A Poll on the American election - 2016

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Who do you want to win the US election ?

Poll ended at 07 Nov 2016 01:30

Hillary Clinton
11%
Donald Trump
89%

Total votes: 123

Re: A Poll on the American election - 2016

HKumar wrote:Voted for HRC and Dems all through. Repusb need to be taught a lesson for nominating a total effing moron like Trump.

Its important to not let the crazies here and in India not derail the overall agenda just so they get a little rise.
You can't blame folks for having a severe disliking for HRC. This is reflected in public opinion (majority of those that are polled view her unfavorably) at large even within the general US public. The Clinton machine is notoriously corrupt, and power hungry. There are other ways to oppose Trump's candidacy and not support or vote for HRC and many including myself are doing just that. Many such voters that would normally vote GOP have the ability to inflict some very strong damage on his candidacy while still supporting GOP down ballot candidates. Some of this will be seen in Utah that has probably the most disliking for Trump of any deep red state (this was reflected in internal selection as well).

At this point, given how these two candidates have run, and their past conduct over many years, I can certainly not blame anyone from being extremely critical of either.

As far as the GOP needing to be taught a lesson - What lesson would this be? They made their party more democratic (no super delegates, and lot more open primaries), and this allowed a polarizing, non-conservative ideology driven populist billionaire to take over with less than $14 million primary votes. If there is any lesson out of this (both sides) it is for the general public to be more involved in the primary process.

The one lesson however, for the GOP is to keep a distance with their conservative media mouthpieces. Sean Hannity and Rush Limbaugh make great mouthpieces but don't confuse them with intellectuals driving the party's agenda. That is a deeper problem that trump just happened to exploit rather than help create. 2 years from now expect more of these "Trump 2.0" candidates trying to run a similar campaign. You may have the same problem with the Dems going extreme left with their candidates.
Last edited by brar_w on 31 Oct 2016 22:16, edited 4 times in total.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

At this point, Shillary and her campaign are actively wooing Indian donors. The projection of Neera is to counter the jihadi association of Abedin. The use of hyphenated Indo Pak Huma is troubling and a typical sign of how the media manipulators are at work.

Who is manipulating the media?
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

SaiKo mama, we can't have that conversation on this thread despite being good friends. PS: Most media is typically left leaning, even in the US. Republicans have think-tanks, Democrats have the airwaves.

Marten, Neera Tanden is a known policy studies expert in DC. Both sides acknowledge that. Even Megan Kelley on Fox News was saying that. Its not balancing Huma.

BTW both NT and HA have been very critical of HRC and her email business to Podesta.
prat.patel

Post by prat.patel »

I voted for Trump in this forum.
Cant actually vote in real election - not a citizen

Reason is simple - I will still take a stupid/moron over an evil/crooked. You can reason with a stupid/moron, but an evil/crooked is already against you no matter what.
Marten

Post by Marten »

ramana wrote:Marten, Neera Tanden is a known policy studies expert in DC. Both sides acknowledge that. Even Megan Kelley on Fox News was saying that. Its not balancing Huma.

BTW both NT and HA have been very critical of HRC and her email business to Podesta.
I understand that aspect Ramanaji. Point was that Neera is nowhere as close as Huma was or is to HRC. The == was disconcerting because it hits a false note.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

I wish Trump wins. I don't know anything about Hillary except just looking at her photos I feel she is Satanic. I saw the debates out of curiosity and I liked Trump. Trump is not as crazy as people make him out to be. He says the unspeakable (muslims are a danger to the country) just look at Kashmir, such words are politically not correct but SatyaMevJayate.

I wish Trump wins. I don't know anything about Hillary except just looking at her photos I feel she is Satanic
LOL

brar_w, Just a reminder no rejoinders.

I had voted for HRC but then just changed it to DT. I don't think that either candidate is "good". HRC, while very intelligent and capable is corrupt and has too many skeletons in the closet. She is in the hands of the Islamists. DT has some views that I agree with and I also agree that illegals should not be regularized when others have done the time. I have some personal experience with the pain with getting the wife here. My concern with him is that his CEO approach will not work while negotiating with countries. "My way or highway" is not possible today. I am okay with trying something new.

Not voted yet, but will soon.
shravanp

Post by shravanp »

It's worst election of all. I find this whole email/server debate as completely farce and useless. It's totally wrong stick to beat on HRC, instead she should be asked tough questions on social spending, conservative/lib values and taxation. Somehow Americans are so damn fixated on this email server debate that hardly anybody is asking questions concerning real issues that affect Americans.

The reason why i voted for Trump:
His statements on Global Islamic Terror , ISIS , NATO etc represent a level of frankness unprecedented in American foreign policy. If elected President, his campaign time positions on these issues(ex: the shift from "Terror has no religion" to "Terror has a religion") will gain mainstream legitimacy in rest of the non-islamic world including India - as can be expected of statements attributable to a serving American President.

The PIF(pro India forces) will see their public space expanding as they utilize Trump's victory & cite american example to keep rallying more & more Indians against the globalist LeftLiberal-Islamofacist nexus hitherto having a strangle hold on India.

I want Trump to win.
He said he is a big fan if hindoos, India and wants to work with PM mody for better Indo-US ties.
Reason enough for me to want him to win :mrgreen:

A good section of desis are auto anti trump cause of his immigration views and are terrified of their own visa status ..

As an Indian, i give a rats arse if hes sexist,bigoted,anti immigrant or whatever. Not my countrys leader. Not my problem.

Between Hillary Clinton and Trump, i say Trump all the way !

Ok folks this poll closes in a couple of hours.

Thanks for voting.
Result is that BRF has a clear preference for Trump over Hillary.
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Voting for Trump. Reasons are best explained here:

Why Hindu Americans should vote for Trump

Choice in this election is not even close..

HRC may be not be perfect but the most qualified, able for the position. As every living US president, (and SOS, ex CIA directors, NSA (both republican and democrats) agree and two ex presidents, have said so explicitly.

DT, the other hand is unfit. He will be disaster not only US but India.

It is like choice between Narendra Modi vs Bilwal/ Imaran-Khan. (I simply think those who demonize modi are not different than supporters of DT - NO exaggerations)

I have already voted. I did vote for HRC in actual election as well as here.

This is the first time I can see that 100% of my friends, my family, in fact virtually every decent person I know -- including many life-long Republicans -- has nothing but disgust for DT. Many have taken it very seriously and making sure that this time they do vote and ask people to vote. This is the first time, in 40 years of US elections, where I have ZERO number of people in my circle who would even consider voting for DT. (Our governor, a Republican and quite popular whom I voted for, Our republican senator, local Republican party chair - NO ONE!)

Thanks for some one putting up this poll as it tells more about the people in this clique here in brf. No other demographics (even all white - non college graduate - Republican group from the reddest of the red state does not poll 90% for DT!) I have seen supports DT that much. If polling sites are to be beloved DT gets less than 10% among Indian Americans. This group is certainly unique!

I

We will know the actual results, no matter who wins, the real concern for me would be how a person like DT can even become a candidate for a major party in US. There is something very wrong.
Last edited by Amber G. on 07 Nov 2016 22:15, edited 1 time in total.

Hitlery will perpetuate dynasty rule in USA.

deleted
Last edited by Manish_Sharma on 08 Nov 2016 02:39, edited 1 time in total.

I do want to thank the creator of this poll, as it gives good data about brfites. (or at least about brfites who post)

This (+ very tight race -- too tight for comfort) is also encouraging me to go out today, knock on some doors and ask people to vote here.

It may or may not make much difference, but as they say in Gita, I am going to do it. It's a nice day out and I have some time to do it. While I look out, I see a Clinton Yard sign at my neighbor's house and this person ran for a Republican ticket for US congress about 8 years ago..so who knows.

40 hours or so from now, we will know the actual poll results. Real work lies ahead AFTER that.
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

Amber G. wrote:Choice in this election is not even close..

HRC may be not be perfect but the most qualified, able for the position....

DT, the other hand is unfit. He will be disaster not only US but India.
What makes you qualified to make such sweeping statements... Years of experience on BRF?

Manish_Sharmaji -
Nothing personal but your "list" has all the credibility of lists produced by our friends on how India is supporting terrorism in Pak -- like Kulbhusan Yadav's statements.

Seriously boss, for any thinking person, that is laughable!

NaMo's visa was denied by Bush and Co, and that time I (and many of us) lobbied and told that was dumbest thing to do. Yet NYT, many of the "scholars" here called us RSS goons, modi bhakts ityadi ...

While thousands of Indian Americans welcomed NaMo, and many of us contributed to actually invest, teach, help and do whatever we can do to make our lands best, these worthies will still demonizing us.. spreading lists, not unlike yours - equally demonstrably false and reprehensible against NaMo.

That kind of utterly false kind of list does not impresses us. It tells more about the people who create and believe in such silly stuff.

Now I am not going to waste my time here. If you like, you (or anyone else) can do your own fact checking.

Rishi Verma wrote: What makes you qualified to make such sweeping statements... Years of experience on BRF?
About 40 years of watching and participating in US elections. Raising children and grand children who are upstanding citizens. Going to schools/colleges and spending time in India. Teaching for many decades in universities in US and also in India.

Earning respect from hundreds of students, friends and my children.

And above all not being fooled by a conman or a fraud.
Also I have known or knew about these people for a long time ( HRC since 1990, and DT since late 80's) and do not get easily fooled by all the rubbish media or spinners some time put).

I do consider my self more than qualified. You have right of your opinion. I have a right to respect that opinion or not.

Hope that answers your question.

BTW, why such dislike and personal attacks ?

PS - It (HRC is 'most qualified') is also explicit opinion of two presidents of US, who took time to say that in public -- who should know about the job more than any of us here in brf.
Last edited by Amber G. on 07 Nov 2016 23:31, edited 1 time in total.

Rishi Verma wrote: What makes you qualified to make such sweeping statements... Years of experience on BRF?
About 40 years of watching and participating in US elections. Raising children and grand children who are upstanding citizens. Going to schools/colleges and spending time in India. Teaching for many decades in universities in US and also in India.

Earning respect from hundreds of students, friends and my children.

And above all not being fooled by a conman or a fraud.

I do consider my self more than qualified. You have right of your opinion. I have a right to respect that opinion or not.

Hope that answers your question.

BTW, why such dislike and personal attacks?
AG Ji, hum bhi aapke bahut peechhey nahin hain. Lekin hamara nazariya kucch aur hai.

Suffice it to say, this election has polarized people more than anything that ever came before. As for who is better for India or the US, it depends on what 'better' means. In the end, only time will tell.

Folks especially those who have been here for long I had asked repeatedly no addressing people in this thread.

One more and have to reluctantly ban for a week.
Don't say it was unfair later on.

This is worth to watch...
This is where "HRC" is very qualified candidate ... fantastic and good.. opinion is given by DT.. a short clip and if you have not seen it please do watch.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q76rxpKm3m4

deleted
Last edited by Manish_Sharma on 08 Nov 2016 02:38, edited 1 time in total.

deleted
Last edited by Manish_Sharma on 08 Nov 2016 02:37, edited 1 time in total.

Manish Sharma, No replying to comments.

Manish Sharma ji,
Please remove your post addressed to other user & ignore the baiting posts.
I dont want a ban to happen on this temporary thread.Worse your post is right after the admin note.

PS: you can always cross post and reply in the understanding US thread , if you feel a need to reply to any post.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Voted Trump in Swing state NC. Cant vote for the cheat who even got debate questions from CNN in primaries and pres debate. Wiki leaks shows money paid to Clinton foundation was siphoned off, while the donating parties got benefits

Voted for Trump in ballot in a blue state. So my vote is useless unlike the vote in NC and a few battleground states.
ssundar

Post by ssundar »

In the real ballot, I wrote in a candidate. Democratic duty done.

I strongly believe this is a done deal for HRC. DT failed to convince anyone that he is worth voting for. This would have been a relatively easy win for any other Republican.

That said, I dread what a HRC White House holds for all of us. It has been unnerving to see FBI playing the flip-flop game and that too "acquit" her on a Sunday afternoon. The alacrity with which her entire email episode was trivialized leads only to two possible conclusions:

(a) There really was no conspiracy or wrong deed in those emails and all CTs to that effect, including on BRF, were made up by very delusional people.

(b) HRC has the deepest support from the deep state.

Now, THAT is worth a poll on BRF.

I strongly believe this is a done deal for HRC. DT failed to convince anyone that he is worth voting for. This would have been a relatively easy win for any other Republican.
I agree that DT is a sleaze ball, a scamster and a racist bully, and I will simply not vote for him and you are right, he is not worth voting for.

However do note, it would have been an absolutely EASY win if it had been any other Democrat than HRC.

What irritates people about Hillary no end, is her manipulativeness and the historical abuse of privilege and position by the Clintons. It is the same argument that many folks viscerally make against Rahul Gandhi. It was NOT supposed to be DT vs HRC, but rather JB vs HRC. What DT did (to his credit) was wipe the "dynastic" and "privilege and entitlement" politics clean from the Republicans side ,while on the Democratic side, Hillary won, purely because of the Democratic Machine. People SAW him do that and he gets a lot of street cred out of it and also genuineness.

Bernie was a FAR FAR more credible and likeable and indeed genuine candidate. I would have voted for him over Trump wholeheartedly (or as much as I can for a left of centre candidate), though I would have vehemently disagreed with a lot of Bernie's politics. But I would have respected him.
Hillary's win on the other hand was purely because of the "Machine" which works for her because of her privileged position. That just taints her even more.

That indeed is THE problem and the reason why these elections are so close. We have the two MOST detested candidates in recent memory , and HRC can win ONLY because she is more palatable than a positively repulsive DT. Yes, Democrats and the NYT spin doctors put out "positive" stories about HRC's "qualifications" , but that is a wash. Sorry.

Democrats canceling victory fireworks........is there something which is not in public domain or just usual liberal grandstanding of not making fuss about election results?

Democrats didn't organize or cancel these events. This was done by the HRC campaign. I believe instead, they are going to be sending 1 million thank you flyers to Trump Tower and the RNC headquarters.

On Sanders, I would have still voted McMullen had he been the nominee. He's a socialist and while his ideology and his constant adherence to it is praise worthy I'd rather he run for Governor and put his socialist ideology into practice in an executive office before he lectures the nation on how it should be done by the Federal level.

First official results in:
(NH rules allow, when 100% or registered voters in a community voted, the votes to be counted and results announced)
Dixville Notch : Hillary Clinton 4 Donald Trump 2 Gary Johnson 1 Mitt Romney 1
Hart's Location Clinton 17 Trump 14. Johnson 3 ( write-ins) Bernie Sanders 1 John Kasich 1
Millsfield is more DT's territory but still (did stll less popular than brf group) DT Trump won 16-4, ( one write-in for Bernie Sanders)

So looks like in three New Hampshire towns - Trump is ahead 32-25.
Link: various news papers.

Hillary is in bed with the Moslems and will wage wars.

Trump is against Moslems and will build trump towers.

No brainer, Ab ki baar Trump sarkaar :mrgreen:

Mostly old ladies and few males in Voting Booth near the nest .Seems like Hillary Hooters.

For the first time, NYT prediction is >50% chance of Trump winning:
http://www.nytimes.com/elections/forecast/president

Social media is in meltdown mode as the night progresses.