Achievement Tracking - Modi 2.0 Govt - No Discussions

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
M Joshi

Re: Achievement tracking - Modi Govt. No discussions

Post by M Joshi »

Personal Experience

I'd mailed PMO Office last week on PM's website about the issue of long pending 4-laning of the NH 21A (new NH 105). I'd asked about its status since the 4 laning planning is being planned since 2008 & no work has started yet. I tried getting information form many sources like NHAI website, State & Local development bodies, but did not get a satisfactory answer. I thought I'll mail the PM after seeing so many examples of people getting response on their queries from the PMO. I drafted a simple letter explaining about the issues here & how it takes sometimes 1.5-2 hours to travel 35 kms of this NH. Also how important this NH is due to it being a lifeline for this Industrial Area in HP.
Surprisingly, I got a call this morning from a New Delhi landline & a senior NHAI officer on line who asked me about my query & then gave me detailed report on Land Acquisition that is currently going on in HP & Haryana side of the NH, plus the estimated timeline of Tender awarding, completion, etc.. All this information without any formal procedure of RTI. To say I'm elated by the response would be an understatement.
Last edited by M Joshi on 13 May 2016 12:12, edited 1 time in total.

M Joshi, thanks for that. Now post it also on Nukkad and Great Indian Political Drama thread so people can clap and wolf-whistle. I fear otherwise, in addition to me, a lot of others will feel obliged to comment here :)
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Rampy

Post by Rampy »

Deleted
Last edited by Suraj on 13 May 2016 10:06, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No discussions

vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Railway achievements regarding track laying in last two fiscals and capacity augmentation(highlights):

http://www.railnews.co.in/indian-railwa ... gineering/

Answer to Coal India's turnaround
Xposting
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 5#p2018475
[quote="Kakkaji">>]
Land, green clearances behind Coal India's success
<SNIP>

Coal India achieved a staggering production of 536.51 million tonnes (mt) during the financial year ended March 31, 2016.

But how did Coal India, which faced one of its gravest production crisis during 2010-11 with nearly no production growth, manage a turnaround to live up to its reputation of being the world's largest coal miner? The answer lies in a combination of policy-related reforms, state-Centre partnership, swift execution and close monitoring by the ministry.

"There was a paradigm shift in the resolution of the issues while taking the states along" said Anil Swarup, secretary, ministry of coal. The coal ministry used a three-pronged approach - increasing land availability, fast environmental clearance and efficient evacuation, he added.
[/<<quote]
KarthikSan

Post by KarthikSan »

Too long to post in full but a good read. I don't know how many other loopholes like this exist but they will all be plugged soon.

http://swarajyamag.com/economy/the-maur ... to-shut-it
Between 2001 and 2011 nearly 40% of all FDI that came to India came from Mauritius - thanks to a loophole that exempted such investments from capital gains tax.

India and Mauritius have recently agreed to amend a 1982 treaty between the two countries that would effectively seal this loophole.

Here is the story of how (and why) the loophole came into existence.

Achievement - on this day Modi Sarkar completes two years of its historic electoral verdict in hat is to date the largest democratic exercise of franchise in the history of the world.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

Summary done by someone in Quora. Please upvote him

https://www.quora.com/Is-Indias-prime-m ... -Prakash-4#

Is India's prime minister (Narendra Modi) really helping India to get better?

Nishant Prakash, Consultant by Profession, Dreamer by Choice
28.3k Views
Origin Story:
I compiled these points after an argument with one of my friends who said that all this government is doing is marketing and cheap politics. I did not have a definite answer at the top of my mind then, but given the scores of reports I had read as part of my official work, I had a fair bit of an idea that he might be off the mark on that comment.
One request I have from you before you read on – please keep an open mind. For the duration of this answer, forget about what you’ve been hearing in the media and just focus on the facts below (these have been accumulated from various sources, including other answers on Quora after verification).
Here we go...
· We know about the whole story around our strong GDP etc.; here are few details about the same which are not being discussed on news panels as they are busy with beef and intolerance stories:
• The Index of Industrial Production (IIP) is an index which details out the growth of various sectors in an economy such as mining, electricity and manufacturing. If you say Make in India is not working: IIP as of 25 sept 2015 stands at 2.8% (was -0.1% in 2014 under UPA). Make in India is a first of its kind initiative which encourages companies to manufacture products in India. I would go ahead and attribute some of this stupendous growth in indices to this initiative – feel free to disagree and please let me know if you think otherwise
• Manufacturing, the most neglected sector in our country for decades, is now one of the biggest contributor to GDP growth; Read online to understand why a fledgling economy would always need a dominant agriculture and manufacturing sector (This should help you get started: Manufacturing very important to India: Willy C Shih)
• Fiscal deficit target retained at 4.1 pc of GDP for current fiscal and 3.6 pc in FY 16
• Control over the double digit inflation figures, fall in the customer price inflation to less than 5%, a drastic cut in the current account deficit on trade, fall in the commodity prices etc.
• Fuel price deregulation to avoid subsidies in the future and also to avoid sudden increase/decrease leading to artificial gaps and pressure on the market (read: common people) --- if you think subsidies are good (as certain state governments would make you believe), please consult someone with an economics background to understand how subsidies actually hurt people in the long run and are a mechanism by which governments make popular, mass-pleasing decisions while actually hurting the economy – all the while making you believe that you are paying less when the balance actually comes out of your own pocket
EDIT: based on a comment on this answer, I'm including a couple of articles for your reference on this point: 1. https://www.imf.org/external/pub... , and 2.IMF applauds India for cutting fuel subsidy; and just to add some more facts:
o Fact 1: Decontrolling or deregulating the petrol prices mean that, the government will no longer be subsidizing petrol prices and the prices will be purely linked to the international crude prices. However, perfect deregulation won't/can't happen overnight and you have to bring some sort of sanity back into the system in small steps.
o Fact 2: India's total fuel subsidy has fallen to Rs 22,000 crore in April-December from Rs 76,000 crore in the year-ago period (India’s crude oil import bill for current fiscal may fall 45% - The Economic Times ).
o Fact 3: And just to elaborate on what UPA did and did not do - Spending on subsidies surged, education and health lagged during 10 years of UPA - Times of India ; to quote- "Much higher on the list, at number three, is petroleum as higher fuel subsidies have pushed up the allocation more than 18 times to around Rs 65,200 crore in 2013-14, compared with Rs 3,567 crore in the revised estimates for 2004-05"
• PSUs in profit (BSNL reporting operating profit after almost a decade; others doing well too)
• Eased out the process to start private companies in a bid to foster entrepreneurship – hold on your horses on this one, we might see some real action in the coming years, but even the flurry of startups you see around you is not a coincidence – do you remember the last time more than half the TV ads were about new-age startups? Ofcourse, not all of it can be attributed to the government, but it is because of the small efforts they are taking that is fostering such a culture in the country
• When you say it is a “suit-boot ki sarkaar”, maybe you are forgetting that we are not a socialist country by nature; you and I both need jobs, and for that you need the correct environment around you to make sure that there are enough jobs or that the innate spirit of entrepreneurship is being promoted
• More proof: India will become a $4-5 trillion economy in a very short period of time, London-based leading economist Lord Meghnad Desai
• The biggest achievement - at a time when the global economy is showing signs of gloom and fear (Europe et al.), all analysts predict stupendous growth for India – but you and I would never realize that sitting from the comfort of our rooms (especially with our TVs on)
· Black money promise from manifesto: Undisclosed income worth over Rs 16,000 crore detected in 20 months + Rs. 1200 Crores worth of assets seized between March 2014 - December 2015
· Another promise from manifesto: First government to implement one rank one pay for the armed forces (which had been stuck in the legislature for decades now); there are still issues to be ratified but atleast we have a start
· Remember the issue with rotting grains and artificial price inflations during the last year of UPA-II? Well, the same authorities have seized over 130,000 tonnes of pulses since the imposition of stock-holding limit on the commodity
· Despite possible political backlash, the government opposed the release of the juvenile culprit from the Nirbhaya case that eventually led to the much needed passage of the new juvenile law regarding such heinous crimes; while we were busy mocking our judiciary, you must realize that the judiciary can only do what the law asks it to do. So blaming the jury is actually insane. If you have to blame someone, blame those who supported the initial ruling (I don’t want to get into the politics of it, but might be a good idea for you to read online as to who these people are and what are their political allegiances)
· Some non-conventional steps that are giving astonishing results (with minimal coverage by national media):
• Changes to the APMC Act: The govt. asked the state govt. to delist fruits and vegetables from the Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee Act to eliminate middlemen, prevent hoarding and check inflation
• Centre lead LED bulbs distribution has started in a few states – more to join soon; LED bulb push is already helping India save Rs. 2.71 crore every day with only these handful of states and with the drive in its initial stages only
• Why should we bother about Urea, eh? Well, the fertilizer ministry has now announced full-capacity production of neem-coated urea - using completely neem coated urea could save the country about Rs 10,000 crore by lowering the usage and stopping its use for industrial purposes – but yeah, who cares about thousands of crores!
• Efforts are in full swing for the 4200-crore "Jal-Marg Vikas" for inland waterways between Haldia and Allahabad. Indian transport just sees 7% as water transport's share, much lower than the developed countries. This will now boost coal transportation and increase revenue for one of the busiest and historical ports of the country. Just an add-on: these aren’t the only ports being developed – in fact according to recent articles almost all major ports in India are getting revamped keeping similar ideas for trade routes in mind (why weren’t upgradation of such routes explored for the past several decades?)
• Toilets for all government schools - might be a small thing for you and me but think of those children and then ponder as to why this was not done for the last 50 years!
· Bureaucratic changes:
• NITI Ayog instead of Planning commission - read online why the former is better equipped to bring about change (hint: implementable strategy Vs. khayali pulav)
• Bureaucracy/Ministries: Ministers and bureaucrats have been advised to report at 9 AM, a thought hitherto unthinkable. Bureaucrats have been asked to function as Civil Servants and not as the Queen of the Democracy. This is the single most step that will affect India as a whole. If implemented in letter and spirit, this will remove inefficiency and lack of will among the policy makers and implementers
• PMO panel repealed around 1741 obsolete laws (what were we doing for the past decade?)
· BSF Commander on the recent dispute around the LoC: We don't think twice before pulling the trigger now as we know Delhi is with us
· Growth in electricity generation: he has promised full electrification by 2019 and that is why you see so many efforts (including push for FDI) in this sector; the figures:
• 2013-14: 17,769 MW and 2014-15: 22,566 MW. This growth makes India one of the fastest growing markets for electricity infrastructure equipment.
• To add to the above: Transmission lines commissioned rise by 32% (in circuit kms) - 2013-14: 16,743 Kms and 2014-15: 22,101 kms
• Over 30,000 MW of stalled power generation capacity has been revived in the last 18 months, and the ministry is working to ensure that there are no problems related to electricity supplies in the coming 10 years
• Clear focus on green energy with multiple projects already starting in the North-East and also in collaboration with neighbors like Nepal and Bhutan (more details on these later)
• Giving a push to rural electrification, the power ministry has already reached one-third of its target to electrify 18,000 villages by 2018; also, as on date, there is not a single power plant which is without coal. Power transmission to the south was enhanced by 71 per cent in the current financial year (Source: Coal, power situation good: Piyush Goyal )
• The growth of coal production in 2014-15 was 8.25 per cent and during April 2015 to February 2016, it was 9.2 per cent. The coal sector was paralysed in the aftermath of “coalgate”, with the Supreme Court having cancelled all coal mining allocations made by the UPA regime. It was estimated that peak hour shortages would exceed 15 per cent and India, despite holding some of the largest reserves of coal in the world, would suffer the ignominy of importing 250 million tonnes of coal in financial year 2014-15. An open and transparent bidding process for coal mines was his first success (Economy Three Men Standing ). A negligible growth in coal production during the last four years of UPA II, when new generation capacity kept increasing, led to a serious crisis in the power sector — stranded capacity, huge coal import at excessive cost, financial stress. Goyal’s biggest contribution is in setting right the coal production — almost 10 per cent growth in the last two years. Our power generation capacity has crossed 2,80,000 mw
• In a record of sorts, 5,000 mw of solar power was actually installed in the calendar year 2015. Even more significant, the per unit cost has dropped from Rs 15 to around Rs 5. This has transformed renewable energy from the realm of fantasy to viability
• Goyal says that 25 new solar parks will be added in the country as part of the thrust on renewable sources of energy. He has set an ambitious target of 175 gigawatts (gw) of power from renewable sources — 100 gw from solar, 60 gw from wind, 10 gw from biomass and 5 gw from hydroelectric power. Goyal is also working with Gadkari to push bio-fuels. These targets have to be seen against the background of India having a total installed capacity today of just 288 gw.
• Still not convinced? Well you can track the progress of the actual implementation work by downloading the following app: GARV GRAMEEN VIDYUTIKARAN - Android Apps on Google Play
· Road Ministry approves over Rs 40,000 cr highway projects - roads being built per day almost 1.5 times the average for last decade
• Upfront land acquisition, approvals and larger proportion of engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) contracts have increased the interest of developers and contractors in road projects. This is reflected in the 69 per cent increase in project awards by the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) during the first 8-month period in FY16 to 2,649 km from 1,572 km during the same period in FY15, notes an ICRA report
• The pace of highways construction (km per day) under UPA had dipped close to single digits (some claim it was as low as 2kms per day - though this is largely not verified); this is now up to 18 km a day. The minister aims to make it 21 km a day in the current fiscal (Economy Three Men Standing ), with the ultimate goal of 30kms a day set by the end of NDA's latest term (Modi government sets target of 30km of highways a day - Times of India)
• Pushing lazy bureaucrats seem to have produced results. An ICRA report released recently said the Indian road sector is showing signs of revival drawing on several policy measures announced by the government over the last 18 months. “Long hindered by execution delays, project cancellations, stalled projects, loss of lender confidence, leveraged balance sheets of developers and sluggish traffic growth, the sector now appears to be on the path to regain its lost sheen,” the report says.
· Uniform Account Number by EPFO (Employee's Provident Fund Organization): This will be employee-centric with no need to go to the employer for PF transfer like earlier.
· Requirement of the built up area and capital conditions for FDI reduced to 20,000 square meters and USD 5 million respectively for development of smart cities: Inviting more private players and FDI will boost low-cost affordable housing segment (indications are that a formal ‘Housing for all’ scheme is to be announced soon)
· Rs 4,000 cr set aside to increase flow of cheaper credit for affordable housing to the urban poor/EWS/LIG segment: National Housing Bank will allow more credit at cheaper rates.
· We are on the verge of becoming a coal surplus country; furthermore, if you know about this sector, you'll know about the situation in the coal belt where there's literally a bed of fire below the ground because of the mining activities - Modi government is the first in so many decades to actually start working towards solving this issue
· Banks and savings - Jan Dhan: India had 35% people with a bank account, lowest among the BRICS, as compared to 87% of the US and 95% of Canada; now holds the world record for most number of bank account opened
· What Suresh Prabhu is doing with the railways is something that should not even need any explanation/s if you are following the news –
• Metros
• Make in India coaches
• Improvement of corridor congestion
• Improvement of railway stations
• Administrative changes
• All railway contracts through e-tendering (read online to see how this removes corruption)
• Partnering with Google for infrastructure upgradation etc. etc… the list is endless…
• KPMG Report - The railway sector in India has suffered from chronic under-investment and this has been a key reason for the decline in modal share of the Railways. The railway minister has therefore, very rightly, focused on increasing the capital expenditure in last year’s budget by 52 per cent compared to the year before. The minister has also brought in new sources of finance
• With Prabhu’s investment plans in motion, the Indian Railways is fast emerging as one of the biggest participants in the Make in India initiative. After the government allowed 100 per cent foreign direct investment (FDI) in railways, the ministry has awarded contracts to global giants General Electric and Alstom for setting up electric and diesel locomotive factories, with an investment of nearly Rs 40,000 crore
• Prabhu also plans to monetize various resources — data in association with Google and real estate assets by commercial development above and around railway stations
· Importance of those hugely publicized and ridiculed foreign trips and policies:
• BJP Govt. convinced Saudi Arabia not to charge “On-Time Delivery Premium charges” on Crude Oil – Young Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan & External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj sealed the deal. Saved the country thousands of crores
• Increased strategic relationship with Vietnam and Vietnam has now agreed to give contract of Oil exploration to ONGC-Videsh
• Increase Oil Imports from Iran, despite the ban by USA. Iran agreed to sell in Indian Rupees and it saved our Forex, not just for now, but protected India from future currency fluctuations too. India also gets to build “Chabahar” port of Iran, encircling Pakistan. We will have exclusive access for our Naval ships in this port.
• Australia- despite Australia being a major supplier of Coal & Uranium. . NaMo was able to convince Tony Abbott and now Australia will supply Uranium for our energy production.
• Recent tie-up with Pentagon, Israel & Japan on matters of national security and flow of information
• India approved the border road in the NorthEast and around India- China border
• India managed to bring back 4,500+ Indians from War zone in Yemen and also brought foreign nationals of 41 different countries, which put India’s name onto the highest platform globally in conducting that rescue mission – PM Narendra Modi specially talked to the new Saudi Arabian king Salman and told him to allow Indian Airforce planes to fly – as Saudi Arabia was attacking on Yemen and Yemen skies was declared NO-FLY Zone: thanks to this we got an assured clear window of a few hours and guess who coordinated this? Ajit Doval, Sushama Swaraj and Gen V K Singh - one of many incidences when these people have taken such steps
• Centre gave nod to defence projects worth Rs 80,000 crore - army and navy had complained of lack of arsenal last year (UPA-II) - India was not even in a position to last a 50-day war with any ‘neighbor’, UPA was very happy to let it happen despite repeated demands from the armed forces – multiple deals with the likes of US, Russia and others and the Make in India campaign have both helped ease out the situation (missiles already being produced + choppers exported to other countries too)
• The government renegotiated Rafale fighter Jets deal with France personally and bought 36 Jets on ASAP basis. At better than rack rates. No middlemen, no commissions
• For the first time after 42 yrs Indian Prime Minister visited Canada not to attend some meeting but as a specific state visit, in a Bilateral deal, India was able convince to Canada to supply Uranium for India’s Nuclear reactors for next 5 years.
• He was able to convince France and now France will make Nuclear reactors with the latest technology in India, on MAKE IN INDIA efforts in collaboration with an Indian company as a partner
• India and Russia signed 16 agreements last year: Russia to help build 12 nuclear reactors
But there are some negatives too:
• Handling of home affairs is pathetic to say the least. The best of organizations function properly when everyone within it sees the bigger picture the same way as their leader, but sadly there seems to be some sort of disconnect over here. Case in point: '3000 condoms, 2000 liquor bottles at JNU': BJP MLA Gyandev Ahuja is keeping count - No amount of good work done by the government can help remove the scars left behind by some of the statements these guys have been making in the past year or so.
With all due respect to the mentally challenged, 'Retarded' is the only word that comes to mind when you try to reason why someone from the ruling party would make such statements. These guys surely need a PR head who would control and take action against such acts of extreme buffoonery.
• Similar failures are there to be seen in the case of parliamentary affairs: call it arrogance of having won such a huge mandate or pure negligence of the power of a bruised and battered opposition, the only ones at the losing end of the battle inside our parliaments are us, the citizens of the country. Keep aside the money being wasted by such fruitless proceedings, important bills like GST have been stuck for such a long time and for all the ridiculous reasons. Granted that the opposition is behaving ideotically, but isn't it Venkaiah Naidu's job to ensure that the house functions properly for at least matters of such huge importance?
• Non-performing assets: NPAs of public sector banks increased 17 per cent from Rs.2.27 lakh crore in March 2014 to Rs.2.73 lakh crore in December 2014, a carry-over from UPA-2. Public sector bank NPAs had increased 23 per cent in 2009-10 over the previous year. NPA growth rates of this magnitude can destabilise the banking system. Agreed that the downturn had already started earlier but recapitalisation of public sector banks should have started on more stringent terms and much earlier. Also, the 25,000 Cr allocated for the said recapitalisation may be woefully inadequate for public sector banks' recapitalisation.
• For one, the stress on the bank balance sheets due to high amount of sticky assets and paucity of capital have clearly impacted banks’ ability to lend further, in particular to industries, which is critical to reboot the economy. This is a jolt to companies since bank funding constitutes the major source of funds to small and medium companies.
• In the March-October period of the current fiscal year, credit growth to industries has languished at negative 0.3 percent compared with 0.7 percent in the previous year. The worst hit has been medium-sized companies, where bank lending has contracted by 10.9 percent as against a contraction of 1.1 per cent in the same period last year.
• Data from the Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy (CMIE) too warn that fresh investments in projects fell 74 percent in the December quarter to Rs 1.05 lakh crore from Rs 4.06 lakh crore in the corresponding period last year. This leaves the government to take the lead with continued higher spending even at the cost of breaching the fiscal deficit numbers
• The windfall gains from low oil prices have tremendously helped the Modi-government in the last one year to manage the import bill and inflation. But, a prolonged crash in oil prices would impact inward remittances and exports that have fallen for 13 consecutive months, which isn’t good news for the economy.
• While the 2016 budget helped address a few of the issues listed above, it remains to be seen whether it is substantial enough to correct these. For now, let's be hopeful! They have set the ball rolling and there is a clear change in the thought process when it comes to actual on-ground implementation of work.
Bottomline:
We chose this government for 5 years… let us give him those 5 years and then take a call on whether we want him back. For now, all the signs are pointing to the fact that yes they are taking steps in the right direction – these steps might not necessarily be popular or news-worthy in the short term, but they’ve already started affecting us in a positive way. The biggest step? Backend improvements in bureaucracy and administration – no scams, timely actions against complaints, and saying bye bye to ‘chalta hai’ attitude in those circles. I read this article which mentioned how the redressal rate has increased manifold - Department of Personnel & Training (DoPT) & Administrative Reforms & Public Grievances (AR&PG) has disposed of as many as 4.87 lakh grievances out of a total of 6.09 lakh received with regard to Central Government Ministries and Departments during last one year. For us citizens, the best thing to do (if we really want to know how our country is doing), would be to stop watching channels like Times Now or getting our belief systems manipulated by Social media and maybe start reading stuff that really matters – unbiased fact-based reports/articles – start with the likes of the economist or even the economic times.
From a personal point of view, I see this government coming back to power in 2019 provided they do fulfill their 2 most important promises of ‘electricity for all’ and making India a manufacturing hub, as both of these would have immense roll-over effects on other factors that are close to the heart of the common masses. We gave UPA 10 years even after a welcome break in 1998-99, let’s give these guys the next 3-4 years and let them prove us right/wrong.
PS: A small request to those who are sharing the post on social media - please do hit 'Upvote' too (in case you genuinely feel that the answer was helpful); it would help promote the post across feeds, and when more Quorans get to see this, it might lead to a more healthy discussion on the topic.
PPS: Disclaimer of sorts - I'm not a BJP supporter and have often ridiculed their management of home affairs (case in point: Nishant Prakash's answer to What did Narendra Modi accomplish and lost in 2015? ); but the work done by some of the ministries under this government is commendable and people should recognize that irrespective of their political allegiance/prejudices. Peace!

>>Nirmala Sitharaman ‏@nsitharaman 2h2 hours ago
Serving Shri @narendramodi 's goal of min govt max govrnc #Mociseva completes a month with a clearance rate of 98%. Aiming 100% next month.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/chennai/1st-batch-of-cars-rolls-out-of-countrys-first-rail-auto-hub/articleshow/52380764.cms
It was a momentous occasion for tiny Wallajabad railway station in Kancheepuram district, about 100 km from here, on Saturday evening. The first batch of cars were loaded on to a freight train from Southern Railway's common user rail-auto hub, the first in the country.
The train, carrying 124 cars from auto major Hyundai's factory in Sriperumbudur and bound for Changsari in Assam's Kamrup district, has 25 specially designed wagons each capable of carrying five cars. Southern Railway will earn 16.37 lakh from the trip.
Located 12km-40 km from manufacturing units of auto MNCs like Nissan, Hyundai and Ford in such areas as Oragadam, Sriperumbudur and Singaperumal Kovil, the hub is designed to help cars be driven on stone-paved tracks into the wagon. It is expected to cater to more than one million cars annually produced in these areas and will also see trains bringing cars for distribution in Tamil Nadu and adjoining states.
Southern Railway, aiming to capture the export market through Chennai and Ennore ports, will use trains to transport cars to and from the two ports and hopes to increase freight earnings that are now just half its total earnings. Transporting freight earns railways profits and also helps its cross-subsidises ticket fare for passenger trains; freight earnings are key for every railway zone.
Wallajabad station, strategically located on the Chengalpet-Tirumalpur section, is connected to Arakkonam as well as Chennai Beach. Freight trains through Arakkonam can transport cars across the country; some can be sent to Chennai port, located next to Chennai Beach station on the Walajahbad-Chengalpet-Beach route. This is faster than the congested road network, say officials.

The rail-auto hub, they add, has come as a boon at a time when the Chennai Port-Maduravoyal elevated expressway project, aimed at boosting the export plans of auto majors, is stuck in court.
The move to develop Walajahbad as a rail auto hub was announced in the railway budget in February and the hub was inaugurated by Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu on March 1.
It can hold 300 cars and is linked by seamless four/six lane roads to production centres. All infrastructure facilities have been developed in-house by railways.

1,780 km rail lines commissioned, 6,000 km highways built in 2015-16
NEW DELHI: The government has commissioned 1,780 km of rail lines and also completed over 6,000 km of highways in 2015-16 period, the Prime Minister's Office said in a statement on Monday.

The PMO said that 1,730 km of rail links have also been electrified in 2015-16.

In the course of the review of the railway sector, it was noted that it had received a capital investment of over Rs 93,000 crore in the last fiscal.

"This represents a massive increase of 65 percent over the previous year, and is the highest-ever investment in railways in one year. ". The figures also represent the best performance on these metrics in railway history, the statement said

It added that the prime minister has stressed the need to speed up the redevelopment of railway stations and has urged the ministry to upgrade and diversify the uses of its infrastructure.

In the meeting, Prime Minister Modi was informed that over 6,000 km of highways have been completed in 2015-16, while contracts for 10,098 km were awarded in the same period.

Modi has also stressed the need to decongest the critical highways by adopting latest technologies for toll collection.

He has asked the officials from the union Ministry of Road Transport and Highways to study various models of road development across the country and adopt the best practices so that more private investment can be brought into the highway construction sector.

For the first time in history, India will not have power deficit situation in FY17
NEW DELHI: India has, for the first time in history, declared that it will not have a power deficit this year, a situation officials say is an outcome of the current government's initiatives to resolve burning issues like fuel scarcity. The country will have a surplus of 3.1% during peak hours and 1.1% during non-peak hours during 2016-17, latest data from the Central Electricity Authority shows.

The data, based on gap between demand raised and demand met, shows that June onwards the country will have more electricity than required. Half of the states will be surplus, while others may face shortage in varying degrees.

The NDA government says power surplus scenario as one of its big achievements. Coal output , which was stagnant for years, has increased significantly, helping many stranded power plants start generating electricity. The government has also launched a high-profile scheme to reform state distribution companies, which are a vital link between power plants and customers.

The trimurtis firing up India's infra sector. (Swarajya)

Excerpts
Consider also a move by the rail bureaucracy to nix a proposal by the Coal Ministry seeking re-negotiation of fuel supply agreements because it could have led to the railways losing revenue. “But the country will benefit,” Prabhu reportedly said as he overruled his officers.
A similar impatience with conservative thinking and a readiness to experiment with new ways of doing things is what helped Goyal not only come up with UDAY but also bring private investors into the renewable energy sector, which seemed like a pipe dream at one time. Gadkari’s innovative hybrid annuity model in roads, says the bureaucrat quoted earlier, would never have got off the ground if it had been left to his officials.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

India clears final hurdle to join missile control group, diplomats say

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-i ... YT1I2?il=0
The members of the Missile Technology Control Regime, an international anti-proliferation grouping, have agreed to admit India, diplomats said, in a win for Prime Minister Narendra Modi as he met U.S. President Barack Obama in Washington on Tuesday.

Diplomats with direct knowledge of the matter said a deadline for members of the 34-nation group to object to India's admission had expired on Monday without any raising objections.

Under this 'silent procedure', India's admission follows automatically, diplomats from four MTCR member nations told Reuters on condition of anonymity.
ARMS EXPORTER

India makes a supersonic cruise missile, the Brahmos, in a joint venture with Russia that both countries hope to sell to third countries, a development that would make India a significant arms exporter for the first time.

http://fairplay.ihs.com/commerce/articl ... operations
India and Bangladesh began transhipment operations at Ashuganj port on Thursday to boost trade and facilitate seamless movement of goods in the landlocked region. A cargoship unloaded the first consignment to be transported to Tripura in India through Bangladeshi territory.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/business ... ganga.html
Maruti Suzuki is the first automaker in India to explore the option of transporting cars using waterways. In its inaugural run on 12 August, a roll-on-roll-off inland vessel set off from Varanasi's Aghoreshwar Bhagwan Ram Ghat on River Ganga to West Bengal’s Haldia river port. The vessel was carrying dozens of units of the Maruti Suzuki Alto and the Celerio.
This is not only an environmental-friendly way to move goods and reduce the burden on road and rail, but is also a move to cut down costs. The cost of ferrying goods via waterways is as low as 30-50 paise per kilometre per tonne, way below the cost of hauling goods by road, Gadkari told NDTV.

“The waterways are the new frontier to bring down logistical cost in India. Big manufacturing and exporting nations like USA and China have achieved to lower logistical costs to 8-12 per cent. In India it's 18 per cent minimum on an average. For Indian products to get competitive the logistical cost has to be brought down,” he added.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

http://www.livemint.com/Politics/5taSVn ... ntrol.html
The Union government on Wednesday added coronary stents to the national list of essential medicines (NLEM) 2015, effectively bringing them under price control, a move opposed by stent manufacturers.

The government based its decision on a sub-committee report that recommended putting all types of stents, including the latest biodegradable stents, onto the list.

“The sub-committee has submitted its report to the government and after examination of the report, the government of India has accepted the recommendations of the sub-committee,” a notification issued in the name K.L. Sharma, joint secretary, ministry of health and family welfare (MoHFW) said.

“The government of India further decided that the recommendations of the sub-committee with regard to the inclusion of the coronary stents in the NLEM 2015 will be operational with immediate effect,” the notification added
Medicines and devices listed in the NLEM must be sold at the price fixed by National Pharmaceutical Pricing Authority (NPPA), while those in the non-scheduled list are allowed a maximum annual price hike of 10%.
About 60% of the market for stents is shared by multinational companies such as Abbott, Medtronics, Meril Lifesciences and Boston Scientific.

India’s coronary stents market was valued at $481 million in 2015, and is expected to reach $531 million in revenues by 2016-end.
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Why PM Modi called this Tripura IAS officer at 10pm
An IAS officer who is well known to my father and is posted in North Tripura got a call at 10pm on 21st July. He was surprised to get a call so late in the night.

A young voice from the other side apologised for calling so late and asked if he is free for a few minutes because the Prime Minister Mr Narendra Modi wants to talk to him.

His brain froze for a few seconds and he could feel his legs shivering. He meekly whispered yes and after a few beeps, the call was transferred and none other than Mr Modi was on call. Modi apologised to him again for calling so late and said that he is just done with a meeting with Mr Nitin Gadkari and they needed his help to repair National Highway 208-A connecting Tripura to the rest of the country. He says he doesn't even remember how he responded to it. All he remembers is Modi telling him that the GOI has spoken to both the Assam and Tripura Government and all help would be provided to him to oversee the project.

He didn't sleep that night. Modi's voice kept echoing in his mind and he couldn't believe what had just happened. He tried connecting all dots and couldn't find any logic.

Next day, when he reached his office, he got communications from Tripura Government, Assam Government and GOI. He was sanctioned funds for the project to repair 15 kms of the highway. He immediately took his staff and went to visit the stretch. He found 6 JCBs standing there that were provided by Assam Government.

Over the next 4 days, more than 300 trucks with materials kept arriving and along with local workers and PWD officials from Assam and Tripura, he opened the highway for vehicles with necessities for Tripura.

Yesterday Mr Nitin Gadkari called him to thank him for his remarkable efforts and promised that NH-44 would be repaired on a war mode. He also asked him to visit PMO office whenever he is in Delhi.

That's my India with such remarkable stories of valour and I am proud of it. This story signifies how the Central Government is concerned about its people and there are numerous, I repeat, numerous such stories from across the country.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

This is something modi started as CM but now being implemented - Sauni yojna to fill up dams by connecting them to Narmada.

http://indianexpress.com/article/explai ... r-2996483/

How PM Modi is breaking silos in governance to form an effective development plan
Two seemingly unrelated events are clear indicators of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s determined attempt to break the existing silos in India’s governance structure.
On 26 August, the Niti Aayog drew up a list of 1400-odd government servants and initiated a lecture series known as “transforming India”.

The Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, inaugurated the series at New Delhi’s Vigyan Bhavan in which PM Modi, along with his cabinet colleagues and officials to the level of director in the government of India, were attendees.

After Modi’s introductory speech, the stage was left for the guest to wax eloquent over India’s handicaps and the expectations of the world on the country. Modi, along with his entire cabinet and top policy makers, were patient listeners.

Those who attended the lecture were quite impressed, not only by the outstanding exposition of Shanmugaratnam but also by his profound understanding of India’s social and economic complexities.
For instance, Shanmugaratnam pointed out that India had been expending its energy more on over-regulation and less on building a stronger society. He took cues from Modi’s speech, who emphasised that a strong society was a sine qua non for a strong country.

But what was particularly interesting in the lecture was that Modi requested the guest to not hold back on his punches while making critical references to India’s policies. Shanmugaratnam did exactly that; in a friendly atmosphere with 1400-odd top policy makers of the country, listening attentively in the spirit of learning.

Impressed by the experience, the prime minister directed the Niti Aayog to organise at least four such lectures in a year, to expose the Indian policy honchos to outsiders’ perspective on India.
“It was a unique experience to see the prime minister sitting with everyone, like a student in the session,” said one of the participants.

Only a day after India’s top political executives, along with the bureaucrats, learnt a lesson or two about globalisation and its benefits, Modi addressed a meeting of chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states on 27 August, and encouraged them to share the best practices initiated by each of the governments.

Curiously enough, Haryana Chief Minister ML Khattar and his officials gave a PowerPoint presentation on the institutionalised mechanisms established by the state's government for the transfers of teachers. The presentation won the adulation of the prime minister, as he was well aware of the rampant corruption involved in the transfer of teachers in Haryana.

Khattar later revealed that he had borrowed the idea from Gujarat, where former Chief Minister Anandiben Patel had put in place a system, allowing senior most teachers to choose their place of posting.

“This has drastically reduced the complaints of corruption and curbed the discretionary powers of the bureaucracy,” said one of the officials, who had made the presentation for the state government.
Similarly, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh also gave presentations about the best governance practices that they had innovated. Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, came out with a detailed presentation about his government’s plan for doubling the income of farmers in the state by 2022 – a promise that the union government had made in its budget.

In the one-on-one meetings with the CMs, Modi pointed out that such an exercise would not only help share the best practices of governance on a wider scale, but would also give innovative ideas to the chief ministers to devise effective methods of governance.

Those working closely with Modi admit that the prime minister had all along been insistent that the ministries should avoid the tendency to work in silos. That is the precise reason why Modi has been holding meetings with secretaries of the government on a regular basis – to monitor the pending projects and confront the officials if they were responsible for holding up projects.

With monthly meetings, Modi has also been in touch with chief secretaries – through video-conferencing – to remove irritants between the Centre and the states, and expedite development projects.
Ananth

Post by Ananth »

Modi, as a Delhi outsider, has shut down access to power and its benefits
Monika Halan

All of them say three things. One, corruption in the central government is gone. There is a tough message out from the Prime Minister’s Office that graft will not be tolerated.

Two, policy paralysis is over and the government is executing plans, many of these are carry-overs from the previous government and some that were announced but were not executed.

Three, key individual ministries are doing well—power, roads, defence, railways, telecom—and are showing results. These are core industries and will bear fruit over the long-term.

vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=you ... p8HxcyRPmY#

Jalyukt shivar in Maharashtra. Bit cheesy but local BJP mla is doing great job in water conservation and irrigation.
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

http://nashikonweb.com/jalyukt-brings-p ... e-village/
4000 out of 6500 villages completed their water conservation work under jalyukt shivar scheme in 2014-16. Remaining work will be finished by next year. This is/will be a game changer for BJP. Problem is that no one is taking credit and marketing it effectively.
In my native village near nasik, the water levels in wells have gone up by 4-6 meters. These are levels above what were observed in past good mansoons. The nalas which were dry for last 30-40 years are flowing again. This is just one good mansoon, just imagine if we get 2-3 good mansoons what will happen.

cross-post
----------------------
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 987956.cms
Projects worth Rs 20 lakh crore set to get green light from key PMO group
NEW DELHI: Investments worth Rs 20 lakh crore, more than 500 projects - that's what a key group in the PMO is focussing on. The Project Monitoring Group (PMG) that works under the Prime Minister's Office has cleared 276 projects, stalled due to various reasons and accounting for investment of nearly Rs 10 lakh crore, in the last two years. Another 258 projects, with investment of more than Rs 10 lakh crore, will be cleared soon.

Roads, coal, power and railways comprise bulk of the projects while land and environment issues accounted for the majority of clearance hurdles. Roughly half the projects are public sector and the rest private plus PPP (public-private partnership).
Since 80% of clearance problems are state-level, PMO has reduced the number of such clearances from 63 to 31, and has asked all states to digitise the process of applying for these clearances. States have an incentive to do this. "We have told states that digitisation of these clearances will help them obtain a better score on the index of Ease of Doing Business (EDB).
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

On the day of celebration for ISRO/GSLV-F05, wish to put this another imp. milestone on record in this dhaga......

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 771_1.html
President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday gave assent to Constitution Amendment Bill on Goods and Services Tax (GST), a major step towards rolling out the new indirect tax regime which the Modi government wants to come into effect from April 1 next year.
The bill was sent to the President's secretariat after as many as 17 states, BJP-ruled Assam being the first, ratified the bill.
The other states which have passed the legislation include Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Nagaland, Maharashtra, Haryana, Sikkim, Mizoram, Telangana, Goa, Odisha and Rajasthan.
"Instead of 30 days kept for this (states' ratification), it is achieved in 23 days," he had said in a tweet.

Quoting more from above.
All of them say three things. One, corruption in the central government is gone. There is a tough message out from the Prime Minister’s Office that graft will not be tolerated. Everybody I spoke to said that indeed the extortions from every project were gone. Graft in the lower bureaucracy and in local governments persists and is very deep-rooted. But at the Centre, it is gone. There is an overall drive against black money with various schemes being tried to put a plug on it. The same hard stand has been taken with bank loans and one place to start has been the process of selection of public sector bank chiefs. A member of the committee who would interview candidates for public sector bank chairmen told me that after 2014, they stopped getting calls from the power centre on who to hire. The rate used to be fixed, he said, we were just told to pick the name told to us. Who’d pay? Firms that would then benefit from easy loans and terms. Those calls have stopped.

The hardening stance of the state on black money shows up in the prices of real estate. Real estate has been the sump of black money in India and the politician-builder-land mafia nexus had raised prices to a level that was beyond any economic logic. People who bought their Rs.8 crore luxury floors in Gurgaon are unable to find a buyer at half the price. The winter for real estate is going to last a long time—so if you are still holding on to an investment thinking it will recover, plan on bequests rather than profits in the near future.

Two, policy paralysis is over and the government is executing plans, many of these are carry-overs from the previous government and some that were announced but were not executed. Aadhaar is a great example of the Modi government carrying forward a project that is so key to India’s progress. The Jan Dhan scheme has added millions of unbanked to the banking sector’s customer base.

Three, key individual ministries are doing well—power, roads, defence, railways, telecom—and are showing results. These are core industries and will bear fruit over the long-term. Those looking for a quick return to the 2008 growth rates will be disappointed. One criticism that my small dip-stick revealed is over the hurry that the government is in to do things; another complaint is that some of the announced schemes don’t have deep-enough roots.

So why the noise? Why this huge angst with the Narendra Modi led government on one side and the extreme right-wing backlash on the other? The 2014 election threw up a result, which has left a section of the urban elite that was part of the access-based ecosystem that ran the country, out of the power loop.

Modi, as a Delhi outsider, has shut down access to power and its benefits. Notice the way illegally occupied bungalows in central Delhi have been vacated—the numbers have jumped from the previous years. Read this excellent piece by author Sanjeev Sanyal on taming the Delhi elite earlier this year: http://bit.ly/2bOcdXV . There is a vocal section unwilling to accept that the election verdict was something that they were against.

I remember a spate of opinion pieces just after the results bemoaning the poor choice that Indian voters made. I remember tweeting that it seems 20 op-ed writers are telling a billion Indians how to vote.

https://twitter.com/saikanomie/status/7 ... 7445483520

I would still put it under this thread!

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 206542.cms
US senate panel humiliates Pakistan again, virtually calls it a terrorist state

X-Post...
g.sarkar wrote:http://zeenews.india.com/news/india/ind ... 28394.html
Indian government got underworld don Dawood Ibrahim's hawala money seized in foreign countries: Report
Last Updated: Monday, September 12, 2016 - 22:16
Delhi: Contrary to reports that Dawood Ibrahim's funds, routed through various countries, was being swindled by someone from their own gang, it has now emerged that Government of India was working behind the curtain to cripple the underworld don.
As per a report in India Today, government has been tracking the business of D-company in several countries.
The media house quoted intelligence agencies as saying that Dawood was not cheated of Rs 40 crore but the government got several of his transactions in UAE, Canada, UK and Australia seized over the past two years.
India has managed to make governments of many countries agree to keep a track on Dawood's business activities and transactions, as per the agencies.
Indian agencies are said to have been successful in getting five to six hawala transactions and one of it was frozen by a bank in UAE.
This was suspected to be hawala money and was said to be routed through India-Dubai-Canada-Dubai-India.
The bank, when asked about the credentials of the end person, did not provide any and thus the transaction money was shifted to some sundry accounts in parts. Dawood gang thought that someone from within was routing such transactions......

Modi government's automated system: 9 AM call to Secretaries if Ministry attracts negative news
NEW DELHI: A 9 am call to secretaries, if their ministry has attracted a "negative" notice in the press, is the norm. The secretary is on a tight leash to send in an "outcome" by 2 pm in the form of a clarification, or an "action taken report (ATR)" remains pending at his end in a dashboard.

In a far cry from the UPA days when the 'unfavourable' news items were countered in an ad-hoc manner, the Modi government is following an 'automated system' which focuses on perception management and keeps top ministry officials on their toes. ET spoke to senior officials in the government to learn intricacies of the new system put in place so that a rejoinder or clarification is issued to a "negative" news item the same day.

"Galati hai to sudhaar karo,khabar galat hai to khandan karo (If we are fault, lets us improve...if the news item is wrong, let's rebut)." This was what PM Modi had said when he kick-started the system, officials toldET. "Anything that is incorrect should be corrected. It should not be left to exist by default as it is," was the first direction of I&B minister M Venkaiah Naidu as soon as he took over, these officials added. Daily ATRs, specifying the 'negative' news items and 'outcomes' in f ..

A few such ATRs accessed by ET show many a time, the matters are even escalated to the level of a minister for an "outcome" in the form of a response. One such ATR had the defence minister replying to a news item saying a project was sensitive and no clarification was needed. "Ignoring a negative news item or not issuing a clarification is no longer a luxury...under the automated system, it is a necessity. No less than the cabinet secretariat is monitoring this," a secretary told ET. A dashboard ..

Officials said the "negative" news items get varied "outcomes" — like many a time the ministry says the matter is a state subject and it can't explain on the state's behalf. "Many a time, the criticism is warranted. A serious note is taken of the same and the secretary is expected to take strong action," a senior official said.