India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Kailash

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

Post by Kailash »

India to help Vietnam build high-speed patrol boats in $100mn contract: ambassador
Collaboration between India’s M/s Larsen & Toubro Company and Vietnamese Border Guard is highly anticipated for the construction of high-speed patrol boats based on the Line of Credit of US$100 million, according to the diplomat.

Having compromised the Scropene submarine data, DCNS can hardly expect to be given high welcome.
Screwups have consequences.

https://www.facebook.com/notes/livefist ... 5075400822
India’s 5th Generation Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA) is progressing well now in its second phase of development with several parts of the aircraft and configuration locked.
Just chanced upon this new image from the AMCA’s stealth structures workshop at the National Aerospace Laboratory, providing an updated view of the engineering going into the serpentine intakes of the concept jet.

The above image follows the series of photographs and technical illustrations accessed by Livefist over the years, depicting the engineering approach to the AMCA’s low-observability surfaces. Some of the previous ones:

And finally, chanced upon this -- a full AMCA mission scenario simulator is up and running at the Aeronautical Development Agency in Bengaluru. Here it is:

Great report. Multiple new programs and their existence known and status detailed for the first time!

[A]Atulya ADFCR appears to be a replacement of the existing Reporter/Flycatcher style radars with a dual system - both search and a Ka band FCR!
There is a Bharani MK2 radar - which is a new program & if the picture posted is correct, appears to be a variant of the Aslesha radar. IA had ordered some two dozen or more of Bharani Mk1 which was a 2D unit.
[C]There is a new IA 3D TCR program - which appears to have drawn on the work done on Ashwini & Arudhra systems, and is a 3D AESA. Will clearly replace the existing 3D TCR based on the Rohini of which the IA ordered some 20+ units as I recall..
[D]A new Aslesha Mk2 program, which will fit in between the Ashwini (180km) and Aslesha (70km) ranges for the IAF. The Aslesha had some 20 + units ordered by the IAF.
[E]Ashwini and Arudhra progress - Arudhra is ready for user trials & Ashwini apparently is also near that stage. Some 8 Arudhra & 18 Ashwini have an indent from the IAF in phase 1.
[F]MMSR program is now subsumed into the QRSAM program, which systems prototype fabrication is in progress.
[G]Regarding AEW&C, the progress is also detailed - the ECCM trials were remaining & some extended modes (370km IIRC) were underway.
[H]Uttam proto has been engineered and a test array has been programmed for various A2A modes and is under testing from the usual test bed (Same approach as on AEW&C).

The Air Defence Fire Control Radar (ADFCR) for Guns has four sensors (i.e. Surveillance radar in X Band, Fire control Radar in Ka Band, IFF and Electro-Optic System) integrated on the same platform. I assume it is AESA and may provide help in developing Uttam
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

PM Modi-led Cabinet approves 'radical' changes in FDI policy; permits 100% foreign investment in defence
As per the liberalised norms, foreign investment in defence sector is now permitted up to 100%.
Sure looks like the nice new road to hell. The article is ambiguous though on the auto approval..

Kailash wrote:PM Modi-led Cabinet approves 'radical' changes in FDI policy; permits 100% foreign investment in defence
As per the liberalised norms, foreign investment in defence sector is now permitted up to 100%.
Sure looks like the nice new road to hell. The article is ambiguous though on the auto approval..
As long as we are selective, the DCN 100% AIP subsidary looked like nothing but an attempt to sabotage our AIP project. This is just to ensure that FDI limit is not used to by vested interests to stall setting of critical industries in India.

What gave super joy to my heart reading the DCNS offering same technology being developed by DRDO; was the fact that means the choice made by our Navy and DRDO is perfect and there is no better or alternative tech DCNS could offer to undercut them. Seems like we're on the right path.

It seems there is also a Naval Gun FCR which is equivalent ( offshoot?) of ADFCR. If we already deployed L, S, C band radars and are working on three X band radars then it seems we have covered almost full range of radars.

DRDO sets timeline for fixing grievances to discourage direct complaint to PM Modi

http://www.newindianexpress.com/nation/ ... 620166.ece
there is nothing better than a direct chabi
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

Posting some quotes from the transcripts of an interview with MP in May...don't know if it was posted earlier so apologies in advance.
The interview can be found here: Interview with Manohar Parrikar
NG: The new Defence Procurement Procedure (DPP) that you brought in and has been implemented from 1st of April has a lot of new features. For example timelines being reduced etc (for procurement), what are the advantages of that?

RM: See, first let me be very clear, some people don’t understand, the new defence procurement procedure does not impact earlier procurements. Therefore, there are 285 AONs (Acceptance of Necessity–for buying a particular equipment) still pending, down from something like 397 when I came. Despite us clearing a lot of AONs, still 285 are left and by the end of this financial year I intend to reduce it down to less than 200. Now, all those AONs will proceed with the earlier DPP, unless, the forces see some of them to be put with the new ones, then, they’ll have to come back again to the defence acquisition council. So, the current DPP would actually begin after another 6 – 8 months, but the map or a blueprint of that is visible now. You know now that what all is included in that; you know that the IDDM (Indigenously Designed, Developed and Manufactured) category has a top priority. So, that encourages the Indian industry in designing their own products.
So looks like a huge mess has to be cleared, as expected but given the corruption issues and delays due to process, the previous issues cannot be fast tracked!
NG: You are going to encourage the Indian MSMEs and Indian defence manufacturers much more?

RM: In Make in India also there’s a reservation below Rs 10 crores and 3 crores in two varieties. There are many more factors; timeline is one, inclusion of MSMEs, preamble is very important, it’s very clearly said in the end of DPP that in case of any confusion or difficulty, the preamble becomes the guideline. That means if something is going wrong (in the procurement process) then you refer back to preamble and just like the Supreme Court derives power and guidelines from the Constitution’s preamble, you derive power from the preamble and do the right thing. That is one of the aspects which has been ensured.

There are many more, like category A QRs and category B QRs. That means you may not have a product which is required by you, market may not have that product, how do you test it? You can’t. So, you test it for the available QRs, predetermined, not done after the RFP is issued and you say that I want these two things more. For example a tank is available with specification of running at 60 kmph and a climbing ability at 15 degrees slope but you want something which has the ability to climb at 20 degrees slope and run at 80 KMPH, but you don’t have it in the market, how do you test it? It is possible if the engineering is improved, both things are possible. So, you say you pass this test of 15 degrees and 60 KMPH and when you’re supplying, you supply me the one with 20 degrees and 80KMPH.
Amazingly pragmatic thinking, folks were asking on the Rafale thread: What has MP done?? Well he will prove to be the best defence minister ever IMHO!
NG: The other big achievement that you haven’t spoken about is the OROP.

RM: Yes, of course. After 43 years what Modiji had promised, we’ve kept that promise and we’ve paid some Rs 7500 crores almost a year, a year 11000, in fact, I was checking the other day, more than 18 lakh pensioners have been benefitted by some Rs. 3400 crores in the first tranche itself and there are 4 tranches that will come.

NG: If we look in the future, one of the things that you’ve spoken about is increasing the combat effectiveness of Indian military.

RM: No doubt about it. Flab needs to be reduced, I think we need to touch the areas which the British left us, a legacy which is not required today, the army has to be lean but fit. So, the combat soldier… the number will not be touched, may be even increased slightly but the ratio today to the all armed forces personnel versus combat (personnel) is almost half, may not be even 50 per cent. I want to make that ratio into 70:30, 70 per cent combat and 30 per cent others. Why do you require so many people when you can get the readymade things. For example, I haven’t gone to a tailor for the last 25 years, I buy readymade shirts. So, if I were a tailor, I would say that I do not need a tailor anymore. So, don’t spend money on tailors. Barbers for example, except on the border, you can have the commercial ones doing the job for you. I recently read a book in which they’re describing in 1875, a battalion of army moving and it describes who are there in that battalion. I was surprised to know that the actual fighting soldiers there were only 150, now the figure has been increased to 400- 500. It needs to be increased more. To 600 or more.
NG: Is this why you’ve also supported the armed forces claim on 7th Pay Commission, which they seem to have some grievances with?

RM: Yes, we’ve said that certain grievances of theirs (armed forces) are absolutely right and particularly in the matter of pay matrix, we’ve suggested some positive measures. Allowances also we strongly support, military service pay also has to be slightly improved for jawans.
Read it/Watch it all!

Gyan wrote:Also there is no indication that XR-5 based NVG production has been started by BEL. Our total requirement of NVGs for all types of security services would be something like 300,000 units. And around 100,000 thermal imagers. The procurement being spread over 5 years. But rather than this immediate essential purchase we will order imported Brahmos, useless SPGs, junk SMGs or even Apaches but our infantry is still mostly incapable of fighting at night.
Uri attack has brought back into focus our dismal holding of NVGs.

Finally!!

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp ... 165096.ece
Aircraft with Indian airborne warning system set for induction

Madhumathi D.S.

The first of the two small surveillance aircraft carrying the first Indian airborne early warning system is slated to be inducted into the Air Force in about two months, it is reliably learnt.

The DRDO has fitted its own airborne early warning and control system (AEW & CS) on a modified Embraer ERJ 145 aircraft imported from Brazil.

The AEW & CS is basically a ‘sharp-seeing and listening’ radar that can look out deep across enemy territory for any incoming threat without itself crossing over. “The aircraft has undergone the requisite operational trials, [got certified] and is ready for induction in November or later,” a person with knowledge of its progress told The Hindu .

Second aircraft

The second aircraft is going through the initial trials and is likely to join the first one around mid-2017 at the Bhisiana Air Force Station in Bathinda, Punjab, close to the northern borders.

The DRDO’s Bengaluru-based Centre for Airborne Systems (CABS) is the nodal agency for the design, integration and testing of the Indian early warning systems on the Embraer.

(Early this month the DRDO sought details of the purchase of the two aircraft after the United States launched a probe in recent months into suspected payments in the Brazilian deal.)

Work on the twin Rs. 2,000-crore surveillance aircraft project started after the first customised plane reached CABS in July 2012 from Sao Paulo.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 667391.cms

Siachen, Thar simulated in Bengaluru lab to test weapons
Chethan Kumar | TNN | Updated: Oct 4, 2016, 09.12 AM IST

The firm provides chambers for testing of equipment of projects like Agni
The idea of simulation testing of military equipment came after Kargil war in 1999
Military equipment can't always be tested on the field

TECH ADVANTAGE: The company’s workspace where simulation chambers are being built.TECH ADVANTAGE: The company’s workspace where simulation chambers are being built.
BENGALURU : From the cold environs of Siachen to the extreme heat of the Thar desert, no climate condition is too extreme for this company in Dabaspet, about 72km north-west of Bengaluru, which has been aiding simulation testing of military equipment.

Military equipment is put to service in all kinds of environments, but can't always be tested on the field given the time and logistical constraints. This results in failures of sub-systems, as India learned during the 1999 Kargil conflict.

While countries like the US have spent millions of dollars over several years to test such equipment in simulated conditions and make the final product more adaptive to such places, India has been import-dependent.

In its quiet workspace, CM Environs (CME), which simulates all types of climate for military-grade testing, is slowly changing that with 48 of the 58 Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) labs being its clients. The firm provides chambers for testing of equipment in several big-ticket projects like Agni, India's ballistic missiles programme. And, it all began with Kargil.

"We were not into this business in 1999. While India emerged victorious in the conflict with Pakistan, the fact that our communication and other equipment failed gave me an idea and we entered the simulation business so that India has the technology to test its equipment, even those we imported," CME chairman J Crasta said.

With an average annual turnover of $5 million-this year's order books reflect $6.5m-the firm has in the last decade and a half slowly captured a majority of the Indian domestic market valued at $10 million, which includes military and civilian markets. The global industry is valued at $1 billion market, the Chinese market is $200 million.

Last week, CME's dust and storm chamber was commissioned at defence PSU Bharat Electronics Limited (BEL), which develops communication systems, electronic systems for missiles and battle tanks among other things. "This is the first time that BEL is buying a simulation chamber from a domestic manufacturer. It generally impo rted from Weiss Technik, a globally renowned brand and leader in India before us," CME chief executive officer Prajwal Crasta said. Stating that not only does the firm meet military standards of the US, he said: "We are also nearly 50% cheaper."

The chamber at BEL was built and delivered at a cost of Rs 1.5 crore. A BEL spokesperson said: "Our Bengaluru complex has established a blowing sand and dust test facility. While take-off and landing, aircraft sub-systems are exposed to sand and dust particles and this facility provides a simulated environment to test if the airborne sub-systems are capable of functioning dependably despite the exposure to these sand and dust particles."

Top Comment
Good beginning in India. Will save time and money with drastic improvements in quality of the product delivered.R K Sharma,

Prajwal said the chamber is capable of simulating sand and dust particles in sizes less than 500 and 20 microns, respectively. While the particle simulation is one thing, the other is the wind speed. All these particles are carried by the wind at different speeds causing different types of damage.

"We can simulate a wind speed of up to 29 metre/second, at which speed the product experiences accelerated stress. Also we can simulate -70°C to 180°C in a controlled manner and also simulate relative humidity," Prajwal said.

Gyan wrote:
Uri attack has brought back into focus our dismal holding of NVGs.
Not just holding, but "chalta hai" in terns of resupply of batteries that actually work, if they get batteries at all.

Lt Gen Ata Hasnain has an interesting recollection about this. He says that Indian soldiers who have to make do with little or nothing in tersm of personal needs often ask for somewhat more than what is needed because they know that they will always get less than they ask. Some of these men were then posted on a UN deputation where they were asked to make a list of what they needed and they (as was their habit from India) asked for more than they actually required. The soldiers were completely overwhelmed when they got everything they asked for.

Years ago a policeman in a local Blr police station had complained to me that they often have to buy their own paper for writing. Even to this day the local Bangalore Electric supply company runs a scam where the actual forms for a change of name or change of tariff are unavailable at the offices of teh electric supplier, but we need to go to some obscure shop who supplies them at insane prices.

It appears that in our country bureaucracy does the same shit with the army. I sometimes feel that the responsible people should simply be lined up and shot. It's pathetic and makes me very very angry

shiv wrote:I sometimes feel that the responsible people should simply be lined up and shot. It's pathetic and makes me very very angry
+1000

Dealing with old scams biggest challenge: Manohar Parrikar

http://www.newsx.com/national/43472-dea ... r-parrikar

Mumbai: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said here on Wednesday that dealing with old scams has been the biggest challenge for him after he assumed charge of the post two years ago.

He was responding to a question on the issue on completion of two years in office.

"Some old scam comes into the picture; some company gets blacklisted... It is very easy to blacklist a company but there are very few arms companies to buy material from," the minister said.

"I can't buy a gun required for a naval ship because the main company, subsidiary, or smaller company is involved in some sort of blacklisting procedure with the government of India. In Europe, there are virtually three or four groups... worldwide, arms suppliers to India are restricted to about 10 to 12, even though the number may appear to be about 30-40... many of them are linked with each other. It becomes almost impossible to navigate through all this," Parrikar said.

He said a "mess was created", giving the example of the Rafale fighter jet deal with the French government.

"Rafale deal... it started in 2000. (For) 16 years, the IAF (Indian Air Force) was trying to buy a fifth-generation fighter plane," he said.

The minister said" "One gentleman had written on the file that the L1 (lowest bidder) procedure may be negotiated with Rafale; however, because some queries had been raised, the process of zeroing in on L1 should be redetermined.

"L1 is the lowest bidder; it was finalised by a committee of three finance experts. They had given different opinions... They say complete the negotiation and come back and tell me whether the process for L1 was correct," the minister said.

The IAF had opted for the twin-engined Rafale fighters in January 2012 after overlooking the claims of F-16 of American Lockheed Martin, F/A-18 of Boeing, MiG-35 of Russian United Aircraft Corp's and Swedish SAAB's Gripen in a global competitive bid floated in August 2007.

France's Dassault Aviation had, in 2012, received the IAF nod for 126 Rafale jets in a $12 billion deal in the face of stiff competition from five other manufacturers.

As the deal could not work out, another deal for purchasing 36 Rafale jets in fly-away condition was inked during Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to France in April 2015.

The deal was finalised in September 2016.

Enough reasons to spend more money for home grown and DRDO initiatives.

We need to understand the massive cost involved in maintaining imported equipment. As per CAG the Phalcon AWACS are only able to deliver around 250 hours per annum compare to (only 500 hours) per annum targeted. When the OEM were approached for maintenance support they asked for USD100 Million per annum for maintenance support (apart from fuel obviously). The original estimate for maintenance spares was USD 10 million per annum. But what does IAF want? more Phalcons!

http://www.defencenews.in/article.aspx?id=8651
Indian Defence startup Tonbo Imaging inks $100 million export deal with Peruvian army

Can DRDO or OFB produce a reloadable RPO Shmel or a thermobaric round for the CG 84?
Doesn't have to be exact match but close enough spec.

Looks like SAAB/Bofors makes such a round for CG 84.

BEL Annual Report

Laser Warning System can detect incoming laser threat
and calculate angle of arrival to enable the protection
counter measure.
• Gunner Sight for T90 is an independent surveillance
Sight with Enhanced Range capability to facilitate tank
gunner to detect, acquire, and its destruction during day
and night.
• Driver Sight for MBT Arjun/Arjun Cataput Driver Sight
is a State-of-the-art real time Thermal imaging Camera
using uncooled IR detector to give Stereoscopic Vision
with depth perception for driver comfort. It provides clear
vision and all weather driving capability.

Karan M wrote:Finally!!

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp ... 165096.ece

Aircraft with Indian airborne warning system set for induction

The first of the two small surveillance aircraft carrying the first Indian airborne early warning system is slated to be inducted into the Air Force in about two months, it is reliably learnt.
Since there has been zilch movement on any more planes being procured, it means that this system ends at 2 planes?
Are we planning for a zoo in the AWACs department too like in the fighter zone? I still cannot understand what sense it makes for having a 2 plane squadron? :-?

BSF is facing Pak terrorists on daily basis and arming them with the SMGs was needed.

DRDO has developed a thermobaric round for the tank gun. hence the question.

I think you should contribute to the GDF whine thread.

SMGs was better than using gaalis but how is it better than INSAS, Ghatak, SLR? And Why was it not manufactured in India when our Rifle and Carbine production plants were idling? SMG import was an extraordinary shameless scam to import junk. Earlier the norm was taking a minor bribe in import of relevant product like Mirage 2000 but now we are in Westland, Agusta, Pilatus times.
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

Alpha Design to export transmitters to Israeli firm

Leading electronic devices maker for defence services, Alpha Design Technologies, on Thursday announced it had won a multi-million dollar deal to export 600 VHF communication devices to Israel-based Elbit Systems.

"We have been selected to provide high-end VHF (very high frequency) devices for a global Israeli firm (Elbit) on the basis of international specifications, said Alpha Chairman & Managing Director Colonel H.S. Shankar here.

As transmitters of very high frequency waves, the VHF devices are used for long range data communication for military operations and two-way long mobile radio systems for emergency services, air traffic and air navigation systems.

The city-based defence major plans to use the same devices for meeting the critical communication needs of the Indian Army.

"We look forward to supporting our armed forces and in securing the nation's borders, as effective communication has emerged as an essential element to winning battles in the era of modern warfare," Shankar told reporters at a preview of a range of company's products and technologies.

As a member of the defence industry delegation to forward areas recently, Shankar, who served the army for 22 years and participated in both 1965 and 1971 wars against Pakistan, found the need to enhance their operational capabilities with the latest opto-electronics and surveillance equipment.

"The VHF devices are very effective for all battle tanks, including T-90 and T-72. We have made the offer to the army to supply them for filling up the communication gaps. The evaluation of the devices is underway. We hope to sell 500-5,000 devices in 18 months from the commencement of production," Shankar said.

The value of the order from the army is expected to be Rs 800-1,000 crore.

"We have developed a series of upgraded indigenous equipment for the army, especially to Northern Command, to enhance its op-readiness," Shankar said on the occasion.

The $401-crore privately-held company has also a $80-million (Rs 536 crore) export order from Elbit-Elop for shipping an unspecified number of thermal imager fire control systems, which are used for day and night automatic firing capabilities on static and moving enemy tanks and other objects.

"As these high-tech systems are not available with the Indian Army, we will supply them to give them (army) an edge in defence capabilities," reiterated Shankar.

The 13-year-old firm has an healthy order book of Rs 9,113 crore ($1.4 billion), for supplying defence electronics equipment to the Indian armed forces and overseas firms.

"We specialise in night vision thermal sights, electronic warfare equipment and tactical communications equipment. We have major research and development projects in developing software for defence radios, missile seeker systems in collaboration with Brahmos, simulators and airframes for Sukhoi-MKI 30 fighters, added Shankar.

^^fantastic news
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

DRDO Oct Newsletter

India successfully Flight Tests Long-Range surface-to-air missile

Tender out for detailed structural design of wing structure for GHATAK from ADA.

https://www.ada.gov.in/currentdocs/EOI-2.pdf

This means it is now in FSED phase. :mrgreen:

Sadly they have put up tender for 24month work package with only 6 engg resources. Ridiculously low...!! We should be deploying 10s of engineers on such projects when we have manpower readily available and cheap too...

^^ Firstly, thanks for posting the tender application. Will be sending this to someone I know. May help his firm apply for the same. Except flutter & divergence analysis, his engineers are capable of performing the rest. Yes, 6 folks is very low (also details of pay package is not mentioned...obviously, the vendor is responsible for compensation and lowest bidder wins :) ). THe number should have been more...at least 50-60 engineers. Solid exposure of 24 month is good. Also note that min level of experience required is 5 years plus.

Edit: Just noticed that last date to respond is Oct 30th. The tender was published on Oct 3rd. Wish I had gotten hold of his document/info a little earlier. I guess its better late than never.

Zynda wrote:^^ Firstly, thanks for posting the tender application. Will be sending this to someone I know. May help his firm apply for the same. Except flutter & divergence analysis, his engineers are capable of performing the rest. Yes, 6 folks is very low (also details of pay package is not mentioned...obviously, the vendor is responsible for compensation and lowest bidder wins :) ). THe number should have been more...at least 50-60 engineers. Solid exposure of 24 month is good. Also note that min level of experience required is 5 years plus.

Edit: Just noticed that last date to respond is Oct 30th. The tender was published on Oct 3rd. Wish I had gotten hold of his document/info a little earlier. I guess its better late than never.
Glad to be of any help. :D

While I can't vouch for the accuracy of the information in this report, it does seem to be a remarkable compilation of information on Indian defence.

https://www.phillipcapital.in/Admin/Research/1970322933PC_-_GV_July_2016_issue_for_email_20160816155905.pdf
zoverian

Post by zoverian »

PratikDas wrote:While I can't vouch for the accuracy of the information in this report, it does seem to be a remarkable compilation of information on Indian defence.

https://www.phillipcapital.in/Admin/Research/1970322933PC_-_GV_July_2016_issue_for_email_20160816155905.pdf

Thank you for posting this...Its very informative...

JayS wrote:Tender out for detailed structural design of wing structure for GHATAK from ADA.

https://www.ada.gov.in/currentdocs/EOI-2.pdf

This means it is now in FSED phase. :mrgreen:

Sadly they have put up tender for 24month work package with only 6 engg resources. Ridiculously low...!! We should be deploying 10s of engineers on such projects when we have manpower readily available and cheap too...
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

But this rate is abysmal. We should stop calling these projects as national projects of strategic importance!

Sourav Jha tweets that DRDO made a light version of Carl Gustav using composites. Can anyone throw some light on this??

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/proj ... 98687.html
Project Cheetah: India to now have combat drones to carry out surgical strikes in future
Under Project Cheetah, the Indian Air Force is planning to upgrade and equip its Israeli-made UAVs with missiles which will be able to carry out surgical strikes without risking the lives of soldiers.

On a completely different line, we need to look at latest composite tube RPG-7 variants for SF. They are more compact and the latest ones weight only 3.5kg. IIRC Paras are using older RPG-7 variants.
Last edited by Gyan on 01 Nov 2016 10:28, edited 1 time in total.

Gyan wrote:
So what would you suggest the armed forces do?
Atleast on this issue Army may not any role to play. There is subsequent CAG report of 2015 which points out that ARDE developed Launcher tube failed again in 2015. SAAB has access to technology of only 50% components and even that has not been transferred inspite of 10 years having passed. This is fxxk up of MOD, ARDE, OFB that they neither sanctioned adequate funds for R&D nor negotiated effective ToT agreement.
Good post and I am not being condescending mate. Agree with your sentiments..
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

KMML’s first consignment of titanium sponge for Indian Navy

The maiden consignment of titanium sponge produced by the titanium sponge plant (TSP) of the public sector Kerala Minerals and Metals Limited (KMML) for strategic purposes was despatched from the company at Chavara, near here, on Monday morning.

The consignment comprising 4.5 metric tonnes meant for the Indian Navy loaded in a truck was flagged off to Kochi by KMML Managing Director K.K. Roy Kurien in the presence of the titanium sponge unit employees.

Hitherto, this product from the KMML was purchased only by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) on a buy-back arrangement. The ISRO had funded the Rs.95-crore TSP based on a technology developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation.

With the commissioning of the KMML TSP in 2011, India joined a group of only seven countries to produce the strategic metal. The plant was commissioned with the aim of making India self-sufficient in titanium sponge.

While the defence sector of the country requires about 1,500 MT of titanium sponge annually, this is the first time that indigenously produced titanium sponge for strategic applications was being purchased by a defence wing from the KMML.

The KMML titanium sponge product is certified by the Hyderabad-based Regional Centre for Military Airworthiness, Midhani. The TSP has capacity to produce 500 MT annually..

Projects of DRDO :

There are 13 major Mission Mode (MM) projects of Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO) lagging behind schedule. Details are given as under:

http://pib.nic.in/newsite/pmreleases.aspx?mincode=33

So whats the status of the DRDO upgrade of the CG 84 RCL with lightweight barrel?

Havent heard of it in production.