Military Acquisitions, Partnerships & Developments

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Military Acquisitions, Partnerships & Developments

Gyan wrote: What is the per annum hours ALH fleet is being used? Underuse of C-17.....is well reported.
Capacity is built for war and the buildup towards war. So you can never compare peacetime usage rates with the potential requirements for war!! Isn't that logistics planning 101?

Kakarat wrote: If nobody has bought something doesn't make it a bad product, KA-226 had gone through the trials of our armed forces and they have cleared it. Can you please tell me when LUH will be ready? It has just completed its first flight. Please understand the requirement is of yesterdays. LCH which is another version of ALH is still under testing after its first flight in 2010 and still a year or two from production.

What is the point of calling it a Dog? A Dog is much better than a humans.
Ka-226 came in last or second last in both the trials. It really hasn't won any Indian evaluation so far.

who/what is PaPPU?

Hello!!! we are not able to produce ALH/Rudhra/LCH at the rate desired ... adding more years is like saying PAPPU is destined to rule india just give he some time!!!
However, the same HAL will magically produce 1000 KA 226Ts out of the brand new line in Tumkur in the twink of an eye! How sweet!

d_berwal wrote:........As per Vina and Gyan lets only have HAL LUH.... but by when we have adequate numbers will be like 20 years and by then 100+ causalities will take place minimum because of obsolete equipment but we have 2nd largest population some people die does not matter, why because Vina and Gyan are not flying obsolete equipment but they are like PAPPU commenting on importance of something without knowing the operational needs....!!!

Vina and Gyan why are we buying Apache when we have LCH? ???
So berwal ji, buying equipment from foreign suppliers and keeping 50% in hangars is not a problem? The problem with churning out required weapon systems in time is a national problem. There should be concerted efforts to develop a local MIC that should not remain shackled by HAL/DRDO. The answer is not in imports or in making HAL make all aircraft or OFB produce poor quality weapons. The answer is in a early transition to public private partnerships ultimately transitioning to private players.

I would think that the Apache has additional qualities that it is being purchased for. Also the LCH is lighter and still under testing.
D.Mahesh

Post by D.Mahesh »

d_berwal wrote:
Gyan wrote:Vina is right, none of the deals make sense. If the only explanation is that Congress also used to do it, then let's make Pappu PM, atleast he is funny.
Vina & Gyan, please answer by when can we have 1000 HAL LUH ? which year? 2020? 2030? and how? (and what should IA/IAF do till then ?)
(and please when you answer look at ALH story and numbers vs years)

We needed there 500 LUH 5 years back!!!!

PLA's Z9 and Z10 are just plain knockoffs Z-9 is a re-labelled Dauphin and Z-10 is a Kamov. Imagine if PLA with all its industrial base can't make its own helos from scratch. Scaling up to deliver the numbers we need is immensely difficult and there is no time. Dammit!

There should be a separate IAF td. now that the Rafale has its own specialist td. for the bird. All future acqiuisitions,etc. should be posted in it.For the moment I'm posting the attempted return of the MIG-35 to the second line fighter requirement. Aeons ago I did predict that the MMRCA req. would eventually be split,it has happened.

https://in.rbth.com/economics/defence/2 ... dia_639481
MiGs try to conquer India
17 October 2016 DMITRY LITOVKIN, ALEXEY RAMM, IZVESTIA
India’s problem with its aging Air Force fleet is that it requires new fighter jets soon. The MiG-35 is best suited to meet India’s requirements and will be invited to participate in the tendering process in the near future.
Delhi’s interest in MiG-35 is growing
New shot for the MiG-35 in India
TAGS
MIG-35, INDIAN AIR FORCE, DEFENCE

Russian Aircraft Corporation MiG will offer the Indian Defence Ministry its latest MiG-35, so that it can participate in a tender to supply medium fighter jets. New Delhi is planning to announce the tender and seek expressions of interest in the near future. Earlier, in 2015, India rejected the ‘MiG 35’, opting for the French Rafale. The Indian Air Force is now organizing the tender, and planning to replace its 200 MiG-21 and MiG-27 airplanes.

In addition to the RAC MiG, those invited to participate in the tendering process are the Swedish company SAAB – with the Gripen NG aircraft, and the American Lockheed Martin – with the “Indian” version of the F-16. A major requirement for tender participants – is maximum localization of production of the fighter aircraft in India.

“The United Aircraft Corporation and RAC MiG will participate in the upcoming IAF tender,” Izvestia learned from the UAC. “We just need to wait for the official technical specifications from the Indian government and the invitation. After that, we will prepare and send a package of documents with our proposals to New Delhi,” the UAC representative said.

MiG-35: The plane that won’t die
New Delhi is currently formulating the technical specifications which, in the form of an RFP (Request for Proposals), will be sent to selected companies participating in the tender. This will be the formal launch of the new tender. According to information from sources in the military and diplomatic circles, Indian representatives, as early as this summer, turned to Russia with a request to describe the possible packaging arrangement of the MiG-35, which the United Aircraft Corporation will be ready to offer in the tender.

According to the source, Russia has sent India an expanded list of equipment and weapons, which included electronic warfare stations, suspended opto-electronic sighting containers, a wide range of aircraft weapons, including air-air and air-land missiles, as well as high-precision bombs.

All members of the future tender had met between 2000 and 2015, during a similar competition for the right to supply 126 fighter jets worth $10 billion. In the course of this long tender, the MiG-35 beat the F-16IN and the Gripen NG, but lost out to the French Rafale. However, due to the high prices, India could not buy one hundred, but only 36 fighters. India did not receive the Rafale production technologies and localization of production in Indian enterprises, as promised.

Andrey Frolov, an expert, told Izvestia that the announcement of a new tender could be interpreted as the public recognition by India that the modernization problem of a rapidly aging Air Force fleet has not been solved.

“Now we are seeing a split in the year 2000 tender,” said Frolov. “The Rafale has been purchased, but the first aircraft will be delivered no earlier than 2019. India's own fighter jet, the Tejas, is apparently not ready yet. And now, in a situation of mass write-offs of the MiG-21 and MiG-27 airplanes, something needs to be done urgently with the domestic fleet.”

Frolov said the outcome of the new tender was difficult to predict. There are some difficulties with all the aircraft invited to participate in the tender. Sweden is prepared to share production technologies of the Gripen fighter, but there are not many Swedish parts in this aircraft. The main components are purchased from the United States and Europe with which they would have to negotiate for permission to localize production in a third country.

Another problem with the Gripen is that, for the production of a new fighter jet, the SAAB Company will be forced to remove parts from aircraft already with the Swedish Air Force. A scandal has recently erupted on this issue in Sweden – the essence of which was the question: does it make sense to “cannibalize” the existing fighter fleet for the production of new aircraft, or is it better to invest in the development and production of a more advanced fighter aircraft? The new aircraft from Saab is scheduled to appear in 2019 which, as in the case of the Rafale, does not solve the current problems of the Indian Air Force.

“With the American F-16 things are easier,” said Frolov. “Its production line in the USA is scheduled for closing in 2017, and Washington could, theoretically, transfer it to India.

In practice, however, Americans have never yet transferred technologies to manufacture their own weapons and military equipment to any other country. Especially since the onboard equipment of this latest version of the aircraft, the F-16 Blok 52/57, includes a radar with active electronically scanned array (AESA), which is considered as the key know-how in the design of modern fighters.

Ivan Konovalov, Head of the Centre for Strategic Trend Studies, believes the MiG-35 is the only aircraft with which the Indian military should not have any issues.

“The aircraft participated in the last tender and showed excellent results,” said Konovalov. “The MiG lost out to the French Rafale for political, rather than technical reasons. The formal reason for the choice in favour of the French aircraft was the fact that, under Indian legislation, the Indian military cannot buy weapons and military equipment from only one supplier. And at that time, Russia had already signed several major contracts to supply India with Su-30MKI fighters and naval MiG-29K/KUB planes.”
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

Is ka-226 the first product of new company?
From Information available.
1. Kamov has been making helicopter
2. India has been using Kamov Helicopters
3. This is not the first twin rotors product from the company
4. Looks like a versatile design
5. it is in production and has been evaluated.
6. It might have lost in LUH competition, but Honda is cheaper than BMW for the same work. Those little technical edge may cost a lot more than they may be worth it.
7. It is not the first time someone is acquiring product, why people jump on next generation of iphone, because it is from established company
8. Russian products are cheaper, India needs in large number, so every bit of saving will help.
9. HAL LUH will bridge any technical edge the EU/US had, with LUH, Like Dhruv is a superior product in its category.
10. This has been long term armed forces requirement, now when the deal is signed, it becomes artificially created requirement, grow up.
11. India is a big country and product like this will be very useful for many organizations. same reason we still use chetah/chetal etc. It is for small task and hard to reach places. If it is artificial requirement why did HAL design LUH.

P.S: PAPPU is not worth talking about, he is good in jokes only.
Last edited by ragupta on 17 Oct 2016 22:29, edited 1 time in total.

ragupta wrote:Is ka-226 Civilian Lynx the first product of new company?
From Information available.
1. KamovWestland has been making helicopter (Lynx)
2. IndiaCustomers all over the world has been using Kamov Westland Helicopters
3. This is not the first twin rotors product from the company
4. Looks like a versatile design
5. it is in production and has been evaluated.
6. It might have lost in LUH competition, but Honda is cheaper than BMW for the same work. Those little technical edge may cost a lot more than they may be worth it.
7. It is not the first time someone is acquiring product, why people jump on next generation of iphone, because it is from established company
8. Russian products are cheaper,Britain is willing to give it away with aid. India needs in large number, so every bit of saving will help.
9. HAL LUH will bridge any technical edge the EU/US had, with LUH, Like Dhruv is a superior product in its category.
10. This has been long term armed forces ONGC requirement, now when the deal is signed, it becomes artificially created required, grow up.
11. India is a big country and product like this will be very useful for many organizations. same reason we still use chetah/chetal etc. It is for small task and hard to reach places. If it is artificial requirement why did HAL design LUH (Indeed. Why did they do the LUH , huh? Build a lot of Ka 226s.. Russians will give it cheap for screwing together)

P.S: PAPPU is not worth talking about, he is good in jokes only.
Well we know how that ended. Some 20 lives lost. UK bought it back for scrap for 900,000 pounds. Pawan Hans cratered and done for good.
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

One has to make judgement call. Fear of uncertainty will lead to analysis paralysis, similar to what AK Anthony did. do we want that?

Cybaru wrote:who/what is PaPPU?
Can I echo cybaru? Who is Pappu? The suspense is killing :)
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

Cybaru wrote:who/what is PaPPU?
Rajiv Gandhi
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Who is Pappu? Never thought would see this query on BRF..

It's Rahul Gandhi of course..
narmad

Post by narmad »

Pappu is Rahul Gandhi
by ragupta » 17 Oct 2016

Rajiv Gandhi
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

Sorry, I meant to type Rahul G. My bad.

d_berwal wrote: Vina and Gyan why are we buying Apache when we have LCH? ???
There is no comparison between Apache and LCH. They both operate at different war zones. LCH ranges from sea level to high altitude battlefield and IMO, I would think Apache will primary remain for the western theater (Punjab/Rajasthan/Gujrat) given that it has a lot of trouble in high altitudes.

Guys enough political posturing under guise of critiquing arms deals.

Dialogue with Raksha Mantri Shri Manohar Parrikar

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... AUmxacjlXv

Hmm . Looks like the Russians joined up with the Chinese and refused to name and isolate the Pakistanis in Goa. And the Govt handed them an Rs 80K crore order while shafting the LUH and the domestic shipyards. Good show! Rs 80,000 crore and you those guys don't even talk, let alone act in your side!

If it is ok to buy f-16s as we don't have the industrial might to produce more than 16 LCA Tejas per year.

Then it is ok to buy Kamov - 226 too, as we won't have the capability to build needed numbers of Light helos.

I hope they come fast and help retire cheetah and cheetals.

We cannot produce LUH but we can produce Ka-226? What's the price difference between ALH and Ka? What is the additional cost in adding a new type? why did USA fail to induct C-27 and kept only C-130? Why does India use C-17 while average payload is only 15-20 tons? Instead of 1500 Ka-226, why cannot 1000 ALH do the job? Why is average utilisation rate of Su-30 MKI is only 60 hours per annum?

^^ Isn't the Dhruv too big to land at some forward Siachen posts?

While I am all up for Desi products at whatever cost, LUH is a good 3yrs away from finishing its trials. Say about 4-5yrs from serial production. Can IA/IAF wait that long??

Question - Can Ka226 fly at Siachen??
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

Another question, is LUH requirement only for Siachin?

JayS: There are numerous articles of the Ka-226 being planned to be used in Siachen. But I could not come across a single article - after a brief search - of the Ka-226 undergoing trials in Siachen. I am assuming the specs of the chopper gave the Army Aviation Corps (AAC) the confidence that the helo can operate effectively in the CASEVAC role and transport role in Siachen.

ragupta: The number of the choppers being ordered - 197 ? - is a clear giveaway that the AAC plans to use the Ka-226 in other regions as well other than Siachen.
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

vina wrote:Hmm . Looks like the Russians joined up with the Chinese and refused to name and isolate the Pakistanis in Goa. And the Govt handed them an Rs 80K crore order while shafting the LUH and the domestic shipyards. Good show! Rs 80,000 crore and you those guys don't even talk, let alone act in your side!
Geo political situation changing, it will and is suppose to change.
Only when the existing order is disturbed, there is opening to make your own place.
not necessarily a bad thing.

India is not in a position to play tit or tat right now, but these things will help it in making moves to be ready in years to come. Sometimes you require shock and surprise action to reorg your strategy.

So trials were conducted in India of the fennec and the hoodlum. But where exactly in India, I still do not know. See below.

http://in.rbth.com/articles/2012/02/13/ ... ndia_14810
Incidentally, the Ka-226T performed very well during the evaluation trials conducted earlier in India as part of the tendering process. These trials showed clearly that the Ka-226T embodies the best achievements of the Kamov school of design – modular construction, which makes the helicopter multifunctional, a simple piloting technique, a low level of vibration, a high degree of reliability and safety in flight, and easy maintenance.
http://www.spslandforces.com/news/?id=3 ... al-Awaited
The field trials of Eurocopter’s AS550 C3 Fennec and Kamov’s Ka-226 have been completed almost a year back. It is hoped that there is no further rough weather in concluding the deal.

HAL does not have any orders for LUH so far. Just the unwritten understanding that half the total required 400 helis will be LUH. Heard that they are also looking to export it, but that would be a long shot right now.

What I am thinking it, of coarse the new helis for duty on the Glaciers were needed like 10yrs ago. So that cannot wait. We are planning to buy now 60 ready made Ka226 directly from Russia. I am not sure how is the urgency for other requirements. But was it possible that we buy 60 or whatever number was needed for Siachen directly and be done with it, and rest all be fulfilled with LUH?? Instead of putting money, efforts and manpower in new line for Ka226, the same could have been invested in fast-tracking LUH. As I hear limited availability of testing facilities is one factor in delays (now why HAL still does not have all the needed facilities after one successful program - Dhruv - is anyone's guess).

Ka226 does have a USP of being modular in design and that flexibility to be deployed in multiple roles as and when required which is not there for LUH. But I can't blame HAL for not doing this with LUH without knowing whether they were given this as one of the requirements of not.

JayS wrote:HAL does not have any orders for LUH so far. Just the unwritten understanding that half the total required 400 helis will be LUH.
Commitment of 187 has been oft stated. Unless this was formal, HAL wouldn't be doing it.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Dialogue with Raksha Mantri Shri Manohar Parrikar

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... AUmxacjlXv
That channel is pretty good. Saw videos of Maj Gen Bakshi, Nitin Gokhale other day.

JTull wrote:
JayS wrote:HAL does not have any orders for LUH so far. Just the unwritten understanding that half the total required 400 helis will be LUH.
Commitment of 187 has been oft stated. Unless this was formal, HAL wouldn't be doing it.
I asked around and no body seems to have any knowledge of any written contract for fixed number (still trying to get more confirmation). A written contract is always good. Give it to HAL with penalty clause for delays. Should give them some motivation too to finish work in time. :wink:
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

JayS wrote:HAL does not have any orders for LUH so far. Just the unwritten understanding that half the total required 400 helis will be LUH. Heard that they are also looking to export it, but that would be a long shot right now.
I agree with you there is no order as of yet or written order.

By any basic commonsense there cannot be an order as there is no finished product!!!

its a catch22 situation without a finished product how can we have confirmed order? If one gives an order it automatically becomes a scam!!!

But the pace of LUH and specifically HTT-40 is impressive. and i want to see them in numbers an d we will see them.

But to label Ka-226 as a scam is only an emotional response(as by some) or there is an motive behind it that does not make any sense with me.

except the emotional response, non of the arguments are logical. (the induction of LUH requirement is 15 years behind schedule and still same time left, both foreign vs Indian product, and the Indian product has just started with its 1st flight)

The current fleet is beyond mid-life upgrade and rest of the $h!t that take a 1960's product to keep alive!!! (we have wife's of these pilot's protesting/writing letters etc..)

Ka-226 is a $ 1billion price
LUH-HAL should be roughly same

This is for 400 numbers

now for 1000 numbers around $ 4 billion industry/product category having some competition is always advisable and commonsense.

We as India are anyway gonna buy $4 billion worth of LUH Type/ Category helicopters in next 10-15 years, competition here will only severe India no one else.

d_berwal wrote:
JayS wrote:HAL does not have any orders for LUH so far. Just the unwritten understanding that half the total required 400 helis will be LUH. Heard that they are also looking to export it, but that would be a long shot right now.
I agree with you there is no order as of yet or written order.

By any basic commonsense there cannot be an order as there is no finished product!!!

its a catch22 situation without a finished product how can we have confirmed order? If one gives an order it automatically becomes a scam!!!
I do believe, if GOI so wish they could have signed a contract with HAL for LUH development + 200nos with a time frame. If HAL cannot complete it then they pay penalty. If HAL would not wish to sign the deal it would have been in open that they were not confident enough and we wouldn't be having any discussion over how GOI is favouring foreign maal over desi.

After all such projects in West start with some projected numbers on the table right from the starting. For example the new B21 bomber project has 100nos with $550mil a piece on the table. And it has merely started the development.

What I want to say is, if HAL feels it can deliver then give them a contract and make them accountable for their commitments by putting penalty clauses. I think this way everyone would be happy. LUH is not the first heli for HAL now. I think they have fairly good idea about the development work needed and should be in a position to commit on paper.

One problem with this I see is that HAL is not autonomous and they have to wait years sometimes for even basic procurement clearance because some babu in MoD or the RM himself seats on the file for long times. I am of the opinion that HAL should be granted full autonomy or at the very least should be given Maharatna status by bending the rule.

d_berwal wrote: By any basic commonsense there cannot be an order as there is no finished product!!!
Really? Forget worldwide, how many examples do you want to the contrary from within India?

P.S. I support the procurement of the Ka-226s. But the above statement is completely false. Also, I have never heard of one company provided both the "competitors"!!! I would have loved to see the Indian production agency being Indian Rotorcraft Limited. They are capable. They were planning to make AW119s at Hyderabad before AW got blacklisted. That would have been a true back-up plan which does not leave a critical national requirement contingent to managerial decisions and execution (in)efficiencies of a single company. Ka-226 and LUH would have competed in executing an order for 196 articles each. Whichever team performs better gets the follow on order for 200 more.

All foreigners want to collaborate with DPSU because:-

Repeat orders are slipped in under guise of PSU manufactering
High price is hidden under carpet of PSU incomptence
PSU Never never Ever absorbs any technology and imports become a norm.

Gyan wrote:All foreigners want to collaborate with DPSU because:-

Then why was Dassault adamant on partnering Reliance instead of HAL?

Rakesh wrote:JayS: There are numerous articles of the Ka-226 being planned to be used in Siachen. But I could not come across a single article - after a brief search - of the Ka-226 undergoing trials in Siachen. I am assuming the specs of the chopper gave the Army Aviation Corps (AAC) the confidence that the helo can operate effectively in the CASEVAC role and transport role in Siachen.

ragupta: The number of the choppers being ordered - 197 ? - is a clear giveaway that the AAC plans to use the Ka-226 in other regions as well other than Siachen.
High altitude trials were held along with Fennec and another helo
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-th ... ls-1348713
"We have brought the Ka-226 helicopters for the high altitude trials that are going on at present. We are competing in the bids against Eurocopter and Agusta Westland," Rosoboronexport's deputy director general Victor Komardin said here today.
Also see
https://in.rbth.com/articles/2012/02/13 ... ndia_14810

Kashi wrote:
Gyan wrote:All foreigners want to collaborate with DPSU because:-

Then why was Dassault adamant on partnering Reliance instead of HAL?
Because guarantees for timely delivery, performance, price adherence, LCC was being demanded as part of contract. Actually MMRCA was a contract promised to USA without bribes. But Dassault was able to manage its way in. Unfortunately the terms were stringent and it could not afford to take up such heavy responsibility through HAL.

Aport from the S-400s,frigates,KA-226s,officiallyt announced,there were other apparent deals not publicised.Pres.Putin spoke about the deal for LR BMos (details in the Ru td) ,smaller version for subs,and the FGFA.The second Akula seems to be heading for Indian waters and here's news of a pos. JV for Ilyushin turbo-prop aircraft too.

http://defencenews.in/article/Russia-an ... plane-8812
Russia and India may set up joint production of Il-114-300 plane
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
By: Russia India Report

The Ilyushin Il-114-300 project in the future can become a basis for setting up a Russian-Indian joint venture, Russian Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin said at a meeting on aviation development. According to him, a pertinent presentation has already been prepared by the Ilyushin Design Bureau and forwarded to India.

"We believe it is a good aircraft that can be offered up for joint production. At least, we will begin with assembling the aircraft on Indian territory, paving the way for its joint production in India and other countries," he said.

At the same time, Rogozin stressed that in the beginning the project’s full-scale production should be set up in Russia. He said that upon the president’s instructions the work was being wrapped up and "soon a document will be put forward, containing a synchronized schedule on the purchase of aircraft for our air companies, and the production capacities as well."

"We won’t encourage air companies to use foreign-made aircraft any more, if this sort of aircraft can be produced in Russia," Rogozin stated. "This is a tough restriction that we employ in order to protect our domestic market. We are a great aviation power and we should be ashamed of buying foreign aircraft for popular routes."

He also said that the Ilyushin Il-114-300 aircraft should be of high-quality, "its flying characteristics and image should ensure its high demand domestically and even abroad," Rogozin added. The production of the plane is scheduled to start in 2019.

New Rus helicopter Ka-226K (naval version) performed maiden landing on ship deck in Baltic Sea.

https://twitter.com/RSS_40/status/788668494879547392