Understanding the United States of America (USA) - III

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the United States of America (USA) - III

Any votes he got were from Slick Willie admirers. The guy was and is an absolute disaster. LOST to Dubya, for cryin' out loud! Campaign manager should get all due credit for that.
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

The CNN story left out this:

komal

Post by komal »

UlanBatori wrote:Any votes he got were from Slick Willie admirers. The guy was and is an absolute disaster. LOST to Dubya, for cryin' out loud! Campaign manager should get all due credit for that.
He lost to W because W's brother was Governor of Florida and the U. S. Supreme Court intervened and blocked a state mandated recount saying W's constitutional rights were violated. Had the recount been allowed to continue, Al Gore would have won Florida.

Slick Willie was the first President in a over a generation to balance the budget and reduce the national debt as a percentage of GDP.

And that is why I admire Slick Willie. THAT was a truly transformational President. Pity about all the garbage cluttering his Presidency, for which I blame Abandon-Wife-On-Deathbed Gingrich and the crappy Republicans who ultimately had their own creations the T-Party turn on them, and have brought themselves to the fine pass in which they find themselves now. Wonder what happens if the donkeys get 400 seats in the House, 70 in the Senate PLUS the Caliphate ruling the WHOTUS. Time to move back to desh, I think. At least there is a balance between Shia and Sunni there.
Come 2 think of it, same or worse if the Trumpanzee circus comes to power and the Neo-Nazis roam the streets ... :eek:

Frankly, the Florida vote scam was never proven, it was like the Toyota Runaway Acceleration. Never quite sure if the ppl who complained had any clue what they were doing. Look on the gus-dissed Unmentionable Website, for the new story about "Voted Republican Down The Line, The Ballot WEnt to Democrats" whine. Do u believe it? If not, then why would you believe the Florida scam?

IIRC., Al Gore lost Tennessee, his home state that elected his daddy to the Senate all his life. Says it all.
komal

Post by komal »

UlanBatori wrote:Frankly, the Florida vote scam was never proven, it was like the Toyota Runaway Acceleration. Never quite sure if the ppl who complained had any clue what they were doing. Look on the gus-dissed Unmentionable Website, for the new story about "Voted Republican Down The Line, The Ballot WEnt to Democrats" whine. Do u believe it? If not, then why would you believe the Florida scam?

IIRC., Al Gore lost Tennessee, his home state that elected his daddy to the Senate all his life. Says it all.
We will never what the true vote count in Florida, because the U. S. Supreme Court, in an unprecedented intervention, blocked a state mandated recount. And the Republican justices who issued that order said it cannot be precedent -- so it says much about the legal validity of that action.

If the state mandated recount was going to show W the winner, I guarantee you the Supreme Court would have allowed the recount to continue.

No way were the racists of TN going to vote for Al Gore.

Al Gore, with all due respect, just came across as the worst of the Bogus-Liberal WASP Elite. Quintessential definition of the American term "Mealy-Mouthed". And events since then (hootchie-kootchie etc) have proved the good sense of the voters of Tennessee. Let's have some respect for the common sense of the Home State of Brer Rabbit and the Beverly Hillbillies, hain? Ppl who make such good whiskey can't be all bad!
Last edited by UlanBatori on 26 Oct 2016 04:07, edited 1 time in total.

it seems that personal voter fraud (after investigation) was found to be true in 37 instances (people) out of a sample of 1Bn votes cast (over multiple elections)

on the other hand, republican senators and governors have been happily gerrymandering their regions to exclude sections of the community - most notably blacks to ensure that the demographics of their regions remain with a republican majority - and this is "legal". the most common tactics seem to be to prevent voter registration through some dubious legal(ised) means

this is no different to EIC wallahs coming back to blighty with desi loot and buying themselves into parliament to pass laws to favour the EIC

plus ca change, plus c'est la meme chose!

In Jawjuh, the Voting Rights Act was brought mainly to stop Democrats from redrawing districts. The elephants were originally just the carpetbaggers in the cities, but Jimmy Carter managed to spread the Republican Party to the rural areas and they have never looked back. Maybe this time it will be different? Nah! Many elephants are running uncontested!!
komal

Post by komal »

UlanBatori wrote:Al Gore, with all due respect, just came across as the worst of the Bogus-Liberal WASP Elite. Quintessential definition of the American term "Mealy-Mouthed". And events since then (hootchie-kootchie etc) have proved the good sense of the voters of Tennessee. Let's have some respect for the common sense of the Home State of Brer Rabbit and the Beverly Hillbillies, hain? Ppl who make such good whiskey can't be all bad!
Again, Al Gore received more votes than George W. Bush. And TN was a backwater malarial swap with enormous untapped hydroelectric power (e.g., much like the Pakistan of today) until FDR forced them into 20th century.
komal

Post by komal »

UlanBatori wrote:In Jawjuh, the Voting Rights Act was brought mainly to stop Democrats from redrawing districts. The elephants were originally just the carpetbaggers in the cities, but Jimmy Carter managed to spread the Republican Party to the rural areas and they have never looked back. Maybe this time it will be different? Nah! Many elephants are running uncontested!!
Jimmy Carter dragged the U. S. economy into the 20th century by deregulating bank deposit rates and working with FED to deregulate short-term interest rates. And he paid a price for this. Americans think Ronald Reagan ended inflation by quadrupling the national debt.

Jimmy Carter also introduced the backbone of U. S. military defense: Stealth technology and B-52s retrofitted with cruise missiles. Again, the brain trust in the U. S. believes the Stealth Fighter belongs to Reagan because it was introduced during his term in office.

Obama Transition Team: Muslim Picks for Top Jobs Could Not Pass Careful Vetting

In new Podesta email, admin official says possible appointees to government posts 'would not survive such a vet'

by Edmund Kozak
24 Oct 2016

A 2008 email released by WikiLeaks on Monday appears to suggest that the Obama administration considered appointing Muslims to important administration positions who would have trouble passing vetting procedures — at least in the court of public opinion.

In the email, titled “Asian American Candidates, Muslim American Candidates,” future administration official Preeta D. Bansal, then a partner at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, provided Michael B. Froman, a member of Obama’s transition team, with a list of potential Asian-Americans and Muslim-Americans for “top Administration jobs, sub-cabinet jobs, and outside boards/agencies/policy committees.”

“High-profile Muslim Americans tend to be the subject of a fair amount of blogger criticism, and so the individuals on this list would need to be ESPECIALLY carefully vetted,” Bansal notes. “I suspect some of the people I list would not survive such a vet,” she admits.

It is unclear exactly what Bansal means, but she is likely suggesting that a deep search into many of the possible appointee’s past writings and public statements could uncover radical Islamist ties, sympathies, or tendencies — similar to how top Clinton aide Huma Abedin’s past ties to a radical Islamist publication run out of Saudi Arabia recently came to light.

It is interesting to note the administration official’s concern was not with the possible appointment of Muslims to top government posts, but rather that their sympathies could become public knowledge.

Not only did Bansal believe some of those on her list wouldn’t survive vetting, but she took meticulous care to ensure Christian Arabs did not make that list. “In the candidates for top jobs, I excluded those with some Arab American background but who are not Muslim,” Bansal writes. “Many Lebanese Americans, for example, are Christian,” she explains.

Bansal would go on to become general counsel and senior policy adviser to the federal Office of Management and Budget in the Obama administration from 2009 until 2011

That's pretty classic stuff coming from WikiLeaks.

U know hu P. Bansal is, right? Wunderkind "Hindoo" - first one appointed to USCIRF - as a token puppet when they dissed NaMo. Sell-out through and through. Do saal pehle there was a move to make her a Fed Judge and the desi hindootva took partial revenge by campaigning against the Judgeship. I didn't know about the "general counsel and senior policy adviser to the OMB from 09-11" stuff. The Judgeship tamasha was in 2014 IIRC.
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Looks to be a close relative of Teesta?

She couldn't siphon off some funds from OMB for eyeliner though...
GShankar

Post by GShankar »

Video from The Young Turks. But... they say the latest wikileaks expose, implicates bomber as well saying he lied

This is cho chweet of my fellow Indian Americans I don't know what to say: http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp ... 268742.ece

I guess HRC will bring Indians and Pakistanis together in a Bollywood-ish dance finale and transform the world. Just see how cleverly she has appointed Huma Abedin, half Indian half Paki, as her foremost aide.

The problem is there is little money for her in that except US deep state is interested in this song and dance. The Deep state may be interested, but it may also be interested in keeping India in good books so that when China does not cooperate, they can use India against China.

I think HC or any Dem President will be instinctively anti-Indian. In fact, they will be against any non-western democracy which is not a chamcha of West and love despots. Funny because they are the people who shout about values etc. and play color revolutions. They are also as bad as GOP fellows when it comes to EJ activities.

Hey Gus,
This might interest you.

http://blog.dilbert.com/post/1522934807 ... ully-party
I’ve been trying to figure out what common trait binds Clinton supporters together. As far as I can tell, the most unifying characteristic is a willingness to bully in all its forms.
Please read the whole rant.

Wow! Once he warms up, he REALLY gets going! And this is St. DILBERT HIMSELF!!!! :eek: :mrgreen:
Joe Biden said he wanted to take Trump behind the bleachers and beat him up. No one on Clinton’s side disavowed that call to violence because, I assume, they consider it justified hyperbole.
Team Clinton has succeeded in perpetuating one of the greatest evils I have seen in my lifetime. Her side has branded Trump supporters (40%+ of voters) as Nazis, sexists, homophobes, racists, and a few other fighting words. Their argument is built on confirmation bias and persuasion. But facts don’t matter because facts never matter in politics. What matters is that Clinton’s framing of Trump provides moral cover for any bullying behavior online or in person. No one can be a bad person for opposing Hitler, right?
Some Trump supporters online have suggested that people who intend to vote for Trump should wear their Trump hats on election day. That is a dangerous idea, and I strongly discourage it. There would be riots in the streets because we already know the bullies would attack. But on election day, inviting those attacks is an extra-dangerous idea. Violence is bad on any day, but on election day, Republicans are far more likely to unholster in an effort to protect their voting rights. Things will get wet fast.
Yes, yes, I realize Trump supporters say bad things about Clinton supporters too. I don’t defend the bad apples on either side. I’ll just point out that Trump’s message is about uniting all Americans under one flag. The Clinton message is that some Americans are good people and the other 40% are some form of deplorables, deserving of shame, vandalism, punishing taxation, and violence. She has literally turned Americans on each other. It is hard for me to imagine a worse thing for a presidential candidate to do.
I’ll say that again.
As far as I can tell, the worst thing a presidential candidate can do is turn Americans against each other. Clinton is doing that, intentionally.
Intentionally.
As I often say, I don’t know who has the best policies. I don’t know the best way to fight ISIS and I don’t know how to fix healthcare or trade deals. I don’t know which tax policies are best to lift the economy. I don’t know the best way to handle any of that stuff. (And neither do you.) But I do have a bad reaction to bullies. And I’ve reached my limit.
I hope you have too. Therefore…
I endorse Donald Trump for President of the United States because I oppose bullying in all its forms.
I don’t defend Trump’s personal life. Neither Trump nor Clinton are role models for our children. Let’s call that a tie, at worst.
The bullies are welcome to drown in their own bile while those of us who want a better world do what we’ve been doing for hundreds of years: Work to make it better while others complain about how we’re doing it.
Today I put Trump’s odds of winning in a landslide back to 98%. Remember, I told you a few weeks ago that Trump couldn’t win unless “something changed.”
Something just changed.
You might like my book because Clinton’s bullies have been giving it one-star reviews on Amazon to punish me for blogging about Trump’s persuasion skills.
But THAT endorsement means a heck of a lot more than the NRA or the Border Patrol or the Neo-Nazis. This is the Gawd of Software Engineers and Bijnej Managers.

And here's the rest of it:
If you have a Trump sign in your lawn, they will steal it.
If you have a Trump bumper sticker, they will deface your car.
if you speak of Trump at work you could get fired.
On social media, almost every message I get from a Clinton supporter is a bullying type of message. They insult. They try to shame. They label. And obviously they threaten my livelihood.
We know from Project Veritas that Clinton supporters tried to incite violence at Trump rallies. The media downplays it.
We also know Clinton’s side hired paid trolls to bully online. You don’t hear much about that (er.... no comment on BRF because I am afraid to comment 4 reasons above.. :roll: ).
Yesterday, by no coincidence, Huffington Post, Salon, and Daily Kos all published similar-sounding hit pieces on me, presumably to lower my influence. (That reason, plus jealousy, are the only reasons writers write about other writers.)
Spot on.

this is going to be a landslide victory for Trump.

habal wrote:this is going to be a landslide victory for Trump.
u want to bet a bottle of fine wine? :rotfl:

Will send you anywhere in the world if that happens

Landslide, but question is going to be over and who under the landslide :shock:
But I think if Scott Adams is p-o-ed, it means a lot of aam aaadmi also feel the same way. They must have really messed up badly to attack him.

By all measures this is a strange election.
Both candidates have deplorable ratings.
To add to confusion Americans are divided on many fault-lines: globalist vs. isolationist, big govt vs. little govt etc. etc.

The polls are confusing too.
The methodology is based on past elections and adding factors which may or may not be correct to this election
One odd thing is in close states no one wants to reveal their preference to avoid the bully factor.

The Hill reports
Trump and his supporters argue that mainstream pollsters are under-sampling Republicans to account for a rise in independents, while failing to account for an enthusiasm gap that favors Trump or the new voters he could bring into the fold.

Her side has branded Trump supporters (40%+ of voters) as Nazis, sexists, homophobes, racists, and a few other fighting words.
Not too hard to do for a man who's been formally endorsed by the KKK.
I’ll just point out that Trump’s message is about uniting all Americans under one flag.
A bit hard to do for a man who only turned down the KKK's endorsement after enduring two weeks of withering media coverage.

David Duke Says He and Donald Trump Have the Same Message - Sep 30, 2016
Former Ku Klux Klan leader David Duke is running for Senate in Louisiana, and he says Donald Trump’s popularity is helping him in the race.

“I love it,” Duke told the LA Times. “The fact that Donald Trump’s doing so well, it proves that I’m winning. I am winning.”

Duke also told the LA Times that Trump’s proposed policies, like building a wall along the border with Mexico and banning Muslims from entering the country, show the country is open to a white power message. “He’s talking about it in a visceral way,” Duke said. “Donald Trump is talking implicitly. I’m talking explicitly.”

I have never seen an election where supporters of a political party are bullied, ridiculed, called names and even physically attacked as Republicans under Trump are going thru.

No one dares to tell that they are voting for Trump now a days.

Who knows how it will work out!

As bad Hillary is, the kind of reaction Trump gets is his own making.

* Mocks a journalist for his Physical handicap
* Attacks Republican Governors or leaders
* Attacks women "Look at her or as if she hasn't been grabbed before"
* Calls a judge Mexican
* MSM keeps focus on his follies and covers up all exposes of Hillary

A candidate however arrogant they are (a.k.a Hillary) keep their mouths shut and let cronies do all attacks. But Trump is so abrasive.

Who knows? He thinks he will win with his strategy.

But What I have seen is the strategy puts off many people. He also takes the focus off any revelations on Hillary and brings back focus on his own personality. I don't think that is good for his chances. He may believe in "No publicity is bad publicity" but politics is not same as business.

Trump's America Would Look a Lot Like India

by Michael Schuman
(Bloomberg View) -- Donald Trump may never have an opportunity to put his nationalist economic ideas into practice, but they are almost certain to outlive his campaign. Many workers have come to believe that free trade kills jobs and that they and the U.S. economy overall would be better off if more stuff was made at home rather than in China or Mexico.

To a certain extent, factories are already moving home, as the trend of “reshoring” from places like China gains momentum. And on the surface, the make-it-in-America rationale seems to pass the common sense test. More manufacturing at home means more factory jobs for Americans and a smaller trade deficit with the world.

The trouble is, we already have a pretty good idea of what this America would look like. It would look like India.

I don’t mean today’s India, the world’s fastest-growing big economy, which has opened itself up to trade and foreign investment. I’m talking about the India I saw on my first trip there in 1991, after the country had endured years of socialist economic planning. The level of technology and consumer choice was appalling. Drivers still rumbled about city streets in clunky Ambassador sedans, based on a 1950s-era car model. Customers had to wait months for big-ticket items like motorbikes and appliances. Quality was shoddy. And India remained one of the poorest nations on earth.

Part of the problem was that India, like many emerging economies, was deeply suspicious of trade. Influenced by its anti-colonial struggle, the country’s leaders in the 1950s and 1960s were convinced the global economy, dominated by their former European masters, was rigged against poor nations. They argued that the only way to develop modern industry and reduce poverty was to detach from international networks of exchange. They thus pursued import-substitution policies, throwing up barriers so that domestic industry could take root and grow.

Those policies failed. Coddling domestic industry eliminated any incentive for companies to turn out better products; consumers were stuck with whatever slop local factories felt like making. Indian firms were also cut off from the critical technological changes transforming industries elsewhere. Narayana Murthy, the founder of IT services giant Infosys, has said that it took him so long to get permission from regulators to import computers in the 1980s that, by the time the permits turned up, the models were already out-of-date.

With uncompetitive manufacturing, India wasn’t able to export and capitalize on demand in wealthy nations like the U.S., which China, South Korea and other countries in the region successfully tapped to boost incomes. India to this day has never matched the large-scale manufacturing of its East Asian neighbors. That’s a big reason why India’s GDP per capita remains a fifth of China’s.

The U.S. economy is obviously much more advanced than India’s was in the 1950s, and New Delhi’s policymakers compounded the country’s problems by tying up private enterprise in a web of regulations that came to be known as the License Raj.

But the policies Trump and his supporters would have to implement to make his economic promises a reality -- such as tearing up trade pacts, imposing higher tariffs on imports and slapping punitive taxes on companies that move manufacturing offshore -- are, in essence, akin to India’s import-substitution program and would have similar effects. Foreign-made products would become prohibitively expensive, curtailing consumer choice. Factories behind protective barriers would have little incentive to invest in innovation or quality. Trapped in a high-cost environment, they’d have trouble competing in global markets.

The idea that this would lead to more jobs and fatter incomes is hard to credit. Unable to export, and forced to charge higher prices for their wares at home, factories would require only small workforces to meet capped demand. Or they’d invest heavily in automation to press costs down, replacing workers with robots on assembly lines. Even worse, America’s trading partners would almost certainly retaliate against U.S. companies, killing off jobs that depend on trade. One study makes the case that Trump’s trade policies “would send the U.S. economy into recession and cost millions of Americans their jobs.”

In the end, such policies would isolate American industry from the global trends that drive economic progress. U.S. firms have proven adept at capitalizing on globalization to raise efficiency and profits while keeping the most valuable aspects of their businesses at home. Cutting U.S. firms off from the world would undercut their competitiveness, or force them to invest more and more outside of the country anyway, creating more jobs overseas than at home.

It’s telling that India chose to go in the other direction, after a 1991 foreign-exchange crisis forced a deregulation of trade. Now consumers can buy practically anything they want, Indian companies have gained in competitiveness and the population has become markedly richer. That’s the kind of country the U.S. should want to be.

This column does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the editorial board or Bloomberg LP and its owners.

Well. Isn't it telling that in the State of LA, where Baabby Jindal has been ruling, David Duke wins the nomination to stand for election as Senator candidate? The hard fact is that very many Americans ***ARE**** D. Duke supporters in the important things.
OK, they may not feel like personally going around wearing bedsheets and carrying ropes etc in the middle of the night, but on many other issues they agree, though they will not knowingly allow others to hear those opinions. Remains to be seen what they do in the privacy of a polling booth.

UlanBatori wrote:Well. Isn't it telling that in the State of LA, where Baabby Jindal has been ruling, David Duke wins the nomination to stand for election as Senator candidate? The hard fact is that very many Americans ***ARE**** D. Duke supporters in the important things.
OK, they may not feel like personally going around wearing bedsheets and carrying ropes etc in the middle of the night, but on many other issues they agree, though they will not knowingly allow others to hear those opinions. Remains to be seen what they do in the privacy of a polling booth.
No not really. They're all voting for Trump. That's a pretty well known fact.

Just like its well known that the Black, Hispanics, Asian Americans and (a substantial proportion of) women will be voting for Clinton this cycle.

Are you really sure Black, Hispanic and Asian Americans (I mean citjens) will vote for HiC? The ones I know, won't. Stunningly pro-Trump (not because they are anti-HiC but anti-BO) at least at Blue Collar/ Small Bij levels. They don't appreciate the amnesties to illegals, for starters. Look at the prevalence of polis-shooting Black Americans under BO, and he's powerless to do anything about it, every case ends with the polis vindicated and applauded (same with the Alabama polis who threw down the old desi gent and got him semi-paralyzed). The Dems TAKE FOR GRANTED that all those categories will vote for them every election like sheep. Desis are certainly split.

OK, Middle Class AAs hate Trump and all Republicans. But not the blue-collar, who see DT as anti-Estabishment even though they hate Republicans.

What I have not seen at all is any discussion about how the other Y in the Y^3 are leaning this time. BO wasn't getting along with Nut&Yahoo, but I have no idea about how the trumpanzee is getting along there. How come he hasn't made any gross statements against them?

SNL had a skit with Tom Hanks as a working class white Trump supporter on 'black jeopardy'. They showed a good correspondence of views until ' lives that matter' came up as the final jeopardy. Real nice observations. Dont know though if it translates to votes one way or the other.

Any way all,
do what is necessary to protect 401Ks during election throes.

UlanBatori wrote:Are you really sure Black, Hispanic and Asian Americans (I mean citjens) will vote for HiC? The ones I know, won't.
Unfortunately a sad reality of modern day life (and this is not just true for the US) is that people socialize along political lines. To put it another way, most of the people you know you know are 'stunningly pro-Trump' probably get on well with each other and with you. Elsewhere Clinton supporters will find that their peer group is 'stunningly anti-Trump' concluding that there is a groundswell of opinion against him. Unfortunately all of this is entirely anecdotal and nobody with a scientific bent of mind should admit it as evidence.

The actual statistical evidence is stunningly lopsided against Trump among minorities. In fact, an NBC/WSJ survey in July showed Trump polling at a shocking zero percent among Blacks in Ohio & Pennsylvania. Overall his vote-share has fluctuated in the 0-10% range. And that has probably been reinforced with the Obamas entering the fray.

According to the new National Asian American Survey, Clinton leads 59% to 16% against Trump. That figure is particularly bad for Trump among Indian-Americans (70% to 7% in Clinton's favour).

See here: Asian-American Voters Are Diverse But Unified Against Donald Trump - FiveThiryEight

Donald Trump Is Seen as Helping Push Asian-Americans Into Democratic Arms
LAS VEGAS — On paper at least, Asian-Americans seem like perfect Republicans. Many are small-business owners. Their communities tend to be more culturally conservative. And a lot of them, having fled oppressive Communist governments, found comfort in the Republican Party’s aggressive anti-Communist policies.

But in what could be a significant realignment of political allegiance, Asian-Americans are identifying as Democrats at a quicker pace than any other racial group. And many Republicans worry this election will only accelerate that trend, damaging their party for years to come with what is now the fastest-growing minority in the country.

The Republican presidential nominee, Donald J. Trump, is not helping. His attacks on the Chinese — which he has sometimes delivered in a crude, mocking accent — are a feature of his populist campaign. He has suggested cutting off immigration from the Philippines, citing fears that the longtime American ally poses the same national security threat as countries like Syria and Afghanistan.

Mr. Trump’s talk of deporting millions of undocumented immigrants has also stirred up painful memories among a group that has been singled out under American law before, whether by the Chinese Exclusion Act, which barred the immigration of Chinese laborers until 1943, or by the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II.

“It’s like we’re going back in time,” said Marc Matsuo of Las Vegas, who grew up in Hawaii with parents of Japanese ancestry and recalled how his family used to feel uncomfortable expressing their heritage, to the point they would not speak Japanese. He now helps register Asian-Americans to vote. “I was always brought up that you don’t talk about religion, you don’t talk about politics. Not anymore.”

Though Asian-Americans are still just 4 percent of the overall eligible voting population, their political power is concentrated in important swing states like Nevada and Virginia, where both parties have been building on their efforts to reach out.

In and around Las Vegas, home to one of the country’s largest Asian populations, this means printing campaign leaflets in Korean, having a Vietnamese translator on standby at speeches, publishing op-ed articles in the local Filipino newspaper and hiring employees who know enough Mandarin to recruit voters at the Chinatown seafood market.

Hillary Clinton’s campaign has a resident staff member in Las Vegas dedicated to Asian-Americans and Pacific Islanders. Staff members and volunteers here speak Chinese, Korean, Hindi and Tagalog, the Filipino language. The campaign has recently been conducting native language training on how to use voting machines in a local Chinese cultural center. Volunteers are sent to court supporters in Buddhist temples.

Though Mr. Trump’s campaign announced a new Asian Pacific American Advisory Committee last week, a Republican National Committee spokesman, Ninio Fetalvo, said Mr. Trump’s outreach to Asian-American voters had been coordinated until now mainly through two staff members at the party’s Washington headquarters. The party, he added, has also printed materials in a variety of Asian languages in cities like Las Vegas.

Republicans’ difficulties with Asian-Americans are similar to those the party has faced with most minority groups. A sense that the party is hostile to immigrants and minorities has driven more Asian-American voters into the Democratic Party lately, political scientists and community leaders said. And if Republicans do not make more of an effort, those voting shifts could harden, just as Hispanics’ voting patterns have.

“What we see now are some early indications that people who either leaned toward the Democratic Party or did not identify with either party are now starting to identify as Democrats,” said Karthick Ramakrishnan, a professor of political science at the University of California, Riverside. “This is still a group that is making up its mind,” he added, “but it should be concerning to the Republican Party that you’re starting to see this crystallization.”

A national survey in the spring by Asian and Pacific Islander American Vote, a nonpartisan research group, showed “a significant leftward shift” since 2012 among Asian-American registered voters, with 47 percent now identifying with the Democratic Party, compared with 35 percent in 2012. Fifteen percent identified as Republican.

In 1992, the year national exit polls started reporting Asian-American sentiment, the group leaned Republican, supporting George Bush over Bill Clinton 55 percent to 31 percent. But by 2012, that had reversed. Asian-Americans overwhelmingly supported President Obama over Mitt Romney — 73 percent to 26 percent, almost the same margin by which Hispanics favored Mr. Obama.

A Pew Research Center report released last month showed that Asian-Americans have since 2008 embraced the Democratic Party at a faster rate than any other ethnic group.

Still, many Republicans believe that the damage is reversible and see Asian-Americans’ political identity as still very young and malleable. For example, among many Asian-Americans, there is a tendency to be less forgiving on illegal immigration, which is sometimes seen — unfairly or not — as an issue specific to Latinos.

Lanhee Chen, who was Mitt Romney’s policy director in 2012, said the effect of Mr. Trump’s harsh talk on immigration could be more muted with Asian-Americans than it is with other minorities. “Trump has not been helpful,” Mr. Chen said. “Now is it as directly harmful as it would be to Latinos? I don’t think so.”

As Asian-Americans have replaced Hispanics as the nation’s fastest growing racial group, Nevada has become the center of their emerging political class. Asian-Americans are now about 7 percent of the electorate in the state, a figure that is expected to double by 2060.

Democrats and Republicans have concluded that winning in closely divided Nevada requires performing strongly among Asian-Americans: The state’s Republican senator, Dean Heller, carried Asian-Americans when he narrowly won in 2012. And Harry Reid, the state’s long-serving Democratic senator who is retiring, performed even better with them than he did among Hispanics in his 2010 election.

None of which is lost on the two candidates vying to succeed Mr. Reid: Representative Joe Heck, the Republican, employs an aide who speaks Mandarin and has made Kamayan dinners — traditional Filipino banquets — as much a campaign staple as marching in parades. And Catherine Cortez Masto, the Democrat, grew up in the Las Vegas neighborhood that has since become the city’s Chinatown, with Korean barbecue restaurants, Vietnamese noodle bars, foot spas and Chinese arches. When she attended a lunar celebration last month, she spoke in English as someone translated her words into Vietnamese.

As much as Mr. Trump’s positions seem to be driving Asian-Americans into the Democratic Party, the group defies easy political categorization. Many Koreans are evangelical Christians. Filipinos overwhelmingly belong to the Roman Catholic Church. Many Vietnamese who emigrated during the war identify closely with the Republican Party’s anti-Communism.

“In general, Asian values are very much in line with Republican values: family, education, the country needs to be stable,” said James Yu, a member of the Las Vegas Asian Chamber of Commerce, which has endorsed Mr. Heck in the Senate race. Notably, it has not backed Mr. Trump.

By November, about 9.3 million Asian-Americans will be able to vote nationally, or 4 percent of the eligible voting population. That is up from eight million in 2012. And that growth has spawned new civic organizations, like the nonpartisan Asian Community Development Council in Las Vegas, which aims to boost the group’s low voter turnout. Only 47 percent of eligible Asian-Americans voted in 2012.

Vida Chan Lin, the group’s founder, said that her message each time she goes out to register Asian-Americans to vote — in casinos’ employee lunchrooms, in Chinatown shopping malls and at employee orientations for businesses like the Panda Express fast-food chain — is that they have to harness the power of their growing numbers.

“We’ve got to get them to vote,” Ms. Lin said in her office, which was humming with volunteers planning registration drives, as well as follow-up calls as reminders to vote.

One positive consequence of Mr. Trump’s divisiveness, she said, was that interest in the election is like nothing she has ever seen. And the chatter about it follows her everywhere, she added: “When I went to China, they were talking about it.”

Ah, but the ppl I talk to (mentioned above) are not in my "peer group" nor do they know which way I might lean if I had a vote. Chinese-Americans may be dominantly pro-HiC, but again, desis, not so sure.

UlanBatori wrote:Ah, but the ppl I talk to (mentioned above) are not in my "peer group" nor do they know which way I might lean if I had a vote. Chinese-Americans may be dominantly pro-HiC, but again, desis, not so sure.
I think desis start off being Dem and as they get richer, they become more pro-Rep.

Viv S wrote: A bit hard to do for a man who only turned down the KKK's endorsement after enduring two weeks of withering media coverage.

The above assertion is interesting. Guilt by Association is now universally recognized as a favorite crutch of the "Victims of Intolerance" brigade. In ANY society.

Cf: Gujarat 2002, Gujarat 2002, Gujarat 2002. Ishrat Jahan, Ishrat Jahan, Ishrat Jahan. Church attacks, church attacks, church attacks. Rohit Vemula, Rohit Vemula, Rohit Vemula. Cow-protection vigilantes attacking dalits, Cow-protection vigilantes attacking dalits...

Common sense would dictate that HiC would have an easy time of it, at least that was the general consensus as soon as Trump became the nominee. However, it is strange that even in the heart of Democrat country there are plenty of supporters for the guy. These are people I work with, so no, not peers, but mid-level employees, technicians, many of them women who cannot stand HiC.

My close associates (peers) many of whom are orthodox Jews did not vote for OmBaba although are traditionally democrats. Wonder where they are leaning this time, probably for HiC. I do know somebody who is closely associated with her campaign and is Jewish, FWIW.

One thing is obvious to me, this election has people polarized in ways no other did and the outcome IMHO is till uncertain.
Dinesh S

Post by Dinesh S »

Viv S wrote:
Not too hard to do for a man who's been formally endorsed by the KKK.
I’ll just point out that Trump’s message is about uniting all Americans under one flag.
A bit hard to do for a man who only turned down the KKK's endorsement after enduring two weeks of withering media coverage.

David Duke Says He and Donald Trump Have the Same Message - Sep 30, 2016
Former Ku Klux Klan leader David Duke is running for Senate in Louisiana, and he says Donald Trump’s popularity is helping him in the race.

“I love it,” Duke told the LA Times. “The fact that Donald Trump’s doing so well, it proves that I’m winning. I am winning.”

Duke also told the LA Times that Trump’s proposed policies, like building a wall along the border with Mexico and banning Muslims from entering the country, show the country is open to a white power message. “He’s talking about it in a visceral way,” Duke said. “Donald Trump is talking implicitly. I’m talking explicitly.”
Isn't that guilt by association? DT is supposed to control who votes for him now? :roll: by that count, all muslim terrorists will be voting for Hillary. Just saying
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

Hitesh wrote:UB if you think Alex Jones is a guy to be believed seriously then I got a bridge in Florida to sell to you. I mean I have no qualms about making money off people who should know better.
Per Diktat-e-Adminullahs I am not supposed to respond directly to certain (never mind) who make a habit of vicious personal attacks but they don't feel any need obey the same rules? MUST be a Hillary Fan!! :idea:
I became a Hillary fan after I watch a die hard avowed fan of Trump, Alex Jones, make this following video:

After watching this video and other videos of Alex Jones and seeing Trump being endorsed by the likes of these people, yeah I became a big time Hillary Fan in seconds. Theres no way I want to live under a guy whos being endorsed by these craaayyzies.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

Rudradev wrote:
Viv S wrote: A bit hard to do for a man who only turned down the KKK's endorsement after enduring two weeks of withering media coverage.

The above assertion is interesting. Guilt by Association is now universally recognized as a favorite crutch of the "Victims of Intolerance" brigade. In ANY society.

Cf: Gujarat 2002, Gujarat 2002, Gujarat 2002. Ishrat Jahan, Ishrat Jahan, Ishrat Jahan. Church attacks, church attacks, church attacks. Rohit Vemula, Rohit Vemula, Rohit Vemula. Cow-protection vigilantes attacking dalits, Cow-protection vigilantes attacking dalits...
:shock: You equate RSS and other hindu groups with KKKs who have a long proven history of mob lynching and inciting racial riots? :eek: