Tracking India's Admission into International Groups & Bodies

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Tracking India's Admission into International Groups

zoverian wrote:Please note that I am one of a regular vister of Bharat Rakshak forum since last several years and really appreciate the healthy and serious discussion happens here. This is my first post; in case there is something wrong in it mods are free to take the appropriate action.
zoverian, welcome. Please do post more and take part in discussions. You are free to voice your opinion. The forum rules are all that matter. We value all kinds of opinions.

Switzerland takes U-turn on its support to India's NSG bid - Ankita Rajeshwari, ToI
Taking a U-turn from its earlier stand, Switzerland on Friday joined the group of countries opposing India's bid for NSG. This is a shocker for India as the country had pledged full support to India's bid when Prime Minister Modi visited the country earlier this month.

"I am thankful to the President for Switzerland's understanding and support for India's membership of the Nuclear Suppliers Group. We have both agreed to support each other for our respective bids for the non-permanent membership of the UNSC," Prime Minister Modi had said while delivering the joint statement with the Swiss President.
I am not sure whether to believe this or not. Conflicting reports are coming because the plenary is closed-door and also because some of the reporters seem to be indulging in a flight of imagination rather than factual reporting because there is a dearth of news.
member_29296

Post by member_29296 »

@SSridhar Thank you for such a warm welcome. Thanks for your words of encouragement. I really appreciate it

IMHO, I will say it again, this matter is going to go to a vote. System of consensus having being broken by Chinese illogical intransigence. Uncle Sam wants to bloody China's nose in public. Please buy popcorn.

If this is true the Yash Chopra's the Shahrukhs the aamirs of the Bhaiwood clans should be publicly fingered on how they sold out to the swiss by single handedly turning it a tourist destination of first choice in soothasia - as opposed to the less marketed Indian destinations.How then the Swiss paid back by aiding the loot of India by its black money moping up banking economy.

Now that the sham swiss "neutrality" wrt India has been laid bare in its NSG vote hope some columnist in Swarajya or indiafacts can do the honors of exposing the twodecade old swiss backed nexus in Bhaiwood,Blackmoney and ChiPaki agenda of denying NSG membership to india

From the MEA release:
We understand that despite procedural hurdles persistently raised by one country, a three hour long discussion took place last night on the issue of future participation in the NSG.
Good to see the spade being called a spade.

Really good to see that China was made to stand alone and exposed for what it is instead of its proxy war of all these years

China made a tactical blunder to oppose India's NSG bid (India is already a de facto member, but wants a de jure status). Probably this event will mark geopolitical realignments in Asia. Time has come for India to take sides (face a sharp knife and win the battle (or) bleed to death for a thousand cuts).

In one way US played the game well and shown true colours of China to India. Now ball is in India's court.
Dhruva Jaishankar ‏@d_jaishankar 17m17 minutes ago

Yet some Indians persist with the notion that India must remain equidistant between China and the United States.
Last edited by kmkraoind on 24 Jun 2016 12:51, edited 1 time in total.

MEA statement clearly points to "one country" not "some countries", so most likely the so called reporters are reporting the ground realities of their Mush rather than what happened in the NSG plenary session.

So, there is deadlock.

The news that Switzerland suddenly made a U-turn is also true.

More discussions will follow now and next plenary or the one after that would be the decision-maker. The matter is now closed at Seoul.

China says No, links India's NSG case with North Korea and Iran - Saibal Dasgupta, ToI
China today gave clear indications it is not going to back India's case for a membership of Nuclear Suppliers Group. It is also using the North Korean nuclear situation as an excuse to refuse to accept India's request for support.

In a statement issued this morning, the Chinese foreign ministry said that no exceptions can be made to what it regards as a "rule" disallowing countries that have not signed the nuclear non-proliferation treaty to join the NSG.

The statement revealed how China is lobbying against India's entry by referring to the nuclear controversies surrounding Iran and North Korea while keeping silent about nuclear sales by Pakistan.

Telling other NSG members in its efforts to lobby against India's entry, Beijing is also preparing the ground for the image loss it might suffer if the NSG ultimately turns down the Indian request to join.

But it skipped Pakistan, and used North Korea as a reference point to explain that non-NPT countries cannot be allowed to join it.

"And in the absence of NPT as the political and legal basis, how could the nuclear issue on the Korean Peninsular be resolved? All these merit reflection,"
Wang Qun, Director General of the Department of Arms Control of the Foreign Ministry, said in the statement.

Wang, who is China's negotiator in the NSG talks, went on to say that admitting India would amount to adopting double standards, which would result in enormous cost.

"While it's easy to adopt double standards, the consequence can be enormous," he said.

He said that NPT represents the cornerstone of the entire non-proliferation regime.

"If exceptions are allowed here or there on the question of NPT, the international non-proliferation then will be collapsed altogether. In the absence of NPT as political and legal basis, it will be inconceivable for the JCPOA on the Iranian nuclear issue to be reached," he said.

Taking on a public relations stance, Wang said, "India had bilateral cooperation with many members of the Group in the field of nuclear energy. And subject to India's needs, China for its part also stands ready to explore cooperation in this field, so as to help India to address its nuclear energy needs"

He did not explain how China expects to help India by keeping it out of NSG. There are signs China is seeking opportunities to sell nuclear reactors to India as it has done in the case of Pakistan without giving it the status of an NSG member.

The statement refutes reports that China was trying to block India's entry while putting up several arguments to explain why India and other non NPT countries cannot be supported. The ministry continued to take the technical view that there was no question of blocking India because the issue has not been listed in the formal agenda.

Wang also tried to mollify India's angst saying, "China for its part understands India's sentiment on developing nuclear energy to meet climate changes". This is also the common challenges confronting the developing countries, he said. But he assets that the NPT "is not at odds with the Paris Agreement on climate change".
While China does not want us to be part of any grouping, if at all it is possible, it specially considers NSG crucial because it makes India on par with the P-5, a prospect that it fears because this would have consequences in the UNSC. China is determined to prevent UNSC expansion and especially India becoming a permanent member. Anything that adds power to India's positioning is being strenuously subverted by China. It is now openly clear that India is viewed by China as its great enemy, if not the greatest, a title it may still reserve for the US. We are fools if we still continue with our new approach to China of the last two decades.

What riles one up so much is that for the Chinese, our former PM decided to give up the UNSC seat ! We argued for China's inclusion in the UN, tried to rehabilitate it and today China is returning the favour by actively excluding us from every global organization, grouping etc. Do we learn a lesson?

Dhruva Jaishankar ‏@d_jaishankar 15h15 hours ago

I always suspected there was a Family Guy connection to A.Q. Khan. via @clary_co

7 retweets 24 likes

Indian citizens actually have huge power to bang China on the head. We have the power to wipe off 60 billion USD from Chinese exports, leading to closures in China and internal turmoil as a result.

China is India's biggest enemy and the sooner we understand it the better. China will not allow India to rise easily, so let's do our part in keeping it down as well.

In 2015, China had a 45 billion USD trade surplus against India. That has to go, right now! It is time to start talking Indians out of buying Chinese stuff and if they don't agree to start mocking them as well.

China should not be able to sell a single pin in India. It is time to shut them out of Indian market.

We cant ban Chinese goods outright. It will lead to severe shortages and price rise of many items. It will shoot up our inflation like anything. But as we build out infra and factories, we can systematically target their industries one by one. I say, start with plastic items (low hanging fruit). Create 5-6 super plastic SEZs in India, and manufacture simple clippings to high end toys. Invite global companies to set up their shops here.
Last edited by kmkraoind on 24 Jun 2016 13:45, edited 1 time in total.
member_27581

Post by member_27581 »

With China dropping any hint of pretense, India should take lead form an Asian NATO kind of organization to effectively choke/counter china.

So, the die has been cast and the countdown begins.....India may have to take a leap of faith, let us see

kmkraoind wrote:We cant ban Chinese goods outright. It will lead to severe shortages and price rise of many items. It will shoot up our inflation like anything. But as we build out infra and factories, we can systematically target their industries one by one. I say, start with plastic items (low hanging fruit). Create 5-6 super plastic SEZs in India, and manufacture simple clippings to high end toys. Invite global companies to set up their shops here.
why do we need to allow the import of plastic junk from china??

under which regulation and what price rise?? Doesn't this non bio degradable crap clog Indian land fills and harm the Indian environment??

Can you elaborate, please?? what are the items, the banning of which, will cause a severe price rise in India and increase inflation??
Last edited by chetak on 24 Jun 2016 13:54, edited 1 time in total.
member_27581

Post by member_27581 »

RajeshA wrote:Indian citizens actually have huge power to bang China on the head. We have the power to wipe off 60 billion USD from Chinese exports, leading to closures in China and internal turmoil as a result.

China is India's biggest enemy and the sooner we understand it the better. China will not allow India to rise easily, so let's do our part in keeping it down as well.

In 2015, China had a 45 billion USD trade surplus against India. That has to go, right now! It is time to start talking Indians out of buying Chinese stuff and if they don't agree to start mocking them as well.

China should not be able to sell a single pin in India. It is time to shut them out of Indian market.
That is quite complicated in today's market. esp with global supply chain in multiple areas. BUT WE HAVE TO MAKE A START. It may be easier for educated suave people to do so, but for lower middle class and middle class it is easier said than done. As Gen clay said "There is no choice between being a communist on 1,500 calories a day and a believer in democracy on 1000 calories".

Not going to happen overnight, but we have to plan it well.
Mahesh_R

Post by Mahesh_R »

ranjan.rao wrote:With China dropping any hint of pretense, India should take lead form an Asian NATO kind of organization to effectively choke/counter china.
We should start issuing statements on South China Sea and other island issues it has in that region...
better lead all the nations impacted by China with a cause of South China Sea...

Dragon cannot hurt us more than it is doing now..

If Modi's aim was to light a fire behind the sust musharraf of some Indians, he has succeded beyond expectations. A sleeping giant in in process of rising and some nerves hitherto unmoved have started to show signs of life.

Chinese products cannot be removed easily from the market, they are everywhere! From mobile phones to heavy machinery to sanitary hardware to domestic lighting and electronic products. Where do we start and how do we go about it?

chetak wrote:Can you elaborate, please?? what are the items, the banning of which, will cause a severe price rise in India and increase inflation??
Its not one single item, it whole plethora of items. Just go to Chickpet, Mamulpet, Balepet of Bangalore (CBD area), go to any wholesale shop, most of items are from China. Even simple screw driver kits and other tools sold here are manufactured in China.

For you info. India may be top garments producer, but high end (garment factory level) sewing machines, cutting machines comes mostly from China and some from Europe. These items are not high-end aero engine blisks, but we still import them in huge quantities. Probably we need a pro-active Govt to pick up these lists and encourage foreign companies to set up their factories in India and/or give incentives to Indian owners to manufacture them.
Last edited by kmkraoind on 24 Jun 2016 14:06, edited 1 time in total.

India does not need to increase the anti-China rhetoric at the political level. It is good to have a forked tongue. In fact, China should be praised lavishly.

It is the hard ground realities that should change. That means militarily and economically we can and should counter China.

Every dollar going to China is a dollar too much!
ranjan.rao wrote:That is quite complicated in today's market. esp with global supply chain in multiple areas. BUT WE HAVE TO MAKE A START. It may be easier for educated suave people to do so, but for lower middle class and middle class it is easier said than done. As Gen clay said "There is no choice between being a communist on 1,500 calories a day and a believer in democracy on 1000 calories".

Not going to happen overnight, but we have to plan it well.
Indians are good at grassroots awareness programs. Groups like RSS and others can reach the remotest of places in India. Then there is the social media. One can start urging businessmen and shopkeepers not to sell Chinese stuff. If Muslim media can be used to explain to Indian Muslims how China has treated Muslims historically and even now, they too would boycott.

It is a chicken and egg situation. Manufacturers in India simply would not invest in industries they know, the price of whose products would be undercut by the Chinese. We need to create a demand for non-Chinese products in India. The sooner we do it, the sooner would "Make in India" start giving results.

kmkraoind wrote:
chetak wrote:Can you elaborate, please?? what are the items, the banning of which, will cause a severe price rise in India and increase inflation??
Its not one single item, it whole plethora of items. Just go to Chickpet, Mamulpet, Balepet of Bangalore (CBD area), go to any wholesale shop, most of plastic, PU items are from China. Even simple screw driver kits and other tools sold here are manufactured in China.

For you info. India may be top garments producer, but high end (garment factory level) sewing machines, cutting machines comes mostly from China and some from Europe. These items are not high-end aero engine blisks, but we still import them in huge quantities. Probably we need a pro-active Govt to pick up these lists and encourage foreign companies to set up their factories in India and/or give incentives to Indian owners to manufacture them.
Aren't these the items without an MRP/manufacturer's sticker on them?? One can easily clamp down on them then

So stooge of enemies the rNDTV knew of chineez opposition; hence they had congi diplomats making ground for criticism to NaMo for exposing the post of PM and for making it 'make OR break', now they'll go to town at how over-enthusiastic Modi administration has shown immaturity.

Folks we need to be ready on social media twitter fb to counter such propoganda.

Maybe if knowledgeable ones can wrote some posts on this line, then we can go and throw it on their faces.
member_27581

Post by member_27581 »

Mahesh_R wrote:
ranjan.rao wrote:With China dropping any hint of pretense, India should take lead form an Asian NATO kind of organization to effectively choke/counter china.
We should start issuing statements on South China Sea and other island issues it has in that region...
better lead all the nations impacted by China with a cause of South China Sea...

Dragon cannot hurt us more than it is doing now..
Not necessarily, and not directly, but their munna can, especially after they got what they wanted from their papa.
That said we have to realize every Re spent on Chinese products is funding patrons/perpetuators of 26/11. Modi would do well to rally groups e.g. RSS, Baba ramdev and Swadeshi Jagran Manch to counter lizard. Serves them good to have a poor shitistan right next to India, if it survives it creates problems for us it implodes the refugee crisis and the fall out creates mess for India. This is very similar to the case of NoKo

chetak wrote:Aren't these the items without an MRP/manufacturer's sticker on them?? One can easily clamp down on them then
For some in Indian rupees, for some no price at all. Some have printing content in non-English. Even if they are in Indian rupees, they are there for sake for retail seller. Example, toothbrushes have MRP of Rs. 18-30, but are sold at Rs. 3.50/- (comes in dozen). Rs. 42-50/- for a dozen packet. First I was stunned to know the cheap prices, and thought of reused plastics, but same are sold in local kirana stores at Rs. 12 and Rs. 15.

Heck, even furniture like computer tables and others comes from China (assembled kits). Once you select the model, the shop people will assemble it and give it to you. Forgot about high-tech mobiles, LED TVs, all our headphones (from Rs. 60 to 500) low to medium end comes from China. We have market, we have human resources, but we need dedicated manager mantris/babus to move things in right direction.

That is why we import nearly 60 billions dollar worth of goods from China.
Last edited by kmkraoind on 24 Jun 2016 14:31, edited 1 time in total.

If a President Trump "closes" Chinese exports to USA and India does the same, then Chinese economy would start tottering.

The Chinese trade surplus against India FOR JUST 1 YEAR, is the amount China is promising to invest in Pakistan's CPEC!
Last edited by RajeshA on 24 Jun 2016 14:28, edited 1 time in total.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

Too much of knee-jerk reactions and almost all about closing market access to China. Probably not easily doable or desirable. The answer will likely be in painstaking long-term work to 1) develop a strong legion of global supporters in all regions who we can rely on whenever and wherever, 2) reducing strategic space for China by investing in and bringing into our zone of influence South East Asia, West Asia and the Indian Ocean region, 3) leverage support from China-impacted countries such as Japan to a greater extent 4) accelerate industrial and technology development to rub China's nose in the ground as often as we can such as with Mangalyan etc. and probably much more.

But the key is having a deep understanding of the foe and in executing perfectly to a plan over a long stretch of time.

It may be knee-jerk reaction about closing market access to China but it is imperative that we do it in some way or the other. If we want to absorb a 100 million people in the workforce, IT-vity is not the way to do, it has to be manufacturing. And currently, everything comes from China. There is no incentive to manufacture only to trade.

There is no doubt that China must be made to feel our backlash.

But, we should not lash out in anger. Our response must be sophisticated and savvy.

We cannot ban imports from China (even of the plastic junk) or slap tariffs because all that could have WTO implications. We must place impediments to Chinese participation in big-ticket items. ZTE, Huawei must be targetted under multiple pretexts.

GoI must educate our people to discard, boycott Chinese products most of which are junk anyways. The awareness of Chinese enmity must spread. Today, many Indians are in awe of China. Let us go back on the liberalization of visa to Chinese citing non-reciprocity by China. This can be done within the next few weeks which will convey our message. In fact, we should even tighten the Chinese visas. After all, they want to come here in larger numbers for business because they have restricted our business opportunities anyways there. But, we need to have the business groups on our side. We cannot have the Narayana Murthys subverting GoI's tactics.

The trouble is with the Congress, Communists and these opposition parties. They are so tactical especially when it comes to Modi & BJP that they simply do not mind obliterating our country for political gains. A strategy must be devised to make them (at least the INC) buy the idea that the time has come for us to take on China (and they know it too darn well having been in power the longest). The INC has already reacted that Modi has embarrassed India by being obsessed with NSG. Their argument is churlish and for political-scoring as they claim that 2008 waiver achieved eeverything! The Communists most certainly will be anti-national & pro-China and nothing can be done about them except incarceration and gagging for the greater benefit of the country.

Many more like these can be done easily.

We must move such discussions to the 'Managing Chinese Threat' thread.

SSridharJi, I doubt it. There is so much hatred of ModiJi and BJP among the traitors in the opposition that next few days, it will be painful to watch these vultures go on a gang raping binge of ModiJi. There will be zero, zilch outrage against China, their venom will only be directed against ModiJi while gloating over his embarrassment at the same time. And they will be joined by TSP. In fact, I won't even be surprised if slaves of Anglo Saxons like thaapervert doing a show proclaiming that in "civilized western democracies" like UK, such a debacle will result in leaders resigning citing the resignation of David Cameron after losing the Brexit referendum, why not in India's case and ModiJi must resign after failing to get India's entry into NSG approved.

Persistent procedural hurdles created by one country: India on NSG membership - India TV News
"We understand that despite procedural hurdles persistently raised by one country, a three-hour-long discussion took place last night on the issue of future participation in the NSG," Swarup said here.
Defending its opposition to entry of non-NPT countries like India into NSG, China said it was guided by the rules of the 48-nation grouping which were not directed against any specific country.
Chinese are straight liers. Its is they who gave all sorts of tech, raw materials and components to Pakistan, now giving lectures.
China wants two things; we must abide by the rules of NSG because these kind of rules are not directed against any specific country. We must strive for consensus by thinking out of the box," Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Hua Chunying said at a briefing.
Yep, move NPT date to 1964. Say countries who have tested nukes before 1965 can retain their nukes and can enter NPT as Declared Nuclear Powers.

CRamS wrote:SSridharJi, I doubt it. There is so much hatred of ModiJi and BJP among the traitors in the opposition that next few days, it will be painful to watch these vultures go on a gang raping binge of ModiJi. There will be zero, zilch outrage against China, their venom will only be directed against ModiJi while gloating over his embarrassment at the same time. And they will be joined by TSP. In fact, I won't even be surprised if slaves of Anglo Saxons like thaapervert doing a show proclaiming that in "civilized western democracies" like UK, such a debacle will result in leaders resigning citing the resignation of David Cameron after losing the Brexit referendum, why not in India's case and ModiJi must resign after failing to get India's entry into NSG approved.
That means the geostrategic choices of China are to be given more importance than the popular will of Indians in deciding who rules India? :eek:

Chandragupta wrote:Re: the article posted by Sridhar saar.

I too do not get why NaMo is so invested in getting into the NSG. If we have the blanket waiver, then what is the need to spend political capital on a pointless pursuit? If India fail to get in, the domestic press is going to go all over the town shouting how this is a failure of NaMo and all the foreign visits in the last few weeks would be for nothing. Same thing with adding Porki terrorists to International terrorists lists. What will come out of that? If we really want to do something, why not do a Mossad and get them bumped off?

He is forcing PRC to take a stand. It's as much for the Indian Establishment and India's non-political commoners as it is for world consumption: that PRC stands isolated (especially if the vote is 47-1 in favor).

most of the urban chatteratti and urban media of India have also realized how much importance was attached to this by GoI. To have it turned down due to persistent opposition by PRC on such a visible agenda is good for India, in some ways. I think Modi wanted to prove a point. And he's doing it in the most public and visible way possible.

As they say, war is about laying down all the justifications and excuses against the enemy. Modi, I think, wants a public justification for increased investments in defense/mil sectors to face up to the challenges.

NSG indicates no exception will be made in the case of India - PTI
At the end of its two-day plenary here, the NSG today declared its “firm support” for the “full, complete and effective” implementation of the NPT as the cornerstone of the international non-proliferation regime, a clear indication that no exception will be made in the case of India.

The statement by the 48—nation grouping, however, said that it will continue to have discussions on participation of countries which have not signed the Nuclear non—Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

Confirming that the India’s application was discussed during the two-day deliberations, the statement, under a sub—heading ‘Outreach’, said it shared information on all aspects of the 2008 Statement on Civil Nuclear Cooperation with India and discussed the NSG relationship with India.

“Participating Governments reiterated their firm support for the full, complete and effective implementation of the NPT as the cornerstone of the international non-proliferation regime,” it said.

The NSG had discussions on the issue of ‘Technical, Legal and Political Aspects of the Participation of non—NPT States in the NSG’ and decided to continue its discussion, the statement said.

A special meeting last night had discussed India’s application where China and a number of other countries opposed its entry into NSG saying it was not a signatory of the NPT.

The members also expressed concerns regarding continued global proliferation activities {what a hypocrisy when the largest proliferatoris setting the aagenda for exclusion of India and sermonising on NPT being the cornerstone !} and reaffirmed its determination to continue to cooperate closely in order to deter, hinder and prevent the transfer of controlled items or technology that could contribute to nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices.

In the NSG plenary, chaired by Ambassador Song Young-wan of South Korea, the participating governments also called upon all states to exercise vigilance and to ensure effective implementation of all United Nations Security Council Resolutions relevant to the work and purposes of the NSG.

The NSG decided that Switzerland will assume the Chairmanship of the NSG from 2017 to 2018 and will host the next plenary.

The NSG also welcomed the growing number of states that have harmonised their national export control systems with the NSG guidelines and control lists. It also discussed options for enhancing outreach such as dedicated briefings for and meetings with interested non—NSG partners on the work of the group.

It also decided to have a dedicated response to non-NSG partners seeking assistance and practical experience in developing, updating, strengthening and implementing national export control systems.

China's efforts here are two fold: one, not to allow India participation in NSG (in fact, not to allow India in any global group as much as possible and be a stumbling block for any reasonable Indian efforts on any issue) and in the worst case that there is a swell in support for India, to propose a 'hierarchy' where India can be inducted as a less-privileged member with restrictions on its participation and rights. That is why it ensured that NPT was discussed as the cornerstone right from the beginning and the NSG statement now indicates the likelihood of this approach. At this rate, NSG is not worth hankering after. India should and would never accept a second-class treatment and that was the reason for rejection of NPT in the first place.

NSG is USA's headache and not ours. after all they set it up specifically to block India, chinese puppy has grown into a dog and started barking back, it's not our fault. We just need to take our time on this matter and settle scores with China on our terms.

what the USA can do is to delink from China and lock itself to Indian supply chain and encourage products/services exchange with India. We should start some bespoke manufacturing model which capitalises on knowledge of english and better communication skills compared to mango chinese hawking wares on alibaba.

Trump presidency is vital for such initiatives to move ahead.

China also opposed us because they know unhindered trading in energy can make India the backend of global manufacturing instead of China.

So it is imperetive for us to begin a new nuclear cartel with USA blessing. China can sit by itself with brazil, south africa in NSG.

especially since post emission control world will be centered around non-conventional energy rather than coal-based which China is so desperately trying to offload to pakistan under guise of CPEC.

If Trump's candidacy and Brexit are symptomatic of people's dissatisfaction with globalism, then it is possible that the globalist's main tools would be dismantled - e.g. WTO.

It is possible there would be many more bilateral trade treaties in the future, rather than multilateral ones.

At the moment, China's advantage is to offer the countries of the world, an across the board cheap products, which keeps the inflation in these countries under check, but also destroys the industrial base of the individual countries. This domination also allows China to boss around. There is as if no alternative. India has to build that alternative.

People around the world are not content with this agreement that everything has to come from China. They want that their country also has a flourishing industrial base with jobs to go around. And if they don't produce everything, they want to be able to buy such products from elsewhere as well other than China, and offer those countries something produced in their own countries. This common sense is not forthcoming among the elite of most of trading partners of China.

India has to offer more options to world's consumers.