Pathankot AirForce base under attack

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Pathankot AirForce base under attack

Picklu,

All this cost benefit analysis and act smart stuff is all very well - go tell that to the families of the people lost in the attack. Its cold blooded, and completely inappropriate. You can't have your own security forces treated as cannon fodder as you imply should be a policy. What greater good are you talking of? Just makes us look more and more a weak state.

It also ignores the effect on public morale and the state when casualties are incurred in high profile attacks.

Next, your analysis is completely flawed because it costs far more to train soldiers and keep them current, then spending on HESCOs and basic infrastructure. Look up their costs sometime as versus getting a combat ready soldier of any sort, whether it be ITBP or CRPF or the IA itself. These sec force personnel represent an investment of crores each, if that's what you wish to look at, accumulated over a lifetime of training. Putting untrained callow youth in charge of base defenses is not an answer either.

Your comparison of triage is also pointless. Triage is done post facto, once the incident has crossed all planned resourcing available. It is not done as a standard policy just for the heck of it. So are all casualties that occur in any event dropped on the basis of issue severity? Or are all the civilians who are injured in anyway triaged? This is an issue of planning, pure and simple, no two ways about it.

It speaks volumes about the lack of security preparedness in the GOI so far, that despite decades of insurgency, our armed forces & most establishments remained underfunded and underprioritized while we had huge thousand crore scams going on. Its a clear case of misappropriated resources, not some well thought out policy to keep cheap soldiers out front, expensive soldiers within and similar stuff. None of that will work in real life. Oh sir, cheap guy died at gate, now lets put expensive guy to kill them since the terrorist is 20% non capable and that will protect our MiG-21 or IL-78.
Last edited by Karan M on 03 Jan 2016 00:08, edited 2 times in total.

Couple of comments

1 Per an earlier report (and also per Hindu graphic), the terrorists did not enter from the main gate i.e. no blitzing the gate in a police car/army uniforms. They covertly got in from some remote portion of the fence near a bridge and made their way in.

2 A report above says that they were 'cornered' in the administrative building. This does not seem like a peripheral area, rather, it suggests that the terrorists did get well inside the station, beyond the perimeter.

3 About the point of the SP kidnapping and why the police did not react faster....I guess in hindsight we know that the IAF installation was attacked. As the terror alert went out, keeping Gurdaspur events in mind, I assume the authorities' first concern would have been civilian locations as potential targets for the terrorists- bus stops, train stations, movie theaters, busy markets, temples (a la Akshardham) and wherever else they could get a large body count; followed by the services installations- army areas and IAF areas and police stations. This would have been a real tall order to give water-tight protection to all places-imagine the security forces required. At the time the terror alert went out, there would have been no way to know (IMO) that they were out to hit the IAF station.

Added later: Granted the terrorists wore army uniforms- this could suggest that they either wanted to blend in, or that they were going to target an army installation.
Last edited by SriKumar on 03 Jan 2016 00:21, edited 1 time in total.

There is a news report on first terrorist being killed while climbing the wall.

SriKumar, again according to news reports, they did react to SP kidnapping, all shop keepers around the base were told to shut down the shops and NSG moved in.
Last edited by sunilUpa on 03 Jan 2016 00:28, edited 1 time in total.

^^^....sure, and what I am saying is that given that no one knew where the terrorists were going to hit, some level of casualities were probably unavoidable- they could have easily come after the civilians wherever they found them- in buses where a large number are clumped in a small area, in bus stations, markets or home etc. They had an SUV at their disposal.
member_29247

Post by member_29247 »

Soon after Modi ji visit to Badmash dawat

I had said

Hugging pakis is like hugging a scorpion, it will hug with its claws while the tail poised to sting. It's their nature.

They did Americans who aid them nudge them with billions and yet they will kill them without baiting an eye lid m what to say about Indians...

We still not retaliate be it Modi ji or aar paar ABV. Same difference :shock:

Remember TSP,is not Burma they said
Last edited by member_29247 on 03 Jan 2016 00:32, edited 1 time in total.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-35211265
The gunmen drove a hijacked police vehicle when they launched the attack at 03:30 (22:00 GMT Friday).

They entered living quarters at the base, but were contained there and so were unable to cause any damage to military hardware, said air force spokeswoman Rochelle D'Silva.

Later on Saturday morning, fresh gunfire was heard and a helicopter seen firing at an area inside the base.

But by the end of the afternoon, police confirmed the base was secure.
Have not seen any other new outlet mention the firing by the helicopter gunship (bolded above).

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 420695.cms
Top government sources said the men entered at about 3:30 AM into the base, one of the largest of the IAF spread over about 2000 acres, through a gap in the peremitre wall which is heavily forested.

"Because of the prior intelligence input, a Quick Reaction Team (QRT) was stationed there which made the first contact with the terrorist within 45 metres into the base," the sources said.

They added that while one terrorist was killed on the spot, the rest three scattered. The second terrorist was killed around 10 AM while the third and fourth terrorist were killed early evening.

During the 90-minutes long meeting, which was also attended by all the three Services chiefs and the Defence Secretary, the security of vital defence installation were reviewed.

"It was decided to focus on synergy between the assets of the three forces as today's operation was an example of how an operation should be held," the sources said.
Cannot comprehend the high casualties on the Indian side if the Indian side was forewarned and essentially had setup an ambush and how come they were able to ingress 45 meters into the base??

Spinster wrote:Soon after Modi ji visit to Badmash dawat

I had said

Hugging pakis is like hugging a scorpion, it will hug with its claws while the tail poised to sting. It's their nature.

They did Americans who aid them nudge them with billions and yet they will kill them without baiting an eye lid m what to say about Indians...

We still not retaliate be it Modi ji or aar paar ABV. Same difference :shock:

Remember TSP,is not Burma they said
So even the Americans who were 10x more powerful in some ways, gave up.

Its all very well to curse Modi or ABV, but tell us what needs to be done.

This guy (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dakota_Meyer) got in trouble for fingering Pakistan.

The book Outlaw Platoon makes it clear that Americans were dying in droves in Afghanistan and all US did as we know, was run after TSP to stop the flow and bomb some irrelevant groups.

At the end of the day, without covert ops and paying back via movements (Balochistan, MQM), we are limited in options.
Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

Pranay wrote:http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-35211265
Have not seen any other new outlet mention the firing by the helicopter gunship (bolded above).
India's Military Response At Pathankot Included Rockets

1. After intelligence reports of an imminent terror attack on Pathankot Air Force base, a team of the National Security Guard's Black Cat Commandos was deployed at the air base.

2. Special forces teams of the Indian Army and two infantry columns of the Army (25-30 soldiers per column) were also deployed on Friday.

3.Indian Air Force aircraft with thermal imaging capability, among them possibly Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), detected the entry of the terrorists after 3 am in the morning.

4.Overall command of the military operation was with a Brigadier of the Indian Army and later with IG (Operations), National Security Guard.

5.Prompt ground action ensured that the terrorists could not hit the Indian Air Force's MiG 21 Bison fighters or Mi-35 choppers on the ground.

6.NSG Black Cat commandos led the primary assault against the terrorists. They were supplemented by Army Special Forces.

7.Casspir mine resistant vehicles and BMP-2 Armoured Personnel carriers were used to insert soldiers to the area of operations.

8.Rockets were fired by an IAF Mi-35 attack helicopter to contain the terrorists to one area.

9.Two additional columns of the Army (25-30 soldiers in each column) have been deployed as search operations continue through the night.

10.Control of the air base will not be handed back to the IAF until the base is fully sanitized.

-Ankit

Pranay wrote:Cannot comprehend the high casualties on the Indian side if the Indian side was forewarned and essentially had setup an ambush and how come they were able to ingress 45 meters into the base??
This is why I am saying some places are underresourced. I am not going to go into specifics, where, etc - but seeing the ramshackle nature of even some of the basing infra for personnel thanks to prior GOI and its tender mercies, I am not surprised there was not enough funding to basically put up significant fencing around key infra, make sure the underbrush was cleaned regularly & layered obstacles put in place in some places. Yes, there is the risk that if you make the sec force establishments very well guarded then the easier civilian targets will be sought, that is going to anyways happen. So that does not mean we can ignore the former too.
member_29247

Post by member_29247 »

US meddled in TSP
Where as we attended a dawat big difference

They got Osama

We have Rupan Katyal still waiting

No more on this but you and I know we will continue our non action unlike in Burma

Take out sme terror camps for a change Naach that's too much to ask.

We need to take into account cost of international travel advisory etc etc

Out of curiosity, why didn't the terrorists come wearing saffron robes, Rakhis & RSS ids signed & stamped by Mohan Bhagwat, and having called some of our oh-so-secular media to photograph them before going on to attack the airbase? Have they given up the `Yindoo terror' plot so easily? Or are our top scum in the DDM under watch by intelligence day & night, so they can't be alerted without alerting the security establishment too?

Still I am hoping for Praveen Swami to come out tomorrow that they were looking for their lost grandmother or some such thing .....
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

As some one said lets not get mad but get even or even better pay it back with interest.

Has the Garud been identified? Was he part of the QRT when he was KIA?

If the reports are true....
1. Is there a reason the wires are not electrified and not monitored? Is the operational cost prohibitive?
2. I doubt there would be zones along the perimeter that act as traps. To risky for such a ploy I think.

The terrorists did not get beyond the outer perimeter. That admin building might have been anything from an outhouse to a langar.

Raja Bose wrote:Has the Garud been identified? Was he part of the QRT when he was KIA?
Gursewak Singh https://twitter.com/ShivAroor/status/683372741546778624
Ramu

Post by Ramu »

SwamyG wrote:Courtesy: The Hindu - http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/m ... 058924.ece

The first line of this chindu article sums up what is wrong with indian media.
One shouldn't start with publishing our loss first. This will go straight to their recruitment material.
And any proof of 72 raisins will further improve their probability of recruitment. But sadly this has been happening after every attack.

What we need at this stage is lot of visuals of dead pigs every time they die to show how horribly it ends for them. We don't need to exaggerate anything to prove this point. In the olden days Brits used to hang their dead non state actors for public display on their harbours.

We may or may not be able to take overt or covert operation to punish the pakis after every attack, but we can definitely increase the cost of their recruitment.

And there are no rules in this game.

Spinster wrote:US meddled in TSP
Where as we attended a dawat big difference

They got Osama

We have Rupan Katyal still waiting

No more on this but you and I know we will continue our non action unlike in Burma

Take out sme terror camps for a change Naach that's too much to ask.

We need to take into account cost of international travel advisory etc etc
So what you want is a song and dance and no tangible action. Some feel good stuff even if it leads to no clear result.

On the border we have routinely killed far more official TSP folks than US ever did, but "they got Osama".

In short, if this is the quality of expectation and suggestion, then we deserve a GOI on the same lines.

My sense is that the good guy casualties likely resulted from explosive attack (grenade or mortars) and not bullets.

From the point of view of the tango, launching an explosive via a grenade launcher allows shoot and scoot tactics which can prolong the engagement.

What I find shocking is that when every 10 year old in the US has a drone, why the Indian defense forces can be similarly equipped?

http://gizmodo.com/flirs-new-thermal-im ... 1732351025

[youtube]f7sE32OMVeI?t=1m40s[/youtube]
It costs less than $3K to get an FLIR equipped drone for local area recon. If you are willing to compromise a bit on quality, and use some creativity, the phone versions of FLIR are $250.

http://www.flir.com/flirone/content/?id=69420

These days computational power is so cheap that you can put an image processing system on the drone itself which can analyze the image and then transmit the results reducing bandwidth needs, and allowing alternate communication protocols.

You can even create a contraption with a KM+ range in the open, even using wifi. Put a directional antennae guided which rotates guided by GPS on the drone, and a larger gathering antenna near the operator.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WokFi

Every platoon on guard duty in military based can be equipped with such equipment which can smoke out the tangos and isolate them. The buffer area between the perimeter and the buildings is often vast and can be suitably monitored this way.

RV now you see the need for a definitive account?
Lots of rhona/dhona has started.

Ramu:
While I am no supporter of The Hindu, and I have tweeted questioning CNN on its own choice of words. When rubber meets the road the actual trench workers from Pakistan do not care about these optics. Consider the fact that the mother asks her son to eat first (implying to do his work later), they know they are being sent to death. Pig fat, or other humiliation is immaterial.

If India needs to make it costly, then make it costly for the handlers and the "deep state", trying to reduce the smaller fish will not result a good RoI.

These days computational power is so cheap
Which computational power?

This attack is not just on India, but a let-us-see-what-you-can-do attack on other players in the region too.

I am of the opinion that the time has come to marginalize ISI and the PA. India needs to start the ball rolling on making it very clear that there are two powers in Pakistan and that one is legit and that the illegit will be dealt with (without threatening words - IMO). And, then act on a plan that is perhaps already in place. Let life go on as usual - no need to further discuss and dissect this incident - it is exactly like the previous ones.

Act with confidence, knowing you are right.

Meanwhile add that other computational power and place it on the Chinese border.
member_29247

Post by member_29247 »

duplicate post
Deleted
Last edited by member_29247 on 03 Jan 2016 06:18, edited 1 time in total.
prataparudra

Post by prataparudra »

Amara Veerulaku Asruta Nivali

Hope we don't lose our soldiers when we have info in advance.
member_29247

Post by member_29247 »

"Will give befitting reply to any attack on India, says Rajnath Singh"

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/will ... 60640.html

Ok case closed

I am happy that our forces gave a befitting response in Punjab, I am proud of them. The nation is proud of our security and armed forces. Pakistan is our neighbour and we want peace, but any terrorist attack on India will get a befitting response. Any aggression towards us will recei

Pranay wrote: Cannot comprehend the high casualties on the Indian side if the Indian side was forewarned and essentially had setup an ambush and how come they were able to ingress 45 meters into the base??
You need to understand that 16 hours before the attack a Superintendent of Police was kidnapped and his phone taken, and when he reported this any normal security conscious police officer would naturally ignore the complaint and point out that the SP reporting his own abduction had a "colourful past" and was probably lying and his background was more illustrative of reality than the abduction.

You must also understand that when a driver was killed and his car hijacked after the above abduction of the police officer, no competent police official would make a connection between the two events. Obviously they are separate events.

The rabble rousing Punjab public gave a lot of trouble to the police by insisting that the killing of a car driver was a terror event. After all the police were busy investigating the colourful background of the recently abducted police officer.

16 hours is such a short time and there was no hurry or panic. After all terrorists do not come in tanks or helos. They have to walk. How far could they go? If there was any error it was made by the terrorists themselves who did not announce exactly which part of Punjab they were going to attack.

prataparudra wrote:
Soldiers are lost in war but what are we doing to ensure that Pakis are punished?

https://twitter.com/IndianExpress/statu ... 7772938240
Pathankot attack: Blue beacon atop SP’s hijacked SUV let terrorists speed past checkposts
The blue beacon atop the Mahindra XUV of Superintendent of Police Salwinder Singh helped the terrorists, who hijacked the vehicle, get past several police checkposts on Friday. It is suspected that the same lot of terrorists entered the Pathankot airbase because the SUV was found abandoned a little over 500 metres away. - See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... C8WGa.dpuf
Kejriwal was correct about VIP cars with beacons
member_29247

Post by member_29247 »

From Ajai Shukla blog

See how (Sw)Alpa Santoshi Indian leadership is and the chanikiyan twists and knots we impose ourselves.

"Another scrupulously implemented CBM, signed on April 6, 1991, reduces the risk of conventional war. The agreement titled “Advance Notice on Military Exercises, Manoeuvres and Troop Movements” prohibits military exercises close to the border or Line of Control (LoC), and requires advance information before any military exercise. Another CBM signed the same day on “Prevention of Air Space Violations” lays down a “no-fly-zone” along the border/LoC for military aircraft.
"

the Lal Bath culture is just nauseating

I have seen
judge (wish the judge would dispose the cases speedily as his car zooming with privileges )
lawyer
Doctor
Journalist
On Govt Duty ( with memshaibs sitting pretty for shopping)
All these get preferential treatment to pass aka over take and break the law to get to destination.

The best joke is near Toll gates on Highway with a big display board who are exempt form toll.

Starts with President of India
Vice President of India

The list is two bill board size display

The only one missing is Ambulence. ( probably because Ambulence is for Whom The bell Tolls)

Added later

@ Karan garu who had asked If I wanted Song and dance on this incident aka in decent stab in the back

No I am not a great fan of song and dance of politicians.

This what I want as eloquently put Srdhar garu in STFUP thread

And I quote

On the ToI blog which calls for conveying to Pakistan, India's freedom to exercise covert operations, there is no need to do so. India has to do *whatever it has to do*. For how long are we going to treat Pakistan with a kid glove hoping for a better behaviour? It simply does not wish to become a normal country. Nawaz Sharif's purported willingness to develop better relations with India is in itself a fraud and is being used as a mask by the PA/ISI. The usual good cop/bad cop technique.

We must suspend talks citing terror. In the meanwhile, we plan a covert or overt attack. When we have achieved the desired result, we once again offer to resume the talks with more conditions imposed on Pakistan now for the misbehaviour. We simply should not care for pressure from any other country. We must point out to them the actions that these countries have themselves taken against terror (the US, China, France, UK etc).

Last edited by member_29247 on 03 Jan 2016 07:02, edited 2 times in total.

prataparudra wrote:
Soldiers are lost in war but what are we doing to ensure that Pakis are punished?
It's too early to disclose, I would think. First, the full picture (or fuller picture) of the operation has to be put together: who planned it, directed it, etc. Electronic and physical evidence collected and analysed. Then, inevitably, dosa, will be prepared for serving to our friends and enemies. I would love to observe the next conversation Doval has with his Paki counterpart. Then government will have to think of right time, place and method of retaliation. Let the Paki pigs keep worrying. The loss of our lives is too painful, but we must still see this operation as a victory for India.
member_29247

Post by member_29247 »

Raman Saar quote from his visits to BRF

"Soldiers are paid to die"

Soldiers are paid to protect the motherland. Let us not turn on ourselves after this painful loss.

Pathankot: Police reacted late, allowed terrorists a 14-hour headstart - See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-news-india/pathankot-police-reacted-late-allowed-terrorists-a-14-hour-headstart/?utm_content=buffer3606a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer#sthash.ZjCnnUVk.dpuf
The terrorists who attacked the Indian Air Force base in Pathankot before dawn on Saturday had a headstart of several hours from the time the first unusual incidents were reported in that area.

The Punjab government has said that the men who killed taxi driver Ikagar Singh, and later waylaid superintendent of police Salwinder Singh, commandeering his SUV and throwing him and his two companions out, were the same as the ones who attacked the airbase.

The snatching of the Mahindra XUV 500 in which the officer was travelling came to the notice of the Punjab Police about 3 am on Friday. But it was well after 12 hours later that the police reacted — after the body of Ikagar was found a short distance from where the SP’s SUV was intercepted.

A senior military official said the first alert from Punjab Police came in the late afternoon, after which security at all defence installations was ramped up. By the time ADGP (Law & Order) Hardeep Singh Dhillon rushed to Pathankot, ordered searches in the area, and the barricades came up, it was already dark. With alarm bells ringing, the National Security Guard (NSG) was flown to Pathankot late in the evening.

It took the police a long time — and much hesitation — to say that the men behind the two incidents on the Jammu-Pathankot highway may be “possible” terrorists. In the 24 hours that the men appeared to have roamed free in the area, they also called someone in Bahawalpur in Pakistan using the SP’s mobile phone.

Salwinder, the SP (Headquarters) in Gurdaspur who had just been transferred to the 75th battalion of the Punjab Armed Police, was abducted around midnight on December 31, sources in the Punjab Police said. He and his two companions were beaten and tied to trees. They managed to free themselves, and informed the Pathankot police around 3 am on Friday. The police, however, took a long time reacting, possibly because they were not immediately convinced of Salwinder’s story about being waylaid by men in Army fatigues.

It was only after ADGP Dhillon reached Pathankot that the red alert was sounded at 4.30 pm Friday, sources said. “We lost 14 vital hours, and daylight. Had we sounded the alarm sooner, losses could have been minimised,” a police officer said. ADGP Dhillon was not available for a comment.

A retired Punjab Police officer said it was odd that the police failed to react even after a senior police officer had been abducted. Sources said it was possible that had the vehicle not suffered a tyre burst near Tajpur, the terrorists would travelled farther, and could have reached an ammunition dump a few kilometres from Dera Baba Nanak.
- See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... nnUVk.dpuf

Folks, We have the Constructive wallowing thread and the Whine thread in GDF.

We have all facilities for members to avail.

Please go there if you can't control yourself here.
Admins will warn and ban you.
Don't say you were not forewarned.

PS: Every Paki attack we lose members who cant stop the R/D wails.*

Show some fortitude.

* Posting this to avoid such losses.

eklavya wrote:
It's too early to disclose, I would think. First, the full picture (or fuller picture) of the operation has to be put together: who planned it, directed it, etc. Electronic and physical evidence collected and analysed. Then, inevitably, dosa, will be prepared for serving to our friends and enemies. I would love to observe the next conversation Doval has with his Paki counterpart. Then government will have to think of right time, place and method of retaliation. Let the Paki pigs keep worrying. The loss of our lives is too painful, but we must still see this operation as a victory for India.
Last night I went to bed with a heavy heart, hoping that I would wake up to news that 3 Pakistani terrorist camps had been hit by a combination of aerial attacks, Brahmos and spl forces.

The thought comforted me enough to allow me to sleep. Back to reality in the morning

I have not figured out why something like this is not done. Remember the boast regarding Pakistan after the Myanmar spl forces action?

Shiv, We need to look at the SP story in depth. And why was Punjab Police so lax in not going in alert even after Gurdaspur attack. The IGP needs to look into the matter.

Here is where the 1% doctrine would be useful.

Also GPS trackers on Police vehicles in J&K and Punjab to show where they are.

Why was the police SP let go? Initially I thought he was in civilian vehicle turns out its a Police vehicle with blue beacon.

Did he recognize the attackers from previous encounters?

Even after SP report was believed did they believe number of terrorists as 5?

Reports said SP phone was monitored and AFB was identified. So something is not right.

what weapons DSC guards carry?

Spinster wrote:Raman Saar quote from his visits to BRF

"Soldiers are paid to die"
I think OUR soldiers are paid to make sure other side's soldiers die.