India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

Just to give you an example of the IQ, or lack thereof of the Paki commentators.
One program I am watching, loudly claims, that India could not find any proof that these people are pakistani, and that Indian government has hurriedly buried the uri attackers. Even Indian media has questioned this and are demanding to see the bodies to see if these are pakistani.

Then these geniuses claim, that there are 470 pakistanis in indian jails and it is very easy for India to kidnap a few of them, put them in pakistani dresses, kill them and then plant their bodies in uri.

Such is the level of intellect of these people !

I've been watching a few too many of these lahori logic filled paki videos. Have to take a break. I can't be laughing my ar$e out 24x7!!!

The videos so far, are talking about "URI DRAAMAAA", Evil Mooodi, Kulbhushan Yaadev, Abdul basit's taunt to india, and then that pakistan has said to India, that we are tayyar for any hamla.
Last edited by Gagan on 22 Sep 2016 02:59, edited 1 time in total.
ssundar

Post by ssundar »

Gagan wrote:According to the paki folklore, they've won every battle, skirmish and war.
How could they have lost 20-200 mard-e-momeens to kafir buniyas hain ji?
Let me help them saar. Yeevil Yindians tried to infiltrate in a small helicopter wearing freedom fighter clothing. Alert green fauj showered blessed bullets on the helicopter which crashed, spilling all the 200 disguised Yindian soldiers inside onlee.

If alert high IQ Porkis tell that there are no helicopters that carry 200 Yindians, we can always say Yisrael secretly supplied them one.

I would keep all these data coming from the sources' sources' source; and then when the official word is out then connect the dots. If there is never going to be an official word, then we could look at clues from prominent Ministers, Diplomats (including ex) and Military personnel (including ex).

I would not get my Deepavalli crackers out yet.
shashankk

Post by shashankk »

As long as the majority/all of the KIA are PA regulars, I will be happy.

Either way, Modi has restored India's honor and started a new chapter in our offensive against Pakistan.

It's up to the nation now to ensure that it is continued until Pakistan ceases to exist.

He took a risky decision and stuck to it till the very end. This separates a statesman from a politician.
Bheeshma

Post by Bheeshma »

Lets wait till some details come out before making such pronouncements. I am not sure we are done punishing the pakis.

There is more going on.
Wait for it all to be done, details to come out ...

PK 452 to Skardu cancelled today as well. Scheduled for tomorrow. We will see.

Perhaps India put up a no fly zone, while the army is teaching a few lessons in Mohammadan jurisprudence.

Couple of points:

- With Modi at helm, is it really a surprise that the news was leaked via Social Media? It is not that IA has not done cross-LOC ops before; they have been done as required but unfortunately cannot be gloated about publicly, and hence have no political value. With this approach you can maintain an ambiguity about it. We can have a model where our SFs will routinely execute ops in PoK but never publicly acknowledge them, giving an element of face saving to Pak, and thus operating well below any nuclear threshold.

- The operation was not in Pakistan. It was on Indian territory illegally under Paki occupation. Our boys are fully entitled to be there and "international community" should have no reason to complain about it.
Bheeshma

Post by Bheeshma »

Very well said. PoK is Indian territory and GoI should state that unambiguously.

Need to tell paki about s-500 deployed in theatre!

20 terrorists killed but total casualties 200? I am totally confused.

200 wounded.

I wonder how far are the Chicoms from all this noise.

Find it funny that the Pakis have to make a lot of efforts to push 4/5 terrorists across and the IA flies in istyle. The IA knows how to roll out the carpet for themselves - no-fly zone, flights cancelled and all. And, being the great guests, they actually invite the Pakis to party too!!! Imagine that. Impressed.
Last edited by NRao on 22 Sep 2016 06:09, edited 1 time in total.

some humour for you to enjoy...

Pakistan Will Hit Back At Time and Place of Its Choosing, Musharraf Warns
http://www.news18.com/news/india/bugti- ... 94107.html

the ability of indian dams to control flow into POK is more during lean season..periods of low rainfall.
durvasa

Post by durvasa »

Paraphrasing what a recent Russian PM said - IA does not need visa to visit POK or whole of Pakistan for that matter:
salaam

Post by salaam »

shashankk wrote:Image
Newspaper link, Bhopal edition

HarpalBector and his myriad incarnations kindly ignore this.

NRao wrote:Find it funny that the Pakis have to make a lot of efforts to push 4/5 terrorists across and the IA flies in istyle. The IA knows how to roll out the carpet for themselves - no-fly zone, flights cancelled and all. And, being the great guests, they actually invite the Pakis to party too!!! Imagine that. Impressed.
Wah! NRao ji,
Very well written!
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

kedariprasad wrote:BREAKING NEWS: URI REVENGE
https://www.thequint.com/uri-attack/201 ... terrorists
The Times of India in Pune has categorically stated that India has NOT sent Special Forces across LoC.

shiv wrote: With respect - you are making a statement that you claim is a fact and then asking others to support you and not contradict you. I see your question like a man who sees a photo of Kashmir - serene and peaceful and says "there is no terrorism" in Kashmir.

The short answer is that the Chinese themselves are terrorists. They support and fund the Paki army. The Paki army funds islamic terrorists who attack everyone, like communists

The Chinese cultural revolution was like communist terrorists taking over China from 1966 to 76. That may seem like history but I saw it live in the papers. 30 million were killed. Later there was a Tibetan rebellion. Arms were supplied by the US from India. Untold thousands were killed. More recently there has been Uighur terror attacks regularly reported.

Why not PLA? China is a police state where criminals are caught and shot summarily. We would have to do this - I think Geelani and co would have been among the first to be shot. But that said the Chinese way is supported by people like Yechury and the Kerala commies. Islamist terrorists and communists use violence as part of their agenda and as long as one agrees with them one might live. You will notice that both Islamists and Communists accuse Hindus of being killers That aside China is a closed state where news does not escape other than what they want to publish

I think you are just deluded or misled at the very least about what you say of China. But these are my views. You have to ask yourself what techniques the Chinese use and whether those techniques can be used at all in India and why they cannot be used.

Too many Indians (I am not accusing you) like to say that Amreeka is "law abiding" but Indians are not. This is not true. There are laws and under Indians laws what the Chinese do simply cannot be done. If we break our laws we might as well throw away the constitution and dissolve India as we know it
Respected Shiv Sir, I agree that I have been deluded to the extent that I started getting a bit of soft corner for the Chinese due to my personal experiences and personal friendships during my visits to China. I also agree to the historical references you have given, but ordinary Chinese Abdul is totally deracinated. Deracination is also converted into an advantage as they don't know what kind of uncomfortable historical baggage they are carrying. And the 20% of the population is party karyakartas, who are all nationalistic in nature. For them history is irrelevant as they have started with a clean slate when their government turned to capitalistic from socialist.

They don't have any emotional attachment with Tibet or Xinjiang but they are obsessed with Taiwan.

Coming back to the topic of their handling of Terrorism, they eliminate the Terrorist Leadership ruthlessly. So domestically they don't have any Terrorism only problem is with external players, again if they have leverage they would put pressure on external players and when they don't have leverage they use propaganda to show the terrorists in bad light.

Why go till China, even Pakistan is good at handling Terrorists, in fact till the Lal Masjid incident, there was no Terrorism inside Pakistan against themselves, and may be there is some credence to the Rona dhona of pakis of external meddling after the Lal Masjid incident. Even today Pakjab is not infested with Terrorism barring chota mota incidents, which again is ruthlessly put down.

What I have been trying to say is that, when hurrirats refused to participate in elections, we should have eliminated the leadership, at least we should have used propaganda and dispersed the leadership to offshore, keeping Kobras in our house and giving milk is not "dharmic". Also we should instill fear for the acts of terrorism. We should have used bullets instead of pellet guns to deter the crowd.

" Dharma " is not infinite patience, but really sincere effort to solve the problem without resorting to blood shed. Why Lord Krishna went to Hasthinapura for "sandhi"? It's because there was sincere effort to avoid blood shed. But it's also our duty to deter people to use 'terrorism' against our people by means of propaganda by instilling fear by very deliberate show of violence ala " keechaka " or "dussasana". After all when a person dies, he would not feel the pain anymore, but when you tear open their bodies and showing ghory pictures to the public, either overtly or covertly, they will be deterred. So I advocate that there should be overt pronouncement of " we are going to tie a pig and cremate the body of terrorists to deny them the holes, and some covert leaking of photos in fb or Twitter of the terrorists' dead body with pig cremation and a prompt denial in public, but no holds barred propaganda of how ruthless the yindoos are would work wonders to eliminate at least soosai kind of terrorism.

Even Lord Rama had to kill "vaali" by hiding behind a tree, because that was the only way anybody could kill "vaali". It is the" Dharma ". As " Ramana" sir beautifully describes the subtleness of Dharma as "a compass within yourself", we should use it.
kedariprasad

Post by kedariprasad »

Iyersan wrote:
kedariprasad wrote:BREAKING NEWS: URI REVENGE
https://www.thequint.com/uri-attack/201 ... terrorists
The Times of India in Pune has categorically stated that India has NOT sent Special Forces across LoC.

Prakash Sharma
‏@India_Policy

Prakash Sharma Retweeted Manak Gupta

Do you expect Army or the Govt to confirm crossing of LoC, even if it's true? Especially when UN in session!

There is the reverse logic to it too. The operation are being conducted while the UNGA is in session. While the GOI may not acknowledge but the Major power will know.

That is another kind of signalling to the P5 and specially US and China.
ssundar

Post by ssundar »

kedariprasad wrote: Prakash Sharma
‏@India_Policy

Prakash Sharma Retweeted Manak Gupta

Do you expect Army or the Govt to confirm crossing of LoC, even if it's true? Especially when UN in session!
UN? Oh, you mean that glorified Toastmasters Club on 42nd street that throws great costume parties every few months? What would they know about actions countries take to protect themselves and avenge harm done to themselves? :evil:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 456254.cms
PM Modi's vow to avenge Uri won't remain just words: Manohar Parrikar
NEW DELHI: Indicating a hardening of resolve within the government, defence minister Manohar Parrikar+ said on Wednesday that PM Narendra Modi's promise+ to punish those behind the Uri terror attack+ would not remain words. "Sometimes I can have a knee jerk reaction too. But we are a responsible nation," he said. India would not be deterred by Pakistan brandishing nuclear weapons+ , he added.

"...I don't think the PM's initial words that `those responsible will be punished' will go as a mere statement. How to punish, that is for us to work out," Parrikar said at an event here.

Parrikar's comments and meetings of the CCS and the BJP core group point to intense deliberations in the government and party and indicate all options, indicating military ones, are open as it is being felt that inaction will only convince Pakistan that it can inflict deeper cuts in its proxy war against India. For a de-escalation, Pakistan would have to offer evidence of some serious and credible course corrections.

The government will not be averse to a diplomatic outcome if India's intent to use force results in some clear gains, but the BJP brass is also clear that there must a demonstrable result in light of public anger running deep. The Uri incident — a near repeat of the attack on the Pathankot air force base+ — is seen as a challenge to Modi's leadership as also BJP's campaign on nationalist issues after the JNU sedition case and recent "tiranga yatras". {They key word is *result* and not *action* though it might mean action given how loose our English usage is}

Parrikar dismissed Pakistan's oft-repeated threat of being fully-prepared to use its 60-km Nasr missiles with subkiloton plutonium warheads as a counter to India's conventional military superiority. "Empty vessels (like Pakistan) makes bigger noise. This country (India) is a very responsible power, but that does not mean I will sleep over this kind of terrorism that is being pushed from across. How do I do it is entirely for the government under the PM to decide," he said. This comes after the Indian security establishment has provided the government with a variety of punitive but limited actions possible against Pakistan without actually going to war, which range from "surgical strikes" to "cross-border raids" by special forces or ghatak platoons of infantry battalions.

I seriously doubt that the GOI would conduct such an op BEFORE the UNGA mtg. It would exacerbate the situ. Once we've done our diplomatic offensive educating the members-if there really was any need to do so,about Pak's terrorist perfidy,then whatever mil action the GOI has left to the armed forces will take place.The only factor that needs to be addressed is that according to all reports,it is only the IA that ahs had discussions with the top brass.
The CDS and all service chiefs should be involved especially as the Pakis may try to expand the conflict in a desperate attempot to get ionternational intervention.We cannot rule out more seaborne terror attacks as of 26/11,or attacks against our naval assets.

Here's the view from the other side.
http://www.defencenews.in/article/India ... _Pak_Media
India prepares to Attack under Cold Start Doctrine : Pak Media
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
By: Pakistan Today

India has completed the first step of preparedness to wage an attack on selective targets inside Pakistan under the Cold Start doctrine.

According to reports, India has completed its first phase preparations to attack selected targets in Pakistan under the Cold Start strategy. Sources also disclosed that although Pakistan will not initiate an attack, it would respond with full force in case of any strike by India.

The armed forces would not let Indians cross the red line, according to well-placed defence sources.

India has moved military jets and air force personnel to forward air bases to launch surgical strikes as part of the three-phased strategy.

Pakistan has also prepared itself to counter any adventure with full force, they said. The decision to cancel flights to northern areas was taken as a precautionary step.

In a telephonic conversation held a few hours ago, the civil-military leadership expressed satisfaction over Pakistan’s capability to respond to any attack

Measures are being taken with regard to Pakistan’s counter-strategy to defend itself and if an attack is launched from across the border then it would be fully thwarted. The suspension of flight operations in country’s north and sealing of various passages also came as part of the same strategy.

The tensions between the nuclear-armed adversaries have soared recently over deteriorating situation in Indian-occupied Kashmir (IoK). Over 100 innocent Kashmiris have been martyred and 8000 wounded by the occupying forces in recent incidents of violence.

Pakistan is up for pursuing the case peacefully in the United Nations as PM Nawaz Sharif on Monday and Tuesday held meetings with the world leaders on the sidelines of the 71st session of the UN General Assembly.

But, it seems that the neighbouring arch-rival has some other agenda to prevent Pakistan from raising voice over IoK atrocities by engaging it in a short-term war.
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

With all due respect....
The Phrase - " We will hit at a time and place of our choosing" is like saying " The law will take its own course"
I personally cant take it any more - 235 Indians dead 26/11, Pathankot, Uri ----- I mean what are we as a nation (Pussyfooting)??? Strength and resilience are words used by Coward Nations or is it the Indian Psychi which has been raped thru the years of subjugation to the British Raj.. For GOD's sake other countries will NOT solve your problems... India has to work on its own. Diplomatease has been tried and tested and has been found wanting .... Compound it with visible actions. I feel totally helpless that beyond sharing my views on this forum there is nothing more that can be done.

Pakis sh*tting bricks! Stock market collapsing.
‘Exercise’ fuels Indo-Pak escalation fears, drives stocks down
BAQIR SAJJAD SYED | ASIF CHAUDHRY — UPDATED ABOUT 3 HOURS AGO
WHATSAPP 23 COMMENTS EMAIL PRINT
ISLAMABAD/LAHORE: Despite official insistence that the activities had been planned in advance, Wednesday’s closure of airspace over the country’s northern areas and flights by Pakistan Air Force (PAF) fighter planes participating in exercises fuelled rumours that the country’s armed forces were preparing for a possible Indian attack, driving the stock market down.

The exercises, coming at a time when tensions between the two nuclear-armed neighbours are running high following a terrorist attack on a military camp in India-held Kashmir, drove speculation on social and mainstream media.

Despite the confusion, Inter-Services Public Relations and the PAF’s media directorate chose to keep mum and the official silence only fuelled rumour mills.

Talking to Dawn, a senior military official rejected the reports about any change in the alert level over the past few days. However, he noted that “extreme vigilance” was being exercised in view of the current threats from India. It is expected that official details about the exercises will be released in the coming days.

But following official announcements regarding the closure of airspace over the northern areas and the M1 and M2 motorways, even private TV channels began airing reports hinting at the possibility that these measures were being taken in response to the potential threat of surgical strikes by India, as possible retaliation for the Uri camp attack that left 18 soldiers dead.

Airspace, motorway closure for PAF’s ‘Highmark’ drives speculation on social, mainstream media
Talking about the fighter planes landing on the motorway, the military official said this was part of a routine training exercise, ‘Highmark’. Usually held every five years, this exercise is one of the largest undertakings by the PAF and requires months of advance planning.

Due to the closure of airspace, PIA flights from Islamabad to Gilgit and Skardu had also been cancelled. A top PIA official told Dawn that a ‘Notice to Airmen’ (NOTAMS) had been issued three days ago, informing about the airspace closure at different times on Sept 21, 22 and 24 due to the exercise.

The closure of the M1 and M2 motorways at multiple points — between Kala Shah Kaku and Sheikhupura/Gujranwala on the M2 and near Peshawar-Nowshera — was announced by National Highways and Motorway Police (NHMP) through a press release issued a day earlier, but the reason for the close was attributed to “construction work”.

Falling stocks
The over-flights by jets participating in the PAF drills also fuelled speculation that caused a sharp decline in the stock market, with the KSE-100 benchmark index dropping a massive 569 points to close at 39,771 points.
:rotfl: :lol: :D :mrgreen: :lol:

As small investors ran for cover, the market fell by 1.41pc, wiping out gains netted in the month of September. Banks, companies and mutual funds remained stable, but panic selling was triggered by individual small investors, who were dabbling in “penny stocks” that usually generated the biggest volumes in the market.

Former Karachi Stock Exchange chairman Arif Habib blamed the tumbling stocks on the hype created by the electronic media about tensions between Pakistan and India, which gave the impression that a confrontation was imminent.

But Mr Habib also pointed out that the market had been on a long bullish run, and that with the KSE-100 index crossing the 40,000-point level, a correction was due.

Border tensions
Certain media outlets also broadcast reports claiming that Indian troops had been moved to forward locations.

Ever since India adopted the cold-start doctrine, troops that used to be stationed 800-1,000km from the LoC and Working Boundary have now moved to a proximity of around 200-250km. According to a defence analyst, this implied that India’s war-time troop locations from 2005-06 were now their regular deployment zones.

“No further movement has been observed,” a military official disclosed, adding that Indian troops had already been in a state of mobilisation.

Army Chief Gen Raheel Sharif, chairing a corps commanders meeting earlier this week, had expressed satisfaction over the military’s “operational preparedness” and vowed to thwart all sinister designs against the country’s sovereignty and integrity.

Dilawar Hussain in Karachi also contributed to this report.

Published in Dawn September 22nd, 2016

Mihir wrote:Someone should start a hashtag #WeDontKnowJackShitYetSoShutTheHellUpAndDOntGoOverboardWithTheRhetoric
It will put more pressure on Modi to do something if something hasn't been done yet. Imagine the disappointment if this turns out to be false.

https://twitter.com/ShivAroor/status/778660712004456448
1. Unadulterated bullshit.
2. Denied by Army.
3. Whatsapp journalism.
4. Juvenile, pandering, wishful thinking.
5. Endangers real ops.

Iyersan wrote:With all due respect....
The Phrase - " We will hit at a time and place of our choosing" is like saying " The law will take its own course"
I personally cant take it any more - 235 Indians dead 26/11, Pathankot, Uri ----- I mean what are we as a nation (Pussyfooting)??? Strength and resilience are words used by Coward Nations or is it the Indian Psychi which has been raped thru the years of subjugation to the British Raj.. For GOD's sake other countries will NOT solve your problems... India has to work on its own. Diplomatease has been tried and tested and has been found wanting .... Compound it with visible actions. I feel totally helpless that beyond sharing my views on this forum there is nothing more that can be done.
Write to your MP/PM/DM. Motivate other like minded friends to register their voices. This government has demonstrated in many instances it takes a note of the ground level feedback. This also prevents narrative-brokers from manufacturing "nation's mood".

Is there some way we can get the Govt to intervene and not allow Pak Generals to appear on our channels ? In any self respecting country Musharraf would be called a war criminal (waging an illegal war, supporting terrorism and having men under his command torture and kill prisoners). On CNN News 18 he is treated as a VIP and given coverage on prime time to spew venom. He was joined by his former spokesman, Gen Quereshi and assorted Fauji afsar's all reading from the ISI script. The sight of them getting more TV time than our own experts, disgusts me.

I have written to Col Rathore (Min I&B) and CNN TV 18. No acknowledgement.

Army seems to be denying it according to a news paper entry

HTTPS://mobile.twitter.com/SumannSharrm ... 40/photo/1

LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

A nagging thought in my head: I wonder if this "cross border attack" news was planted for the benefit of Bakistan. Just my gut feel.

Hope I am wrong.

"We will hit at a time and place of our choosing" <-- the reason for this is the element of surprise. To keep the pigs guessing. To launch a counter attack within 24-48 hours is one thing but outside of that window it's better for it to be a surprise.

Folks want instant reprisals but will lashing out without an end game help? It will sooth our H&D for a while till the next attack. There has to be a short-term response (tactical plan) as well as a long-term end game (Strategic plan). BUT both have to be well thought out.

Of course folks are free to believe if "demonstrable result" mean "demonstrable inaction" or "demonstrable action".

Manish_Sharma wrote:https://twitter.com/ShivAroor/status/778660712004456448
1. Unadulterated bullshit.
2. Denied by Army.
3. Whatsapp journalism.
4. Juvenile, pandering, wishful thinking.
5. Endangers real ops.
this was his first response.

later,
Report about Indian commandos crossing LoC to kill terrorists. *EVEN* if true, what kind of moron reports it? Threatens ops & our troops!

Sure I hope India's commandos raid PoK camps & slaughter everyone there. But I'm happy not knowing about it. And I wouldn't ever report it.
@amancool5 Nor must anyone know the truth about any such potential operation. Special operations aren't a village mela.
https://twitter.com/ShivAroor/status/778849474319745024

Standing by story means zilch. No official comment ever on covert ops. Story endangers real ops / our troops on ground. Alerts Pak.
Amoghvarsha

Post by Amoghvarsha »

Deans wrote:Is there some way we can get the Govt to intervene and not allow Pak Generals to appear on our channels ? In any self respecting country Musharraf would be called a war criminal (waging an illegal war, supporting terrorism and having men under his command torture and kill prisoners). On CNN News 18 he is treated as a VIP and given coverage on prime time to spew venom. He was joined by his former spokesman, Gen Quereshi and assorted Fauji afsar's all reading from the ISI script. The sight of them getting more TV time than our own experts, disgusts me.

I have written to Col Rathore (Min I&B) and CNN TV 18. No acknowledgement.

Paki propoganda and terror supporting websites like defence.pk and pakpassion.net should be banned as well