Army strikes terror camps in PoK

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

Karthik S wrote:
shiv wrote:Here let a surgeon explain what a surgical strike is
https://twitter.com/bennedose/status/781517350197612544
Shivji high on adrenaline rush?
Just letting off steam.
salaam

Post by salaam »

Karthik S wrote:
shiv wrote:Here let a surgeon explain what a surgical strike is
https://twitter.com/bennedose/status/781517350197612544
Shivji high on adrenaline rush?
Kindly mark such posts as NSFW.

What to make of their claim they have captured one of our guys. The name "Chandu Babulal Chohan" as Dawn claims seems spurious. But they'll have to start parading him before NDTV. This will now move to the airwaves.

There was BAT action on the border. We may have suffered casualties. Chandu Babulal Chohan captured.

If he was captured by BAT, then it means they also took retaliatory steps. There will be more localized firefights in the coming days.
GShankar

Post by GShankar »

RoyG wrote:There was BAT action on the border. We may have suffered casualties. Chandu Babulal Chohan captured.
What is BAT action? Thanks in advance.

Border Action Team
salaam

Post by salaam »

GShankar wrote:
RoyG wrote:There was BAT action on the border. We may have suffered casualties. Chandu Babulal Chohan captured.
What is BAT action? Thanks in advance.
Border Action Team(s)

salaam wrote: Kindly mark such posts as NSFW.
What is NSFW
salaam

Post by salaam »

salaam wrote: Kindly mark such posts as NSFW.
What is NSFW
Not Safe For Work
Tejas.P

Post by Tejas.P »

I thought IA only confirmed two injuries. Was the BAT action in retaliation to the OP or during?

From Pakdef
DG ISPR Asim Bajwa

Lt Gen Bajwa, Director General of the Pakistani military’s media wing told Dawn.com that the notion of the deaths being a result of a surgical strike is a false propagation by India.

“How is it possible that the target of a ‘surgical strike’ has no idea it took place?” he said. "This was simply an episode of cross LoC fire that they [India] have been doing. Small arms and mortars were used in the fire, similar to what has been used before...we gave a befitting response."

He added that India has been chanting the “surgical strike” mantra just for the consumption of her citizens.
Retired Air Marshal Shahzad Chaudhry

Retired Air Marshal Shahzad Chaudhry explained the terminology in a phone interview.

“A surgical strike is one that comes as a surprise and is conducted with surgical efficiency. It happens when an entity does the job and comes out. It is not messy. There is no collateral damage,” said Mr Chaudhry.

“On another level, sometimes what happens is that there is knowledge of the strike but an inability to respond.”

Referring to the incident today, Mr Chaudhry said, “What India has done today is an LoC violation. Not a surgical strike.”

He also dismissed India’s claim that it struck at “terrorist teams had positioned themselves on launchpads along the LoC”.

“In a circumstance when there is so much of tension on the border between India and Pakistan, only a fool would believe that a terrorist would actually infiltrate. Both armies are on high alert, so this is absurd.”
Security analyst Hasan Askari

Hasan Askari explains that the term "surgical strike" is usually used to describe military action involving air strikes.

"This was a ground offensive, not a surgical strike. The Indian military initiated cross-fire from their territory," said Mr Askari.

"It is not possible that they entered Pakistani territory because it is all fenced. Entering Pakistani territory would require that they break that fencing. It is likely that they fired from the LoC."

Mr Askari also maintained that Thursday's development mimicked the pattern of earlier cross-border firing. "The LoC violations that occurred in the past happened on exactly this pattern – what have they done today that is different?"

Paul wrote:What to make of their claim they have captured one of our guys. The name "Chandu Babulal Chohan" as Dawn claims seems spurious. But they'll have to start parading him before NDTV. This will now move to the airwaves.
Man I am getting anxious now, 8-14 causalities, now a solder captured. What's the accurate picture?
Last edited by Karthik S on 29 Sep 2016 21:36, edited 1 time in total.

Probably after. They proly took out a a border post and wiped our guys inside. Took one back with them. They will probably parade him around on TV. Thats what I would do if I were them.

NonPaki link please

TRP starved English Media is having a field day. I wonder why they did not invite Paki ex fauj walas for their comments. It will be fun to see their faces.

There. One rumour and BRF has started dhoti shivering

Eh w/e, to be expected. There is no such thing as a free lunch when it comes to things like this. Important thing is we did something and we were overt about it.
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

shiv wrote:There. One rumour and BRF has started dhoti shivering

BabuLal chohan is reported by PakDef which is denying that any SF strike took place. Also that crap about 14 soldiers

Why are we behaving like sekoolars and reporting our side and Paki son of headmaster side also? Have a heart folks. Today is a day to cheer the Indian army.

RoyG wrote:Eh w/e, to be expected. There is no such thing as a free lunch when it comes to things like this. Important thing is we did something and we were overt about it.
RoyG, India is not Pakistan. If such a thing happened, there will be reports on it from Indian media and a conformation / denial from Indian Army / GOI.

I thought you of all would get it.

williams wrote:TRP starved English Media is having a field day. I wonder why they did not invite Paki ex fauj walas for their comments. It will be fun to see their faces.
Arnab is roasting some Paki on his news hours right now! He also has an Afghan to rub it in for Pakis..

RoyG wrote:Eh w/e, to be expected. There is no such thing as a free lunch when it comes to things like this. Important thing is we did something and we were overt about it.
But it is a PakDef Tweet. If we believe that we must also believe that the Indian army is lying and no strike took place.
Tejas.P

Post by Tejas.P »

I would ignore until confirmed or denied by govt. if they have retaliated and kidnapped one of our own, then get ready to escalate (this time by striking PA and ranger posts).
Amol.d

Post by Amol.d »

dawn has withdrawn that headline and has replaced it with "Earlier, sources had said an Indian soldier by the name Chandu Babulal Chohan was taken into custody by Pakistani forces. However, there is no official confirmation of this claim."

deejay wrote:
RoyG, India is not Pakistan. If such a thing happened, there will be reports on it from Indian media and a conformation / denial from Indian Army / GOI.

No doubt. We'll have to wait and see. It's clearly an ongoing situation. Things are tense.

Casualties are to be expected. We are dealing w/ a caged animal.

Tejas.P wrote:I would ignore until confirmed or denied by govt. if they have retaliated and kidnapped one of our own, then get ready to escalate (this time by striking PA and ranger posts).
I bet my left testimonial that it is a lie.

Tejas.P wrote:I would ignore until confirmed or denied by govt. if they have retaliated and kidnapped one of our own, then get ready to escalate (this time by striking PA and ranger posts).
I'm sure they planned for every response/outcome.

But to expect Pakistan to sit on their hands is foolish.

Arre bhai Bakis have to do something to defend their H&D so they start a story.

As per BaKi account they won all wars with India so why should they admit to a cross-border raid? Just a week or two back Hajam Sethi was doing a 1 Baki = 3 Indian soldier.
Last edited by pankajs on 29 Sep 2016 21:48, edited 1 time in total.

Amol.d wrote:dawn has withdrawn that headline and has replaced it with "Earlier, sources had said an Indian soldier by the name Chandu Babulal Chohan was taken into custody by Pakistani forces. However, there is no official confirmation of this claim."

RoyG wrote: We are dealing w/ a caged animal.
I thought we were the caged animal until now.

RoyG wrote:
deejay wrote:

No doubt. We'll have to wait and see. It's clearly an ongoing situation. Things are tense.

Casualties are to be expected. We are dealing w/ a caged animal.
They will come. Pakis will have their retaliation options, just like us. PA will do its own stuff. Jihadis will do what they do. We need to be ready.

That said, Pakis were caught with their pants down flying over Isloo for show and tell while we did what we did. So far they have not responded. Rest is all hot air from their pindi-chana gas factory - the worlds largest producer of posterior gas.

That news of IA soldier seems to be hoax , surprising Dawn has published it, actually coming out from defence.pk

Karthik S wrote:
RoyG wrote: We are dealing w/ a caged animal.
I thought we were the caged animal until now.
No no.

They are a caged dog.

We were a caged lion.

Pakis have a Catch 22 situation. If they captured a soldier it means that they are accepting that Indian soldiers crossed the LoC. If they captured him inside India it means that they have violated the border. That story is dead.

Anything to defend their H&D. Even their most westernized Jurnos like Hajam Sethi take to such manuvers.

deejay wrote: That said, Pakis were caught with their pants down flying over Isloo for show and tell while we did what we did. So far they have not responded. Rest is all hot air from their pindi-chana gas factory - the worlds largest producer of posterior gas.
Pakis were on high alert. What has been done is amazing. And there are videos - which will come "at a time and place of the Indian Army's choosing"

I think the videos will be UAV footage and Sat imagery. No helmet cam stuff.

Amol.d wrote:dawn has withdrawn that headline and has replaced it with "Earlier, sources had said an Indian soldier by the name Chandu Babulal Chohan was taken into custody by Pakistani forces. However, there is no official confirmation of this claim."
lol indeed, but maybe its an op in progress. Night is still ripe and till sunrise lot of things may happen.

Like most of the folks here already know, people should be able to understand the burden of undertaking an offensive step.

pankajs wrote:Anything to defend their H&D. Even their most westernized Jurnos like Hajam Sethi take to such manuvers.
Admitting defeat is real defeat for the Paki army