India-Russia: News & Analysis

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Russia: News & Analysis

Three weeks after the failed coup -

Erdogan visits Russia after coup attempt stirs tensions with the West

Erdogan praises 'dear friend' Vladimir Putin in Russian-Turkish detente

Turkey's Erdogan unnerves West with Putin visit - 9 Aug 2016
Turkey has seen an upheaval in its foreign and domestic politics, exacerbated by the near-disastrous coup attempt on 15 July.

In view of the current "frost" in the AKP government's relations with both the US and the EU, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan's decision to choose Russia for his first official visit abroad since the botched coup appears rich in symbolism.

And Western leaders will be looking on nervously.

The EU's migrant deal with Turkey has run into trouble and the US is under pressure to extradite self-exiled Islamic leader Fethullah Gulen, whom Turkey blames for the coup.

But Tuesday's visit is not a snap decision by the Turkish state in reaction to a perceived lack of visible and credible Western support in times of crisis, nor is it in appreciation of President Putin's swift support.

Resetting relations

It came as no surprise when Turkey signalled a change in policy in mid-May.

Out went Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu and in came Binali Yildirim, who soon announced that the time had come for Turkey to "decrease the number of enemies and increase the number of friends", clearly alluding to Russia and Israel for starters.

Since then President Erdogan has issued some kind of rare "apology", deemed politically sufficient by team Putin - although Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov has insisted that sustainable normalisation will depend on how the two countries co-operate in the quagmire of the Syria crisis.

Mr Erdogan takes to St Petersburg a very broad agenda and a huge delegation. The two states are expected to reset the Turkish Stream gas pipeline project, as well as cover nuclear power plant construction and perhaps other energy related items.

They will also include resuming tourism, food exports and construction, which have all been hit hard since Russia imposed sanctions in November.

Presumably some efforts will also be made to clear the way for some understanding on Syria.

But the symbolic nature of this visit within weeks of the botched coup is far from lost on those in the US and EU who are searching for signs of possible permanent policy change.

Turkey is after all a key Nato power. And it has new sensitivities since the traumatic events of 15 July, while the West has been uneasy at President Erdogan's heavy-handedness before and especially since the attempted coup.

To the delight of President Putin, Mr Erdogan is presumably happy to keep the West wondering, and sweating, for now.
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

And of course NATO and America are behind this.
It is not Erdogan`s islamist policies.
Putin hasnt got the balls to just say that Erdogan is an islamic dictator who is taking Turkey down the wrong path. And which has resulted in the death of his ambassador.
Rather, let us all bury our heads in sand and blame NATO and America.
9/11 was done by jews onlee.

^^ Don't know what weird substance you are smoking mate. Putin has more balls than you/deep state can imagine, look into seeriya or ookraine don't have to go back really far. Be prepared to reap what you sow.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

another person of the Russian government probably heading their foreign ministry department was found dead in his apartment just hours after karlovs assassination.

Cross posting. Just in case this has been missed in all the rona-dhona regarding Roosi Ambassador to Turkey (and the napunsak response of herrowic Putin when his turkey came home to roost :mrgreen: ).

Any BRFite who seriously aims to be "ahead of the curve" should take note. Russia is giving every indication that it is
1) Actively colluding with China and Pakistan to produce a directly harmful impact against Indian interests, across mulitple spheres
2) On the verge of becoming an overtly hostile power where India is concerned.
Russia throws its weight behind China-Pakistan corridor, keeps India on tenterhooks

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 053869.cms

Russia's nebulous public position on its growing ties with Pakistan continues to give sleepless nights to Indian policymakers who have sought to isolate Islamabad on the issue of terrorism.
After it officially denied reports+ that it had shown any interest in China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), Moscow has not just declared strong support for the China-funded project but also announced its intention to link its own Eurasian Economic Union project with CPEC.

CPEC, which will link Gwadar in Pakistan's restive Balochistan province to Xinjiang in China, remains a major bugbear for Indian foreign policy as it passes through the Gilgit-Baltistan region in Pakistan administered Kashmir claimed by India. Beijing has shown scant regard for India's concerns despite PM Narendra Modi himself having taken up the issue of Chinese involvement in the disputed territory with President Xi Jinping.

Moscow last month emphatically denied Pakistan media reports that it was looking to involve itself in CPEC by acquiring access to the port built by China at Gwadar+ . Russia's ambassador to Pakistan Alexey Y Dedov has now been quoted as saying that Russia and Pakistan have held discussions to merge Moscow's Eurasian Economic Union project with the CPEC.

Dedov said Russia "strongly" supported CPEC as it was important for Pakistan's economy and also regional connectivity.
The mixed signals emanating from Moscow, as strategic affairs expert Brahma Chellaney said, are injecting uncertainty in the direction of the Russia-India relationship whose trajectory long epitomized constancy and stability.

"It is as if Moscow no longer sees India as a reliable friend or partner. Indeed, by seeking common cause with India's regional adversaries — including by supporting the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor through internationally disputed territory and engaging with the Pakistan-backed Taliban — Russia is challenging India's core interests," said Chellaney.

India continues to officially maintain that it doesn't see any "downward trend" in relations with Russia even as it works behind the scenes to convince Moscow that Pakistan remained the fountainhead of terrorism in the region. For India though, Russia further queered the situation in Afghanistan by declaring that it regarded Afghan Taliban as a national military-political movement. Russia is looking to engage the Taliban apparently to defeat IS but, as the MEA spokesperson warned last week, India wants any engagement with Taliban to respect the internationally recognized red lines, including giving up violence and severing ties with al-Qaida.

The comments made by Dedov are only the latest in a series of Russian doublespeak on Pakistan this year. As it officially conveyed to Moscow, India was disturbed by Russia's decision to hold its first ever joint military exercise with Pakistan days after Uri terror strike which left 19 Indian soldiers dead. The Russians justified it by saying that the exercise was meant to help Pakistan deal with terrorism.

At the Brics Goa summit in October, Russia chose not to help India publicly name Pakistan based terrorist outfits like Lashkar and Jaish in the official declaration in the face of Chinese resistance.

Well, one speculation below on what is going on. A tectonic shift underway?

Price of angering the Bear, & the A-5 decision
The proverbial “well-placed” source informs me that the Indian Embassy in Moscow has been told by the foreign affairs cell of the Russian defence ministry that, given the close military communications interlinks the Narendra Modi government is seriously considering signing with the United States vide the prospective CISMOA (Communications Interoperability and Security Memorandum of Agreement), Kremlin will not be able to risk continued high-level strategic military cooperation with India. Such warnings have been issued in the past. (See, for instance, https://bharatkarnad.com/2016/04/15/has ... th-the-us/; https://bharatkarnad.com/2016/07/18/russian-terms/, et al)

But now, it seems, the Putin regime is serious. It anticipates that the Modi government will compound the problem caused for Russia by LEMOA (Logistics Exchange Memorandum of Agreement) that, as has been argued here will substantively compromise India’s sovereignty (see https://bharatkarnad.com/2016/09/02/has ... a-with-us/), by now also accepting the CISMOA.

Moscow has indicated in no uncertain terms that, because India’s generally third world communications infrastructure precludes “selective sharing” of communications, meaning a system with separately operable digital streams that cannot be breached, it will be foolhardy to cooperate and collaborate on advanced military technology programmes and underway projects.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

I said, two years ago, a Russia-China-Pakistan realignment was in the works, and that Russia's decision to go this way was the inevitable consequence of India choosing to shift its arms purchases to the US (and France). I think the Rafale deal was the final nail in the coffin. Ironic that this deal has now fallen apart, and that the Russian arms we spurned (in favor of US\French gear) have now proven themselves battle worthy in Syria and Iraq. Also interesting that the US political support and nuclear technology that we sought as part of this devil's bargain... never materialized.

Sorry guys I have to call this out for what it is, yet another classic foreign policy blunder by India.

ShauryaT wrote:Well, one speculation below on what is going on. A tectonic shift underway?

The proverbial “well-placed” source informs me that the Indian Embassy in Moscow has been told by the foreign affairs cell of the Russian defence ministry that, given the close military communications interlinks the Narendra Modi government is seriously considering signing with the United States....
Hmmmm all blames are upon Bharatvarsh, we are criminals who have driven russians in cheeni porki arms!
LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

Manish_Sharma wrote:Hmmmm all blames are upon Bharatvarsh, we are criminals who have driven russians in cheeni porki arms!
It seems we have some magical powers that is able to control each and every action of the Russians. :rotfl:

Manish_Sharma wrote:
ShauryaT wrote:Well, one speculation below on what is going on. A tectonic shift underway?

Hmmmm all blames are upon Bharatvarsh, we are criminals who have driven russians in cheeni porki arms!
Absolutely correct, Manish Sharma ji.

Khattey Angoor Karnad is, once again, masquerading his tunnel vision as "strategic thought".

Russia's recent diplomatic maneuvers have been directly threatening to Indian interests across multiple fronts.

Terrorism: refusing to back India's position, instead publicly attacking India for "misusing international fora to isolate Pakistan". Conducting military exercises with Pakistan mere days after a major Pakistani terrorist attack on Indian armed forces.
Afghanistan: supporting the Taliban. Backing a trilateral China-Pakistan-Russia group that is undoubtedly interested in closing off Afghanistan to Indian influence, in favour of Pakistani and Chinese influence.
J&K/Territorial sovereignty of India: Throwing weight behind CPEC, a passage built across Indian territory under the illegal occupation of China and Pakistan.

This is in addition to all the Russian transfers of military equipment to both China and Pakistan... existential foes of India... that our charitable Moscow-pasand friends might describe as purely "transactional." Russia's open, multi-dimensional hostility towards India goes FAR beyond the mere supplying of S-400s to China or RD-93s and Mi35s to Pakistan. It cannot be ascribed to the simple short-term profit motive of a cash-starved nation, as many Russia apologists are apt to do.

But Khattey Angoor Karnad has to blame this on his one-trick pony of defense deals/memoranda and nothing else. Chellaney has at least tried to look at multiple sides of the issue.

RD: If FP worked on the morality of who is to be blamed, we would be in a different world.

ST: New Delhi is the capital of India.
(Just telling you something which you already knew, to return the favour from you :mrgreen:)

meaning a system with separately operable digital streams that cannot be breached, it will be foolhardy to cooperate and collaborate on advanced military technology programmes and underway projects.

do they want a tissue napkin with that whine?

Y. Kanan wrote:I said, two years ago, a Russia-China-Pakistan realignment was in the works, and that Russia's decision to go this way was the inevitable consequence of India choosing to shift its arms purchases to the US (and France). I think the Rafale deal was the final nail in the coffin. Ironic that this deal has now fallen apart, and that the Russian arms we spurned (in favor of US\French gear) have now proven themselves battle worthy in Syria and Iraq. Also interesting that the US political support and nuclear technology that we sought as part of this devil's bargain... never materialized.

Sorry guys I have to call this out for what it is, yet another classic foreign policy blunder by India.
You guys are blowing it
Russia will be accommodated in the western camp with the new geo political alignment

China will be isolated

Pak has gone beyond repair. It will be subject to China treatment internally and India treatment externally.

RD: All I am saying is if you are making a case for moving away from Russia as a strategic partner - the real one, then please feel free. The author is making the point, there are no free lunches in this game. The decade+ effort to allow the US into this sphere will have consequences. It may have come to a tipping point. Hope this transition and its costs and benefits are well gamed for India's benefit and to serve the Indian national interest. We are in for interesting times, where the next generation will be dealing with a different set of base assumptions of the world order than the previous generation. The old never completely goes away but it does change. What one has to get right is the direction of the change and its pace. If you have confidence that Delhi is well prepared for this, then good to know.
LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

^^^+100
They are after their own interests, as we should be after our own.

To my mind (as Russians say), perceived rapprochement toward Bakis have two simple goals;
1) Let the indians do some dhoti shivering ( for not choosing Russian fighter planes and various pacts with USA). If it was kangress Gov things would have been different. Modi is cool and waiting it out till Vladimir comes to senses
2) Russian never forget national humiliation. They will never forget bakistani role in Afganistan. They are just making right noise to get Bakistani in their camp. Just for time being. rug will pulled out at right moment.JMT

rsingh wrote:To my mind (as Russians say), perceived rapprochement toward Bakis have two simple goals;
2) Russian never forget national humiliation. They will never forget bakistani role in Afganistan. They are just making right noise to get Bakistani in their camp. Just for time being. rug will pulled out at right moment.JMT
Pure national interest. Stability of Afghanistan is required for Russia in the central asian region.

Similar to the Syria and middle east situation they had to intervene. All beacuase of the mess created by the west.
They have done this for the 300 years. We just need to read history

Check this article to see how shallow the author is. The author fails to mention is the the initial mess created by NATO created ISIS.
Why the Russian Ambassador Became a Target

Guys I am seeing a trend in BRF.
Folks are eating Khattey angoor or sour grapes and our members teeth are set on edge.
I would suggest cooling down and not bite each other.
This is causing us to dissipate our limited time in putting out these bites.

India is doing what it has to do in own interests.
Same as everyone else.

CPEC means China is taking over TSP.
Russia is joining them for their own interests in Central Asia.
India plans to take apart TSP.
This is where things stand.

Also note A-IP development news.
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

There is no Russia Pakistan China axis and unlikely to be in near future.
A few random statements here and there dont make an alliance.
India is doing the right thing by making more friends everywhere. And there is no need for India to do rona dhona over a couple of helis being sold to pakis.
Russian foreign policy is becoming fluid which is good for Russia but not necessarily bad for India as long as we continue to cultivate each other.
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

krishna_krishna wrote:^^ Don't know what weird substance you are smoking mate. Putin has more balls than you/deep state can imagine, look into seeriya or ookraine don't have to go back really far. Be prepared to reap what you sow.
Yeah. Saw his big ball behaviour after Erdogan shot his plane and Putin`s man was shot in cold blood when parachuting down.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

The downing of the Su-24 was a provocation. Making the provocation succeed by reacting in a predictable manner is foolish. Walking into a trap is never advisable, no matter how "macho" that might look.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

ramana wrote:Also note A-IP development news.
What's that?
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

Shooting Ambassador dead is a provocation. Making the provocation succeed by reacting in a predictable manner is foolish. Walking into a trap is never advisable, no matter how "macho" that might look.
Putin should go to sleep, watch films and relax.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

Bhurishravas wrote:There is no Russia Pakistan China axis and unlikely to be in near future.
A few random statements here and there dont make an alliance.
India is doing the right thing by making more friends everywhere. And there is no need for India to do rona dhona over a couple of helis being sold to pakis.
Russian foreign policy is becoming fluid which is good for Russia but not necessarily bad for India as long as we continue to cultivate each other.
True. For instance, Russia wants Pakistani intel regarding drug smuggling so as to crack down on it more effectively. I don't see why this is a threat to India.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

Bhurishravas wrote:Putin should go to sleep, watch films and relax.
You should do some more reading regarding what happened after the downing of the Su-24. Russian sanctions really hurt the Turkish tourism industry, for instance. Furthermore, Russia has defeated Erdogan's original plan for regime change in Syria. Putin is subtle, but he's definitely been winning.

@Rudradev ^^^ +1. You nailed it. Russia has been enlisted by PRC: money talks. Putin has no choice either: cut off from Europe and still shaky with the Japanese over the Kurils, the PRC calls the tune.

@ShauryaT, I don't get why the Russkies should be annoyed about LEMOA and why it should be a threat to them. After all, they can simply ask for a similar agreement. I suspect it's the BK and MKB brigade drumming up the "non-aligned" bogey again.
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

Avarachan wrote:
Bhurishravas wrote:Putin should go to sleep, watch films and relax.
You should do some more reading regarding what happened after the downing of the Su-24. Russian sanctions really hurt the Turkish tourism industry, for instance. Furthermore, Russia has defeated Erdogan's original plan for regime change in Syria. Putin is subtle, but he's definitely been winning.
When someone starts - "you need to do some reading", you know you got one hell of a well-read genius to counter.
Erdogan`s original plan was defeated the day its NATO allies refused to counter Russian intervention in Syria. Russian pilot didnt have to die for that. Putin might be winning in the short term but then I didnt say he wasnt. I only called him macho.
I wonder what prompts him to talk to Erdoo every alternate day on phone considering Erdoo murdered his pilot. Not very macho, i say.

^^ The guys who did that got hallal'd. Only interest is supreme for Putin same as obummer. I can see you are but hurt when he beat crap out of obummer gang in ookrane and Syria. You got screwed royally and could not utter a word, none of those dirty deep state tricks you have perfected from Vietnam to afg'stan came handy or succed. If you go by that lahori logic of showing machoism on killing a pilot then Porkis have been doing that to you since years in afganistan and you are still tied at hip with them. Too much of machoism showed by O'bummer 'eh,.Grow up!!!

Revenge would be bad but Putin wont take the bait to respond now and where you expect it to. He wont ruin relationship with turkey, he knows he can make people sing when he wants to.

Cosmo_R wrote: @ShauryaT, I don't get why the Russkies should be annoyed about LEMOA and why it should be a threat to them. After all, they can simply ask for a similar agreement. I suspect it's the BK and MKB brigade drumming up the "non-aligned" bogey again.
Russia asking for LEMOA is not the point and neither does Russia have these global footprints to need such and this is precisely why they do not have many overlapping competing interests in the region making them suitable military partners for India. Bharat Karnad and touting the non-aligned bogey, no sir, you are highly mistaken about where he comes from.

Non-alignment for the MKB and other FP observers and players was about being a free rider, Bharat Karnad's positions are far away from that crowd. Just FYI on the matter, since you mentioned the issue. You can read Bharat's take here and the the views of other players on non-alignment here.

As someone pointed out, the times when such events would lead to an all out war are long gone. US did nothing after their diplomat was killed in Benghazi, Putin too chose deliberation over instant gratification after his pilot was shot down and murdered in cold blood. But respond he must, else it opens the way for more "attacks" on diplomatic soft targets around the world.

^^^ I know BK (distant relative) and I know exactly where he comes from. I read the links you kindly inserted. Incoherent and I simply don't get what he's trying to promulgate.

The links are at odds with what he said in the "Price of angering the bear" :

"But now, it seems, the Putin regime is serious. It anticipates that the Modi government will compound the problem caused for Russia by LEMOA (Logistics Exchange Memorandum of Agreement) that, as has been argued here will substantively compromise India’s sovereignty (see https://bharatkarnad.com/2016/09/02/has ... a-with-us/), by now also accepting the CISMOA. "

We are putting our 'sovereignty' at stake over LEMOA? Seriously? We want to demo our 'non-alignment' by rejecting this?

Even MKB has not gone that far :) I mean it's not like having 70% of your arms dependent on a power that threatens to become hostile if we don't sign up to be a junior partner in the SCO and keep buying into dubious weapons programs to keep Russians employed.

OK, you likened BK to MBK and linked it to non-aligned, now you say you know exactly where he is coming from. I shared my views. To each his own.

An article relating to the absence of protection teams for Russian diplomats in Turkey.

Basically, the Turks have, for 10 years, been against armed foreign troops protecting diplomats (presumably for all nations?). Currently protection is provided by available (possibly non-specialist) embassy staff. The assassination will probably change all of this. The article provides images of the sort of protection team following Lavrov in Afghanistan, Iraq, etc.

https://z5h64q92x9.net/proxy_u/ru-en.en ... tml#cutid1

The murder of Russian ambassador to Turkey took place on 19 December. What else happened on 19 December? Al Jafaari’s announcement of the presence of foreign SF in Aleppo at the UN. Ofcourse that announcement at the UN totally drowned out the mainstream media (msm) coverage of the Ambassador’s murder. Not.

The murder took place at Monday 19 around 6 pm. The killer was eliminated in a hail of gunfire afterwards. A while back, the US announced a terror alert in relation to the US Embassy in Ankara. The US Embassy just happens to be across the road from the art center where the Ambassador was murdered. At 4:30 am Tuesday 20 December, an armed man approached the US Embassay, fired several shots into the air and was arrested without a shot being fired in return. WTF? He might have had a suicide belt for example.

That attack looks like a staged event in order to deflect attention away from (probable/possible) US involvement in the Ambassador’s murder – look, we have been attacked too, so how possibly can we, poor innocent little US of A, have been involved in the murder?

The US did express some concern following the murder, but that did not stop it slapping more sanctions of Russia. This is probably done by the same part of the US treasury that was totally oblivious to the illegal ISIS oil trade, in spite of the fact that it’s remit is to interdict terrorist funding streams.

https://z5h64q92x9.net/proxy_u/ru-en.en ... 3-sv64.htm

Let us wait to see what the Russian investigation team, sent in to Turkey at Russia’s request, make of the events.
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

^^ The murder took place on 19th.
What else took place on the 19th?
A phone call between Erdogan and Putin. Probably they discussed how to create a crisis where both of them can find excuses to suppress their own population and decided Karlov dying might be a good one.
What took place on the 20th?
A meeting between Iran, Russian and Turkish foreign ministers in Moscow to discuss path forward in Syria.
It looks likely that the Russians got their own ambassador killed to have an upper hand against Turkey in the discussions.
Let us wait to see what the Russian investigation team, sent in to Turkey at Russia’s request, make of the events.
Nope. Let us indulge ourselves in a nice overdose of Conspiracy Theories.
Last edited by Bhurishravas on 21 Dec 2016 11:16, edited 1 time in total.
Bhurishravas

Post by Bhurishravas »

deleted
Last edited by Bhurishravas on 21 Dec 2016 12:07, edited 1 time in total.

Just when you think the US corporate media cannot sink any lower… it sinks lower. Now a NY Daily News writer Gersh Kuntzman justifies the terror slaying of the Russian ambassador, and compares Putin to Hitler. This madman should be fired and branded as a lunatic. But this is the norm these days.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/d ... man+buffer

Terrorist apologist "Gersh Kuntzman" uvacha

Assassination of Russian Ambassador Andrei Karlov was not terrorism, but retribution for Vladimir Putin’s war crimes

Gersh Kuntzman ✔ @GershKuntzman
Wherein I make a case for political assassinations ... when the victim works for Putin or Hitler, that is. http://nydn.us/2gYlolK
9:14 PM - 20 Dec 2016
This sort of editorial should not come as a surprise. The Daily News is owned by Mortimer Zuckerman, a Clinton supporter and Clinton Foundation donor. As secretary of state, Hillary Clinton oversaw the destruction of Libya and Syria. She chortled live on television about the brutal assassination of Moamar Gaddafi. Clinton was the Queen of Humanitarian Intervention, death toll presently accumulating.

Hitler is the motif, as usual. Kuntsman and the Daily News are adding to the pile of fake news sludge on Syria put out by the establishment media. If Putin is Hitler, then it is permissible to kill him and any other representative of the Russian Federation.

habal wrote:Just when you think the US corporate media cannot sink any lower… it sinks lower. Now a NY Daily News writer Gersh Kuntzman justifies the terror slaying of the Russian ambassador, and compares Putin to Hitler. This madman should be fired and branded as a lunatic. But this is the norm these days.
Erdogan was pissed off at a failed coup in Turkey brought about because he was negotiating independently with Putin. NATO/US cannot allow this. If the US loses its bases and installations in Turkey, the Project for the New American Century is over. Look for an assassination attempt on the Philippine president Duterte

The west could split on the future of Turkey

The shooter take a lot of time to decide. Take a look at the new video
This is a political statement