Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2015

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Falijee

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2

Post by Falijee »

The Express Tribune > Business
Pakistan is a safe country, good business destination: Canadian parliamentarian :roll:
LAHORE:
Canada is keen to further strengthen economic ties with Pakistan as it is a safe country and a good business destination for foreigners, said Leader of Opposition and head of delegation of the legislative assembly of Ontario, Canada, Patrick Brown.
The Pakis are probably not aware, that this gentleman, a seasoned conservative politician, is a personal friend of Modi-ji, and one of the best friends India has in the Canadian provincial legislature :rotfl:

Karachi got off light?
Terrormonitor.org ‏@Terror_Monitor now4 hours ago
#PAKISTAN
4 Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan (#TTP) Militants Planning Suicide Attack Arrested In #Karachi - Report.
Terrormonitor.org ‏@Terror_Monitor now4 hours ago
#PAKISTAN
#UPDATE
Arrested #TTP Men In #Karachi-
1 Hanif alias 'Nadeem Kala'
2 Ashraf Ali alias 'Bhaloo'
3 Rehmat Shah
4 Zahid Hussain

Disgraceful that during the watch of the BJP led Government of our Prime Minister Narendra Modi, an Economic Migrant from the Islamic Republic of Pakistan like Adnan Sami has been granted the privilege of Indian Citizenship while Hindu’s fleeing Mohammadden religious persecution in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan are yet to be granted India Citizenship:

It’s a sad ghar wapsi for Pakistani Hindus
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

arun wrote:Disgraceful that during the watch of the BJP led Government of our Prime Minister Narendra Modi, an Economic Migrant from the Islamic Republic of Pakistan like Adnan Sami has been granted the privilege of Indian Citizenship while Hindu’s fleeing Mohammadden religious persecution in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan are yet to be granted India Citizenship:

It’s a sad ghar wapsi for Pakistani Hindus
This is a hit job. Please google for the GoI notification on passport related issues for persecuted minorities from Pakistan and Bangladesh before jumping to conclusions.

It is a known fact that MSM, as it exists today, live to twist facts. And still, seasoned BRF posters and lurkers fall for the same b/s time and again!

rajithn wrote:And still, seasoned BRF posters and lurkers fall for the same b/s time and again!
Fact – Adnan Sami an economic immigrant has been granted Indian Citizenship.

Fact – The Hindu Migrants have not been granted Citizenship.

Fact- Whatever other notification there is out there has not kicked in in the Hindu Migrant case mentioned in the article.

Fact – I do not consider you to have oracular powers that bestows on you the privilege to make unsupported claims that others, in particular I, are credulous followers of “bullshit”.

Bangladesh expelled a Paki diplomat and Pakis returned the compliment. Haseena shows the way

India should allow minority community nationals to stay, not necessarily force a change of citizenship, which may cause them to lose property claims in Pakistan or Bangladesh.

http://pib.nic.in/newsite/PrintRelease. ... lid=126688
Exemptions to minority community nationals from Bangladesh and Pakistan in regularization of their entry and stay in India
07-September-2015 19:47 IST

The Central Government has decided, on humanitarian considerations, to exempt Bangladeshi and Pakistani nationals belonging to minority communities who have entered into India on or before 31st December, 2014 from the relevant provisions of rules and order made under the Passport (Entry into India) Act, 1920 and the Foreigners Act, 1946, in respect of their entry and stay in India without such documents or after the expiry of those documents, as the case may be. The Central Government has accordingly issued two notifications in the Official Gazette today under the Passport (Entry into India) Act, 1920 and the Foreigners Act, 1946.

There are reports that a number of Bangladeshi and Pakistani nationals belonging to minority communities in those countries, such as Hindus, Sikhs, Christians, Jains, Parsis and Buddhists, were compelled to seek shelter in India due to religious persecution or fear of religious persecution. They have entered into India either without any valid document including passport/ other travel document or with valid documents but the validity of such document has expired.

The issue of regularization of entry and stay of such Bangladeshi and Pakistani nationals in India has been under consideration of the Central Government.

X Posted from the “Pakistan Nuclear Proliferation” Thread.

US Senator Ron Johnson in an interview by Wolf Blitzer on CNN program “The Situation Room” says the Islamic Republic of Pakistan could sell a nuclear weapon to Saudi Arabia:
THE SITUATION ROOM

Interview With Wisconsin Senator Ron Johnson; ……………………….

Aired January 4, 2016 - 18:00 ET ………………………………….

BLITZER: Given the tensions right now, Senator, between Iran and Saudi Arabia, there is concern. I know it from sources that I have spoken to. The Saudis may, when all is said and done, simply go out, not necessarily even develop or build a nuclear bomb, but just buy one maybe from Pakistan. They certainly have the cash to do so.

Is that really credible?

JOHNSON: It certainly was a concern of many of us that opposed the Iran nuclear agreement, was that this could actually produce a proliferation of a nuclear arms race within the Middle East. And I think that is certainly a real risk that we have to take into account.

Saudi has good relationships with Pakistan. They could just buy a weapon and again further destabilize the Middle East.
From Here:

CNN
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

arun wrote:
Fact – Adnan Sami an economic immigrant has been granted Indian Citizenship.

Fact – The Hindu Migrants have not been granted Citizenship.

Fact- Whatever other notification there is out there has not kicked in in the Hindu Migrant case mentioned in the article.

Fact – I do not consider you to have oracular powers that bestows on you the privilege to make unsupported claims that others, in particular I, are credulous followers of “bullshit”.
A simple google search would have shown you the real story:

I don't need oracular powers at all to claim that people fall for bullshit! You did. Period.

The notification you posted has nothing to do with granting Indian Citizenship which is what the article I posted and what my comment thereon was about. Go back and carefully read my post and the article I posted, then read what the notification you posted says. Which mentions Indian Citizenship and which does not?

I still do not consider you to have oracular powers that bestows on you the privilege to make unsupported claims that others, in particular I, are credulous followers of “bullshit”.

Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2

Chinmayanand wrote:Is it anything that we import from Turkey ?
Chinmayanand Ji:

From the Indian Ministry of Commerce and Industry site :

Trade with Turkey 2014-2015 :

Indian Exports to Turkey – US$ 5.35892 : Rank 13th

Indian Imports from Turkey - US$ 1.46387 : Rank 43rd

Dr. C. Christine Fair on Twitter :roll: :

"Pakistan is just a mamuli rand..not even a tawaiff who has actual artistic skills."

From here:

Clicky
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Doing Business Index 2016: Bakistan's ranking declines
January 06, 2016 MUHAMMAD SALEEM
Bakistan's ranking has declined further to 138th out of 189 economies in Doing Business Index 2016 as announced by the World Bank Group. Pakistan was ranked 136th in 2015. The factors considered for the rankings included starting a business, dealing with construction permits, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting minority investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and resolving insolvency.

One of the important factors determining "ease" in doing business is enforcing contracts. This indicator measures the time and cost for resolving a commercial dispute through a local first-instance court. The group believes that efficient contract enforcement is essential to economic development and sustained growth.

Pakistan was ranked 69th in 2007, 74th in 2008, 85th in 2009 and 2010, 83rd in 2011, 105th in 2012, 107th in 2013, 110th in 2014, 136th in 2015 and 138th in 2016. "The government itself has become leader in creating hindrance for contract enforcement factor, so how it can attract foreign direct investment in Pakistan, especially in power sector and privatisation," said Syed Intazar Mahdi, Secretary of Law Society, NGO working for the rule of law in Pakistan.

"Pakistan's ranking was 61st in 2006. Now see where we stand today, and how our governments played their roles to get this ranking further down instead of making it better. This is really alarming," he added. Pakistan is struggling even under China Pakistan Economic Corridor arrangements because the cornerstone of security documents for such projects is the Government of Pakistan's sovereign guarantee.

Mahdi further said, "Pakistan will not attract good size of foreign investment until and unless it improves on contract enforcement factor through proper legislation and enforcement institutions. However, it is unfortunate that even with such institutions and proper legislations, businesses are still a target of political victimisation." He further said that it is high time the government should stop dishonouring contracts and agreements it has entered with local and foreign investors, otherwise the global rankings of the country on the ease of doing business index will suffer further making the country unattractive for foreign investments.
You can never trust the word of a mawali.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Bakistan to raise special battalion to protect chinese pork
SPECIAL MARINE BATTALION TO PROTECT GWADAR PORT, CHINESE
Port main destination of CPEC

Wednesday, January 06, 2016 - Karachi—Pakistan Navy has increased all-round surveillance at Gwadar Port with the commencement of China-Pakistan Economic Corridor project.

“A special Marine Battalion has been raised for security of Gwadar, Chinese engineers and delegates visiting the port,” a Pakistan Navy spokesperson said.

“Gwadar, the main destination of the CPEC, will be linked with China’s western region through a rail and road network,” the spokesperson added. He further asserted that Gwadar Port is the ‘backbone’ of CPEC and the Pakistan Navy making strenuous efforts for ensuring comprehensive security for foreigners as well as locals.

The CPEC has been termed a window of opportunity for the country to boost its economy and is set to become an economic hub connecting the Middle East with Central Asia.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif last month inaugurated the western corridor of the multibillion-dollar CPEC as he broke ground on upgradation of two vital arteries, Zhob-Mughal Kot (N-50) and Qila Saifullah-Wagum (N-70).

The CPEC is a 3,000-kilometer network of roads, railways and pipelines to transport oil and gas from Gwadar Port to Kashgar city, northwestern China’s Xinjiang Uygur autonomous region.

Proposed by Chinese prime minister during his visit to Pakistan in May 2013, the CPEC will act as a bridge for the new Maritime Silk Route that envisages linking three billion people in Asia, Africa and Europe. An official agreement on the corridor was signed between the two countries in May this year during Chinese President Xi Jinping’s historic visit to Pakistan.
http://pakobserver.net/detailnews.asp?id=284651
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

My tweet to Namo. A bit harsh but no regrets.
"Pakistan ko usike bhasha me jawab dena chahiye, ye love letter likhna bandh karo" @narendramodi when will this happen?

-M
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

---DELETED DUPLICATE----
Last edited by Mihaylo on 06 Jan 2016 21:46, edited 2 times in total.

Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan-Nov 21, 2015

SBP freezes bank accounts of Rs1 bn over terror-funding charges
SLAMABAD: The State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) has frozen bank accounts of over Rs1 billion as they were allegedly being used for financing terrorism.

This was disclosed by Governor SBP, Ashraf Wathra and his team at a press conference here on Wednesday.

Wathra said 121 bank accounts of more than Rs 1 billion were frozen over evidence of being used for funding terrorist activities in the light of a resolution of United Nations Security Council (UNSC).
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

..and my tweet to MP..again no regrets.

"Our army of 13 lakhs is not to preach peace" If not now, then when @manoharparrikar ? @DPR
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

ISLOOS, PINDIITES SUFFER BITING COLD AS GAS LOADSHEDDING ASSUMES WORST SHAPE
Zubair Qureshi

Wednesday, January 06, 2016 - Islamabad/Rawalpindi—After Monday’s snowfall in Murree and drizzling in the twin cities, temperature dropped so did the gas pressure leaving the residents of the twin cities at the mercy of Almighty in this biting cold. Various sectors of Islamabad, particularly G, H and I series are virtually without gas supply and the housewives are compelled to use either electric heaters or kerosene oil stoves to cook daily food. In order to keep their houses warmer, some citizens have purchased electric heaters but they too cannot properly warm their houses due to persistent power loadshedding.

In terms of gas and power loadshedding people are seeing little difference between the governments of Mian Nawaz Sharif and Asif Zardari and according to them in both governments, power and gas loadshedding could not be controlled.

In Pindi, the gas crisis is worsening day by day and domestic consumers of various localities in Potohar Town are facing troubles due to low or zero gas pressure.

Consumers of Mumtaz Market, Dhama Syedan, Ali Town, Hill View, Munawar Colony, Jarahi, Kehkashan Colony, Gulshanabad, Kalyal, Shahpur, Jorian, Maira, Rasoolabad Sharif, Dhoke Imam Din, Iqbal Town, Ashraf Colony, Gulshan-e-Saeed, Lalazar, Dhamial, Bank Colony, Hayyal, Bunda, Nagyal and adjacent localities have been facing great problems due to low or zero pressure of gas in their houses.

While talking to Pakistan Observer, they protested against unannounced gas loadshedding and low pressure of gas that too at the start of winter season, which is affecting their routine life.

Khadim Hussain, a resident of Sadiqabad, said he had lodged complaint with SNGPL high-ups but no action was taken. “It has become even difficult for house wives to prepare tea/breakfast in morning as there is no gas available in stoves,” he said.

“There is no gas for domestic use despite closure of CNG stations in the region. The government is doing little to overcome the crisis,” said Siddique Khan, a resident of Dhok Chaudhryan. Gas pressure is too low to make our life easy and warm. My family is in trouble in cold weather, he said.

A number of protesters saw gas pressure a design of the SNGPL to provide full pressure to the influential people. Localities and sectors where such VIPs live gas loadshedding is brief, they said.

Besides, they alleged gas loadshedding was being done to provide full gas pressure to the owners of few furnaces business which was unjust and like depriving the citizens of their basic right.

They demanded that Sui gas should be supplied to them at proper pressure or else they will be forced to surround the gas office. In Islamabad’s E-11 and G-11 sectors too, gas loadshedding has assumed worst shape and the families complain of low gas pressure especially during morning time when children are preparing to go to schools.
PAKISTAN TO IMPORT 100MW ELECTRICITY FROM IRAN THIS MONTH
Wednesday, 06 January 2016 16:19 Posted by Parvez Jabri

ISLAMABAD: Iran would become a major energy exporter to Pakistan with the increase of 100MW electricity import this month.

The two countries were considering another two projects, involving import of 1,000MW of power which could get up to 3,000MW of electricity from its western neighbor, Khaleej Times reported.

Khaleej Times quoting Pakistan's Foreign Office said, Pakistan currently imports 74MW of electricity from Iran for its coastal Makran division.

It further said that the two countries were in the process of finalizing a deal for the construction of phase-1 of the Iran-Pakistan gas pipeline project.

In the first phase, a pipeline would be laid from Gwadar to Nawabshah while in the second phase, Pakistan would work on the 80-km-long stretch of the pipeline linking it with the Iranian border.

The Foreign Office further said that both countries have also agreed to set up two additional border crossing points Mand-Pishin and Gadb-Reemdan.

The crossing point at Gadb-Reemdan would reduce the distance between Gwadar deep-sea port to Iran's Chabahar, it concluded.
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Top News
Pemra issues guidelines on Iran-Saudi row :roll:
Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) on Wednesday directed all media houses to be ‘cautious’ and follow rules set by the body while discussing the Iran-Saudi Arabia standoff.
“It has been observed that some TV channels are trying to make the issue more controversial instead of remaining neutral and addressing it professionally,” read the statement released by the authority.
After a long tenure as a Saudi lapdog, and also a "reserve army", for the Saudi Monarchy, the Pakis have now shifted gear and are now hedging their bets and are now portraying themselves as a honest broker in this inter -Umma tussle. One reason, of course , the blow back from the Paki Shias if the media becomes too Anti Shia and the expected blow back from the hardcore Sunni extremes, if Saudia is criticized. Caught right in the middle (between a rock and a hard place )! :mrgreen:
The regulatory body also maintained that some of the programmes aired after the recent Saudi-Iran row also used words that might have hurt sentiments of various communities and sects living in the country, clearly breaching the National Action Plan (NAP).
Too much said against the Saudi Abbu, will definitely have financial implication; anything said against Iran, will invite the wrath of the local Shias ! (but everyone in Pakiland, knows whether Badmash`s sympathies lie) .
Pemra has also advised the broadcasters that since violating ‘Pemra Act section 29 30’ is a crime, they should take extra caution when debating topics that might damage friendly relations with our neighboring countries and others.
The press statement released by the regulatory body also includes directives for electronic media as set by the Supreme Court.
The directives clearly state that no content should be aired which might hurt the sentiments of any community, religious group, disturb the harmony among them, or fall under the hate-speech against any sect.

Muppalla wrote:Here is my two part article on the Indo-Pak tangle. Everything learnt from BRF over years:

https://www.myind.net/modi-extremely-ri ... -narrative
https://www.myind.net/modi-extremely-ri ... rrative-II
Great job.

I hope more members get inspired and write such articles to spread the knowledge gained here.

Muppalla wrote:Here is my two part article on the Indo-Pak tangle. Everything learnt from BRF over years:

https://www.myind.net/modi-extremely-ri ... -narrative
https://www.myind.net/modi-extremely-ri ... rrative-II
Muppalla-ji,
Nice article which captures the state of Indo-Pak problem well except for your rationalizing the reason for recent detente in relations. I am not sure that the gamble Modi is playing relates to gas pipelines. Pakistan is an islamic idealogical state. It has to be in a state of enemity with India. Otherwise its ideology of islam being the only glue will wither resulting in the country breaking up into multiple nations. There is just no way Pakistan can have normal relations with India and relegate contentious issues to the back burner. This is the kool-aid fed by West that is consumed and propagated by our secular dimwits that economic relations between India and Pakistan will resolve our problems.

With respect to Pakistan, there is no option for India other than to go for the kill. We will solve the Paki problem only when Pakistan in its current form ceases to exist. I for one do not believe Modiji is naive. What caused Modi to initiate the recent dialogue with Pakistan (which as you rightly terms is a gamble) is something that we are not yet able to understand. No reason given yet stands up to scrutiny.

Take the below note as a constructive criticism of your article from a well wisher.
I enjoyed one of your previous articles where you very rightly pointed out (before any of our MSM fellows) the reason for Modi's visits to various countries was to establish nuclear energy security as all those countries were key players in NSG. That magic was missing in this article. You did not make a compelling case for why the pipeline will be critical enough for Modi to place it above the deep rooted ideological differences that drive Pakistan. That said, your articles do inspire me that to make informed commentary on strategic matters, one does not need to be a full time analyst or an IFS type babu. Keep writing away!

Pipeline is only thing that powers that run the kabila will benefit directly and can provide the access and security.
Its all within their sphere of influence.

My question earlier to Jhujar was the inequitable division of spoils a reason for the terrorist attack.

sukish jumped in and it got lost.

Ramanaji,
Self preservation and sustenance is a higher motivator than money. Peace with India will result in disintegration of Paki army control and Pakistan itself. USA has been trying to bribe Pakis and getting stabbed in the back for more times than one can count. Even if one faction were to be bought, there will be 10 other factions which will work to sabotage it and as a result trying to buy off Pakis will not work in the long term.

arun wrote:^^^

The notification you posted has nothing to do with granting Indian Citizenship which is what the article I posted and what my comment thereon was about. Go back and carefully read my post and the article I posted, then read what the notification you posted says. Which mentions Indian Citizenship and which does not?

I still do not consider you to have oracular powers that bestows on you the privilege to make unsupported claims that others, in particular I, are credulous followers of “bullshit”.
Adnan Sami applied for citizenship after living in India for several years, and it was granted, after, IIRC having been rejected once, and after Pakistan refused to renew his passport (meaning there was some urgency to treat him as a special case, otherwise he would have become stateless.)

Do we have information on how many Pakistani Hindus living in India applied for citizenship and what the outcome was? We would need that information before asserting that Pakistani Hindu migrants to India are treated worse than Adnan Sami by the Modi government.

The notification at least shows that the Modi government has taken a compassionate attitude towards Pakistani Hindus, so it is an indication of how their citizenship application is treated, so yes, it does have some relevance to the issue you raised.

xpost from Korea thread:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 475761.cms
NEW DELHI: Without naming Pakistan India Wednesday reiterated its concerns over proliferation links between North-East Asia and its neighbourhood soon after North Korea claimed to have tested a thermonuclear device. Pyongyang stunned the world by declaring that it had successfully tested a hydrogen bomb.

As it called upon North Korea to refrain from such actions which adversely impact peace and stability in the region, the government said, ``Our concerns about proliferation links between North-East Asia and our neighbourhood are well-known".

Do we have information on how many Pakistani Hindus living in India applied for citizenship and what the outcome was? We would need that information before asserting that Pakistani Hindu migrants to India are treated worse than Adnan Sami by the Modi government.

The notification at least shows that the Modi government has taken a compassionate attitude towards Pakistani Hindus, so it is an indication of how their citizenship application is treated, so yes, it does have some relevance to the issue you raised.
When a posted article and what is said asserts that a particular group of Hindu’s in Gujarat was treated worse than Adnan Sami specifically in the matter of grant of India Citizenship, then we must recognize that we should not take it to refer to any other group of people nor should we take it to claim that it does refer to a matter other than grant of Indian Citizenship.

Likewise when a notification posted is silent on granting Indian Citizenship we cannot take it as a definitive pronouncement on how an Indian citizenship application may be treated.

It ill behoves us to disparage a comment as falling for “bullshit” without addressing the specifics of that comment but instead bring in matters not specifically addressed. That is illogical and plain rude and must be challenged robustly by us, most will agree. And no it was not you that was rude or disparaging it is clarified.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Old News but seems BR missed this important event

1962, the riddle
Hopefully, in 2016, India-Pakistan will break some of the shackles of the past
Written by Khaled Ahmed
Published:Dec 19, 2015, 0:00

In October, Pakistan’s most popular TV presenter, Kamran Khan, spent 30 minutes on air protesting then-President General Ayub Khan’s betrayal of Pakistan for not attacking India when the latter was fighting its border war with China in 1962. He got on the line General Ayub Khan’s son, ex-foreign minister Gohar Ayub, and asked why his father, as president of Pakistan and chief of the Pakistan army, had got cowed by the US and its allies into losing a great opportunity to defeat India and recapture Kashmir, which India had illegally annexed.

Gohar Ayub, himself an ex-army man, latched on to military strategy that he thought did not favour attacking India, and rebuked Kamran Khan for “not doing his homework”. The discussion became a hostile exchange. The TV anchor lost his cool and suddenly cut Gohar Ayub off. It’s not unusual to see anchors losing objectivity when speaking from the high ground of nationalism. It’s often stated by “patriotic” commentators that 1962 was a good time to bushwhack India, as it tried to execute a poorly organised operation against the Chinese troops on its northern border. The result of that conflict was interpreted as India’s defeat. It’s considered quite normal today to recommend, in hindsight, an opportunist sally by Pakistan in 1962 to get even with its arch enemy.

It developed that Kamran Khan was inspired by former CIA official Bruce Riedel’s latest book, JFK’s Forgotten Crisis: Tibet, the CIA and the Sino-Indian War, which seeks to reveal that China had proposed that Ayub Khan join in attacking India, presumably for the “trophy” of Kashmir. It isn’t strange that a Pakistani nationalist would fall for this easy military solution despite Sun Tzu’s famous saying that no war ever goes according to plan. Ayub Khan, who was to attack India three years later anyway — and not with any success — did something in 1962 he thought was cleverer: He demanded Kashmir from the US in return for not attacking India! According to Riedel, President John F. Kennedy, siding with India instead of against an increasingly powerful China, offered India $500 million as military assistance. But this plan was scuttled by Kennedy’s assassination.

Strangely, the 1962 India-China war pleased no one. On the Indian side, Jawaharlal Nehru himself admitted, “We were getting out of touch with reality in the modern world and we were living in an artificial atmosphere of our creation”. On the Pakistani side, there was hand-wringing in hindsight over not attacking India in lockstep with China, Pakistan’s “all-weather” friend. Pakistan had another beef, against the US, for not coming out on the side of its ally in the defence pacts Cento and Seato — the latter against China! — and for not coming out against non-aligned India.

There was another US-caused event that made some in India and Pakistan equally unhappy — the 1960 Indus Waters Treaty. The world says this treaty is a model arrangement for states bothered by water-based conflicts. Few “dominant”, upper riparian states have a treaty granting rights to lower riparian states. Pakistan is often told it’s lucky it has a water treaty with India. However, in times of bilateral tension, there are Indian critics of the treaty who recommend its denunciation. But it’s difficult to understand why there should be so many critics of it in Pakistan saying, “Ayub Khan sold our rivers for American dollars.” Somehow, America has to be interpreted as the villain by both with regard to the Indus treaty, although logically, one is stumped how both parties can accuse each other of being beneficiaries at each other’s cost. Both Nehru and Ayub are pilloried for two events — the 1962 war and the Indus treaty of 1960.

If you removed your TV anchor’s partisan goggles, you could see it was wise on Ayub’s part not to attack India in 1962. China, too, didn’t attack India in 1971, when East Pakistan became Bangladesh after an India-Pakistan faceoff. Pakistan was wrong in touching off the 1965 and 1999 conflicts with India after drawing the wrong lessons from 1962. The 1960 waters treaty has survived Indo-Pak conflicts. It’s tragic that because of the TV anchor type of chauvinism, the waters treaty is often challenged — and cases brought against upriver India for “stealing water” fail in arbitration.

The Cold War is over. From the global to the regional is the trajectory South Asia must begin to understand. Cold-War handouts are no longer available to Pakistan, which always suspected the US of having “its own designs” while supporting Islamabad. India is the core of South Asia and its economic outreach across the region must give rise to the new pax. But things have gone wrong so far. One always thought that Pakistan would be “corrected” by the example of India, but India was “corrected” by the example of Pakistan. Then one thought Bangladesh would “correct” Pakistan through its success as a “secular” state; but Bangladesh, too, was “corrected” by the example of Pakistan.

The good signs can be read today in India’s changing equation with China; and in Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s “soft” approach towards his Indian counterpart Narendra Modi, despite his excoriation by the media over the Ufa “declaration of surrender to India”. Suddenly, the year 2016 looks good for the India-Pakistan equation and for peace in South Asia.
https://youtu.be/9iWpK9o5TBk?t=1340

Discussion starts at 22:20

ramana wrote:Pipeline is only thing that powers that run the kabila will benefit directly and can provide the access and security.
Its all within their sphere of influence.

My question earlier to Jhujar was the inequitable division of spoils a reason for the terrorist attack.

sukish jumped in and it got lost.
Ramana Ji, JMT..
I think in the Kabila called Pakistan, Division of spoils is very well defined. Terrorist organizations collect all the charities and Hafta on the ground.
Political parties cover their expenses from the immense corruption in Paki Govt and loans from IMF and 3.75 Abbu while Business makes money from no tax,access to western/ME markets and monopoly in whatever field they are operating in.
Rest everything including narcotics, arms smuggling,Logistics, Jaziya by western Govts,Bakhsheesh by Arabs and paybacks goes to Army.
If the pipeline ever is made and runs thru Pakistan, Terror groups will get protection money, Govt of Pakistan will get transist fee which in turn will be used to bloat defense budget while business gets to construct it with local labor so in my opinion, everyone in Pakistan gets some share from the Pipeline.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Could it be that Army in TSP itself now is acting as different islands (e.g. each GoC runs his own fiefdom and patronizes his own fav. terror groups depending upon the sect and geographical location) and left hand of Raheel is squeezing his own b@lls while Right hand is b!tch slapping him because left hand doesnot know what right hand is doing.
Just like any Paki COAS likes to announce his arrival by orchestrating a big terror event against Bharat and a trip to Mecca, nowadays these silos within the army are announcing their arrival by low level terror events in India, something akin to Mughal Princelings in far away regions declaring revolts against Mughal Darbar and then making their peace once demands were met or revolt snuffed out.

why are many Indians hell bent on making the paki POV??

the ISI paid press, "civil" society which basically means people with a taste and voracious appetite for phookat fine scotch, fine food and alluring paki women/men, WKK and a lot of jobless "retired" military/diplomutts who have become addicted to paid panel discussions and alleged "international" conferences of the Fai sponsored variety, now playing out in different formats after the exposure of Fai and his ISI funded ventures, have all become instrumental in selling the paki views .

There is already a lootyen's inspired presstitute movement demanding that the GOI to deal directly with the paki army.

and now this is, albeit speculatively, being split further to individual GOCs and their fiefdoms.

The paki army is/was/never will be on board for talks and good relations with India. screw them.

the pakis replaced their NSA with an army guy not because they wanted a direct conduit to the Indian establishment but because they did not trust the previous NSA and the paki civilian govt to take care of their (paki army) interests. so they have put their own man in to mind to store.

naive but well meaning Indians, (who are otherwise intelligent) seem to have jumped in with both feet screaming at the top of their voices that this only means that the paki army is on board and how we should not miss this once in a lifetime golden opportunity to hand over cashmere and all else on their fraudulent agenda, to them, on a proverbial plate . This is as always, self delusional BS.

India has to chart an independent course keeping the Indian national interests supreme in every conceivable scenario.

Modi and Doval are experimenting with some out of the box options and they should be supported on merits but in the end we seem to always miss the correct reading of their interpretation of the supreme paki national interests and go out of our way to try and accommodate them. ABV embarked on this perilous path with disastrous results for all to see.

That, the pakis and their over ground champions in dilli/cashmere are constantly harping on the bygone ABV model and insisting that the Modi govt follow in the same (flawed) footsteps should warn us to the dangers of such irrationally accommodating policies and the very thought of it should be avoided like the plague.

mehabooba mufti is a hardliner and she will introduce a toxicity into the cashmere mix like never seen before.

Avinash R wrote:1962, the riddle
Hopefully, in 2016, India-Pakistan will break some of the shackles of the past
Written by Khaled Ahmed

In October, Pakistan’s most popular TV presenter, Kamran Khan, spent 30 minutes on air protesting then-President General Ayub Khan’s betrayal of Pakistan for not attacking India when the latter was fighting its border war with China in 1962. He got on the line General Ayub Khan’s son, ex-foreign minister Gohar Ayub, and asked why his father, as president of Pakistan and chief of the Pakistan army, had got cowed by the US and its allies into losing a great opportunity to defeat India and recapture Kashmir, which India had illegally annexed.
That guy Kamran Khan and many other Pakistanis who have a similar grouse against FM Ayub Khan for failing to attack India in 1962 along with China forget many things. The Pak-China relationship then was not like what it subsequently became. One can't use current prism to look at a past event. Pakistan joined SEATO which was considered by China as encirclement, Pakistan consistently voted against inclusion of PRC in the UN, supported British in the Suez crisis, opposed Soviet invasion of Hungary, condemned Chinese actions in Tibet etc. There were even border skirmishes between Pakistani Army & PLA, The turning point was in 1963 when Pakistan ceded Indian territory to China to conclude the land boundary deal. Pakistan was receiving a substantial US military aid at that time and China was a pauper country. Continuing to be a SEATO country, Pakistan could not have sided with Communist China to attack India without the US cutting off aid. Pakistan was not prepared for that because it thought that with the Pattons, Sabres etc, it could defeat India in Kashmir and annexe it. These war machines needed continued American support for maintenance, ammunition and replacement. What could poor China offer?

New beginning: India and Pakistan NSAs spoke within hours of Pathankot attack - Pranab Dhal Samanta, Economic Times
The national security advisers of India and Pakistan spoke to each other within hours of the Pathankot terror strike last Saturday, making it, perhaps, the first time that both sides had touched base immediately after a terror attack in India.

Under what's already being loosely called the 'Bangkok mechanism', reliable sources told ET, NSA Ajit Doval had until Wednesday already held three detailed telephonic conversations with his Pakistan counterpart Lt Gen (retd) Nasser Khan Janjua, besides exchanging numerous messages.

This, sources said, was in line with the process that had been agreed upon at Bangkok. According to that understanding, the two NSAs would get in touch with each other immediately after any terror attack to avoid any miscommunication. Also, they would share any necessary real-time information that would help track down perpetrators through this channel to ensure timely action.

As a result, Doval is believed to have shared relevant information with his Pakistan counterpart on the Pathankot attack for investigations at the Pakistan end. India is hopeful that some result will emerge soon enough for the foreign secretary-level talks to take place in a conducive environment. Further, it's learnt that the NSA-level talk is what eventually helped lay the grounds for Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to call up Prime Minister Narendra Modi and assure him of all cooperation on the investigation.

Islamabad is keen that the Pathankot incident does not derail the peace initiative. This is the first time that India and Pakistan have tried to speak directly to each other after a terrorist attack, share evidence and move jointly. Earlier efforts like the Joint Anti Terror Mechanism, agreed upon after the Mumbai train bombings, had failed to take off. But that did not entail real time exchange of information. These were structured meetings that aimed at taking stock of evidence put on the table.

The Mechanism met only twice with both sides ending up talking past each other. After the 26/11 Mumbai attacks, the US played a major intermediary role in ensuring investigations on the Pakistan side. This was largely because the Federal Bureau of Investigation was involved in the investigations as US citizens were also killed in the attack. At Bangkok, both NSAs shared their personal numbers and agreed to stay in direct touch minus all the protocol purely on issues related to terror attacks and investigations.

Janjua is believed to have underlined how Pakistan, now as a terror victim itself, makes no distinction between terror groups. South Block, however, is still cautious but has decided to go the full distance in testing out this mechanism. Much, sources said, would also depend on the trust levels being established between Doval and Janjua.

The above report is in contradiction with another report which said NSA refused to take the call from Pakistan NSA. Not able to find that report.

^^ I believe none in DDM has any access to the decision makers and each is just puffing up whatever he loosely overhears
BharadwajV

Post by BharadwajV »

India on Thursday made it clear that foreign secretary-level talks with Pakistan will go ahead only if Islamabad acts on the 'actionable intelligence' provided by Delhi on the Pathankot terror attack.
"The ball is in Pakistan's court," MEA spokesman Vikas Swarup said when asked about the fate of the upcoming foreign secretary-level talks.
"Pathankot terror attack has put renewed focus on cross-border terrorism," he said.
"The government's policy towards Pakistan is clear and consistent. India wants friendly relations with all its neighbours including Pakistan," he said.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 482934.cms-ToI(let)
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Nawaz Sharif chairs high-level meeting; discusses Pathankot attack
PTI | Jan 7, 2016, 05.21 PM IST

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Thursday chaired a high-level meeting and discussed the Pathankot terror attack as he directed officials to speed up work on the leads given by India, sources said.

"Issues pertaining to national and regional security were discussed during the meeting," the prime minister's Office here said in a brief statement.

The meeting was attended by Ishaq Dar, minister for finance; Nisar Ali Khan, minister for interior; Sartaj Aziz, adviser on foreign affairs; Lt Gen (Retd) Nasser Khan Janjua, National Security Adviser; Aizaz Ahmad Chaudhry, foreign secretary; Aftab Sultan, chief of Intelligence Bureau and other officials.

A source privy to the details said that the meeting discussed the Pathankot attack and the information shared so far by India.
"The meeting decided to speed up work on the leads given by India," he said on anonymity.

Another official said that the information provided by India was not enough as it was just limited to telephone numbers and Pakistan might ask for additional information.

"We would like to have solid information to build a case for action otherwise courts intervene and the suspects are bailed out," he said.

He added the meeting agreed that strong action would be taken after probe against anyone found guilty of involvement in the attack.

The meeting came as India said it is waiting for "prompt and decisive action" as promised by Sharif to Prime Minister Narendra Modi during a telephone call on Tuesday.

India has provided "specific and actionable information in this regard" to Pakistan.

Yesterday, Pakistan's army chief Gen Raheel Sharif reaffirmed zero tolerance for terrorist organisations and took a detailed review of overall internal and external security situation in the country.

He made the remarks while presiding over the Corps Commander Conference held at General Headquarters, a statement issued by the Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR) said.

In a pre-dawn attack on January 2, a group of heavily-armed Pakistani terrorists, suspected to be belonging to Jaish-e-Mohammed outfit, struck at the Air Force base in Punjab.

Intelligence agencies identify 4 Pathankot handlers
Bharti Jain | TNN | Jan 7, 2016, 05.39 PM IST

NEW DELHI: The Indian intelligence agencies have identified the handlers who gave instructions to terrorists at Pathankot Air Force base.

According to intelligence sources, the four have been identified as Asfaq Ahmed, Haji Abdul Shakur, Kashmir Jan, Jaish chief Masood Azhar.

The Pathankot terror attack was planned in Markaj, according to intelligence sources. Meanwhile on Thursday, ministry of external affairs spokesperson Vikas Swarup sent out a strong message to Pakistan that it must act on the 'actionable intelligence' provided. "The ball is in Pakistan's court. Pathankot terror attack has put renewed focus on cross-border terrorism," Vikas Swarup said. "It will be premature for me to say anything more at this point," he added when pressed further for India's stand on foreign secretary-level talks scheduled for next week.

Six heavily-armed terrorists attacked the Pathankot Air Force base early on January 2. Security forces engaged in a gun battle that lasted three days before defence minister Manohar Parrikar confirmed on Tuesday that all of the terrorists had been neutralised. Seven security personnels were also martyred in the operation.

Saudi foreign minister meets Gen Sharif - DT
Saudi Arabia's Minister for Foreign Affairs Adel bin Ahmed Al-Jubeir called on Chief of Army Staff General Raheel Sharif here at the General Headquarters on Thursday.

According to a statement issued by the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), the two discussed regional security situation. The Saudi minister lauded the Pakistan Army's efforts in curbing terrorism.

It may be mentioned here Jubeir will meet Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif after his meeting with the army chief. Media reports say the minister will discuss the 34-nation Islamic Military Alliance with Nawaz. {That is, whatever is agreed between him and the General would be conveyed to Nawaz as a matter of courtesy. Nawaz should be happy for that. Such is Pakistan!}
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Spreading Bakistaniyat in Europe

Pakistani migrant braves the snow and cold shoulders in Europe
AFP — PUBLISHED ABOUT 5 HOURS AGO

SENTILJ: It's the first time that Arman Butt, a Pakistani man desperately seeking to reach western Europe, sees snow.

But as the 30-year-old goes limp in the harsh chill, stuck at the Slovenian-Austrian border, he wishes it was not quite so cold.

He is one of some 50 men braving freezing temperatures and walking the short distance that separates the Austrian border post from Slovenia.

Butt is from Lahore. He has been on the move since September 20.

Butt said he left Pakistan in September because he was convinced that “Europe had opened up its borders”.

“We can't go backwards, we have spent too much money to come here,” he said, adding that he has already spent 7,000 euros ($7,500).

He has paid smugglers exorbitant sums to cross the Aegean Sea and then non-EU member Macedonia, which has made it especially hard since November for people not fleeing war zones to enter.