Positive News from the USA

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
shyamoo

Re: Positive News from the USA

Post by shyamoo »

Shreeman wrote:Hello Gentlebeeble,

As you know, perhaps, if you have read this forum at some length, and can recall the recent and distant past -- that I come, and go.

This may be more of a go time. Mahendra, shiv, and many now entirely new identities themselves forged this satirical with kendostyx a decade ago. That is a long time. Similarly, this alternate positive universe was born out of severe accidents that occupied many of you nearly 6 years ago. Since then world cups have come and gone. Governments have changed, this was many F16 donations ago when bodily observations were standard practice.

Something DID remain same. And the sands of time slipped and slowly and slowly erased memories, relevance, importance, and so on. But what of the canary trapped in the coalmine that started squaking? Did it die? Naturally. A tree fell in the forest, no one was watching. No one will spend money to find out what happened IF no one was interested in finding out when it was all free. There is a high enough barrier AND a bad enough summary that there will not be ANY interest in finding out what, when, or why. There is no precedent for this, but this is a bad precedent.

So, time to go. Time has previously surprised and provided opportunity to visit the laal masjid and play kendostyx dandia in the west cave of lalmullah. Who knows, there is a 0 percent chance it may happen again. After all, 0 percent is still a percent? Isnt it? If it were not so, why would you call it a percent at all.

Filling anything to the brim is always hard. And its harder to prevent with the cup runneth over. On that note, I must take my leave of you. Next few days, there may still be opportunities to read. But not write. Really. May you keep the short end of the candle alight as well in keeping the positivity flowing just as well as bojitivity.
Shreeman ji, hope everything's ok..
member_29172

Post by member_29172 »

This is quite a goldmine, the superiority of these superior beings in full glory

https://www.reddit.com/r/ShitAmericansSay/

Oakland mayor slams 'frat house' police as acting chief resigns
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... -1.2678312

Oakland fires fourth police chief in a week

vnmshyam wrote:
Shreeman wrote:Hello Gentlebeeble,

As you know, perhaps, if you have read this forum at some length, and can recall the recent and distant past -- that I come, and go.

This may be more of a go time. Mahendra, shiv, and many now entirely new identities themselves forged this satirical with kendostyx a decade ago. That is a long time. Similarly, this alternate positive universe was born out of severe accidents that occupied many of you nearly 6 years ago. Since then world cups have come and gone. Governments have changed, this was many F16 donations ago when bodily observations were standard practice.

Something DID remain same. And the sands of time slipped and slowly and slowly erased memories, relevance, importance, and so on. But what of the canary trapped in the coalmine that started squaking? Did it die? Naturally. A tree fell in the forest, no one was watching. No one will spend money to find out what happened IF no one was interested in finding out when it was all free. There is a high enough barrier AND a bad enough summary that there will not be ANY interest in finding out what, when, or why. There is no precedent for this, but this is a bad precedent.

So, time to go. Time has previously surprised and provided opportunity to visit the laal masjid and play kendostyx dandia in the west cave of lalmullah. Who knows, there is a 0 percent chance it may happen again. After all, 0 percent is still a percent? Isnt it? If it were not so, why would you call it a percent at all.

Filling anything to the brim is always hard. And its harder to prevent with the cup runneth over. On that note, I must take my leave of you. Next few days, there may still be opportunities to read. But not write. Really. May you keep the short end of the candle alight as well in keeping the positivity flowing just as well as bojitivity.
Shreeman ji, hope everything's ok..
Shreeman ji, that was cryptic and positively wicked/witty writing as usual. It doesn't seem like all is well. Do return if and when possible. Certainly miss your posts and amazingly witty writing.

shyamoo

Post by shyamoo »

Alka_P wrote:This is quite a goldmine, the superiority of these superior beings in full glory

https://www.reddit.com/r/ShitAmericansSay/
Ok, fess up. Who wrote the following:
Please stop maligning this firearm. The AR-15 is a gun of peace. The vast vast majority of AR-15s in the US are used and bought legally by their owners. Only an extremely small minority ever are used for violence towards others. You cannot judge an entire class of firearms based off of the way such a small subset of them are used. Furthermore, the owner's manual book which the AR-15 comes with is a book of peace itself, as it clearly outlines and warns against the firearm ever being used in such a way as it was used during the Orlando shooting. Please discontinue making such bigoted comments towards this firearm in the future.
My money would be on doc Saar.

Very prophetic russian movie of 2012

Review is here, full film in youtube

http://www.fort-russ.com/2015/03/geopol ... r.html?m=1

In Massaland if the coke doesn't cook your brain , american foosball will.

Doc, is that light I see in my head, the pure white angel of death ?

Hawaiian GOP Candidate’s Jebus War Against Tulsi Gabbard Too Crazy For Hawaiian GOP
As we mentioned a couple weeks back in your Senate Sunday, Hawaii is in general such a blue, blue state that Republican candidates don’t really have much of a chance at the polls — so much so that a ridiculous number of Democratic candidates for the state legislature are running unopposed in the fall. So it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise that the person who won the GOP primary nomination to run against very popular U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard turns out to be too out-there even for the state party, which has disavowed her after she ran a Facebook post accusing Gabbard and fellow Democrat Colleen Hanabusa of being actual demon worshipers.

The now-deleted Facebook post by GOP nominee Angela Kaaihue included the image above, and was accompanied by a press release calling Hawaii a “Devil Democratic State” and, for good measure, included a rant against Japanese-American Gov. David Ige, whom she appears to blame for some kind of land dispute she’s involved in. Why Gov. Ige? As far as we can tell from a different Facebook rant which we won’t pretend to understand, her neighbor is of Japanese ancestry, so OF COURSE Gov. Ige is to blame, because the Japanese are all in it together. The press release promised that if “Gov Ige and his Japanese constituents” would settle, then she’d drop out of the congressional race:

“Then Hawaii, YOU can have YOUR so-called ‘perfect’ pathetic Hindu 1000 GODS leader along with YOUR pathetic ‘career politician’ Buddhist Hanabusa, and your pathetic American Traitor, And my family and I will go our merrily way,” Kaaihue said. She also ridiculed Gabbard’s “moon-crater cheeks.”

Saar, what Constitutional rights?

https://www.aclu.org/constitution-100-mile-border-zone

Essentially 200 Million people are affected by having no recourse to 4th Amendment since they fall in the 100 mile arbitrary border area.

The US is a fantastic place to do UG.It is welcoming to both amir khans and foreigners and does not discriminate against anyone.They take extra care to facilitate admission.Question papers of past and future tests are available.

Inside standardised testing and college admissions

We are so sup-e-rear to you dark heathen land where students cheat and question papers are leaked out.

http://www.enewscourier.com/news/local_ ... 41f66.html
Attorney expresses shock over reinstatement of Madison police officer
A Florence civil rights attorney on Thursday called the Madison Police Department's decision to reinstate officer Eric Parker “shocking and disappointing.”
Hank Sherrod is representing Sureshbhai Patel, the Indian grandfather seriously injured when Parker performed a takedown maneuver in February 2015. Patel, who was walking down Hardiman Lane in Madison-annexed Limestone County, was approached by Parker and another officer after a 911 caller reported a “skinny black guy” looking in garages.
Dash-cam video of the incident shows Parker bringing Patel down to the ground face-first. The maneuver resulted in a spinal injury for Patel.
Parker had been indicted on federal civil rights violations, but two trials ended in hung juries. Third-degree assault charges against him in Limestone County were also dropped at the request of Alabama Attorney General Luther Strange.
On Tuesday, acting Madison police chief Maj. Jim Cooke announced Parker was back on the job. Parker will be assigned to the department's training unit until he completes required re-certifications. Once his training is complete, he will receive his duty assignment........

Those who've seen the v-clip will be horrified in the manner in which the unarmed black was shot with extreme prejudice.No wonder the US is facing a civil war between blacks and the police.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/201 ... -emergency
Charlotte protests: North Carolina governor declares state of emergency
Second night of unrest rocks the city following the fatal police shooting of Keith Scott, a black man

Hundreds protest in Charlotte after fatal police shooting of black man
Matthew Teague in Charlotte, North Carolina
@MatthewTeague
Thursday 22 September 2016

Violence and confusion has spread across Charlotte after a second night of protests was interrupted by gunfire when one protester shot another.
North Carolina governor Pat McCrory declared a state of emergency on Wednesday, and called for help from the National Guard and the Highway Patrol.

Charlotte protest: shot civilian is ‘critical’ but not dead, city says in correction – live
Second night of protests erupts after the death of 43-year-old black man
Charlotte police say they warned Keith Scott to drop gun before shooting him
The demonstrations started on Tuesday after police shot and killed a black man.

Late on Wednesday night crowds gathered at the site of the protester’s shooting, and pulled clay planters from city flowerbeds to throw at police. Dirt from the pots mixed with the wounded protester’s blood on the sidewalk, trampled by the opposing ranks of police and protesters.

Initially city officials said the man had died from the gunfire, but later reversed to say he was alive but critically wounded.
Protesters held signs that read “release the tape”, referring to police video of the shooting that started the protests on Tuesday.

Police shot and killed Keith Scott, a black man, in the parking lot of an apartment complex where he lived on the east side of the city. Mayor Jennifer Roberts’s spokesman said she would review the video footage on Thursday, but has no plans to release it.

A man squats near a pool of blood after a man was injured during a protest of Tuesday’s fatal police shooting of Keith Lamont Scott in Charlotte. Photograph: Chuck Burton/AP
The new shooting on Wednesday night took place in an upscale section of Charlotte’s business district called Uptown, and a few protesters looted stores as crowds paced the streets.

Robert Noble, 48, and his wife were finishing dinner at a restaurant called City Smoke when they saw a wave of protesters surge past the building’s glass front. “Then a brick came flying through the window,” he said. Staff and patrons evacuated through a back corridor, he said.

Police mustered at the intersection where the night’s shooting had happened, divided it into quadrants and marched outward, slowly pressing back protesters. They fired tear gas canisters as they moved.

Protesters lost and regained and then lost territory again into the night, and eventually started flinging wine bottles and at least one Moltov cocktail at the lines of police. Once protesters threw bottles police started firing orange plastic bullets filled with white powder. The shots – which made the sound of automatic gunfire – scattered crowds before they gradually reformed.

Police wore the now-familiar riot gear that has led some to criticize the militarization of law enforcement. But in North Carolina, home to numerous military bases and veterans, police found themselves squaring off more often against former soldiers who had their own tactics and gear.

Police and protesters carry a seriously wounded protester into the parking area of the the Omni Hotel during a march to protest the death of Keith Scott.

Police and protesters carry a seriously wounded protester into the parking area of the the Omni Hotel during a march to protest the death of Keith Scott. Photograph: Brian Blanco/Getty Images
“They’re treating us like we’re in a war zone,” said protester Sage Lawson, 24, of Reidsville, North Carolina. Wednesday was his one year anniversary of leaving the military, he said. “We couldn’t do this to people in Afghanistan. They can snatch people out of a crowd and just throw them in a van. We couldn’t do that in war.”

A man in a gas mask who gave his first name as John, but declined to give his last name, said he spent four years in the Marines, stationed at Camp Lejeune in North Carolina. “I’m still serving my country,” he said, sounding distant and muffled through the mask. He stood just a foot or so from a line of police, who wore their own masks. “It feels strange to be on this side, it does,” he said. “But this is the right thing.”

Amid the flying bottles and canisters and plastic bullets, 51-year-old Henry Lee sat silent on a law chair at the center of the confrontation. He didn’t speak to anyone, but listened to music. As police advanced he moved his chair back incrementally. “I will not run,” he said.

The only thing that moved him from his position was a thrown glass bottle. He stood and turned to face a wall of protesters, almost all younger than him. “Cut that out!” he thundered. “Stop throwing shit. There’s a right way to do this.”

And then he sat down again.

I was watching the so-called 'cops' kill an unarmed black man in Tulsa where his car had stalled on the highway.

Instead of helping him out with his stalled car, they just killed.

he was a father of 3 small children and sang in the church choir. Apparently a high risk profile.

Why no travel advisory to Indian nationals by the GOI?

Watching the news.The situ looks like a civil war.
The US is descending into the abyss.The cops just can't trust minorities and likewise.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics ... shootings/

990 killed by police in 2015
706 now in sepyemebr 2016.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/ng- ... e-killings

here this shows 1146 killings in 2015
790 in 2016 and year yet to end.

http://www.fatalencounters.org/
crowd sourced.

The above 2 are media from washington posta nd guardian doing their job of collecting data aboit fatal shootings by police since 2015 after black lives matter erupted.

blacks and native american more often than not targetted as a percentage of population.
whites are killed more in numerical terms due to population as a whole.

amazing that there are no national data on these for a lllllloooonnngggggg time.

god knows how many 1000s killed over the decades.

The usa has no national standards, no state policies or some database to track these killings. Alos each state has differnet methods of
training police force in using deadly force on unarmed citizens.
virtually all police training methods are to make the unarmed person obey- some change by the victim, police just shoot to death. no common sense or to injure the person . dead person talks no tales.
jury mostly sides with the police. prtaablem is the loose definition of victim conduct which can be easily be made into defence for the police. 1989 sc ruling said that police can use reasonably amount of force to accomplish the goal of completing the objective/goal. This sort of ruling gives free hand as every jury etc and police interpret it differently.
there are over 18000+ law enforecment agencies in usa. they all have their own methods to deal with the above.

congress in 1994 wanted attorney general to document the excessive police force but never carried out!!!
FBI for all its fame does not even have its data base on it.

For all its hooman rights noises, usa does not meet the standards of human rights for use of excessive police force by many internationla orgs .

http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2016/07/ ... acial-bias
18 studies almost 16 indict black as a factor in excessive force or killing.

I used the "people killed by police in usa" to search.

surprising that the term fake encounter or encounter killings terms never used in usa but used for developing countries only.
Last edited by krisna on 22 Sep 2016 20:57, edited 1 time in total.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

Other side of story on Tulsa incident -
http://abcnews.go.com/US/tulsa-police-o ... d=42243843

As per generally followed procedures I would have expected the guy to lay down on ground and NOT walk away to the car when the cops are talking and pointing to that guy.

In the Charlotte incident the cop was a black person himself.

There are definitely lapses in police procedures and need to be improved to stop unfortunate incidents. But dont think racism related which certain organizations are trying to project and create race and civil wars.
LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

Sorry. Walking "AWAY" is not a crime that deserves death sentence. Yes, it can be viewed as climbing the escalation ladder. But it could be anything, it could be a disoriented, confused person.

When you have 4 barrels pointed at you with safety off, you will find it extremely difficult to respond rationally. Especially if you have been stranded, tired etc.

In such a case, the ladder of escalation should not go from "You are alive" to "You are dead". Instead there must be some layered protocol to go from "You are someone stranded" to "You may be a threat" to "You are a threat" to "You may not let me get out of this alive" to "I have to shoot to remove that threat".

Instead all I see is a western style quick draw, quick shoot kind binary step function. That is disconcerting, regardless of race and what not. Having said that, that binary protocol is definitely reserved for minorities, statistics all around.
LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

Lets look at probability:

Lets say you are a stranded motorist, trying to get into your car that you got yourself locked out of, someone calls 911, soon an armada of cops arrive with atleast 10 officers having their guns drawn and ready to fire.

They are all nervous and the probability that one of them will shoot you by accident is 1/100. There are 10 of them. Whats the chance that you would be dead? Now lets say they are really nervous, the probability of one shooting you is 1/10 now. What are the odds that you would be dead?
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

LokeshC -
The walking away did not trigger the shot, but his seeming to reach out for something from the open window of the car triggered it - as per the cop (female) statement. Also the car engine was running and it was kinda abandoned in the middle of street and the guy not responding properly to the cop. So number of things.
Agree to your nervous part of comment. The police need to be better trained and better procedures to be evolved for handling the situations.
Also the citizens need to be educated to be more responsible and follow cops instructions to avoid misunderstanding as there are true criminals and lot of crazies who don't hesitate to shoot and kill these days.
Blacks are involved in more number of crime compared to their size of population and so higher police encounters. Lot of ghettos, single parents with several kids and resulting in crime and drugs. More of so called social activists should be involved in addressing those root problems than blaming on racism and divide the society further, especially in a charged and turbulent world adding more fuel to society unrest.

Anyways just my opinion.

dsreedhar wrote:LokeshC -
---snip ----
Blacks are involved in more number of crime compared to their size of population and so higher police encounters. Lot of ghettos, single parents with several kids and resulting in crime and drugs. More of so called social activists should be involved in addressing those root problems than blaming on racism and divide the society further, especially in a charged and turbulent world adding more fuel to society unrest.

Anyways just my opinion.

blacks have been disadvantged in a secular democratic way. They will never come up like the whites have due possibly forever.(would lke to be proved wrong)
racism is a part of the american history. will never die honestly. it is carried on for generations. the first instance is in book of genesis. This is carried forward. A white man is always safer realtively from a policeman than a black. There is an irrational fear of blacks as they may harbour guns, fight them etc etc.

The govts in their esteemed wisdom have implemented policies ironically to uplift them have irreversibly damaged them over time.

Many policies since kennedy johnson and onwards to reduce the inequality and many other policies have created some probelms.
many in prisons are blacks (relative size to population)- crimes could be simple like stealing in food market to a amajor crime.

The social economic policies to uplift them stigmatsied the crime. They look at controlling the crimes and not the causes which lead to crime. This has worsened the gap , net result higher %age of blacks with incarceration.

---------------------
There are many ghettos in usa. These are with good neighbourhood and a not so good one. sort of walled ones with out actual wall.(may be trump is refferring to this type of walls :mrgreen: )

each neighbourhood is sort of separate from the other one. The housing rates are mostly similar in each neighbourhood with similar type of houses roughly. many such neighbourhoods make a town etc.
The taxes are paid accordingly.
If a house in that particular locality is costly , only people with good money come there- as mostly with business/lawyers/stem graduates bankers doctors etc. ex- my place has mostly graduates double graduates phds etc sort of realtively wealthy neighbourhood.
I find only one black married to an white lady. rest are non blacks incluidng Indians.

I find similar locations in many other areas.

Lot of blacks are from poorer neighbourhoods. This is self perpetuating in some sense.

example- schools are renovated, salries etc are paid from taxes-- central state and local community.
state and central taxes are sort of fixed. what changes are the local town taxes ---- wealthy neighbourhood generates more taxes , hence better schols better teachers. The parents in those areas make sure their children do well. This is self perpetuating in some sense.

similar to above, poor neighbourhood have lower taxes--> poorer schools, poorer teachers poor performance, parents are not well educated etc etc. sort of self perpetuating.

-------------------------------

many Indians who come to usa are well educated and qualified--> hence admitted with a visa to usa. They dont allow otherwise.
many of these folks go hiogehr up in chain of success and go to decent or wealthy neighbourhood shielded from poorer ones.
Hence always have the good stuff about america.

---------------------
being a hakim has helped moi see both sides in hakim shop as all have diseases with no sparing of poor or rich.

krisna wrote:
amazing that there are no national data on these for a lllllloooonnngggggg time.
A year or so ago I was searching for US data from an al hakimi viewpoint - the specific papers I wanted was data on death rate per shooting versus death rate per attack by weapon other than gun. You realize that if the latter is much less than the former - it would be medical data that would hurt the gun lobby.

No such data was available - when I discovered that until recently there was a US ban on collecting such data

krisna wrote: being a hakim has helped moi see both sides in hakim shop as all have diseases with no sparing of poor or rich.
Very good point. You have an ear on the ground so to speak. You probably can tell more about how the situation is changing on the ground, unlike who might be working in an office somewhere. Thanks for your perspective.

Happened across these headlines in newspaper today -

1. 5 dead in mall shooting
2. 55% increase in rapes
3. Editorial asking to open heroin injection sites with doctors on hand
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

I can understand your comment on self perpetuating and agree to a point. But i see even pertinent problem is with the basic family unit in blacks which is the problem and self perpetuating. They seem to have more divorce rates or single parents and more kids(3+) from diff men. The kids are more into basketball, rap music and other activities and less into education. These families ultimately form the community/neighborhood.
I have lived in diff apartment communities over a period with some significant hispanic/mexican, some signficant blacks and some significant whites. These are average working class apt communities. The ones with the significant black people had more crime, fights and disturbances.
I see quite a few interracial couples (black man + white woman) of all age groups with more in the young. I have also seen and heard some grudge from the black women that the white girls are stealing their men.

The families make up the neighborhood. It is upto these families to help and uplift their communities and not just blame white racism and hope someone will come make all good for them. The govt provides enough funds to these communities.

I currently live in a house with white neighbors including a cop, and couple of black families in the street. This is a good part of town and educated working class people. Not the higher end (doctors, lawyers etc) though.
The white neighbors watered my garden when i was on month long vacation and also gladly mowed my yard when it grown a bit. The cop would keep an eye and check on my house.
Sure I did run into some arrogant whites and also some cocky blacks as well in my 15+yrs in US. Those were my experiences and observation. I do not see any wide spread racism by whites. There is enough protection, policies and social awareness to handle it.

Since last 3-4 yrs I have seen a surge in blacks expressing their anger more openly and outwardly. This kinda now coincided with the anti-muslim wave in west. Trump's muslim anti-immigration sentiment has led to more attacks from blacks now.

Couple of clips to show the rage/attitude of blacks lately -

Yale black girl yelling at professor
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6ZVEVufWFI

Black anti-trump protestors
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhdK-oYUrDw

All just my observation and pov.

I see a parallel - the plight and all troubles of blacks in America blamed on racist whites and the plight of dalits on casteist brahmans and plight of muslims on communalist hindus in India.

Cultural Marxisim??

shiv wrote:No such data was available - when I discovered that until recently there was a US ban on collecting such data
yes..the only data comes from aggregates that interested orgs do from whats reported in news.

the gotus does collect it for fbi though, just not for police , iirc.

dsreedhar wrote: But dont think racism related which certain organizations are trying to project and create race and civil wars.
u don't think it is racism that a white man can carry AR15 to a walmart in open carry state and nothing happens to him, while a black man reaches for his pocket and is shot dead?

krisna wrote:surprising that the term fake encounter or encounter killings terms never used in usa but used for developing countries only.
before the age of the smartphones and cctv cameras and what not, go back to 90s and check reports. almost all of them will have 'weapon found', 'drug found' reports on police shootings. given how none of that were questioned or scrutinized in any manner, there is no telling how many were just killed outright unjustifiably.

krisna wrote: There are many ghettos in usa. These are with good neighbourhood and a not so good one. sort of walled ones with out actual wall.(may be trump is refferring to this type of walls :mrgreen: )

each neighbourhood is sort of separate from the other one. The housing rates are mostly similar in each neighbourhood with similar type of houses roughly. many such neighbourhoods make a town etc.
The taxes are paid accordingly.
If a house in that particular locality is costly , only people with good money come there- as mostly with business/lawyers/stem graduates bankers doctors etc. ex- my place has mostly graduates double graduates phds etc sort of realtively wealthy neighbourhood.
I find only one black married to an white lady. rest are non blacks incluidng Indians.

I find similar locations in many other areas.

Lot of blacks are from poorer neighbourhoods. This is self perpetuating in some sense.

example- schools are renovated, salries etc are paid from taxes-- central state and local community.
state and central taxes are sort of fixed. what changes are the local town taxes ---- wealthy neighbourhood generates more taxes , hence better schols better teachers. The parents in those areas make sure their children do well. This is self perpetuating in some sense.

similar to above, poor neighbourhood have lower taxes--> poorer schools, poorer teachers poor performance, parents are not well educated etc etc. sort of self perpetuating.
As a digression - the above description is a perfect model of the way in which caste based communities and neighbourhoods developed in India minus the mandatory derision and contempt for Hindus as being especially offensive people. When non Hindus have the exact same social structure that Hindus have it's not so bad.

dsreedhar wrote:I can understand your comment on self perpetuating and agree to a point. But i see even pertinent problem is with the basic family unit in blacks which is the problem and self perpetuating. They seem to have more divorce rates or single parents and more kids(3+) from diff men. The kids are more into basketball, rap music and other activities and less into education. These families ultimately form the community/neighborhood.
I have lived in diff apartment communities over a period with some significant hispanic/mexican, some signficant blacks and some significant whites. These are average working class apt communities. The ones with the significant black people had more crime, fights and disturbances.
I see quite a few interracial couples (black man + white woman) of all age groups with more in the young. I have also seen and heard some grudge from the black women that the white girls are stealing their men.
In India there is a dharma/adharma argument where family and community values and work ethic are classified as dharma and retained in a community neighbourhood while others who do not conform form a separate "caste" neighbourhood. Same structure but in India it calls for condemnation. In the US it needs understanding and correction

As a digression - the above description is a perfect model of the way in which caste based communities and neighbourhoods developed in India minus the mandatory derision and contempt for Hindus as being especially offensive people. When non Hindus have the exact same social structure that Hindus have it's not so bad.

The most telling demographic parameter to interrogate an inegalitarian society is social mobility. I am sure there must be a coefficient of social mobility developed somewhere. It would be instructive to compare the mobility of a black in the US and a dalit in India. More specifically inter-generational mobility. And to make it fair, corrected for income.

But then the Hindu abuse industry would have to look away, closer to the superior cultures and perhaps even need to examine their own religion's role in their own castes.

An observation made by a person a white married to Indian. Both hakims also.
She said she went to India to meet her in laws. she observed the country in general also visiting various tourist spots etc villages etc. she had read when she married him.

She said a few things which I thought was normal but very significant for her.

she commented that we Indians dont have any embarassment at our appearance both personal and in neighbourhoods.
She called this as embarassment of poverty. This stares openly at anyone who goes sightseeing in India.

Personal - cant say much.

But wrt neighbourhoods- she meant that one find all kinds of houses rich poor middle class all jostling with each other. It was a amazing sight. she was deeply sort of moved and somewhat humbled by this experience.
She laughingly said--This sort of houses and all sorts of people jostling together with not much rancour can never happen in usa with its neighbourhoods.

Or is it an indifference to public space. And only a nascent civic sense.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

In US the land is zoned into specific commercial and residential places. It is very planned. When a residential community is developed, the residential places are plotted and within a community they are all pretty much similar price range. This is in the cities. In the country side from the little I seen the houses are not jostled as land is abundant and people spread out on big lands.
In India cities, in the same area you have a apartment complex, shops all next to a house. The plots range from 50 sq yards to 300 sq. yards and more. There is no planning. Individual owners may split plots into smaller lots and sell. And in some cases people (poor) settle and occupy any little empty lots. So it is all haphazard and no control. But now there are more planned communities coming up in cities which house similar price range houses which is getting similar to US. Whether it is right/wrong or good/bad is for the people to decide.

krisna wrote:An observation made by a person a white married to Indian. Both hakims also.
She said she went to India to meet her in laws. she observed the country in general also visiting various tourist spots etc villages etc. she had read when she married him.

she commented that we Indians dont have any embarassment at our appearance both personal and in neighbourhoods.
She called this as embarassment of poverty. This stares openly at anyone who goes sightseeing in India.

But wrt neighbourhoods- she meant that one find all kinds of houses rich poor middle class all jostling with each other. It was a amazing sight. she was deeply sort of moved and somewhat humbled by this experience.
She laughingly said--This sort of houses and all sorts of people jostling together with not much rancour can never happen in usa with its neighbourhoods.
This same kind of comments have been there for the last 40 years. Similar comments almost exactly same.

When they compare with western society they dont understand that western society has 100 years of continuous development.
100 years is a long term change in any country.
India after independence had 50 years of colonized leaders who could not break out of the previous colonial growth.
So comparision of social mobility are just bogus and are for mostly western society

krisna wrote:An observation made by a person a white married to Indian. Both hakims also.

Looks like I set off this discussion.

In India the appearance of poverty is not the same as poverty. Most people from the west confuse the appearance of poverty with actual poverty. Among Hindus, Jains and Buddhists there exists the concept of "voluntary poverty" and the rejection of material wealth - so you can actually have one multi-generation family where one person is voluntarily accepts all the trappings of lack of material possessions in terms of clothes, food and any other modern conveniences. Some people do this as a "sacrifice" - for a time before a pilgrimage to a temple - say Sabarimalai.Dress is a poor indicator of poverty in India.Wealthy people often appear poor and people who wish to appear wealthy cannot show off their wealth by carrying Looie Vittal handbags or travelling to Bohemias/Bahamas wherever. No one understands that. One must wear jewellery, silk or gold braided clothes. Men too. Wealth in India is gold and property. People living in the most run down houses are often landowners or landlords with many other houses given on rent. In India the office-boy and Manohar Parikkar will both wear bush-shirt and pant with chappals. It was a western hang-up to differentiate social classes using clothes as indicator.

It is a western problem that imagines that poverty must be indicated by appearance. real poverty is destitution, which exists in India in large numbers but its there in the US too AFAIK in disguise where destitutes have plenty of food but nowhere to stay and no means of living with dignity. Living poor but with dignity used to be possible in India , but we are gradually copying the American method.

As an aside the Chinese rapidly took advantage of a naive Western penchant for appearances were a label or brand name indicated status. The started making "ditto clones" so everyone could have the same apperance. Even among my own desi relatives now living in Amreeka there is torment about who is carrying fake Lui Voiughtghton handbag and who is not. One relative is wife of hedge fund manager and another is wife of non hedge fund non manager. Both are carrying Lois Vuightun. Other ladies are not sure hoo ij genuine.

shiv wrote: hedge fund manager
Pah! We all good guys onree. I wear a dhoti and drive a down on the heels gaadi onree. I take a 6 wheeler (1.5 core vehicle to work) and am looking for the driverless 6 crore vehicle to take me to work very soon after 2 or 3 months.

Wifey takes the car to work!