. They (specifically my liberal Hindu friends) never thought less of me or me of them. May be this is just a fault line in communism dominated areas of India, and manufactured over decades by commie pasand groups.

Everyone has personal boundaries. Heck, I would not let my 5 year old niece or 75 year old dad touch me at time of my Pooja if they had pooped and not taken a shower after; nor will I eat off their plate, and they are just as much a Brahmin and vegetarian as I. With sanatan dharma ones beliefs are always deemed as personal, I don’t care what you eat or how you pray or not; this has no bearings on my relation with you; nor would I be interested in proselytizing you. Where is the elitism?
Just try getting into a discussion with someone who has read 3 pages of Sanatan scriptures on food and is a vegetarian. Try explaining him why non-vegetarianism was also an integral part of the Sanatan/Hindusim and there was never a food divide. I haven't yet met many vegetarians who agreed with this and were quite squirmish and also a bit annoyed that one could say such a thing. For most Hindu vegetarian kids growing up, vegetarianism is a caste/religion issue and not as much of a food choice and hence many start defending their choice by justifying why non-vegetarianism is wrong. There may be food liberal vegetarians out there but the other side is equally true. Many also equate non-vegetarianism with the paap-punya-karma thesis :D . This is definitely an encroachment of Sanatan by our Jain bandhus... sigh.

How many non-vegetarians offer meat as naivaidya/offering while doing pooja-paath? No data is required but guesstimate will do. If your honest guesstimate is low number, nay, surprisingly low number as % of non-veg eaters(my guess), what do you think is the reason? What role do vegetarian-only food eaters have in it?
member_27991

Post by member_27991 »

Satya_anveshi wrote:How many non-vegetarians offer meat as naivaidya/offering while doing pooja-paath? No data is required but guesstimate will do. If your honest guesstimate is low number, nay, surprisingly low number as % of non-veg eaters(my guess), what do you think is the reason? What role do vegetarian-only food eaters have in it?
Offering of non-vegetarian food happens where animal sacrifices take place, usually at some Kali temples. However this is not pushed forth as a right of ritual by non-vegetarian Hindus. The offering of non-vegetarian food can be ruled out once Brahmins took control of all ritualistic proceedings at temples and functions. Besides vegetarian items as Dal, rice, kheer etc have their roles in pleasing the Deities and awakening respective chakras in humans. Non-vegetarians are actually omnivorous and hence they don't see this divide as to why only veg food is offered as a naivedya and not non-veg, only a vegetarian person would look at and come up with this distinction.
My previous comment is not related to what you have mentioned. It simply states that many vegetarian Hindus defend their vegetarianism citing Sanatan and Hindu scripture reasons and also their theories of paap-punya-karma and how why Maans-ahaar is hence bad according to them. This happens quite frequently in debates upto the point that some believe that non-vegetarianism cannot help you in spiritual growth or achieving self realisation. Now that is where I have a problem.

let's take this to off topic thread.

National policy to counter IS threat planned - Vijaita Singh, The Hindu
A senior government official told The Hindu that to devise a strategy to counter the Islamic State threat, “we have decided to come up with a new national policy.”

“To begin with, we will bring all the stakeholders concerned to a common table and share the various strategies that can be adopted,” according to the official.

Since the recruitment by the militant outfit is done online, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh in June this year gave the go-ahead for the creation of a revamped “cyber security architecture” within the Intelligence Bureau comprising 500 officials.

The need for a specialised wing was realised following the growing threat of radicalisation of youth through cyber means.
vijaykarthik

Post by vijaykarthik »

Not sure where this comes up but an interesting snippet of recent news:

* DEFENCE: A high-level panel reviewing India's defence acquisition procedures has proposed excluding ministers from defence deals and giving generals the permission to
take the call.

Very bad idea indeed. When it comes to acquistions, it can't be left to Generals alone. They will start importing soldiers also.

It should be the other way round .The civil babu along with the mil babu are excluding the civilian from the pie.
It's nothing less than blasphemy and revolt against the democratic setup.

My personal experience is political leaders are less corrupt than the govt employees . Be it a clerk or an IAS.

As can be the seen from from TV reports, all the middlemen involved in brokering deals are retired officers not sitting MPs or voted out MPs.

Corruption has been institutionalised and it's called the "System". Looks like the integrity of our DM is so high that it's now being recommended to throw him out of the "System".
vijaykarthik

Post by vijaykarthik »

^ All for a focused discussion. But its also true that the civvy sissy babus are currently neither aware of the security needs / have an idea about how armament is spelled. Heck, I think a few ppl in BRF might know more about what is reqd and what works than the idiots at the top.

Think of this: Army asks for a QR for replacing the our 5.66mm INSAS rifles. And in the QR ask for a barrel that can incorporate both 5.66mm (for anti-terrorist ops) and 7.26 mm (for other ops). And they also ridicule and complain and say that 5.66mm isn't working. Huh?
And of about 7 vendors who were selected and hand picked, all have been rejected as being expensive and not matching the mark. When it was also obvious even much earlier that what they were asking for was not just fantasy but not something that has been seen even as a pilot project so far?

I don't quite understand how a lot of these fellas can get away for about 10 years at this nonsense. And whats more now the QR has effectively been rejected. I think the soldiers can be given replacement kitchen knives instead. Knaves!

Supreme Court rejects Yakub Memon’s curative petition
The Supreme Court on Tuesday dismissed the curative petition of Yakub Abdul Razak Memon, the sole death row convict in the 1993 Mumbai serial blasts case.
Special TADA judge G.A. Sanap had signed the death warrant on April 29, 2015. According to the warrant Yakub Memon is likely to be hanged at the Central jail in Nagpur at 7 a.m. on July 30, Shubail Farook, his lawyer in the Supreme Court, had told The Hindu.

Do we know what is the real deal with Yakub Memon? He voluntarily returned from Pakistan. In such cases generally it would happen if there is a deal with prosecution and the accused turns approver helping the prosecution convict others. In the bargain, the approver is let off with a light sentence.

I am unable to find an indepth article on this fellow. Any good links appreciated.

schinnas wrote:Do we know what is the real deal with Yakub Memon? He voluntarily returned from Pakistan.
As per the official reports Yakub Memon was arrested from New Delhi Railway Station :). It was Yakub's version that he tried to surrender etc. But this excuse may not be of any help, unless Yakub could prove that he was forced to confess of the crimes etc. Some one may have used a ruse to give him the idea of surrendering and perhaps a lesser sentence. Indian government had not promised him any thing, so he cannot accuse GoI for any cheating etc.

With the Congress politicians trying to act all "patriotic" and "question" :roll: the current GoI about what it plans to do with Dawood, this execution may have some significance. When the execution gets carried out, it is also sending a very strong message to Dawood and other Jehadis that India government is slowly becoming serious in its business. Tiger Memon - again now in hiding would have the mental trauma of seeing his own brother hanging from the gallows. For these two men, this execution would be very similar to getting executed themselves.

How ever, I still have the feeling that "human rights-wallahs" would try some new trick (Amnesty International??), and the religion (poor minority community member not allowed to live) angle would be now highlighted again and again. I may have to watch mainstream English News Channels today. A lot of people against death penalty would get some free TV time and perhaps some money for a party.

Sachin wrote:
schinnas wrote:Do we know what is the real deal with Yakub Memon? He voluntarily returned from Pakistan.
As per the official reports Yakub Memon was arrested from New Delhi Railway Station :). It was Yakub's version that he tried to surrender etc. But this excuse may not be of any help, unless Yakub could prove that he was forced to confess of the crimes etc. Some one may have used a ruse to give him the idea of surrendering and perhaps a lesser sentence. Indian government had not promised him any thing, so he cannot accuse GoI for any cheating etc.

With the Congress politicians trying to act all "patriotic" and "question" :roll: the current GoI about what it plans to do with Dawood, this execution may have some significance. When the execution gets carried out, it is also sending a very strong message to Dawood and other Jehadis that India government is slowly becoming serious in its business. Tiger Memon - again now in hiding would have the mental trauma of seeing his own brother hanging from the gallows. For these two men, this execution would be very similar to getting executed themselves.

How ever, I still have the feeling that "human rights-wallahs" would try some new trick (Amnesty International??), and the religion (poor minority community member not allowed to live) angle would be now highlighted again and again. I may have to watch mainstream English News Channels today. A lot of people against death penalty would get some free TV time and perhaps some money for a party.
The public prosecutor on the 26/11 case said on TV this afternoon that he had been told by investigators that yakub had been arrested in kathmandu.
Last edited by chetak on 21 Jul 2015 17:23, edited 1 time in total.

I am just wondering at the open and transparent manner in which BJP Govt is going about this execution. This in in stark contrast to what UPA did to Kasab and Afzal Guru and Supreme Court issued guidelines for notifying the family members well in advance etc. Those hangings were last ditch effort by UPA to retain angry Hindu votes who were going against them. Almost thief like manner in which Congis proceeded to hang Afzal Guru and Kasab without allowing their family members a chance to meet them should be remembered. true BJP wanted them to be hanged but not in that manner.

The public prosecutor on the 26/11 case said on TV this afternoon that he had been told by investigators that yakub had been arrested in kathmandu.
He was brought to Raxaul, Bihar on Nepal Border and flown to Delhi where he was later arrested. Nepal police did not show his arrest and instead handed over to Indian Police on the Border .

Ah.. thanks. I was almost taken by this Yakub surrendered nonsense by MSM. Good that justice is served.

@ satya anveshi, my last post on this meaningless topic. any replies should go to off-topic thread.

I just held a mirror in front of your post, it's hardly my fault that you didn't like the result.

I find it rather funny that calling someone "improper hindu" is not disparaging or a slur.
Swami Vivekananda f.e was a non-vegetarian and an impure, improper hindu as per you. :lol:
=================

Bajkhedewal ji, unfortunately such biases do exist. they are present in primarily UP/Bihar/MP and to a lesser extent Haryana in my experience. your assertion that this is a commie state thing is damned funny, for you would be hard-pressed to find pure vegetarians in the commie dominated states of the country.
Everyone has personal boundaries. Heck, I would not let my 5 year old niece or 75 year old dad touch me at time of my Pooja if they had pooped and not taken a shower after; nor will I eat off their plate, and they are just as much a Brahmin and vegetarian as I. With sanatan dharma ones beliefs are always deemed as personal, I don’t care what you eat or how you pray or not; this has no bearings on my relation with you; nor would I be interested in proselytizing you. Where is the elitism?
this is certainly not what I was talking about.
for examples of elitism simply read the last pages of this thread about how some people are more hindu than other hindus because of their dietary choices. :roll:

I completely agree with Rahul M. Satyenvishi, if anyone should be ashamed , it should be you. Please read Swami Vivekanand's writings. You need an education.

Also just because he is an admin does not meant he cannot post and correct nonsense. Far too much of self self important posters posting nonsense on BRF these days.

I think moderators are too tolerant. Gentlemen, exercise your power. The silent majority comes here to read quality stuff not self important rants.

there is no silent majority,anywhere saar, either you vote or get screwed by vocal minority. Bane of Indian Democracy.
member_27991

Post by member_27991 »

Yet to come across a single original Sanatan Dharma scripture which denounces Non-vegetarianism.

oopsy! my mistake :oops: hence deleted
Last edited by niran on 22 Jul 2015 08:00, edited 1 time in total.

niran ji, may be you have mixed up with yasin bhatkal's arrest ? memon was arrested in 1994, there was no sahara samay back then AFAIK.

Pakistan pushed 8 separatist groups to join Syed Ali Shah Geelani, says Home Ministry note - Aman Sharma, Economic Times
Pakistan had engineered the induction of eight separatist groups into the hardline Hurriyat Conference headed by Syed Ali Shah Geelani in May, reflecting Pakistan's "continued support" to the ageing separatist leader, the home ministry has said in a note which was accessed by ET.

"This also led to the domination of the separatist discourse by anti-national elements, with emphasis on implementation of the UN resolutions," the note says, terming the "Pakistan-sponsored induction" of the eight separatist members into Hurriyat faction of Geelani as an "important development".

Interestingly, Geelani had rejected the invite from Pakistan High Commissioner for an 'Eid Milan' party on July 21, saying he was "boycotting" the function due to dropping of the Kashmir-word during talks between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif in Ufa in Russia. Of the eight separatist groups which had joined Geelani in May were five defectors from the moderate faction of the Hurriyat led by Mirwaiz Umar Farooq. Jammu Kashmir Peoples Movement, Kashmir Freedom Front, Tehreek-e-Mazahamat, Islamic Political Party, Gojer Phari Forum, Muslim Khawateen Markaz, Pairvan-i-Villayat and separatist leader Hakeem Abdul Rasheed had joined the Geelani faction. They had vowed to work for right of self-determination as per the hardline Hurriyat ideology. Geelani had criticised the Indo-Pak joint statement in Ufa and had stressed that India should fulfill the UN resolution.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

History of hatred: Why Ulfa targets Hindi-speaking people in Assam
A week after killing two Hindi-speaking people in Tinsukia district of eastern Assam, the outlawed United Liberation Front of Asom-Independent (Ulfa-I) has “banned” two Bhojpuri organisations in the state for daring to stand up to it.

This is yet another instance of the Ulfa faction led by Paresh Barua – it became Ulfa-I in 2013 after most top-rung leaders chose to talk peace – periodically targeting Hindi-speaking people, more specifically people from Bihar, since 2000.

“Very few in Assam subscribe to the Ulfa-I’s agenda of killing or driving Hindi-speakers out of Assam, and of seceding from India. This is evident from public demonstrations against and condemnation of the outfit’s attacks on Hindi-speakers from time to time,” said a spokesperson of the Patriotic People’s Front of Assam.

The Front last week protested the July 14 killing of Nandalal Sahu, 65, and his daughter Kajal Sahu, 21, in Bijuliban village of Tinsukia district by Ulfa-I rebels.

In a statement issued on Monday night, Ulfa-I publicity secretary Arunodoi Asom announced a “ban” on the All Assam Bhojpuri Parishad and the All Assam Bhojpuri Yuba Chatra Parishad for criticising the group.

“These two organisations will be considered illegal and undesired from now...Bhojpuri and Hindi-speaking communities who want to assimilate with the Assamese community should maintain a safe distance from these two organisations and not attempt to play with the emotions of the indigenous people of the state,” Ulfa-I said in a statement.

Mean while all in a day at The Hindu...
The Hindu in its true style has this report showing how Yakub Memon can still escape death. The tone of the article gives an impression that Yakub Memon should NOT be hanged.
Not the end of Memon’s fight

Report from The Hindu on IS threat. The report says the government has "woken up", but I feel the current government was always awake, and it was the pseudo-secular media like the Hindu, which "could not see the elephant in the room".
Centre wakes up to threat posed by IS, calls meeting to frame strategy
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Yet another article warning about the influence of terrorists (ISI) on Rohingyas...

Rohingya Muslims forging alliance with ISI?

Just as I expected, another drama is unfolding in the case of Yakub Memon. May be legal experts can give some pointers on whether this chap would get executed any time soon. How many mercy plea can be filed regarding one individual?
After SC denies relief, Yakub Memon submits mercy petition to Maharashtra Governor
This chap has now started begging for mercy from the Governor. The new excuse was that the earlier mercy plea was filed by this chap's brother, while the new mercy plea is filed by the chap himself. And I guess if this gets chucked out, he can get a whole line of his immediate relatives (wife, daughter etc.) to start filing mercy petitions one after the other. Looks like Dhananjoy Chatterjee hung from the gallows (after being in prison for 20 odd years), mainly because he was poor and nobody was bothered about him or his case.

Guess the new plea is after he fully recognised his situation, for the earlier report was Yakub Memon calm, composed on hearing of rejection of mercy plea.

is not Gov of MHA Mr. C Vidhayasagar a BJP member? if so his excellency can quickly dispatch the plea just as SC did.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Sachin wrote:Mean while all in a day at The Hindu...
The Hindu in its true style has this report showing how Yakub Memon can still escape death. The tone of the article gives an impression that Yakub Memon should NOT be hanged.
Not the end of Memon’s fight
Today's Times of India has a string of articles on this:

Will this man hang for his brother's sins?
By S Hussain Zaidi

`We want to meet him with some good news', Wife, daughter in shock; Yakub Memon's extended family vows to fight till the end.
By Sharmeen Hakim

Curative petition: The last plus last chance.
By an anonymous Supreme Court lawyer

He's paying for sins of his bro Tiger: Wife.
By Swati Deshpande

He wasn't among those who carried arms, but he stood behind them: SC
By Dhananjay Mahapatra

niran wrote:is not Gov of MHA Mr. C Vidhayasagar a BJP member? if so his excellency can quickly dispatch the plea just as SC did.
That is a possibility, but the catch remains that this never ending mercy pleas have to be stopped. The latest excuse is that the earlier mercy plea was filed by the brother of Yakub. How ever Ujjwal Nikam in a news report (click) clearly mention that "Mercy Plea" is just filed once, for a single subject matter - in this case Yakub Memon's execution. Whether Yakub himself files the plea or some one else does it is immaterial - it would be just one single mercy plea option. How ever there is a glitch which may extend the execution date from 30th July. It seems there is a supreme court directive which says 14 days have to elapse between the rejection of the mercy plea and the execution.
AjayKK wrote:By S Hussain Zaidi
This author has penned a couple of books on Mumbai Underworld. His book "Dongri to Dubai" is infact a glorification of the Dawood gang, and reading between the lines we can clearly understand the glee which the author has for "one community" having absolute control over the Mumbai mafia. He has also written a sequel to the book - "Byculla to Bangkok" focusing on the Maharashtrian Hindu mafiosi. His book "Black Friday" about the Mumbai blasts, I feel is a much better product. He at least do not try to eulogise the mafiosi.

Mean while in Jamshedpur communal riots have started. Members from a peaceful community targetted/attacked a girl from the majority community. Curfew has been enforced in the area.
Curfew clamped in Jamshedpur, over 100 arrested

I don't get this. I would rather hang quickly than drag it out by appeals and appeals. Surely hanging is better than life imprisonment in an Indian jail. So let the bugger appeal as long as the appeals keep getting turned down. More the press howls, more hope he gets, more irritated the judges get and the hopes get dashed :-)

Sachin wrote: It seems there is a supreme court directive which says 14 days have to elapse between the rejection of the mercy plea and the execution
Yes , but it has come only after Afzal Guru was hanged surreptitiously by Congis . Mercy plea filed by Bro of YM was rejected by Prez in April 2014. Hence 14 days time is well over. He has filed another mercy petition but I doubt that would have any effect unless SC lays down the law that 14 days would count form latest mercy plea and a condemned man is allowed to file n number of MP.
The Ministry said the apex court had said legal aid should be provided to the convicts at all stages even after the rejection of mercy petition.

Hence, Superintendents of Jail are directed to intimate the rejection of mercy petitions to the nearest legal aid centre apart from intimating the convicts.

It said the convict has a constitutional right under Article 72 of the Constitution to make a mercy petition and hence the rejection of the mercy plea by the President should forthwith be communicated to the convict and his family in writing.

It would be mandatory for prison authorities to facilitate and allow a final meeting between the prisoner and his family and friends prior to his execution.

Following the hanging of Parliament attack case convict Afzal Guru about a year ago, his family members had complained that they were not informed in advance about his scheduled execution at Tihar Jail in Delhi.

The family had said they received the information only after his hanging, that too through the media.

Facing flak, the Home Ministry had claimed that they sent a letter to Guru's family in Kashmir through SpeedPost which the family received a few days after his execution. Quoting the January 21 Supreme Court verdict, the Home Ministry said death row convicts were entitled to receive a copy of the rejection of the mercy petition by the President and the Governor. It said solitary or single cell confinement prior to rejection of the mercy petition by the President is unconstitutional. Even though prison manuals of the states do have necessary rules, the court felt that the rules should not be interpreted to run counter to its ruling and violate Article 21 of the Constitution.

As and when a mercy petition is received or communicated by the state government after its rejection by the Governor, all necessary materials such as police records, judgements of the trial court, high court and the Supreme Court and all other connected documents should be called at once fixing a time limit without fail for rendering the same to the Home Ministry in one go and not in a piece-meal manner.

As a convict has a constitutional right under Article 161 to make a mercy petition to the Governor, he is entitled to be informed in writing of the decision on that mercy petition.

The rejection of the mercy petition by the Governor should forthwith be communicated to the convict and his family in writing or through some other available mode of communication.

A minimum period of 14 days was stipulated by the Supreme Court between the receipt of the communication of the rejection of the mercy petition and the scheduled date of execution.
This is to enable the convict to prepare himself and settle his affairs and meet his family members for one last time or to avail any judicial remedy. As it is quite possible that some death row convicts might lose their mental balance, there should be regular mental health evaluation and appropriate medical care should be given to those in need, the Ministry said.

After the execution warrant is issued, the prison superintendent should satisfy himself on the basis of medical reports by government doctors and psychiatrists that the prisoner is in a fit physical and mental condition to be executed.
Now YM can lose his mental balance and become disqualified for hanging if certified so by MO

If the superintendent is of the opinion that the prisoner is not fit, he should forthwith stop the execution and produce the prisoner before a medical board for a comprehensive evaluation and shall forward the report of the same to the state government for further action.

Death row convicts should be provided with copies of relevant documents within a week of conviction by the prison authorities to assist in making mercy petition and petitioning the courts.

After the execution of death penalty, post-mortem would need to be mandatorily performed to ascertain the exact cause of death, it said.

chaanakya wrote: Now YM can lose his mental balance and become disqualified for hanging if certified so by MO
Yakoob Memon had tried the trick of saying that he is a chronic schizophrenic as per the report of IBN Live reported in year 2013. I don't know he would try the same excuse once again.

So there are chances that the execution date may get extended, as the Governor's office would have to give its decision and then a time frame of 14 days is again to be given. But I don't know if Governor's office can reject the petition since it was already taken up (and dismissed) by a higher authority - the President of India.

14 days limit should be counted from April 2014 only.

That is an intersting point. Guv is equally empowered to exercise his Mercy and what happens if President rejects it and fresh petition is received by Guv who was not approached by the convict or his/her relatives in the first place.
Medical fitness is a criteria and they would try it as a last resort and it has to be answered by a Medical Board.
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Foreign funding: Modi government cancels licences of over 10,000 NGOs
NEW DELHI: The Centre has cancelled the registration of 10,117 NGOs till March this year for violating foreign funding norms. After inspections and scrutiny of accounts, 15 cases were referred to CBI and 10 to states for further investigation and prosecution. Accounts of 23 associations have been frozen, said a home ministry statement.

Sachin wrote: But I don't know if Governor's office can reject the petition since it was already taken up (and dismissed) by a higher authority - the President of India.
Looks like SC is pondering over this question. Hope Law will be settled.
Even Multiple Mercy plea are not needed before the same or different authorities by multiple persons on behalf of convict. Some snese of order and finality should be introduced. We are far too much criminal friendly Criminal Justice System. A person goes about business of killing 257 people, conspires for it and yet we have teary eyes.
Yakub Memon case: Can mercy plea be filed before governor after President rejects it? SC asks
NEW DELHI: Could Mumbai serial blast condemned prisoner Yakub Abdul Razak Memon have moved the Maharashtra governor with a mercy petition after a similar petition had been rejected by the President?

This question echoed repeatedly in the Supreme Court on Wednesday during hearing on the Centre's petition questioning the Tamil Nadu government's decision to remit sentences of seven life convicts in Rajiv Gandhi assassination case and release them. The SC had stayed Tamil Nadu's decision in February last year.

Without referring to Yakub, a bench of Chief Justice H L Dattu and Justices F M I Kalifulla, P C Ghose, A M Sapre and U U Lalit repeatedly asked solicitor general Ranjit Kumar whether a person could endlessly move mercy petitions and whether it was proper for a condemned prisoner to petition the governor after his mercy plea was rejected by the President. Yakub's mercy petition was rejected by the President in May last year.

Though review petitions are heard in chamber by the judges, Yakub's petition seeking review of the SC's March 21, 2013 judgment was heard in open court by a three-judge bench since the case involved death penalty. The three-judge bench had rejected his review petition on April 9.

Soon thereafter, Yakub resorted to the last possible legal remedy by filing a curative petition before the SC. It was dismissed on Tuesday. Immediately, Yakub moved a mercy plea before the governor.

READ ALSO: After SC denies relief, Yakub Memon submits mercy petition to Maharashtra governor

All you want to know about Yakub Memon

In the context of Rajiv assassination case, the bench said, "As per the Constitution, the President has the power to entertain a mercy petition from anywhere in India irrespective of whether the person was awarded death penalty under a central law or a state law. But the governor can only deal with cases arising within the state jurisdiction and when the death penalty was imposed through a state enacted law. Can a condemned prisoner move the governor after the President rejects his mercy plea?" The SG said there was no bar under the law for a convict to move multiple mercy petitions.

But the bench was considering the awkward situation that could be created through such a practice. The CJI said, "See the embarrassment. The President rejects the mercy plea. The condemned prisoner files a fresh mercy plea before the governor who commutes the death penalty to life imprisonment. Did the framers of the Constitution envisage this? I don't think so. Is it not an incongruous situation? Can a person after losing his case before a high court go before the district court and appeal?"

The SG said, "There could be a situation like this in exercise of mercy jurisdiction by the President and the governor, which runs concurrently. The mercy powers of the President and the governor run concurrently and could, thus, create an awkward situation."

The bench asked the SG to think about it and give an answer to the court. Kumar said of late, it had become a trend. "A condemned prisoner files mercy petition before the President or the governor. When it gets rejected, he moves the constitutional courts alleging that his mercy petition has been rejected without proper appreciation of facts and circumstances. When that petition gets rejected, he again moves another mercy petition. And the cycle is continued," he said.

"We will come to a situation when there could never be finality to cases in which death penalty has been imposed by the courts after thorough examination of facts and circumstances. This cyclic process of filing mercy petitions and moving the courts is meant to frustrate the process of law by not allowing a case to reach finality," the SG said

The Hindu report on the same topic is a bit more direct.
Should we lay down the law on mercy pleas, asks SC
The Supreme Court on Wednesday asked the Centre whether it should lay down the law on the procedure for moving mercy petitions, apparently in response to reports that the lone death row convict in the 1993 serial blasts case, Yakub Memon, had moved his before the Maharashtra Governor.

From what I can understand the court has asked if its help is required to draft the procedure for handling mercy petitions, or the central government has a well laid out procedure already. More than a challenge from the court, I feel that the court was offering help here (in laying down the procedure).

Added later...
Looks like Yakub Memon is now really desparate..
Yakub Memon moves SC against hanging
Memon said that the death warrant by the TADA court on April 29, was issued before all his legal options were exhausted. He had contented that the death warrant was issued even as his curative petition was pending before the Supreme Court.

The 53-year-old’s new petition says the death warrant issued for his hanging on July 30 was against the principles of natural justice and due process of law was not followed.

------
What all pathetic excuses would he give and for how long? Now we will have to wait till SC disposes this plea. In a way I feel his now undergoing the heaviest punishment any person can undergo. That is counting every hour and the day, and worrying about the hang man's noose. This itself may make people lose their mental balance.

ReDiff Sheela Bhatt is quoting Late B. Raman out of context and arguing that Yakub Memon should not be hanged.

B. Raman had argued that by inducing YM to come back to India the TSP role I terrorism has been exposed.
On the contrary only those who willingly closed their eyes or blinded their eyes the TSP role was every clear for everyone to see.
Secondly exposing TSP ahs done zilch to bring relief to the criminal case.
26/11 Mumbai attacks again were sourced from TSP.

Yakub Memon should hang as the law has decided for participating in killing 257 people and countless injured in 1993 Mumbai bomb attacks.

ramana wrote:ReDiff Sheela Bhatt is quoting Late B. Raman out of context and arguing that Yakub Memon should not be hanged.
Yakub Memon should hang as the law has decided for participating in killing 257 people and countless injured in 1993 Mumbai bomb attacks.
This excuse is now getting spread through very many channels. A spin is given to the whole story by stating that Yakub Memon surrendered along with his family, so he should be shown leniency. Unless Yakub Memon can prove that he decided to come back based on some official amnesty granted by Government of India (and not by any one else who claimed to be GoI spokesmen), things do not change on the ground. He happened to be a surrendered criminal, who was involved in depth in the killing of 270+ innocent people.

No where does Raman say Yakub Memon surrendered. Infact he says, Nepal nabbed him when he was flying to Pakistan.

What Bull shit is this??

though thankfully it is inadmissible in court for being hearsay. Also Prosecution cant cross examine Raman

A Gift for Dawood at 1145