Army strikes terror camps in PoK

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

its the fbook video link rkhanna posted above. i typed it manually into another tab.

if they use artillery shelling I hope our MLRS regiments and WLRs are warmed up and ready to unleash hell.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/116214-RAW-ta ... t-Pakistan

India has mobilised RAW assets to take out high value targets in Pakistan

They are waiting for two responses with this news breaks.
1) Trying to figure out whether the Indian Army or Govt will step in and deny reports from Pakistan....If the govt do this then it means the GOI and IA is not moving ahead with further plans to punish Pakis and we have stopped with one attack. They are very eager to know it, because the whole of their existence is just hinging on to that answer.

2) Creating a kind of mess/opportunity to Paki pasand journos to question the Army and Govt in the evening press conference.
Last edited by uddu on 29 Sep 2016 16:35, edited 1 time in total.
Vinu

Post by Vinu »

What a proud day..! We reclaimed our self-esteem.

more than the 38 pigs , this is whats more important...

The Indian decision to conduct a strike against terrorist bases across the Line of Control (LoC) has important implications for nuclear deterrence and Pakistan's so-called nuclear 'red lines'.

Though full details of the strike are still awaited, the fact that India publicly announced it and stated that the Indian Director-General of Military Operations (DGMO) had informed his Pakistani counterpart about the attack reinforces India's decision to challenge these nuclear red lines. Irrespective of whether Pakistan responds or even how it responds, the nuclear deterrence game between India and Pakistan has changed.

Even before this operation, Pakistan's leaders had begun talking of the possibility of nuclear escalation and have threatened to attack India with nuclear weapons if India goes to war in response to the Uri attack.

This was to be expected and it tracks well with previous Pakistani behaviour: in the case of both Kargil and during the Operation Parakram crisis too, Pakistan was the first to suggest the possibility of nuclear war.

Pakistan's threat are perfectly understandable and in keeping with its deterrence strategy. But though these threats are logical, there is little logic to Pakistan actually using nuclear weapons. The Indian cross-LoC strike exposes a basic contradiction between the logic of Pakistan's nuclear threats and the illogic of actually carrying out such threats.
The logic of Pakistan's nuclear threats is understandable. As a state that believes it is conventionally weaker than India, Pakistan sees nuclear weapons as off-setting the relative inferiority of its conventional military power vis-à-vis India.
But while nuclear weapons are the perfect means to ensure national survival of states that worry that their survival itself is at stake, expanding their use beyond simply ensuring national survival is problematic. This is what Pakistan has been attempting to do for the last two decades.

Pakistan has been attempting to use nuclear weapons to shield itself from any retaliation so that it could use terrorists to attack India. It has done this by claiming that any Indian military action will result in a nuclear escalation.
Unfortunately, successive Indian governments, starting with the Vajpayee government, reinforced this logic by refusing to respond to clear and blatant Pakistani support for terrorists attacking India.

It did not have to be so. Immediately after the Kargil war, both the then Defence Minister George Fernandes as well as Army Chief General VP Malik proposed that there was sufficient space between a sub-conventional war and a nuclear escalation for India to consider conventional war options to respond to Pakistan's provocations.

What they were saying was simple and logical: Pakistan was unlikely to use nuclear weapons unless any Indian military operation went so far as to threaten the survival of Pakistan itself.

This meant that Pakistan's leaders would not contemplate nuclear escalation for Indian military actions that stayed well below such objectives. Indeed, no Indian leader has considered threatening the survival of Pakistan.

Thus, as long as Indian objectives and action stayed well below the threshold of threatening Pakistan's survival, India could engage in military action, including across the LoC or the international border.

Their proposal exposed the contradiction of Pakistan attempting to use nuclear weapons to shield Pakistan's support for terrorism against India. If their proposal had been followed up, Pakistan's nuclear shield would have been stripped, at least in so far as using that shield to support terrorism was concerned.

Unfortunately, neither the Vajpayee government nor the Manmohan Singh government followed up on the suggestion that India did not have to worry about Pakistan's nuclear escalation in considering a military response to Pakistan's terrorist attacks.

By not responding, they implicitly reinforced Pakistan's exaggerated nuclear red-lines, which over time straddled the LoC and the border. And Pakistan's rhetoric successfully further reinforced the red-line, as did Pakistan's moves to build 'Tactical Nuclear Weapons' (TNWs).

Pakistan's TNW gambit further illustrates the illogic of Pakistan actually carrying out the implied threat of nuclear escalation. Pakistan's TNWs, based on a short-range missile called the Nasr, are supposed to be used to prevent Indian armoured columns from penetrating deep into Pakistan or capturing Pakistani territory.

But the illogic is in assuming that Pakistan would actually carry out such an action, considering that any Pakistani nuclear attack, even on Indian forces that had penetrated some distance into Pakistani territory, would be met with some kind of nuclear response by India.

India's massive retaliation strategy suffers from its own credibility problem, of course: we are supposed to believe that the Indian leadership has the stomach to launch a full-scale nuclear attack that would kill tens of millions of Pakistani civilians and put at risk tens of millions more Indian civilians in a certain Pakistani retaliation, in response to a limited Pakistani nuclear attack on Indian forces in Pakistani territory.

But even given the illogic of India's massive retaliation doctrine, it would be foolish of any Pakistani commander to assume that there will be no nuclear response from India. And if there is going to be a nuclear response from India to a limited nuclear first use by Pakistan, the damage to both sides will be tremendous.

We are expected to believe that Pakistani commanders will calculate that they would be better off after such an outcome than to suffer a temporary conventional military defeat and loss of limited amount of territory for a limited amount of time (since India will not hold on to captured territory for any length of time).

This basic illogic was what the Fernandes/Malik proposal sought to exploit. And that is exactly what the Indian strike on Wednesday seeks to do also: to demonstrate to Pakistan that its exaggerated nuclear bluff will no longer go unchallenged.

It will be difficult to argue now, by either the Pakistani military or by well-meaning outsiders :evil: who fear a nuclear escalation and so counsel 'strategic restraint', that Pakistan's maximalist nuclear red-lines have any credibility.
In doing so, it also opens up a whole new set of future military options for India to consider in dealing with Pakistan's nuclear terrorism.

Disclaimer: The author Dr Rajesh Rajagopalan is a Professor of International Politics at Jawaharlal Nehru University. The views expressed here are his own and not that of Network 18
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

More cheer for India: Hockey U-18 Asia Cup: India defeat Pakistan 3-1 in Dhaka.

Now you know why we waited for Samjuhata to arrive.
Now, all forces must be extremely alert.
vishnua

Post by vishnua »

Hopefully this is will be a seasonal thing ( every spring, summer and fall).

Looks like this has been "blessed" by powers to be no matter what we think.

just like unkil does it on the west with drones, may be this would be a new normal from east...

Time will tell.. one thing is for sure so called Lakshman Rekha has been crossed. no more of that nonsense. But next time hopefully there is no need to evacuate border villages in Punjab or just make all the areas within 10 kms army bases and move those people to hinter land permanently...

Pakis will show that they also retaliated with old pics etc..but how many times can they do that....

See nobody in pak complains about drone attacks from Afg. It has become normal...

it has to 1:50 or more ..
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

Terrorists from Jaish-e-Mohammed (responsible for the Uri attack), Laskhar-e-Toiba (responsible for the 2008 Mumbai terror strikes) and the Hizb-ul-Mujahideen were killed, numbering between 35 and 40. Nine Pakistan Army men killed.

Rohit ...
during the time of the day, injury prone-ness goes up for landing in mountain region especially if its not charted well. Minor drafts of wind when tunneled inside small valleys can blow the paras at last minute many hundered meters away from the target area.

I am very very confident in the local intelligence capabilities of IA infantry regiments.
We must feel proud of our grass roots commanders.

I honestly can't sleep right now

I want the Indian Army Spokesperson to ask directly in the face of any journo who asks for any evidence or wanting to know a response about what Pakis said to "Hey Journo, don't you trust the Indian Army?" followed with "The people of India do..so what we have done, we have said. You can just print it."

I want them to play true psy ops on those Paki pasand journos and expose them right away without giving a hint of our strategy and ops details that may be of use for the enemy.
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

Pakistan High Commissioner Abdul Basit received threatening calls,, we have shared the details with the MEA: Pak High Commission sources. :lol:

Geo TV/ Neo TV etc are screaming 'befitting reply given to Indian forces at border' hoping Pakis will swallow this uber cool aid!
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Befitting response from the pigs would be hoisting their standard issue, high visibility white flags..

As someone posted before here, NM is far more sinister, while planing and execution, than we presume. Someone who know him as CM of Guj told me once that if NM thinks someone is stabbed him the back or tried to do so he will ensure that such person is destroyed compleately and at the same time maintain very good relationship with that person. Remember how he went to Kasu Bhai Patel and touched his feet after defeating him in the elections?

I think NM gave chance to Shariff and Shariff blow it. Now Shariff may have to find a fresh home in Jedda or London once again. If think Shariff2 is not going to retire soon and may stage a coup. PA needs a scape goat and Shariff1 can be that.

May be we will see Imran baba as PM of pakis soon.

we need more retaliations from our baluchie-sindh freedom fighters now to intensify!

poray hindoostan mein tabahi macha diya hai pakistan ke faujio ne ....
dilli mein lal quilla mein aag lagi hui hai per our situation reports ...
hamare position ye hain that hum qaum aur islam ke quilla hai ...
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

I liked your TIME AND PLACE OF CHOOSING Indian Army. Salute. Jai Hind.

Also, my sahastra pranam to GoI for letting the Army speak for their moment and politicos taking the back seat. Salute to you too.

जयकारा विर बजरंगी... हर हर महादेव....
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

I think vacating Punjab IB from civilians is just a plain threat by India to bakis to not to even think of any misadventure or else....

Bande me hai dum. Vande Matram.

All the nay sayers myself included are stunned. Modiji my proud salute and humble pranaam to you. You have brought tears to my eyes.

Deejay...kush ? ;-)
asinh

Post by asinh »

I am so happy today. Modi has proved to be different. Let's hope he keeps this up.
durairaaj

Post by durairaaj »

Just one wish:
Instead of MEA spokesperson, we could have had also M. of home affairs spokesperson in today's press meet. With MEA person we are signaling that we entered into another country's land, whereas PoK + Gilgit + Balisthan is ours and is part of India.

http://www.ibtimes.co.in/india-consider ... ack-695867

One more drama by GOI to do something else to pakis? I wonder what happens now. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ndtv

In the surgical strikes that began past midnight, troops went 2 km deep into territory occupied by Pakistan, in terrain that included hills, forests and mountains, sources said.
"Full surprise was achieved, there were no Indian casualties," they added. The troops were moved in the afternoon yesterday.
Seven terrorist launch pads were targeted, spread over a "significant area", before the Indian troops returned around 4.30 am.
Each terrorist launch pad had 30-40 terrorists. Besides around 20 terrorists, there were guides and support elements at each spot.
The army says there were "massive casualties of terrorists, their guides and handlers." Sources say India has video evidence of the strikes including some obtained through drones, which will be released when appropriate.

"Our forces have gone deep in and come back before sunrise," government sources said. Pakistan responded with "speculative fire", against no specific target.
A combination of ground forces and helicopter-borne para-commandos were involved in what India called a preemptive strike.
According to the army, the terrorists were planning major attacks in Jammu and Kashmir and in metros. The launch pads had been under surveillance for about a week.
Sources say since the September 18 attack by terrorists from Pakistan on an army camp in Uri in Kashmir, the forces had been asked to be ready to take on terror launch pads.
All forces along the Line of Control including the Indian Air Force are on high alert.

7 * 30 = 210
if 30% were shot dead while the rest hightailed it, some 70-80 must be in janaza state now a mix of terrorists, handlers, porters ...

Singha wrote:poray hindoostan mein tabahi macha diya hai pakistan ke faujio ne ....
dilli mein lal quilla mein aag lagi hui hai per our situation reports ...
hamare position ye hain that hum qaum aur islam ke quilla hai ...
The above sounds not unlike Comic Bob from Baghdad.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MDm4iBkQE0
chandrasekaran

Post by chandrasekaran »

My Apologies and shaashtanga pranams to Shri NaMo, Shri Manohar Parikkar and to this government.
maitya

Post by maitya »

Akshay Kapoor wrote:Bande me hai dum. Vande Matram.

All the nay sayers myself included are stunned. Modiji my proud salute and humble pranaam to you. You have brought tears to my eyes.

Deejay...kush ? ;-)
Nah, pls forgive this thick-skull'd SDRE here - I can only keep body counts and compare.

Only 2? Nah, not enough ... yeh dil maange more!!
zoverian

Post by zoverian »

Their may be a chance of coup in Pakistan....Pakistan Army may make Sharif again a scapegoat for the surgical strikes fall out...

"Everything that happens once can never happen twice.But everything that happens twice will surely happen a third time"

Now the time has come to evaluate options during retaliation (if any).

1. how about a two-front war ? Involving Afghan troops and launching 2 strikes from both east and western fronts together.

but my thinking is that the Arabian Sea blockade will be timed as the next 'Indus water' move and Pakistan will be squeezed along with sea blockade and retaliatory strikes.

It is important for the pakistani public to perceive and understand the 'cause and event' relationship. If there is a certain event in Indian Kashmir then that will adversely cause a fallout event in Pakistan and neighbourhood.

Covert ops could never establish this 'cause and event' in it's proper perspective. This is where we lacked all along.

maitya wrote:
Akshay Kapoor wrote:Bande me hai dum. Vande Matram.

Deejay...kush ? ;-)
Nah, pls forgive this thick-skull'd SDRE here - I can only keep body counts and compare.

Only 2? Nah, not enough ... yeh dil maange more!!
Hahaha, woh bhi hoga...all the nonsensical 'red lines' have been blown apart. See Pakis have no options now...if they retaliate, we will hit back harder (remember every time we hit them hard at local level they shut up) so they will be playing into our hands if they retaliate. Virginity has been breached...now its no holds.

Now its very crucial to give some higher calibre weapons to units on LC. We should also move in some arty from Strike Corps to LC. AD will be super alert and IAF has a big role to play in keeping them scared.

Office of RG ✔ @OfficeOfRG
All of us stand firmly united against terrorism & those who support & sponsor it (1/2)
Follow
Office of RG ✔ @OfficeOfRG
The Congress Party and I salute the Indian Army and our jawans for acting valiantly to defend our country & our people. Jai Hind. (2/2)

Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

>>Virginity has been breached...now its no holds.
Saar, kisi bazaroo aurat ke barein me beat kar rahe ho aap . Four times and more the lady has been wedded and bedded, and flipped a few times more! Ab ka alam yeh hai: khule aam, bina daam... :mrgreen:

Before the all party meet schehuled at 4 p.m., a meeting is underway at 10 Janpath. In attendance are Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Ahmed Patel, AK Antony and Manmohan Singh

- Sources: Home minister Rajnath Singh has briefed Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar over phone regarding strikes on the terror camp

Nitish Kumar congratulates Rajnath Singh and the Central Govt over successful operation and has conveyed, “Whatever decision the central govt takes regarding Indias’ security, we are with them.”

Arvind KejriwalVerified account
‏@ArvindKejriwal
भारत माता की जय। पूरा देश भारतीय सेना के साथ है

"Govt briefed us about the surgical strike, we congratulated the forces for being successful in the operation," says Ghulam Nabi Azad

good to see politicians despite their differences coming together for once to support our nations security. they surely sensed public mood and fell in line.

Marten wrote::rotfl:
>>Virginity has been breached...now its no holds.
Saar, kisi bazaroo aurat ke barein me beat kar rahe ho aap . Four times and more the lady has been wedded and bedded, and flipped a few times more! Ab ka alam yeh hai: khule aam, bina daam... :mrgreen:
I meant soverignity of course ;-) :rotfl:

Singha wrote:good to see politicians despite their differences coming together for once to support our nations security. they surely sensed public mood and fell in line.
If they utter a word public joote maregi !! These guys know what the public mood is and what govt intent is.

God Bless Arnab too.