Pathankot AirForce base under attack

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Raja Ram

Re: Pathankot AirForce base under attack

Post by Raja Ram »

At the least, this calls for a massive internal security mobilisation operation; sealing of borders and a complete overhaul of SOP of Perimeter Security, Intel inputs management and Operational aspects of Alert Situation Management!

There is no way that any GOI can proceed as if nothing great as happened for sooner rather than later this will repeat itself if not taken seriously. Whatever the politicos talk for the sake of diplomacy etc on the ground there is a need for strong purposeful action.

What happens on the ground with regard to investigation, cracking down on terror modules, Border Management and serious professional Inquiry to fix accountability for lapses is what is important. That is what we should keep a watch on. I believe that this will be taken very seriously. Let us see what happens rather than get worked up by theatrics that is being played by media and the assorted idiots.

gyan ji...u r typical arm chair warrior. if there are 100 DSC gaurds in a station there will be around 60 to 70 weapons onlee... are u expecting the DSC cook to fight with pots and pans ! ulti kutiyapa ..or the cook with run to the armoury when firing starts??

people have their roles/duties laid out... and they do that. now u will complain why did not the sweeper go out to give battle? or the washerman also go out to give battle?

deejay wrote:RV, thanks for the brief.

If the DSC cook house kind of place was hit then it was inside the AFB and if it was from south then it was in the Technical area. In a way, while our air assets were exposed but because they are more dispersed, comparatively safer. Hate to think of the case if residential areas had been hit.<SNIP>
Deejay - I think the government is holding back a lot of information which they seem is important and not required in public domain.

And all our information about attack point is based on one report in Hindu newspaper. Could've been not fully correct. But assuming it was, they attacked at a point closest to the technical area. One can make out the whole magazine area in GE and HAS beyond that.

Another interesting point. A report in The Tribune newspaper gave details that abandoned XUV500 was found in a village west of the base while attack happened to south. If the men got down at the location marked in Red color in the map linked below and attacked from the point marked yellow, they traveled good 3.5 to 4 km by foot.

See the map here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4ZSik ... sp=sharing

It is possible that assault happened in two teams and from two places. One team trekked south and this was eliminated on January 2 while second group lay low and was eliminated post discovery in the combing operations.
Bihanga

Post by Bihanga »

manjgu wrote:gyan ji...u r typical arm chair warrior. if there are 100 DSC gaurds in a station there will be around 60 to 70 weapons onlee... are u expecting the DSC cook to fight with pots and pans ! ulti kutiyapa ..or the cook with run to the armoury when firing starts??
You must better get measure of what exactly you are implying. DSC or NSG or Garuda or Marcos are fully trained in Hand to Hand fighting in Combat. Reality is DSC guards shown a presence of mind in the face naked aggression, DSC Guards or anyother for that matter are aware about their limitation, moreover he had definitaly sighted his mates got Gunned down and accordingly chosen to throw himself towards real danger rather then fleeing for Handgun.

shiv wrote:<SNIP>There is a river running on the east and south of the runway and there are probably multiple nullahs
The river that you see running to east of the base is Chakki River! And the river inside the base is a canal which branches of from a major canal originating in headwords of Ravi river in Madhopur. The whole area is undulating with thick vegetation. Has both wild growth as well as farms. Interestingly, the canal inside the base meant the movement of terrorists was restricted to one zone.
Anyone who thinks terrorists can be weeded out of this kind of terrain easily without danger or casualties has never played a game of hide and seek in his/her life. They were probably mug-pots/nerds/teacher's pets with a high opinion of themselves.

They need to be taught to play hide and seek where the hidden folk have Kalashnikovs

How do they know there weren't TWO or FOUR or N Innovas full of terrorists? The airbase seems to have been a secondary target, selected because they had no choice after the Innova had to be abandoned with flat tire.

Note that Innova is a 7-seater, 8-seater max. Plus guns, grenades, soosai vests, ammo, pictures of Madhuri Dixit and Haseena AtimBum, and mijjiles. Also that there is suspicion that destination was Dilli.

shiv wrote:...

Anyone who thinks terrorists can be weeded out of this kind of terrain easily without danger or casualties has never played a game of hide and seek in his/her life. They were probably mug-pots/nerds/teacher's pets with a high opinion of themselves.

They need to be taught to play hide and seek where the hidden folk have Kalashnikovs
:) True.

Bihanga ji ..with due respect i dont wanna argue abt DSC, no of weapons in armoury, hand to hand combat with u or gyan ji. next time i promise the cook will also fight with pots and pans as well as the washerman and sweeper. have u ever seen a DSC in ur whole life? please spare the cook who was doing his duty.... early in the morning.

This time the retaliation can be Pak army bases. No more covert operations since what they did was hit our airbase. If the Pak army still want to assert they are the boss in Pakistan, then the boss will have to suffer for the attack.

May even be three teams. First one eliminated in initial round up. Second infiltrated semi successfully and fired at unarmed DSC personnel. As all hell broke loose. Lot of casualties could have happened in a bid to quickly contain the second group. Today's firing could be due to third group surfacing as the whole base area was being combed.

Is the operation finally over? Or do the forces suspect additional terrorists holed up somewhere in the vicinity?

CNN IBN is repeatedly broadcasting that the pigs were INSIDE the airbase for 12 hours before the first contact took place and the security forces were unaware of this fact.

The telephone calls made by the pigs were that were tracked were all traced to a location inside the airbase and that is when the alerts went out.

nobody has denied/confirmed these reports so far and press will not dare broadcast this repeatedly and so blatantly unless there are some inputs that can be backed up.

spokies of the GOI, whoever it may be starting from the home minister to the home secy, have all been speaking rubbish and from a weak position of bad inputs.

High time that all were asked to shut the fu(k up and let one well briefed spokesperson handle all the press work.

All GOI/ BJP spokies should shut up about the "talks will continue" nonsense. let the situation evolve and then see how it goes. do not commit and backtrack later as the entire world is watching the situation an pathankot.

Syed Ata Hasnain ‏@atahasnain53 5m5 minutes ago New Delhi, Delhi
Issue arising on FB, who is the Officer in command of the op. With multiple agencies involved command has to be singular.
Correct observation.

Who is incharge?

Top level: NSA, HM, RM, Home Secy?

Field level: IAF WAC or NSG? Who are Garuds reporting to?

Kashi wrote:Is the operation finally over? Or do the forces suspect additional terrorists holed up somewhere in the vicinity?
as per teevee reports currently on, firing is still going on as I post

sushant sareen ‏@sushantsareen 5h5 hours ago
Punjab is a narco state & many, including in govt, are hand in glove with paks. This attack is inconceivable without complicity.
156 retweets 75 likes

Manjgu is arguing that DSC has cook division which only cooks even as fighting goes on right in front of them. I wonder if the rest of DSC also has squads who only sleeps, rests, plays chess and will only fight if required in their assigned shift under proper service conditions. He his unable to accept the concept of All Hands on the Deck.

Just watched Air Force Conference at Aaj Tak.

5 DSC jawan who were martyred were in Cook House and were cooks who were preparing breakfast like everyday. Terrorist killed them and despite being unarmed ( as they were on cooking duty) one of the brave soul managed to kill 1 terrorist from terrorist weapon...
Last edited by nits on 03 Jan 2016 18:23, edited 2 times in total.

sushant sareen ‏@sushantsareen 5h5 hours ago
1993 Bombay blasts a customs guy facilitated explosives consignment. Now narcotics is new currency. Jeweller could be money launderer.
46 retweets 18 likes

Intolerant भारतीय ‏@goyalsanjeev

Shame on @ndtv for crossing-d-line again and telecasting vital #PathankotOps information live.

@colnrkurup #BanNDTV

Bihanga

Post by Bihanga »

manjgu wrote:Bihanga ji ..with due respect i dont wanna argue abt DSC, no of weapons in armoury, hand to hand combat with u or gyan ji. next time i promise the cook will also fight with pots and pans as well as the washerman and sweeper. have u ever seen a DSC in ur whole life? please spare the cook who was doing his duty.... early in the morning.
Ofcourse I never ever seen White House of US President or Dhobi Ghat of Rambo, so atleast you can spare me DSC Garrison. As scenario's panning out on Pathankot airbase, one among we are discussing, DSC Guard in question led by an example in front of certain death to aid Quick response teams, hence I don't need to see entire DSC or their ancestors to understand this basic fact

chetak wrote:CNN IBN is repeatedly broadcasting that the pigs were INSIDE the airbase for 12 hours before the first contact took place and the security forces were unaware of this fact.

The telephone calls made by the pigs were that were tracked were all traced to a location inside the airbase and that is when the alerts went out.

nobody has denied/confirmed these reports so far and press will not dare broadcast this repeatedly and so blatantly unless there are some inputs that can be backed up.

spokies of the GOI, whoever it may be starting from the home minister to the home secy, have all been speaking rubbish and from a weak position of bad inputs.

High time that all were asked to shut the fu(k up and let one well briefed spokesperson handle all the press work.

All GOI/ BJP spokies should shut up about the "talks will continue" nonsense. let the situation evolve and then see how it goes. do not commit and backtrack later as the entire world is watching the situation an pathankot.
Makes sense, I had posted few hours earlier that there are lot of holes in Govt leaked media story. Deejay interpreted the situation independently after Rohit posts. Also explains ashen faces of Home Secretary and other persons in the press conference. Where is RM/DM? Was Home Ministry Babus trying to take charge and got screwed, now lashing out at BSF?

Maybe the modus-operendi is simple. Many groups, first group launches attack, eliminated. Second group then waits till al clear is sounded, gets in and take out high value target that comes after the operation for inspection. OR after few days, when all clear is sounded, security relaxed, guards exhausted, the third group gets in and destroy HVT or IAF equipment OR this is just all distraction and a big one is awaiting happening in Dilli?

Modi ji, get your communication strategy straighten out, for this or any other initiative. Not talking to presstitutes is fine, but not communicating via PMO/spokeperson or IA/IAF is stooooopid. Have a proper strategy, and talk daily/x TIMES AS REQUIRED.

Is 1:1 casualties in an attack on your base with supposedly no element of surprise a good outcome, militarily speaking?

Gyan ji..get ur head examined. I can clearly see u r a budding armchair warrior. No one knows no of terrorists, in how many teams, points of ingress, position of various places like cook house, tech area, entry gates etc. position of DSC, Garuds etc , where is the high wall etc of and the timelines of various activities and yet we are arguing and speculating. more details need to emerge to really understand what happened? Bihanga ji based on ur advice, next time cooks will also go defending with pots and pans. i promise u once again.
Bihanga

Post by Bihanga »

manjgu wrote:Gyan ji..get ur head examined. I can clearly see u r a budding armchair warrior. No one knows no of terrorists, in how many teams, points of ingress, position of various places like cook house, tech area, entry gates etc. position of DSC, Garuds etc , where is the high wall etc of and the timelines of various activities and yet we are arguing and speculating. more details need to emerge to really understand what happened? Bihanga ji based on ur advice, next time cooks will also go defending with pots and pans. i promise u once again.
Promise has been taken respectfully, ultimately operations ranging COIN, skrimishes and encounter as happening on Pathankot airbase has been fought and answered by Brave souls with little regard for Self. Ultimately Cook or Sweeper, DSC Guard shown what he is all about.

We have 28 Casualties/killed against 4 killed terrorists inspite of Having advance warning. The killed unarmed DSC would have been cooking without any guards or Without even one side arm BECAUSE they were unaware that base had been infiltrated. My guess is that as NSG and IAF rushed to contain breach, lot of casualties were suffered.

Another question :- The SUV vala SP could not count the number of terrorists?

Or

There were multiple infiltrations and terrorists are 6-10 in 3-5 groups.

Or

Terrorists were able to infiltrate technical area and caught the base unaware. How? Aircraft were far off but we suffered lot of causalities. They are even able to exfilterate and now attempt is being made to corner them in heavily forested area.

Or

The fancy C-130 and even Mi-35 could not detect terrorists and directed teams towards false alarms?

Manju ji as we are arm chair warriors, what is your rank in the Armed forces?

A_Gupta wrote:Is 1:1 casualties in an attack on your base with supposedly no element of surprise a good outcome, militarily speaking?
A Gupta ji, all mil evaluation / benchmarks fail in case of fidayeen / suicide attacks. Generally speaking there is no casualty standard for measurement of success but to gain conventional superiority in conflcit a 3:1 ratio is felt sufficient in terms of troops deployed not in terms of losses. In terms of suicide attacks these calculations do not hold.

ny fathers good frnd Late.. Wg Cdr SK Singh was in pathankot during 1965 . He was awarded VrC for capturing paki SSG para . Used to come to our house often. I asked him as a kid what happened. he said he went into the fields and bumped the SSG with the butt of his rifle, as he could not shoot properly ..had not practised firing for long ( as he was an Accounts officer). but it was more out of saving his own life rather than anything else... what a man..if eyes could kill he could by merely looking !! his son used to sport a captured SSG backpack ( made in USA)... very sturdy thing. Only if the political elite and IAS babus show even half the steel of DSC and others.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

^ Oh yes now the IAS officers are guilty of the attack and not the bakistani terrorists and their ideology.

i am also a arm chair warrior like u without the habit of talking from the rear end !! enuf said. Avinash R... political elite/IAS have to show steel to meet this threat ..1000 yrs since Qasim and 35 years since menace of terrorism and yet we are clueless how to deal with pakis !!

This time the retaliation can be Pak army bases. No more covert operations since what they did was hit our airbase. If the Pak army still want to assert they are the boss in Pakistan, then the boss will have to suffer for the attack.
Are you sure that the *real boss* is Pak Army and that they are doing all this without any assurances from someone several thousand miles away providing a guarantee that India will not be allowed (or discouraged) to attack?
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

manjgu wrote:i am also a arm chair warrior like u without the habit of talking from the rear end !! enuf said. Avinash R... political elite/IAS have to show steel to meet this threat ..1000 yrs since Qasim and 35 years since menace of terrorism and yet we are clueless how to deal with pakis !!
First of all, our Babu log are poor communicators....We need a professional spokesperson... and not just push the Babu infront of a mike and get slaughtered by the press...we need more Mike McCurry types. Syed Akbaruddin was one of the best India had in a long time...

skaranam..totally agree. but what even a good communicator can do if words are not matched by deeds. we can promise revenge, retirbution , nani yadd dilla denge, brick se brick baja denge... but words are cheap. talk softly carry a big stick ..someone said long ago

looks like there are quite a few number of sleeper cells inside India that the ISI can activate at short notice
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

manjgu wrote:Avinash R... political elite/IAS have to show steel to meet this threat ..
And how exactly do you expect "IAS to show steel"?
manjgu wrote:1000 yrs since Qasim and 35 years since menace of terrorism and yet we are clueless how to deal with pakis !!
Who is this "we" you are talking about? The sarkar and the babulog are well versed in the ideology of pakistaniyat and have grinded down the jihadi heroes into zeroes with the terror chiefs now reduced to begging the babus for sifarish to admit their sons & daughters into indian professional schools rather than sending them to become fidayeen.

ANI ‏@ANI_news 28m28 minutes ago
At one hand I have lost him but on the other hand he has made us feel proud: Sister of NSG Lt Col Niranajan Kumar
ANI ‏@ANI_news 30m30 minutes ago
I look at him as Arjuna who fought for his 'karmabhoomi': Sister of NSG Lt Col Niranajan Kumar who lost his life in #Pathankot terror attack

dont u have example of MSA....uninterruped and uninterruptible types.... the babus are taking this country down alongwith the netas..this is not the place to explain all..all of us know the truth. I was in Vizag recently and met a senior vice admiral ... he was lamenting the way the previous Def Sec was screwing up all accquisitions..who is now the CAG. WE is the decision making apparatus of this country... the political/babu elite.