India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

anupmisra wrote: "Hug a Paki" day!....
every day, in the morning, without fail.

(you might not get this if you dont understand Indian languages north of vindhyachal) :wink:

kit wrote:Yeah they will hug you with one hand and stab you with the other .. what part of " all non muslims are infidels and its their heavenly duty to purify the world by killing them" you don t understand .. this is the Wahhabi version of islam and the only one Pakistan and its biggest benefactor is following
Peace brother. Love and peace. All religions talk about peace especially Islam.

And track 2 diplomacy - that's very important. And if Modiji does not give them Indus water I will send my mineral water.

(you might not get this if you dont understand Indian languages north of vindhyachal) :wink:
Hahahaha, now I know why you are a moderator.

you have PM.

shiv wrote:What if, to escape international censure. Pakis set off bombs in their cities and then pre-emptively attack India, blaming India for the attacks
Porky army generails take pride in their elaborate (half a$$) planning. I am sure they have a workshop which produces studies just for this purpose each and every day. Once in awhile a generail, usually after watching too many hollywood movies and PTV, executes these plans only to be made a relic in history.

For what you have suggestive, they will have to work with their civis and all arms of their services which they are morally unable to do.
Amoghvarsha

Post by Amoghvarsha »

India to boycott SAARC summit in Pakistan.

Has this been posted ?!

Everyday,Without fail, indeed, saar. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

username changed to arijitdas as per BR username policy.

@Kapoor saab, plz check PM.

Hey.. meanwhile our MSM is learning to trend how Modi wants them to write.
http://linkis.com/indianexpress.com/ar/FeqNb

Akshay Kapoor wrote:
kit wrote:Yeah they will hug you with one hand and stab you with the other .. what part of " all non muslims are infidels and its their heavenly duty to purify the world by killing them" you don t understand .. this is the Wahhabi version of islam and the only one Pakistan and its biggest benefactor is following
Peace brother. Love and peace. All religions talk about peace especially Islam.

And track 2 diplomacy - that's very important. And if Modiji does not give them Indus water I will send my mineral water.
what kind of "your" mineral water. :| :shock: :eek:

Karan tsk, tsk.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :twisted:

Mixt wit self generated urea.

ANI ‏@ANI_news 41m41 minutes ago

US Secy of State Kerry, during meeting with PM Sharif on sidelines of UNGA, called for talks b/w India-Pak on Kashmir issue: Aizaz Chaudhry

nirav wrote:Has this been posted ?!

[youtube]

This is certainly not Kashmir. If it is in J&K then, may be Jammu or Kathua, but not Kashmir for sure. There is no direct railways connectivity after Udhampur anyway.
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Original poster in youtube says that the location is southern Gujarat and the video is dated May 2015. Interesting shots of Flycatcher radars and L-70 guns though.

Austin wrote:ANI ‏@ANI_news 41m41 minutes ago

US Secy of State Kerry, during meeting with PM Sharif on sidelines of UNGA, called for talks b/w India-Pak on Kashmir issue: Aizaz Chaudhry
This is how it goes:

PM Sharif: O Nishaan-e-Bakistan Kerry Sahab, the Indians murdered youth leader Burhan Wani and when there was a fully pindi-genous response against their oppressive army camp at Uri, they started threatening us with IWT, SAARC isolation, covert ops and everything else. Help your MuNNA no? Make some statement at least?

Kerry: Simla agreement. Solve it bilaterally with talks. Aage badho, maaf kar do.

Aizaz Chaudhry: Did you hear? Kerry called for talks b/w India-Pak on Kashmir issue!

Ashokk wrote:
Original poster in youtube says that the location is southern Gujarat and the video is dated May 2015. Interesting shots of Flycatcher radars and L-70 guns though.
The train is reaaaally long.
Its good to see the kind of mobilisation capacity we possess ..

Someone could actually mail the link to Aajtak - Im certain they will launch a 'sansani khez khabar' .. bharat bakistan border pe bofors tope move kar raha hai .. ye dekhiye .. :wink: :rotfl:
ssundar

Post by ssundar »

nirav wrote: Someone could actually mail the link to Aajtak - Im certain they will launch a 'sansani khez khabar' .. bharat bakistan border pe bofors tope move kar raha hai .. ye dekhiye .. :wink: :rotfl:
That ain't Aajtak stuff. Just a few guns, jeeps and trucks. Where's the hardcore stuff? :evil:

I don't care much for our military too using that much green paint, if you know what I mean.
pralay

Post by pralay »

birathers, I suggest one more serious option,
"PISSful Demonstrations",
take 2-3 lakhs of people to rivers near pak border and just PISS all at once.

I assure you guys it will have a huge mental impact, mark my words.

after every terrorist attacks people should make it a ritual.
Which of you pissful souls are ready? Shall we start a campaign for this #PissToPakistan ?

pralay wrote:birathers, I suggest one more serious option,
"PISSful Demonstrations",
take 2-3 lakhs of people to rivers near pak border and just PISS all at once.

I assure you guys it will have a huge mental impact, mark my words.

after every terrorist attacks people should make it a ritual.
Which of you pissful souls are ready? Shall we start a campaign for this #PissToPakistan ?

S Swami giving insights into thinking of Govt. on retaliation options :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOinGReFHa8

Philip wrote:Dear Sachin,its you who appear to have a dose of the Delhi Belly! Rush to an apothecary.These weapon systems are proudly being used by our armed forces.Don't denigrate them.Soviet/Russian arms served us magnificently during '71,they will serve us well today as well.
Mate don't be so touchy. I did not denigrate any weapon system from the Russians and I have high regard for their design philosophy- so do not miss the woods for the trees and do not assume that because we do not post we know less - you will be surprised!!. But it is a pain to read such verbose articles which really do not add much - surely you would agree with that. Senior members like you should be more qualitative in their posts.
Pathik

Post by Pathik »

darshhan wrote:Another article by one of the Hijdas(eunuchs) in the payroll of ISI

Added: Prem Shankar Jha
At the end:

Liked the story? We’re a non-profit. Make a donation and help pay for our journalism.

2 Pakistan nationals acting as terror guides for Jaish-e-Mohammad arrested in Uri: Indian Army
Wonder if these PoK folks were caught in our territory or were pulled in from across the LoC?
kedariprasad

Post by kedariprasad »

Would China come forward to help Pakistan or would it stay away from a conflict with India?

https://www.quora.com/Would-China-decla ... e=b8568036

nirav wrote:<SNIP>Someone could actually mail the link to Aajtak - Im certain they will launch a 'sansani khez khabar' .. bharat bakistan border pe bofors tope move kar raha hai .. ye dekhiye .. :wink: :rotfl:
And guess what? They would not be wrong...those guns are also Bofors manufactured! (Bofors L-70).

Dear Sachin.Peace brother! Don't
shoot the postman please.It was taken from another def site.
Let's wait for the fireworks display.

Chhna would sabre rattle.It is trying hard to stop India from jumping onto Uncle Sam's ASia-Pacific battlewagon. Any too overt suport for Pak would link it to Paki terror as an accomplice,a charge which India would bring and demand sanctions against China for the same.BRICS would end up like SAARC,something that the Russians do not want to happen. AS far as Russia is concerned,Pak to us is akin to Chechenya to Russia-a hotbed of Islamist terror and need to be dealt with the same way.Remember that Russia invaded Chechenya,took back the Crimea which always belonged to it.Mr.Modi should follow Pres.Putin's example when it comes to dealing with Pak.Pak's credibility on every front needs to eb slaughtered.

Apologies if this has been posted earlier.
From the ET.
Deny terrorists weapons, funds and manpower:
Ajit Doval, National Security Advisor

By Dinesh Narayanan, ET Bureau | Sep 27, 2016, 10.40 AM IST

Many see national security advisor Ajit Doval’s hand in the strategic shift in India’s diplomatic engagement and military preparedness. Many see national security advisor Ajit Doval’s hand in the strategic shift in India’s diplomatic engagement and military preparedness.

It is well known that Ajit Doval has prime minister Narendra Modi's ear and, by many accounts, a firm hand in shaping India's foreign policy and strategic responses. It is now common to refer to his approach as the Doval doctrine. What exactly is it? ET pieced together what it could be from the public speeches and interactions Doval has had before and after he became the National Security Advisor.

The initial bonhomie of the Narendra Modi government with Islamabad having blown off in a spate of cross-border attacks and an escalating conflict in Kashmir, India has rapidly begun a global diplomatic offensive against Pakistan and beefing up its military muscle.

On Friday, it struck a deal to buy 36 Rafale fighters from France. In the past few months it has been, with Israeli help, developing and testing missiles of different range. Meanwhile, it beefed up strategic cooperation with the US with the signing of the Logistics Exchange Memoranda of Agreement that allows access to supplies and services support to each other's military.

While the guns seem to be trained on Pakistan, the developments indicate that India is building strategic depth against China as well, especially in the Indian Ocean.

Many see national security advisor Ajit Doval's hand in the strategic shift in India's diplomatic engagement and military preparedness. The NSA believes India has to be prepared for a two-front war. "India has two neighbours, both nuclear powers (which) share a strategic relationship and a shared adversarial view of India," he said at the Hindustan Times Leadership Summit last November.

Reproduced here are Doval's strategy for Pakistan, China and Kashmir articulated in his public speeches and interactions. They have been edited for clarity.

How to Tackle Pakistan
February 21, 2014. SASTRA University, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

We engage an enemy in three modes. One is a defensive mode. That is, all the chowkidars (security guards) and chaprasis (attendants) you see outside. If somebody comes here we will prevent him (from hurting us). We will defend. One is defensive offence. That is, to defend ourselves we will go to the place from where the offence is coming. The third is the offensive mode, where you go outright.

Nuclear threshold is a difficulty in the offensive mode but not in the defensive offence mode. We are working today only in the defensive mode. In defensive offence we start working on the vulnerabilities of Pakistan—it can be economic, internal security, political, its isolation internationally by exposing their terrorist activities. It can be defeating their policies in Afghanistan—making it difficult for them to manage internal political balance or internal security.

In the defensive mode if you throw a hundred stones at me, I may stop 90 but still 10 would hurt me.

How to Smother Terrorists
February 21, 2014. SASTRA University, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

Deny them (terrorists) weapons, funds and manpower. Funding is denied to terrorists by countering it with funds. If they (Pakistan) have got a budget of Rs 1,200 crore and we can match it with Rs 1,800 crore, they (terrorists) are all on our side. They are mercenaries.

India is a much bigger economy. We will match them money for money, deny them weapons and we will deny them recruitment. That is extremely important. (We have to) work amongst Muslim youth. We have to work among the youth through Muslim organisations. Muslim organisations are willing, and are capable and keen to save their children from their (terrorists) influence.

We not only have deterrence (against) Pakistan but even (against) the separatists. I have been with an organisation where we maintain a lot of contact with these groups. The Hurriyat or the separatists cannot be paid by the ISI (Pakistan spy agency Inter-Services Intelligence) or influenced by the ISI more than what Indian intelligence or the Indian state can do. We are much more powerful than them. Why is it that they still always tilt towards Pakistan? Why is it that there is no one who is prepared to speak on behalf of India among the Kashmiri Muslims? They cannot as strongly articulate the Indian position. (Because) they are afraid of ISI. They have been given the highest form of security, the comfort, even their medical treatment is borne by the Indian government.

This policy of appeasement and no deterrence has impelled people to become anti-national and take all the advantages from India. There is no cost involved in that. You can take all advantages and still remain antinational and still undermine India's national interests. That is the root cause.

And I can never win because either I lose or there is a stalemate—you start war at your time, you throw stones when you want, you have peace when you want, you have talks when you want. In the defensive offence mode, we will see where the balance of equilibrium is.

Pakistan's vulnerability is many times higher than that of India. Once they know that India has shifted its gear from the defensive mode to defensive offence, they will find that it is unaffordable for them. You can do one Mumbai, you may lose Balochistan. There is no nuclear war involved in that and there is no troops engagement. If you know the tricks, we know the tricks better than you.

Facing China
August 21, 2010, Universal Brotherhood Day at Vishwa Adhyayan Kendra or Centre for International Studies

China's comprehensive national power is about three times higher than India. And in the next 50 years we will not be able to equal it. China is converting its economic power into its military and strategic power at a very fast rate, faster than what we had anticipated. They have advanced their strategic ability build-up by about 10 years. They have become almost a blue-water Navy.

I think the best strategy for India would be to develop its missile capacity to a very high degree. China is extremely vulnerable today because all its comprehensive national power will be burst if its economic installations are threatened. And as China is progressing at a very fast pace its economic installations are coming up very fast. You know we say what sort of strategic weapons can we use against Pakistan. There is nothing.

Some cotton and wheat fields, apart from that what is there? Who do you hit? Whereas they can hit a lot of things in India to de-capacitate you. If China understands that India's missile striking capacity is so much that we can reach Guangzhou, Shanghai and the port areas, that is, within 24 hours their economic capacity would be de-capacitated (it will be a deterrence). India has got to make up its mind to develop its strategic missile capacity.

Fortunately, I think, there has been a lot of pressure and the government has been going ahead and I think in the last three years there has been considerable progress.

Second, we still have air superiority over them. We will probably have to make up for the delays that have come up in (buying/developing) the long range and mid-air refuelling planes. There is no point in going for tanks. Tank battles are over. In China, in any case, it will not be there and in Pakistan they may not be required. So let us not go in for the development of MBT (main battle tank) but probably [spend time and money on] light combat aircraft.

But the most important thing is will you be able to outdo China in some of the selected critical areas of economic activity. We had a serious edge in IT but now they are catching up fast. We had the edge in services with our knowledge of accountancy, law and banking but probably we are losing that edge also. Manufacturing they are already ahead. We will have to think of our entrepreneurs our businessmen, we have to think the new paradigms in which growth models have to operate. Because the goodwill for India, the support for India in this area of activity globally is much more than for China.

Rahul M , pm safely received. Will be in touch. Thanks

Philip wrote:Dear Sachin.Peace brother! Don't
shoot the postman please.It was taken from another def site.
Let's wait for the fireworks display.

Chhna would sabre rattle.It is trying hard to stop India from jumping onto Uncle Sam's ASia-Pacific battlewagon. Any too overt suport for Pak would link it to Paki terror as an accomplice,a charge which India would bring and demand sanctions against China for the same.BRICS would end up like SAARC,something that the Russians do not want to happen. AS far as Russia is concerned,Pak to us is akin to Chechenya to Russia-a hotbed of Islamist terror and need to be dealt with the same way.Remember that Russia invaded Chechenya,took back the Crimea which always belonged to it.Mr.Modi should follow Pres.Putin's example when it comes to dealing with Pak.Pak's credibility on every front needs to eb slaughtered.
Philipji, let us not create false parallels between Russian action in Chechnya or Crimea action with India's.

India has never employed even a fraction of the military force in JK compared to that of Chechnya. Even in Kargil we used less military force than Chechnya.

POJK is part of India, we have empty seats for their representatives in our Parliament. Crimea was internationally (mutually) recognized part of Ukraine, which Putin annexed citing threat to life of Russians and changed circumstances.

Russia seems to be less worried about Islamist PA than Chechnya terrorists, why else would it practice with them?

That's the point.We've allowed the Pakis to dictate events.Post Kargil we went to sleep.Tx to the UPA.Look at events in Syria.Russia has by force taken over control of events there and has saved Assad's bacon despite overwhelming opposition from the US,NATO,ISIS and the camel drivers of Arabia.
Sathish_A

Post by Sathish_A »

NSFW - Expletive Language

Shifu Master takes on JNU cabal, Peacniks, Presstitue's...

Is it ok to take this peraon seriously ? Seems like a fool in his website.

shiv wrote:What if, to escape international censure. Pakis set off bombs in their cities and then pre-emptively attack India, blaming India for the attacks

Adolph Hitler started World War II with similar ruse by having his troops dressed as Polish troops attack a German Radio Station.

That was is version of Hudabaya.

Adolph Hitler started World War II with similar ruse by having his troops dressed as Polish troops attack a German Radio Station.

That was is version of Hudabaya.
Attack India with what and where? They have a defensive conventional and nuclear doctrine coupled w/ sub-conventional offensive one. They'll stick to that.

RoyG, what has Pakistan achieved with their current strategy? They achieved far greater progress while using Indus water and preparing for war.

They certainly can switch to a short-term conventional offensive posture if they see that benefiting them.

Planting bombs in their own cities, blaming the carnage on Indian-backed Baluch separatists as causus belli, and launching small-scale, localized conventional attacks against select targets could serve a variety of strategic purposes for them, even though they won't make any significant territorial gains:

1) Raise the nuclear spectre... and this time, cast India in the role of war-provoking terrorist-sponsor so that moral high ground is "equitably distributed" and the old paeans of "both sides must compromise and come to the negotiating table" will be sung again. As a result, the international community will once again be nosing self-righteously into questions of J&K, IWT, NSG membership, and myriad other things.
2) Press China towards a direct military confrontation with Indian armed forces if possible. There are those in PLA who want this... an excuse to deliver a punishing blow to India and show who is boss in the region, because they think it will curb our renewed assertiveness under Modi. Others in the CCP may be convinced to go along because of a perceived threat to their growing investment in CPEC.
3) Maximize the chances that, by controlling the initiative of where and when to strike, PA/PAF at least have a chance to demonstrate a few small-scale victories against Indian conventional forces through the element of surprise. They will of course lose any war if it carries on long enough. However, by starting a war on their terms, they get to give some highly-visible, much-retweeted slaps that have critical PR value; and they can count on the international community, led by China and backed by the US, to intervene and stop hostilities before India regroups and gives the PA/PAF a thorough pasting. This kind of "small victory" can work miracles for the PA's morale within its ranks and prestige in the eyes of both domestic and foreign audiences.
4) Through all the above, reduce India's standing, increase Pakistan's standing to be equal to India's, increase China's standing over both... for both regional (SAARC), near-abroad (West Asia- SE Asia- Pacific) and global viewership. An anemic response from the US President (very likely in a lame-duck or brand-new presidency) will be tantamount to conceding the full ascendancy of China over the entire Indo-Pacific region and is thus to Beijing's benefit as well. "Two-front war" can take many forms.

There is a reason all those tanks, aircraft, artillery pieces and things are being moved towards LOC. IMHO, it's not because we're thinking of a full-scale invasion of POK anytime soon. It's to increase defense preparedness, because MAD have gamed that Pakistani adventurism (against our diplomatic retaliation in SAARC and with the IWT) may goad them to up the ante through conventional means.

prahaar wrote:RoyG, what has Pakistan achieved with their current strategy? They achieved far greater progress while using Indus water and preparing for war.
Preparing for war? They are preparing to put revolutions in their own country down. Not fight us.

India is following a very gradual escalation from the bottom of the conflict spectrum.

It starts by diplomatic isolation, revisiting treaties, cutting off "cultural exchanges", establishing friendly ties w/ disenfranchised groups and hostile neighbors etc.

Next India will act through the Pashtuns in a big way. Get them to do the fighting. 20% of PA regulars are Pashtun. At some point these guys will be knocking on the doors of Punjab. That's when the fun will start.

People in PoK are already scared that these people will brutalize their population. They want out just as much as the Balochis and they will need an Indian security umbrella. They know the Chinese and Afghans will rip them apart. They have no mercy. They can get crumbs from Pakistan gov but they will get nothing from the other two.